Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

BERKLEY Fall Fantastic Preview and Giveaway

In exchange for a little of your time, Executive editor Cindy Hwang of Berkley/Jove and Senior Editor, Anne Sowards of Ace/Roc, are going to give away 2 books from their fall collection to a group of random commenters today.   First up is Cindy Hwang’s highlights of some of the Fall titles. Cindy Hwang is the executive editor of Berkley who is actively seeking fresh voices in romance. In her spare time, she enjoys Bravo Reality TV and cinema remakes of comic books.   This giveaway will run through Friday at 9 PM CST.

***

Welcome to the fall 2009 edition of the Great Berkley Giveaway–I’m excited to be able to share with you some of the exciting romances coming out this fall, and as always, thanks to Dear Author for hosting this. Don’t forget–this is just a taste of all the awesome books Berkley has in store this fall–for a complete list of all the titles and their descriptions, you can check out: www.berkleyjoveauthors.com.

September 2009

Pleasure and Purpose book coverPLEASURE AND PURPOSE by Megan Hart

PLEASURE AND PURPOSE is my favorite kind of book–a book that defies easy categorization. Part fantasy, part erotic, part historical, part romance–it’s all of these things, but it’s also a case where the sum is truly greater than its parts. No matter what you call it, it’s a great read, and a fascinating introduction to the Handmaidens of the Order of Solace. In PLEASURE AND PURPOSE, you’re introduced to three very different Handmaidens in three very different novellas, and the love that they all find, in unexpected ways with three very tortured heroes. And PLEASURE AND PURPOSE is just a taste–in October, Megan is back with another Handmaiden in NO GREATER PLEASURE, a stand-alone romance that is just as wonderful as this anthology.

WAKING NIGHTMARE by Kylie Brant

It’s not often that I read a book that keeps me glued to the pages, unable to stop until I find out exactly what happens next, but that was exactly my experience with WAKING NIGHTMARE. This is the perfect book for all you romantic thriller lovers–not only could I not put it down, the ending still manage to shock, surprise and actually thrill me–something you always want a thriller to do. But as a romance lover, I also loved the relationship that developed between Ryne Robel and Abbie Phillips–their sensual, tender romance made me sigh. The first in Kylie’s new Mindhunters series, and it will be followed in October by WAKING EVIL and in November by WAKING THE DEAD.

HOW TO DAZZLE A DUKE by  Claudia Dain

Claudia Dain returns a new marvelous historical romance, the 4th in her Courtesan Chronicles series. And it’s just as romantic, witty, and yes dazzling as the previous books in the series. Miss Penelope Prestwick wants a duke for a husband and clearly the dashing Duke of Edenham is the best choice. Just as Sophia, Lady Dalby is clearly the best person to arrange the match. But how exactly should Penelope go about dazzling a duke? Claudia crafts a fabulous read as Penelope finds love with the most unexpected person, despite her best laid plans.

October 2009

DEMON FORGED by Meljean Brook

DEMON FORGED is the latest in Meljean’s paranormal Guardian series, and it’s absolutely, completely unforgettable. Meljean has always been known for combining epic romance with terrific world-building, and in DEMON FORGED, she not only delivers, but she does it with two of the most memorable characters you’ll ever meet. Both Irena and Alejandro are such marvelous, multi-dimensional characters, and Irena especially is complete kickass. Their love, and their story, will stay with you for a long, long time. A final note–for any fans of Michael, the enigmatic, brooding and oh-so-sexy leader of the Guardians–and I know you’re out there–this book is a MUST READ. And just plain awesome!

INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel

Who doesn’t love a luscious, sexy, complex historical romance? INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel is all that and more. Edward, Marquess of Foye, would have been happy to continue his life as an unmarried gentleman rake. His brother’s death changed everything. As the last of his line, Edward must now marry. Heart already broken by a capricious young girl, he vows to find an older woman-seasoned, mature. . .and no threat to his feelings. Sabine Godard was educated by an Oxford don beyond what was proper. Her studies became her salvation after her past left her unwilling to accept the touch of any man. Though she never intended to fall in love, when she and Edward meet, passion defies logic. Together they explore temptation and sensuality, healing old wounds. . .until events require them to risk everything for their love.

November 2009

BLAZE OF MEMORY by Nalini Singh

I know a lot of people are really looking forward to BLAZE OF MEMORY, the next Psy/Changeling romance from Nalini Singh, and I’m here to tell you that you won’t be disappointed. Not only does this book hits expectations, it shatters them. This is also one of the most emotional of Nalini’s books–I’m not too proud to admit I cried like a baby on more than one occasion while reading, so don’t forget to keep a box of tissues handy! Nalini just keeps getting better and better, and I can’t wait wait to see where she’ll go next in this wonderful series.

SKIN GAME by Ava Gray

Ava Gray is a new author to the Berkley Sensation list, but not to readers who love great books–in her other life, she’s also Ann Aguirre, who writes fabulous science fiction romance for Ace and urban fantasy for Roc. Now, as Ava Gray, Ann is donning her romance hat, and the result is a complete WOW. SKIN GAME is wonderful contemporary romantic suspense/adventure with a paranormal twist, and is as edgy, sexy and unconventional as anything you’ll read this year. This book is for anyone who’s ever wanted to read something different in romance–I know you won’t be disappointed!

FINDING THE LOST by Shannon K. Butcher

I’m cheating a little because FINDING THE LOST isn’t a Berkley title–it’s actual NAL. But since I’m the lucky editor of this book, I couldn’t resist the opportunity to include it. FINDING THE LOST is the 2nd book in Shannon’s The Sentinel Wars paranormal romance series, and it’s everything I love to read in paranormal romance–fresh, fabulous voice, complex, original world-building, fascinating characters, terrific adventure and thrills, and a sensual, unforgettable love story. If you’ve never read Shannon before, you’re really missing out on a terrific treat.


So we are giving away these books, 38 in total.   To win:

  1. Read the post
  2. Determine which 2 books you would like best.
  3. Comment which 2 books you would like best.
  4. Sacrifice non essential beings in your household. (this is optional and will be largely determined by how badly you want a copy of the aforementioned books).

Books in the giveaway:

  • PLEASURE AND PURPOSE / Megan Hart (3 finished copies)
  • WAKING NIGHTMARE / Kylie Brant (1 ARC, 2 finished copies)
  • HOW TO DAZZLE A DUKE Claudia Dain (3 finished copies)
  • DEMON FORGED / Meljean Brook (1 ARC, 2 finished copies)
  • INDISCREET / Carolyn Jewel (1 ARC, 2 finished copies)
  • BLAZE OF MEMORY / Nalini Singh (1 ARC, 2 finished copies)
  • SKIN GAME / Ava Gray (1 ARC, 2 finished copies)
  • FINDING THE LOST / Shannon K. Butcher (1 ARC, 2 finished copies)

PLUS from my stash, 1 ARC copy of the following:

  • STORM OF SHADOWS / Christina Dodd
  • THE LONE TEXAN / Jodi Thomas
  • MUST LOVE HELLHOUNDS / Charlaine Harris, Nalini Singh, Ilona Andrews, Meljean Brook
  • THE BORDER LORD AND THE LADY / Bertrice Small
  • WAKING THE DEAD / Kylie Brant
  • WAKING EVIL / Kylie Brant
  • HOT FOR THE HOLIDAYS / Lora Leigh, Angela Knight, Anya Bast, Allyson James
  • DRAGON MOON / Rebecca York
  • DARK SLAYER / Christine Feehan
  • A HIGHLANDER CHRISTMAS / Dawn Halliday, Cindy Miles, Sophie Renwick
  • OUT OF THE LIGHT, INTO THE SHADOWS / Lori Foster, L.L. Foster, Erin McCarthy
  • VIKING HEAT / Sandra Hill
  • THE KINDRED / L.L. Foster
  • TO CATCH A BRIDE / Anne Gracie

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

234 Comments

  1. Hockeyvampiress
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 22:09:34

    Wow that is quite a list of books…. to choose between that list is torture… LOL

    But if I had to choose from the postings above and the blurbs I will go with Skin Game and Blaze of Memory…. of the ones added on the list but not blurbed definately Hot for the Holidays and Dark Slayer as these are both on my wish list but not on my money to buy list…. Now for the offerings of non essential beings…. I live with 5 men from 10 to 46 in age… please take the oldest two and do with what you want… I am sure that for you they will do anything you want…. for me they do go to work but as soon as they are home they laze around and do nothing…. this will be an awesome trade and with them gone there will be more room for my books… “)

  2. joanne
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 04:28:58

    Of all the Fall releases BLAZE OF MEMORY by Nalini Singh & DEMON FORGED by Meljean Brook are two of my most-wanted.

    I wouldn’t necessarily say that my DH of 37 years is non essential — but he does take up room that could be used to store books. Although I wouldn’t want to sacrifice him permanently maybe he could just move next door?

    **Megan Harts’ Pleasure and Purpose was really wonderful reading and I’m looking forward to No Greater Pleasure.

  3. Cheryl McInnis
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 04:56:49

    I would love to win a copy of Demon Forged by Meljean Brook, and also your copy of A HIGHLANDER CHRISTMAS / Dawn Halliday, Cindy Miles, Sophie Renwick-it sounds awesome. As for non-essential beings in my house…..my three year old Lab got into the garbage yesterday and now has major diarrhea. I’m more than willing to make that sacrifice at the moment, LOL!

  4. Laura Wilson
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 05:05:24

    Blaze of Memory and Skin Game; Must Love Hellhounds from the bottom. Everyone in my household has been behaving themselves lately. Can I sacrifice the oven? Or maybe the vacuum cleaner.

  5. Tabitha
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 05:09:07

    I would love to have Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh & Demon Forged by Meljean Brook. I only discovered Nalini earlier this year but her books are awesome x10. I haven’t read MB but the cover of Demon Forged is so hot that I’m lusting after the girl, err, the book regardless what the storyline is.

    As for the non essential being, hmm, my household consist of my hubby and our 4 month old cat. As I’m not really an animal lover but most definitely loves my husband, I’m willing to sacrifice him. He’s a sweetheart and will do most of anything to please me — cleaning, laundry, household, car repairs you name it. The reason i said most is bc he doesn’t cook– can’t is more the truth. But if you could please return him when I’m finished reading, he would be none the wiser.

  6. Katharina
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 05:12:51

    Hmmm very difficult joice, but I vote for the Jewel and the Thomas books, I like both authors and their stories are NOT parnormal or futuristic LOL.

  7. Sandy (Strlady)
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 05:14:32

    I would have to say BLAZE OF MEMORY by Nalini Singh & INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel. I have just finished reading all early copies of the Singh series in expectation of the new release. I am looking forward to it and Jewel is always a winner for me.

    Wouldn’t mind a copy of MUST LOVE HELLHOUNDS to round out my Paranormal reading in October!

    I don’t have any sacrificial lambs at the moment but if you can wait a few days I’m sure someone will piss me off and I can throw them in. :)

  8. Alisa
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 05:16:38

    The two I’d like the most? Oh man. BLAZE OF MEMORY by Nalini Singh and FINDING THE LOST by Shannon K Butcher.

    Sacrifice of non-essential beings…*is stumped* Not sure I have any of those around here…
    Hub, but he’s the one with the paycheck, and I kinda like him anyway. He’s a keeper.
    Kids, well…okay there *are* five of them, but they’re keepers too. Even with the current I’m going to out-stubborn you match of “Mom can we…?” “Is your room done?” “BUt..uh, NO FAIR” “Clean your room, that’s your answer.” with the two middle boys.
    Dogs, *sighs* nope those are keepers too. The old boy out back is sweet and tired and one of the best dogs ever even if he’s got a phobia of going indoors. The doofus in the house. she’s too ridiculous and her kids would be lost without her even if she thinks she’s a toddler not a dog.
    *eyes the cat trying to stand in front of my moniter* maybe her. Youngest is actually pretty attached to her though.

    Goldfish! I have two goldfish too! Doubt anyone would miss them, since the one who is supposedly going to take care of them and clean the tank and so on, doesn’t even remember to feed them so good ol’ mom is stuck with em. Yeah. Goldfish offered up. :D (eta they’re pretty fish too. Calico fantails)

  9. Booklover1335
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 05:24:14

    Berkley is fast becoming one of my favorite publishers. They have some fantastic authors (Anne Gracie, Bertrice Small, Megan Hart, Lora Leigh, LL Foster….) I find myself buying more Berkley titles than most other publishers combined! There are so many good ones in the fall lineup that I am excited about. But the two I am most excited about are Megan Hart’s Pleasure and Purpose, and Ava Gray’s Skin Game.

    I would so sacrifice just about anything in my household to get my booklover hands on these two books, but unfortunately I don’t think you would think it would be a fair trade and that I you would be getting the short end of the stick :) Anytime you want to ….oh I don’t know….say clear some of the ARC’s you’ve already read out of the way I would also sacrifice space in my TBR to accomodate you :)

    Thanks again for such a great lineup of books if I could have all that I wanted it would have been close to 14.

    cldivineATyahooDOTcom

  10. Danielle
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 05:27:02

    Oh my stars I would love a chance to win INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel and THE LONE TEXAN by Jodi Thomas.

    I really enjoyed books by these two authors.

    At the moment I don’t have any sacrificial lambs but I’m sure my neighbor will do or borrow something that would put her up for sacrafice.

  11. Aemelia
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 05:46:46

    WOW, a lot of great books comming out, I’ve got a few of them on my list to buy! I’m really looking forward to Sandra Hill’s VIKING HEAT, I love her humor and Vikings. And I’ve been watching Claudia Dain, I’ve been thinking of buying HOW TO DAZZLE A DUKE, she gets a lot of good reviews.

    I’ve already been lucky enough to read Carolyn Jewel’s INDISCREET, it’s a great book.

  12. NKKingston
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 05:56:56

    I think How to Dazzle and Duke and Indiscreet are calling to me at the moment; I’ve been meaning to get into more historical romance.

    I bet I could rustle up a couple of … no, I can’t post that where work could see! Doesn’t stop me wishing I could sacrifice them though!

    Are these ebook or print? I’m in the UK, and I hope postage costs aren’t a factor!

  13. Cara
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:00:17

    What a great list of books!!! It sounds like a wonderful fall line up!!!You have listed some great ones!!! My two choices would be Blaze of Memroy by Ms. Singh and Demon Forged by Ms. Brooks. My household has shrunk to my husband and daughter. I would gladly nominate my basset hound – Elvis – as he is a great trickster. He would entertain your socks off!!! Thanks for a great contest.

  14. Jane O
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:08:12

    Oh, the Dain and Jewel books from the top list, and the Gracie book from your stash.

    As you can guess, I favor historicals, and I have really enjoyed these authors in the past.

    I’m afraid my empty nest is a bit short on potential sacrifices these days. Would you settle for the mouse that got into the chocolate in my drawer of baking supplies?

  15. Suzie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:11:49

    I would sacrifice one of my cats AND my elliptical machine for
    Megan Hart’s Pleasure and Purpose and Carolyn Jewel’s Indiscreet.

    I loved Scandal so I can’t wait for Indiscreet.
    As for Pleasure and Purpose, the third story sounds intriguing.
    (female dominant, like Whoa!)

  16. Bonnie Ferguson
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:23:19

    So many great books. :) My two choices would be:

    A HIGHLANDER CHRISTMAS by Dawn Halliday, Cindy Miles, & Sophie Renwick

    &

    HOW TO DAZZLE A DUKE by Claudia Dain

  17. GrowlyCub
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:24:52

    I’d love a copy of Jewel’s Indiscreet. Scandal was one of my favorite books in the last year and I cannot wait to read Indiscreet.

    While I’m not into BDSM or paranormal and had a very negative reaction to Broken, Pleasure and Purpose sounds very intriguing and I’m actually interested in stretching my boundaries.

    I sacrifice my neighbor’s dachshund. You say it has to be something in my household? Well, since they never leash him, he hangs out in my yard all the time and tries to bite me every time I leave the house. I’m sure he’d make a great hot dog… if it has to be somebody from inside the house, can I wait to tell you? I’m sure one of the cats will do something later today that will nominate them to be sacrificed! :)

    [Actually, over my dead body will one of the cats leave, but it sounded good, grin.]

  18. Sally
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:25:45

    I can’t wait to read Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh. I’m hooked on that series. Skin Game by Ava Gray looks interesting.

    I have 3 teenagers that I can donate.

  19. Azure
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:31:53

    I would love a copy of BLAZE OF MEMORY by Nalini Singh because she’s one of my favorite authors, and INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel because I loved Scandal!

    As for non-essential beings, I have this sister who dragged everything out of her room and stuck it in mine before she painted her walls, and hasn’t bothered to move it all back again a week later…but if I sacrifice her, my parents might get mad. Okay, scratch that. Would annoying neighbor kids do? Because those I have plenty of, and my parents would cheer.

  20. Michelle
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:32:47

    Ooh, big Nalini Singh fan. I would love Blaze of Memory and Must Love Hellhounds.

    I could say I would sacrifice my sanity but that is on a ship that has sailed long ago and is far away by now. But I can donate book reviews after reading them.

  21. Maija P.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:42:49

    I’m interested in:

    Pleasure and Purpose by Megan Hart
    Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh

    I love their books!

  22. Beth
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:43:37

    I’m on an historical bent lately, so I’d love to have an advanced copy of both INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel and TO CATCH A BRIDE by Anne Gracie.

    What non-essential beings will I give up from my household??? How about a couple of fish and a lizard?? I could certainly do without them, but I’d have to keep the husband, dogs and the cats, because those are essential! The kids? Well, that just depends on the day…

  23. Jenn L
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:48:43

    Such a great list of books! I’d love to get my hands on PLEASURE AND PURPOSE and SKIN GAME. They sound fascinating, and I haven’t had the pleasure of reading anything by those authors yet.

  24. Twila Price
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:49:12

    So many books, so little time!

    If I had to choose my most-wanted from the blurbs and descriptions, I’d go with Megan Hart’s Pleasure and Purpose and
    Skin Game by Ava Gray.

    As for sacrifice, hmmmm. Do stuffed animals count?

  25. Jennifer B
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:49:58

    Please count me in, but so hard to choose…Demon Forged and Blazed In Memory. And, errr, the fish? Or the husband….so hard to choose.

  26. Tiffany Clare
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:51:31

    Choosing two is very hard. But of that list, I’m most excited for Meljean Brook’s Demon Forged and Nalini Singh’s Blaze of Memory. Can’t get enough of either of their series.

    Lots of great books coming out this fall!

  27. Rowan Larke
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:53:03

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE Nalini Singh’s books, but she’s an auto-buy for me, and I’m sort of in a “find new authors” mode…

    So:

    SKIN GAME sounds marvellous, and I’ve been wanting to check out Gray’s alter-ego Ann Aguire for a while…
    and
    your note about WAKING NIGHTMARE has me intrigued. A thriller with an unpredictable ending sounds *fabulous*.

    Nice to see editors talk so enthusiastically about their author’s books.

  28. Leigh Ann Baird
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:57:48

    Must Love Hellhounds and Waking Nightmare by Kylie Brant.

    My dirty laundry pile has grown so large it’s probably sentient, so I’ll burn it as a sacrifice.

    Thanks for the chance to win!

  29. Jana J. Hanson
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 06:58:06

    It’s like a form of torture to have to pick only 2!! What an amazing preview of Fall 2009, and I’ve added several of these titles to my To Be Read list.

    I pick SKIN GAME and INDISCREET, please. And THANK YOU!!!!! to Dear Author, Ms. Hwang and Ms. Sowards.

  30. Pamk
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:01:17

    I would love to have Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh and Skin Game sounds intriguing. Most of the time I’d be willing to give up my oldest son. He’s 19 almost 20 and is at that stage where momma knows nothing and is as stupid as dirt and he knows everything. I’d probably want him back when he got through with college and realizes how smart his ole’ mom is lol.

  31. Edie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:02:28

    I would happily trade my brother for the Nalini Singh and Ava Grey..
    Is that terribly wrong of me?

  32. Lacey
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:02:57

    I would love blaze of memory and indiscreet. So excited!!!

  33. RStewie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:10:11

    I would literally kill for Meljean’s Demon Forged and the Must Love Hellhounds anthology. Seriously. I have several methods at my disposal:

    death by chocolate (mini lava cake recipe)

    death by peanut butter and jelly (PB&J bars recipe)

    death by suffocation (3 ultra-loving, soft and purry cats: Baby Soft, Baby Serious and Tado the Destroyer)

    death by affection (6–yes, you read that right–loving dogs, ready to run you ragged, snuggle up to you, and generally follow you constantly in a quest to help you with whatever you’re doing, particularly if there is food involved)

    If you’re not into any of those…I swear I can come up with something…I have a turtle, too…some fish…

  34. blodeuedd
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:13:02

    How to choose from these all awesome books.
    But INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel sounds good, and SKIN GAME by Ava Gray since I am curious about Aguirre’s latest.

    Sacrificial, well can I give you my neighbours, they are dreadfully annoying but surely good to eat if you add butter

  35. DeeCee
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:18:27

    Choices, choices….

    Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh
    Must Love Hellhounds

    I willingly sacrifice my brother…he will follow as long as you find an all you can eat buffet for him. :)

  36. JulieD
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:22:15

    This was actually an easy choice for me – BLAZE OF MEMORY and SKIN GAME. I have both of these on my TBB list.

    As for sacrifice…if you can wait until the weekend, I think I can obtain my neighbor’s little mixed breed mutt that barks *all* the time and snarls at my dogs. It’d be heaven at my house if that thing were gone.

  37. atclair
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:23:31

    The two that I’m looking forward the most to are “Demon Forged” and “Blaze of Memory”.

    In return for these books I will sacrifice my level 70 World of Warcraft character I’ve been working on for the past few months. See? THAT is a real sacrifice!

  38. Bonnie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:30:29

    I’d love Pleasure and Purpose and Skin Game.

    I’ll happily sacrifice my soon to be ex-hubby :) While not technically in the same household we are still technically married. The kids and the cat are too valuable :D

  39. Leslee
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:31:34

    OOOoooooo, Blaze of Memory!!!!! and Waking Nightmare! I am loving some thrillers these days and I am seriously addicted to Nalini Singh. :)

    I would be happy to sacrifice my brother in law, sister in law and one of my neices! :) Anything to avoid the holiday stress they bring on. My other neice is too cute to sacrifice. :)

    Thanks to Berkley and Ms. Hwang for this great contest!

  40. Chris
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:31:56

    Oh! Blaze of Memory and Demon Forged!! *heads off to ponder whether sacrificing a cat toy would help the cause*

  41. Lisa J
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:36:56

    My choices are Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh and Skin Game by Ava Gray.

    Mak (my husky/lab mix) catches (but does not release) bunnies on a regular basis and I have to dispose of the carcasses, will that count as an approriate sacrifice? I really hope so!

  42. AB
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:37:47

    HOW TO DAZZLE A DUKE by Claudia Dain and INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel

    Yes, I am another who loves historials best :)

  43. KeriM
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:39:19

    My two pics are Skin Game and Finding the Lost from the top and Dark Slayer from the bottom.

    In return for the aforementioned books, As for my sacrifice, I will happily lend you my two demons…err, I mean lovely children for the afternoon. Trust me, that is all you will be able to handle, before you run shrieking to the nearest liquor store and demand their biggest bottle of anything hard and potent. LOL…and I don’t mean one of Lora Leigh’s alphas either. :-)

    PS. I really do love the little devils, they have just stepped on mommy’s last nerve, ALOT, lately. ;-)

  44. Sarah
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:41:08

    Blaze of Memory and Indiscreet for me please! I’m really looking forward to both of these books. Carolyn Jewel has become a historical author to watch.

    Thank you Berkley/Jove. I love these contests.

  45. Kym
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:44:43

    I’d like Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh and Skin Game by Ava Gray. I’m a big ol’ Nalini Singh fan girl and I’ve heard nothing but good things about Ann Aguirre.

  46. Sandy D.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:45:02

    Tough choice!

    I think Indiscreet, by Carolyn Jewel, and Skin Game, by Ava Gray have to be my top picks.

  47. Steff
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:45:37

    I’d love copies of the Kylie Brant books: WAKING THE DEAD and WAKING EVIL.

    Hmmm – what, I mean, who would I give up to get these….. If I could find a way to give you about 40 pounds of myself, I’d do it in a heartbeat! :D

  48. Tammy
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:45:41

    Waking Nightmare and Blaze of Memory, please!

    I am willing to sacrifice several of my coworkers. At this very moment, in fact.

  49. Joanne O
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:48:52

    If I can only pick two from that amazing list they would be Skin Game and Blaze of Memory please.

    Sacrifices: The hubby – is already away for a few days; only daughter – there are times when I would offer her up gladly, but she is back to 6th form college tomorrow so will be out from under my feet after a very very long summer, so freshly baked peanut chocolate brownies it is.

  50. Diane V
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:49:53

    I pick “Skin Game” and “Finding the Lost”. Love Ann Aguirre’s previous books and Shannon Butcher is also a favorite.

    By the way, I read “Waking Nightmare” 2 weeks ago and it was great — can’t wait for the next 2 books.

    I’d definitely sacrifice some formerly favorite author’s books — like J.R. Ward, Catherine Coulter — to get these books early instead.

  51. Ruth
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:52:12

    I’m going with BLAZE OF MEMORY and
    SKIN GAME. Although I’ve got no sacrifices, I want the books anyway. Please ….

  52. votermom
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 07:52:23

    HOW TO DAZZLE A DUKE by Claudia Dain. I am a big fan of her witty Courtesan series, and I really want to see if a Duke finally gets hooked in this one.

    FINDING THE LOST by Shannon K Butcher. I loved Burning Alive (book 1) — I think I gave it 4 stars on my goodreads list* for being so exciting. Can’t wait to read this.

    Can I just say I am super green with envy that you have an ARC for MUST LOVE HELLHOUNDS.

    As for sacrificing non-essential beings in the household, let me confess that after three months of an extended visit by the MIL, there is no question about who is on the top of my list.

    (*PS. If anyone wants to see my goodreads book ratings my handle there is mayakda: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/146743)

  53. Jane A
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 08:01:44

    I pick the books by Jodi Thomas and Claudia Dain.

    I would willingly sacrifice my new ant farm, which unfortunately is not contained neatly in a clear box, but is scattered throughout my house with the most activity occurring in the kitchen area. Arrangements would have to be made for the capture and transportation of the little darlings.

  54. ~ames~
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 08:04:33

    Hmm…so many choices…

    I’ll have to go with Indiscreet and Blaze of Memory.

    And no one needs two younger brothers, right? haha

  55. Nadia
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 08:06:23

    PLEASURE AND PURPOSE / Megan Hart
    SKIN GAME / Ava Gray

    Ohh…the nonessential sacrificial lamb….everyone’s been very good recently though…how about an annoying woman who walks her dog (which barks NONSTOP) every morning at 9:30 a.m. in front of my apartment? Does that count? :)

  56. Jody
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 08:08:40

    Indiscreet and How to Dazzle a Duke, please.

    In the interest of fair play re sacrifice, I polled the cats for volunteers. They’re to get back to me after morning naps.

  57. LauraB
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 08:10:59

    Pick me, pick me! I’d love copies of Indiscreet and Skin Game. : )

    I’m having trouble picking between my husband and my cat as my sacrifice… They’re both male and they nap a lot.

    I think I’ll keep the cat as he takes up less space. ; ) My DH is very loving, smart and easy to please. I’m sure you’ll enjoy him as he has better conversation than a cat.

    /it does have to be a sacrifice, right?

  58. Nikki
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 08:12:03

    Hrrrm, I would love to get Indiscreet and Finding the Lost. I have had Blaze of Memory and Demon Forged on pre-order for months. I already have How to Dazzle a Duke in my clutches, it was good, sigh, when is her next book coming out?

    I don’t have anyone to sacrifice in my house, and I can’t really give up my books in sacrifice…. can I offer sacrifice/bribes of pumpkin chocolate chip bread?

  59. jep
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 08:18:51

    I would like to win Indiscreet and To Catch a Bride

  60. Anna
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 08:19:58

    The two I would pick from the list would by:

    Demon Forged by Meljean Brook & Blaze of Fire by Nalini Singh

    I’d so sacrifice my cat, since he woke me up at 4am.

    annasbookblog @ gmail.com

  61. Janet W
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 08:26:15

    • HOW TO DAZZLE A DUKE Claudia Dain and INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel. If I had to choose between the two, it would have to be INDISCREET because the heroine sounds so unusual, so educated and so non-giddy.
    • Ordinarily I'd make a grab for the Gracie but the Western Drive had so many wonderful reviews of Jodi Thomas's books that I'd like to read her again. So, STORM OF SHADOWS.
    • Give up live objects in my house … will I couldn't give up the dh, who would I have to hang out with? But you're welcome to the mole family in my lower lawn that seems poised to live there for all eternity. It's the summer of the mole (and I don't mean a la Le Carre) in NorCal.

  62. mara
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 08:33:00

    Autumn will be an interesting season for books this year… The Claudia Dain and Carolyn Jewel are already on my wish list (my birthday is near lol) so I would like to get arcs of BLAZE OF MEMORY / Nalini Singh & SKIN GAME / Ava Gray if possible.

    I’ve never read Megan Hart and have heard she’s very good, so I’ve been thinking of trying her books soon. Which one is the best to begin with?

    EDIT: I have no idea whom to sacrifice to the gods/goddesses of random, so you can have my sister (she cooks! and bakes!) if that will make my chances better… :)

  63. Jane
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 08:36:31

    You guys are cracking me.

  64. Jennifer M
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 08:45:23

    Decisions, decisions. Okay I would pick BLAZE OF MEMORY by Nalini Singh and STORM OF SHADOWS by Christina Dodd.

  65. AnotherLori
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 09:03:08

    Wow, what a list of fantastic reads.

    I would love a copy of Skin Game if only because Ann Aguirre just seems like an awesome person and she’s on my must-read-soon list. And Must Love Hellhounds if only for the title.

    As far as sacrifice: since I have a flea bite on my forehead that’s currently making me look like an acne-scarred teen, the cat is getting it. Just tell me which hell-bound spirit you want the sacrifice in name of. Really. I’ll do this for you. Pleeease… the cat’s gotta go *grin*

  66. Poppy A.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 09:05:21

    Oh I would pick SKIN GAME by Ava Gray and HOT FOR THE HOLIDAYS by Lora Leigh, Angela Knight, Anya Bast, and Allyson James.

    For the sacrifice…my daughter recently caught a fly and is keeping it in one of those little bug cages, I’m perfectly willing to sacrifice that :) She’ll probably be kind of upset but she’ll get over it and I’m kind of starting to feel sorry for the poor fly.

  67. CrystalGB
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 09:05:31

    My choices would be Blaze of Memory and Skin Game and from your list Dark Slayer. :)

  68. fshk
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 09:08:57

    I’m most interested in Pleasure and Purpose and Waking Nightmare.

  69. Jenny
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 09:21:08

    I’d like to read How to Dazzle a Duke by Claudia Dain and Skin Game by Ava Gray. And as for non-essential beings….would the mice in the garage be enough? Crossing fingers. :)

  70. JG
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 09:25:13

    Maybe I should just get “So many books, so little time” tattooed to my forehead…

    I’d love to have How to Dazzle a Duke and Indiscreet. I’ve never thought of myself as a historical romance reader, but I’ve been drawn to them more than contemporaries lately. And I’ve read some of Carolyn Jewel’s excerpts from her website and want to see how she plays things out over a full story. From your personal stash, I’d love the Hot for the Holidays collection, there’s some great authors in there!

    Hmm, for a sacrifice, you’re welcome to come and claim any scorpions that have invaded my house. No, really, it’s kind of fun to find them – they glow in a UV black light. :)

  71. Diane M.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 09:40:16

    Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh and Skin Game by Ava Gray

    I couldn’t do the sacrifice because both kids are turning out nicely.

  72. Sarah
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 09:43:32

    Oh this looks so good! I totally want Mel Jean Brooks Demon Forged, I have the hardest time finding her books in my local bookstores, and I hate buying books online… And for my second choice, I would choose… Must Love Hellhounds, again, for Mel Jean Brooks! But I’m probably going to buy them all in the end! ;)

    My sacrifice? Oh god… Do ants count as beings? Otherwise, I offer my brother. Just kidding. Kind of…

  73. elizs
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 09:44:49

    Ooh, the new Carolyn Jewel! So glad it’s coming out! My picks: INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel and I’d like to try WAKING NIGHTMARE by Kylie Brant.

  74. Kimmy Lane
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 09:46:14

    my two picks are DEMON FORGED by Meljean Brook and How to Dazzle a Duke by Claudia Dain. Big Claudia fan here. I also love reading Meljeans books.
    I think I would sacrifice my daughters noisy hamsters and hey I will even throw in the cat. LOL

  75. muñeca
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 09:47:38

    BLAZE OF MEMORY / Nalini Singh really really want this one.

    INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel sound good.

    Oh MUST LOVE HELLHOUNDS can’t wait to read that one it has two of my favo authors!

  76. Lana
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 09:48:23

    I would love to have a copy of Pleasure and Purpose by Megan Hart or Demon Forged by Meljean Brook because I have never read either author despite hearing fantastic things about them all the time. So if you were to choose me for this giveaway, you’d not only be making me deliriously happy, you’d be contributing to my ongoing education in kickass romance.

    You are welcome to one or all of the following:

    1. My roommate
    2. My ex-roommate’s forgotten houseplant
    3. My boss
    4. A bag of Reese’s cups (in Autumn colors!)

  77. dancechica
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 09:55:14

    I’d love Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh! I’m totally addicted to her Psy/Changeling series.

    And since I already pre-ordered Indiscreet, I’ll add Skin Game by Ava Gray. It sounds interesting.

    As for a sacrifice, well, I’ve got two younger siblings…*evil grin*

  78. Mimz
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 09:57:55

    Nalini Singh’s Blaze of Memory is hands down the book that I really want. I only wish she writes faster. 2nd choice is either Kylie Brant’s Waking the Dead or Waking Evil. I’ve already gotten the first book in the series and I’m loving it.

  79. Heather
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:04:51

    Some many sound good.

    Waking Nightmare and Skin Game probably win, since I’m buying the new Nalini Singh as soon as it’s out.

    As for the sacrifice…how about the roommate’s girlfriend. She doesn’t live with us, but lately it feels like it. Argh.

  80. Mad
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:12:30

    I would love to get my hands on Shannon Butcher’s and Meljean Brooks’ books, please!

  81. Julia M.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:17:13

    Well, Singh and Brook and Aguirre/Gray are on my auto-buy, so those are out. Seriously, you guys have a killer lineup and it’s really difficult to choose!
    ummm, I’ll pick Finding the Lost by Shannon Butcher and How to Dazzle a Duke by Claudia Dane. – two new-to-me authors, one historical, one with world-building (yay!)
    phew – I think my poor brain is sacrifice enough right there, I won’t be needing it the rest of the day. :)

  82. Sandi
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:19:56

    Not sure I quite get the rules, but I’d sacrifice for Waking the Dead and Waking Evil by Kylie Brant.

    I’d gladly give my oldest son. He comes equipped with a job, and a car, but not much else! If that’s not enough I will include a 5 month old puppy named Travis who is full of personality and playfulness, and will on occasion give wonderful puppy love.

    Thank you for the contest.

    Sandi

  83. Christine M.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:20:25

    That was an easy choice for me! Were I to win, I’d like to get my hands on How to Dazzle a Duke and Blaze of Memory!

    p.s. if you still are in a need of a sacrifice, you can have my brother, anytime.

  84. votermom
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:21:00

    You guys are cracking me.

    We cracked Jane. Our evil plan haz wurked.

  85. Jambrea
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:21:16

    SKIN GAME by Ava Gray
    WAKING NIGHTMARE by Kylie Brant

    What a great contest! Thanks!!!

  86. WendyK
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:23:10

    â– 
    These are the two books I’d love most, but there were tons more I’d love to have. What a great great giveaway!!!!
    BLAZE OF MEMORY / Nalini Singh (1 ARC, 2 finished copies)
    â– DRAGON MOON / Rebecca York

    hugs,
    WendyK

  87. Lisa Guertin
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:26:12

    Let’s see. They all sound great, but the 2 I’d pick are Finding The Lost and Skin Game. Who to sacrifice??? I guess it would have to be my dh. Warning, he needs a lot of training!

  88. Missy Ann
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:31:03

    Must Love Hellhounds & Hot For The Holidays FTW!!!!!!!!!

    I would sacrifice myself. Seriously, it hasn’t been a good day around here (and it started at 5am). I don’t want to be an adult today. It is way too much like work.

  89. BrookeReviews
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:32:25

    Oh, I’d like Skin Game and/or Blaze of Memory. :D

    I’ll so give up my brother. He’s a good cook and can whip you up some tasty meals! ;)

  90. May
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:34:30

    I would pick PLEASURE AND PURPOSE by Megan Hart and SKIN GAME by Ava Gray.
    Sacrifices, um, non essential, um, the vacuum cleaner? no, not a sacrifice. This is difficult. I’ll have to pass on the sacrifice.

  91. Blanche
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:37:18

    Awesome giveaway!!

    I would love Hot For The Holidays and Pleasure and Purpose!!

    I would be willing to sacrifice my little sister……..just saying! :)

  92. Jennifer Leeland
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:41:57

    Ooooh I’d LOVE Shannon K. Butcher’s “Finding the Lost” and “Waking Nightmare” by Kylie Brant please.
    I would be willing to sacrifice my psycho dog who barks at EVERYTHING!!!

  93. Judy Cox
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:44:33

    this is a great contest. How did you think this one up?

    I would pick Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel and Waking Nightmare by Kylie Brant.

    I am having a problem with whom I would get rid of:) It is only my DH and my cat and dog that is in our house. All the children and grandkids are on their own:) I guess I would pick my DH, but it would have to be a loan. I have had him so long, not sure what I would do without him. Maybe give me the same option in a few months. He has just retired!! Not sure how that is going to work out :)

  94. Leontine
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:45:54

    I will pick these two:
    DEMON FORGED / Meljean Brook
    BLAZE OF MEMORY / Nalini Singh

    and I have four beasties looking at me with dark brown eyes saying they are my best friends and are willing to sacrifice themselves for the greater good of making me a very happy boss lady :)

  95. AnimeJune
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:46:52

    Oooooooh, ooooh, I would LOVE to have a copy of Carolyn Jewel’s “Indiscreet” and Claudia Dain’s “How to Dazzle a Duke.” So VERY MUCH.

    I would sacrifice my younger sister K – she’s moving out anyway, right?

  96. Melissa
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:53:14

    Wow, what an awesome line up, it’s hard to pick just TWO, but I’m dying to read Kylie Brants single titles, so I’d love to WIN:

    WAKING NIGHTMARE by Kylie Brant

    WAKING THE DEAD / Kylie Brant

    Great contest, thanks!!!

  97. Gina
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:54:08

    Picking which two books was a lot harder than figuring out which non-essential being in my household to give up.

    My Pics: WAKING NIGHTMARE / Kylie Brant and DEMON FORGED / Meljean Brook

    Now for the sacrifical lamb… I offer up my oldest son. He’s creative, handy, and the girls tell me he’s cute. Having just finished at stint working for the mouse, he is back and ready to go to college. Currently he’s working as a line cook for Panera Bread and has skills as a Barista from his year at Starbucks. Under the militant rule of Disney he learned how to hustle and take orders. Additional qualities include a fine singing voice, a great sense of humor and ‘go get ‘em’ personality.

    Of course he’s male, so that tends to be annoying, and he’s been fairly expensive to maintain (clothes, education, food, etc.) but really the pluses outweight these few nitpicks I might have.

    I’ve had the pleasure of being his mother for 20 years but I’m willing to share for books :)

  98. CherylHC
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:55:33

    This is a great list of books! I would choose A HIGHLANDER CHRISTMAS and
    VIKING HEAT. If I sacrificed my husband’s bigscreen TV, could I pick a third…THE LONE TEXAN. ;-)

  99. ardeatine
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:58:13

    In exchange for How to Dazzle a Duke and Indiscreet, I will tell my builder, (6′ 4″, biceps and abs to die for) that the ladies at Berkley need a little dry-walling done and could he get over there pronto. I’m sure he won’t mind sacrificing himself to the greater good of womankind. He might even have a friend….

  100. Karin
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 10:59:04

    What a great giveaway. All of the books sounds like they’ll be great fall reads. As for the two I would like best, I’ll go with WAKING NIGHTMARE by Kylie Bryant and DEMON FORGED by Meljean Brook. And, from your stash I’ll go with OUT OF THE LIGHT, INTO THE SHADOWS.

    If you really want a sacrifice, there are a few extra people lurking around my office. If that is too much, I have a raspberry bush you can have if you’d like…

  101. Larena Wirum
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:02:06

    I would love to read Waking Nightmare by Kylie Brant and Finding the Lost by Shannon K. Butcher.

    Of course there went my TBB list. Sigh………… just got longer. :-) LOL

    there were some on your stash list that looked excellent too. :-)

  102. FanLit
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:12:29

    I’ll chosse How to Dazzle a Duke by Claudia Dane and Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel. I’ll sacrifice my laptop – it’s broke anyway.

  103. Mina
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:20:24

    The injustice of having to pick just two…

    Okay so…here are my choices

    Pleasure & Purpose by Megan Hart
    Dark Slayer by Christine Feehan

  104. jmc
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:20:41

    I’d love a copy of the Must Love Hellhounds anthology and Skin Games by Ava Gray/Ann Aguirre.

    Non-essential beings to be sacrificed from my household? Dust bunnies. Seems like more appear in the corners and under furniture everyday, and I’d be happy to sacrifice them to get my hands on those two books.

  105. Eshani
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:26:20

    Choosing two books from that list was probably one of my most difficult tasks of the day :)
    I’ll go with “Blaze of Memory” by Nalini Singh because I’m having a love affair with her books, and “How to Dazzle a Duke” by Claudia Dain because it looks great and I’ve never read anything by her.
    As for sacrificial lambs, as of this morning I would have to donate our new puppy because he decided to pee on my new pumps, and had the audacity to sit there grinning..grr!!

  106. Lori S.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:27:41

    Wow, what a list!

    I’ll go for Demon Forged by Meljean Brook and Finding the Lost by Shannon K. Butcher.

    Thanks!

  107. Bella
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:35:36

    Oh my gawd! This is a FANTASTIC giveaway! Thank you Cindy!

    I would love to have Waking Nightmare and Meljean Brook because both of these are new-to-me authors about whom I’ve been hearing terrific things! From your ARC stash, I would love to have Hot for the Holidays because — well, look at that author lineup — need I say more!?!

    Sacrifice — in the past three weeks I have had M-I-L and mom here to “help” while I wait desperately for my DD to start school. (Tomorrow, YAY!) So, I don’t want to sound ungrateful or anything, but it’s a 2-BR apt. and we also have an 80# dog. So I’d be happy to sacrifice their “help” for abit! ;-)

    Thanks again!
    ~bella

  108. Ann Aguirre
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:49:38

    Wow. I’m thrilled beyond belief to see how many people are interested in reading Skin Game. Thank you so much!

  109. TerryS
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:54:15

    Great contest! My choices would be:

    SKIN GAME / Ava Gray – I’d like this one as I’ve never read any books by her before and need to expand my horizons.

    VIKING HEAT / Sandra Hill – I tend to savor her books because they end much too quickly. A strict diet of only one chapter a day though as some days the laughter from her writing is the only laughter of the day. And we all need laughter!

    Who would I give up? With the weather turning colder many outdoor critters are really looking for warmer places to stay. Much as I want the books, I’m not willing to give up either my dogs or my cats but the critters looking for warmth do need a good home. They do NOT want to be in my house where they are sure to be played to death.

  110. Rebecca B
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:55:26

    Amaaaazing.

    I’d love Meljean Brook’s Demon Forged and Finding the Lost by Shannon K Butcher.

    There will be a sacrifice to my household gods shortly. (This also seems timely, as I’m reading The Aeneid).

    Thank you.

  111. Pamela
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:56:46

    I’m such a fan of the Psy/Changeling series, I have to pick Blaze of Memory. There’s been a lot of build up to the new book and I’m looking forward to the pay off.

    My second pick would have to be Must Love Hellhounds. I love all the authors.

    PS I would have picked To Catch a Bride but I bought it last week and finished reading it yesterday. I loved it and would recommend it especially to those who like regencies set in foreign lands.

    Thanks for the contest!

  112. peyton M
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:00:25

    i would like blaze of memory and skin name.

    thanks for these wonderful contests!!

  113. Krystal J
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:01:29

    i would love to have blaze of memory and the shannon k butcher book please!!!

  114. Avery
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:02:09

    blaze of memory and skin game

  115. ms bookjunkie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:05:15

    Should I win, I’ll take the Nalini Singh and the Ava Gray…or whatever you want to send me. I’m not picky -except when I am. *g*

  116. Jody F.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:16:38

    After much deliberation the two books I’d like are:

    PLEASURE AND PURPOSE by Megan Hart (I’ve enjoyed her work before and I like the three-in-one aspect to the story) and BLAZE OF MEMORY by Nalini Singh (I just got into this series and therefore must have it)

    And now I will go forth and start the magical chanting that will hopefully help me win.

  117. Patrice
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:21:16

    Wow! Great line up and definitely a tough choice but I’d like to try Skin Game by Ava Grey. I love her books writing as Ann Aguire! And #2, Pleasure and Purpose by Megan Hart.

    Gah that was hard! (pun intended) As others have said there’s not a bad book in the lot. And what a stash to have…gotta love it! Must Love Hellhounds and Viking Heat caught my eye.

    I live with 5 furbabies and a DH who I want to keep, but I’ll sacrifice several Palmetto Bugs gladly. I’ll even do it without modern weapons like bug spray (which I think they enjoy like we drink martinis!) Their size and creepy factor should gain me warrior woman points at least! LOL

    Thanks Cindy and DA for another great contest (and for my new list of TBR books)!

    Patrice

  118. Niveau
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:29:16

    So many books! The problem with these previews is that they make me want every single title, and I can’t afford them all. *sob* Anyway, the two that appeal to me the most are Pleasure and Purpose and Demon Forged.

    As for the sacrifice… I have a very, very talkative tenant who I wouldn’t miss all that much. You could take his belongings, too! Please! Pretty pretty pretty please! Also, the air conditioner has developed a mind of its own and could, in my opinion, be counted as a being at this point. I’m afraid that it’ll try and curse the house if we just remove it, but if we were to sacrifice it for the greater good, maybe it wouldn’t mind being replaced?

    Thanks for another fantastic contest!

  119. Carolyn H
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:32:56

    THE BORDER LORD AND THE LADY / Bertrice Small cause I read everytime by her and DARK SLAYER / Christine Feehan becausse she was my first introduction to Paranomial

  120. MaryK
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:51:30

    1. Read.
    2. Determined.
    3. I need SKIN GAME by Ava Gray and BLAZE OF MEMORY by Nalini Singh.
    4. I have no non essential beings in my household.

  121. Ashley V
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:56:06

    I would give away anything in my house for a copy of blaze of memory by nalini singh….

    i also really want skin game by ava gray

  122. Patrice
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:57:14

    OOPs – hit the button too fast! So here is the info on the sacrifice I will make. I live with 5 furbabies and a DH who I want to keep, but I’ll sacrifice several Palmetto Bugs (cockroach) gladly. I’ll even do it without modern weapons like bug spray (which I think they enjoy like we drink martinis!) Their giant size and creepy factor should gain me warrior woman points at least! I’m serious – they can fly. eww.

    LOL ;-)
    Patrice

  123. Oyce
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:58:20

    Oooo, I’d love a copy of the Megan Hart due to the reviews of her I’ve read here, and the Meljean Brook for awesome Heaven-and-Hell worldbuilding.

    Non-essentials…take all my school books away from me! please!

  124. Cathy M
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:07:19

    Lots of great Fall reading to look forward to. Top of my list is Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh and Finding The Lost by Shannon Butcher.

    I have a really cranky kidlet today, and would love to push him out of the nest, unfortunately I love the little beggar and my dh told me it was against the “mom” rules.

  125. KimJT
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:08:51

    I really did not think it would take me 30 minutes to debate which two I would want. That said, I gotta go with Blaze of Memory and Skin Game.

  126. Erin
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:10:25

    I defo want Blaze of Memory for sure. Nalini is in my top five favorite authors. I don’t even read the covers before I buy anymore. I just started the Guardian series by Meljean Brook, and I’m really enjoying it. They are smart, smart books. I’d love to have Demon Forged as well.

    As for extraneous beings in my house, Linus the beagle is on my list today. Repeat after me: Books are not for chewing! Books are not for chewing!

  127. joykenn
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:31:31

    OK, Nalini Singh for sure. I’ve loved all the Psy/Changling stories. Interesting world building. And Megan Hart…I read a review of this series and I really would like to see if its as good as I think it might be…well, different anyway.

    OK, non-essential beings in my household–I couldn’t of course give away my cat (though she might give me away if I don’t start filling her bowl earlier and earlier each morning, as if 6am isn’t soon enough!). You could definitely take either of my two big lugs of sons, especially the second one who always “forgets” to do what I ask him to around the house. And, depending on my mood, you can have my husband too….no wait, tomorrow is trash day, better wait until next week….

  128. ArkansasCyndi
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:32:01

    I am drooling for:

    SKIN GAME / Ava Gray

    HOW TO DAZZLE A DUKE Claudia Dain

  129. Christina
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:32:24

    ahhhh! I just want PLEASURE AND PURPOSE by Megan Hart you can have everything else and i’d sacrifice myself for it haha! I’m dying to read that book!

  130. rosie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:39:31

    Luscious, sexy, complex historical romance? INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel.. my kinda book
    TO CATCH A BRIDE / Anne Gracie.. Mum’s kinda book!
    sacrifice… half an hour off twitter!!! or two teenage daughters.. we are talking Anastasia and Drusilla.. Cinder’s step sisters on a bad day
    ouch the pain.

  131. Carrie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:41:36

    I would love to read HOW TO DAZZLE A DUKE by Claudia Dain and SKIN GAME by Ava Gray!!

  132. Angelique
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:42:20

    “Indiscreet” by Carolyn Jewel and “How to Dazzle a Duke” by Claudia Dain

    As for a non-essential being in my household…Um, You can have my plant? I live alone (no pets, no kids, no significant other), so the plant is the best I can do.

  133. GrowlyCub
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:43:33

    @ardeatine:

    Say, where do you live, ardeatine? Your builder sounds just like what the doctor ordered, rofl.

  134. Lisa T.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:43:59

    I would love, love, love a copy of Blaze of Memory and Demon Forged. I would gladly sacrifice the blasted elliptical machine and maybe a cat or two for them.

    Thanks!

  135. Kryianna
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:45:38

    I’d love Skin Game — I love Ann Aguirre, and have heard great things about Skin Game. I’d also love Finding the Lost. Haven’t tried Shannon Butcher yet, but want to!

    A Highlander Christmas sounds awesome too. I love Cindy Miles!

    As for non-essential beings….well, we have fruit flies that came with the latest crop of tomatoes. I will willingly sacrifice all of them (and there’s a lot) to get more books!

  136. C.J. Redwine
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:49:24

    I want (which really isn’t a strong enough word, here) Demon Forged and Waking Nightmare.

    I’m willing to sacrifice my *gulp* coffee maker! You can’t ask for more than that!

  137. limecello
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:51:15

    Indiscreet and Blaze of Memory top my “want” list out of these books. Non essential beings in the household? Haha I guess that would be me. O_o and doesn’t the fact that I’m willing to give myself up mean something?

  138. Terri W.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:51:51

    Wow what a great set of books to choice from.

    I would love to win “Waking Nightmare” by Kylie Bryant and “Indiscreet” by Carolyn Jewel.

    I would sacrifice a couple of hours off the internet! Oh that is going to be hard! LOL!

    Thanks for the great contest!

  139. Laura K Curtis
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:52:40

    Oh, so many choices! I’d have to say the two I am desperate to read are:
    1. WAKING NIGHTMARE by Kylie Brant
    2. INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel
    As for sacrifices… this should be enough to explain it: Conan

  140. rebyj
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:53:57

    INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel

    And I reaaaaaaaaaaly want Viking Heat by Sandra Hill. My keeper shelf is begging for it.

    As for non essential beings in my household, you can have Jelly, my daughter’s 14 week old pug that is comprised of 99% snot. Sneezes all the time. Sven, my imaginary half naked , ripped masseur is essential ,he’s worn out cuz I keep him busy all the time, so take the pug.

  141. Sharon M
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:54:37

    I’d love a copy of THE LONE TEXAN by Jodi Thomas and HOT FOR THE HOLIDAYS by Lora Leigh, Angela Knight, Anya Bast, and Allyson James.

  142. Sayuri
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:02:34

    That’s really difficult for me cause I love Nalini, Meljean and Ava Gray (Ann Aguirre)

    Erm….

    Ok

    Ava Gray and Nalini SIngh

  143. Elyssa Papa
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:03:44

    I’d love the Ava Gray book, but I’ll be happy with any of these, especially since most are new to me authors.

  144. emmad
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:07:44

    I would love Demon Forged and Skin Game. Have also been eying up Must Love Hellhounds.

    As for non essential beings well there is only me and my man at home (though will have a house full this weekend celbrating his 60th birthday). Oh I know those pesky rabbits that are digging under the house they could go. Anyone for rabbit stew?

  145. Julie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:12:46

    Unashamedly making grabby hands at Blaze of Memory and Must Love Hellhounds, as I am currently going through Nalini Singh’s works like they were chocolate.

    And to free up shelf space for these new lovelies, I’ll give up my younger sister. She’s trained, and is good for household chores. ;)

  146. Sabrina
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:15:05

    I’m liking Waking Nightmare and Skin Game from the new releases. All great choices though!

    From your other list, I really want to read Hot for the Holidays.

    As many others have mentioned, I guess I could send over my DH – he’s a good cook and pretty decent at chores! ;)

  147. Carol
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:23:38

    I would love to receive Nalini Singh’s Blaze of Memory and Shannon K Butcher’s Finding the Lost. Hmmmm…for Nalini I would scarifice chocolate!!! As for non essential item….how about the dishwasher.

  148. cyclops8
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:46:07

    I would like “Skin Game” by Ava Gray and “Waking the Dead” by Kylie Brant.

  149. Anne Marie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:46:14

    My Choices would be The Border Lord and the Lady and The Kindred.

  150. Amber E.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:50:30

    Please enter me in your book giveaway! I would love to read “Indiscreet” by Carolyn Jewel and “How to Dazzle a Duke” by Claudia Dain. I’ve heard so many good things about these authors. As for something to sacrifice does an alarmclock count? Thanks

  151. Pam P
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:53:40

    Quite a few here on my wishlist. Must have Blaze of Memory, Nalini’s Psy series is my favorite; if I had someone else here to sacrifice for it, I would, lol. Next would be Indiscreet, I’ve always liked Carolyn Jewel’s stories, Scandal was one of my top reads last year.

  152. Tynga
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:53:47

    I would pick Demon Forged and Must love hellhounds.
    Both looks awesome!

  153. JB Hunt
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:57:46

    I would love copies of:

    How to Dazzle a Duke (Claudia Dain)
    Demon Forged (Meljean Brook)

    I’ve been meaning to get rid of that old couch…

  154. Moth
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:01:03

    Ooh! Great giveaway. Put me in for:

    INDISCREET by Carolyn Jewel

    And

    SKIN GAME by Ava Gray

    Please oh please! I’ll sacrifice one of my roommates. Just let me know. ;P

  155. Brandy
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:10:54

    Ooh, Skin Game by Ava Gray sounds good, as does Must Love Hellhounds by Charlaine Harris, Nalini Singh and Iona Andrews.
    As for non essential items? I guess the two recliners we have could use a new home. *G*

  156. Bev
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:15:29

    Indiscreet and How to Dazzle a Duke because I LOVE historicals!!!

  157. Valerie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:15:53

    Blaze of Memory and How to Dazzle a Duke. A sacrifice… I’ve got an old toddler bed I’ve been meaning to demolish…

  158. catslady
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:56:23

    So many wonderful choices. I’ll try to pick ones that aren’t quite as popular lol – Dragon Moon by Rebecca York and Dark Slayer by Christine Feehan. Hey I’d offer up my hubby if anyone wanted him – think I’ll keep my cats!!

  159. willaful
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:57:08

    I’d love Blaze of Memory and To Catch a Bride – I’m a bit of an eclectic romance reader! – and have a darling almost-8 year old boy that’s just taking up room that could be used for books. ;-)

  160. Cybercliper
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:00:42

    Wow, I would love to win a copy of DARK SLAYER by Christine Feehan and FINDING THE LOST by Shannon Butcher.

    As for the non essential item? Well, I first thought I'd give you my DH, but he's really kinda essential for my mental health and he's a little worn around the edges – still works pretty well though. But hey, he's got a shiny new John Deere tractor that wakes me up too darn early in the morning…shipping might be a problem, but I'm sure we can work something out! Now if I can only figure out how to keep him from noticing :-)

  161. catie james
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:01:47

    My two choices are: WAKING NIGHTMARE and INDISCREET (wouldn’t object to THE LONE TEXAN being on the table either, but since I’ve read one book in the Whispering Creek series and have the other two on my TBR shelf, it’s pretty much a given purchase).

    As for whom among my household should be sacrificed? Shameful as it is to admit, I have to nominate myself for first person kicked off the island. Sure I look things up on the internet, make sure my family has great movies to watch, books to read, that mom’s jewelry & makeup don’t fall into “old lady frump” category, help with the laundry, dishes and general house up-keep, plus I spend a great deal of time as Dad’s acting au pair, but beyond that…I’m fairly useless.

  162. CourtneyLee
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:02:44

    Definitely BLAZE OF MEMORY and the MUST LOVE HELLHOUNDS antho. I would read a grocery list if Nalini Singh wrote it. :)

    I adore so much of what Berkley publishes. You guys rock!

    And though today my firstborn is just begging to be sacrificed (she’s 3 and has decided to be deaf today), I’m afraid I’ll have to keep her. You can have my prolific army of dust bunnies, though. They’ve been quietly expanding their population under the fridge for a loooong time.

  163. Billie Davis
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:23:26

    Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh and Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel in exchange for
    the dogs in the yard behind mine. Please, take the dogs even without
    the books!!!

  164. Brenda Rupp
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:29:48

    My two choices would be Waking Nightmare and Indiscreet. You can take the black squirrels in our yard even without the books. The hateful things keep getting into my birdfeed before the birds can get to it!

  165. Has
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:35:14

    I would love Blaze of Memory and Demon Forged

    And if I had to sacrifice my brother :D Would like custody of my computer back :P

    And Thank you Jane and Anne and Cindy for hosting and giving away these goodies!

  166. Lori
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:38:59

    I would love to have Waking Nightmare and Skin Game.

  167. Susan Laura
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:55:43

    I would love to read WAKING NIGHTMARE and HOW TO DAZZLE A DUKE. From the second list I would choose OUT OF THE LIGHT, INTO THE SHADOWS.

    And you are more than welcome to our 8+ year old desktop computer. It’s been acting wonky this week and it’s making me nervous. Or perhaps you’d like our relatively new laptop with the VISTA operating system? At least daily we threaten to throw it away.

  168. Lindsay
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:00:20

    I would love to have:

    Pleasure and Purpose (love Megan Hart!) and Highlander Christmas

  169. Tiffany
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:05:25

    Incredible book offerings! The blurbed books I want most are Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh and Skin Game by Ava Gray (what a great penname!).

    (I’m also really excited about the Christmas books – Hot for the Holidays and A Highlander Christmas!)

    Thank you so much for the amazing contest!!!

  170. Collette
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:09:20

    I’d love to read the Claudia Dain and the Must Love Hellhounds. An anthology with all those authors is a little slice of happiness.

    As far as sacrificing the non-essential, my husband is working 8 days a week right now so he definitely counts. He’s all yours. You know you get his freaking laundry too, right? He’ll put it in the hamper and be generally quite polite but he’s never home lately. Makes the 24/8 with the 2 year old who’s into screaming right now a teensy tiny bit harder to take. You can have him too but only sometimes. The kisses are mine but I’m willing to sacrifice the screaming.

    Oh, wait, how about the lobby ladies? You know, the ones who critique my every parenting move as I’m walking through the lobby.

    “You can’t possibly be taking him out in this weather.”
    Well, if I had a choice, do you think I’d drag him out in this crap? Why don’t you keep him til I get back?

    “He needs more fresh air. You should take him outside.” (Yep, different lady–see how confusing it is?)
    Um, now it’s snowing and we have to go about 8 miles. Should I walk or take the bike?

    “If you just X, he’d be better at Y.”
    Thanks, I never thought about talking to him so he’d learn to talk. You guys are geniuses.

    Sigh. Wow, this really wound me up! I’m kind of thinking now that you can keep the books if you’ll only take the lobby ladies. ;-)

  171. Tili
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:17:47

    I would like Pleasure and Purpose or Indiscreet.

  172. Wanda
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:34:36

    I think the two books I would most like are Waking Nightmare by Kylie Brant and The Lone Texan by Jodi Thomas.
    wandanamgreb(at)gmail(dot)com

  173. Jessie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:41:43

    I would love Blaze of Memory and Finding the Lost

  174. Penny
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:20:56

    All the books sound great!

    I would like Nalini Singh’s Blaze of Memory & Hot for the Holiday anthology.

  175. Kate K
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:42:20

    I’d love Jodi Thomas – THE LONE TEXAN, since she got me into Westerns, and of course BLAZE OF MEMORY, since Nalini Singh is one of only two paranormal authors I read!

  176. Deb
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:42:35

    Both Pleasure and Purpose by Megan Hart and Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel sound like good reads.

    As for non-essential beings, I’d say you could have my fish, but I’m actually pretty fond of him. Maybe the philodendron with two leaves?

  177. Little Lamb Lost
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:07:38

    I would dearly love Skin Game by Ava Gray and Demon Forged by Meljean Brook.

    Non-essential beings I would happily sacrifice may impress you only in quantity. Tis spider season here and they are everywhere. Would be thrilled to share.

  178. Rosie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:13:42

    I’d love to have Pleasure and Purpose by Megan Hart and Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel.

    I wonder if sacrificing all the college kids who park in front of my apartment building, thus leaving no space for me to park, counts as non-essential beings in my household? If not I am willing to hand over all the crap treasure that is building up in my closets and cupboards.

  179. Sue R
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:14:39

    Awesome books. I had trouble narrowing down my choices. I would like Skin Game by Ava Gray and The Kindred by L.L Foster.

    As for the non-essential beings, I am willing to offer my turtle. He does not like me anyways. He bites me everytime I feed him. It is a painful relationship. He just looks adorable that is why I been putting up with his attitude. :]

  180. Renee
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:20:54

    Oh my, what a great selection of upcoming books! It’s a hard choice, but I would go with Indiscreet and Blaze of Memory.

    I’d donate the sea snail that lives in our fish tank. He is very small, and cleans the tank, but still, its a snail. Ick.

  181. May B.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:25:47

    All books are so interesting but Demon Forged and Blaze of Memory are on my autobuy list especially Demon Forged since it had been almost a year after the last book.

    As for the non-essential, I lived alone without a pet or anything. Can I sacrifice my neighbor?

  182. Elaine G
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:28:12

    I’d like the chance to win
    A HIGHLANDER CHRISTMAS by Dawn Halliday, Cindy Miles, Sophie Renwick
    PLEASURE AND PURPOSE by Megan Hart

  183. Linsey
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:31:51

    I can only choose two?

    Alright, I’ll go with Indiscreet and Skin Game. Both have excellent excerpts up at the authors’ websites and both authors would be new to me in these sub genres. I’ve read Jewel’s paranormals and I’ve read everything Gray put online a couple of nom de plumes (is that how you pluralize that?) back.

    As for what I would offer up? I’ve been pretty domestic lately so I can offer up a jar of spicy, pickled green beans or Hollywood Plum jam. The jam, at least, appears to botulism free. I’ve got a few weeks to go before someone else can find out with the green beans.

    Oh, and there might be pickled jalapeños here in a few weeks as well.

  184. Donna S
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:33:12

    Great list. I would like Waking Nightmare and Skin Game. I have been reading lots about both and they sound great.

  185. Linda Henderson
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:42:36

    My two picks would be Dragon Moon and Hot For The Holidays. Rebecca York is one of my favorites and I like all the authors in the second book. I am divorced so I don’t have anyone at home to donate but I would gladly give you my ex-husband.

  186. Rossi
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:55:33

    Put me down for Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel and Pleasure and Purpose by Megan Hart please. They sound interesting.

  187. Kaetrin
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:19:03

    Please count me in for Pleasure and Purpose by Megan Hart and Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel – both are must have authors for me.

  188. Carol
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:19:29

    Great books! I’d like Pleasure and Purpose and How to Dazzle a Duke. Thanks for this awesome contest!

  189. Shelly @ Bewitched
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:27:22

    What a list! I had to take a moment to add quite a few to my wish list at Amazon before posting this! I am sooooo very excited to see Kylie Brant coming to single titles! So definitely Waking Nightmare and I am so very intrigued by Skin Game!

    Unfortunately, I’m it in my household, but I’d be willing to come by for some chore duty! :)

  190. Virginia Hendricks
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:28:30

    Ahhhh soooo many choices!!

    Indiscreet and Skin Game. :)

  191. Shannan
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:32:35

    For a copy of Blaze of Memory or Pleasure and Purpose, I will gladly give you my Evil Upstairs Neighbor. She’s very active. You can make her your errand girl and make both our lives better!

  192. Virginia C
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:35:44

    Fabulous giveaway–thank you! HOW TO DAZZLE A DUE and INDISCREET, plus A HIGHLANDER CHRISTMAS. The only beings in my house are my cats and their human (me). They (the cats) are obviously the superior beings. However, I cannot be sacrificed because I operate the can opener!

  193. Lorraine
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:38:08

    I’d love to win How to Dazzle a Duke and Skin Game. I’ve never read those authors before and this would be a great opportunity to sample their work.

    Non essential being to be sacrificed? Hmm, I’m not ready to give up my husband yet, so I guess I’ll let you have my mother-in-law!

  194. Kimi
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:39:37

    DEMON FORGED by Meljean Brook
    BLAZE OF MEMORY by Nalini Singh

  195. Jacqueline L.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:52:51

    Argh! Just 2?? This is soooooooo hard!

    Okay, fine. Demon Forged and Must Love Hellhounds.

    As for non-essential beings? Um…I’m just sitting here so I guess I’m the non-essential being in the house right now. Hmmm, I might have to think this through though ’cause if I sacrifice myself, how am I going to read the books if I win them??

  196. Kathy
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:59:39

    Demon Forged and Finding the Lost. They all sound good though. It was hard to choose.

  197. PhyllisC
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 21:11:27

    Too many to choose from but I love historicals. These are the two that I narrowed it down to that I would love to have:

    â– PLEASURE AND PURPOSE / Megan Hart
    â– HOW TO DAZZLE A DUKE / Claudia Dain

    I would be glad to send my husband in exchange for the books. He complains all the time about how many books that I have so I think that would be a good exchange for me; then I wouldn’t have to hear him complain any more about all my books. :D

    Also I have a new granddaughter born today so this would be icing on the cake and really top off a great day!

  198. Donna L.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 21:33:02

    Demon Forged and Skin Game!!

    I’d gladly give up my hubby. You might be able to get him to move from the couch to the love seat – good luck! ;)

  199. LaurieF
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 22:01:15

    I would so love Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel and Skin Game by Ava Gray.
    Both authors I’ve read and think are superb. Well, you can’t have my cat
    Miss Sadie (she’s essential) but I will give up *sigh* the dust bunnies. I know, I know, the sacrifice is to monumental but…. I will make it. And really, they’re a real bang for your buck, the size of rotweillers and I swear they growl when I turn on the vacuum cleaner.

  200. jessw
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 22:04:48

    What a great lineup for the Fall!
    I would love to win Blaze of Memory by Singh (just finished Branded by Fire, which I loved) and Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel. (I have been eagerly awaiting her next historical since finishing Scandal. Still trying to find a good, non-budget-busting copy of Lord Ruin.)
    Thanks to Ms. Hwang, Berkeley and DA.

  201. Cindy Olp
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 22:21:05

    I would like to choose Waking Nightmare and Waking the Dead by Kylie Brant. She is one of my all time favorite authors and is an auto buy for me. The books sound like they will keep you on the edge of your seat and I can’t wait to read it. If those two are not available I would also be interested in Waking Evil by Kylie Brant, Viking Heat by Sandra Hill or Hot for the Holidays.

    If you are asking who in my family I would sacrifice for these it would be my daughter Mysti (not really) since she just does not get the idea that reading allows your imagination to grow.

  202. Mariee
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 23:30:30

    Please count me in for Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel and Waking Nightmare by Kylie Brant

  203. chickengnocchi
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 23:35:15

    I would like to choose Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel and Must Love Hellhounds, Thanks!!

  204. Elaine C.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 23:36:06

    BLAZE OF MEMORY by Nalini Singh and DEMON FORGED by Meljean Brook are my top 2 choices.

    (Not easily determined either!)

    All non-essentials are out the door as I type ;)

  205. Jeanette Juan
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 00:25:52

    I would love Blaze Of Memory and Must Love Hellhounds! That was definitely hard to choose!

  206. Katybug
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 01:43:53

    Waking Nightmare
    Dazzle a Duke

    Now to the sacrifice :
    the 10 year old has my heart so he can’t be sacrificed even for books
    the 35 year old is my work in progress (and he does manage to fix and help a lot so he can stay even for BOOKS)
    The male cat is trained to talk on command and that’s just too much fun! He also likes to talk while I cook and keep me company in front of the fridge (because he can’t climb, never has done it much and is clumzy – another endearing trait), he also goes insane when you open tuna or calamata olives -
    The female cat is what we have termed our attention whore and she has to stay or the 10 year old and 35 year old will sacrifice me!

    The sacrifice:
    The 67 year old – he tells a lot of jokes and pays his bills on time. He will need assistance for his daily food and living but he will never ask, you will have to guess or order – your own little submissive if your into dominance :P (Gross that’s my father in law did I just make that joke?!)

    The year old Black Lab Pup that is better known as hyperactive attention deficit and mentally challenged. She will chew everything you own if you don’t put away (better than sticky notes all over the place and a messy house, right?) it’s like a built in reminder system! She will bark when you put her out so loud that all of your neighbors will avoid you for fear they will cuss you – in addition, its great revenge if your neighbor’s dog barks! She will sit/stay after about five minutes of training – but you will have to retrain her everyday. She will run you around the block helping you shed those pounds! She will play catch merely to appease you for about 30 seconds and then you can get the ball yourself (more weight loss) – she loves playing tag because no matter how fast you run, she will win and she loves swimming. She needs a good spay because her German Shepard boyfriend is always lurking in the yard when she goes out!

  207. Willa
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 01:58:40

    Waking Nightmare – Kylie Brant & Blaze of Memory – Nalini Singh!

  208. Kat
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 02:36:00

    Blaze of Memory or Skin Game. Um, if you can please find the rogue spider that snuck in while I was airing the house after burning something plastic in the dishwasher…you can have that particular non-essential being with my blessings.

  209. Meanne
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 02:50:06

    TO CATCH A BRIDE by Anne Gracie and THE LONE TEXAN by Jodi Thomas pretty please!

  210. Cindy W
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 03:25:05

    INDISCREET / Carolyn Jewel
    FINDING THE LOST / Shannon K. Butcher

  211. Wandergurl
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 04:05:42

    I would like:

    Pleasure & Purpose by Megan Hart
    How to Dazzle a Duke by Claudia Dain

    I’ve never actually been able to find a Claudia Dain here in Australia, tho I’m not sure if its because its sold out or its just not in the local book stores. Maybe I’m just not looking in the right places…

  212. maered
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 04:30:29

    BLAZE OF MEMORY / Nalini Singh and DEMON FORGED / Meljean Brook are the ones that I would most like, please.

    And my sister is a GREAT cook. She will cook you anything your heart desires. It would be a sacrifice for me too, to have her go but the books are more important. *sigh*

  213. Aemelia
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 04:36:16

    VIKING HEAT by Sandra Hill and HOW TO DAZZLE A DUKE by Claudia Dain…. that is what I really want. :)

    I’m willing to sacrifice the spider that scared the crap out of me this morning in the shower!!! horry cow it was HUGE…I coulda really hurt something!!! o.O

  214. Emmanuelle
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 05:01:30

    Wow I pick :

    Waking Nightmare
    the lone Texan

  215. Meghan
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 05:02:52

    I’d love Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh and Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel! As for non-essential beings, that’s a hard one. I’m the only one who lives here! I’d have to sacrifice my plants and cook with dried herbs for the time being!

  216. gajenny
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 05:15:29

    I’d like Blaze of Memory and Demon Forged. I do believe I’ll have to check out these other ones though, everything looks so interesting.

  217. Pat L.
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 05:24:55

    I would have to choose Waking Nightmare, The Annie Grace Book or the Charlaine Harris book and the Jodi Thomas book from your stash.

  218. Mariska
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 05:56:37

    Wow..lots of free books! I have only two books to choose?
    I will choose:
    - Demon Forged by Meljean Brook
    I’m so into paranormal genre. And you review makes me want to have it more!
    - Waking the Dead by Kylie Brant
    I really want to complete my collection of Her Books. She’s Brilliant!

    What i should i trade with those books? I’m happy here with my hubby and son. Can i just make you two pans of brownies? :) coz i don’t have goat or cats to sacrife.
    Mariska

  219. othena13
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 06:10:16

    I would love to win Blaze of Memory and Pleasure and Purpose or Hot for the Holidays from your stash. The Skin Game by Ava Gray also looks interesting, may have to check that one out.

  220. Angela T.
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 06:40:31

    My two choices are:
    â– DEMON FORGED / Meljean Brook
    â– VIKING HEAT / Sandra Hill
    But I have to say that I’d be happy with any of them. Excellent lineup!

  221. Caitie
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 06:40:34

    Another amazing giveaway! Gasp:) My 2 picks would be Blaze of Memory and Skin Game

  222. Amelie Markik
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 07:13:11

    Blaze of Memory and Demon Forged. Yum. There were several here I wanted, but those two top the list. Thanks for the contest!

  223. srishtee
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 08:03:22

    Tough choices! Wow! Thanks for the giveaway!!! My top 2 choices are:

    PLEASURE AND PURPOSE / Megan Hart
    or
    Waking Nightmare/ Kylie Brant

    I am tempted to add in the other Kylie Brant novels as she’s a new author i wanted to try. Thank you!!

    I would giveup that pile of games cds (Note: old cds :P but still get me sm cash at the money changer) for these books!! ;)

  224. Wendy
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 09:14:51

    I’d like Blaze of Memory and Skin Game!

  225. Jacqueline C.
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 10:42:45

    I would like Must Love Hellhounds by Charlaine Harris, et al. and Indiscreet by Carolyn Jewel.

    jax[at]eclecticbooklover.com

  226. Kelly L.
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 11:00:11

    I’d like Must Love Hellhounds and Pleasure and Purpose. :)

  227. Susan in AZ
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 12:54:58

    I WANT Indiscreet and How to Dazzle a Duke… call me a sucker for romances!

  228. Lisa N.
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 13:17:30

    I’ve managed to narrow the list down to Blaze of Memory and Must Love Hellhounds. I’m sensing an author theme… :)

  229. Bea Chan
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 13:22:25

    I’d have to go with Demon Forged and Waking Nightmare,

  230. Rosie Carlo
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 14:39:24

    So, after perusing the list of goodies, I would love to read Pleasure and Purpose and Dark Slayer. Please put my name in the hat for those two.

    In return, you can have either my first or second born. They are trained to do chores (but not without complaint) and they are really pleasant children to have around. The second one comes complete with ice hockey bills. :-)

  231. Elise
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 15:35:32

    I always end up referring back to these preview posts when I’m looking for something new to read.

    My picks from this batch would be Blaze of Memory because I’m so in love with the Psy/Changeling series and Finding the Lost which sounds awesome (must go look up the first book).

    Atm I’d hand over my kitten Lola who is making serious attempts to pounce on my monitor right now with wet paws.

  232. Marial
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 16:22:52

    I would like the Border Lord and the Kady by Bertrice Small and the Pleasure and the purpose by Meagn Hart.
    What I would do for the books? Well, since I don’t have kids, perhaps I’d sacrifice the neighbor’s kids…nobody will miss them…LOL

  233. Janet H
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 16:45:45

    Books from Berkley’s Fall line up: Pleasure and Purpose — Megan’s great! and Skin Game — Ann’s Sirantha Jax is my kind of herione!!
    FROM your stash: Hot for the Holidays and The Lone Texan
    I’m looking forward to these the most.

  234. Karen W.
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 17:03:25

    The two books I would love the most are:

    MUST LOVE HELLHOUNDS by C. Harris, et al

    FINDING THE LOST by Shannon K. Butcher

    I live alone so there really aren’t any non-essential members of my household to sacrifice, but I’m not above doing some hardcore begging and offering up a houseplant! :)

%d bloggers like this: