Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Reader Generated List of Titles If You Like Romantic Suspense

In my recent post on my favorite romantic suspense novels, I asked DA readers to proffer their favorites. Wow, did you guys come through! Here’s a list of many of the books suggested. I’m not giving individual credit to each reader– many of you suggested the same books. But, to all of you thanks! My TBR pile has grown substantially!

As Darkness Falls by Bronwyn Perry A | BN | K | S
Dark Country by Bronwyn Perry A | BN | K | S
Saint’s Gate by Carla Neggers A | BN | K | S
Riptide by Cherry Adair A | BN | K | S
Amber Beach by Elizabeth Lowell A | BN | K | S
Jade Island by Elizabeth Lowell A | BN | K | S
Midnight in Ruby Bayou by Elizabeth Lowell A | BN | K | S
Pearl Cove by Elizabeth Lowell A | BN | K | S
Beg for Mercy by Jami Alden A | BN | K | S
Absolutely Positively by Jayne Anne Krentz A | BN | K | S
All Night Long by Jayne Anne Krentz A | BN | K | S
Deep Waters by Jayne Anne Krentz A | BN | K | S
A Lot Like Love by Julie James A | BN | K | S
Something About You by Julie James A | BN | K | S
Darkling I Listen by Katherine Sutcliffe A | BN | K | S
Thread of Fear by Laura Griffin A | BN | K | S
Death Angel by Linda Howard A | BN | K | S
Cry No More by Linda Howard A | BN | K | S
Mr Perfect by Linda Howard A | BN | K | S
Open Season by Linda Howard A | BN | K | S
Shades of Twilight by Linda Howard A | BN | K | S
Son of Morning by Linda Howard A | BN | K | S
Wild Midnight by Maggie Davis A | BN | K | S
Madam, Will You Talk by Mary Stewart A | BN | K | S
Line of Duty by Merline Lovelace A | BN | K | S
Line of Duty by Merline Lovelace A | BN | K | S
The Middle Sin by Merline Lovelace A | BN | K | S
Bad Girl by Michelle Jaffe A | BN | K | S
Carnal Innocence by Nora Roberts A | BN | K | S
Tropical Getaway by Roxanne St Claire A | BN | K | S
Slow Heat in Heaven by Sandra Brown A | BN | K | S
Where There’s Smoke by Sandra Brown A | BN | K | S
Play Dirty by Sandra Brown A | BN | K | S
Nine Lives by Sharon Sala A | BN | K | S
Fabulous Beast by Stephanie James A | BN | K | S

I loved romances when, back in the mid 70's, in junior high, I read every Barbara Cartland novel I could check out from the library. Then, thanks to a savvy babysitter, I got my hands on the hot stuff. To this day I can remember how astonishingly steamy I found Rosemary Rogers' Sweet Savage Love. I abandoned romance when I went to college and didn't pick one up again until 2007 when I got my first Kindle. Since then, I’ve read countless romances; loved many, liked more, hated some. Most of what I read is historical and contemporary romance, but I’m open to almost any genre. I like my books to have sizzle, wit, and plots that make sense. I’d take sexy over sweet any day. I’m a sucker for smart heroes and smart-mouthed heroines. When not reading or writing about reading, or wishing I could rule the world, I'm meddling in the lives of my kids--I have four, ages 17 to 21--, managing my husband's practice, doing bossy volunteer work, and hanging out with Dr. Feelgood.

15 Comments

  1. Tabitha
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:25:32

    Thank you for the list. I am a huge fan of RS so I’m always on the look out for more authors to check out. From the list agove, I’ve read Jami Alden, Linda Howard, Laura Griffin, Nora Roberts and they are all great RS reads. I have another author to recommend — Karen Rose. I love all of her books which I’ve re-read countless times.

    I’ve been wanting to check out Bronwyn Perry but her books are not easy to find (in the U.S.). Though Dark Country is available on the kindle the price at $16 is too steep for me!

    ReplyReply

  2. Dabney
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:32:18

    @Tabitha: Karen Rose was mentioned by several readers but no one proffered a single title. Is there one of hers you love?

    ReplyReply

  3. EmilyW
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:14:28

    I really liked The Ugly Duckling by Iris Johansen.

    ReplyReply

  4. Jenna Blue
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 13:09:52

    See some of my favorite RS authors, but am glad to have some new suggestions, too! Thanks to Dabney & all the DA readers for generating this!

    Jenna Blue

    ReplyReply

  5. Jane
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 14:36:18

    @Dabney – we have reviewed some titles of Karen Rose here. Her content was consistently good although she seems to me to have a very pointed view of certain professions (police good/lawyers bad). I stopped reading her a few years ago but always intended to read her again.

    ReplyReply

  6. leslie
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 14:46:58

    Loved the Elizabeth Lowell series! “Die in Plain Sight” is loosely connected and very good. It has one of the sexist love scenes I’ve ever read.

    ReplyReply

  7. Bronwyn Parry
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 16:02:32

    @Tabitha:
    Also @Dabney:
    Thanks to the readers who included my books in the recommendations – it’s a thrill to be there with all those other wonderful books! Just a small typo correction, though – my surname is Parry, not Perry – that will make them easier to find :-) The pricing issue (especially for ebooks) is a complex one for Australian publishers (and authors!), and please be assured that I’ve discussed this at length with my publisher and agent, but the good news is that the ebook price of Dark Country has been reduced and it’s now around $8 US – although Amazon seems to have two listings for it, one at a higher price.

    ReplyReply

  8. Susan
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 16:14:04

    @Bronwyn Parry: FYI: There is a version listed for $8.66, but it pops up with a notice that it’s not available in the US and redirects to the higher-priced version.

    ReplyReply

  9. Bronwyn Parry
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 16:24:47

    @Susan:
    Damn. Thanks for letting me know that, Susan. I can’t see what US readers see, and I thought the lower price was available to all. I’ll talk with my agent.

    ReplyReply

  10. Willa
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 17:03:46

    @Bronwyn Parry:

    Sadly, the ebook price for Dead Heat is even more on UK Amazon – £12.99/$21

    ReplyReply

  11. Keziah Hill
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 18:11:25

    This is so frustrating and is yet another example of the bizarre business practices of the publishing world. Bron’s books are great and so are another Aussie writer, Jaye Ford who’s Beyond Fear had glancing over my shoulder for days after I finished.

    ReplyReply

  12. Tabitha
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 22:01:36

    @Dabney – one of my favorites by Karen Rose is Count to Ten though all of her books are good as well.

    @Bronwyn Parry – My apologies! It was albeit early this morning and I hadn’t realize I misspelled your name even when I pulled up Dark Country on Amazon to view.

    ReplyReply

  13. Vonda
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 19:27:19

    Great List. Thank you for compiling it. Have read a number of books on this list. Will add the rest to TBR stack.

    Agree about Karen Rose — Love all her books, particularly the Reagan brothers in {1} I’m Watching You and {2} You Can’t Hide.

    ReplyReply

  14. Carrie
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 13:25:18

    Thanks for the list, although it will add to my to-read list.

    I would add Jill Sorenson to that list, though. Her best might be The Edge of Night, but they are all good.

    ReplyReply

  15. Meri
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 13:54:00

    @Bronwyn Parry: I took a look at your books based on the previous rec thread and didn’t even see the expensive version; I guess I’ve been geoblocked yet again. I’d love to try one of them, but they have to be available for me to do that…

    ReplyReply

Leave a Reply

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

%d bloggers like this: