Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

ACE ROC Fall Preview and Giveaway

THIS CONTEST IS NOW CLOSED.

Welcome to Ace and Roc's fabulous fall forthcoming books giveaway.

Thanks again to Dear Author for giving me this opportunity to let you know about some of our terrific upcoming titles. As always, there are too many great books for me to mention all of them, so you can look at our site (http://us.penguingroup.com/static/pages/specialinterests/scifi/index.html) to see everything we publish. Happy reading!

September 2010

QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Dianne Sylvan

Queen-of-ShadowsThis is a brand-new author, starting a brand-new urban fantasy series, so you can get in on the ground floor. It's powerful, dark, and-‘what I'm especially looking for these days-‘it's different. It's about a musician named Miranda Grey who's struggling to control her psychic ability. She's an empath, and it's slowly driving her mad. After surviving a brutal attack, she encounters the vampire David Solomon, and finds herself drawn into his shadow world. I really enjoyed the fact that David is a sexy computer geek-‘because how often do you find those adjectives put together to describe a vampire? David is also the Prime of the South, and when he outlawed killing humans, he ignited a civil war among Austin's vampires (and made himself very unpopular with the old guard, who refuse to control their violent urges). David thinks he's helping Miranda out when he takes her in, but what he doesn't know is that Miranda has the power to change his world as well-

For those who are sensitive to the portrayal of sexual violence, be aware Miranda is raped early on and this attack is the catalyst for her learning to use her powers to defend herself.

Ghost TownGHOST OF A CHANCE by Simon R. Green

Another new series (because I know you love them)! This is also first in an urban fantasy series, but it's a bit more of an ensemble piece (with a nod to Torchwood). I have it on good authority that a very sweet romance develops over the course of the book between one of the characters-‘and a ghost.

The Carnicki Institute exists to Do Something About Ghosts. Lay them to rest, send them packing, or kick their nasty ectoplasmic arses with extreme prejudice-

The Institute's operatives are the best of the best: JC Chance: sharp, brave, charming, and almost unbearably arrogant; Melody Chambers: Science-geek techno-wizard extraordinaire who keeps the antisupernatural equipment running smoothly; and Happy Jack Palmer: the telepath with the gloomy disposition, the last person anyone would want navigating through his head.

Their current assignment: investigate a major haunting deep underground at London's Oxford Circus Tube Station. Difficult-‘and dangerous-‘enough without the added interference of a pair of agents from the infamous Crowley Project whose mission is much simpler: eliminate Chance, Chambers, and Palmer, whatever the consequences-

October 2010

Bayou-MoonBAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews

This is the next book in Ilona Andrews's Edge series, BUT it is more of a stand-alone, with a new hero and heroine. So no worries-‘even if you haven't read ON THE EDGE, you can pick this one up and enjoy it. (If you have read ON THE EDGE, William, Declan's friend and rival for Rose's affections, gets his own story here.) Ilona Andrews has a talent for characterization, description, and incredibly creative worldbuilding, and you're in for a treat with this one.

The Edge lies between worlds, on the border between the Broken, where magic is a fairy tale; and the Weird, where the strength of your magic can change your destiny. BAYOU MOON takes us to a new part of the Edge-‘the Mire, a vast swampland between the state of Louisiana and the Weird. Cerise Mar and her unruly clan are cash poor but land rich, claiming a large swathe of the Mire. When her parents vanish, her clan's long-time rivals are the primary suspects.

But all is not as it seems. Two nations of the Weird are waging a cold war fought by feint and espionage, and their conflict is about to spill over into the Edge-‘and Cerise's life. William, a changeling soldier who'd left behind the politics of the Weird, has been forced back into service to track down a rival nation's spymaster.

When William's and Cerise's missions lead them to cross paths, sparks fly-‘but they'll have to work together if they want to succeed-and survive.

GraveWitchGRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price

This is clearly the season for debut authors-‘GRAVE WITCH kicks off a terrific new urban fantasy series about Alex Craft, a Grave Witch who can speak to the dead. I think one of my favorite parts of this book is the fact that Death himself is one of the love interests (he's visited her off and on since she was young). I admit I've always had a morbid streak (as if my fondness for Edgar Allen Poe and graveyards didn't give me away)-

As a private investigator and consultant for the police, Alex Craft has seen a lot of dark magic. But even though she's on good terms with Death himself-‘who happens to look fantastic in a pair of jeans-‘nothing has prepared her for her latest case. Alex is investigating a high profile murder when she's attacked by the "shade' she's raising, which should be impossible. To top off her day, someone makes a serious attempt on her life, but Death saves her. Guess he likes having her around.

To solve the case Alex will have to team up with tough homicide detective Falin Andrews. Falin seems to be hiding something-‘though it's certainly not his dislike of Alex. But Alex knows she needs his help to navigate the tangled webs of mortal and paranormal politics, and to track down a killer wielding a magic so malevolent, it may cost Alex her life-and her soul.

MasquesMASQUES by Patricia Briggs

I know there's a number of Patricia Briggs fans out there who love the Mercy Thompson and Alpha and Omega novels, but wish she would also write traditional fantasy again. Guess what: your wish is about to come true. Prepare yourself for the one-two punch of MASQUES in October and WOLFSBANE in November!

MASQUES is Patricia Briggs's very first book EVER. It has been out of print for over ten years, and she's taken the opportunity to write an introduction and revise it for this new edition. (For anyone who's read the original version of MASQUES, she's also written a brand-new prologue, that reveals how Wolf and Aralorn met.) It tells the story of Aralorn, a woman who flees her noble birthright for a life of adventure as a mercenary spy. Along the way, she meets an enigmatic sorcerer who travels at her side in the shape of a wolf. Together, they join the rebellion against the ae'Magi, a foe armed with the power of illusion.

This is a pleasure to read not only for the story, but also for the insight it gives us into Patricia Briggs's creative process and evolution as a writer. A number of the elements she uses in her other books make their first appearance in MASQUES.

November 2010

WolfsbaneWOLFSBANE by Patricia Briggs

And on to part two of the Patricia Briggs traditional fantasy juggernaut. WOLFSBANE is the direct sequel to MASQUES. It's never before been published, though I actually acquired it before MOON CALLED. When the Mercy Thompson series took off in such a big way, we asked Patricia Briggs to hold off on WOLFSBANE to focus on her urban fantasy. It's exciting to finally be able to share this book with you.

For the last ten years, shapeshifting mercenary Aralorn has led a dangerous existence-‘a far cry from her noble upbringing. Now, she's returning home under the most unfortunately circumstances: her father has passed away. But when Aralorn and her companion Wolf arrive, the combination of their magic uncovers something wonderful yet alarming-‘her father is not actually dead, but only appears so. Yet a dark mist is also very much alive within him-

GHOST TOWN by Rachel Caine

Rachel Caine-Ghost TownThis is the first hardcover in Rachel Caine's young adult Morganville Vampires series. (Although her YA titles are not published by Roc, her adult books are, so I thought it kind of sort of fit here.) The Morganville Vampires series is absolutely wonderful and such fun, with top-notch writing, characters you care about, and a unique world.

Claire Danvers is one of those genius teenagers who go off to college when their peers are still in high school. She actually got into MIT, but her parents thought she was too young to live so far from home, and made her go to a local community college instead. There, she discovers that the small college town of Morganville, Texas is completely run by vampires.

In GHOST TOWN, Claire and the vampire scientist she works with are struggling to restore the system that maintains the town's defenses (and makes everyone who leaves the town limits "forget" about the vampires of Morganville). Claire thinks she's found a solution, but the new system turns out to have unintended (and deadly) consequences: people inside the town start forgetting who and what they are-‘even the vampires. When Claire's best friend Eve and her boyfriend Shane start treating her like a perfect stranger, Claire has to hurry and pull the plug on the experiment-‘before she forgets how to save herself-and Morganville.

Anne Sowards is an executive editor at Penguin Group (USA) Inc., where she primarily acquires and edits fantasy and science fiction for the Ace and Roc imprints. Some of the great authors she works with include Jim Butcher, Patricia Briggs, Rachel Caine, Anne Bishop, Ilona Andrews, Karen Chance, Jack Campbell, and Rob Thurman. When she’s not reading, she listens to Chinese rap and spends way too much time playing video games. Follow her at http://twitter.com/AnneSowards.

GIVEAWAY Details: Anne is always looking for good music recommendations so in the comments list your top three choices of the following books AND a music recommendation for Anne!

*******

  • QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan – 3 finished copies
  • GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green – 2 ARCs
  • BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews – 3 ARCs
  • GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price – 2 ARCs
  • MASQUES / Patricia Briggs – 3 ARCs
  • WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs – 3 ARCs
  • GHOST TOWN / Rachel Caine – 3 ARCs
  • KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre – 2 finished copies
  • THE GRIMROSE PATH / Rob Thurman – 3 ARCs
  • TROUBLED WATERS / Sharon Shinn – 2 ARCs

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

249 Comments

  1. Breiab
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 04:09:49

    â—¦GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    â—¦MASQUES / Patricia Briggs
    â—¦KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre

    We Hate You Please Die from the Scott Pilgrim soundtrack,

  2. Miranda
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 04:39:34

    Hi Anne!

    Ghost Town by Rachel Caine
    Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan
    Ghost of a Chance by Simon R. Green

    Here is my recommendation:
    Jar of Hearts by Christina Perri

  3. Sayuri_x
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 04:50:46

    Ghost of a chance – Simon R Green
    The Grimrose Path – Rob Thurman
    Queen Of Shadows – Dianne Sylvan

    Music has to be

    The Road To Gavle by Tina Dico. Anything by Tina Dico is worth a listen.

  4. Ellie
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 04:59:47

    I never win these – I just end up buying the books. Which is good too.

    Grave Witch – Kalayna Price
    Queen of Shadows – Dianne Sylvan
    Ghost of a Chance – Simon Green

    “Heart of the Ocean” by Herding Cats

  5. blodeuedd
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 05:00:05

    So much trouble picking, but here they are :)
    MASQUES by Patricia Briggs
    TROUBLED WATERS/ Sharon Shinn
    KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre

    So good!

    As for music, Glasvegas, they are great and Daddy’s Gone is my fav

  6. Pearl
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 05:00:58

    KILLBOX by Ann Aguirre
    BAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews
    TROUBLED WATERS by Sharon Shinn

    Music reccomemdation:

    At the moment I’m into
    Maroon 5
    Nickelback
    Kings of Leon

  7. Judi S
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 05:04:17

    Bayou Moon – Ilona Andrews
    Grave Witch – Kalayna Price
    Masques – Patricia Briggs

    for music, lately I’ve been listening to Taio Cruz

  8. Lobo
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 05:15:49

    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    MASQUES by Patricia Briggs
    QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Dianne Sylvan

    As for music I can recommend Hungarian Rap in paralell to the Chinese. :)
    Rege a csodaszarvasról by Sub Bass Monster

  9. Jo Owen
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 05:23:58

    Hello Anne, thanks for this givaway.

    Bayou Moon – Ilona Andrews
    Queen of Shadows – Dianne Sylvan
    Grave Witch – Kalayna Price

    Music. I’ve been listening to Tom Petty recently – I’d forgotten how good some of his stuff is, so Free Fallin’.

  10. Kelsey
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 05:34:48

    I have been waiting a long time for a couple of these books to come out in print (again). It’s really exciting. :)

    Masques by Patricia Briggs
    Grave Witch by Kalayna Price
    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews

    My music choice would be Misery by Maroon 5. The song is really catchy.

  11. ShellBell
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 05:51:18

    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Masques by Patricia Briggs
    Wolfsbane by Patricia Briggs

    Have recently added Bad Romance and Don’t Rain on My Parade from Glee; These Words and Unwritten by Natasha Bedingfield; November Rain and Sweet Child o’ Mine by Guns N Roses and Under My Skin and Oh My by Gin Wigmore to my iPhone playlist

  12. Janet P.
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 05:58:40

    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Masques by Patricia Briggs
    GHOST TOWN by Rachel Caine

    #1 on my Workout playlist is Born to Run by Bruce Springsteen :)

  13. Isabel C.
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 06:20:00

    Grave Witch
    Ghost of a Chance
    Masques

    I’m currently digging Infernal, particularly “I Won’t be Crying.” Also pretty much anything by Jill Sobule, and the score from “A Little Night Music.”

  14. Alyssa
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 06:23:41

    Konjaku Monogatari by Eri Sugai
    A beautiful, haunting song. She has often been called the Japanese Enya.

    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs

  15. Carolyn
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 06:32:25

    Queen of Shadows
    Masques
    Wolfsbane

    Thank you for this chance and my musical choise is Senza Catene (Unchained Melody) by Il Divo.

  16. vidhya
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 06:32:39

    Ghost of a Chance – Simon R Green
    The Grimrose path – Rob Thurman
    Troubled Waters – Sharon Shinn

    Currently listening to Boyzone (favorite is words!)

  17. catie james
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 06:34:23

    1. Queen of Shadows – Dianne Sylvan
    2. Grave Witch – Kalayna Price
    3. Killbox – Ann Aguirre

  18. farmwifetwo
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 07:02:52

    Simon Green – Ghost of a chance
    Dianne Sylvan – Queen of Shadows
    Rachel Caine – Ghost town

    Music… I’m just not one to ask… But I did just buy the CD by the Cdn Tenors and I enjoy it. I’d like to see them in concert.

  19. Nadia Lee
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 07:07:23

    QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Dianne Sylvan
    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    MASQUES by Patricia Briggs

    As for music — I’ve been listening to a lot of classical music recently, and I highly recommend “Danse Macabre” (composer: Camille Saint-Saens) performed by Gil Shaham & Jonathan Feldman.

  20. Auraya
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 07:07:29

    1. Grave Witch – Kalayna Price
    2. Queen of Shadows – Dianne Sylvan
    3. Killbox – Ann Aguirre

    I like to listen to music without text. Otherwise the lyrics distract me from whatever I’m reading. So I listen mostly to instrumental pieces and a lot of film music. It can give awesome results if the music and the plot just match for a particular scene. Right now I’m listening to the music of Lord of the Rings and reading The Way of Kings. Both Epic=perfect.

  21. Mikaela
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 07:14:21

    Masques by Patricia Briggs
    Wolfsbane by Patricia Briggs
    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews

    And a music recommendation? Handle me by Robyn.

  22. KC
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 07:15:09

    1. Bayou Moon – Ilona Andrews
    2. Masques – Patricia Briggs
    3. Ghost of a Chance – Simon R. Green

    I’ve been listening to Nikka Costa & Puddle of Mudd lately. Thanks for the opportunity!

  23. Angela
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 07:18:48

    My three choices would be:

    1. Grave Witch
    2. Troubled Waters
    3. Queen of Shadows

    For a music recommendation, I can’t pick just one song, but my absolute favorite band right now is HIM – check out their live album Digital Versatile Doom for a good mix of their music. Everything by them is worth the listen!

  24. Brenda Chan
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 07:19:33

    BAYOU MOON, Ilona Andrews
    GRAVE WITCH, Kalayna Price
    MASQUES, Patricia Briggs

    Off the top of my head, ‘Time enough for Tears’ by The Corrs.

  25. KTT
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 07:24:52

    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Grave Witch by Kalayna Price
    Masques by Patricia Briggs

    For something completely different, try Teknochek Collision by Slavic Soul Party!

  26. Angela
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 07:27:41

    I thought I posted once, so forgive me if this shows up twice.

    My choices would be:

    1. Grave Witch by Kalayna Price
    2. Troubled Water by Sharon Shinn
    3. Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan

    For music, I can’t recommend just one song, but my favorite band is HIM. Check out their live album: Digital Versatile Doom for a good selection of their music, but every album by them is well worth the listen!

  27. caroline Allard
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 07:32:04

    Wooot another super giveaway!!! I have many of these Fall books on pre-order but any of those 3 I’d love to win:
    Ghost of a Chance by Simon R. Green
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs
    GHOST TOWN / Rachel Caine

    As for music, I would recommend Peter Fox. I love the song ‘Alles Neu’ (and the video is funny)

  28. Liz
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 07:37:47

    Troubled Waters ,Sharon Shinn
    BAYOU MOON , Ilona Andrews
    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price

    How about Simon & Garfunkle for Shinn’s book.

  29. Ashley V
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 07:48:59

    My picks are
    QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan
    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    THE GRIMROSE PATH / Rob Thurman

    As for music, I would recommend Papa Roach, Green Day, Linkin Park, Avenged Sevenfold….if you like rock :D

  30. Helen
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 07:49:09

    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    MASQUES by Patricia Briggs
    Wolfsbane by Patricia Briggs
    Music-so little time so many rec’s!
    Emilie Autumn (everything she has)
    Amanda Palmer (punk cabaret-neat artist-solo as Amanda Palmer, Duo as Dresden Dolls)
    Erin Hill and The Space Rats-My favorite sci-fi/ fantasy singer/songwriter.

  31. Mervi
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 07:50:49

    QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Dianne Sylvan
    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    WOLFSBANE by Patricia Briggs

    Music recommendation.. Poets of the Fall. All of their songs are great.

  32. Babs
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 07:55:02

    GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green
    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    GHOST TOWN / Rachel Caine

    As for music, for something a little different try Kroke — awesome Polish Klezmer band. Seriously. Hugely popular and they give a stupendous live show. Check them out on YouTube.

  33. Jade
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 07:58:22

    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    THE GRIMROSE PATH / Rob Thurman
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs

    Music recommendations? The last album I bought was Eminem’s Recovery, and while I love it and think it’s one of his best, most of my friends would disagree as they don’t like rap.

  34. J
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:06:35

    GHOST OF A CHANCE by Simon R. Green
    GHOST TOWN by Rachel Caine
    THE GRIMROSE PATH by Rob Thurman

    And for music, I enjoy the album Under the Iron Sea by Keane. Thanks for the contest!

  35. Naomi
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:12:44

    1. Bayou Moon – Ilona Andrews
    2. Troubled Waters – Sharon Shinn
    3. Killbox – Ann Aguirre

    I would never hesitate to recommend Miike Snow, an indie-ish band from Sweden. Their first (and so far only) album is on permanent rotation on my iPod.

  36. Chris W
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:14:05

    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    GHOST TOWN / Rachel Caine

    Music hmmm… the last thing I bought was Blister in the Sun by the Violent Femmes.

  37. elaing8
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:18:52

    top 3 choices:

    GRAVE WITCH-Kalayna Price
    BAYOU MOON-Ilona Andrews
    GHOST TOWN-Rachel Caine

    music recommendation:Anything Nickelback :)

  38. Ammarylis
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:20:09

    My 3 Choices
    1. Bayou Moon
    2. Queen of Shadows
    3. Grave Witch

    I have two that usually get my creative juices flowing. The first is Renegade by Styx. The second is We Have a Map of the Piano by Mum.

  39. Tez Miller
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:26:53

    Just two choices:
    1. Rachel Caine – GHOST TOWN
    2. Ann Aguirre – KILLBOX

    Music recommendation: Kasabian. They were recently described on Australian TV as “fist-pumping geezer-fuelled indie-rock”. They’ve released three albums to date (“Kasabian”, “Empire” and “West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum”), and I’ve seen them twice live this year :-)

  40. Loves the Creepy
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:27:44

    Ghost of a Chance by Simon R. Green
    The Grimrose Path by Rob Thurman
    Grave Witch by Kalayna Price

    I recently (again) watched the excellent 1970s movie Sunday, Bloody Sunday, in which a haunting operatic trio is used as a leitmotif. That trio is “Soave il (sia) vento” from Mozart’s Cosi fan tutte. It gives me goose bumps. You can view it on YouTube if you don’t have your collection of Mozart operas handy. ;-)

  41. Shannon H
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:28:32

    Grave With by Kalayna Price
    The Grimrose Path by Rob Thurman
    Troubled Waters by Sharon Shinn

    Music rec…I love the How to Train Your Dragon Soundtrack. Also, MIKA is really good if you want something more vocal.

  42. hapalochlaena
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:37:24

    My picks:
    BAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews
    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Dianne Sylvan

    Music:
    Homogenic or Vespertine by Björk.
    The Ghost of a Rose or Past Times With Good Company by Blackmore’s Night.
    Nights from the Alhambra by Loreena McKennitt.

  43. Brian
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:38:15

    GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs

    Beethoven Symphony No. 9 (Minnesota Orchestra conducted by Osmo Vänskä)

  44. Nat (Wicked Lil Pixie)
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:41:56

    Music wise, Tricky for when you just want to chill out or Depeche Mode for 80’s flashbacks. The new Gorrilaz CD is amazing as well.

    Ghost of a chance – Simon R. Green
    Ghost Town – Rachel Caine
    Bayou Moon – Illona Andrews

  45. scooper
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:44:03

    I heard this song on some movie (can’t for the life of me remember which one) and wrote down the title so I wouldn’t forget it. It’s All My Days by Alexi Murdoch.
    Top 3 Books:
    QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Dianne Sylvan
    BAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews
    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price

  46. Linda Henderson
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:45:23

    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Ghost Town by Rachel Caine
    Grave Witch by Kalayna Price

    I like to listen to Shinedown and my favorite is If You Only Knew.

  47. Caitie
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:47:24

    1) Troubled Waters – Sharon Shinn
    2) Bayou Moon – Ilona Andrews
    3) Ghost Town – Rachel Caine

    Music-wise, I’ve been really liking Natasha Bedingfield lately :)

  48. Patti (Book Addict)
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:50:05

    Wow, what a great giveaway – some great selections there :)

    My pics:
    1. Bayou Moon – Ilona Andrews
    2. Ghost Town – Rachel Caine
    3. Killbox – Ann Aguirre

    I haven’t been listening to a lot of music lately, but Lux Aeterna from the Requiem for a Dream soundtrack gets me every time!

  49. Suzan
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:51:51

    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Ghost Town by Rachel Caine
    The Grimrose Path by Rob Thurman

    Music… I’m way into Abney Park right now, which is a fantastic steampunk band. Highly recommend. I also think Weezer rocks, and if you’re looking for instrumentals… the Harry Potter soundtracks.

  50. Tracey
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:54:37

    Grave Witch
    Ghost Town
    Queen of Shadows

    Try a mix of Creedance Cleerwater Revival, some Bobby Darin, Cage the Elephant and Peter Gabriel.

  51. Amanda
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:55:41

    Awesome giveaway!! Here are my choices:

    1. THE GRIMROSE PATH / Rob Thurman

    2. GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green

    3. WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs

    I’ve been listening to a band called Blind Pilot. If you need something uplifting but alternative they are perfect!

  52. Casey
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:56:10

    â—¦BAYOU MOON – Ilona Andrews
    â—¦MASQUES – Patricia Briggs
    â—¦GHOST TOWN – Rachel Caine

    It really depends on my mood, but some of my favorite bands include: The Last Goodnight, Taylor Swift, Fergie and Kelly Clarkson.

  53. Michael Ashleigh Finn
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 08:57:47

    Music recc: Katzenjammer
    (See: http://www.jimbutcheronline.com/bb/index.php/topic,20912.0.html )

    BAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews
    GHOST OF A CHANCE by Simon R. Green
    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price

  54. Andrea
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:03:33

    I’d love to be entered into this giveaway, wonderful authors! My choices:

    1. Masques by Patricia Briggs
    2. Troubled Waters by Sharon Shinn
    3. Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews

    For music, Eric Whitacre’s Virtual Choir – Lux Aurumque. The video is on youtube and is fascinating. I’ll second Patti (Book Addict)’s music choice of Lux Aeterna.

  55. Diane V
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:05:19

    Saw “Queen of Shadows” at Borders over the weekend and bought it – plan to read on the plane when I leave for vacation on Saturday.

    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Ghost Town by Rachel Caine
    Grave Witch by Kalayna Price

    Agree on the Creedence Clearwater Revival — my dad used to rock out to them when he was exercising when I was a kid.

  56. EGS
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:06:35

    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    MASQUES by Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE by Patricia Briggs

    As for music, I’m currently loving Kate Nash right now.

  57. Noel
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:07:46

    Masques/Patricia Briggs
    Ghost of a Chance/Simon Green
    Grave Witch/Kalayna Price

    Gnarles Barkley – Crazy
    Missy Elliot – Let Me Fix My Weave and Get Your Freak On

  58. lorenet
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:10:26

    BAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews
    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    THE GRIMROSE PATH by Rob Thurman
    I've been listening to Ryan Bingham's new release: Junky Star and the song Depression.

  59. jjmcgaffey
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:13:18

    Masques
    Wolfsbane
    Bayou Moon

    (I’m going to get the Briggs one way or another – love to win them (or one of them), though! It would be fun.)

    She Is Gone by Catherine Faber http://www.sff.net/people/julia.west/filk/sheisgn2.txt
    If you like grim and gritty, here’s a story-song for you!

  60. Jenn B
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:14:36

    Oh Wow what a great give away! I love the debut authors. If I had a choice:

    Queen Of Shadows
    Grave Witch
    The Grimerose Path

    Yeah the music thing….I’m really no the one to ask…I have been on a Bon Jovi kick he has a new album coming out. so I have been listening to clips on his site.

    Thanks for the contest!

  61. Christine
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:19:57

    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews (!!!)
    Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan
    Grave Witch by Kalayna Price

    I’ve been listening to Mumford & Sons “Sigh No More” a lot recently. They’re a little ‘folksy’.

  62. Beverly
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:33:34

    So many of my favorite authors are published by Ace & Roc.

    My choices are:
    Grave Witch by Kalayna Price
    Ghost of a Chance by Simon R. Green
    Troubled Waters by Sharon Shinn

    And if you haven’t yet discovered The Decemberists, they are a band everyone should check out.

  63. Sotheara
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:41:35

    1)GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    2)QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan
    3)BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews

    I’ve been watching a couple of Nicholas Tse’s TV series including The Handsome Siblings and The Spirit of the Sword and love the songs he sings for the opening: Huang Zhong Ren (Yellow Race) and Zhong Dian Zhan (Final Destination). I also love the song Ming Yue Guang (Moonlight)from Da Ren Wu (Big Shot).

  64. halil
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:43:46

    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs
    THE GRIMROSE PATH / Rob Thurman

    Sezen Aksu – Beni Unutma

  65. Leslie
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:43:46

    QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan
    GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green
    KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre

    Music recommendation – anything by Nellie McKay, particularly “I Wanna Get Married”, “Pink Chandelier” and “Clonie”. She really is a cross between Doris Day and Eminem.

  66. Stephanie C.
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:48:25

    1. Grave Witch
    2. Queen of Shadows
    3. Bayou Moon

    I really like Sugarland

  67. Ashley J.
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:57:00

    1. Queen of Shadows
    2. Bayou Moon
    3. Masques

    Check out Muse. Saw them when they opened for U2 in the spring. Awesome.

  68. Samantha
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:57:10

    Queen of Shadows
    Killbox
    Grave Witch

    The soundtrack to Cairo Time

  69. nitnot
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:57:12

    BAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews
    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    GHOST TOWN by Rachel Caine

    Music recommendation: Yoav – Charmed & Strange album. Original, current, and quite undiscovered!

  70. KeriM
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:57:21

    Thanks for the giveaway:

    â—¦GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    â—¦MASQUES / Patricia Briggs
    â—¦KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre

    Music recommendation is David Gray’s White Ladder…his song Sail Away is awesome!

  71. SaraC
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:02:16

    THE GRIMROSE PATH / Rob Thurman
    KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs

    Music Recommendation – try The Fratellis. they are a lot of fun!

  72. sylviasybil
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:08:22

    Some of these are on my autobuy list anyway, so I think I’ll ask for the opportunity to try something new. :)
    Ghost of a Chance
    Queen of Shadows
    Grave Witch

    I recommend anything by Paramore, especiallly Brick by Boring Brick

  73. Darlynne
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:13:41

    QUEEN OF SHADOWS, Dianne Sylvan
    GHOST OF A CHANCE, Simon R. Green
    GRAVE WITCH, Kalayna Price

    Music recommendation? One of the, if not THE, most beautiful instrumental compositions is A Love Idea by Mark Knopfler from the soundtrack for Last Exit to Brooklyn. Sweet, wistful, gorgeous.

    Also, Rain by Jose Feliciano. Very sexy and not as well known as his other songs.

  74. Lisa W.
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:14:18

    TROUBLED WATERS / Sharon Shinn
    KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre
    GHOST TOWN / Rachel Caine

    Music Recommendations:
    (A)spera by Mirah
    Waves and the Both of Us by Charlotte Sometimes
    We Are Born by Sia

  75. Jax
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:22:52

    Bayou Moon
    Masques
    Ghost of a Chance

    Music:
    My Baby Loves a Bunch of Authors by Moxy Frovous
    Senza Catene (Unchained Melody) sung by Amici Forever
    Put a Lid on It by Squirrel Nut Zippers

  76. MelissaG
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:28:01

    Ghost of a Chance by Simon Green
    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    BAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews

    Music:
    Under the Milkyway by Sia

  77. MaryK
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:28:33

    I’ve already ordered several of these :) so I’ll have to try for something new.

    QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan
    GHOST TOWN / Rachel Caine
    TROUBLED WATERS / Sharon Shinn

    Sadly, I am a musical philistine so I’m always behind the times. I did recently discover Cowboy Mouth who I like, especially their song “I Believe.” And I really like the Steven McDonald “Sons of Somerled” CD I picked up at a library sale. :)

  78. Judy
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:29:22

    BAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews
    MASQUES by Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE by Patricia Briggs

    Music recommendation:
    The Drumming Song by Florence + The Machine

  79. Patti L.
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:32:42

    Thank you for running this! I’ve got a copy of the original edition of “Masques”.

    1. Masques / Patricia Briggs
    2. Wolfsbane / Patricia Briggs
    3. GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price

    For music you might get a laugh out of the album “Carmen Miranda’s Ghost is Haunting Space Station Three”.

  80. LSUReader
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:33:28

    1 Bayou Moon
    2 Grave Witch
    3 Masques
    I still love the Beatles and recommend them to folks of any age. Thanks for the giveaway.

  81. jennifer k
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:33:57

    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Ghost Town by Rachel Caine
    Ghost of a Chance by Simon R. Green

    As for music, if you like singer-songwriter stuff: God Willin’ & The Creek Don’t Rise,
    Ray LaMontagne and if you want to dance around: Aphrodite, Kylie Minogue.

  82. Scorpio M.
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:34:43

    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs

    Music suggestion…Iron & Wine

  83. notthatellen
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:41:39

    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs
    GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green

    As for music, give Richard Shindell a try. Everything he does is great but I especially adore his live album: Courier. It’s full of songs about the wonder of being a trucker!

  84. Debra
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:44:56

    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    MASQUES by Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE by Patricia Briggs

    Music suggestion.. Till The Last shots fired by Trace Adkins, or anything by Trace

  85. CrystalGB
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:45:52

    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Ghost Town by Rachel Caine
    Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan

    I recommend Lady Antebellum

  86. Zealith
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:46:09

    WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs
    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs

    And I would recomend Black Fox by Heather Dale

  87. sya
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:46:40

    1. Bayou Moon – Ilona Andrews
    2. Masques – Patricia Briggs
    3. Killbox – Ann Aguirre

    Music: Apocalyptica, totally FTW. You can’t go wrong with cellists who play metal.

  88. Heather
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:52:50

    â—¦GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    â—¦KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre
    â—¦GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green

    Give Great Big Sea a try. Their older stuff is more traditional celtic, the newer stuff is their own unique blend of old and new. Live in concert, the Chemicals Workers Song gave me chills.

    (Man I hope I did that link right. Apologies if I didn’t.)

  89. Jennifer
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:53:44

    1. Troubled Waters by Sharon Shinn
    2. Killbox by Ann Aguirre
    3. Grave Witch by Kalayna Price

    Music recommendation: anything by Recoil (Alan Wilder, formerly of Depeche Mode)

  90. Miss_Thing
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:58:18

    I would love to win:

    1. Grave Witch
    2. Troubled Water
    3. Queen of Shadows

    I’ve already ordered both of Patty Brigg’s books, Killbox, Grimrose Path, Ghost of a Chance and Bayou Moon! I would like to come live in your offices, please.

    Music: I’ve been listening to Janelle Monae (impossible to describe but R&B/jazz/funk with a gorgeous voice), Caro Emerald (40’s style retro pop) and Sharon King and the Daptones (jazz/blues/R&B)lately. All are good, but Janelle Monae is really fantastic.

  91. Donna
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 11:08:10

    Grave Witch by Kalayna Price
    Masques by Patricia Briggs
    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews

    Music: Melanie Fiona

  92. HeatherK
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 11:12:49

    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan
    GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green

    As for music, anything by Linkin Park (especially Leave Out All the Rest), Nickleback or Hoobastank. Or go with a classic, KISS.

  93. vanessa
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 11:14:31

    QUEEN OF SHADOWS
    GRAVE WITCH
    MASQUES

    The National’s album High Violet is so dark and amazing, song “Conversation 16″ stays with you.

  94. Bea
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 11:15:47

    Wow, a great giveaway and so many good choices.

    1. Masques
    2. Grave Witch
    3. Queen of Shadows

    For music – Sugarland, Fred Small, Lady AnteBellum, Trace Adkins

  95. Eva_baby
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 11:16:57

    TROUBLED WATERS / Sharon Shinn
    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs

    And the most recent three songs that randomly rotated on my iPod:

    Right Round – by Flo Rida
    Only Sixteen – By Sam Cooke
    Rapture Riders (a mashup of Riders on the Storm and Rapture) by Blondie vs. The Doors

  96. Tina G
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 11:41:13

    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs

    As for music try Dashboard by Modest Mouse or Crossfire by Brandon Flowers

  97. Xid Trebor
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 11:45:33

    Bayou Moon – Ilona Andrews
    Masques – Patricia Briggs
    Wolfsbane – Patricia Briggs

    My musical rec is Sara Bareilles – love her sound & her new album is out.

    Thanks for the contest!!

  98. Robin K
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 11:50:50

    Any books are fine :)

    I’ll Be by Edwin McCain is my new favorite song.

  99. misti.wolanski
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 11:51:54

    Wolfsbane by Patricia Briggs
    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Masques by Patricia Briggs

    Music suggestions:
    Within Temptation – artist; albums distinguished by your music preferences listed below (I bolded my main favorite):

    acoustic: “Memories”, off An Acoustic Night at the Theatre

    ballad: “Bittersweet”, off Mother Earth

    gothic: “Jane Doe”, bonus track off some versions of The Silent Force

    symphonic (orchestral) metal: “Forsaken” off The Silent Force

    symphonic (orchestral) rock: “Hand of Sorrow” or “Our Solemn Hour” off The Heart of Everything

  100. Angie
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 11:55:13

    Hi Anne!

    TROUBLED WATERS
    KILLBOX
    BAYOU MOON

    Have you heard of The National or The Weepies? Fabulous stuff. Give Boxer and Say I Am You (respectively) a try.

  101. Bonnie Dee
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 12:03:49

    GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green
    GHOST TOWN / Rachel Caine
    THE GRIMROSE PATH / Rob Thurman

    “When We are One” Gabriel Mann – still one of the most beautiful songs ever

  102. Kim L
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 12:07:09

    Top 3 books:
    GHOST TOWN / Rachel Caine
    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan

    As for music, Toby Keith is always good.

  103. Diana
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 12:11:07

    Bayou Moon
    Ghost of a Chance
    Queen of Shadows

    Music – Broken Bells and She & Him

  104. Julie
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 12:19:20

    I’d love:

    Masques – Patricia Briggs
    Wolfsbane – Patricia Briggs
    Grave Witch – Kalayna Price

    I’m going to an Apocalyptica concert tonight, so I’d recommend them! How often do you pair classical cellists with thrash metal? :3

  105. Barbara Elness
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 12:26:04

    My top three choices are:
    â—¦KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre
    â—¦GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green
    â—¦GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price

    My music recommendation is Mercy by Duffy.

  106. Viki S.
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 12:29:40

    # WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs
    # GHOST TOWN / Rachel Caine
    # GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price

    I’m a huge Bon Jovi fan so I’d be listening to their music. I also like MUSE at the moment.

  107. Tammy Salvatore
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 12:33:42

    1. Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews

    2. Masques by Patricia Briggs

    3. Wolfsbane by Patricia Briggs

    Music – By the way by Hinder

  108. MarieC
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 12:45:21

    1. BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    2. MASQUES / Patricia Briggs
    3. WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs

    Right now, I am still loving 30 seconds to Mars’ “This is War” (the song and album).

  109. lucy
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 12:53:11

    THE GRIMROSE PATH / Rob Thurman

    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price

    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs

    I recommend Dandy Warhols. My favorites from them are Not If You Were The last Junkie On Earth and We Used To be Friends. I’m also enjoying Crystal Shawanda and Dierks Bentley.

  110. CRiley
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 13:03:04

    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews

    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs

    KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre

    Music: Elizabeth Mitchell or Jim Gill

  111. Melissa T
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 13:08:32

    # GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green
    # GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    # KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre – 2 finished copies

    Music rec: Rev Theory

  112. Julie K
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 13:18:21

    My top three choices are:

    Grave Witch/ Kalayna Price
    Ghost of a Chance / Simon R. Green
    Queen of Shadows /Diane Sylvan

    As for music, I was recently introduced to Anna Nalick. <3 her stuff, especially to write to :)

  113. An
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 13:30:46

    Queen of Shadows – Dianne Sylvan
    Grave Witch – Kalayna Price
    Killbox – Ann Aguirre

    Music:
    Mumford and Sons is awesome, and so is Lhasa de Sela.

    Mumford and Sons are a semi folksy-hipster band. I really love their rhymes and lyrics. “The Cave” is a good first song.

    They also did an incredible cover of “Not in Nottingham” from the definitive Robin Hood. :-)

    Lhasa de Sela is a folk singer who sings in spanish, french and english. A really good song to start with for her is at:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qnDl9a6FqSA

    Just get through the first bit where she’s talking. The song is called Pa’Llegar a tu Lado. If you can get watch the video and read the lyrics without sobbing, you are made of much sterner stuff than me.

  114. Valerie
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 13:38:12

    My top three are:

    Grave Witch – Kalayna Price
    Masques – Patricia Briggs
    Wolfsbane – Patricia Briggs

    And anything by Nightwish!!!

    Valerie
    in Germany

  115. Monica
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 13:43:42

    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price – 2 ARCs
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs – 3 ARCs
    WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs – 3 ARCs

    Music recc: Sometime Around Midnight by: Airborne Toxic Event

  116. Ruth (CO)
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 14:03:14

    Queen of Shadows
    Bayou Moon
    Wolfsbane

    Snow Patrol would be a listening recommendation.

    P.S. I love Jack Campbell. I have my nephew hooked on him as well now and cannot wait to see what happens to Black Jack.

  117. Kate S
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 14:13:43

    Books:
    1. Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    2. Ghost of a Chance by Simon Green
    3. Ghost Witch by Kaylana Price

    (Because I’ll be buying Patty’s books regardless…)

    Music — this is a way-back favorite, but one of the best albums I’ve ever had was Tears For Fears Seeds of Love. Amazing album, start to finish.

  118. cories
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 14:17:56

    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs
    THE GRIMROSE PATH / Rob Thurman
    GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green

    I don’t know any Chinese rap, but I do remember a J-Pop band called SOUL’d OUT which had some fun songs.

  119. Leigh
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 14:29:32

    I would love the Shinn. . . and of course wouldn’t turn down Briggs or Andrewa. . .

    Someone else mentioned Tom Petty. . . I like him, and The Traveling Wilburys

  120. Lynnette
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 14:33:58

    Book choices;
    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    BAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews
    MASQUES by Patricia Briggs

    As for music, I love Keith Urban.

  121. Erica
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 14:56:31

    KILLBOX
    TROUBLED WATERS

    Kathryn Jenkins “Believe”; she’s an incredible mezzo-soprano.

  122. Malin
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 15:23:44

    Book choices:
    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Masques by Patricia Briggs
    Wolfsbane by Patricia Briggs

    For music suggestions, the two albums I’ve listened to the most for the last few months:

    The Fame Monster by Lady Gaga
    Who Killed Amanda Palmer by Amanda Palmer

  123. Karen in TN
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 15:28:17

    QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan
    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna

    Music is so subjective – do you want something to read by? Background music while working? Or just something to listen to (or dance to)? Americana? Jazz? Pop? Electronica? Classical? Rock?

    For background and reading, I find great deals at Amazon – the 99 essential collections have hours of music at rock bottom prices.

  124. Patrice
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 15:36:32

    I’ll try 2 new authors and one favorite!
    â—¦GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    â—¦QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan
    â—¦BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    And for a runner up:
    â—¦KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre

    I’m in a Nickelback mood today, Fight for all the Wrong Reasons. :) And try Brother, an Aussie celtic rock band who play bagpipes and diggeridoo in their songs. Awesome!

  125. Louise D
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 15:43:16

    TROUBLED WATERS / Sharon Shinn
    GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green
    THE GRIMROSE PATH / Rob Thurman

    & music: Gossip

  126. Calila
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 15:46:57

    QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Dianne Sylvan
    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    TROUBLED WATERS by Sharon Shinn

    Anything Shinedown… specifically Call Me…great song!

  127. Missy Ann
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 15:56:18

    I’m currently obsessed with Elew’s music.
    http://elewrockjazz.com/

    You can listen to entire songs on his site before you buy. Absolutely fantastic stuff.

    The Grimrose Path – Thurman
    Queen of Shadows – Sylvan
    Ghost of a Chance – Green (love love love him)

  128. Melissa (Books and Things)
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 15:58:39

    Queen of Shadows
    Killbox
    Masques

    I don’t know what you like, but for me Evanescence is always good for music. I also recommend Breaking Benjamin, and Crossfade. I’ve also been loving Paramore’s newest album.

  129. Heller
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 16:14:42

    Wolfsbane – Patricia Briggs
    Masques – Patricia Briggs
    Bayou Moon – Ilona Andrews

    Them Crooked Vultures – Gunman

  130. Madison
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 16:15:23

    GHOST TOWN by Rachel Caine
    MASQUES by Patricia Briggs
    BAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews

    As for music: The Beatles, Kate Nash, We the Kings, The Decembrits, Sara Bareilles and much much more!!

  131. Stephanie McCarthy
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 16:21:18

    Bayou Moon: Ilona Andrews
    Masques: Patricia Briggs
    Wolfsbane: Patricia Briggs

    I love Taylor Swift and Rascal Flatts and I can’t wait for their new cds.

  132. Joder
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 16:22:36

    Here are my three choices:
    -GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    -GHOST OF A CHANCE by Simon R. Green
    -QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Dianne Sylvan

    And a music choice I adore is the soundtrack to the indie movie ONCE. Heartfelt music with strong vocals. No surprise it earned an Oscar.

  133. INCiDeNT (Kayleigh)
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 16:27:29

    Grave Witch – Kalayna Price
    Masques – Patricia Briggs
    Killbox – Ann Aguirre

    Music Recs: Breaking Benjamin, Finch and Renholder.

  134. emmad
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 16:28:33

    Wow this is a hard choice. Personally I would like all of them lol.

    If I have to narrow it to three though

    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Masques by Patricia Briggs
    Queen of Shadows – Dianne Sylvan

    As for music that’s actually a hard one. I listern to Classic Hit’s (Radio station) here in NZ and don’t follow any new stuff really at the moment.

    Love the BeeGee’s, Def Leppard um Tim McGraw, Cher, Tina Turner so a wide variety really lol.
    Oh last christmas I got Dr Elmo’s Twisted Christmas and loved that as well.

  135. Nicole B.
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 16:32:41

    BAYOU MOON – Ilona Andrews
    MASQUES – Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE – Patricia Briggs

    Music Choice, that is a difficult one. I’ll listen to the BeeGees anyday!

  136. camilla
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 16:33:09

    Book choices:
    Masques Briggs
    Wolfsbane Briggs
    Bayou Moon Andrews

    Music:
    I have been hooked on Kirsty Maccoll ever since she was referenced in a Jenny Crusie novel. Try Tropical Brainstorm first.
    I also got hooked on Michael Franti after a song of his was in Weeds.

  137. Ashley C
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 17:06:01

    My top 3 book choices:
    BAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews
    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    WOLFSBANE by Patricia Briggs

    Music:
    Sara Bareilles’s new album Kaleidoscope Heart recently came out. The songs Uncharted and Bluebird are the best on that album!!

    Thank you!

  138. Sabrina
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 17:07:34

    Bayou Moon by Illona Andrews
    Wolfsbane by Patricia Briggs
    Masques by Patricia Briggs

    I have been listening to a lot of Classic Rock..brings back memories;)

  139. Andi
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 17:18:42

    1. Grave Witch-Price
    2. The Grimrose Path-Thurman
    3. Ghost of a Chance-Green

    Portishead-Glory Box, Half Day Closing, Sour Times
    Iron & Wine-Such Great Heights
    Jens Lekman-Your Arms Around Me
    Alela Diane-Dry Grass & Shadows
    Ok, I have to stop myself or you’ll have a list a mile long.

  140. Donna S
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 17:40:15

    GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green
    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    GHOST TOWN / Rachel Caine

    For music I have really been liking Cage the Elephant and Cavo.

  141. kristal1122
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 17:48:35

    QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan
    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs

    I’ve been listening to Eminem’s Recovery.

  142. Katie A
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 17:50:30

    - BAYOU MOON, Ilona Andrews
    – MASQUES, Patricia Briggs
    – WOLFSBANE, Patricia Briggs

    Jamie Cullum I adore – his latest album, The Pursuit, is great :)

  143. Jessica
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 18:06:18

    QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Dianne Sylvan
    BAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews
    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price – 2 ARCs

    I already have Ghost of a Chance and the Grimrose Path :)

    I recommend Amanda Palmer always.

  144. PJ
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 18:25:05

    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre
    QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Dianne Sylvan

    The Blind Leaving the Blind by the Punch Brothers – epic and cutting edge bluegrass featuring Chris Thile of Nickel Creek. Truly unique and inspiring.

  145. Abbey
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 19:07:18

    Troubled Waters
    Bayou Moon
    Masques

    Contra by Vampire Weekend- it’s just so much fun

  146. Pam P
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 19:08:13

    Queen of Shadows
    Grave Witch
    Troubled Waters

    Music – Van Morrison

  147. April
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 19:15:56

    Ghost of a Chance
    Masques
    Wolfsbane

    Music: An oldie but a goodie band with new music: Concrete Blone, 100 Games of Solitaire

  148. Michelle
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 19:20:02

    Hello,

    I would love Simon Green’s Ghost of A Chance

    For music-
    Loreena McKennitt-her music is haunting (also mentioned in Nora Roberts Angels Fall-which was cool)

    Andy M. Stewart/Silly Wizard-some of his celtic ballads can make you cry

  149. Diane M.
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 19:52:36

    BAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews
    MASQUES by Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE by Patricia Briggs

    Unanswered Prayers by Garth Brooks

  150. Cherie J
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 19:57:03

    Book choices:

    Troubled Waters by Sharon Shinn
    Masques by Patricia Briggs
    Wolfsbane by Patricia Briggs

    Music Recommendation: Anything by Enya. She is an awesome singer. Can’t praise her enough.

  151. Betsy S
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 19:58:57

    BAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews
    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Dianne Sylvan

    As for music, anything by the Foo Fighters.

  152. Lara K.
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 19:59:53

    1. Queen of Shadows
    2. Ghost of a Chance
    3. Grave Witch

    Music: The New Pornographers – Twin Cinema or Electric Version are my favorite albums, but Challengers is good too. I also LOVE The Old 97’s.

  153. Rosie Nguy
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 20:00:08

    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs
    TROUBLED WATERS / Sharon Shinn

    Lemon Tree by Fool’s Garden

  154. CC Bridges
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 20:07:49

    1. GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green
    2. GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    3. KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre

    Amaranth by Nightwish

  155. Wenj
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 20:08:06

    GHOST OF A CHANCE by Simon R. Green
    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    THE GRIMROSE PATH by Rob Thurman

    I absolutely adore anything by Shinedown, especially ‘.45′ and ‘Shed Some Light’. But, likewise you also can’t go wrong with The 69 Eyes, they have a wonderfully gothic vibe with amazing vocals!

  156. Elise S.
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 20:11:03

    BAYOU MOON – Ilona Andrews
    MASQUES – Patricia Briggs
    GRAVE WITCH – Kalayna Price

    I’m really loving The Five Ghosts by Stars right now and for all your geek music needs Jonathon Coulton is always win.

  157. Abigail [All Things Urban Fantasy]
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 20:11:46

    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan
    THE GRIMROSE PATH / Rob Thurman

    A song that i’ve just fallen in love with recently is Jar of Hearts by Christina Perri

  158. Adelina
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 20:17:24

    Bayou Moon/Ilona Andrews
    Masques/Patricia Briggs
    Wolfsbane/Patricia Briggs

    I love anything by Evanescense. Her voice is awesome!

  159. LisaCharlotte
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 20:20:44

    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs

    Erase and Rewind – The Cardigans
    I never get tired of this song.

  160. Ann
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 20:23:43

    Masques/Patricia Briggs
    Wolfsbane/Patricia Briggs
    TROUBLED WATERS / Sharon Shinn

    Sorry I don’t listen eo enough music to recommend a song to you.

  161. Rory G
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 20:29:48

    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs
    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price

    I love Ms Briggs. I can’t wait. Currently loving King of Anything by Sara Bareilles.

  162. Kimberly B.
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 21:47:37

    Ooh, ooh, ooh. I’d be happy with any one of these, but here are my top three choices:

    Killbox by Ann Aguirre
    Troubled Waters by Sharon Shinn
    Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan

    As for music, I recommend Azam Ali, either solo or in the group Vas. Portals of Grace gives an interesting interpretation of Medieval European music, whereas Elysium for the Brave has more of an ambient/Electronic/Middle Eastern flavor. (They’re both pretty cheap on ITunes right now, too!)

    Thanks for the great giveaway!

  163. Wensi
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 21:58:11

    Bayou Moon

    Killbox

    Grave Witch

    Can I point you to this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DzPetEzG_n0

    =D

  164. Artangel
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 22:08:51

    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs

    Uprising by Muse is an awesome song to blare in the car!

    Thanks for this contest!!!!

  165. Janilee
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 22:26:42

    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs
    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews

    Any music by The Elders

  166. Karen W.
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 22:32:03

    All the books sounds great! My top 3:

    Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan
    Grave Witch by Kalayana Price
    Ghost Town by Rachel Caine

    Music recommendation: The new Supernatural Seasons 1-5 soundtrack.

  167. Pamk
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 22:35:35

    Bayou Moon Ilona andrews
    Grave witch and then queen of shadows in that order and I’ve been listening to Bon jovi lately. New to me but am really liking them

  168. Ciara Dallas
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 22:43:23

    Queen of Shadows
    Ghost of a Chance
    Masques

    …not that it was easy to narrow it down to 3!

    For music… if you are a gamer, you may enjoy “Still Alive” by GlaDos or any of the odd but amusing Jonathan Coulter songs. :)

  169. iokijo
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 22:49:32

    Great list of books. Thank you for giving us all a chance to win one.

    1] â—¦BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    2] â—¦MASQUES / Patricia Briggs
    3] â—¦KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre

    music rec. I’m not very up to date with the current music, just don’t like a lot of it. Two of the best CD’s I’ve ever listened to 1 old, 1 new
    Adam Lambert ~ For Your entertainment
    Peter Gabriel ~ Secret Garden Live

    Thank you again.. good luck everyone.

  170. MeganS
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 22:55:44

    Ghost Town, by Rachel Caine
    Grave Witch, by Kalayna Price
    Queen of Shadows, by Dianne Sylvan

    Music recs! My favorite new albums this year have been the National’s HIGH VIOLET, the Gaslight Anthem’s AMERICAN SLANG, and Kate Nash’s MY BEST FRIEND IS YOU.

  171. Renee
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 23:18:21

    BAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews
    KILLBOX by Ann Aguirre
    THE GRIMROSE PATH by Rob Thurman

    For my music rec, I’m going into the wayback machine and suggest Laura Nyro’s album, Angel in the Dark. ‘Cause I’m listening to it right now, and it suits my mellow mood perfectly.

  172. Stephanie K.
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 23:33:19

    Ghost Town by Rachel Caine
    Grave Witch by Kalayna Price
    Ghost of a Chance by Simon R. Green

    Music: Animal by Neon Trees

  173. Allie
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 00:13:56

    Ghost Town – Rachel Caine
    Ghost of a Chance – Simon Green
    Killbox – Ann Aguirre

    Music: Anything by
    Sia
    Bat For Lashes
    Nouvelle Vague
    The Pierces

  174. Misha@My Love Affair with Books
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 00:19:40

  175. DeeCee
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 00:27:09

    Masques-Briggs
    Wolfsbane-Briggs
    The Grimrose Path-Thurman

    The Catalyst by Linkin Park-god how I missed them! :)

  176. Lynn
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 00:39:33

    I already have the 2 Patricia Briggs on pre-order from Amazon, so I would have to go with:
    Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan
    Ghost of a Chance by Simon R. Green
    Killbox by Ann Aguirre

    My taste in music varies widely, but here lately, I have been listening to: Patty Loveless, Alison Krauss, Josh Turner, Vince Gill, Chris Isaak, Enya, The Irish Tenors, Sarah McLachlan, Loreena McKennitt, Riders in the Sky, Marty Robbhins and music from Phantom of the Opera, Les Mis and The Scarlet Pimpernel.

  177. Little Lamb Lost
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 00:42:55

    â—¦GHOST TOWN / Rachel Caine
    â—¦THE GRIMROSE PATH / Rob Thurman
    â—¦TROUBLED WATERS / Sharon Shinn

    Music recommendation: Marc Cohn’s album titled Marc Cohn

  178. Collette
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 01:52:58

    Man, all of these books sound great. I will already be purchasing the Patricia Briggs so my choices are:
    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Grave Witch by Kalayne Price
    Grimrose Path by Rob Thurman

    Okay, these 2 songs have been going through my head all week. Ain’t No Rest for the Wicked by Cage the Elephant and Not Ready to Make Nice by the Dixie Chicks. Nope, can’t explain it either. Maybe they’ll stick with you too. ;-)

  179. Bella F.
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 03:00:13

    All of these sound great! but my top 3 would be:

    *QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Dianne Sylvan

    *GHOST OF A CHANCE by Simon R. Green

    *GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price

    Music rec’s :)
    Maps by Yeah Yeah Yeahs
    Glósóli by Sigur Rós

  180. mo
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 05:13:20

    Killbox by Ann Aguirre
    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Troubled Water by Sharon Shinn

    Morrissey – Your Arsenal
    Blur – Parklife Album

  181. Giada M.
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 05:38:06

    My choices are:

    KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre
    QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan
    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews

    About music recommendation:

    Fabrizio De Andrè. I love his every song!

    Thank you for this chance! :)

    Giada M.

    fabgiada (at) gmail (dot) com

  182. julieid
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 07:00:03

    Music recommendation first. I really enjoy alternative music and I recommend the Mumford and Sons album. Other recommends are Sky sailing and Fleet foxes. My top three would be:

    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs

  183. Elizabeth Moore
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 07:27:11

    QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan
    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre

    Music anything by KEM

  184. Amanda T.
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 07:48:12

    MASQUES Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE Patricia Briggs
    GHOST TOWN Rachel Caine

    Anything Muse!

  185. Natalia
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 08:52:47

    MASQUES/Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE/Patricia Briggs
    BAYOU MOON/Ilona Andrews

    Music: MARTA TOPFEROVA, has a witchy voice, groove and rhythm…

  186. Tasha
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 09:03:26

    Grave Witch
    Bayou Moon
    Ghost Town

    And for music . . . hmm. If you’ve not got any Angelique Kidjo, run out and get some. She’s fantastic!

  187. Amy D
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 09:06:04

    Killbox and both of the Briggs books!

    And try the new album by the Dollyrots: A Little Messed Up

  188. Marlene Breakfield
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 09:16:46

    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Masques by Patricia Briggs
    Wolfsbane by Patricia Briggs

    Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen is one of my favorites.

  189. ms bookjunkie
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 09:38:07

    QUEEN OF SHADOWS – Dianne Sylvan
    GRAVE WITCH – Kalayna Price
    GHOST TOWN – Rachel Caine

    Hmm. You might want to see if The Rasmus blows your horn. I have an affection for their song In the Shadows on the album Dead Letters.

  190. Sara M
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 09:49:07

    My top three choices:
    Grave Witch by Kalayna Price
    Masques by Patricia Briggs
    Wolfsbane by Patricia Briggs

    My music recommendations:
    The Audition, Silverstein, and Park

  191. tori aka ggs_closet
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 09:54:41

    My three pics-
    GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green
    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs

    My music rec-Flatfoot56 “Brotherhood”

  192. Claire M
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 10:00:37

    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Grave Witch by Kalayna Price
    Masques by Patricia Briggs

    Currently in to: Within Temptation.

  193. Nikki B.
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 10:11:45

    My 3 Choices:
    GHOST TOWN/Rachel Caine
    MASQUES/Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE/Patricia Briggs

    As for music, I can’t get enough of Paramore at the moment. Also one of my British friends got me into UK artist Paloma Faith. Love her!

  194. Becca Foh
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 10:23:00

    I would love
    TROUBLED WATERS / Sharon Shinn
    GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green
    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews

    I have just discovered Spotify and I’m listening to some great blasts from the past – and Blondie is the best of them all.

  195. Victoria Zumbrum
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 11:01:43

  196. Mary Beth
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 11:02:05

    My book choices are
    â–  QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan
    â–  GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price – 2 ARCs
    â–  MASQUES / Patricia Briggs

    My music recommendation is Ryan Star. He’s new/upcoming and does the intro song for the TV show Lie to Me and has a cool new song “Breathe” plus U-Tube video for the song.

    Thanks for the contest opportunity!

  197. JessicaC
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 11:39:13

    Book Choices:
    1. Grave Witch/Kalayna Price
    2. QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Dianne Sylvan
    3. Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews

    I’ve been loving the band Midlake lately, especially the song “Young Bride”, kinda indie, with shades of Fleetwood Mac and Iron and Wine.

  198. Meghan
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 12:58:16

    Top three book choices:

    1. Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    2. Masques by Patricia Briggs
    3. Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan

    As far as music goes, I love Darren Hayes’s independent albums. His latest, This Delicate Thing We’ve Made, is probably my favorite.

  199. vickyvak
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 13:44:04

    My book choices are:

    1.Grave Witch
    2.Queen of Shadows
    3.Ghost Town

    Music:
    If everyone cared by Nickleback

  200. Chelsea B.
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 14:00:40

    â—¦KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre
    â—¦QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan
    â—¦TROUBLED WATERS / Sharon Shinn

    Music: Maroon 5, Ok Go, Boys Like Girls.

  201. Danielle Bull
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 14:13:15

    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Masques by Patricia Briggs
    Wolfsbane by Patrica Briggs

    Kill the Lights by The Birthday Massacre

  202. AndreaR
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 14:21:22

    Hi, I’ve already entered this givaway so discount this second e-mail for the contest.

    I’m loving this giveaway comment thread – the idea of asking for a music recommendation is fantastic. On the downside, I don’t recognize most of the choices which tells you both how old and how out of it I am! LOL! I forgot to nominate Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen, mentioned by Marlene. Of course I just bought the CD so I could hear it again – after hearing the version done by a choral group called VocalEssence on an NPR program recently.

  203. janicu
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 14:38:11

    Top three:
    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price
    MASQUES by Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE by Patricia Briggs

    I like The Worst of Black Box Recorder, by Black Box Recorder. That’s kind of quirky. The Luckiest by Ben Folds seems to be enjoyed by many.

  204. Sue R
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 15:13:31

    My Top Three:

    Grave Witch by Kalayna Price
    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan

    I been listening to Lady Antebellum. So check it out. Thanks for the chance

  205. LoriA
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 15:23:44

    QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan
    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs

    I always love the opportunity to try new authors. No need to include my auto-buy authors here. ;-) Though I confess, I discovered Briggs long before her current urban fantasy books.

    As for music, I mostly listen to Broadway. Sondheim (brilliant lyricist), especially Sweeney Todd & A Little Night Music (though Rodger & Hammerstein’s South Pacific is getting a good listen these days. Recent Lincoln Center production, even if they did broadcast it without Matthew Morrison as Lt. Cable)

    Sweeney Todd would probably be an appropriate soundtrack for some of these books!

  206. SamB
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 15:38:17

    GHOST OF A CHANCE by Simon R. Green, THE GRIMROSE PATH by Rob Thurman, and TROUBLED WATERS by Sharon Shinn.

    I recommend the oldie but goodie by the Eagles – Take It Easy.

  207. Zen
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 16:12:22

    Ooooh, so many good books, so little time. If I have to pick only 3:

    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews – 3 ARCs
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs – 3 ARCs
    KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre – 2 finished copies

    As for music suggestions: Have you heard the new Barenaked Ladies CD, “All in Good Time”? It’s top of my playlist. <3

  208. Pfefferminztee
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 16:40:18

    Ilona Andrews – Bayou Moon
    Patricia Briggs – Masques
    Patricia Briggs – Wolfsbane

    As for music recommendations: Tool – Jambi
    Such a beautiful and emotional song.

  209. Linz
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 16:46:58

    Bayou Moon – Ilona Andrews
    Masques – Patricia Briggs
    Wolfsbane – Patricia Briggs

    Michael Buble. Fantastic.

  210. Amy R.-B.
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 16:57:34

    I’d like:

    Ghost of a Chance – Simon R. Green
    Grave Witch – Kalayna Price
    Ghost Town – Rachel Caine

    And my music recommendation is Florence + the Machine and their CD “Lungs”. Good, good stuff.

  211. Natasha A.
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 17:09:09

    Ilona Andrews – Bayou Moon
    Patricia Briggs – Masques
    Patricia Briggs – Wolfsbane

    As for music…OMG I am horrible. I have no idea. I listen to stuff on the radio but I have no idea what it’s called!!

  212. Tiffany M.
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 18:36:39

    I already bought The Grimrose Path (and am about 20 pages in! ^^)

    So, taking that out of my top three, what’s left would be (in any order):

    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Masques by Patricia Briggs
    Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan

    As for music, right now I’m crazy about Georgia Satellites “Keep Your Hands to Yourself.” Also, for a foreign, but amazing, seriously AMAZING song, try “Plastic Flower” by Lena Park.

  213. ylee
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 19:16:57

    1. Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    2. Grave Witch by Kalayna Price
    3. Ghost of a Chance by Simon R Green

    If you like Chinese rap, Anne, you might also like this song called “Hua Tian Cuo” by Wang Lee Hom (I think he’s a Chinese pop artist).

  214. chirping.jikie
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 20:27:48

    1. Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    2. Troubled Waters by Sharon Shinn
    3. Grave Witch by Kalayna Price

    It’s not a song, but George Winston’s ‘Longing/Love’ is a beautiful piece of piano music.

  215. Lacey
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 20:50:43

    BAYOU MOON- Ilona Andrews
    KILLBOX- Ann Aguirre
    TROUBLED WATERS- Sharon Shinn

    On my ipod right now: White Blank Page-Mumford and Sons, Breakeven- The Script, Dog Days Are Over- Florence and the Machine.

  216. Kate N. (Yzhabella)
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 21:01:41

    # GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    # MASQUES / Patricia Briggs
    # WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs

    Hmmm, that’s a toughie! I’m a country fan (no groans please) so I’d like to recommend Lady Antebellum’s “Need You Now”! It’s a great song break ups and regrets!

  217. Elizabeth
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 21:22:19

    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs

    Music? I’m a classical girl. I ling in an a Capella group, but for listening, if I’m trying to get anything done, I don’t want any words. Best ever: J. S. Bach’s unaccompanied cello suites.

  218. Sharon K
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 21:41:51

    I’d have to go with
    BAYOU MOON by Ilona Andrews
    GHOST TOWN by Rachel Caine
    QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Dianne Sylvan
    They all sound fantastic, but these three caught my attention better than the others.
    This is a song I just heard the other day and really liked
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=grnkCPxdTdU&feature=related
    Thank you for having this contest!

  219. Christina G
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 21:51:30

    Bayou Moon
    Grave Witch
    Troubled Waters
    Masques

    As for music, I have such an eclectic selection. Right now, I am listening to Gaelic Storm’s latest album “Cabbages” (Irish music) but I also highly recommend Nightwish (operatic rock inspired by Tolkien), Heather Dale (especially for Loreena McKennitt or Enya fans), and James Dooley (epic, short orchestral pieces).

  220. Laura G
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 21:54:21

    â—¦GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green – 2 ARCs
    â—¦BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews – 3 ARCs
    â—¦KILLBOX / Ann Aguirre – 2 finished copies

    Try One EskimO – any songs are good, but I recommend Amazing.

    Thank you!

  221. Gryvon
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 21:58:24

    * GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green
    * GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    * GHOST TOWN / Rachel Caine

    Music:
    Masters of Chant
    Adele – Chasing Pavements
    MIKA – Kick Ass
    Tiësto and Sneaky Sound System – I Will Be Here
    Timbaland – Morning After Dark
    Gorillaz – Stylo, Feel Good Inc, Clint Eastwood
    Lady Antebellum – Need You Now
    Nine Inch Nails – Zero Sum
    One Republic – Secrets
    Owl City – Fireflies
    Rihanna
    The Decemberists – The Tain (album)
    VNV Nation

  222. Maya M.
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 22:08:57

    Bayou Moon
    Killbox
    Ghost of a Chance

    How about some classical? Listening to YoYo Ma right now, the clean, pure cello sound is great for reading

  223. Leslie
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 22:14:37

    Love the choices!

    1. THE GRIMROSE PATH/Rob Thurman
    2. BAYOU MOON/Ilona Andrews
    3. MASQUES/Patricia Briggs

    I've been listening and enjoying violinist David Garrett a lot lately.

  224. Lorraine from CA
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 23:07:51

    My choices:
    1. Troubled Waters by Sharon Shinn
    2. Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    3. Grave Witch by Kalayna Price

    Music recommendation…Try the albums Peace in Our Time or The Crossing by the defunct UK group Big Country. Big guitar sound, weird bagpipe and mandolin combinations, fantastic lyrics.

    Great contest. Thank you!

  225. Pam S
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 23:30:29

    QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan – 3 finished copies
    GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green – 2 ARCs
    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price – 2 ARCs

    Linkin Park and Maroon 5 maybe?

  226. Edith
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 01:24:56

    I’d LOVE to have these:
    * MASQUES / Patricia Briggs – 3 ARCs
    * WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs – 3 ARCs
    * TROUBLED WATERS / Sharon Shinn – 2 ARCs

    As for music, I’d highly recommend Stan Rogers (he’s a dead folk singer), especially Field Behind the Plow and Lies.

  227. maered
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 02:17:22

    I would love to win

    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Masques by Patricia Briggs
    Wolfsbane by Patricia Briggs

    At the moment, I’m listening to rhianna. I quite like her music.

  228. ivydtruitt
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 06:02:17

    I like firsts so I’d choose

    Ghost of a Chance
    Queen of Shadows
    Grave Witch

    I’d recommend Trans Siberian Orchestra (to get the creative juices flowing), Von Canto, Jonny Lang, Daughtry, & Rob Thomas…

  229. Letitia
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 08:28:22

    Awesome! It’d be so great to own an ARC of Patty’s first book!

    1. Masques / Patricia Briggs
    2. Bayou Moon / Ilona Andrews
    3. Wolfsbane / Patricia Briggs

    And I’d recommend Neon Tree’s “Animal” – it’s a fun song that makes you want to move (and get stuck in your head)! :)

  230. Adam
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 09:14:38

    I love me some Patty and have been wanting to check out Thurman (once I catch up on Dresden of course).

    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs
    THE GRIMROSE PATH / Rob Thurman

    MUSIC: Deadsy – Carrying Over

  231. Teresa W.
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 11:16:08

    Ghost Town, Killbox and Wolfsbane! Music- Sober by Pink!

  232. elisa
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 12:16:31

    Great upcoming books lineup! I can see I’ll be buying quite a few…

    Bayou Moon Ilona Andrews
    Masques Patricia Briggs (glad to see it’s finally coming out!)
    Wolfsbane Patricia Briggs

    I never win these things, so fingers crossed for good luck!

    Music: Claudette Ortiz from City High (old 90s R&B group) had a gorgeous voice. She only has a few solo songs, but this is one of the most beautiful:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4fghCFngcw&feature=related

    also, Anthony Hamilton, one of the most soulful voices today

  233. MarnieColette
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 13:19:57

    BAYOU MOON / Ilona Andrews
    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    GHOST OF A CHANCE / Simon R. Green

    Music — Hmm! I don’t listen to music all that much of lately. I love Lady Gaga and Pink (angry chick music is my favorite)

  234. dagobahbabe
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 14:09:45

    QUEEN OF SHADOWS / Dianne Sylvan
    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    GHOST TOWN / Rachel Caine

    At the moment i’m loving bogling to The Whitest Boy Alive – Dreams album. It’s from 2006 but very funky cool. My fav song is Golden Cage. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bOP37A1EhEs

  235. Alicia McCord
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 15:36:02

    Grave Witch/ Kalayna Price
    Masques/Patricia Briggs
    Wolfbane/ Patricia Briggs

    Bullet for my Valentine-Fever
    Anything 30 Seconds to Mars
    and Paramore- Brand New Eyes

    I love all these bands because their music is a bit fantasy.

  236. mistressnonny
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 16:36:24

    Grave Witch by Kalayna Price
    Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan
    Masques by Patricia Briggs

    Recommendation: Within Temptation

  237. Arani
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 17:18:11

    Wolfsbane and Masques by Patricia Briggs
    Troubled Waters by Sharon Shinn

    I blame Rich from Four Four because I’m currently listening to Katy Perry based on his review last week or two weeks ago.

  238. Mette J
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 18:01:30

    Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews
    Ghost Town by Rachel Caine
    Masques by Patricia Briggs

    I would recommend anything with Alex Band he’s great!

  239. Alex D
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 18:15:27

    Ghost Town – Rachel Caine
    Bayou Moon – Ilona Andrews
    Masques – Patricia Briggs

    As for music the Glee soundtracks always make me happy :)

  240. CJ
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 20:53:02

    QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Dianne Sylvan

    GRAVE WITCH by Kalayna Price

    GHOST OF A CHANCE by Simon R. Green

    As to music – just love Linkin Park album Hybrid…song CRAWLING

  241. JessBess2505
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 21:21:22

    Grave Witch by Kalayna Price

    Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan

    Kill Box by Ann Aguirre

    Music Rec: Theory of a Deadman’s “Scars & Souvenirs” is my fave CD from them. They’re a alternative rock or hard rock band. Really good CD!!

  242. Liz
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 22:02:31

    Bayou Moon
    Grave Witch
    The Grimrose Path

    I’d recommend Talib Kweli.

  243. Jen Merry
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 22:20:56

    Bayou Moon – Ilona Andrews
    Grave Witch – Kalayna Price
    Queen of Shadows – Dianne Sylvan

    As for music – I’d recommend anything by Sigur Ros. Their music totally invokes the icy, frozen north. It’s great to chill out to.

  244. Clare
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 00:12:47

    - Grave Witch, Kalayna Price,
    – Wolfsbane, Patricia Briggs &
    – Masque, Patricia Briggs

    My music recommendation is Hey Soul Sister by Train! :)

  245. Scott Romanski
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 05:33:47

    GRAVE WITCH / Kalayna Price
    MASQUES / Patricia Briggs
    WOLFSBANE / Patricia Briggs

    My music recommendation is the album Wasted Angel by Sex Slaves. Also any cd by Martin Rivas. While the artists are vastly different, both are amazing and wonderful to listen to

  246. Mardel
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 06:10:44

    I don’t know a lot of song names, but I love this one by Michael Franti and the Spearheads called Say Hey. It’s great to listen to and to dance to, as well as having a very cute video.

    If I were lucky enough to win I would pick

    Grave Witch
    Masques
    Bayou Moon

    I just bought KillBox, or I would pick that one.

    :)

  247. lacrima
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 11:12:11

    I don’t have a particular taste in music, put songs I recently got on iTunes were “I’m a believer” and “All Star” by Smash Mouth, “For all Lovers” by Stanfour and “Gotta keep smiling” by Scouting for Girls.

    And the books I would pick?
    Grave Witch
    Ghost of a Chance
    Wolfbane

  248. Jessie S
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 12:44:55

    Grave Witch
    Masque
    Queen of Shadows

    I am happy with anything.

    for music I would recommend Faith and the Muse, Lee Earl, Vermilion Lies and Kim Boekbinder

  249. Cindy G.
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 13:41:44

    How exciting…thanks for the opportunity:
    Grave Witch
    Bayou Moon
    Queen of Shadows

    Music: Anything from Muse

%d bloggers like this: