Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

If You Like Men in Uniform by Guest Melissa Van Dover

Melissa contacted me out of the blue a few weeks ago asking if I would like to post an “If You Like” entry for our series. Of course I responded with a yes. (that’s a hint to all of you readers out there).  Melissa’s entry is about Military Heroes and given the popularity of these titles on the bestseller lists, I’m guessing a lot of DA readers enjoy this type of story. So help another reader out and drop a recommendation in the comments.

Melissa Van Dover is an avid reader of romance novels. When she’s not reading, you can find her hard at work writing her own stories and authoring posts for her blog reachingbestsellerstatus.com. You can reach Melissa on twitter @mvandover.

There is something about a man in uniform. With the influx of military inspired romance novels available, there are more than enough to keep your ereader full. The best thing about this genre is that there are a lot of series, this means you’ll be able to follow your characters as they develop and you’ll be able to keep reading if you find an author or story you like.

The following is a list of novels, which have military leading men and stories that will keep you hooked. Each novel has its own twist on the classic military story, which means that you’re guaranteed to find something you like.

Wild Card Lora Leigh
If you like action packed stories with a level of mystery you’ll probably like Wild Cardwritten by Lora Leigh. Wild Card is the first book in the Elite Ops series. This book has a hunky Navy Seal and a strong leading lady. A level of mystery mixed with the danger of being with an elite ops agent makes this book a fast and engrossing read. There is also a very large twist but I won’t ruin it for you. If you’re looking for a romance mixed with special agent this book and series is for you.
A SEAL's Surrender (Harlequin Blaze Series #739) by Tawny Weber
If you like the classic damsel in distress story, A Seal’s Surrender by Tawny Weber is for you. This book is the classic damsel in distress story, except the damsel is a young women trying to make it on her own and the knight in shining amour is a Navy Seal on leave. This story is not full of jam-packed action like most books in this genre but the characters are highly relatable which makes it easy to place yourself in the story line.
unspoken-med
If you like romances where both characters have issues, Unspoken by Jen Frederick, a USA Today Bestseller is a great choice. This novel is slightly different in that both characters have their fair share of issues. However, they might just be the best thing that has ever happened to each other and they might be exactly what the other needs. The military theme is brought into this story through the leading man who is an ex-Marine.
Thrill Ride (Black Knights Inc. Series #4) by Julie Ann Walker
If you like series with strong male characters the Black Nights Inc series written by Julie Ann Walker will be a perfect fit. This series is based on an elite special ops team who is under cover as the staff of a motorcycle shop. The stories in this series are entertaining and packed full of action. If you’re looking for strong males, action and multiple books to keep you busy this series is for you. As of right now there are six books in the Black Night Inc series.
fraternizing c. c. brown
For a forbidden romance, Fraternizing by C.C. Brown is a perfect choice. Fraternizing is based on the story of a man and woman in the military who are attracted to each other. The issue is that the military has some pretty strict rules around fraternization, so the characters are left with a choice. What is more important to them? Each other or their careers. This book is entertaining and will keep you obsessing till the end.

These are just a few titles out there in the realm of military romance. Please share with us any recommendations you have for military romances, after all we can never have enough books to read. Happy Reading!

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

8 Comments

  1. Sarah
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 10:48:40

    Great list!

    I have a question that kind of pertains to these suggestions. I love Elle Kennedy’s Men out of Uniform series but those books (while the men have military backgrounds) aren’t really about the military. I am interested in more books similar to this series if anyone has any suggestions.

    In the mean time, I am going to check out Fraternizing because I’m always up for a forbidden romance.

    ReplyReply

  2. Glittergirl
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 12:23:23

    I really enjoy author Cindy Gerard’s books. She’s just finished up her Black Ops Inc series and started her One-Eyed Jacks Series. They all are about military men. They are filled with action, adventures, rescues and love. They are auto-buys for me :-)

    ReplyReply

  3. library addict
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 12:25:42

    Merline Lovelace has several military themed books. Duty and Dishonor, Call of Duty, and Line of Duty are all stand-alone books. She’s also written several trilogies featuring military heroes and/or heroines Samantha Spade Mysteries (All the Wrong Moves/Now You See Her/Catch Her If You Can), Cleo North (The First Mistake/The Middle Sin/The Last Bullet), as well as a bunch of Harlequin/Silhoutte category books and novellas. Not all of her backlist is military themed though.

    Christine Feehan’s GhostWalkers series is paranormal, but most of the heroes are active duty military.

    ReplyReply

  4. cleo
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 14:45:51

    @Sarah: I haven’t read Elle Kennedy’s series, but Mary Margret Daughtridge’s SEALed series also has military heroes but the books aren’t about the military. The first (and best one, imo) is SEALed with a Kiss. I think that there’s a review of the series at DA, but I couldn’t find it using the author cloud.

    Fun list – I’ll have to come back and add more (when I’m not supposed to be grading).

    ReplyReply

  5. Elaine
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 14:46:43

    Sarah ~ Anne Calhoun’s Uncommon Pleasure & Uncommon Passion books feature men with military backgrounds who are no longer in active service, but still retain that “men in uniform” appeal. They also happen to be really hot, smart, and thoughtful reads.

    ReplyReply

  6. cleo
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 21:27:56

    OK – more military romances recommendations.

    My very favorite romance with characters who were in the military is A Soldier’s Heart by Kathleen Korbel (aka Eileen Dreyer) – it’s a 1990s category that’s oop but easy enough to find used. It’s beautiful – the h/h are Vietnam vets who reunite some 20 years later, when he seeks her out, the nurse who saved his life. Both are out of the service – it’s about how they help each other heal and move on and it’s just a heart wrenchingly beautiful book. I can’t recommend this one enough.

    Carla Kelly has several wonderful historicals with military heroes. I especially like her trilogy that starts with Marrying the Captain. This is set during the Napoleonic wars and all of the heroes are serving in the war in various capacities.

    For m/m, LA Witt has a few good ones. From Out in the Cold is another beautiful romance where both the h/h have PTSD (one from serving in Afghanistan and the other from violent crime). This is probably my all time fave LA Witt.

    Her Conduct Unbecoming is set in Okinawa, post DADT and is a romance between an officer and enlisted man. It feels really realistic – the drama comes from normal work stuff, not from crazy, save the world plots. And Meet in the Middle has a hero who’s getting ready to retire after 20 years in the Navy – it’s worth reading just for the retirement celebration at the end.

    ReplyReply

  7. Zippy
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 10:10:11

    Another good author in this genre is Kaylea Cross, especially if you like like hard core wartime action with your romance. Check out Lethal Pursuit, Tactical Strike, Singed, Deadly Descent. Great reads.

    ReplyReply

  8. Arethusa
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 12:59:17

    For another historical there’s Lisa Kleypas’ “Love in the Afternoon”. It’s the last in the Hathaway series but you don’t need to read the others to enjoy it. It involves a military hero, no longer active, who fell in love with his fiance via letter correspondence, but when he returns, she is not as she appeared, and he has to discover who the letter writer really is. It’s such a sweet book: I’ve re-read it several times and think I’ll do so again, if I can find it lol.

    Sigh. What I wouldn’t give for another good ol’ Kleypas knockout (not the Cove stuff).

    ReplyReply

Leave a Reply


7 + = 8

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

%d bloggers like this: