Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

BERKLEY Fall Fantastic Preview and Giveaway

In exchange for a little of your time, Executive editor Cindy Hwang of Berkley/Jove and Senior Editor, Anne Sowards of Ace/Roc, are going to give away 2 books from their fall collection to a group of random commenters today.   First up is Cindy Hwang’s highlights of some of the Fall titles. Cindy Hwang is the executive editor of Berkley who is actively seeking fresh voices in romance. In her spare time, she enjoys Bravo Reality TV and cinema remakes of comic books.   This giveaway will run through Friday at 9 PM CST.

***

Welcome to the fall 2009 edition of the Great Berkley Giveaway–I’m excited to be able to share with you some of the exciting romances coming out this fall, and as always, thanks to Dear Author for hosting this. Don’t forget–this is just a taste of all the awesome books Berkley has in store this fall–for a complete list of all the titles and their descriptions, you can check out: www.berkleyjoveauthors.com.

September 2009

Pleasure and Purpose book coverPLEASURE AND PURPOSE by Megan Hart

PLEASURE AND PURPOSE is my favorite kind of book–a book that defies easy categorization. Part fantasy, part erotic, part historical, part romance–it’s all of these things, but it’s also a case where the sum is truly greater than its parts. No matter what you call it, it’s a great read, and a fascinating introduction to the Handmaidens of the Order of Solace. In PLEASURE AND PURPOSE, you’re introduced to three very different Handmaidens in three very different novellas, and the love that they all find, in unexpected ways with three very tortured heroes. And PLEASURE AND PURPOSE is just a taste–in October, Megan is back with another Handmaiden in NO GREATER PLEASURE, a stand-alone romance that is just as wonderful as this anthology.

WAKING NIGHTMARE by Kylie Brant

It’s not often that I read a book that keeps me glued to the pages, unable to stop until I find out exactly what happens next, but that was exactly my experience with WAKING NIGHTMARE. This is the perfect book for all you romantic thriller lovers–not only could I not put it down, the ending still manage to shock, surprise and actually thrill me–something you always want a thriller to do. But as a romance lover, I also loved the relationship that developed between Ryne Robel and Abbie Phillips–their sensual, tender romance made me sigh. The first in Kylie’s new Mindhunters series, and it will be followed in October by WAKING EVIL and in November by WAKING THE DEAD.

HOW TO DAZZLE A DUKE by  Claudia Dain

Claudia Dain returns a new marvelous historical romance, the 4th in her Courtesan Chronicles series. And it’s just as romantic, witty, and yes dazzling as the previous books in the series. Miss Penelope Prestwick wants a duke for a husband and clearly the dashing Duke of Edenham is the best choice. Just as Sophia, Lady Dalby is clearly the best person to arrange the match. But how exactly should Penelope go about dazzling a duke? Claudia crafts a fabulous read as Penelope finds love with the most unexpected person, despite her best laid plans.

October 2009

DEMON FORGED by Meljean Brook

DEMON FORGED is the latest in Meljean’s paranormal Guardian series, and it’s absolutely, completely unforgettable. Meljean has always been known for combining epic romance with terrific world-building, and in DEMON FORGED, she not only delivers, but she does it with two of the most memorable characters you’ll ever meet. Both Irena and Alejandro are such marvelous, multi-dimensional characters, and Irena especially is complete kickass. Their love, and their story, will stay with you for a long, long time. A final note–for any fans of Michael, the enigmatic, brooding and oh-so-sexy leader of the Guardians–and I know you’re out there–this book is a MUST READ. And just plain awesome!

INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel

Who doesn’t love a luscious, sexy, complex historical romance? INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel is all that and more. Edward, Marquess of Foye, would have been happy to continue his life as an unmarried gentleman rake. His brother’s death changed everything. As the last of his line, Edward must now marry. Heart already broken by a capricious young girl, he vows to find an older woman-seasoned, mature. . .and no threat to his feelings. Sabine Godard was educated by an Oxford don beyond what was proper. Her studies became her salvation after her past left her unwilling to accept the touch of any man. Though she never intended to fall in love, when she and Edward meet, passion defies logic. Together they explore temptation and sensuality, healing old wounds. . .until events require them to risk everything for their love.

November 2009

BLAZE OF MEMORY by Nalini Singh

I know a lot of people are really looking forward to BLAZE OF MEMORY, the next Psy/Changeling romance from Nalini Singh, and I’m here to tell you that you won’t be disappointed. Not only does this book hits expectations, it shatters them. This is also one of the most emotional of Nalini’s books–I’m not too proud to admit I cried like a baby on more than one occasion while reading, so don’t forget to keep a box of tissues handy! Nalini just keeps getting better and better, and I can’t wait wait to see where she’ll go next in this wonderful series.

SKIN GAME by Ava Gray

Ava Gray is a new author to the Berkley Sensation list, but not to readers who love great books–in her other life, she’s also Ann Aguirre, who writes fabulous science fiction romance for Ace and urban fantasy for Roc. Now, as Ava Gray, Ann is donning her romance hat, and the result is a complete WOW. SKIN GAME is wonderful contemporary romantic suspense/adventure with a paranormal twist, and is as edgy, sexy and unconventional as anything you’ll read this year. This book is for anyone who’s ever wanted to read something different in romance–I know you won’t be disappointed!

FINDING THE LOST by Shannon K. Butcher

I’m cheating a little because FINDING THE LOST isn’t a Berkley title–it’s actual NAL. But since I’m the lucky editor of this book, I couldn’t resist the opportunity to include it. FINDING THE LOST is the 2nd book in Shannon’s The Sentinel Wars paranormal romance series, and it’s everything I love to read in paranormal romance–fresh, fabulous voice, complex, original world-building, fascinating characters, terrific adventure and thrills, and a sensual, unforgettable love story. If you’ve never read Shannon before, you’re really missing out on a terrific treat.


So we are giving away these books, 38 in total.   To win:

  1. Read the post
  2. Determine which 2 books you would like best.
  3. Comment which 2 books you would like best.
  4. Sacrifice non essential beings in your household. (this is optional and will be largely determined by how badly you want a copy of the aforementioned books).

Books in the giveaway:

  • PLEASURE AND PURPOSE / Megan Hart (3 finished copies)
  • WAKING NIGHTMARE / Kylie Brant (1 ARC, 2 finished copies)
  • HOW TO DAZZLE A DUKE Claudia Dain (3 finished copies)
  • DEMON FORGED / Meljean Brook (1 ARC, 2 finished copies)
  • INDISCREET / Carolyn Jewel (1 ARC, 2 finished copies)
  • BLAZE OF MEMORY / Nalini Singh (1 ARC, 2 finished copies)
  • SKIN GAME / Ava Gray (1 ARC, 2 finished copies)
  • FINDING THE LOST / Shannon K. Butcher (1 ARC, 2 finished copies)

PLUS from my stash, 1 ARC copy of the following:

  • STORM OF SHADOWS / Christina Dodd
  • THE LONE TEXAN / Jodi Thomas
  • MUST LOVE HELLHOUNDS / Charlaine Harris, Nalini Singh, Ilona Andrews, Meljean Brook
  • THE BORDER LORD AND THE LADY / Bertrice Small
  • WAKING THE DEAD / Kylie Brant
  • WAKING EVIL / Kylie Brant
  • HOT FOR THE HOLIDAYS / Lora Leigh, Angela Knight, Anya Bast, Allyson James
  • DRAGON MOON / Rebecca York
  • DARK SLAYER / Christine Feehan
  • A HIGHLANDER CHRISTMAS / Dawn Halliday, Cindy Miles, Sophie Renwick
  • OUT OF THE LIGHT, INTO THE SHADOWS / Lori Foster, L.L. Foster, Erin McCarthy
  • VIKING HEAT / Sandra Hill
  • THE KINDRED / L.L. Foster
  • TO CATCH A BRIDE / Anne Gracie

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

234 Comments

  1. Cindy Olp
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 22:21:05

    I would like to choose Waking Nightmare and Waking the Dead by Kylie Brant. She is one of my all time favorite authors and is an auto buy for me. The books sound like they will keep you on the edge of your seat and I can’t wait to read it. If those two are not available I would also be interested in Waking Evil by Kylie Brant, Viking Heat by Sandra Hill or Hot for the Holidays.

    If you are asking who in my family I would sacrifice for these it would be my daughter Mysti (not really) since she just does not get the idea that reading allows your imagination to grow.

  2. Mariee
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 23:30:30

    Please count me in for Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel and Waking Nightmare by Kylie Brant

  3. chickengnocchi
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 23:35:15

    I would like to choose Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel and Must Love Hellhounds, Thanks!!

  4. Elaine C.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 23:36:06

    BLAZE OF MEMORY by Nalini Singh and DEMON FORGED by Meljean Brook are my top 2 choices.

    (Not easily determined either!)

    All non-essentials are out the door as I type ;)

  5. Jeanette Juan
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 00:25:52

    I would love Blaze Of Memory and Must Love Hellhounds! That was definitely hard to choose!

  6. Katybug
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 01:43:53

    Waking Nightmare
    Dazzle a Duke

    Now to the sacrifice :
    the 10 year old has my heart so he can’t be sacrificed even for books
    the 35 year old is my work in progress (and he does manage to fix and help a lot so he can stay even for BOOKS)
    The male cat is trained to talk on command and that’s just too much fun! He also likes to talk while I cook and keep me company in front of the fridge (because he can’t climb, never has done it much and is clumzy – another endearing trait), he also goes insane when you open tuna or calamata olives -
    The female cat is what we have termed our attention whore and she has to stay or the 10 year old and 35 year old will sacrifice me!

    The sacrifice:
    The 67 year old – he tells a lot of jokes and pays his bills on time. He will need assistance for his daily food and living but he will never ask, you will have to guess or order – your own little submissive if your into dominance :P (Gross that’s my father in law did I just make that joke?!)

    The year old Black Lab Pup that is better known as hyperactive attention deficit and mentally challenged. She will chew everything you own if you don’t put away (better than sticky notes all over the place and a messy house, right?) it’s like a built in reminder system! She will bark when you put her out so loud that all of your neighbors will avoid you for fear they will cuss you – in addition, its great revenge if your neighbor’s dog barks! She will sit/stay after about five minutes of training – but you will have to retrain her everyday. She will run you around the block helping you shed those pounds! She will play catch merely to appease you for about 30 seconds and then you can get the ball yourself (more weight loss) – she loves playing tag because no matter how fast you run, she will win and she loves swimming. She needs a good spay because her German Shepard boyfriend is always lurking in the yard when she goes out!

  7. Willa
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 01:58:40

    Waking Nightmare – Kylie Brant & Blaze of Memory – Nalini Singh!

  8. Kat
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 02:36:00

    Blaze of Memory or Skin Game. Um, if you can please find the rogue spider that snuck in while I was airing the house after burning something plastic in the dishwasher…you can have that particular non-essential being with my blessings.

  9. Meanne
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 02:50:06

    TO CATCH A BRIDE by Anne Gracie and THE LONE TEXAN by Jodi Thomas pretty please!

  10. Cindy W
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 03:25:05

    INDISCREET / Carolyn Jewel
    FINDING THE LOST / Shannon K. Butcher

  11. Wandergurl
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 04:05:42

    I would like:

    Pleasure & Purpose by Megan Hart
    How to Dazzle a Duke by Claudia Dain

    I’ve never actually been able to find a Claudia Dain here in Australia, tho I’m not sure if its because its sold out or its just not in the local book stores. Maybe I’m just not looking in the right places…

  12. maered
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 04:30:29

    BLAZE OF MEMORY / Nalini Singh and DEMON FORGED / Meljean Brook are the ones that I would most like, please.

    And my sister is a GREAT cook. She will cook you anything your heart desires. It would be a sacrifice for me too, to have her go but the books are more important. *sigh*

  13. Aemelia
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 04:36:16

    VIKING HEAT by Sandra Hill and HOW TO DAZZLE A DUKE by Claudia Dain…. that is what I really want. :)

    I’m willing to sacrifice the spider that scared the crap out of me this morning in the shower!!! horry cow it was HUGE…I coulda really hurt something!!! o.O

  14. Emmanuelle
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 05:01:30

    Wow I pick :

    Waking Nightmare
    the lone Texan

  15. Meghan
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 05:02:52

    I’d love Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh and Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel! As for non-essential beings, that’s a hard one. I’m the only one who lives here! I’d have to sacrifice my plants and cook with dried herbs for the time being!

  16. gajenny
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 05:15:29

    I’d like Blaze of Memory and Demon Forged. I do believe I’ll have to check out these other ones though, everything looks so interesting.

  17. Pat L.
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 05:24:55

    I would have to choose Waking Nightmare, The Annie Grace Book or the Charlaine Harris book and the Jodi Thomas book from your stash.

  18. Mariska
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 05:56:37

    Wow..lots of free books! I have only two books to choose?
    I will choose:
    - Demon Forged by Meljean Brook
    I’m so into paranormal genre. And you review makes me want to have it more!
    - Waking the Dead by Kylie Brant
    I really want to complete my collection of Her Books. She’s Brilliant!

    What i should i trade with those books? I’m happy here with my hubby and son. Can i just make you two pans of brownies? :) coz i don’t have goat or cats to sacrife.
    Mariska

  19. othena13
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 06:10:16

    I would love to win Blaze of Memory and Pleasure and Purpose or Hot for the Holidays from your stash. The Skin Game by Ava Gray also looks interesting, may have to check that one out.

  20. Angela T.
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 06:40:31

    My two choices are:
    â– DEMON FORGED / Meljean Brook
    â– VIKING HEAT / Sandra Hill
    But I have to say that I’d be happy with any of them. Excellent lineup!

  21. Caitie
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 06:40:34

    Another amazing giveaway! Gasp:) My 2 picks would be Blaze of Memory and Skin Game

  22. Amelie Markik
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 07:13:11

    Blaze of Memory and Demon Forged. Yum. There were several here I wanted, but those two top the list. Thanks for the contest!

  23. srishtee
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 08:03:22

    Tough choices! Wow! Thanks for the giveaway!!! My top 2 choices are:

    PLEASURE AND PURPOSE / Megan Hart
    or
    Waking Nightmare/ Kylie Brant

    I am tempted to add in the other Kylie Brant novels as she’s a new author i wanted to try. Thank you!!

    I would giveup that pile of games cds (Note: old cds :P but still get me sm cash at the money changer) for these books!! ;)

  24. Wendy
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 09:14:51

    I’d like Blaze of Memory and Skin Game!

  25. Jacqueline C.
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 10:42:45

    I would like Must Love Hellhounds by Charlaine Harris, et al. and Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel.

    jax[at]eclecticbooklover.com

  26. Kelly L.
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 11:00:11

    I’d like Must Love Hellhounds and Pleasure and Purpose. :)

  27. Susan in AZ
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 12:54:58

    I WANT Indiscreet and How to Dazzle a Duke… call me a sucker for romances!

  28. Lisa N.
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 13:17:30

    I’ve managed to narrow the list down to Blaze of Memory and Must Love Hellhounds. I’m sensing an author theme… :)

  29. Bea Chan
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 13:22:25

    I’d have to go with Demon Forged and Waking Nightmare,

  30. Rosie Carlo
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 14:39:24

    So, after perusing the list of goodies, I would love to read Pleasure and Purpose and Dark Slayer. Please put my name in the hat for those two.

    In return, you can have either my first or second born. They are trained to do chores (but not without complaint) and they are really pleasant children to have around. The second one comes complete with ice hockey bills. :-)

  31. Elise
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 15:35:32

    I always end up referring back to these preview posts when I’m looking for something new to read.

    My picks from this batch would be Blaze of Memory because I’m so in love with the Psy/Changeling series and Finding the Lost which sounds awesome (must go look up the first book).

    Atm I’d hand over my kitten Lola who is making serious attempts to pounce on my monitor right now with wet paws.

  32. Marial
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 16:22:52

    I would like the Border Lord and the Kady by Bertrice Small and the Pleasure and the purpose by Meagn Hart.
    What I would do for the books? Well, since I don’t have kids, perhaps I’d sacrifice the neighbor’s kids…nobody will miss them…LOL

  33. Janet H
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 16:45:45

    Books from Berkley’s Fall line up: Pleasure and Purpose — Megan’s great! and Skin Game — Ann’s Sirantha Jax is my kind of herione!!
    FROM your stash: Hot for the Holidays and The Lone Texan
    I’m looking forward to these the most.

  34. Karen W.
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 17:03:25

    The two books I would love the most are:

    MUST LOVE HELLHOUNDS by C. Harris, et al

    FINDING THE LOST by Shannon K. Butcher

    I live alone so there really aren’t any non-essential members of my household to sacrifice, but I’m not above doing some hardcore begging and offering up a houseplant! :)

%d bloggers like this: