Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Update on Amazon Situation: Amazon Petition

Most of the blogosphere has been mouth agape in reaction to the Deborah Anne MacGillivray harassment of an Amazon reader over a 3 star review that the reader left for a book of MacGillivray’s. In my link backs, though, I saw a post called “Authors Who Bite Back” from Tess Gerritsen’s blog that left my mouth agape. This is a three star review. Three stars! It’s like an average grade. From a reader who loved the first book.

My first reaction to this story was: "What? I can get the bad reviews taken off my Amazon pages? How do I do that?" Because I didn’t know an author could do that. I thought you just had to live with them and suffer heartburn every time you scroll past them.

My second reaction was: "There but for the grace of better self-control go I."

Because, let’s be honest here. Really. Is there an author alive who hasn’t wanted to hunt down the identities of those who’ve written bad Amazon reviews of our books? Is there an author alive who hasn’t harbored fantasies of revenge, even if it only involves sticking a few pins in a voodoo doll? Is there an author alive who hasn’t wanted to fire back a response along the lines of "what could you possibly know about good writing, you illiterate slut?"

If you haven’t harbored such fantasies, then you’re a far better person than I am.

Now, I’m not saying that Ms. MacGillivray wasn’t out of line here. But her major foolishness was that she got caught at it.

As an astute commenter pointed out,

I guess I would argue that her "major foolishness" wasn’t in getting caught – because that implies her actions would have been OK if she hadn’t been caught. I would argue that her problem is that she crossed the line of what most people believe is acceptable behavior in our society.

Ms Gerritsen defends herself in subsequent posts by saying she was trying to be funny;

Humor involves a certain amount of exaggeration, and the actual story I cited is about the exaggerated lengths a certain author has gone to to protect her turf. Yes, she went way over the line into the creepy. But am I the only one who found black comedy in the story? The only one who could see it as a wacky film about people who get carried away into committing absurdities?

And then says that she was just being honest about her sensitivities to negative reviews written by cowardly anonymous reviewers.

So okay, maybe I’ve said things here that sound neurotic and hypersensitive. But at least, damn it, I’m brave enough to OWN MY OWN WORDS. On this blog, you all know exactly who’s writing these thoughts.

Unlike the cowardly anonymous reviewers who throw bombs and scuttle back under their rocks.

If a reader did this to an author would Gerritsen find the black humor in it? If a reader, to a reader’s group, said “vote down this bitch” and “Well, thanks to XXXXXX our PI , we now have her name, her husband’s name, her chidrens’ names, her grannies and great grannies name. Her address phone number and email lol- quite interesting.”

Please Note that the Following Petition Is not in any way related to Tess Gerritsen, her blog or anything on her blog. Instead the petition is directed at Amazon’s inaction toward Deborah MacGillivray and the unfair treatment of reader, Reba Belle.

In any event, we’ve got an iPetition up for those who believe that Amazon’s inaction toward the author and the banning of the reader are inappropriate. You simply need to provide your name and email address and you are given the choice of signing anonymously. One you hit the “sign petition” button, you are done. You will be directed to a page asking you for a donation. You absolutely do not need to give any money to iPetition.com in order for your signature to show up.

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

242 Comments

  1. morgan saylor jones
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 11:34:03

    Don’t mean to hijack the thread, but after reading all the posts on this and the other blog entries on the subject of DAM, Tess Gerritsen, Reba Belle, and the horror that is the Amazon book review process, I just have to say –

    Nora Roberts is a class act.

  2. Just A Reader
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 14:43:43

    Catching up on a lot today, so there are several things I wanted to comment on:

    #1) Re: Tess Gerritsen’s blog posts:
    I said something on the Deb Mac thread (can’t recall everything atm) to the effect that I was offended by what she said, but…
    Ok, she said it on her blog. Not that it made it appear any less rude & condescending to my eyes, but she is (or rather was) in her comfort zone, and I would imagine she thought she was primarily posting to her readership. I’d think this would make her less careful about being clearly understood by everyone in general, and I was more irked with the “DAM’s foolishness was in getting caught” comment anyway.
    I don’t see how it could fall into the same “black humor/tongue in cheek comment” category as what appeared (to me) to be an elitist attitude toward reader reviews, and the very poorly chosen “illiterate slut” remark.
    Anyway, it’s not of supreme importance to me at this point, and I think the focus needs to stay on DAM and her cronies as much as possible, so that’s fine, I’m through commenting on it as of now.

    #2) Just on reader reviews in general:
    As usual, Nora Roberts summed it up so well when she said that readers write reviews for other readers.
    I’ve written several, but mostly for fellow romance readers who post & read on the Paperback Swap Love & Romance forum. I usually just post them in the L&R forum (not the database). We all read and exchange opinions, offer recommendations and so forth, and even those of us with consistently similar tastes will have drastically different opinions from time to time, so we mostly consider all of this more information sharing than anything else.
    I have more than once called a book a “stinkburger” (never in a book database review, btw:P), which I could sorta see an author getting a little bit tetchy about:P
    Then again, I’m not writing reviews for Publishers Weekly, I’m writing them for my girlfriends. And I guess I should add the disclaimer that I’m not trying to keep anyone from buying certain books when I do that – it’s just my personal opinion of a book. Most of us are romance junkies and we read a LOT. A lot of us are on book budgets because our addiction can be a tad expensive, and we’re just helping each other to separate the wheat from the chaff, as it were.
    Our reviews are not intended to be personal attacks on the author or to hurt their feelings, and I’d never tell any writer that their baby was a stinkburger either:P
    And of course, I’m not emailing or writing to an author with an “if only” list; as somebody pointed out, even constructive criticism doesn’t really help much after the book has been released:P

    #3) On a reader’s comments:
    Amazon bans with one hand for spamming, while condoning voting manipulation, fraud and customer stalking with the other. If you want to play by that set of “rules”, I suggest you go forth and lap it up.
    I doubt your views on the veracity of reba belle’s claims are of any interest to those who have been on the receiving end of MacGillivray’s venom spewing. Likewise, Amazon’s apparent reluctance to do anything about a writer who has been exploiting their system and Amazon customers for the last six years indicates a certain level of casual disregard for their customers, perhaps even duplicity on their part. Not what I’d call a sound basis for putting a lot of faith in them and the way they do business.

  3. Another Reader
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 15:20:14

    How many writers are so obsessed with their rankings they have screen shots of their Barnes and Noble rankings? Apparently DAM is that obsessive.

    http://www.bebo.com/PhotoAlbumBig.jsp?PageNbr=1&MemberId=3895302933&PhotoAlbumId=4759592338&PhotoId=4759705088

    I read somewhere that one writer, to manipulate their ratings, had all their friends buy their book one day and that put them number one. Looking at this makes me wonder. One of those books had been out over a year.

    Here is Writer’s Weekly story on how this is done.

    http://www.writersweekly.com/the_latest_from_angelahoycom/002841_07272005.html

  4. Another Reader
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 15:58:12

    (Sorry, I hit the enter before I intended and can’t figure out how to add onto my last message.) What I wanted to say in conclusion was I found the ratings suspicious. That a book that had been out was in such a high position made no sense. That she posts screenshots of Barnes and Noble – weird (I didnt take the time to look for more, one set was creepy enough but I am sure the game is afoot at Amazon too). It just confirms for me this is an obessive type person who stalks the internet.

    The ipetition is over 500. Amazon needs to know this issue isnt going away until they address it and Reba is very much the victim, more so with each day this is not rectified.

  5. M Porter's Deja Vu
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 16:15:11

    Amazon reported sales in North America rose 31 percent to $2.13 billion from a year ago. International sales grew 44 percent to $2.01 billion, and accounted for 49 percent of total revenue, up from 46 percent last year.

    That is $4,140,000,000. Just how much did you spend in the first quarter? 1% is $41 million. I guess I’m grateful for any customer service at all.

  6. Peter Durward Harris
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 16:51:23

    screen shots of their Barnes and Noble rankings? Apparently DAM is that obsessive.

    With any luck, Barnes and Noble will take appropriate action if any manipulation can be proved.

    Amazon’s sales rankings are even stranger than their reviewer rankings. While the top sellers have their rankings adjusted hourly, less popular books have their rankings adjusted at different intervals – daily, weekly or monthly – according to their popularity. But I’ve never studied them in depth, though I’m not surprised that some authors have, and that they’ve found a way to manipulate the system.

  7. Volsfan
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 16:57:59

    Gaming ratings at Amazon and Barnes and Noble is nothing new. The Wall Street Journal did a good job explaining how it works and why it is unethical. http://blogs.wsj.com/numbersguy/cracking-amazoncoms-best-seller-list-66/ That wouldn\’t stop someone like DAM, but if she is so vested, it does explain why she freaked out when Reba interfeared in her sandbox. Once again, like the reviews that disappeared, the numbers are very fishy. I hope gambling ratings is not where the money from that fundraiser went. I suppose anything is possible.

  8. Julia Sullivan
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 18:57:50

    Gosh, I’m sure Ms. Gerritsen will survive without the pleasure of my company, just as she has for the past few decades. I’m fun and all, and I make delicious cookies, but there are billions of people who don’t interact with me every single day of the year.

    And I’ll still buy and enjoy Ms. Gerritsen’s books.

    As for J.D. Rhoades’s characterization of my comment as “bashing”–let me assure you that that was not bashing. If I was bashing someone, everyone on the thread would know it.

    My point was “I found this post really off-putting, to a degree where it made me less comfortable with the writer.” It was hardly a call for all Right-Thinking People to ostracize Ms. Gerritsen, or anything of the sort.

  9. Just A Reader
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 21:44:55

    I’m becoming less concerned at this point exactly how far DAM has been able to cheat her books up the romance sub-category lists at either Amazon or B&N. The thing about it is, her name is mud in the romance blogosphere right now, and for someone who has basically created this artificial celebrity via the internet, that’s going to wind up biting her in the ass a lot sooner than she imagines. All romance readers with internet access will sooner or later start reading the romance blogs for reviews and other information – if they don’t already. Most romance readers who are shopping Amazon and B&N will randomly google authors as well. Readers aren’t dumb, we do a lot of web searching in the interest of finding good books to read.
    The last time I checked, the Dear Author entry “Author Deborah Anne MacGillivray Harasses Amazon Reader” was the #7 google hit for a search on Deborah MacGillivray. Gotta wonder how that compares exposure-wise to having your lousy book at #33,812 on the “Bestsellers in Books” list at Amazon.com:P
    She’s not even showing up on the Bestsellers in Books > Romance > Authors A-Z lists at all.

  10. Amber Rose
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 03:15:19

    Hey all. Firstly, I’d just like to thank EVERYONE who has posted on this issue (and of course, the Ja(y)nes for hosting). I am a college student who is paying my own way through school-meaning I don’t have a lot of extra money to be throwing around after garbage. Now I don’t know if I would have ever read DAM’s books, because I don’t like that sub-genre of romance very much, but as someone who spends quite a lot of money on books, knowing that when I graduate next year I’ll have about $30K in student loans to repay, this strikes me as wrong. I read some free, online stuff, and that author does feel free to reply to bad reviews…and I can’t say I care, because he IS providing his work for free. But for a published author to behave in such a way is beyond appalling, IMO. If I buy something, no matter *what* it is, I have a right to my opinion and a right to review said product. This is just beyond the pale. I’ve read a lot about this with DAM, but I keep seeing refereces to Janet Daily and Cassie Edwards to do with plagarism, but I somehow missed all that when it first happened. Could someone direct me to something substantial that mentions the five w’s, please? Thanks!

    I’ve been reading all the dialogue on here for about 4 hours now…I can’t stop, it’s like a trainwreck, but I do find it enlightening, because like so many others, I am an aspiring writer, though I hadn’t considered submitting to an epublisher. But had I decided to do so, I might very well have fallen into the very same trap that some of the others who have posted. Boy am I glad I missed that pitfall.

    As far as I’m concerned, HP is out with me, and usually I don’t like to tar a whole group with the crazy minority, but I can’t condone sharing my hard earned dollars with the (insert creative adjective here) in charge at that publishing house. And that is sad, because I usually like to give new authors a chance.

    And THAT being said, I am TOTALLY geeking out over writing something that others will read in the same general vicinity as my VERY FAVORITE author! I can’t wait to tell my grandmother that I posted on a blog that NR reads and posts on. La Nora was my *very first* romance novel. Prior to reading that book, my opinion of romance was “ewwww, *romance novels*” in the most obnoxious 14 year old way possible. Now, as a seasoned 22 year old, I can say that romance is definitely 99.8% of my leisure reading. So, thanks Nora.

    And thanks again to the Jan(y)nes and the posters here, because you all have tuned me into something of vital importance. As a bored political science major, this might very well turn into my “Unsafe at any Speed” a la Ralph Nader, if it is shown to involve more authors with publishers and retailers turning a blind eye. What happened to consumer advocacy? Because if I need to, I will take this to facebook and myspace, and I don’t know how many of you are on those networking sites, but people will sign stuff or join stuff just to say they did, without knowing why. And I’m not above trolling for siggys. Normally, I would consider that dirty pool, but I guess I’m small potatoes in this racket.

  11. DS
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 05:01:48

    It seems that DAM’s misbehavior is spreading outside of the romance blogs. My Google Mail alert this morning contained this url:

    http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/books/2008/04/when_criticism_calls_for_direc.html

    She gets mentioned alongside Norman Mailer who also had a problem accepting criticism.

  12. Amber Rose
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 09:06:27

    THE REVOLUTION IS STARTING!!!

    AaAaaaahaHA!

    Okay, I’m done….but seriously, sometimes I think I was born in the wrong generation-people won’t organize or, like, start a movement. They wouldn’t, even if their lives depended on it…which, IMO, it *does*

    Anyway. It’s only a matter of time before this moves out of our little circle, romance readers make up a large percentage of book-buyers over all. And if there is one thing people care about, it’s their money. And *maybe* customer service, but mostly their money. So if people start thinking they can’t trust Amazon….hooo doggy. Like I said:

    THE REVOLUTION HAS STARTED!

  13. Just A Reader
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 09:39:11

    This is a stupid story, but it’s been running through my head for days & days and I had to share…

    Anybody remember The Gong Show?
    People would get on stage and do bad talent shows, and semi-celebrities on the panel of judges would get up and bang on this huge gong when they couldn’t take it anymore.
    Anyway… I remember this review/article on that show that ran in the local paper here – I think it was by Bob Hill (he went on to write the true crime book Double Jeopardy) – and he was mentioning the “celebrity” judges, and he said of one of the judges, actress Jaye P. Morgan (remember her? No?) that she was “well known for her well known-ness”. I still remember that line and laugh about it – and I can’t help but think of it whenever I think of DAM.
    Deborah Anne MacGillivray, well known for her well known-ness – lol.
    Oh crap, did I just plagiarize? Oops… Begging pardons, I was “under a lot of stress…”:P

  14. Julia Sullivan
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 11:04:59

    Actually, Jaye P. Morgan was a singer who had two hit records in the 1950s. She was quite talented.

    But, yeah, more well-known for her well-knownness, like many other game-show staples in the 1970s–Nipsey Russell comes to mind.

  15. Just A Reader
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 12:04:33

    Well there ya go.
    I didn’t even think of singer, which just goes to show ya…
    I was thinking actress because I remember her being on The Loveboat once – after she became well known… due to The Gong Show, of course:P
    I looked her up in IMDb, and she actually has quite a few TV credits to her name. Some of the appearances I should recall, but don’t.

    Anyway, sorry for the derailing. Back to your regularly scheduled programming…

  16. S Andrew Swann
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 20:17:43

    Hi from the SF Blogosphere. . .

    This DAM thing has definitively left the romance sandbox. John Scalzi over at Whatever has what is IMHO the most hilarious postmodern reaction to her rampant psychopathy–

    He’s challenging authors to post their one-star Amazon reviews. (Can you just see her head ‘splode?) I went and cherry-picked some of my own gems, and found it strangely empowering ;)

  17. Amber Rose
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 20:53:57

    Ha! I like that idea…especially if a lot of authors pick up on it, not only will it chap DAM’s ass, but it will also get the story out so
    a) people will know and hopefully avoid like the plague DAM;
    and b) so people will hopefully find there way to some forum (like this one) that is telling about how AMAZON treated Reba as well, so we can get more signatures on the petition to Amazon.

    P.S. Thanks to all the sweet as sh*t authors who post on this site, I might actually start branching out from romance and the VERY FEW sci-fi fantasy authors I read.

  18. Caro Townsend
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 23:18:22

    I’m not going to sign the petition because of the nastiness in this thread, especially towards Tess Gerritsen.

    Oh, and Somerville? Yeah, I don’t think you need to worry about coming anywhere close to Nora Roberts. (Just think of that as a negative review.)

  19. Ann Somerville
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 23:38:16

    Townsend: I’ll certainly give your opinion of my talent the consideration it deserves.

    Remind me who you are again?

  20. The Clash of Cultures « Internationale Krimis
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 00:00:45

    [...] die Leute bei Dear Autor und es entwickelt sich ein Ping Pong Spiel zwischen den Kommentaren bei Dear Autor und jenen bei Tess Gerritsen (-> hier, -> hier, -> hier, -> [...]

  21. Peter Durward Harris
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 04:31:22

    To Caro Townsend

    the nastiness in this thread

    Whatever happened in this thread is minor compared to the nastiness of DAM’s actions and threats towaards Reba Belle.

    coming anywhere close to Nora Roberts

    I don’t suppose you looked at the signatures, but Nora Roberts was one of the first to sign the petition. If you have so much respect for Nora, and if you agree that Amazon have been unfair to Reba, then you should sign.

  22. azteclady
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 06:56:17

    I'm not going to sign the petition because of the nastiness in this thread, especially towards Tess Gerritsen.

    Way to keep an eye on the big picture.

  23. Just A Reader
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 07:57:56

    Tess Gerritsen didn’t shoot the Pope.
    She made a few ill-chosen comments and got called on the carpet by some people who were offended by them. That’s how it works when you’re something of a public figure. You don’t get to go back to being anonymous John Q. Citizen expounding your views, and expecting to remain relatively free of commentary or criticism from people who don’t agree with you. This is life. Feedback doesn’t always read like a love letter.
    Honestly, I read things like the article Nora Roberts wrote for Ninc about her ordeal with the Janet Dailey plagiarism thing, and some of the public comments she has stepped up and made about other nastiness inside the industry, and I wonder why anybody else would fuss about being criticised for their public statements. You don’t have to do too much reading between the lines to realize that she took a lot of flak from various sources for speaking her mind, and look how she conducts herself. Like a lady and a role model – no defensiveness, no “poor me” whining. She says what she thinks, responds politely to commentary, and gets on with her life. She has her sh@! so together, you have to wonder why all writers can’t be like her.

    I think, when it comes to writing and having your work/public statements criticized by anybody, people in that position need to develop some pretty thick skin, because sooner or later, somebody is going to have something to say about them or their words that won’t sit too well.
    And I have no problem with people sticking up for their favorite writers. There’s nothing wrong with having supportive, dedicated fans. As long as they keep the thoughts and opinions of others in perspective, and they themselves don’t resort to the same defensive “nastiness” they accuse others of.
    Look what DAM’s support group has done on her behalf. In some ways, they’ve almost behaved worse than she did.

  24. Shayne
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 17:22:27

    Caro,

    You accuse people on this thread of nastiness, yet indulge in your own. You’re just as human as everybody else here.

  25. Volsfan
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 18:06:15

    DAM announced on her blog that A Restless Knight is going into its 3rd printing with Kensington. Guess its all about money. http://deborahmacgillivray.blogspot.com/2008/04/3rd-printing-for-restless-knight.html

  26. Volsfan
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 18:08:59

    DAM has just announced on her blog that

    “My editor, Hilary Sares, just informed me A Restless Knight, just went into a third print run! Challon just doesn’t know the meaning of quit! lol”

    Guess its all about money.

  27. Reba Belle
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 18:16:58

    Good Evening,

    Under normal circumstances I would be shocked at the mudslinging going on–right now–under my book review, but I can only shake my head and say, “I’m not surprised.”

    Please consider giving Caitrina Hunter’s/DAM’s comments the attention she deserves. I certainly did. Nothing.

    I am NOT posting on Amazon (I’ve been banned from posting comments) and if I were it would be under my screen name “Reba Belle.” In addition, anywhere that I go to talk about this mess I will use “Reba Belle” because to do anything less would be beneath me.

    I thank everyone for helping me in this horrendous situation and I hope that the other issues involving DAM and the fund-raiser, DAM and “her” publishing business, DAM and threatening other authors, will meet with some type of resolution soon.

    You are all in my prayers,

    Reba

  28. Sara Dennis
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 00:46:00

    To follow up with the raffle thing, I talked to the friend who participated and won a read from Hilary Sares. I mentioned that there was question about where the funds had gone, and she stated that she got a letter from Dawn’s sister, thanking her for participating, and explaining where some of the funds went.

    So the raffle may not be something those investigating need to worry about.

  29. Lizbeth
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 01:30:45

    DAM has just announced on her blog that

    “My editor, Hilary Sares, just informed me A Restless Knight, just went into a third print run! Challon just doesn't know the meaning of quit! lol”

    Not surprising with all those manipulated reviews….they duped me. The thing about it is that it won’t happen a second time. I actually liked A Restless Knight but In Her Bed was just a darn duplicate. Seemed like they just wanted to get another book in print as quickly as possible without regard to content. That, combined with the manipulated reviews and DAM’s treatment of Reba Belle mean I will never buy another book by that DAM woman again….bet I’m not the only one. She should enjoy her boast and her self-toast while she still can.

  30. Peter Durward Harris
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 05:56:58

    Caitrina Hunter’s latest rant in her Amazon profile page

    “I enjoy targeting reviews and comments for deletion from Amazon.com. My methods are secret and known to no one. I hope to soon expand this talent and delete offending books, music, tv shows, movies, and commercials from my world.

    If you believe any of this then please report to the nearest alien portal (generally located in Starbucks) for transportation back to your home planet.”

    ————————————————-

    The above comments replace her previous rant that said

    “This for the people who post on the discussion boards. I’n NOT Deborah MacGillivay. I’m me and while things may have changed in my life – it is none of your business.

    Jersey Girl was mean and vicious and mocking the death of my daughter. I didn’t even to the funeral. My daughter’s future is green grass and a marble headstone. You are squandering yours.

    Steve Hedge, Jersey Girl , Peter what’s his name and the others can all go frolic on the beach like the children you are.

    I don’t know a damned thing about Reba Belle and don’t care now. She made her bed so let her lie in it. I once thought she might be an interesting person because of her damned peacocks. She’ll probably murdered them because I like them.

    I see you as a bunch of Stepford Reviewers following Reba and Peter. Fine.

    Have a nice life but keep your stuff out of my life.

    My opinion is my opinion. I’m entitled to the same 1st Amendment rights as you are and I’m not a target for your amusement. I will report it again to Amazon.”

  31. Steve Hedge
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 07:20:46

    That is hysterical, PD. ROFLMAO!!!!!!!!!! What happened to her everyone has a right to his or her opinion and long live the 1st Amendment proclamations? Now, it’s anything I don’t like I will use my secret weapon to destroy. I have rarely seen such lunacy posted for all the public to see than this case. I just have to wonder now if she is faking being crazy or really is at this point.

  32. S Andrew Swann
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 11:00:41

    FYI – SF author Charlie Stross jumped on Scalzi’s one-star bandwagon.

  33. Lynette Rees
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 14:31:39

    I love Tess Gerritsen’s books and her blog. She’s entitled to her opinion.

    Nowadays, we have to be so careful, walking around on eggshells for fear of upsetting people with our words. Everyone gets offended so easily.

    It’s a shame that Tess now feels the need to close her blog down — I for one shall miss it. I never found anything she had to say offensive.

    Tess, in my opinion, has the last laugh … all the way to the bank.

    Don’t let them grind you down, Tess.

    Reviews personally don’t bother me. They don’t sell books though half as much as word-of-mouth does. In fact if someone’s book gets a stinking review it makes me want to read it more!

  34. Rae
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 14:49:35

    I have been following this off and on at Amazon and it has got out of hand. I came to the conclusion that people are just being petty and the old saying GET A LIFE AND MOVE ON. It got to the point to where I did not want to go to the boards I have complained to Amazon myself about some of the posters carrying it to far to where it borders on harassment to all parties. I will NOT sign the petiton

  35. Rae
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 15:08:53

    OMG I cannot believe how childlike some people are! Now you are attacking Tess Gerritsen – everyone is intitled to an opinion just because the opinion does not align with yours is no reason to be nasty (Anne). No I have never read a book by TG.

  36. Peter Durward Harris
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 16:36:49

    To Rae

    You came to the conclusion that people are just being petty. Obviously you didn’t understand the gravity of the situation. If you’d been threatened the way that Reba Belle has been threatened, you wouldn’t think it was petty. You say that you will not sign the petiton. Maybe if you look at the threats to Reba, you will reconsider.

    As to Tess Gerritsen, she made a bad choice of words originally, giving the impression (wrongly, as she subsequently made clear) that MacGillivray made a bigger mistake in getting caught than doing the nasty deeds she was caught for. Personally, I never thought Tess really meant it to be interpreted that way and I am sad that she decided to cease blogging, but it should teach us all a lesson that we have to be very careful what we write on the internet.

  37. Meeka
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 21:32:39

    I will not sign the Ipetition either. I have read Tess Gerritsen’s books and I read her blog. Lynette Rees I agree with you all the way.

    I think Tess Gerritsen is a remarkable Author and the people who take offence to her blogs obviously haven’t read her work on there from start to finish and actually taken it all in.

  38. azteclady
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 21:40:08

    Meeka, you say,

    obviously haven't read her work on there from start to finish and actually taken it all in.

    By the same token, you (and a few others) obviously haven’t read all the issues surrounding the petition.

    Otherwise, you would see that it has pretty much nothing all to do with your idol Ms Gerritsen, and a helluva lot to do with fraud (on the readers who rely on reviews from amazon to purchase books and other items there), to threats against innocent children and other family members of Reba Belle–whom you (and others) apparently don’t consider important enough to even mention.

    Go figure, what with truth and honesty and all that being so important to Ms Gerritsen and her fans.

  39. Meeka
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 00:54:08

    Azteclady, I’m not condoning at all that what DAM has done is right or the norm for an Author.

    But I just dont see how dragging Tess Gerritsens name through the mud for giving her opinion or her views on the subject on her blog.(which last time I checked everyone has a right to voice their opinions and views freely)

  40. Ann Somerville
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 02:52:40

    Meeka: No one has dragged Tess’ name through the mud. People have criticised her views and her (by her own admission) ill-chosen words, and they have disagreed with her stance. They have also disagreed with her supporters coming over here and making a large number of personal attacks in defence of their favourite author. What frustrates me about her fans like you coming over here is that your defence of her right to speak her mind does not seem to go along with a recognition of everyone else’s right to speak their mind, or that the issue of free speech is very much what the Amazon petition is about.

    Reba is being bullied, stalked, and pilloried in an organised fashion because she dared to exercise her right as a consumer and voice her opinion that a book she’d handed good money over for, wasn’t as good as the previous book she’d read from that author. Now, to Deborah MacGillivray, that was the same as ‘dragging her name through the mud’ and she is waging a vicious war to silence the criticism. All it’s doing is making her look worse.

    Tess owned up to her mistakes. No one denied or denies her right to express herself, or is criticising her as a person. However everyone – you, me, her, Nora Roberts, George W. – who expresses a view in public, is likely to attract attention and at times criticism for those views. That’s just part of the job of being a public person, and at her level of success, Tess Geritsen is very much a public person when she offers opinions, especially on something as ragingly controversial as the situation with Amazon reviews.

    I wish you and your fellow fans could see what Deborah MacGillivray cannot – disagreement does not equal personal abuse. I’ve read here and at Tess’ blog outright accusations that those disagreeing with Tess are failures, jealous, frustrated wannabe authors, don’t have a life, want to suppress dissent – and that’s just the polite stuff. There’s no need to make it personal. Tess said something, the commenters here and elsewhere have said their piece. No one is offering to track Tess or her supporters down, track her children and her grandparents down because their opinions are contrary to other people’s – but that’s what is happening to Reba.

    This isn’t about Tess Gerritsen. It’s about fraud, bullying, and unconscionable behaviour by a small number of thuggish authors and their supporters. Tess is undoubtedly ruing the day she stepped into the mess. I for one wish she hadn’t because it’s been a huge distraction from the real issue, has caused her distress and led to massive ill-feeling on both sides. But please, set aside your wish to defend Tess and try to see the big picture. If you don’t condone DAM’s behaviour, then sign the petition. Signing the petition is not supporting Tess’ critics. It’s saying DAM’s kind of bullying behaviour needs to be stopped. That’s all it’s saying.

  41. Peter Durward Harris
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 05:45:24

    Caitrina Hunter’s latest rant in her Amazon profile page

    The truth is not a defense here because there is no truth in Amazon.com. The truth and I are victims of Amazon cyberbullies and cyberterrorists who wear white robes and hoods. I folded my tent having been forced out of Amazon by them.

    ————————————–

    Really? Coming from her?

  42. Nora Roberts
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 06:14:32

    The petition has nothing to do with Tess, Tess’s blog, comments here or comments there about Tess or her blog. Lumping them together is very short-sighted.

    The petition deals with Amazon, DAM’s gaming of their system and her bullying of Reba Belle. That is the issue. Signing it or not is certainly a personal choice. But I’d hope it’s signed or not signed for the right reasons.

%d bloggers like this: