Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

ACE/ROC 2011 Fall Preview and Giveaway from Anne Sowards

Update:  Our winners are as follows:

 

1) Lauren
2) md
3) sarah mayberry
4) Sara M
5) Jikie
6) Mary Beth
7) Brandy
8) Marty
9) Jacqueline Cook
10) Ann
11) shelley
12) margaret whelehan
13) Patrice
14) JenM
15) SarahM
16) Pamk
17) RachaelM
18) Tae
19) Seema
20) Teresa Warner
21) Julia Broadbooks
22) Heather F.
23) lisabookworm
24) Frannie
25) Rhianna
26) kim57
27) Van P.
28) Teri C
29) Pria
30) Jade

Welcome to Ace and Roc’s exciting fall books preview and giveaway. It’s almost autumn, and when it starts getting colder, I, for one, love to curl up with a good book. We’ve got some great debuts and new titles from favorite authors to talk about (and give away) to keep you entertained no matter the weather.

Thanks again to Dear Author for giving me this opportunity to let you know about some of our terrific upcoming titles. As always, there are too many good books for me to mention all of them, so you can visit our site (http://us.penguingroup.com/scififantasy) or our Facebook page to see what other books we’re publishing (http://www.facebook.com/acerocbooks).

September 2011

shadow kin by m j scottSHADOW KIN by M. J. Scott

This is a debut I absolutely loved when I read the manuscript for the editor who was considering it, and I hope you’ll give it a shot! It’s set in a wonderfully realized fantasy city with a 19th century feel to it, and the main character is an assassin bound to a vampire lord. It combines elements of traditional fantasy, urban fantasy, steampunk, and romance in an evocative world to make a powerful, unique, and thrilling story.

Imagine a city divided. On one side, the Night World ruled by the Blood Lords and the Beast Kind. On the other, the elusive Fae and the humans protected by their steadfast mages. A city held together by nothing more than a treaty—and even then, just barely…

I was born of a Fae mother, but I had no place among her kind. They called me soulless. An abomination. Perhaps they’re right.… I am a wraith, a shadow who slips between worlds. I was given into the service of the Blood Lord Lucius, who raised me to be his most feared assassin. Still, I’m nothing more than a slave to my master and to the need that only he can fulfill.…

Then Lucius orders me to kill Simon DuCaine, a powerful sunmage. In the blaze of Simon’s magic, my own disappears. Instead of seeking revenge, he shows me mercy. He wants to free me. But that’s one thing my master and his kind will never allow.

And even if I thought I could trust Simon, stepping from the shadows into the light isn’t as simple as it sounds.…

 

christine cody

BloodlandsBLOODLANDS and BLOOD RULES by Christine Cody

Because I completely failed to organize an Ace / Roc giveaway for our summer titles (mea culpa), you may have missed the launch of Christine Cody’s new Bloodlands series in August. We are publishing the books back-to-back, so I’m making up for my oversight by highlighting the series and giving away the first two books.

This is another new series that’s so fresh and different it’s a little hard to classify. Christine’s editor describes it as a post-apocalyptic western—with vampires.

The New Badlands—a desolate area in the West forged by the terrible events that altered the entire country, where a few frightened citizens retreated underground to shelter from the brutal weather…and from a society gone deadly dangerous.

Then the vampire arrived—and they started calling it the Bloodlands.

Not because Gabriel, the so-called monster running from his true self, was searching for his lover’s murderer. Nor because Mariah, the woman who reluctantly took him in, was willing to do anything to survive in the changed world.

No, the Badlands officially became the Bloodlands the moment a gun-for-hire who’d decided to slay every monster left in the country came after Gabriel.…

 

October 2011

SINS OF THE ANGELS by Linda Poitevin
SINS OF THE ANGELS by Linda Poitevin

This is the first in an exciting new urban fantasy series featuring a detective with a secret lineage, an undercover hunter, and a Fallen Angel out to destroy the world.

Homicide detective Alexandra Jarvis answers to no one. Especially not to the new partner assigned to her in the middle of a gruesome serial-killer case—a partner who is obstructive, irritatingly magnetic, and arrogant as hell.

Aramael is a Power—a hunter of the Fallen Angels. A millennium ago, he sentenced his own brother to eternal exile for crimes against humanity. Now his brother is back and wreaking murderous havoc in the mortal realm. To find him, Aramael must play second to a human police office who wants nothing to do with him and whose very bloodline threatens both his mission and his soul.

Now, faced with a Fallen Angel hell-bent on triggering the apocalypse, Alex and Aramael have no choice but to join forces, because only together can they stop the end of days.

 

DEAD MANN WALKING by Stefan PetruchaDEAD MANN WALKING by Stefan Petrucha

I have three words for you: zombie private detective. DEAD MANN WALKING kicks off a new series with a twist. Full disclosure—there is not a lot in the way of romance in this book. But if you like straight up fantasy noir mystery, this could be right up your alley.

The name is, or maybe I should say was, Hessius Mann. I’m dead. After I was executed for my wife’s murder, suppressed evidence came to light and the verdict was overturned. Lucky me, I was brought back to life, thanks to the miracles of modern science. Not that anyone believes I’m innocent. Hell, even I don’t, seeing as how I can’t remember.

Livebloods would rather we zombies be unseen and unheard as well as undead, but now that I’ve joined the ranks of Fort Hammer’s pulse-challenged, I try to make a “living” as a private investigator. Not that I get hired often. So when a lawyer brings me a missing person case and offers a whole lot of cash, I’m not inclined to say no. But after a few zombies turn up cut to pieces, I start thinking someone’s giving me the run-around—and it’s not like I’m in any condition to make a quick getaway…

 

ANGELS OF DARKNESS by Nalini Singh, Ilona Andrews, Meljean Brook, and Sharon ShinnANGELS OF DARKNESS by Nalini Singh, Ilona Andrews, Meljean Brook, and Sharon Shinn

This is a collection of four urban fantasy and paranormal romance novellas with an angel theme from an absolute all-star lineup of writers!

 

Angel’s Wolf by Nalini Singh

In the spellbinding universe of the Guild Hunter, a vampire becomes obsessed with the seductive angel who rules the Louisiana territory. But in her court, all is not what it appears to be.

 

Alphas: Origins by Ilona Andrews

A woman is kidnapped into a world divided by a superhuman civil war. As the captive of an irresistibly dangerous male, she has two choices: submit and become a pawn, or take hold of her own destiny.

 

Ascension by Meljean Brook

When vampires disappear from a community he’s protecting, a world-weary Guardian doesn’t know what evil he’s hunting, but he’d rather hunt alone than accept help from his ex-lover and fellow Guardian, Radha. But Radha refues to leave him, because she’s determined not just to help him save the community…but to save him.

 

Nocturne by Sharon Shinn

Accepting a position in a secluded and whispered-about mansion, a woman soon discovers the source of its mystery: the blind, tormented angel who lives there, and whose secrets could now destroy them both.

 

November 2011

 

THE SHADOW READER by Sandy WilliamsTHE SHADOW READER by Sandy Williams

THE SHADOW READER is the first book my wonderful assistant Kat Sherbo has edited, and it’s really terrific. It’s urban fantasy, but about the fae, and with as strong a focus on the fae realm as the human. The heroine’s voice drew me in right away. All her life she’s been used by the fae for the special ability she has, and when the book opens she’s taking a college final for the umpteenth time—only to be interrupted by the fae, who need her for something. Again.

 

Some humans can see the fae. McKinzie Lewis can track them, reading the shadows they leave behind. But some shadows lead to danger. Others lead to lies.

A Houston college student trying to finish her degree, McKenzie has been working for the fae king for years, tracking vicious rebels who would claim the Realm. Her job isn’t her only secret. For just as long, she’s been in love with Kyol, the king’s sword-master—and relationships between humans and fae are forbidden.

But any hope for a normal life is shattered when she’s captured by Aren, the fierce and uncompromising rebel leader. He teaches her the forbidden fae language and tells her dark truths about the Court, all to persuade her to turn against the king. Time is running out, and as the fight starts to claim human lives, McKenzie has to decide once and for all whom to trust—and where she ultimately stands in the face of a cataclysmic civil war.

 

LAST BREATH by Rachel CaineLAST BREATH by Rachel Caine

This is not technically a Roc book, but I write this, so.… LAST BREATH is the next in Rachel’s Morganville Vampires YA series. Personally, I think the series hits a new high with this book. It’s so powerful and emotionally wrenching that I cried. (Not to say that I’m a heartless wench or anything, but it takes a lot for a book to make me cry.) Never fear—things will turn out in the end.

 

Morganville, Texas, is a small college town that’s had its share of problems, thanks to a sometimes volatile mix of human and vampire residents. But there is a new threat in town, and he’s turning the vampires from predators into prey.…

With her boss preoccupied researching the Founder Houses in Morganville, student Claire Danvers is left to her own devices when she learns that three vampires have vanished without a trace.

She soon discovers that the last person seen with one of the missing vampires is someone who has just moved to town—a mysterious individual named Magnus. After an uneasy encounter with Morganville’s newest resident, Claire is certain Magnus isn’t merely human. But is Magnus a vampire—or something else entirely?

One thing is clear: Magnus is to blame for the disappearances. And if vampires are turning into victims, what chance does a human like Claire have?

 

December 2011

 

THE DOOMSDAY VAULT by Steven HarperTHE DOOMSDAY VAULT by Steven Harper

Another new series! The first of the Clockwork Empire novels is a highly entertaining romp through a steampunk world of gears and gadgets.

 

In a Britannia of clockwork automatons and airships, Alice Michaels’s prospects are looking grim.

The Honorable Alice B. Michaels is in a life-or-death struggle for survival—socially speaking, that is. At age twenty-one, her unladylike interest in automatons, and the unfortunate death of most of her family from the clockwork plague, have sealed her fate as a less than desirable marriage prospect. But a series of strange occurrences is about to lead Alice in a direction quite beyond the pale.

High above the earth on the American airship USS Juniper, Gavin Ennock lives for the wind and the sky and his fiddle. After privateers attack the Juniper, he is stranded on the dank, dirty, merciless streets of London. When Alice’s estranged aunt leaves her a peculiar inheritance, she encounters Gavin under most unusual—even shocking—circumstances.

Then Alice’s inheritance attracts the attention of the Third Ward, a clandestine organization that seizes the inventions of mad geniuses the plague leaves behind—all for the good of the Empire. But even the Third Ward has secrets. And when Alice and Gavin discover them, a choice must be made between the world and the Empire, no matter the risk to all they hold dear.

 

FATE’S EDGE by Ilona AndrewsFATE’S EDGE by Ilona Andrews

Ilona Andrews is endlessly inventive and always surprising, and I have to say I just love the Edge series, set in a world with Wal-Mart on one side and sorcerers on the other. Each book follows a new couple, although you’ll see appearances from favorites (like Jack and George) in FATE’S EDGE.

 

The Edge lies between worlds, on the border between the Broken, where people shop at Wal-Mart and magic is a fairy tale—and the Weird, where blueblood aristocrats rule, changelings roam, and the strength of your magic can change your destiny…

Born into a family of con men, Audrey Callahan left behind her life in the Edge for an unmagical existence in the Broken. Audrey is determined to stay on the straight and narrow, but when her brother gets into hot water, she takes on one last heist and finds herself matching wits with a jack-of-all-trades.

Kaldar Mar is a gambler, a lawyer, a thief, and a spy with some unusual talents that guarantee him lucrative work. His latest assignment has him tracking down a stolen item, and Kaldar doesn’t expect much of a challenge—until Audrey turns up to give him a run for his money.

But when the missing object falls into the hands of a lethal criminal, Kaldar realizes that in order to finish the job and survive, he’s going to need Audrey’s help…

 

Here’s what we’re giving away:

 

  • Shadow Kin by M. J. Scott (three finished copies)
  • Bloodlands and Blood Rules by Christine Cody (three sets of finished copies)
  • Aftermath by Ann Aguirre (two finished copies)
  • Sins of the Angels by Linda Poitevin (two advance reading copies)
  • Dead Mann Walking by Stefan Petrucha (two advance reading copies)
  • Angels of Darkness by Nalini Singh, Ilona Andrews, Meljean Brook, and Sharon Shinn (three advance reading copies)
  • The Shadow Reader by Sandy Williams (three advance reading copies)
  • Last Breath by Rachel Caine (three advance reading copies)
  • Magic on the Line by Devon Monk (three advance reading copies)
  • Fate’s Edge by Ilona Andrews (three advance reading copies)
  • The Doomsday Vault by Steven Harper (three advance reading copies)

Anne Sowards is an executive editor at Penguin Group (USA) Inc., where she primarily acquires and edits fantasy and science fiction for the Ace and Roc imprints. Some of the great authors she works with include Jim Butcher, Patricia Briggs, Anne Bishop, Ilona Andrews, Karen Chance, Jack Campbell, and Rob Thurman. When she’s not reading, she listens to Chinese rap and spends way too much time playing video games. Follow her at http://twitter.com/AnneSowards.

TO ENTER:  Leave a comment about your favorite thing to do in the fall.  Contest will end on Friday, September 9, noon CST.

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She self publishes NA and contemporaries (and publishes with Berkley and Montlake) and spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

365 Comments

  1. Mimmi
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 00:10:32

    I love, love fall ~~ and of course, my favorite thing about it is Halloween!! I love the anticipation of it, the decorating, the fun of getting all the creepy, cool candy together ~~ I love the whole atmospher of October, from start to finish!!

  2. Stephanie K.
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 00:13:15

    My favorite thing to do is make pumpkin pie. I’d like to read Last Breath by Rachel Caine.

  3. Mi
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 00:55:07

    My favorite thing to do in fall is to get myself a hot drink from Starbucks and then curl up with a good book at night time, with my dog at my side. Is there anything better than that? *g*

    Fate’s Edge, please!

  4. DeeCee
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 01:14:05

    Wake up early on my days off with a warm blanket, my dog and a book.

    1st choice: The Shadow Reader
    2nd choice: Angel’s of Darkness

  5. Ann
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 02:15:33

    Leaf watching and shuffling through the fallen ones.

  6. madscientistnz
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 02:24:44

    I’m another one from the southern hemisphere, so in autumn I look forward to pulling out the cooler weather wardrobe and starting to cook heartier meals. However, since I’m in spring what I’m looking forward to right now is the exact opposite!

    Thanks for the list, always good to have more interesting new authors to check out.

  7. Aliyah
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 02:28:57

    I love playing in the leaves once they have fallen. Fall is also a great time to drink hot chocolate in front of a wood fire and read.

  8. BlueRose
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 04:15:30

    My favourite thing to do in autumn here in NZ is enjoy the lovely settled weather, and get as much gardening done before it gets too cold and dark.

    I would love any of the books except the Rachel Caine – the others are all new to me and look interesting :)

  9. Virginia C
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 04:55:17

    Fabulous Fall Fiction!!!

    I am already blessed simply by living in the beautiful mountains of Southwestern Virginia. However, in the Autumn of the year, I feel truly alive. The humidity is gone, and the air becomes dry with a sharper edge. The sky is so blue it almost hurts your eyes! I love the Fall mums with their gorgeous colors and their unique spicy scent. There are festivals and apple orchards and pumpkins to delight young and old. When my mountains put on their Autumn finery, they truly steal my breath! The deep red hues are my favorite, but each color in the mountain tapestry is a wonder from Nature’s own paint box. October is my favorite month.

  10. Maureen
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 05:15:12

    I enjoy getting out and walking after the heat of the summer.

  11. Ivy
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 05:44:12

    I clean out everything….the cooler weather gives me tons of energy.

  12. Victoria Zumbrum
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 06:20:09

  13. Barbara
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 06:24:38

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is to turn the a/c off, open all the windows all day and just clean everything. It feels really nice to get rid of the stickiness of summer and prepare to be shut in again for the winter.

  14. Elizabeth M.
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 06:44:27

    Since I live in Texas and the summers are unbearable…………I love the cool weather so I can actually go outside and take a walk.

  15. Ren
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 06:54:23

  16. Dee F.
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 07:45:20

    Thanks for the chance to win these books-some of my favorite authors and new ones as well…couldn’t be better. My favorite fall activity is walking when the air is crisp and cool and the fallen leaves have that earthy fragrance that reminds me of being a kid and jumping in the piles of raked leaves.

  17. Paula Richey
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 08:23:12

    My birthday is on the first of October, which grants me the right to celebrate the entire month ;) Aside from “Happy Birthmonth,” I love entering the art fairs. Finally going pro this year!

  18. Amanda T.
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 08:28:22

    My favorite fall activity is reading!

    Love giveaways, especially ones involving Ilona Andrews!

  19. Angela
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 09:02:14

    I can’t pick one favorite thing to do in the fall. I love being outside, kicking through the leaves. Having a bonfire in the backyard. Drinking a cup of morning coffee on the porch while the sun rises. Sleeping with the windows open and curled up under blankets. Hot apple cider, and driving through the tree-covered bluffs.

    It’s absolutely my favorite time of year!

  20. Samantha
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 10:22:44

    Going for walks and listening to the leaves crunch under my feet.

  21. Tracy
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 10:48:08

    I love going on walks with my dog, who likes to nose around in the leaves. Also sitting outside in the cool fall air, covered up in a blanket, drinking hot tea.

  22. Jessie
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 10:48:43

    When fall finally hits here, it gets cool enough to enjoy chili for dinner. Nothing like a steaming bowl of chili on a crisp fall evening. Yum!

  23. Becky
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 10:51:27

    I love catching the first smell of wood-burning fireplaces starting up again

  24. Megan
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 10:52:46

    During the fall I love to watch sports and go hiking in the mountains (well, if I lived in the mountains still!). And of course I love to read a great book under a tree and look at the beautiful leaves.

  25. Stephen
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 10:54:00

    I love biking in the park with my family in the fall. We also love tailgating at the football games with lots of friends!

  26. Amy D
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 10:56:18

    Favorite fall things: open windows, run and bike.

  27. Heather Greye
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 11:01:21

    We don’t get what I consider true fall in the Pacific Northwest, so I can’t look at the leaves changing colors that much which is my favorite thing to do. My second favorite, then, would be making a batch of warm soup to enjoy with a crusty loaf of bread.

  28. Dave Robinson
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 11:02:29

    Walk and wait for Hockey season to begin.

  29. Belinda
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 11:05:10

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is to spend outdoors with the family. The summer is just so daggone hot and we can finally get outside to go for walks or whatever we want to do. I love to sit outside and read while the nice fall breeze flows over me. Can’t wait!

  30. Sara M
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 11:05:47

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is watch the MLB playoffs and world series. And my favorite part of fall is Starbucks getting the Pumpkim Spice latte back.

    I’m intrigued by Sins of the Angels by Linda Poitevin and Bloodlands/Blood Rules by Christine Cody.

  31. Dustin
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 11:17:48

    I like spending time outside. In Texas it is too hot to go outside during the summer.

  32. sarah
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 11:21:12

    I love walking the kids home from school and having ‘leaf fights’ and making leaf angels, I’m from the UK and Autumn is definitely my favourite season.. nights get darker quicker and it’s often cold so snuggling under a blanket with a good book is bliss!! fantastic book list by the way x

  33. erin
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 11:24:24

    As an avid reader, my favorite thing to do during the fall is: open a window, sit in my favorite recliner with a blanket and my puppy in my lap and READ! After taking the puppy for a long, long walk so he’s sleepy and cuddly when I want to read :)

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  34. susan
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 11:38:05

    I love watching my roommate’s dog jump in piles of leaves. We have a giant maple tree in the front yard, so sometimes the piles are big enough that she will completely disappear into them.

  35. Doc RedBat
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 11:48:42

    Read copious amounts of horror novels, drink tea and howl about the coming holidays ( Halloween excluded, of course.)

  36. Rhianna
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 11:55:01

    It goes without saying that in ANY season curling up with a good book is my favorite but then it’s more like a neccessary thing. Like eating. Must eat to live. Must read to keep sane. ;) Keeping that in mind, my favorite autumnal activity is preparing for and celebrating Halloween. I look forward to it ALL year. :D

  37. Andi
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 12:55:41

    I love going to pumpkin farms and haunted houses, plus the weather is just gorgeous.

  38. Kristi
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 13:03:09

    I love smelling the wet leaves from when it’s raining! Always smells like fall to me!

    Halloween rocks though too :)

  39. Teri C
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 13:52:03

    I have to say that I love going gourmet mushroom hunting in the hills. There are tasty treats in them there hills. Plus when the rain comes, I get to stay in and read more. There are some fabulous looking reads in there. I cannot wait for the fall.

  40. Kaya H
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 13:52:56

    I am a sucker for the corn mazes and hay rides. I think that for my teens it is almost torture now, but I love the nighttime corn mazes and hearing the kids scream and run around. It is hilarious.

  41. Cherry Mischievous
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 14:02:46

    I love going up to the mountain park and relax! It’s not blistering hot and it’s not too cold. Nobody around but me, the panoramic view and pollution-free air… Sometimes I bring a BigMac with me and a book… Fab!!!

    Cherry Mischievous

  42. Van P.
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 14:13:00

    My favorite fall thing to do is sitting outside, with friend and family…watching the colorful fall leaves.

  43. Paige C.
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 15:16:38

    My daughter was born on Halloween, so we love everything about the holiday! I also love our annual pumpkin patch trip, and making pumpkin pies and muffins.

  44. Asura@BookItToMe
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 15:19:35

    I love the range of colors in the fall. As those leaves turn I am going through film like wild to capture this season. Then the snow arrives and I sit with my coffee reading ;)

  45. Teresa Warner
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 16:40:40

  46. Nicole
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 16:59:20

    I love to go for walks in the fall. Love the leaves.

    Doomsday Vault looks awesome. As does Angels of Darkness.

  47. Na
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 17:40:11

    I’m ready for Fall. It means cooler weather that will keep me indoors doing more reading. This Fall I’m planning to take on new challenges, such as learning to cook. I’m not a bad baker though so might bring out some old cookie recipes and treat the family and friends. Another thing I like about Fall is the return of some of my favourite tv shows such as The Amazing Race and NHL hockey season.

  48. RachaelM
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 18:34:03

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is read. My husband goes to all the local high school’s football games on Friday night, not to mention all the games he watches on Saturdays so I get to read.

  49. Chelsea B.
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 19:07:37

    Mine is enjoying the coolness! :-)

  50. esperanza g
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 19:28:44

    One of the thing i love about fall is the weather. The cold crispiness of the day just makes everything seem like everything will be all right. People are less in a rush and have time to enjoy things. Im looking forward to read a lot of these books on this list.

  51. Pam S (pams00)
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 19:37:50

    Favorite thing to do in the fall is enjoy walks in the cooler weather. This is an amazing list have wishlisted everything I think lol.

    If had to choose wouldgo with The Shadow Reader, Bloodlands/Blood Rules, or Shadow Kin. BUT I’d be happy with anything from the line up.

    pams00 @ aol.com

  52. wendy
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 19:56:39

    Autumn is a time to appreciate the cooler weather after the heat of summer before the onset of winter. We try to have a lot of meals outdoors where we can bask but not burn.

  53. Meagan
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 22:41:30

    My favorite fall thing? Drink Pumpkin Spice Lattes from Starbucks lol. Other than that, getting through another semester of school and reading in what little free time I have :)

  54. jessica
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 23:28:13

    I love fall. My favorite thing to do is to dress up in costume and go to the bars on Halloween :)

  55. Ruth G.
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 00:04:11

    My favorite fall thing is apple picking and then baking something. I’m looking forward to reding the new morganvile vampire book or fates edge.

  56. SaraC
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 00:09:02

    Cardigans! I love a good cardigan.

  57. Ruth G.
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 00:10:24

    My favorite fall thing is apple picking and then baking something. I’m looking forward to reading the new morganvile vampire book or fates edge.

  58. maered
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 06:16:48

    Love to read with a good book and a big mug of hot chocolate. :)

  59. Nicole
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 06:22:08

    As it gets cooler, I can work more in the garden without fearing my plants will be baked. And as the days get shorter, more reading time!

  60. Christine
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 06:58:43

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is snuggling with a blanket on my couch and reading. Sometimes I’ll add hot chocolate into the mix to liven things up. Hah.

  61. Lauren
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 07:12:54

    love sitting outside late in the day and enjoying the last of the late summer evenings.

  62. CYP
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 07:57:27

    We only have 2 seasons here in Singapore, and it doesn’t include Fall. But if we do, I would like to sit under some tree and read all day long:D

  63. Jen D.
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 08:02:41

    My absolute favorite fall activities are picking apples and going to the cider mill every weekend for fresh cider and donuts. Mmmmm~

    Of all the possible books, my first pick would be Ilona Andrews’ Fate’s Edge, with a very close second of Angels of Darkness. All of them look fantastic, though!

    Thanks, as always, for the giveaway! =)

  64. Mary M.
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 08:09:19

    I love to get comfortable with a good book in my favorite chair, with a warm, cozy blanket draped over me.

    I hope you’ll consider me to read and review your books. I share my reviews at http://soulkissed2003.gather.com with links posted to Twitter, Facebook and Goodreads. Thanks so much!

  65. Mic
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 08:21:16

    Because the summer here is very hot and humid, I just love getting outside in the fall. You can go for a walk without risking your health to heat stroke.

  66. Nita Gill
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 08:51:01

    Take walks – love fall colors of the trees and the way fall smells. Oh and I love the fact that I can wear sweaters again.

  67. Emily
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 09:04:57

    Fave thing to do in the fall: Visit my grandmother’s farm and walk through the back bush while staring at the amazing colours of the trees. I get to my favourite perch called “Moss Rock” and sit and read. (At this point I have almost fallen in the creek, been scared to death by animal sounds and have scrapes all over my arms from thorn bushes).

    I would love to read Angels of Darkness or Fate’s Edge (Ilona Andrews fan!). But they all sound wonderful and up my alley.

  68. Patricia
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 09:33:46

    I have to agree with Mic. Summer here is hot, horribly so. I don’t know if it had been like that when I was a kid, but it seems to be getting worse. I mean, 40°C when it’s not even afternoon? I could probably just go, shoot myself. So, I love the lack of “omg, I want to die, it’s so hot!” and simply go outside or just sleep or whatever it is you might want to do without feeling like you’re being toasted. :’D

    And this post’s books are soo tempting. Angels of Darkness and Fate’s Edge both look so good! *__*

  69. Suzie
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 09:48:34

    Fall is my favorite season, I love the change of weather and walking or driving to see the fall foliage and the great sunsets. Reading a great book while drinking hot cider is the other.

  70. Carl
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 09:49:41

    When the humidity decreases in the fall and the temperature drops below 100F for the first time in months I like to take long walks on the beach with my dog Shadow. I search for seaglass and things washed in by the tide while he chases the pelicans and gulls. Of the books listed for giveaway I’m particularly interested in Stefan Petrucha”s Dead Mann Walking.

  71. CC
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 10:10:35

    Fall foliage colors are what I look forward to all year but that’s not happening until November. Here in Southern California you have to search out areas with the right type trees but it’s always worth the effort.

  72. Jessica
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 10:20:14

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is go hiking. Best way to see the colors of the trees to me.

  73. Antonia
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 10:20:15

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is to watch the leaves begin to change color. And when they’ve all changed, to walk through the local park and look at all the gorgeous colors!

    My first choice would be the anthology Angels of Darkness. But I would also love the chance to receive Fate’s Edge by Ilona Andrews!

    (Thank you so much for giving all of us this opportunity)

  74. Veronica
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 10:23:28

    Favorite fall activity wearing cozy, warm sweaters and drinking hot apple cider.

  75. Kristy
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 10:53:53

    My favorite thing to do during the fall is to shop for Christmas presents as well as all those December birthdays. I have an odd liking for wrapping presents. Also, drinking hot apple cider or hot chocolate is up on my fall favorites list.

  76. Sarah O.
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 11:01:03

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is watch the leaves change colors.

  77. Gigi
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 11:06:22

    My favorite thing to do in the fall (asides from wishing it was still summer) is Thanksgiving. Don’t yell at me, I KNOW it’s corny, but hey, my family is MASSIVE and the only time we all squish into one house is for turkey and (ridiculously good) home made ravioli. Last year, my cuz bought an extendible fork and stole pieces of food off of my uncle John’s plate the whole meal. UJ has a tendency to mooch food off of whoever is sitting next to him, so it was a sort of collective revenge. And that’s why TG rules, shooting the sh*t with my family, late night poker, good food and a seemingly endless supply of cousins, second cousins, fiances, aunts uncles and of course, the massive wolf aptly named Timber. Happy fall everybody!

  78. Yessica
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 11:07:22

    My favorite thing to do this fall is sleep,read, swim and go upstate to camp with friends and family! I’m most lookin forward to reading Sins of the Angel’s, Angel’s of Darkness, and Fate’s edge!!!!!1

  79. Christina G
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 11:38:48

    It’s a tie between reading a good book with a cup of hot tea, and taking a walk to enjoy the beauty of autumn before the leaves all fall.

  80. Jenny Schwartzberg
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 11:51:03

    My favorite thing to do in the fall, hmmm. Cooking cold weather foods such as robust stews and casseroles, cooking Thanksgiving dinner, and long walks before it gets too cold.

    I covet the Flight of Angels anthology, Ilona Andrew’s Fate’s Edge, and Linda Poitevin’s Sins of the Angels. The others sound fun too…

  81. Pam Gordon
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 12:26:31

    In Southern California, Fall is a state of mind – but I mark the season by pruning my roses and replacing seasonal color flowers, and when I am tired and thorn-torn, I sit in the back, reading and enjoying the fruits of my labors.

    I’d love to win Angels of Darkness or Fate’s Edge, both series I read, but I’d be thrilled to be introduced to a new author as well. Thanks for the opportunity.

  82. Stephanie M. Lor
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 12:37:40

    Obviously, curling up with a good book is the best choice. But I love fall because the weather cools, the leaves change colors, and my family has many get-togethers where things worthy of their own sitcom always occur.

  83. Rebecca Harrison
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 12:37:47

    I love to go to football games, wrap up with blankets and drink hot cocoa.

  84. Erin
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 12:40:24

    In the fall, I love to head out with my family to a corn maze and pumpkin patch at one of the local farms. We take a hayride, wander through the maze finding clues, and pick pumpkins (and occasionally gourds) to bring home. Oh, and we sip hot apple cider. Yum!

    The Doomsday Vault sounds intriguing (I want to know what a clockwork plague is), as do both Shadow Kin and Shadow Reader.

  85. Kema Clark
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 12:57:38

    I love to watch University of Georgia, Georgia Tech & Atlanta Falcons football games, while reading Ace & Roc books! Love to sit outside the bookstore & read, while drinking a big glass of sweet tea! Fall is a great time of year in middle Georgia!

  86. Kimberly B.
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 13:06:56

    There are a great many things I love about the fall (dressing up for Halloween, for example)and one of my favorites is shopping for fall fashions, especially boots. Even if it’s only window shopping, I love it. Oh, and my birthday is in the fall too, so I enjoy celebrating that.
    I’d love any of these titles, especially the Doomsday Vault and Shadow Reader. Thanks for the great giveaway!

  87. Rhonda
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 13:13:04

    My favorite thing to do in the Fall is curl up with a good book or my Nook, of course!

  88. Gryvon
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 13:36:21

    My favorite part of the fall is Samhain/Halloween. It’s my favorite holiday and so many fun things to do! ^_^

  89. Sharon M.
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 13:38:04

    My favorite thing to do in the Fall is watch my kids play sports – football and field hockey are their Fall sports – and then come inside and curl up with a good book!

    I already picked up the new Ann Aguirre book, Aftermath, starting it tonight, but can’t wait for Fate’s Edge by Ilona Andrews. December seems so far away, but I’m sure it will be here before we know it!

  90. Sandy D.
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 14:04:44

    Horseback riding through the fields on a cool, sunny fall day.

  91. Roxanne
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 14:17:47

    If the contest is open to Canadian readers Angels of Darkness is my choice.

  92. SarahM
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 14:18:33

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is curl up under a blanket with a good book and a hot cup of tea :-) Chai tea just tastes so much better when it’s chilly outside!

    smaccall AT comcast.net

  93. EvelynS
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 14:25:18

    I love that in Southern California it’s still warm enough to swim in the pool!

  94. Marta
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 14:37:00

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is coming back from the desert to NYC and catch up with all the readings I have missed…usually mizing them with a good dose of chocolate and sweets!

  95. Lobo
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 15:04:19

    I love baking in the fall. Anything with cinnamon in it.

  96. Gladys
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 15:13:24

    Once it gets colder — hot chocolate and cookies with my family before bedtime.

  97. Cam
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 15:26:32

    My favorite thing to do during the fall is to take a walk underneath trees that have leaves that have turned colors.

  98. Tara A.
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 15:33:11

    Fall is apple picking, then spending a whole day in the kitchen stirring the apple butter kettle with one hand while reading paperbacks with the other. If the day is warm the windows can be opened to let the steam escape so it doesn’t drip down the walls.

  99. Amber Willis
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 15:38:23

    My favorite thing in the fall is to be outside period. Living in Wyoming restricts the time spent comfortably outside is a few weeks (mid- Septemeber to beginning of November). Otherwise you’re stuck inside because it’s too cold, rainy, or hot. I love to go hiking during this time- not as many snakes either ;) When indoors I read or watch football.

  100. Liz C
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 15:47:49

    My favourite thing to do in the fall is either walking under the trees (i love the changing colour of the leaves) or curling up with a book and a hot chocolate.
    My puck of the bunch would be the Angels of Darkness anthology or Fate’s Edge.

  101. Leelis
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 15:55:44

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is to drink tea, put on good music, and sit down with a good book.

  102. Amba
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 16:20:10

    my favourite thing to do in autumn is to go for bike rides in the last of the good weather before winter comes and brings the rain

  103. Dawn D
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 17:11:04

    Enjoy the coolness. Summer is too hot for me!

  104. Ginny
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 17:17:36

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is to take a weekend trip to the mountains… see the leaves change, go pick apples, talk a walk in the brisk air and of course curl up with a good book!

  105. keshya
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 17:28:56

    My favourite thing in the fall is to smell the crispy autumn air and walk on the autumn leaves (i love autumn colours) and getting my scarf and my little hat out, then to order a hot chocolate with cream + marshmallows at Costa and snuggle into one of their comfy sofas there.

  106. Jules
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 17:48:46

    Hm, I actually really love the fall and during that time I really enjoy going for long walks and curling up on the couch afterwards…either to read a book or to watch my favourite dvds….oh, and of course it´s only ever really perfect with a hot chocolate or a hot, nice tea to go with it ;D

  107. glenda christianson
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 17:51:41

    I love to decorate my house for fall and Halloween!!!
    My fav holiday!

  108. Seema
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 18:10:46

    Buying scented candles and going to visit lakefronts in the evenings.

  109. Susan
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 18:45:49

    My favorite fall thing is to go apple picking and get some fresh cider. Yummy!!!

    Most interested in Angels of Darkness or Fate’s Edge, I love anything by Nalini Singh and Ilona Andrews.

  110. Beret
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 18:48:24

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is rake, collect and burn leaves! (When there isn’t a burn ban.) There is nothing like the scent of burning leaves!

  111. Shannon
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 19:06:07

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is crunch all the leaves!

  112. Marianne
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 19:15:45

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is bake. I love the smell of homemade cinnamon bread and lemon bourbon cookies in the oven with the smokey fall air smell outside.

  113. Kim
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 19:16:35

    I love to start wearing coats and boots for the Fall!

  114. Sally
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 19:16:53

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is house and yard cleaning… it really is very satisfying :)

    (I would really really really love Angel of Darkness or Fates Edge ^^)

  115. Sycorax
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 19:40:52

    My favourite thing to do in Autumn (yes, another Aussie) is to go to the National Folk Festival in Canberra. Canberra, unlike Sydney has proper Autumns, with crisp, cold evenings and woodsmoke and brilliant colours.

    I’m most interested in ‘Angel’s of Darkness’ and ‘Fate’s Edge’.

  116. Rebecca
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 19:43:43

    It’s a toss up between crunching leaves on crisp fall afternoon walks and curling up on the couch with some tea, my two cats, and a good book.

  117. jubee
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 20:35:59

    I love the cooler, jacket-wearing weather. One of my favorite fall activities is taking walks and breathing in that crisp air.

    Thanks for the giveway. I’m looking forward to reading Angels of Darkness and Fate’s Edge.

  118. Sharon D
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 21:31:30

    My favorite thing to do in the fall in walk in the Botanic Gardens when all the leaves are turning, then come home and snuggle under my fuzzy lap throw with a cup of hot cocoa and a good book!

  119. Jill B
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 21:53:08

    I haven’t done it in years but my favorite thing to do in fall is raking up a huge pile of leaves…and then jumping into it!

  120. Erin Alexander
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 23:08:22

    A hot cup of tea on a cold day.

  121. Ciara
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 23:39:29

    Dress up for Halloween!!! Really. And now that I get to dress other people up for Halloween too, the fun’s just getting started. ;)

  122. Ann N
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 00:12:51

    Since we don’t really have a fall in California, I’d say try to bake if the weather permits. I can bake a mean apple pie. :)

    Angels of Darkness and Shadow Kin look so good!!!

    Ann

  123. eman
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 01:08:44

    I like to spend my time during the fall seasone snuggled to a bed or better a sofa wearing a large warm pejama and a wool sockes with a cup of hot cocoa in my hand while reading a very interesting book,i can not imagin how wonderful it would be if the book was one of nalini invention.

  124. Jacqueline Cook
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 01:11:51

    One of my favorite fall activities back in my home-state of MI is taking a trip to the cider mills/apple orchards. Picking apples, getting fresh cider and complimentary donuts = a great time!

  125. MerviR
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 01:57:11

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is walk in the woods after rain on a blanket of colorful leaves from the trees and maybe look for berries or mushroom.

    I would be very happy to get Angels of Darkness or Fate’s Edge.

  126. RebeccaS
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 03:50:18

    I’ve spent very little time in places that actually have a recognizeable autumn, so for me the season is mostly foods. And Eggnog Lattes, towards the end. :D And being grateful for a fire-free season, when we have it!

  127. Michelle
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 04:53:01

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is reading, particularly when the sky is grey, overcast, and the weather is slightly gloomy. It seems like the perfect time to transport myself into a new reality.

  128. Turophile
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 04:56:18

    In the fall I love early morning bike rides along the mississippi. Beautiful! And the farmer’s market. And corn mazes. And apples. I love everything about fall.

  129. Ane pham
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 06:53:58

    When I first read this, I didn’t know which season fall meant. It’s really confusing, but after reading some of the comments, I’ve worked it out! Fall=Autumn= hot. The thing I’ve notice is that in Australia, we don’t really have Spring of Autumn. It’s either hot or cold, and there’s no transitional period. But the thing I love doing most in the FALL is to go for a walk. It’s not uber hot and humid yet, that was in January. But fall is the most enjoyable time to just go for a walk. There’s still enough sunlight to enjoy the scenery but not enough to blind you. The temperature is perfect and the it’s just fun to see other people like yourself out and about enjoying the weather. And it’s not just walking, it’s thinking and listening to music and escaping everyday, and just stopping for a moment and to just..feel the world around you. It’s an amazing feeling.

    All the books look so good! But I’m a major fan of Nalini Singh and Angles of Darkness looks like a totally awesome book!

  130. Rebecca
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 07:04:09

    I love enjoying the Fall weather. Getting the kids outside, we had a hot summer. I also love Halloween!It’s my favorite holiday. Picking out what we will be (we all dress up). It is so much fun to be someone else for just one day. Finally who doesn’t like Fall food pumpkin bars, apple pie…OK I’m getting hungry. Fall is my favorite time of year.

  131. Jade
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 07:05:42

    The few times I ever hear the phrase ‘in the fall’ are usually to do with the American TV series I watch. So I suppose what I like to do in the fall is get back to watching good TV shows. In Autumn :P it’s always been the start of school/uni so I’m usually super busy and trying to settle in for the year. So what I really love to do to relax is just curl up somewhere comfy and read a book or go for long walks discovering places.

  132. harpergirl
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 07:19:20

    I love apple cider, and fall is the best time for fresh, good apple cider. Really, I loved it when my family would team up with our family friends to press our own cider (we had apple trees) because it was always an excellent afternoon of making tasty tasty cider. But I went to college too far away to keep helping with that, so now I just enjoy my cider from the local orchard. Apple juice is definitely not the same drink, although how that works I don’t know.

  133. Krystyn
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 08:14:14

    I love to be outside in the fall when the weather begins to cool. :)

    I would love to win the Angels of Darkness anthology or Rachel Caine’s Last Breath!

  134. Iswari
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 08:19:00

    When I think of fall, a couple things come to mind. Since I live in Houston, we start toget cooler weather, which means that we aren’t baking as quickly as before :-). But, like Jade, I mostly associate the season with the new TV line-up. I look forward to picking up where I left off on all of my favorite shows since most of them ended in cliff hangers.

    I would love to get a copy of Angels of Darkness if I won since it has both Nalini Singh and Meljean Brook.

  135. Leslie
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 10:14:32

    Once the weather cools off, I love to bake – breads, cookies and anything else I can think of.

  136. Anneela
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 11:27:37

    Hi,

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is watch “It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown!”.

    Ooh and I’d love a copy of: Angels of Darkness by Nalini Singh, Ilona Andrews, Meljean Brook, and Sharon Shinn

  137. Amy S
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 11:30:12

    My favorite fall activity is definitely apple picking, followed very closely by visiting the Davis Mega Maze (corn maze) in MA.

  138. reese
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 12:53:51

    love angel of darkness. for the fall I enjoy taking the kids to the pumpkin patch

    reese

  139. Scrapper
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 13:43:22

    Fall means apple cider donuts from Moody’s! No one else makes them as tasty.

    I saw several books to buy but would love a chance to win angel of darkness or fate’s edge so I don’t have to wait so long.

  140. Scrapper
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 13:44:47

    Fall means apple cider donuts from Moody’s! No one else makes them as tasty.

    I would love a chance to win angel of darkness or fate’s edge so I don’t have to wait so long.

  141. shelley
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 13:50:20

    The best parts of fall include drinking pumpkin wheat beer, curling up with a good book and bonfires.

  142. Lisa N.
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 14:37:55

    My favorite thing to do in the fall is spend time outside. I enjoy the cool air, colorful leaves, and football!

  143. Christina
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 17:56:04

    I love wearing trench coats. The weather’s perfect for it.

    I’d love Angels of Darkness by Nalini Singh, Ilona Andrews, Meljean Brook, and Sharon Shinn.

  144. Lauren
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 18:35:04

    In the fall I like riding my bike around campus. The afternoons are awesome because they are still warm but without the summer humidity. At least when it’s not raining. :)

    Angel’s of Darkness is going to be awesome, but now I’ll have to check out Shadow Kin and Sins of the Angels as well. Who else has stopped counting the number of books in their TBR pile?

  145. scrapper
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 18:44:54

    Fall means that Moody’s Farm will have the best apple cider donuts around!

    I would love to win a chance to get my hands early on Angels of Darkness or Fate’s Edge.

  146. Linda
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 18:56:44

    Favorite things to do in the fall fall – (1) take out the winter clothing (love my cozy sweaters), (2) make apple and pumpkin muffins, (3) start watching the Christmas classics like Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer and Frosty the Snowman and (4) go on a fall folliage drive to enjoy the amazing colors of autumn and (5) enjoy pumpkin lattes and pumpkin custard (yum!!)

  147. Jennifer T.
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 19:13:20

    I love to go to the mountains and drive the Blue Ridge Parkway to see the different colors of the leaves.

  148. Lisa Iriarte
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 19:42:14

    My favorite thing to do in the Fall is sit out by the lake in the center of our town and write.

  149. jb
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 19:49:59

    My favorite thing to do in fall is watch all the new tv shows premiering and get reacquainted with my favorites, which are usually genre shows.

  150. Lizzy G
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 20:52:59

    I live in Miami so I love to go to the beach in the Fall! In very late fall, the humidity goes away and I spend as much time outside as possible – walking, biking, and jogging.

    I would love Angel’s of Darkness – I’m big Nalini Singh Fan

  151. Dawn Marie
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 21:12:32

    I love to rake leaves in the Fall. My first choice is Angel’s of Darkness, or the Doomsday Vault. I love a good steampunk novel.

  152. Joslynn
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 22:00:44

    In the fall I love to snuggle in my blanket on the couch,wear my fuzzy socks and have a hot cup of tea all while reading a good book:) Thanks for the great contest!

  153. Louise D
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 22:14:48

    The great thing about autumn is that it’s finally getting cool enough to cuddle on the couch :)

  154. Jikie
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 22:18:14

    Riding my bike in the rain. And curling up with a book and apple cider after a trip to the library.

    Looking forward to Fate’s Edge and Angels of Darkness!

  155. sequoia
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 22:38:19

    my favorite thing to do in the fall is cook. I really want to go to culinary school & learn the skills to make something fab w/o a recipe. there is something about the colder months that make me crazy w/anticipation to try to make something new. i would love angel of darkness. the shadow reader looks good!!!! thank you for the contest

  156. ckyboston
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 22:48:07

    My favorite thing is the apple cider and apples from the farmer’s market and making crockpots of beef stew. I love hot apple cider with a cinnamon stick and fresh honeycrisp apples. And there’s something about the crisp weather that calls for a big bowl of melty beef stew.

    All the books sound fantastic so even if i don’t win, more books on the nook for me.

  157. donnas
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 22:51:46

    Once the leaves change. I like to drive out a it from the city and look at all the trees.

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

  158. Jennifer T.
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 22:54:14

    I love to ride the Blue Ridge Parkway to see the color of the leaves.

  159. Katie Knudsen
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 22:59:00

    In the fall, the best part for me is the apple orchard. Every time I go the smells and sounds bring me back in time. It makes me feel like a little kid again. Plus, apple butter, apple donuts, and every single other recipe that includes apples can be bought there, and the apples too.

  160. Erin Thompson
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 23:12:33

    Eat! I love fall vegetables, bring on the root vegetables. That, and walking, seeing the turning of the leaves.

  161. Jutta
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 06:09:59

    In fall i love enjoying the last warm days on my balcony with a good book or while hiking in the mountains. Winter is not the time of the year i prefer. Much too cold. So i always dread the beginning of winter with all the ice and snow.

    As a kid my favorite fall activity was to go an a buckeye foray with my sister. I rather less liked the other kids shooting each other with buckeyes.

  162. ev
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 08:28:44

    My favorite thing about fall…is all the pumpkin! Particularly pumpkin spice lattes, wearing my boots and scarfs while walking and seeing all the leaves…aww~

    This is a great book list, they all seem really good, but I’m really excited by fates edge and angels of darkness as I know they will be wonderful~~~

  163. Angie
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 10:45:58

    It’s hard to tell my favourite activity in the fall as they are many: drinking hot chocolate with marshmallow, shopping to find amazing boots to wear with my skirts and slim jeans, baking cakes, skiing, reading after a hard day work under my cover, picking my roller blade and so on.
    I just can’t chose one. ^^

  164. Mary
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 11:31:23

    My favorite fall thing is to throw up the windows and let the refreshing fall breezes flow through my home. Such a relief from the oppressive heat and humidity of summer.

  165. Aiko
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 11:54:35

    My favorite thing is to go bicyling! or just sit on my back deck with coffee…

    #1 Angels of Darkness
    #2 Fate’s Edge

%d bloggers like this: