Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Does Psychic Victoria Laurie Forsee Lawsuit in Her Future?

UPDATED: Ms. Laurie has apparently deleted her post. The cached version is here.

Victoria Laurie, a professional psychic and author, engaged in an Amazon contretemps not too long after the Deborah Anne MacGillivray. This led to a mass deletion of reviews and comments at Amazon on all sides.

Apparently Laurie, who says

“Thanks to Candy Thompson and Deborah MacGillvray for their support, advice and for hanging in there and thanks to everyone else who clicked that "not helpful" and "report this" button – I most appreciate it!”

has taken to instructing readers not to pick fights with authors.

And you should never pick a fight with an author-.well-.because, honey, we know how to get even. ;)

The reason that Laurie gives is that if you do decide to “slam an author”, you’ll be inserted into their books in an unflattering way:

And so, come September-my little "fan" and some of her close friends and family will likely read about a character with a very similar name, (i.e. nearly identical but not enough to get me sued) depicted in one of the most comical and fabulously scandalous scenes within Death Perception. And trust me-this isn't a scene which in any way flatters that character. :) (Also trust me-.you'll know it when you read it!)

In other words, if in a year you should pick up a copy of Doom With A View and read about a certain transvestite prostitute with a piss poor attitude and a bad case of V.D., who just happens to go by the name of an ice cream topping-.well, you and I and about 60,000 of our closest friends and family will know exactly where that inspiration came from. ;)

The possible remedies include a tort action for defamation (is Laurie saying that Butterscotch is a transvestite prostitute with a bad case of VD) or possibly intentional infliction of emotional distress (a person does something intentionally to another to cause the victim emotional distress and the action “shocks the conscience of the community). After all, simply because Laurie has slightly changed the name of a character, she is making it publicly obvious who the mocking, possibly defamatory language is about.

Anyway, you have to read the whole post to get the flavor of what Laurie is posting about including her publicly bragging of getting negative reviews removed through the “not helpful” and “report this” button. It’s all pretty stomach turning so I hope you eat lunch after reading the post. Hat tip from SB Sarah

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

145 Comments

  1. Robin
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 12:36:49

    Every time someone accuses us of being mean girls I’m pointing them to that Laurie post.

    Holy crapola that is amazing. I don’t know what’s more astonishing: her bravado in putting it out there like that or the fact that she thinks what she’s doing is okay.

  2. Bev Stephans
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 12:48:38

    Do these authors really have a fan base? Where does this fan base originate? Mars?

    I can’t understand why any thinking person would ever want to read a book by any of these people.

  3. Kristen
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 12:49:58

    I couldn’t find the post. Maybe she deleted it?

  4. Jane
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 12:52:54

    Sorry – I fixed the post.

    Here is the link though.

  5. Ann Bruce
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 12:53:25

    *stunned into silence*

  6. veinglory
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 12:54:27

    Ew.

  7. Laura K
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 12:57:00

    What Bev said.

    I mean, really, I know some brand name authors engage in some petty crap, too, but it’s not as ridiculous as this! There’s a NYT bestselling thriller writer whose friends swamp Amazon with five star reviews when someone posts a negative one, and another who’s very lucky the guy he abused in a book by giving a character his name and job *didn’t* sue, but neither of them engaged in the one-on-one hatefests DAM or VL have.

  8. Ann Bruce
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 12:57:41

    From VL’s post:

    [Butterscotch] strikes me as mentally unstable

    Pot, kettle, black.

  9. Mireya
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 13:11:08

    Don’t be surprised if that is removed soon. I am sure someone will alert her about Jane’s post and the reality that she may well end up with a lawsuit on her lap…oh and I am sure she will say she “meant that in jest”.

    Just one more to add to the list of people abusing loopholes… and one more reason for me not to bother with Amazon reviews any longer.

  10. Anion
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 13:16:09

    Holy fucking crap.

    And this person not only expects us to buy her books, but to allow her to give us psychic readings? I’d rather slit my throat than have a reading done by someone this petty and vicious.

  11. TarotByArwen
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 13:26:26

    This is what I call a serious CLM as in Career Limiting Move. :|

  12. Robin
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 13:33:55

    Here’s how the next post starts out:

    Whew! So after a rather ugly weekend spent thinking up great nicknames to include in my next book like, “Bitterbitch,” and “Bitterbeast” and “Bitterbuffalo”… (see previous post for a clue if you're just tuning in…) I thought I'd try a more positive post here about friendship.

    Apparently the post on getting a thicker skin wasn’t so convincing after all?

  13. Corrine
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 13:37:46

    And how exactly is this “getting even” with a reviewer? It’s like, Oh, no, someone somewhere wrote a character that they based on me and then they wrote a diatribe of b.s. that her fangrrl/bois absolutely adored. How can I ever hold my head up again?

    Please.

  14. Kathryn Smith
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 13:39:36

    Um, can I just apologize on behalf of authors everywhere? ;-) You know, I’m sure a lot of us have thought about abusing people who trash our books in a similar fashion, but I wouldn’t put it out there on my blog. Just saying.

  15. Lynne
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 13:43:32

    Did anyone else notice she has a lot of attaboy follow-up posts from people who don’t have blogs? I smell socks.

  16. Aemelia
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 13:55:35

    oh no she’d use my name as a dispicable character, say it ain’t so… yeah, like I’d even read the book to find

  17. Janine
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 13:59:30

    Wow. Just wow.

  18. Shanna
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 14:00:49

    I was a fan of her ghost hunters mystery series but I definitely won’t be buying her books anymore. I’m just amazed at what people will write online.

  19. MCHalliday
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 14:05:08

    As a professional psychic, you’d think she might ‘see’ the repercussions from this.

  20. Carita
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 14:23:04

    Wow. The stupidity of this, I can’t even comprehend it.

  21. Karen Scott
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 14:39:12

    What an effing twat.

  22. Jackie Barbosa
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 14:44:03

    As a professional psychic, you'd think she might 'see' the repercussions from this.

    Ahh, I misread. I thought it was “professional psycho.”

  23. SonomaLass
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 14:48:43

    I agree with MCHalliday. I don’t think much of her psychic skillz if she doesn’t SEE what this is likely to cost her down the road.

    And it seems like maybe someone has pointed this out to her, since all the links are coming up “not found.”

  24. J Kaplan
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 14:58:40

    I was famous! On the internet! Back in March! Wow, when I wrote that review, I had no idea anyone would think twice about it, let alone respond so angrily. Rereading it, I do agree that it was a little mean in parts- if I had thought about the author reading it herself, I would never have called it “garbage”- but I do stand by my other criticisms. I am dying to know what nasty things VL said about me or my review- you know, the comments that are now deleted. If anyone knows, do you want to share?

  25. Cathy
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 15:17:11

    Didn’t Michael Crichton do this recently? I seem to recall hearing about a pedophile/sex-offender/erectile-ly dysfunctional/unattractive character whose name bore a striking resemblance to a critic who had panned his previous book.

    What a God complex….

  26. Jia
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 15:22:00

    And it seems like maybe someone has pointed this out to her, since all the links are coming up “not found.”

    Ah, revisionist history in action.

  27. Amy Wolff Sorter
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 15:22:49

    Um, can I just apologize on behalf of authors everywhere? ;-) You know, I'm sure a lot of us have thought about abusing people who trash our books in a similar fashion, but I wouldn't put it out there on my blog. Just saying.

    Kathryn, as a writer myself, I agree with your assessment. You wouldn’t do it, I wouldn’t do it. But I think something more sinister is at work here.

    Whenever Ms. Laurie (and others) writes this kind of crap on blogs and posts, others take it up and post it elsewhere. Same thing happens when negative reviews get taken down on Amazon. It’s discussed on forums and what ends up happening is that these writers are in the public eye.

    Granted, it’s negative publicity, but you know what they say — all publicity is good, so long as they spell your name correctly.

    And yes, I know there’s a reader backlash as well. And this is just my opinion — I’m not saying writers do this deliberately to jump sales. But it’s funny how negative junk about a writer sometimes corresponds to increased sales.

  28. Keri M
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 15:29:54

    Agrees with Robin on the thicker skin…didn’t quite work did it?? That was embarrassing. I am not an author, but if I was one I would be cringing…I am cringing still because this is a grown woman posting this trash. I thought for a second that it was my 11 year-old playing a trick on me. That is what I can see her typing…well gosh everybody has to love me cause I am so gosh darn good. Geeesh!

  29. Cindy
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 15:34:17

    I got a message saying that what I was looking for wasn’t there, or something like that. *sigh* I guess that’s another author’s books I’ll take to the ubs. They keep on, by December I’ll have no to be read pile and no books to buy.

  30. Jane
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 15:34:39

    I see she says her editor thinks this is a hilarious idea. I think I know her Penguin editor and I can’t foresee that person being thrilled with Laurie’s post and/or idea. Does she have another editor?

    Also, if she’s so proud of her great idea, why delete it?

  31. Tori
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 15:39:10

    I agree with Jane. Why would she delete it if she’s not feeling either A.) Stupid for throwing a tantrum or B.) the backlash with bite her in the…
    Wow…I’ve had her books in my TBR pile for awhile…yeah, those are getting donated to the library. Although, is it fair to expect the library to use them either?

  32. MCHalliday
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 15:40:04

    Also, if she's so proud of her great idea, why delete it?

    She doth see too little, me thinks.

  33. SonomaLass
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 15:42:19

    Wait, this is the same woman who wrote on her blog, less than three months ago, in a post called “Feedback…the Key To Success” [sic throughout]

    So, for the next few weeks I want you all to consider listening to someone whose sharing some perspective with you. Take it in, absorb it, avoid becoming defensive, and consider changing just one tiny thing. I'll bet you'll be both pleased and surprised with the end results. And don't think that just cuz I'm up here on my soapbox right now that I'm not listening either – I've had plenty of perspective lately, and I'm doing my own level best to take it in and sit with it for awhile and change a few more tiny things myself. :)

    Wow. Hypocrisy much?

  34. JaimeK
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 15:57:50

    Holy crap!

    I will forever be amazed by someone trying to or succeeding in getting rid of a negative review on any review site. It has been said before, opinions are like assholes everyone has one and that is really how a review should be looked at. An author may not want to see a negative review, I get that, however, not everyone is going to like a book and they have the right to put that in print on a review site.

    The audacity and ego involved in these women/authors removing negative reviews is disgusting.

  35. Butterscotch
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 16:07:57

    I am the person Ms. Laurie is sending all this hate to. Personally, I think she has a screw loose. She is trying to get people riled up so that they will buy her books. I really don’t care. I wrote a review and told people how nasty she was to a reviewer. She has all her friends on Amazon with a tag on me. So, whatever I write, they know instantly. It is really very sad. Let her write a character about me. I won’t know about it. I only know about this forum because friends told me about it. Please don’t worry about it. In the end.. she and her friends will look like idiots and I will go on writing reviews.

  36. Ann Bruce
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 16:29:11

    Butterscotch, you should feel special. She thinks you’re important enough to warrant all this attention, whereas you probably haven’t given her a thought in months.

  37. Mora
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 16:32:43

    Oh, people. When will they ever learn that things on the internet don’t just go “poof” when they push delete?

    http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=39f55928bcf25d62d2db6fb9a8902bda
    (or http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?lyalpgb3thk)

    I knew she’d delete that as soon as she realized not everyone would respond as sycophantically as the people who commented on her blog, but I was too lazy to take screencaps, so…there ya go.

  38. Peter Durward Harris
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 17:10:24

    Comments by VL deleted by Amazon, saved in Romance readers forum.

    Here's the first 8 posts of the book discussion with the deleted comments restored
    ————————————————————————-
    Post 1 – Victoria Laurie

    Wow! Do you need a hug, honey….you sound like the dog that got kicked and wants to bite someone just to feel better. Poor thing. Ah well, perhaps in your next lifetime you’ll come back as someone with a better outlook! :)

    Oh, and in referring to your review above, not all of the clues come from the ghosties – obviously in that hour you skimmed a lot! Most of them, in fact, come from the living, (Detective Muckleroy, Nickie, Dory, Maude’s sister and the list goes on and on…really, how did you miss them? Or maybe you were just having fun whth the thrashing you were giving me?) And who specifically in my novel said, “There’s so much chemistry between you two!” Seriously, if you’re going to quote my text, it would be nice if you actually QUOTED my text! :)

    Anyway, best of luck to you, doll, I’m sending you a mental hug cuz I’m pretty sure you need one. :)
    ————————————————————————-
    Post 2 – Donna D

    Also, “J”, if you disliked it so much, how on earth did you manage to read the entire book in an hour? It sounds as though it must have been quite engrossing! I, for one, thoroughly enjoyed Demons:)

    Donna
    ————————————————————————-
    Post 3 – R Golden

    J. Kaplan, your review says more about you than this book. I couldn’t disagree with you more. I was sad when I reached the last page. I want to hang out more with MJ and the gang!

    -Rose
    ————————————————————————-
    Post 4 – Jenni B

    I am curious as to why both reviews you have posted are negative. It would be very helpful if you had a few reviews of books you enjoyed so a person could get an idea of where you are coming from. Right now, it just sounds like you are being unnecessarily spiteful and mean. Or that you have really bad taste in books, picking “bad” ones over and over again. Again, I am interested in seeing what you qualify as a good book. Oh, and the reviews that are obviously bitter are not helpful. Negative reviews can be helpful, just when they are done in a more constructive, knowledgeable and balanced way. Thanks!
    ————————————————————————-
    Post 5 – J Rose

    I was going to try this book, but I’m always put off when I noticed the author retaliate against someone that gave her a bad review. That has turned me off from a few authors. That is really tacky. Ignoring it would have been much classier. Then I noticed that this author commented on this reviewer’s other review. This author is creepy, and not in a cool author of horror kind of way. I’m writing down the author’s name so when I hear it again I will remember to warn others.
    ————————————————————————-
    Post 6 – Victoria Laurie

    Ha ha ha ha ha!!!! Oh, J Rose! This made me laugh! I love that you’re going to write down my name and “warn others”! Ha ha ha ha! That is too precious for words! (I am just imagining you in a bookstore with a list of authors to warn people about…hilarious) I looooove it! Thanks for the giggle, girl! hee hee! :)
    ————————————————————————-
    Post 7 – J Rose

    Bitter authors are a laugh to me, so cheers!
    ————————————————————————-
    Post 8 – Victoria Laurie

    Rosey-dosey….are you cuckoo for cocoa puffs or what? :)

    Oh, and dear, it’s spelled “whatsoever” not “what so ever”. Might want to grab a dictionary the next time you decide to write a one-star review – that’s right everyone – Rose likes to award the onre star to books she’s not read all the way through too! So, me thinks that her (over) reaction above was because she was feeling a tad bit self-conscious. Maybe you and J Kaplan should form a Negative Nellie’s club! Ooo! You can trade your list of authors back and forth and “warn” people the world over! “Alert! Alert! This author responds to mistruths and misquotes! Gasp! It’s the begining of the end for us allllll!” Ha, ha, ha! Yep…that still cracks me up! It’s comic gold! :)

  39. JaimeK
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 17:32:32

    I just read Peter Durward Harris’s copy of the posts from Victoria Laurie – I will say it again…HOLY CRAP!!! She is a few fries short of a Happy Meal! She is definitely on my list of “oh hell no, I am not reading that!”

    Why would you do this? What is she two?

  40. Kitty
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 18:06:25

    Dear LAWD – that woman is the cheap crack kind of crazy. And Karen Scott, I have to agree with you. She’s either an effing twat or she’s doing a great impression of one.

    The vast majority of authors don’t retaliate this way, and this one is definitely blackening her name by publicly bragging about such shitty behavior. She obviously is either a complete dumbass or has a complete disregard for her job.

  41. Amy Wolff Sorter
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 18:18:53

    The vast majority of authors don't retaliate this way, and this one is definitely blackening her name by publicly bragging about such shitty behavior. She obviously is either a complete dumbass or has a complete disregard for her job.

    Or it’s proving to be great publicity, Kitty :-). Not that I’m being cynical or anything…

    Seriously, you’re absolutely right. The vast majority of authors will read the review, rage at their computers, whine to a couple of friends and move on when a negative review comes up (Oh, wait. That sounds like me). The operative words here are “move on…”

  42. Robin
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 19:09:57

    I see she says her editor thinks this is a hilarious idea.

    So does that mean that Laurie hasn’t been asked to sign a contract including this interesting provision? Maybe if she did it wouldn’t seem so heelarious.

  43. K. Z. Snow
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 19:45:47

    “You can’t fix stupid.”

  44. Jadan
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 19:50:01

    Kathryn Smith on August 12th, 2008 at 1:39 pm:
    Um, can I just apologize on behalf of authors everywhere? ;-) You know, I'm sure a lot of us have thought about abusing people who trash our books in a similar fashion, but I wouldn't put it out there on my blog. Just saying.

    No need to apologize, Kathyrn. Most of us readers don’t classify writers like Victoria Laurie with the rest of you.

    Could someone clarify for me what Laurie means with the 60,000 number? Is she claiming this as the number of books sold? I’m kinda finding that hard to comprehend. And I’m officially calling a spelling change of her last name to Lorre, in honor of her general creepiness.

  45. MD
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 20:09:18

    And I thought DAM was a loser.

    Victoria Laurie gives fresh new meaning to the term.

    Another writer whose books I will never buy.

  46. JenB
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 21:05:03

    And ye shall be immortalized in prose.

    I’m the kind of twisted person that would get a sick thrill from pissing someone off enough to get a part in their book.

    But really…wow. What emotional response is appropriate here? Pity? That’s about all I can come up with. Outrage and offense just seem kind of pointless and empty. Yeah, I’ll go with pity. *shakes head*

  47. Val Kovalin
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 23:30:50

    I’ve read and mildly enjoyed some of Victoria Laurie’s Psychic Eye mysteries. I’m never picking up another book by her ever again. This kind of appalling behavior leaves a permanent bad impression.

  48. raveonette
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 00:27:27

    Bev- I was actually a huge Victoria Laurie fan (though her last book dissapointed.) I only knew of her books- I wasn’t aware of this behavior. So yes, I AM a thinking person but not every paperback fiction reader is sent a constant update on all of our favorite writers daily antics.

  49. Ann Somerville
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 03:16:19

    I will confess that I actually used someone’s screen name as my villain’s after a particularly fraught internet ‘discussion’ but it never got past the second draft because (a) it was wrong for the character and (b) seeing the twit’s name every time I reread the story meant I got aggravated all over again. Wasn’t worth it for someone I will never meet and never have any meaningful interaction with.

    So Laurie may think this is cute and amusing, but it will blow back on her professionally (already has) and emotionally. Let it go, girl. Life’s too fucking short for nonsense like this.

    Actually, using aggravation and upset to power story writing and plotting and scene building can work much better for an author than petty revenge. Turn the turd into gold. Works for me, anyway.

  50. Karmyn
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 05:37:28

    I’ve read most of her books, but had trouble getting through her last ghosthunter mystery and can’t find the time to read her latest psychic mystery. Think I may just have to get rid of it. What a bitch!
    I think I’ll be skipping her future books.

  51. Susanna Kearsley
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 07:18:12

    I will forever be amazed by someone trying to or succeeding in getting rid of a negative review on any review site.

    I’m with JaimeK. I just don’t get why a writer would do this. I thought DAM was bad enough (in fact, after reading your coverage of THAT, I was moved to write THIS on my “Emma Cole” web site). Thanks for warning me not to eat before reading such vitriol, Jane.

  52. DS
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 07:27:43

    I’ll admit to being with the twisted humor group. It appears, Butterscotch, that you upset her a whole hell of a lot more than she got to you. Thanks Peter for the deleted bits. I’m adding them to my Amazon authors behaving badly PDF file along with the archived post.

    I have a friend who likes these kinds of mysteries and I have warned her off this series– actually, she had never heard of the author any way.

  53. Anion
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 07:43:41

    Do you know, I woke up this morning even more pissed off? (Nice to see MacGillivray hasn’t learned a freaking lesson, btw, and is apparently involved in this one too right up to her psycho eyebrows.)

    My relationship with my readers is SACRED. It is because of them that I get to do the work I do. I write books; they buy them. That makes me lucky, and blessed. How dare this woman stomp all over that relationship by treating anyone, but especially someone who says she is a fan of her other work, in such a crappy, disdainful manner? Who the hell does she think she is?

    But it’s not just that. It’s women like her who make it extremely difficult for writers to say anything to anyone, about anything. Not that we necessarily should; I’m a firm believer in keeping my mouth shut when it comes to reviews, or simply politely thanking the reader/reviewer. Once I emailed a reviewer to tell her she was right, the book she didn’t like wasn’t my best work, and that I appreciated her time and hoped she would give me another chance with a different book.

    I understand the urge to name a villain after somebody. I still have plans to slip my tenth-grade band teacher into a book somewhere and make something awful happen to him. Of course I probably never will, but the idea makes me smile. And if I ever did do it, I certainly wouldn’t brag about it online and make it very clear to everyone that rather than viewing writing as a craft, rather than seeing myself as someone who serves the story to the best of my ability, I instead view my work as a chance to get one over on someone I’ve never met in my life who had the temerity to disagree with me, and so deserves all the punishment my petty and vindictive little mind can come up with. Fuck the story; fuck the craft of writing; fuck creativity; fuck the readers who expect–who have a right to expect–those things, they’re just dirt under my feet. I expect people to pay to read the filth of my miserable, shriveled, shit-sucking soul spread out on a page for personal reasons. I expect them to pay to see me give a stranger the finger.

    I’m sorry for the language, y’all, but this is just… Man. Are we sure the writer is an adult? Because this is the kind of stuff people did in junior high. Which is where she belongs, with the other bratty children (no offense to mature junior highers out there; I’m sure there must be a few somewhere.)

    Where she does not belong is on the bookshelves of anyone who believes in human dignity, politeness, and adult behavior.

  54. Keri M
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:20:43

    Anion- Well said! You rock!!! :-)

  55. KCfla
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:40:55

    * Stands and applauds Anion*

    Game, set, match!

  56. ChariDee
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:46:14

    I actually did a blog post on this very thing Monday. I didn’t include her name however. I also posed the question to a couple of Yahoo! Groups I belong to, to see if I was the only one who found this so disturbing. What I found really disturbing, is all of the comments on her blog that praised her craziness. I called her editor yesterday, but just got voice mail. I almost sent you the link to see what you thought, too but chickened out. I’m glad you added the cached version, because I could not figure out how to do that LOL

  57. Anon76
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:57:50

    Good heavens. Not again.

    Hmm, seems like another Amazon email campaign may be in order. Why? Because in the cached entries, this author comes right out and names two individuals for their help in dealing with this bad review. Followed by a sentence refering to the tactic we all reported DAM for using. That wasn’t a really smart thing to do, considering the outrage last time.

    Um, Amazon, if you think our outcries over manipulation of your reviewing system by certain authors were unfounded, take a gander at this and extrapolate a bit. Anyone can kill a low ranking review even if it is not abusive. Reports of abuse should be handled by a live human being, not a computer generated “numbers” system.

  58. Naomi
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:00:33

    *falls in love with Anion*

    I think the fact that Laurie thinks this is not only acceptable, but clever and funny is probably the worst part. She’s clearly delighted by her own vindictiveness, which is just scary. And her now-deleted comments from Amazon don’t do her any favours either.

  59. Anion
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:30:21

    Thanks everyone. :-)

    It just makes me so angry. Why deliberately give readers the impression that we hate them? That there truly is some sort of writer/reader war going on?

    I write for myself, yes. But I also keep readers firmly in mind. I want to please them. I want to make them happy. That is my JOB. And every time I see something like this it upsets me more, because this woman is basically behaving as though readers are just the dumbshits who pay the bills, who deserve nothing and should be treated with condescension, instead of deserving the very best we can give them. Every time. That is what they deserve; it is what their money pays for. I take that shit very seriously, and I hate that this bitch can sleaze around online and take whatever steps she’s taking to damage that relationship.

    Because that’s what this does, every time. Every time a writer pulls this crap it impacts my relationship with my readers. It makes it that little bit harder to joke with them, to talk to them, because it makes them see me as an adversary. Even if they don’t consciously, they still feel it like poison gas in the air, because this woman encourages them to do so. Encourages them to see themselves as figures of contempt in the eyes of those of us who write. Encourages them to think they better be careful what they say about us because who knows what we’ll do. Encourages them to see themselves as creatures of little power, of no say, as unimportant, in our eyes. It breeds suspicion and anger between writers and readers.

    Because hey, if writer X does this shit, and writer Y does it, and writer M does it, who’s to say we don’t all do it? It damages the trust, and that pisses me off (I know, lol, really?)

    I love my readers. They make me smile. When they email me–perfect strangers, contacting me, because they liked my work–it’s the greatest feeling in the world. I sit down to work every day hoping to put something on the page that people will enjoy, that will make them feel something, that will make them forget their problems. I want them with me. I want them on my side. I want their trust–to know that if book 2 in the series ends badly, they’ll stick around for book 3 because they know their pleasure is utmost in my mind and I won’t let them down.

    And I can’t have that if this woman runs around behaving as though no writer (or editor!) in their right minds cares about what readers think.

    Ugh.

  60. Lynn
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:38:16

    You know….as a general concept, the idea of making nasty characters out of people you don’t like or “killing” ex-boyfriends in your books is a riot. You write it, get a private little snarky giggle and move on. But…the key word there is PRIVATE! You go and blog about it (and have it zip all over the net like…well…like this) and it’s immature and crass. I had never heard of this author till someone else blogged about it and I checked her site out. I’m glad I did. Her books sound like something I would read but now? Not so much. She’s kind of like that hot guy you see across the room. Well dressed, drool worthy, looks half-way intelligent. Till he opens his mouth and his ginormous ego pops out. No thanks.

  61. Bernita
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:43:52

    Anion, I feel exactly the same.
    Well said, very well said.

  62. Publishing Deals for July 17th – August 13th | Dear Author: Romance Book Reviews, Author Interviews, and Commentary
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:54:59

    [...] wonder if Butterscotch will make an appearance in this one. Victoria Laurie’s GHOULS GONE WILD, the latest in the [...]

  63. Sarai
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:01:14

    Well crap I own like 3 of her books and now I have no desire to read them. DANG it good money wasted I wonder if the half price book store would take them? Somethings better than nothing right?
    Needless to say I won’t be buying this author or DAM ever again.

  64. ChariDee
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:23:32

    I used to adore Laurie’s books. But, a trip to her site earlier this year almost had me quitting them. She actually rips at some one that disagreed with her over a review she did of a book. She had stated that if you e-mail her and she thinks it’s a nasty e-mail she would post your e-mail and e-mail address for all of the www to see. That warning has since been taken down.

    Despite her nastiness I was going to continue reading her books until I had discovered her blog post that detailed her revenge. I can’t read her and know that she’s publicly humiliating some one. But I’m seriously disappointed in myself that I ignored my first instinct to avoid her books. The measly one sale she received from me, was one sale too many.

    Lynn, you hit the nail on the head, it’s a great idea to take a private revenge, as long as it’s private. I’m sure Laurie isn’t the first author to make a character after some one she dislikes. She just had the very bad taste as to make it so public.

  65. Peter Durward Harris
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:23:45

    On her home page, she says this about reviewers

    And I would also like to send an additional note of thanks to anyone who has shared a review on Amazon or Barnes and Noble.com. I read them all, (and a few of the not so nice ones have kept me up at night…rassa…frassa…rassa…frassa!) But for the most part, my fantastic fans have been unbelievably kind. Thank you all for going that extra step to document your thoughts in such a public way. Again, I’m so grateful.

    I wonder if the comments on this blog will keep her up at night.

  66. Popin
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 14:21:15

    How disappointing. I’m a fan of her Psychic Eye series, but this whole thing is leaving me with a bad taste. Sadly, this isn’t new. I remember reading a review for Howling at the Moon by Karen MacInerney, and she left a comment saying insulting the reviewer. She’s since deleted her review, but I remember it being pretty uncalled for.

    I liked the author, but the whole thing is troubling and really makes me not want to read her books anymore.

  67. Chrissy
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 14:40:07

    As an actual psychic and an author with… well, you know… a conscience…

    I foresee a very dim future for this skanky charlatan.

  68. Karmyn
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 14:58:37

    Somebody please assure me that Julia Quinn, Rachel Caine, and Jim Butcher are still sane. I couldn’t take it if they went off the deep end, too.

  69. SavvyOne
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 15:05:58

    Nice. She stays awake all night reading amazon reviews chainsmoking cigs, guzzling Natty Light and plotting ways to destroy people all because they didn’t dig her book. Here’s a newflash, Vickie Babe, – not everyone is going to like yer chit!!!! My husband thought one of my paintings sucked, and yes, he is still alive. My Gosh didn’t we learn all this in school? Believe it or not there are some people out there that just don’t like you or your work. You can’t control the universe, Babe. May you should read the book He’s Just Not That Into You and apply it in daily life.

    The way she flaunts her vindictive attitude is what gets me. And funny – she says the only 2 people you should never mess with are waitstaff and writers. Well, I gots one for ya – how about collection reps?! Yeah, people who can look up all your personal info. Now, I’m not a collection rep, or an IRS employee (although I do know some…), but gee, let’s hope Butterscotch doesn’t know any, LOL!

  70. Seressia
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 15:42:43

    Anion, will you marry me?

    Keep dispensing the sense. Hopefully a few folks will actually get it.

  71. Anion
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 15:50:52

    With great pleasure, Seressia. *squee* I’ll be a bride again!

    Karmyn, I’ve corresponded with Butcher and Quinn both (and I don’t mean that in a name-droppy way, I hope it doesn’t sound like that) and they are both fantastic people, and I hear Caine is as well.

  72. Gail Dayton
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 16:36:12

    I have enjoyed the Psychic Eye mysteries too, but dang–don’t know if I really want to participate in the craziness any more.

    I have gotten some Seriously Nasty reviews on Amazon. People calling my Rose books soft-core porn, etc. The only reason I know this is because I have a google alert for my name, and sometimes a few words of a review, or a comment about a review will reach me that way. Otherwise, I DON’T READ THEM. It is a policy of mine. I Do Not Read Amazon Reviews. I don’t read them for the books I write. I don’t read them for other people’s books either. Makes it really easy to stay above the fray.

    Like Anion said, bad behavior from one writer makes the rest of us look bad. So I really wish she’d stop.

    And in the comments, where she’s scoffing about the two lone reviewers sharing their “do not read” lists with each other–Word-of-Mouth is powerful. It metastasizes. And it does it really fast with internet access. Yeah, a lot of people don’t spend much time online. But they have friends who do. Word-of-mouth can be good or bad, and hun, I want The GOOD kind…

  73. Keishon
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 17:00:25

    -Word-of-Mouth is powerful. It metastasizes. And it does it really fast with internet access. Yeah, a lot of people don't spend much time online. But they have friends who do. Word-of-mouth can be good or bad, and hun, I want The GOOD kind

    You are right about how it spreads…like wildfire. I’m sure the publicity for her actions will not cause her too much fuss with her publisher. It’s the readers with their wallets firmly shut that will have more bite.

  74. Allie
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 20:34:21

    Some authors embrace there poor reviews and post them on there site as badges. Douglas Preston and Child
    http://www.prestonchild.com/rogues/index.html

    Rachel Caine as well
    http://rachelcaine.livejournal.com/108066.html

  75. Rena Ruadh
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 01:24:23

    First of all, Anion, wonderful posts. You have said all there needs to be said.

    I have posted this before regarding the DAM situation, about authors who are outraged when readers dare criticise them:

    As for authors not being able to take criticism – I am a fairly well-established academic, have published quite a bit. But I’ll never forget, several years ago, when for the first time a paper I’d sent to a journal was rejected. A very senior colleague – a very well-known professor – laughed at my self-doubts and said, look my dear, if I were to take all the rejected papers in my career, I could wallpaper my entire office with them. (He’s got a VERY big office!!) These things happen, they are normal and we just have to take them in stride and attempt to improve our writing. I’ve taken that to heart, but it looks like Deb Mac and her posse and now Ms Laurie are somewhat differently inclined..

  76. MissKitty
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 06:31:59

    Damn, if this doesn´t tempt me to include a character in one of my books…
    Like, uhm.. a psychotic stalker author, by the name of… (I´ll come up with that later) who has nothing better to do than to slander other people´s …
    Lack in self-esteem, narcistic personality *ponders*, delusions of grandeur…

    Hey, that might work. A truely interesting and unusual villain.

    MUHAHAH!

    God, the nerv of those people and their stupidity!

    I´ve had exactly the same problems, though in another branch, a while back.
    A cyber stalker, using my pictures to create some really disgusting stuff.

    Since I didn´t want this person to know my real life data, I implied him for some other wrong doings.. which worked perfectly.
    Justice was server and through the grapevine I hear he had to pay some 6000$ in fines.
    Ok, but that was a seriously dangerous stalker… in this case, I´d just think it calls for a lawsuit.

    The nerv….!

  77. Ghetto Diva
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 10:18:03

    And so, come September…my little “fan” and some of her close friends and family will likely read about a character with a very similar name, (i.e. nearly identical but not enough to get me sued) depicted in one of the most comical and fabulously scandalous scenes within Death Perception. And trust me…this isn't a scene which in any way flatters that character. :) (Also trust me….you'll know it when you read it!)

    Is that a mean thing to do?

    Yes.

    Do I care?

    No.

    I actually thought that no one could be worse than Cindy Cruciger and her BFF Ann Vremont. But this has got to be the stupidest thing I’ve ever read. I wonder if she was on meds when she did this, because that’s the only way she could be possibly excused.

  78. Kalen Hughes
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 11:13:02

    Some authors embrace there poor reviews and post them on there site as badges. Douglas Preston and Child
    http://www.prestonchild.com/rogues/index.html

    This is effing brilliant! It makes me what to have their babies. Or do their responses count as authors behaving badly? I don't think so, but I've been known to be wrong . . .

  79. Jana Oliver
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 13:06:21

    Three Fold Rule. Even if you’re not Wiccan, the laws apply. Do nasty stuff, nasty stuff comes back three times over. Get a bad review? Better to swear at the cat (who will ignore you)and move on to the next book. Someone will always hate what you do. Some will love it. Just ensure there are more of the latter than the former and you’re in good shape.

    Posting the bad reviews on your website takes chutzpah. These people got stones. I applaud them. And the Preston/Child responses are just cool.

  80. Peter Durward Harris
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 13:37:02

    For those of you who enjoy authors celebrating one-star reviews of their own books, here’s some more

    Mmmm… one star-rific! (John Scalzi)

    One star?! Say it ain’t so! (Kristy Kiernan)

    The one star challenge (Ericka Lutz)

  81. Keri M
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 14:16:49

    Those were so funny!!! Now that is how to respond to a 1-star review. Preston and Child is always first class. Just to be fair, I thought Wheel of Death was ok, but not their best piece of work…but I didn’t review it. :-)

  82. Janine
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 14:30:48

    From John Scalzi’s blog post in your link:

    How do I feel about these one star reviews? I feel fine about them. I am not under the impression that, alone among all writers who have ever existed, I will be the one whose work is universally acclaimed; nor am I under the impression that when readers who feel burned by work are offered an avenue to express their displeasure, that they will rather prefer to stew privately. Nor do I think an appropriate response to negative reviews is to flamebroil the reviewer and send my minions to harass them, thus revealing myself to be something of an insecure psychotic. Someone doesn't like my work and wants to tell people so? Okay by me. I'll live.

    I think I’m in love.

  83. Amy Wolff Sorter
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 14:54:41

    My relationship with my readers is SACRED. It is because of them that I get to do the work I do. I write books; they buy them. That makes me lucky, and blessed. How dare this woman stomp all over that relationship by treating anyone, but especially someone who says she is a fan of her other work, in such a crappy, disdainful manner? Who the hell does she think she is?

    Well said, Anion. I will also go one step further and say that the writer’s responsibility is to take care of the reader. This can mean anything from writing compelling characters and situations to responding politely to their queries. I believe this and it’s how I approach my writing.

    I consistently scratch my head when writers treat readers with contempt and outright hostility. Who do they think are paying for the books? Unreal.

  84. Kristina Cook
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 17:40:47

    *Shaking my head in utter disbelief* Not *another* one.

    WTF???????? Well, I’ve never heard of this author before now, but I certainly won’t be buying any of her books in the future.

    And yeah, I’m with Kathryn–apologizing on behalf of authors everywhere…..

  85. Karmyn
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 05:40:18

    When fanbrats freak out over less than glowing reviews on fanfic, they get laughed at. When a so called ‘professional’ writer does it, it’s just so much more pathetic.
    I’ve found and listed two of the Psychic Eye books on paperbackswap.com. I’ve already traded her two Ghosthunter books. I will be glad to get rid of the rest, but feel kind of sorry for whoever wants them.

  86. Peter Durward Harris
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 02:27:46

  87. What Is Wrong With the C Review | Dear Author: Romance Book Reviews, Author Interviews, and Commentary
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 04:00:18

    [...] week we saw yet another author/reviewer contretemps in which an author, upset over a review, engages the reviewer in a comically bad mannered way. When [...]

  88. john sumner
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 16:44:08

    I for one am not going to ever buy VL books, i think she is nothing but a thinskinned hack writer who cant take the heat, she should just stick with being a psycic, since that is the only thing she can do right.

  89. J Kaplan
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 17:18:43

    Wait, what makes you think that being a psychic is something she does right?

  90. john sumner
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 19:52:39

    JK i meant that as a snarky comment, after reading abouyt this jerk in one of the yahoo groups, i don`t want anything to to with this thing

  91. Michael Farquharson
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 21:36:39

    Being partially disabled I tend to read ALOT (most of mine and my wifes spare cash goes to books. After this sillyness I will most certainly not be buying this authours books at all…and at any Scifi/Fantasy con I go to (I tend to hit 4 or so a year)I’ll let others know about this authors pathetic abuse of her literary power. As a psychic who is an author (I think I got that right) she should KNOW better to than to put out things like this to the public cause they can affect booksales *snorts*

  92. Sparky
    Aug 20, 2008 @ 07:00:16

    Well if there was any doubt before we know her claim to be a psychic is ridiculous :) After all, no-one with a view of the future or any kind of sixth sense (or even good ol’ basic common sense for that matter) would do something this utterly crazy.

  93. Wherein Jane Sends Email to Victoria Laurie’s Editor | Dear Author: Romance Book Reviews, Author Interviews, and Commentary
    Aug 20, 2008 @ 13:27:13

    [...] In July Ms. Laurie takes exception to a review left at Amazon by a reviewer with the handle [...]

  94. Erastes
    Aug 20, 2008 @ 17:00:35

    Did she delete it the moment people started to post unfavourable posts on that thread? It seems full of sycophants otherwise.

    What a train wreck.

  95. Rebekah
    Sep 07, 2008 @ 00:28:17

    Uh… who’s DAM? and should I stay away from this person?

  96. Ann Somerville
    Sep 07, 2008 @ 00:33:35

    Rebekah, DAM is Deborah Anne MacGilivray. Read this for more:
    http://dearauthor.com/wordpress/2008/04/18/summary-post-of-rebas-amazon-fight/

    should I stay away from this person

    God, yes.

  97. L
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 12:18:03

    Some new information I just learned about.
    FYI, This is all just speculation on my part.

    I wouldn’t be surprised if the “lawyer friend” of VL’s was a DAM friend, another HP author, that was formerly an attorney that got disbarred from practicing law in the state of Ohio.
    Didn’t VL state in one of her blog entries that she was thankful for all the advice DAM provided on how to deal with readers and manipulating Amazon review system?
    DAM and VL did have some sort of contact/communication so who knows…..it could be possible.

    Who is this HP author you wonder?
    None other than Billie Warren Chai.

    If you don’t believe me, check this out from the website of The Supreme Court of Ohio:

    http://www.sconet.state.oh.us/clerk_of_court/ecms/resultsbycasenumber.asp?type=3&year=2003&number=1678&myPage=searchbypartyname.asp

    This all adds in to what I’ve seen of this author’s past behavior and antics.
    The “so you want to be a review racketeer guide” published on Amazon that was deleted, under the alias “Victoria”, was most likely written by Ms. Chai as she had also made similar threats in an Amazon romance thread (that she had contacted FCC, FTC, FBI, etc) against readers who kept on posting about badly behaving authors.

    I couldn’t find the specifics (reasons why she was disbarred), but I’m not surprised, seeing how this particular author behaved during the whole DAM fiasco.
    Now, not saying VL’s “lawyer friend” is Billie Warren Chai, but all this info *is* very interesting…

  98. GL
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 08:46:08

    Wow, this explains an awful lot of coincidences, doesn’t it? Let’s see:

    1. All of this hoopla started when Deborah Anne MacGillivray (AKA “DAM” who has since dropped her middle name over this unintentionally funny abbreviation) posted both on Amazon and her blog site that she used a Private Investigator to hunt down and threaten an Amazon reviewer, Reba Belle, because Reba had the nerve to give her book ONLY 3 stars (how dare her!). She then proceeded to use her “Ladies in Waiting” yahoo clan to slam all those that didn’t like her book and/or supported Reba by sending them out to abuse the voting and abuse button features on Amazon. NONE of this is disputed as cache images of DAM’s blog site and Amazon posts are available for anyone to find if they want to.

    2. Enter loyal (obsessed) fan Caitrina Hunter, whom for reasons initially very unclear, viciously defended DAM and used the exact same kind of legal language in her threats to those who saw any fault in Chai’s good buddy and author friend, Deborah MacGillivray. Her, Hunter’s, profile has since been silenced by Amazon, but she was clever enough to come up with more profiles on there, especially an ever changing name one which was a lame attempt to confuse people and Amazon that it wasn’t her –Boy, were we all fooled –LOL!

    3. The quote above by Chai was also used, nearly word for word, by the currently named “Violet” profile on Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/gp/pdp/profile/A1A44VX58IDOAP), that ever changing profile name on Amazon that is mostly likely Hunter, in her rant, ironically about bullying online, on her profile page that has since been removed by Amazon along with all her posts. Gee, doesn’t that sound like what happened with Caitrina Hunter when she began blasting people on her profile page when her attacks and senseless defense of DAM backfired? Are we seeing a pattern yet, folks?

    4. Hunter and “Violet” were also over the blogosphere threatening people with lawsuits, arrests, district attorney investigations, and other such legal “warnings” in an obvious, but lame, attempt to intimidate people. Most saw the sham these so-called “legal” threats were.

    5. Recently, Author and Amazon Profile Victoria Laurie thanked MacGillivray for her “advice” on how to manipulate the voting and abuse button features on Amazon on her blog site. She has since taken down these incriminating comments, but again, cache versions are available for viewing. In addition, Laurie went so far as to have her “attorney” (I use the term loosely here) threaten a blogger who posted on her website Laurie’s own rants about how she’ll get back at people who give her books bad reviews or less than 4 or 5 stars. Well, I can certainly see DAM's “advice” all over these actions.

    Now, one has to ask what do ALL these profiles on Amazon have in common?

    A. They are ALL associated in some manner with Deborah Anne MacGillivray. (friend, fan, co-author, etc). Coincidence? Yeah, I’m sure it is.
    B. They all love Harleys. Well, I can’t pick on them for that –lol.
    C. They team up and bully those they don’t like. Another coincidence? I think not, but “friends” will do this.
    D. They all love to use legal mumbo jumbo to threaten, coerce, and intimidate people. Is this just another coincidence? Sorry, this coincidence is too much of a stretch and just one coincidence too many.

    Listen, there are just too many coincidence here for any reasonable person to overlook. This connection between these individuals is rather overwhelming. It certainly appears that Ms. Chai either gets around real well with her “legal advice” (something prohibited by her forced resignation –a nice way to say disbarment) or she is actually Caitrina Hunter who has had a long slew of identities on Amazon that have all exhibited wild, bizarre conduct coupled with legal language and threats designed to intimidate people, hence the silencing of ALL of these accounts by Amazon for bullying, harassing and hectoring others.

    These are just things to consider. Admittedly, now EX-lawyer Chai should love this turn of phrase, this is all circumstantial evidence, but it sure is an overwhelming amount. Of course, we can’t “prove” anything here, but you know that old phrase “if it looks like duck, acts like duck, and sounds like a duck; it’s a duck” applies here and I think all our ducks are lined up in a row at this point.

    BTW: Please don't be fooled by Amazon's “Real Name” badge under profile names. There are numerous ways to circumvent this and post a non-real name as a real one, but I won't post here how to do that and have others abuse it as these individuals mentioned here may have. In addition, AUTHORS are legally allowed to operate under alias names and even have credit cards in those names. This means they may have multiple accounts on Amazon with the badge of “Real Name”. This is how authors write/review their own work, but then make the claim, “That’s not me. See the Real Name badge? It doesn’t match with my name.” Yeah, well, Samuel Clemons doesn’t match up with Mark Twain either, but they are the same person.

  99. DS
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 09:50:48

    Ohio is stricter than some states about attorney behavior, but most attorney disciplinary actions are public record– as they should be! Information about current and past attorneys licensed to practice in the state of Ohio can be found here: http://www.sconet.state.oh.us/atty_reg/Public_AttorneyInformation.asp
    These initials are all just coincidence by the way. I am neither of the previous posters and have posted here under this nick for ages.

  100. GL
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 08:50:22

    I always like to believe the best in people until I’m proven wrong. I like people and I like making friends with all kinds of people. I have friends that are almost saintly and others who some would consider ruffians. I think there is something to learn from all kinds of people so I attempt to embrace as many as I can, but I have to admit that that has been very hard on Amazon these days with all these authors behaving so badly. It has turned me into something of a cynic about the profession of writing and these badly behaving authors continue to add to my cynicism; however, I sense a change in the air.

    I spotted another author behaving badly recently, Ted Bell, and he got raked over the coals for it, but instead of responding like DAM, VL, and BWC have in the past, this author actually LEARNED something about accepting criticism. Below is a link to a review on Amazon, written by an author himself, that generally praised the book in his review and gave it 3 stars, but like DAM, the author, was offended by the less than stellar review and responded in an extremely negative manner (a habit of this author based upon reading other responses to criticisms that he has posted).

    I am thrilled to read his obviously sincere apology and his promise to clean up his act. This kind of action is so rare on Amazon these days that I wanted to note that perhaps the work of this site and other ones that authors may now be getting the message that putting down your readers and critics is NOT going to benefit them in any way.

    Amazon Review/Comment Link:

  101. GL
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 09:04:50

    Oooopppsss. Looks like the link didn’t take. Let me try again:

    If that didn’t work, here it is the old fashioned way: http://www.amazon.com/review/RNSL0JXRLKFP0/ref=cm_cr_pr_cmt?%5Fencoding=UTF8&ASIN=1416550402&nodeID=#wasThisHelpful

    GL

  102. GL
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 14:45:08

    Well, it looks like Ted has now made some friends. Steven, Tams, Misfit, and others there have graciously accepted Ted’s apology and have given him well deserved praise for learning from his mistake.

    What a difference a sincere apology can make on others, especially when it’s coupled with a promise to change. Who knows what friendships could be formed from this conduct, but I see nothing but positive stuff coming out of this situation which could have gotten ugly. Mr. Ted Bell did not let that happen and took the high road of just admitting what he did was wrong.

    What Mr. Bell did NOT do (to his credit) was:

    (1) delete his comments and hide/lie about what he said or did
    (2) send his friends into battle for him either with attacking posts or by abusing the abuse button and voting features on Amazon
    (3) use silly legal language to intimidate anyone
    (4) threaten to include his perceived enemies as characters in his next book.

    Bravo, Mr. Bell, Bravo!

    MacGillivray, Chai, Hunter (likely Chai anyhow) and Laurie are you paying attention here? What a world of difference it would have made, and could still make, if you folks actually said you were sorry for your inappropriate conduct. It is NEVER too late to apologize AND attempt to make amends. Now, how could you folks make ammends? Here are my thoughts:

    -MacGillivray could use her clout on Amazon to reinstate Reba and others that she had silenced, and she could give up her ranking status since she openly admitted that she cheated the system with her band of clickies.

    -Chai/Hunter can’t really undo much of their damage, but they could at least promise to shut up from here on out and stop with all the multiple profiles everywhere and all the inappropriate lawyer advice.

    -Victoria Laurie could also do with a dose of just being quiet and stop taking advice from an admitted cheat and from a disgraced attorney who shouldn’t be giving out advice anymore anyhow according to the agreement reached on her resignation court documents. I think she can make better friends than she’s making lately.

    GL

  103. Peter Durward Harris
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 14:59:34

    Victoria Laurie posted a blog entry earlier this year titled “Thicker skin” but subsequently showed her inability to develop that thicker skin. Let’s wait and see whether Ted Bell learns his lesson as he proclaims. It is wise to remember that actions speak louder tham words.

  104. GL
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 16:54:05

    While actions can speak louder than words in some situations, we would be equally wise to give credit where it is due and stepping up with what appears to be a very humble and sincere apology should be accepted for the moment at face value with the hopes that actions will back up the words down the line. I’d rather think the best of someone first and be proven wrong later than to be overly skeptical at this early stage, but that is just me.

  105. Stormy
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 17:28:43

    Very well said GL – Mr. Bell took the high road and I believe he deserves the credit for his apology. And as you pointed out – he didn’t just remove his nasty comments, he had the integrity to leave it up and post the apology. Those who post comments only to pull them at a later date should stay out of the conversation. If it was worth saying in the first place have the integrity to stand behind what you have written. If at a later date you regret your post – say so – don’t just delete it. In my opinion this shows a serious lack of integrity and honesty.

  106. Butterscotch
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 17:36:04

    I think this author, Ted bell, shows his true colors. Bravo to his well thought out apology. This is a REAL author making amends for his mistake. Kudos to Ted Bell.

  107. Supergirl
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 19:24:05

    I agree, we all make mistakes. I think the author is sincere. If Mr. Bell wasn’t, he would have deleted his first comment instead of keeping it up and apologizing later.

  108. The Not-so-deep Thoughts » TT #35: WTF 2008
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 06:14:42

    [...] 12 Victoria Laurie. Another writer who went Rambo-verbal-style on an Amazon [...]

  109. Genrewonk: thoughts and opinions by author S. Andrew Swann » Blog Archive » 2008 Asshat Countdown #4: Authors behaving badly
    Dec 28, 2008 @ 06:43:22

    [...] quivering bundle of maturity thought it great fun to publicly threaten her fans with unflattering tuckerization and then when a blogger points out that her statements might be a little unwise and somewhat [...]

  110. Linda
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 18:00:37

    Jeez! You guys are so harsh on Ms.Laurie. She is a human ya know, and I am sure that if something like that happened to you you would be pretty pissed off too. So don’t go around criticizing her when you might have done almost the same thing. We all know how it feels to get hurt and man what right does this woman have and getting up in Ms.Laurie’s face. Did she even consider Ms.Laurie’s feelings? How would one of you feel if someone said something that mean about work that you feel proud about. Personally I applaud her for standing up for herself even though it was a little mean, but boy was it funny. I can’t wait to buy and read her next book. Her books are the best. So you think what she did is not right, well it isn’t but you know that what the other lady did was just as wrong. So don’t go blaming Ms.Laurie, I am sure you would have retaliated too. :)

  111. Lori S.
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 19:09:50

    Okay, so let me get this straight, Linda. You think the DA folks are being mean girls, while at the same time you find Ms. Laurie’s actions understandable, even “funny.”

    Seriously? You may want to look up “hypocrite” in the dictionary.

    For the record, I’ve received harsh criticism on a professional level. How did I respond? By taking a good, hard look at the criticism, evaluating whether it had merit, and moving on. I’m smart enough to realize that acting like a petulant child isn’t conducive to my career.

    An author who acts in such a ghastly and unprofessional manner will never earn my respect. Her actions are closer to those of a sandbox bully than a published author. I’ve never had the opportunity to read her books, and after seeing how she conducts herself online, I’m making it a point to avoid her work like the plague.

  112. Linda
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 14:51:06

    Just because she conducts herself in that way online doesn’t mean her books aren’t good. Like they say don’t judge a book by it’s cover; you should not judge a book by it’s author.

  113. Lori S.
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 16:18:15

    I’m not judging her books, I’m judging her deplorable behavior. And seeing how poorly she conducts herself professionally, I feel no urge to support her career via purchasing her product. Plain and simple. There are plenty of talented authors out there who know how to conduct themselves in a professional manner.

  114. Karen Scott
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 16:35:45

    Just because she conducts herself in that way online doesn’t mean her books aren’t good. Like they say don’t judge a book by it’s cover; you should not judge a book by it’s author.

    Really?

    So If I found out that a popular actor beat his kids up, are you telling me that you couldn’t understand why I wouldn’t want to go and see his movies no matter how good he was?

    Really?

  115. Linda
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 18:00:30

    I wouldn’t go see this actor in a movie if he did that but, we are talking about something else, not entirely, but still something else. I would not compare Ms.Laurie to an actor who beats up his kids. She was reacting to something someone told her on a blog that was uncalled for and what she did was equally uncalled for, but that doesn’t make her books any less good than they actually are. And if you don’t want to support her by buying her books then check them out at the library or borrow them from someone you know, if you are willing to try her books. They are good.

  116. Chari-Dee
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 18:14:24

    She was reacting to something someone told her on a blog that was uncalled for

    I’m sorry Linda, but I think you’ve been misinformed about the events in questions. I believe you’re referring to Ms. Laurie’s account recently that she was the victim of cyber bullying. And while it’s admirable that you are defending her, you really may want to get the facts straight.

    When it comes to authors and supporting their work, I put my money where I feel comfortable. I am not going to shop somewhere that has values or morals different than I, and I am not going to give my money to support the work of some one that is equally offensive to me.

  117. Smg
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 04:19:00

    (In response to the Amazon flaming…) It seems as if she’s under the impression that if she bites people with a smile and a laugh then no one will notice her bite. I think that if she hadn’t been so blatantly condescending in her responses, then perhaps I could’ve swallowed the rest of what she had to say without tasting bile. I mean, I haven’t read the book they were talking about, so I grant that it’s possible she might’ve had a valid point or two about misquoting and the like. And I can certainly understand having difficulty accepting criticism of something you’ve created and put out in the open. But she was so snide in the communication of her points that she made it really difficult to empathize with her at all. Next time, I hope she takes a few breaths, maybe vents in private to a friend or a (private) diary, and tries to get a broader perspective on where she and these things fall within the grand scope of the universe.

    You know how I found out about all this? I googled her name in search of a reading-order for her books so that I could figure out which one to pursue next. I’ve read one of her books, enjoyed it, and was looking forward to trying more of her work. But I’m finding it hard to get the bad taste out of my mouth that her words (and apparently actions) have left (For me, it’s not only about not supporting her with my money; I’m not sure I could stop feeling disgusted long enough to read a library copy). As a book-lover, I’m not usually one to avoid a potentially fun read. It’s sad. But I think I’m just going to have to pass on this author. Thankfully there are scores of other authors out there whose works I’m happy to explore.

    The thing is, if she wanted and tried to learn from this the way that someone mentioned Ted Bell did, it could really make a difference to some of us who have turned away from her books. If she would make an effort at promoting harmony and growth within herself, it might ripple outwards and possibly mitigate some of the disgust she’s engendered. I know that I personally would be willing to give her another shot (though perhaps after enough time had passed that I could begin to hope that it wasn’t just an act). And really, even if for some reason she had permanently lost all these viewers, wouldn’t it be worthwhile for her own sake and for the sake of acquiring new readers in the future for her to give the whole golden-rule, learn-from-your-mistakes, live-and-let-live thing a try?

  118. Colleen Murphy
    Feb 21, 2009 @ 11:30:46

    I read VL’s short story in “Drop Dead Blonde:, enjoyed it and thought I would read her Psychic Eye series. I thought is was providence that I was able to acquire the entire set on e bay for such a reasonable price – but after reading about VL’s horrible diatribe I now know why.

    Ms. Laurie needs to know that it is NEVER ok to act like an ignorant spoiled brat, most especially in these days of instant world wide access to your stupidity. This is a lesson that I taught my children at a young age. (we of Irish descent suffer from what’s called “Irish Alzheimers” in that we’ll forgive and forget everything but the grudges). No adult, and a “professional? HA! LOL” no less, should ever act so irresponsibly. It’s disgustingly petty and rude to respond the way VL did. It’s a serious affront to all writers and their readers! Who does she think she is? So wonderful that she’s above acting like a decent human being? Whom does she think pays her salary and supports whatever lifestyle she imagines? It’s the people that buy her books, that she obviously has such contempt for, that are her “bosses” capable of keeping her in her job as a writer, or firing her by refusing to buy her books.

    Publishers take note, I’m not the only one who will not be buying any more of VL,s books, or any author that so callously flaunts her contempt of her readers (pay attention DAM). I enjoy reading books by “my people” as my family know I call the group of writers to whom I am loyal. There are too many reputable writers that I do enjoy for me to try to read a book by VL while holding my nose. Most people have the minimal sense to know that bad publicity is NOT good publicity as VL hopes, and we will not forget her vindictiveness.

    So she will never receive another dime from this disgusted ex-fan. I’m just one person so I’m very sure that VL couldn’t care less about me, but if enough of us boycott her?……hmmm….. Maybe the loss of income will get through to her, and that’s her problem that she, herself, created. My problem? What to do with these books I’m stuck with and am not sure I can ever bring myself to read.

  119. PMB
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 11:14:09

    LET IT GO ALREADY!

    get lives and MOVE ON!

  120. Stormy
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 16:47:17

    I love living in the US – it means that I can say what I want, when I want and so can everyone else – So Colleen Murphy and everyone else – keep the posts coming. I for one enjoy reading them and if anyone doesn’t care to read anymore of these posts – well, that’s what the delete button is for!!!

  121. Mireya
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 20:01:24

    @PMB: You should stop torturing yourself. It’s rather easy to do really: simply unsubscribe from this blog or ignore this particular thread. See how simple? No one is forcing you to keep coming here and reading this. You are doing it to yourself… and btw, posts like yours attract even more attention. I wasn’t even following this thread … I had to come and take a look at what was it that you were objecting to after I read YOUR post. *shrug*

  122. daydreaming
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 08:02:20

    LOL. Yeah, you said it Stormy and Mireya! PMB, if it causes you that much undue stress to see readers won’t forget Victoria Laurie’s atrocious, childish, immature, and rude behavior/actions then IGNORE it! Dude, no one tells you to read all the posts here. If it bothers you that much and causes you to get a hissy fit don’t read what anyone is saying.

    Btw you should take your own advice. Get a life and move on and don’t dwell on hating all of us who won’t give Laurie a friggin’ dime for her horrible books and won’t hesitate to warn all unsuspecting readers out there about Victoria Laurie.

    Stormy, I simply don’t understand these fly-by comments of these people stating, “Stop the hating people!” or “Get a life!”. I view them similar to trolls who disrupt the normal flow of conversation in a thread. They have nothing worthwhile to say and they always have to act antagonistic toward everyone else. *sigh*. They never learn do they.

  123. PMB
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 13:23:18

    really, you people should see how petty you look keeping this going and going.
    I heard about it and thought I would see what it was really about, you showed me it wasn’t that big of a deal. But sad little people with NO LIVES that has nothing else to do in there day but to cause trouble that they have nothing to do with.
    Now you all can jump on me I don’t care because your a waste of my time. and while your trashing me, your leaving someone else alone. oh you are so junior high childish!

  124. daydreaming
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 14:50:00

    Hmm…someone’s protesting too much. I don’t know why you are still here, what is the point of you telling everyone to “get a life”? Obviously you have way too much time on your hands as well.

    Do you realize how hypocritical you are sounding? You are lecturing everyone about needing to get a life, and here you are posting away too! hahaha. I love the irony.

    There is nothing trivial about highlighting this particular author’s horrible behavior. When an author goes on the attack on readers for not liking her books, then goes on a rampage threatening a blogger with a “lawsuit”, then uses her personal website as a tirade against the world and all the people that “hater” her, all the while congratulating herself for her own “junior high childish” behavior blind to it all…and yet you see nothing wrong with that “it wasn’t that big of a deal” and you have to go and criticize everyone else that sees something very wrong with that type of behavior?

    Wow, if anyone has been acting junior high in this it was the author herself with all her nastiness toward anyone that had something negative to say about her books and her behavior.

    Pointing out this author’s behavior and warning others about it so they know before picking up said author’s books is NOT junior high school behavior. *sigh*. I don’t know why I am bothering explaining this all to you, it’s clear you have some chip on your shoulder and deciding to poke everyone here for your own amusements.

  125. auburnmist
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 06:10:20

    What is everyone's issue??? Have you not had a day when
    your cup ran over? No one ranted like this when Laurel K.
    Hamilton went off on her readers and everyone else. Get over
    it, call it a bad day and move on. I think Laurie’s solution
    in dealing with rude behavior is exactly what 90% of the
    talented world does, she just said it out loud. I’ve done the
    same in my stand-up acts, there have been other, more famous,
    comedians that have said the same thing. Stop being shocked
    that people of fame have days just like ever other non-famous
    person. The only difference is… they have an outlet and
    the other folks have to fall to gossip and drawing conclusions
    about things they know nothing about. Walk in Laurie’s shoes
    for a day, then write your rude, cruel and hurtful remarks.
    Until you know what lead up to the break in character, don't
    pretend to know how someone else feels, be they famous or
    just the person next door. Grow up, and be an adult.

  126. daydreaming
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 12:19:31

    90% of the talented world? You think Laurie has talent? That’s a laugh. Sorry but last time *I* checked, threatening lawsuits against people (you DID know about the blogger that Victoria Laurie tried to threaten with her supposed “attorney” did you NOT?) is NOT any way to deal with criticism. What Laurie should have done was ignored reviews that were negative and gone about her day. Nope, instead she had to go on a crazy tirade against all those who had something to say about her nasty snarky behavior.

    Btw, Laurie ain’t famous. I had never heard of her until this, perhaps this was her sorry way of gaining that fame.lol.

    I shouldn’t be surprised there are people that side with Laurie. In today’s society the perps are always the one that are the “victims” nowadays while the true victims of their attacks are the ones that did wrong. F’ed up if you ask me.

    I am continually amazed at the hypocrisy of those who criticize everyone for outing Laurie’s atrocious behavior and calling her on it. Do none of them see how childish and immature and yes, wrong, Laurie was during the whole fiasco? Shouldn’t they be telling her to grow up instead of sympathizing with her? It’s simply amazing.

  127. Camille
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 09:26:37

    I like Victoria Laurie’s books, but after reading some of her posts I have to admit she sounds a little unbalanced. My question is, how is she not getting sued over this? I mean she admits to creating a particular character (an unflattering one at that) just to get back at someone and even giving the character a similar name. It plainly says in the front of her books:

    “PUBLISHER’S NOTE: This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, places, and incidents either are the product of the author’s imagination or are used ficticiously, and any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, ……is purely coincidental.”

    Well, it clearly ISN’T coincidental, by her own admission, it is deliberate. So how is she not getting sued over this?

  128. donna
    Apr 11, 2009 @ 12:39:01

    Its always amazes me the amount of of crap that spews from you small minded people with your holier than though attitudes wanting to push your beliefs and views onto everyone else . Didn’t your mother teach any of you manners at all if you can’t say anything nice shut your pie holes.You know Victoria Laurie writes wonderful books they are FICTION meant for entertainment purposes . There are a lot of books and authors of all kinds if you don’t like what you read its a free country read something else . LEAVE IT ALONE. It really pisses me off when people feel that they have to mouth off badly about someone you can give your opinion without getting ugly. Of course you know what they say about opinions (they’re like ass holes everyone’s got one.) Maybe I should be as crude as you all so that you might understand SHUT THE F*** up

  129. Karen Scott
    Apr 12, 2009 @ 15:02:51

    Donna, you do know that this thread is eight months old don’t you?

    Talk about arriving to the party late. Fuckwit.

  130. Tams
    Apr 12, 2009 @ 16:22:11

    Well here is the problem with that Donna. See the author didn’t follow your advice: “if you can't say anything nice shut your pie holes.” She very publicly berated, insulted, and threatened people because she didn’t like what she read and didn’t LEAVE IT ALONE instead of going to read something else. She felt she needed to mouth off badly about people and gave her opinion in an ugly manner. Alot of people have a different opinion about the subject. So if you don’t like this thread I suggest you follow your own advice go read something else and if you want to contribute do it without getting ugly or you know what you can do, you pointed it out to everyone else ;)

  131. HM
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 17:57:21

    HAHA! I knew Victoria Laurie couldn’t write a good story or believable characters, but I didn’t realize she was such a loon! What kind of author can’t accept criticisms? Probably an author who knows she/he writes mediocre, autobiographical material! She could use a really good editor and a PR person as well. Aaahhh, I love this site.

  132. Imatechie
    Jun 10, 2009 @ 22:40:35

    I have to say I will never buy or read another Victoria Laurie book again. I read the first 3 Ghost Hunter books but I will not buy another one.

    I just happened to do a search on the authors name to find out what else she had written and found this forum. Boy was I shocked and yes, I do know that this post is pretty old but I have to tell you it has changed my mind about reading her.

    Why should I spend money on buying an authors books if they are not grateful for every one who purchases one of their books. Even if the said fan didn’t happen to like the book they purchased and read. THAT is the reason for reviews everyone is different in their likes and dislikes. I have seen bad and good reviews on books that I have read and bought it anyway. Some of them I would have to agree they were not that good but SOME of the books I have read were good in my opinion.

    Where does an author get off telling someone off because a review they wrote was critical of their book.

    Anyway, I say again I will never read another book by Victoria Laurie. Good job Victoria you just lost the sales you could have made off of me and others.

  133. TT #35: WTF 2008 « The Not-so-deep Thoughts
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 21:28:06

    [...] 12 Victoria Laurie. Another writer who went Rambo-verbal-style on an Amazon [...]

  134. Authors Behaving Badly « Red Adept's Kindle Book Review Blog
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 03:04:13

    [...] Notice that most of it has been deleted, including comments by the author deleted by Amazon. You have to get pretty dirty for Amazon to delete, in my opinion. More on that story on the Dear Author Blog. [...]

  135. L
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 10:03:14

    I sent her a email of my opinion of her stupid comments, but had to go through her webmaster since she’s ‘too busy’ to read emails now days. Can’t even post a comment there anymore. Not that she cares.

    She’s lost me as well as the members of my book club after all this BS she’s been spouting.

    As for Amazon, well, if they keep up that crap of deleting reader reviews they’ll lose us as customers. And I’m a good one as well as the others in my club.

    No one tells me how to buy a book or how to voice an opinion.

    Work me in a book, I don’t care.

    What a twit.

  136. Crandell
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 06:24:11

    I’m about 50 pages into “Psychic Eye” and I’ve never read any of Victoria Laurie’s other books, but already I can tell I like this woman.

    For one thing, she describes the process of “intuitive info gathering” damn near spot on with my own method. That resonated. So she gets an “A+” from me on that score for “walking the walk”.

    Now I see after reading webpage here about her being potentially sued, that she’s capable of losing her cool and getting pissed off because someone handed her a crap sandwich and wanted her to eat it. Them’s fightin’ foods!

    Thank God, she’s still capable of resisting the “New Age Mold” (I.E.–that narrowly defined set of expectations for how people BELIEVE a spiritualist should THINK, and act–falling, typically, somewhere between Gandhi and a Voodoo priestess). Finally I see there is someone who breaks the stereotyped “airy- fairy-tofu-eating-too-far-in-space- to-be-worried-about-the-cares-of- the-world” BS that Hollywood hands us as the “Proper Guide to Being a Psychic”.

    Me? I do psychic readings and I’m told I’m fairly decent…but sometimes I like to take my RIFLE and go shoot holes in targets. That’s right! My RIFLE! The very BANE of liberal notions! (Hopefully at this point some of you are fainting at the horrible dichotomy…the Mad Max world where nothing makes sense anymore! Psychics..but..but..Shooting GUNS! Noooooooooo!!!) Gun toting psychics…I hope your heads are exploding from the weight of preconceived notions torn asunder.

    Allow me to preach for a moment. God (The Force) wants us to live Authentically–to ourselves. Not adhere to some New Age imposed set of “do’s and don’ts” about the proper “spiritual” attitude to maintain in order to be “in the club” of New Age practitioners. He, she, it…wants us to be true..To OURSELVES. Get mad…get happy…FEEL things. Learn yourself. Anger is a part of you. DENYING it…would be the lie. Embracing it, feeling it…and letting it pass thru…far better than shoving it down, pretending it doesn’t exist, or kowtowing to public opinions in order to “Fake it” for her audience.

    So…it sounds like, to me, on the day Ms. Laurie put on her verbal Rambo slippers that she got Authentically ticked off…Authentically said so….Authentically owned her anger…and then probably Authentically regretted losing her cool later on.

    From a spiritual standpoint…as long as she didn’t let that anger morph into black-hearted hatred…she’s okay. Someone stepped to her with insults…and found out that karma sometimes moves quickly around psychics. You step to me with an attitude and you’re liable to see it reflected right back.

    For those of you who can’t see this, or for those of you who can’t forgive her for being human (and violating your preciously held preconceptions..for which, yes, I know…she should be stoned to death) I’d suggest you reexamine some of your notions of “Prejudice”, “Preconceived Notions”, “Forgiveness” and “Understanding”. Try to expand your notions of a psychic.

    She’d be a poor Soul if she didn’t freaking LIVE in the world she’s trying to bring Light to! Sometimes that means she has a bad day. Has PMS. Wakes up with a hangover. Gets her heart broken. Whatever. Thank God, psychics don’t have to give up their damned humanity in order to be intuitive.

    So chill out you nattering neigh-bobs!

    Yours
    “Crandell”

  137. shlosscur
    May 22, 2010 @ 13:07:12

    @Imatechie: man… I just finished one of her books and wanted to find out about other series she had going… hate to be wasteful but its going in the bin now.

  138. des
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 20:08:04

    I stumbled onto this website while searching out information on a series written by Victoria Laurie I’d seen recommended somewhere on Amazon. I had planned to check out the books and see if I liked them–at least, before I found this site. I know this thread is old but bottom line is, I’m another book lover and potential customer who will not be purchasing Laurie’s books–or those of the MacGillivray woman. Thanks for the heads up.

  139. Emma
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 19:52:18

    Hi–I recognize that this thread is quite old (by internet standards, anyhow) and just wanted to share something I discovered today while laying about re-reading Doom With a View by Victoria Laurie. On page 257, we are introduced to a foul-smelling, hideously ugly transvestite character whose name is…Reba Bell.

    I find that incredibly coincidental, given that Laurie was quick to thank Deborah MacGillivray for her support, and MacGillivray had just herself gotten into a huge Amazon-related tiff with a reviewer named Reba Belle.

    Hmm. Makes you wonder. Just something interesting to note.

  140. Jane
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 23:15:48

    @Emma Wow, that is terrible and petty.

  141. The Reader Author Paradigm | Dear Author
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 04:20:51

    [...] sites.  The Author can also write negatively about reviewers in her books as Lori Foster and Victoria Laurie. Readers, on the other hand, have much smaller circles. Few will go around and get their reviews [...]

  142. Anonymous
    May 02, 2012 @ 15:21:01

    [...] form. Nope. Not at all. /Sarcasm. He must hate himself. Now onto reader thoughts of the above. And now Victoria Laurie – Whom, ironically I did enjoy one of her books but was only ‘eh’ about the [...]

  143. Maya
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 14:13:15

    My thanks to the cooler heads in this thread. It’s pleasant to hear a more balanced perspective.

    I acknowledge that it’s always disappointing when someone whom I expect to be perfect behaves imperfectly, that is to say, unlike the way that I myself behave. It’s not like I’ve ever suffered the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune and responded in a hasty, fiery and — most horribly — public, manner.

    If you read Ms. Laurie’s books, you see that her psychic heroine, Abby Cooper, has issues both with temper and those resulting from extremely abusive parents. Since many, perhaps most, authors write from life experience, it would not be surprising if Ms. Laurie shared similar traumas. Even if that isn’t the case, her hot, intemperate response to the attacks on her books and herself personally, are indications of a depth of hurt.

    While those of you who so vigorously condemn and mock her would have done so very much better in her shoes, you might take a few moments out of your superior lives and contemplate the way that karma — known for her excellent sense of humour — will surely give you the opportunity to prove it.

    Peace to you all,
    Maya

  144. Jane
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 16:17:56

    @Maya – is it really peaceful to hope that “karma” comes and visits ill favor upon those who “vigorously condemn and mock” the author. In other words, do you see the hypocrisy in your own comment?

  145. free psychic chat, free psychic reading
    Dec 11, 2013 @ 21:27:54

%d bloggers like this: