Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Spring 2010: Ace/Roc Preview and Giveaway

Update: This contest will end at midnight, March 6, 2010, Central Time. Winners to be announced on March 7, 2010.

Welcome to Ace and Roc's forthcoming books giveaway!

Thanks again to Dear Author for giving me this opportunity to let you know about some of our terrific upcoming titles. As always, there are too many great books for me to mention all of them, so you can look at our site (http://us.penguingroup.com/static/pages/specialinterests/scifi/index.html) to see everything we publish.

March 2010

Anne Bishop Shalador's LadySHALADOR'S LADY BY ANNE BISHOP

I've said it before and I'll say it again-’Anne Bishop is really special. Her Black Jewels novels are intense and sensual and both her anti-heroes and the way she turns fantasy tropes on their heads made her books groundbreaking when they first came out. SHALADOR'S LADY continues the story of Lady Cassidy, the Rose-Jeweled Queen who is striving to restore her land (and struggling to believe in herself). If you've read Anne Bishop before, then you know it's unusual for her to feature a character with a lighter-colored (and less powerful) jewel. In both this book and the previous story about Lady Cassidy, THE SHADOW QUEEN, I love how Anne is exploring what it really means to be a Queen (a witch who rules the Blood, and is considered to be the land's heart and the Blood's moral center). It's not just about how much fire power you've got.


Dawn Cook book coverFIRST TRUTH by Dawn Cook

Dawn is most known for the terrific urban fantasy she writes under the name Kim Harrison (I'm looking forward to digging into BLACK MAGIC SANCTION myself). So not as many people are aware of the wonderful traditional fantasy novels she wrote as Dawn Cook. We are reissuing them with beautiful new covers, and FIRST TRUTH is kicking it off. It's a romantic fantasy, about Alissa, a young woman who never believed in magic. But her mother insists she's inherited her father's magical ability and must go to the Hold-’the only place her talents can be trained. As she learns to use her powers, she also finds love with a wandering musician. The style of these books is necessarily different from the Kim Harrison novels, but readers who also enjoy traditional fantasy should have a great time. There are three more books in the Truth series, and they will be released in May, July, and September.


April 2010

Hell Fire by Ann AguirreHELL FIRE by Ann Aguirre

This is the latest in Ann's Corine Solomon books, a terrific urban fantasy series about a woman who can touch an object and know its history. Corine's voice is tremendous and whether the book takes place in the southwest (BLUE DIABLO) or the steamy south, the setting comes alive. In HELL FIRE, Corine leaves Texas to go back home to Kilmer, Georgia, in order to discover the truth behind her mother's death and the origins of her "gift". Her ex-boyfriend Chance (who doesn't want to be her "ex") is there as well, having promised to lend his particularly supernatural brand of luck to Corine's search. (Fun fact: all the book titles in this series are tequila cocktails. I'm not a drinker, but the internet is an amazing research tool!)


Silver Borne by Patricia BriggsSILVER BORNE by Patricia Briggs

I am so excited for you to read the next Mercy Thompson novel! If you're new to the series, Mercy is a car mechanic (and shapeshifter). She lives in a world of vampires, werewolves, fae and witches, and while humans are aware preternatural beings exist ever since some of the more "harmless" fae came out, what humans know is only the tip of the iceberg. It's so hard to know how much to tell you about the book itself since I don't want to spoil anyone. I'll just say that SILVER BORNE starts off with Mercy getting the message that she needs to return a book of fae lore to the person she borrowed it from, but things quickly become more complicated when Mercy finds out her werewolf friend, Samuel, is in trouble and she needs to go to the hospital where he works to help him. There are some scenes in this one between Mercy and Adam, her mate, that made my heart skip a beat, they were so emotionally intense. This is a wonderful series, with characters who grow and change, and a world that keeps getting richer with each book.


May 2010

Dead in the Family by Charlaine HarrisDEAD IN THE FAMILY by Charlaine Harris

DEAD IN THE FAMILY is the much anticipated new novel in Charlaine's Sookie Stackhouse series, the basis for the HBO series TRUE BLOOD. The Sookie books have a lot of heart and thanks to you, wonderful readers, they've come a long way since the first in the series, DEAD UNTIL DARK, was published in 2001 as an Ace original paperback. Being an Eric fan, here's the tidbit from the cover copy of DEAD IN THE FAMILY that caught my attention:

Sookie is hurt and she's mad. Just about the only bright spot in her life-’besides the fact that she is, after all, still alive-’is the love she thinks she feels for vampire Eric Northman, who is under scrutiny by the new vampire king because of their relationship.


Bewitched and Betrayed by Lisa ShearinBEWITCHED & BETRAYED by Lisa Shearin

If you think "sexy goblin" is a misnomer, than you've never read Lisa Shearin. Lisa writes traditional fantasy with a modern attitude, and the story is told in the sassy first person voice of Raine Benares, an elf sorceress who got stuck with an artifact of unimaginable power (that unfortunately eats souls). Whoever controls Raine, controls the artifact, and all this constant running and fighting to get away from the people after her is really putting a damper on her life. On top of that she's got an elf paladin and a goblin mage vying for her affections. There are significant relationship developments in this one-’you won't want to miss it!


The Sweet Scent of BloodTHE SWEET SCENT OF BLOOD by Suzanne McLeod

First in a brand-new urban fantasy series, this is about Genevieve Taylor, a sidhe-’one of the noble fae-’and she's unusual even in a London where celebrity vampires, eccentric goblins, and scheming lesser fax mix freely with humanity. She's also a rising star at Spellcrackers.com, where she finds the "M" in magic-’which can mean anything from mischief to malice to murder.


Ghosts and Echoes by Lyn BenedictGHOSTS & ECHOES by Lyn Benedict

This is the next book about Sylvie Lightner, an unlicensed PI working out of Miami who specializes in cases involving the magicus mundi, i.e. things that go bump in the night. Sylvie wants an easy case this time, something straightforward, so she agrees to investigate a series of thefts in her area-’but nothing is as simple as it seems. The plot involves Hands of Glory, Sylvie's teenage sister, and coming back from the dead, and it's fantastic. (I personally find hands of glory incredibly creepy, and I was getting chills, in a good way.) This is an excellent series, well worth a try if you like your urban fantasy on the dark side.


Anne Sowards is an executive editor at Penguin Group (USA) Inc., where she primarily acquires and edits fantasy and science fiction for the Ace and Roc imprints. Some of the great authors she works with include Jim Butcher, Patricia Briggs, Anne Bishop, Ilona Andrews, Karen Chance, Jack Campbell, and Rob Thurman. When she’s not reading, she listens to Chinese rap and spends way too much time playing video games. Follow her at http://twitter.com/AnneSowards.


We are giving away:

  • SHALADOR'S LADY / Anne Bishop – 3 ARCs
  • FIRST TRUTH / Dawn Cook – 3 finished copies
  • HELL FIRE / Ann Aguirre – 3 ARCs
  • DEAD IN THE FAMILY / Charlaine Harris – 1 ARC (sorry, they are very scarce)
  • BEWITCHED & BETRAYED / Lisa Shearin – 3 ARCs
  • THE SWEET SCENT OF BLOOD / Suzanne McLeod – 3 ARCs
  • GHOST & ECHOES / Lyn Benedict – 3 ARCs
  • SILVER BORNE / Patricia Briggs – 3 finished copies

TO WIN:   Leave a comment listing the top two books you would want AND tell us your favorite Ace/Roc book (in other words, build up our to be read list)

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

284 Comments

  1. Luci Watson
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 11:34:41

    DEAD IN THE FAMILY BY CHARALINE HARRIS
    The Sweet Scent of Blood by Suzanne McLeod

    I’m obsessed with anything and everything Charlaine Harris writes (so addictive :D), and it’s really hard to pick only one favourite Ace/Roc book but I guess it would have to be Blood Memories by Barb Hendee.

  2. Sara
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 11:34:43

    I’d love the new Ann Aguirre and Lyn Benedict novels; the series debuts were great!

    I’d actually read all of the Dawn Cook books several years ago; I never knew she was also Kim Harrison. It’s a small world, isn’t it?

  3. Sally
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 12:20:57

    First choice: “Silver Borne” by Patricia Briggs
    Second choice: “Shalador’s Lady” by Anne Bishop.

    My favourite two Ace books would be “Magic Bites” by Ilona Andrews and “Moon Called” by Patricia Briggs.

  4. Mervi
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 12:21:46

    1. Silver Borne
    2. The Sweet Scent of Blood

    My favourite Ace/Roc book is anything by Patricia Briggs, but let’s say Moon Called.

  5. heather y
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 13:00:46

    Thanks for hosting a great giveaway!First Truth and Silver Borne would be my choices! My favorite Ace/Roc book… hmmm… let’s say anything by Denise Rossetti!

    Thanks again!

  6. KimL
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 13:10:23

    1. Silver Borne
    2. Ghosts & Echoes

    Trying to pick one favorite book is impossible. I love the Dresden books by Jim Butcher and all of Rob Thurman’s books.

  7. Signs Of A Cheating Spouse | Article Media News Watch
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 13:20:36

    [...] Spring 2010: Ace/Roc Preview and Giveaway | Dear Author: Romance … [...]

  8. Conor McGinn
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 13:24:23

    My two picks would by Charlaine Harris’ Dead in the Family and Suzanne McLeod’s The Sweet Scent of Blood.

    My favorite Ace/Roc book would probably be A Kiss Before the Apocalypse by Thomas E. Sniegoski.

  9. Katie
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 13:37:21

    I have to say my #1 would be Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs, and my #2 would be Betwitched & Betrayed by Lisa Shearin.

    I’m a big fan of the Illona Andrews Kate Daniels series, but my favorite Ace books of all time are still Robin McKinley’s Damar books – The Blue Sword and the Hero and the Crown. I first read them when I was in 4th grade, still read them yearly. I also love the Dawn Cook books – the Truth series is good, I have them all, and her Princess series (Decoy Princess and Princess at Sea) is also great!

  10. Marg
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 14:17:37

    Shalador’s Lady and Silver Borne for me!

    I really enjoy Rachel Caine’s Weather Warden series from ROC

  11. Jennifer Estep
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 14:22:38

    Don’t enter me in the giveaway, but I just wanted to chime in and say Lisa’s books are awesome — especially if you’re looking for more epic-type fantasy with a sassy, kick-butt heroine and lots of cool world building, action, and romance.

  12. emmad
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 14:24:49

    Oh dear what a selection I can’t pick two lol
    Would love either
    Shalador’s Lady (Anne Bishop)
    Bewitched and Betrayed (Lisa Shearin)
    Silver Borne (Patricia Briggs)
    Would have included Hell Fire but have an ARC of that coming courtsey of Ann Aquirre already.

    Favourite ACE/ROC book. Oh cripes I can’t pick one
    Love so many of your authors. Can I go with four of my fav authors instead.

    Ilona Andrews
    Lisa Shearin
    Patrica Briggs
    Anne Bishop

    And that is just a start really.

  13. Pamk
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 14:57:30

    love those book my top two favorite are Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris and Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs
    Anything by these two ladies is fatastic I also love anything by
    Ann Agurre
    Ilona Andrews
    Jim Butcher

  14. Huda Ansari
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 14:58:00

    my top two would be bewitched and betrayed and silver borne a close second.. my favourite ace/roc author is ilona andrews.. follow her religiously ang read her books ovr and over..in her/their style of writing their sense of humor really comes through.. and the whole world and plot is soo original.. love them:)

  15. Katie
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 15:09:24

    I love Ann Aguirre and Patricia Briggs! I can’t way for their new books, Hell Fire and Silver Borne, respectively. It would be awesome to win either book!!

  16. Im looking for a golf shopping website? | Tips for Golf
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 15:37:27

    [...] Spring 2010: Ace/Roc Preview and Giveaway | Dear Author: Romance … [...]

  17. Cherie J
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 15:41:15

    First Truth would be my first choice. Silver Borne is my second choice. Favorite book, though it was hard to choose just one is Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs.

  18. Noel
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 15:42:45

    My top two would be Silver Borne and Shalador’s Lady, in that order. My favorite ROC author is, currently, Ilona Andrews.

  19. lacrima
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 15:55:10

    I hope this is open internationally…

    My top choices would be “Bewitched & Betrayed” by Lisa Shearin and “Silver Borne” by Patricia Briggs.

    Favorite book from Ace is at the moment “Magic strikes” by Ilona Andrews, or her books in general (Only 81 days more until Magic bleeds is released *sigh*).

  20. Penny
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 16:00:05

    My top 2 picks are:

    1. Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris
    2. Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs

    My fave Ace book at the moment is Robin McKinley’s “Rose Daughter.”

    Thanks!

  21. joanne
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 16:04:57

    Definitely Silver Borne and Hell Fire are my top two picks. Or really anything by ilona andrews.

  22. Simone F.
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 16:05:36

    Wow, I love Lisa’s books so Bewitched and Betrayed is at the top of the list for me. My second choice would be The Sweet Scent of Blood by Suzanne McLeod. My favorite Ace books would be between the Raine series and the Truth series by Dawn Cook.

  23. ycaiah
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 16:23:50

    Bewitched & Betrayed by Lisa Shearin and Hell Fire by Ann Aguirre.

    I can’t pick a single book but off the top of my head, I will say that anything by Ilona Andrews, Karen Chance, Rachel Caine, Sharon Shinn and Robin McKinley is a must-read.

  24. Kendra
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 16:30:37

    1.Bewitched and Betrayed by Lisa Shearin
    2.Shalador’s Lady by Anne Bishop
    My current favorite ROC book is Flesh and Spirit by Carol Berg.

  25. Janet H
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 17:30:22

    My book choices are Hellfire by Ann Aguirre and Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs.

    Favorite Ace or Roc books: Ann Aguirre’s Sirantha Jax series and Jim Butcher’s Codex Alera series.

  26. Lada
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 17:32:27

    My top two choices would be Bishop’s Shalador’s Lady and Briggs’ Silver Borne.

    I’ve really enjoyed all the Mercy and Daughter of the Blood books. I really enjoy Bishop’s Ephemera series too and hope she continues that one soon too!

    This is so great…love all the new authors to try!

  27. Suzana
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 17:39:59

    My choices would be Lisa Shearin and Patty Briggs.
    Favorite book(s) … both series by Ilona Andrews, and Alpha&Omega series by Patty Briggs

  28. dawls
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 17:50:49

    My two top picks would be Dead in the Family and Silver Bourne. I’m a huge fan of both Charlaine Harris and Patricia Briggs – I’ve read all their books. There are so many great authors with Ace/Roc that it’s hard to narrow it down to just one book so I’ll recommend all the Rachel Caine books (both Morganville & the Weather Warden Series).

  29. katieM
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 18:05:36

    My top two choices would be Bewitched & Betrayed by Lisa Shearin and Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs. I’ve been waiting for the Briggs book. Lisa Shearing is new to me, but her book looks very interesting.

    I love the Mercy Thompson and Alpha and Omega series by Patricia Briggs. I also really enjoyed the Pricilla Hutchins novels by Jack McDevitt.

  30. Hadas
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 18:30:55

    I’d want:

    1. DEAD IN THE FAMILY or

    2. SILVER BORNE

    My favorite Ace author is Ilona Andrews.

  31. rebyj
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 18:49:15

    Ann Aguirre’s or Anne Bishop’s book would be awesome. I’ve really been looking forward to Hellfire because I enjoyed Blue Diablo so much.
    I’ve read Ann Aquirre, Anne Bishop, Ilona Andrews, Charlaine Harris published by Ace/Roc.

  32. Andi
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 19:05:51

    I really want Ghosts and Echoes after reading the first in the series and Bewitched and Betrayed.
    My favorite Ace/Roc authors are Jim Butcher and Ilona Andrews because Harry Dresden and Kate Daniels rock and if they had a love child that fictional kid would rule the world.

  33. domenique
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 19:16:28

    I’d read Dead In The Family, twice. Hoping things work out for Eric and our little Sook.

  34. OY
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 20:24:56

    1st choice Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris
    2nd choice Dead in the Family – but if not Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs

    For my favorite ACE other than above Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews

  35. heatwave16
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 20:38:22

    They are all such great choices. My 2 picks are Bewitched & Betrayed with Sweet Scent of Blood. Both are new authors to me, but the stories sound great.

    Favorite Debut of the year is Nicole Peeler’s Tempest Rising…great read!!!

    heatwave96(at)hotmail.com

  36. Mary Beth
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 20:45:29

    What a wonderful opportunity. Thanks!

    I would love to read:
    SILVER BORNE by Patricia Briggs
    THE SWEET SCENT OF BLOOD by Suzanne McLeod

    My favorite book(s)is the Black Jewels Trilogy by Anne Bishop. I could read it over and over!

  37. delitealex
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 21:45:00

    My 2 picks would be Silver Borne and First Truth.

    Favorite book Ace/roc Anything by Patricia Briggs or Ilona Andrews

  38. Ashley C
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 23:06:19

    Top Two books most wanted books are:
    Silver Borne- Patricia Briggs
    and
    Shalador’s Lady BY ANNE BISHOP

    My favorite Ace/Roc books?
    Hunting Ground by Patricia Briggs and Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews.

  39. Sara
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 23:38:07

    My top two picks would be Dead in the family because I love the True Blood series, and Bewitched and Betrayed because it is a part of my favorite book series.
    My favorite Ace/Roc book would be Magic lost, Trouble found.

  40. annalisa mck.
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 01:08:18

    My two picks would be Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris & Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs. I have been reading both series and can’t seem to get enough! :)

    My favorite Ace/Roc book would be Moon Called by Patricia Briggs.

  41. BlueRose
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 02:24:59

    My two books of choice would be:

    * SHALADOR'S LADY / Anne Bishop – 3 ARCs

    * SILVER BORNE / Patricia Briggs – 3 finished copies

    My recommendations and potential additions to your reading list are as follows:

    The Once and Future King – the Arthur story that launched quite a few Disney movies among other things. I believe the author was British, and this is a delightful story of a young Arthur growing up. Quirky and funny and a total classic.

    http://us.penguingroup.com/nf/Book/BookDisplay/0,,9780441627400,00.html?The_Once_and_Future_King_T._H._White

    Ysabel by GGK – I adore GGK as an author and his Fionavar books forever have a place in my heart, but this was the unexpected and brilliantly good epilogue to that story. Fantastically written 15 yr old boy gets caught up in an ancient cursed lovehate story with a truly satisfying ending.

    http://us.penguingroup.com/nf/Book/BookDisplay/0,,9781429528085,00.html?Ysabel_Guy_Gavriel_Kay

    Shadowfall and Hinterland – Books 1 and 2 of a series where a disgraced knight is caught up in a battle of gods where he must find the reason why the gods are dying, because if they do, their world will be destroyed. Same author who wrote the Wi’tch series, but these are better

    http://us.penguingroup.com/nf/Book/BookDisplay/0,,9780451460509,00.html?Shadowfall_James_Clemens

    http://us.penguingroup.com/nf/Book/BookDisplay/0,,9780451461308,00.html?Hinterland_James_Clemens

    The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss – one of the best epic fantasy novels to come out lately, and even better its a debut. If only he could finish the next one :)

    http://us.penguingroup.com/nf/Book/BookDisplay/0,,9780756404741,00.html?The_Name_of_the_Wind_Patrick_Rothfuss

  42. Veronica
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 04:14:12

    1.BEWITCHED & BETRAYED by Lisa Shearin
    2.DEAD IN THE FAMILY by Charlaine Harris
    While my favourite Ace/Roc book… hmm I’d say Frank Herbert’s Dune

  43. Has
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 07:08:33

    Ohhh this is so hard to choose – I want them all and Ace/Roc publishes most of my favourite authors.
    But I would love Bewitched and Betrayed and Hell Fire.

    Really looking forward to the Silver Borne, Dead in the Family and Magic Strikes.

  44. Laria
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 08:06:28

    1) Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs
    2) Dead in the Family

    My favorite Ace novels are Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs and Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews.

  45. Carol
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 08:12:03

    I would love to win as follows:

    1.) Bewitched and Betrayed by Lisa Shearin
    2.) The Sweet Scent of Blood by Suzanne McLeod

    I love Ilona Andrews’ books and am eagerly waiting for the next one.

  46. Dana W
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 08:52:09

    1) Shalador’s Lady
    2) Silver Borne

    Hmmmm…..my favorite Ace/Roc title? That’s an evil question! I hate having to pick a favorite! I guess if I had to, I’d have to go with Rob Thurman’s Nightlife. I know that other people might not pick this particular one because it’s the first in the series, but I think that is part of why it stands out for me. Thurman has created this incredibly intricate world and introduced two very compelling characters. Even if I enjoyed later books more, this one introduced me to some very strong and courageous men.

  47. Patti
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 09:14:52

    1. Silver Borne
    2. Hell Fire

    You have some great authors on that list! My faves are Ilona Andrews, Patricia Briggs, Ann Aguirre, and Charlaine Harris – I can’t pick just one author or book!!

  48. Patrice
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 09:26:00

    The top 2 I’d like are;
    â—¦THE SWEET SCENT OF BLOOD / Suzanne McLeod – for something new and #1
    â—¦SILVER BORNE / Patricia Briggs – because I love Mercy and the Alpha & Omega series also!

    I have a lot of ACE/ROC favorites :) but if I have to choose one I’ll say Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs.

    I love Ann Aquire, Charlene Harris, Kim Harrison, Ilona Andrews, and I’m sure countless others I’m forgetting. This is a great lineup! I’ve got a few new titles from this list to check out. THanks for the opportunity to win!

  49. Alexis
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 09:38:37

    •”Silver Borne”, by Patricia Briggs.
    I’ve been anxiously waiting for this book since I finished “Bone Crossed”. Easily one of my favorite authors :]

    •”Bewitched and Betrayed” by Lisa Shearin.
    I’ve been reading fantasy for a long time, and she made it to the top of my favorite author list after the first chapter of “Magic Lost, Trouble Found”. I’m practically frothing at the mouth at the chance to read this installment in her series.

    I’m a huge fan of Ace/Roc books, but if forced to choose I’d have to say Illona Andrews’ “Magic Strikes.” I think I ate through the whole thing in one sitting, which I haven’t done since high school xD.

  50. Nicolle
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 10:40:33

    1. Silver Borne
    2. First Truth

    My favorite Ace/Roc title is a tie between the Kate Daniels series or the Decoy Princess/Princess at Sea duology that Dawn Cook wrote.

  51. janicu
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 11:03:15

    Wow. I want like all these books.

    Top two…
    BEWITCHED & BETRAYED by Lisa Shearin
    and
    SILVER BORNE by Patricia Briggs

    I also want to read HELL FIRE, but I think I already preordered that one.. :)

    Mmm, favorite ACE/ROC I think is Ilona Andrews’ series.

  52. Deedles
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 11:07:47

    One of my favorites from Ace/Roc is The Riddle-Master Trilogy which includes–The Riddle-Master of Hed, Heir of Sea and Fire, and Harpist in the Wind by Patricia A. McKillip.

    My two picks are
    Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris
    Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs

  53. Jen
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 12:51:21

    Wow, awesome inventory and summaries! =)

    Top Choices: I’d really love 1) Silver Borne or 2) Dead in the Family.

    Other books: I adore Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels series and The Edge series, and I’m a fan of Faith Hunter’s Jane Yellowrock books.

  54. solara
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 13:04:12

    My top two picks on this list are: Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs and Bewitched & Betrayed by Lisa Shearin.

    My overall favorite Ace/Roc book is The Trouble with Demons, but one by an author not on your list is the cyberpunk classic Neuromancer by Gibson

  55. Rebecca
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 13:36:59

    1) Dead in the Family-Charlaine Harris

    2) Silver Borne-Patricia Briggs

    Favorite Ace/Roc books-Magic Series by Ilona Andrews

  56. Kim
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 13:42:13

    My top pick is Bewitched and Betrayed. My second choice is Silver Borne.

    M favorite Ace book is The Trouble with Demons.

  57. sheila
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 14:00:51

    my two picks would be bewitched and betrayed, silver borne.
    i love the mercy thompson series

  58. Cindy in Kansas City
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 14:27:33

    My top two picks would be Dead in the Family and Silver Bourne; my favorite Ace Book is “Club Dead” by Charlaine Harris.

  59. Taryn Hearn
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 14:52:42

    Top two books:
    1) Silver Bourne
    2) Dead in the Family

    Like everyone else, I like these two series. I really enjoy all of Patricia Briggs’ books! Self-contained fantasy novels are rare and her characters are always nice to spend time with.

    Favorite ROC book is an old one: Tigana by Guy Kay. One of the best ever fantasy novels.

  60. Melissa
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 15:10:35

    I have already read both books b Suzanne McLeod and really enjoyed them. Looking forward to the next in the series. I like the sound of Bewitched & Betrayed by Lisa Shearin and would be interested in the earlier work of Kim Harrison so First Truth by Dawn Cook would also be one of my picks.

    I have enjoyed all of Karen Chance’s books and agree with an earlier reply that Ilona Andrews books need to be released sooner. May is a long time to wait to see how things pan out for Kate & Curran.

    Keep up the good publishing work.

    Melissa

  61. Danielle87
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 15:20:47

    Patricia Briggs’ ‘Mercedes Thompson’ and Charlaine Harris’s ‘Sookie Stackhouse: Southern Vampire’. I am such a fan-girl, it would be embarrassing if those books weren’t so darn good.

  62. Samantha
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 15:25:55

    1 – First Truth
    2 – Sweet Scent of Blood

    Favorite Ace/Roc – Ilona Andrews and Ann Aguirre. Two authors I can never get enough of.

  63. Nicole
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 15:45:08

    Yay! This spring is going to be awesome!

    My top two picks of the titles listed here would be Silver Borne and Bewitched and Betrayed, as those are the next installations in my absolute favorite fiction series.

    My favorite already-published Ace/Roc title is Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs.

  64. Beth C.
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 16:16:50

    First choice-Silver Borne
    Second choice-Bewitched & Betrayed

    Not sure what all is available from Ace/Roc but from what is did see, my favorites would have to be Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson/Alpha & Omega series.

  65. Caitlin Peterson
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 17:21:34

    First choice – Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris

    Second – Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs

    LOVE the Mercy Thompson series!

  66. Cathy
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 17:42:20

    My 2 choices would have to be Bewitched & Betrayed, I love Raine’s world, & Silver Borne, can’t wait to see what happens next to Mercy.

    Fave book, Magic Lost/Trouble Found. This is the 1st book in the series. I found it totally by accident and was hooked by a new series and a great new author, Lisa Shearin.

  67. S Muha
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 20:23:17

    GHOSTS & ECHOES by Lyn Benedict
    HELL FIRE by Ann Aguirre

    My favorite Ace/Roc books would have to be a tie between Ilona Andrews’ Magic Series and Ann Aguirre’s Blue Diablo.

    Thanks for the opportunity to get some great books!

  68. Ange
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 22:21:32

    Silver Borne, by Patricia Briggs
    Shalador’s Lady, by Anne Bishop.

    I like Tanya Huff, Juliet Marillier – and the Magic series from Ilona Andrews (but only from the 3rd book onward).

  69. Dawn
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 23:27:25

    My number one choice is Charlaine Harris. It’s torture waiting for these series, but I find new authors in between. I did not know that Kim Harrison is Dawn Cook until now. Fav books are Sookie books, but I like Laurell K Hamilton’s Guilty Pleasures…I have to agree with another post that her early books are better. Great reader suggestions and thanks for the opportunity to get advance copies.

  70. Danielle
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 01:43:32

    Well, my favourite Ace/Roc book would have to be Anne Bishop’s Black Jewels trilogy (it’s such crack, I love it!) so I guess it’s a no-brainer that I’d love to win one of the copies of Shalador’s Lady. I also love stories about people learning magic, so Dawn Cook’s First Truth sounds interesting.

  71. Lydia Presley
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 07:12:55

    oooh! I’m a bit Lisa Shearin fan! Bewitched and Betrayed would be my first choice!

    I would also love Shalador’s Lady by Anne Bishop!

  72. Toby Tremayne
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 07:23:06

    My favourite Roc book has to be one of Jim Butchers Dresden Files, probably Proven Guilty as it’s the most recent I’ve read.

    I haven’t read any of these books but they all sound brilliant – I’d particularly like to read GHOSTS & ECHOES and SILVER BORNE. I would love to review the for the Full Metal Librarian site!

  73. Elizabeth
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 10:21:25

    My two choices would be Hell Fire and Sweet Scent of Blood.

    I’ve read the Dawn Cook books, my daughter got me started.

    Although hard to choose, my favorite Ace/Roc series are Ilona Andrews, Patricia Briggs and Lisa Shearin.

  74. Rose W.
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 10:33:25

    My two choices would be:
    1. Silver Borne by Briggs
    2. Hell Fire by Aguirre

    I have two favorite series: Kate Daniels by Ilona Andrews and Kris Longknife by Mike Shepherd

  75. Liz
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 11:06:20

    My two choices would be Bewitched and Betrayed and Silver Borne.

    I love all the Jim Butcher books.

  76. jmspettoli
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 14:19:11

    1. Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs and 2. First Truth by Dawn Cook are my choices.

    As for a favorite, I love the Karen Chance books and of course all the Patricia Briggs books.

  77. Lorraine from CA
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 16:44:19

    Fantastic contest. I’d love to win either
    1. Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs or
    2. Hell Fire by Ann Aguirre

    I can’t pick one favorite book. I’d say any of Patricia Brigg’s books could be my favorite.

  78. Debbie
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 20:00:39

    I am counting the days until the release of Bewitched and Betrayed so that is my number one choice. My second choice would be First Truth. It sounds like a great book. I loved Armed & Magical by Lisa Shearin. I had to go out and buy the other 2 books in the series. The Raine series is now one of my favorite series of all time.

  79. Aik
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 20:53:14

    I’d love to read one of these:

    1. SILVER BORNE / Patricia Briggs
    2. DEAD IN THE FAMILY / Charlaine Harris

    I love all Patricia Briggs’ books.

  80. Jacqueline L.
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 22:01:17

    My two top picks are:
    1. SILVER BORNE / Patricia Briggs
    2. THE SWEET SCENT OF BLOOD / Suzanne McLeod

    As for favourite Ace/Roc books? Gosh, there are so many that I can’t pick one… Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson and Alpha & Omega series, Lisa Shearin’s Raine Benares series, Mark Del Franco’s Connor Grey and Laura Blackstone series, Jim Butcher’s The Dresden Files series, Simon R. Green’s Nightside and Secret Histories series, Moira J. Moore’s Hero series, Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse series, Karen Chance’s Cassondra Palmer and Dorina Basarab series, Rachel Caine’s Weather Warden and Outcast season series, Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels series…okay, I better stop there…

  81. Michala Bernal
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 22:34:39

    My first choice (and I SO hope I am picked for this one!) is Dead in the Family.

    My second choice is Silver Borne.

    My favorite ACE/ROC book would have to be From Dead to Worse (Book 8 in the SVM). Book 8 is by far my fave!!!

  82. Rikki
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 22:49:21

    Top 2 picks:
    Silver Borne, because how could you not put Mercy at the top?
    and The Sweet Scent of Blood, because it looks interesting and I’m always on the hunt for a new author to read.
    Favorite Ace/Roc imprint titles:
    Guardian’s Key by Anne Logston, Brian Jacques Redwall books, and all Kate Daniels books by Ilona Andrews,Patricia Brigg’s books, and Jim Butcher’s Alera books

  83. Lynnette
    Mar 07, 2010 @ 01:07:36

    First choice – Silver Borne
    Second Choice – Shaladors Lady

    Favourite Ace or Roc imprint would have to be the Daughter of the Blood, but I love all Anne Bishop and Patricia Briggs. I also enjoyed the 1st Lyn Benedict and enjoy all Ann Aguire

  84. Mardel S
    Mar 07, 2010 @ 05:14:34

    I already have the U.K. versions of Suzanne McLeod books, or I would pick those. My other picks would be Hellfire by Ann Aguirre or Silvorne by Patricia Briggs.

    So many of my favorite series are published by ROC or ACE – it’s hard to pick just one of them all. But I really enjoy Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels series or Faith Hunter’s Rogue Angels series. You really should contract for more of her angels books. A sequel to trilogy of Bloodring, Seraphs and Host would be wonderful. I’m sure Faith Hunter could come up with more for that world.

%d bloggers like this: