Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Dear Author Recommends for July

While June was a somewhat disappointing month, July is rife with great reads. It’s an expensive month because there are hardcover and trades included in our list, but we’ve got a varied menu that I think would satisfy any number of reader yearnings.

Book CoverThe Sharing Knife: Legacy, Volume Two by Lois McMaster Bujold. The story of Fawn and Dag is brought to a close as the two journey to Dag’s Lakewalker Home and face intense prejudice as Dag’s family refuses to accept Fawn and in fact, fear her presence. The story of prejudice, acceptance, and love is universal. (June 26, 2007)

Book CoverYour Mouth Drives Me Crazy by HelenKay Dimon. HelenKay’s freshman effort, Viva Las Vegas, showed readers a hint of what will become her trademark: sharp, smart dialogue. In the tradition of Jennifer Crusie, Dimon’s characters exchange smart comebacks that live up the title of the book. The interplay between the characters more than made up for the sometimes contrived suspense. (June 26, 2007)

Book Cover
The Roman’s Virgin Mistress
by Michelle Styles. Try not to be put off by the title of the book because Jayne says that the story behind the name is a rich historical that explores an area of the Roman Republic outside of Rome itself. (July 1, 2007 release)

Book Cover
Demons Are Forever
by Julie Kenner. This is third entry in the world of part time soccer mom, full time demon hunter, Kate Connor. Kate’s teenage daughter is determined to follow in her mother’s foosteps and Kate must handle not only the demons outside, but the demon at home. It’s a fast paced, laugh out loud thrill. (July 3, 2007)

Book Cover
The Vampire Queen’s Servant
by Joey Hill. This is the erotic novel that Laurell K Hamilton wishes she could write, but doesn’t. The story of a Vampire Queen and her new servant is dark, erotic, and feral with characters were so vibrant they nearly jumped off the page. This book is not for the faint of heart but challenge yourself and it might be your book of the year. (July 3, 2007)

Book CoverSoul Song by Marjorie Lui. Soul Song is book 6 in the Dirk and Steele series, one that I found myself intimidated to start. Thankfully, Soul Song’s story is fully contained so that it was not necessary to read the previous 5 to follow the plot. Soul Song features an innovative magic story with a compelling male lead and a strong, interesting heroine. The heroine is a world class fiddler who really can make magic with her music. The hero is a Krakeni, a type of merman who can bind people with his voice. Only the Krakeni has been under servitude to a witch for five years. He must steal the souls of various people at the witch’s orders to bolster her power and he is sent to steal Kitala Bell’s powerful soul. (July 03, 2007)

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

17 Comments

  1. Shelia Goss
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 12:55:56

    I’m looking forward to reading Your Mouth Drives Me Crazy by HelenKay Dimon.

    ReplyReply

  2. Maddie
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 13:46:10

    All I know is that in my hands I hold the The Vampire Queen’s servant and I can not wait to crack this open!!!!!

    ReplyReply

  3. HelenKay
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 13:48:32

    Sheila – thank you!!!

    And big thanks to the Ja(y)nes for including me on this impressive list. This is both amazing and humbling. I may go back to bed now to avoid having anything ruin my day.

    ReplyReply

  4. Julie Leto
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 14:01:20

    Just posted a review of sorts of Kenner’s book at my own blog. I readily admit that Julie Kenner is a good friend of mine, but honestly, the whole series if fabulous. I read her for a comfort read…just snuggle in and enjoy the ride.

    ReplyReply

  5. Charlene Teglia
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 14:20:44

    *rubbing hands in glee* So many good books ahead! Can’t wait to get my mitts on these. I’ve been looking forward to Joey’s and Bujold never disappoints.

    ReplyReply

  6. Jaci Burton
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 14:54:42

    Love Julie Kenner’s Demon Hunter series. I’m reading Demons Are Forever right now and it’s so much fun!

    I can’t wait to read Joey Hill’s Berkley debut. Everything she writes just rocks my world.

    I’m really looking forward to reading HelenKay’s book. I’m always looking for a fun contemporary romance and there aren’t nearly enough of them out there.

    ReplyReply

  7. Cally Perry
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 15:08:05

    I’m definitely looking forward to The Sharing Knife: Legacy. The sample chapters are wonderful. See for yourselves:

    For _Legacy_:
    http://www.harpercollins.com/books/9780061139055/The_Sharing_Knife_Volume_Two/excerpt.aspx

    And for _Beguilement_:
    http://www.harpercollins.com/books/9780061137587/The_Sharing_Knife_Volume_One/excerpt.aspx

    ReplyReply

  8. Jayne
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 16:23:07

    “The Roman’s Virgin Mistress” paperback release date is July 1st but the ebook version is already available from eHarlequin.

    ReplyReply

  9. Chantal
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 16:41:06

    Oh, yes, I can’t wait for The Vampire Queen's Servant!

    ReplyReply

  10. Nalini Singh
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 18:05:01

    I just went and read an excerpt of the Vampire Queen’s Servant. I shouldn’t have done that. Now I can’t WAIT for this book! Argh!

    ReplyReply

  11. Jay
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 20:25:51

    I read Your Mouth Drives Me Crazy for review and I really enjoyed it. Way more than I thought I would (no offense HK, I thought there was going to be more suspense, which I actually am not that fond of). I was pleasantly surprised though!

    ReplyReply

  12. HelenKay
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 23:34:51

    I have an ARC of Julie’s book and am very excited to read it. Have to hunt down these others.

    Jaci – Thanks!!

    Jay – No offense taken. I actually enjoy romantic suspense but, really, YOUR MOUTH DRIVES ME CRAZY isn’t meant to be one. There is a touch of mystery but the focus is on the romance. Very happy to know you enjoyed it!

    ReplyReply

  13. Keishon
    Jun 26, 2007 @ 10:53:59

    Hope some of these titles will be in ebook because that’s all I’m buying these days.

    ReplyReply

  14. Jane
    Jun 26, 2007 @ 15:14:09

    Bujold’s book is for sale at Books on Board for $15.56

    ReplyReply

  15. Lisa Plumley
    Jun 26, 2007 @ 15:36:49

    Thanks for the great recommendations! I’m especially looking forward to Your Mouth Drives Me Crazy.

    Lisa :)

    ReplyReply

  16. Rosario
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 08:43:13

    July is looking like an excellent month! For some reason, I thought the Bujold was coming out in late July, not late June, so it’s excellent news!

    ReplyReply

  17. Toria Allbright
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 00:41:05

    I just finnished Helen Diamon’s book, something aboutt a crazy mouth.
    It was’t worth the paper it was printed on. Spend your money and time on other authors. This one is so forgettable.

    ReplyReply

Leave a Reply


9 + 3 =

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

%d bloggers like this: