Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Friday Film Review: Jab We Met (When We Met)

Jab We Met (When We Met) (2007)

Genre: Romantic Comedy

Grade: B

“Changing fortunes await wealthy but dejected industrialist Aditya (Shahid Kapoor) when he meets a spirited chatterbox named Geet (Kareena Kapoor) on a train in this breezy romantic comedy from Bollywood director Imtiaz Ali. Nursing a broken heart, Aditya ends up traveling with the impulsive Geet, who’s on her way to elope with her secret beau. But fate has other plans, and soon Geet and Aditya are thrust together again … perhaps for keeps.”

Since I started watching Bollywood/Kollywood films, I’ve discovered that I don’t like nearly all of them. Sometimes it’s the actors (I can’t stand Rani Muhkerjee) or the plots that veer from frantic fun to drama in the second half (Om Shanti Om) and I’ve sadly returned quite a few to Netflix after hoping they’d work for me as reviews. This time, I determined I’d just watch this one and not get my hopes up at all. And happily, that seemed to be just the ticket as I ended up enjoying it a lot.

Kareena Kapoor is perfect as breezy Geet who can talk a mile a minute and usually has a cheery smile on her face. Her motto in life is live it to the fullest and only regret what you haven’t tried. She works on the Law of Attraction and thinks that what you want to happen to you will happen to you if you want it badly enough. She’s also spontaneous and fun and gets Aditya to join in even when he initially might balk such as when she decides this is the perfect time to jump off a dock into a shallow river. After all, you never know if such a chance will come again. Geet is a character you the viewer just have to relax and go with.

Shahid Kapoor makes Aditya a likable and sympathetic guy. I never once sat back and thought “Oh, cry me a river, poor little rich boy.” He does get irritated at Geet at times but quickly realizes she’s opened up a whole new side of his personality and made him a better person. During the first half of the film, it’s like watching a parched plant soak up water and come to life again. It’s also obvious that he’s starting to care for her and only leaves her (at about the halfway mark) because he wants her to be happy with the man she’s said she wants to marry.

The film depends on some misunderstandings to keep the plot going as Geet hasn’t told her family about the first man she wants to marry for fear they won’t approve and the family must believe there is a relationship between the Geet and Aditya during the final third of the film in order to keep throwing those two together until they finally acknowledge the fact that they’re perfect for each other. However, since similar things are so common in romance novels, this didn’t bother me too much.

The film is fairly fast paced and intensely colorful in that wonderful way of Indian films. There aren’t that many musical numbers but I found myself liking the ones that are there. They’re fun to watch, the lyrics are good and the beats had me bouncing along and trying a few dance steps much to the amusement of my kitties. Some Bollywood film dances are starting to look more like pole tryouts at the local strip club but with the (slight) exception of the final number, that’s avoided here.

“Jab We Met” has the flavor of Hollywood screwball comedies – watch for the wild taxi ride Aditya takes Geet on in order to try and get her back to her train – rounded out with a touch of “she makes him a better man” depth. The 155 minute length seems to zip by and for much of it, I had an almost permanent smile on my face. Looks like I still need some help refining what I like in Bollywood/Kollywood films but this one is a winner for me.

~Jayne

Another long time reader who read romance novels in her teens, then took a long break before started back again about 15 years ago. She enjoys historical romance/fiction best, likes contemporaries, action- adventure and mysteries, will read suspense if there's no TSTL characters and is currently reading very few paranormals.

50 Comments

  1. Charlie
    May 04, 2012 @ 05:34:32

    I haven’t kept up with the newer releases since it started to lost the sensual in favour of sexual, but this is one I want to see because I loved the soundtrack. Glad to hear it’s a bit more like the early 2000s.

  2. Jayne
    May 04, 2012 @ 06:10:31

    @Charlie: The musical numbers are fun vs me feeling like the dancers are doing nothing but swiveling and shaking their thangs in my face.

  3. Suleikha Snyder
    May 04, 2012 @ 06:51:47

    Jab We Met is a film that all my cousins like but that I can never quite warm up to, no matter how many times I’ve seen it. I think it’s in part because Geet is such a Manic Pixie Dream Girl and, then, because the film sort of drops off when Geet and Aditya part ways and Geet disappears. I’ve somehow gotten it into my head that she was off having a baby. There’s a point where, I think, they even say she’s MIA for nine months. So, no matter how many times I watch it, I expect to find out that this is the source of her angst and why Aditya has to become the free spirit helping her. It would certainly make more sense than “Oh, I got dumped and can’t show my face to my family.”

    There’s also the fact that I have an irrational dislike of Shahid Kapoor…

  4. Kim T.
    May 04, 2012 @ 07:19:14

    This is one of the films that started my Hindi film obsession! I now own over 100 titles and I have a few favorite actors who are predominately working in the regional industries like Vikram in the Tamil film industry. JWM was among the first films I watched after Jodhaa Akhbar and Dhoom 2. It has a very special place in modern Bollywood romantic film history. I’d say after DDLJ, it’s one of the most influential in the last 25 years. I’d recommend the recent film Tere Naal Love Ho Gaya with Genelia D’Souza…it’s very similar to Jab We Met (even too similar). And Genelia, who I actually like usually, has perfected the Manic Pixie Dream Girl role.

    Also highly recommend Mere Brother Ki Dulhan for another upbeat, romantic film. Imran Khan and Ali Zafar are adorable as brothers and Miss Indian Barbie Katrina Kaif is actually quite good in this one.

  5. Kim T.
    May 04, 2012 @ 07:23:31

    Suleikha, I never thought of it this way, but you’re absolutely right that when Geet is away for so long in Simla that it could be read as her giving birth! As for Shahid, I’m a big fan (of his dancing especially), but his off-screen personality seems a little iffy. And Kareena Kapoor just cracks me up (in a good way). She’s such a diva!

  6. Jennifer Crowley
    May 04, 2012 @ 07:25:41

    @Kim T.: you should do a guest review here, I’d love to know more about the bollywood movie you mentioned.

  7. Suleikha Snyder
    May 04, 2012 @ 07:42:28

    Kim T: I have to check out Mere Brother Ki Dulhan. I love Imran Khan and think Ali Zafar is a cutie. I go back and forth on Katrina, but she’s in one of my favorite rom-coms, Namastey London, so I have to overall give her a free pass. Particularly since NL is such a great departure from the typical desi alphahole roles that Akshay Kumar plays. I love seeing him being a sensitive, heart-on-his-sleeve, fairly liberated hero!

  8. Jayne
    May 04, 2012 @ 07:55:09

    @Suleikha Snyder: Yes, I remember 9 months being mentioned. And that reason certainly does make more sense than being merely miffed at her boyfriend not wanting to marry her.

  9. Jayne
    May 04, 2012 @ 07:57:46

    I’m looking to add this film to my collection but there appear to be a couple of dvd editions out there. Can anyone tell me what is on the extra DVD in the 2 DVD version that I’ve seen for sale? Also is there a widescreen version or just a full screen one?

  10. Jayne
    May 04, 2012 @ 07:58:38

    @Jennifer Crowley: Yes! That makes two of us.

  11. Meredith Duran
    May 04, 2012 @ 08:14:28

    I’m not a huge fan of Shahid Kapoor but I really liked this film. It finally won me over to the charms of Kareena Kapoor, and I thought the script was clever and polished. With the emphasis on falling in love while traveling by train, it felt somewhat similar to the classic that Kim T. mentioned (Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jayenge, which really singlehandedly revived the entire genre of romance after two decades heavy on action- and revenge-oriented films).

    I’d say the late 1990s/early 2000s were really the high point for full-on romance (or “family romance” as some scholars call it), undiluted by action or overbearing comedy subplots. I think I’ve recommended it before, here, but Kuch Kuch Hota Hai (1998) is the first Hindi film I really fell in love with. It’s unbearably cheesy in the first half hour, but if you can push through and get comfortable with the urge to wince at bad child actors and the cartoonish faux-American high school setting, it eventually turns into an epic melodrama about a girl in love with her best friend, who’s obviously her soulmate only he doesn’t know it (and is madly in love with the popular, “pretty” girl — pretty in quotes, here, since our tomboy heroine is gorgeous in her own right). Cue EIGHT YEARS of major angst. The second half of that film was a revelation to me, since I’d never realized before how epic cinematic romance can be when you’ve got two and a half hours to make a mess and then work it out!

    Like I said, though, the viewer’s tolerance for cheeze needs to be pretty high. (At which point, the over-the-top quality becomes appealing in its own right!)

  12. Suleikha Snyder
    May 04, 2012 @ 09:01:35

    Meredith: I’ve probably already mentioned this to you, but Kuch Kuch Hota Hai is one of my ALL TIME favorite movies. I even reference it (multiple times!) in my novella. I recommend it to anyone who wants to get a taste of everything Bollywood has to offer! Except epic dhishum-dhishum fight scenes. It doesn’t have any of those.

  13. Jayne
    May 04, 2012 @ 09:11:43

    @Meredith Duran: @Suleikha Snyder: Eight years of angst? Hmmmm. And how much Rani Mukherjee is there in this film? Honestly, I can’t stand her.

    A quick look at the reviews at Netflix have me confused. The blurb makes it sound like nothing but drama and melodrama but reviewers mention “comedy” and “fun loving.”

  14. Suleikha Snyder
    May 04, 2012 @ 09:20:24

    @Jayne Rani Mukherjee is only in the first half of the film! She’s not the primary heroine; that’s Kajol! Still, it might be a lot for you, as she’s a key part of the narrative. KKHH has both comedy and drama. We don’t SEE all eight years of angst. It’s a flashback/flashforward situation. There’s pretty much equal parts tears and laughter…and basketball! And Salman Khan in a great supporting role!

  15. Lady Jaye
    May 04, 2012 @ 09:31:38

    I haven’t seen this one yet. I also haven’t kept up with the latest movies for the same reasons Charlie mentioned. But truly, apart from a few oldies (khoon bhari maang is my all time fave bollywood movie) – I tend to like the excessive cheese Karan Johar movies have, and I love to watch Kajol in action (she is phenomenal), even in the duds.

    Jayne you HAVE to see Kuch Kuch Hota HAi! And throw in kabhi kushi labhi gham while we are at it. Those were the movies that made me fall in love with bollywood.

    Omkara is probably the best movie I’ve seen in terms of depth and seriousness and acting. Saif ali khan, konkona sharma and ajay devgn put on SUCH good performances, I couldn’t believe my eyes (esp about Saif and Ajay)

  16. Lady Jaye
    May 04, 2012 @ 09:36:32

    @Meredith Duran: the gazebo scene in kkhh is one of the most romantic I’ve seen in any movie or book anywhere. Still gives me goosebumps and a lump in my throat :D

  17. Jayne
    May 04, 2012 @ 11:00:33

    Alright. Y’all have convinced me to give KKHH a try. I’ll be watching for the gazebo scene.

  18. Suleikha Snyder
    May 04, 2012 @ 11:15:11

    @Jayne: It’s basically The Gazebo Scene. Anyone who has seen the movie immediately knows what you’re talking about when you say it! ;-).

  19. Little Red
    May 04, 2012 @ 13:22:41

    LOVE Kuch Kuch Hota Hai! Rani is only in the flashback scenes so I think you can handle it. It’s Kajol and SRK from beginning to end.

    I tried watching Jab We Met but since I can’t take Kareena Kapoor in such huge doses, I couldn’t sit through this film.

    Another good Bollywood film that I just recently saw, on the flight back from the UK, was 3 Idiots starring the phenomenal Aamir Khan with a supporting role for Kareena Kapoor. It was very funny and I had to restrain myself from laughing out loud in order to not disturb my fellow passengers.

  20. Little Red
    May 04, 2012 @ 13:26:05

    @Little Red: Another one I really like is “Mujhse Dosti Karogi?” which stars both Kareena and Rani with Hrithik Roshan as the male lead. I find myself surprisingly obsessed with it. I think it might have something to do with the way Hrithik’s nostrils flare during the poolhouse scene. :) This might be another good candidate for a Friday Film Review post.

  21. lady jaye
    May 04, 2012 @ 14:39:33

    Rab ne Bana di Jodi is really cheesy but has a few very powerful moments that are well worth it :D

    I love Dhoom!

  22. Jayne
    May 04, 2012 @ 14:58:24

    @Little Red: I have 3 Idiots in my Netflix queue! “Mujhse Dosti Karogi!” is streamable so despite Rani, I’ll give that one a try.

  23. Alisha Rai
    May 04, 2012 @ 15:22:14

    I liked this movie, and chalked up the melodrama over her boyfriend leaving her to, well, melodrama. But, yeah, it made it hard to relate to the chick.

    It’s a little older, but Aaja Nachle remains one of my all time favorite Bollywood movies. A great plot, and music and dances that are stunning.

  24. Kim T.
    May 04, 2012 @ 16:43:13

    Love when romance novel fans and Bollywood fans come together…always get the best recommendations from the discussion! I think I can second almost every recommendation or comment here! Little Red, since I was a Hrithik fan before I became a bona fide Bollywood fan, I love Mujhse Dosti Karoge, too. I know exactly what you mean by the nostril flaring in the pool house and there’s all of that sexy pouting and attitude in the second half. Whenever he grabs Rani’s wrist, I swoon!

    The gazebo scene in KKHH…:)

    Meredith, if I’m not mistaken you’re one of three of the best romance novelists out there (along with Sherry Thomas and Meljean Brook) who are Bollywood fans, too! Sherry once posted a fan video I made of Dhoom 2 on her page:) Would love to see you all collaborate on a Bollywood-inspired anthology!

    Aaja Nachle , K3G, and Omkara are in my top ten Bollywood favorites (mentioned above). Omkara’s the movie I recommend to cinema geeks (and snobs) when they think Bollywood is all “song and dance.”

    Has anyone seen Chori Chori with Ajay Devgn and Rani Mukherjee? It’s an older one where the heroine pretends to be the hero’s fiance without his knowledge and then, when he finds out, they decide to keep the pretense going to make his ex jealous. I really liked it. Of course, I’ve developed a thing for Ajay after seeing Singham. Roar! Kajol’s a lucky lady!

  25. Kim T.
    May 04, 2012 @ 16:58:41

    Suleikha, just found your website and can’t wait to check out your books! Thanks for the dose of John Abraham, too:)

    Off to watch Saifeena in Agent Vinod (which came today in the mail!). Did I already say I’m a little obsessed with all things Bollywood?

  26. lady jaye
    May 04, 2012 @ 17:14:15

    @Kim T.: I began to see Ajay as sexy after seeing him in Omkara (that movie blew me AWAY!) Before then I couldn’t for the life of me see the dude as remotely inbteresting.

  27. Meredith Duran
    May 04, 2012 @ 17:52:09

    Yes, sigh, the gazebo scene! And also the “accidental brush” during the basketball game (though the conclusion of said game irks me every time I watch the film).

    Jayne, what is it you dislike about Rani? I know people who flat out refuse to watch her films because her voice is like nails down a chalkboard to them. (This mystifies me; I’d love to sound like her.)

    Kim, Little Red, I also loved Mujhse Dosti Karoge! The medley is one of my favorite dance numbers of all time. And while we’re on the matter of awesome Hindi romances, Parineeta remains one of my favorites. Vidya Balan’s debut, so gorgeously filmed. Anyone seen it? (And I’m repeating myself: I just checked via google and saw I recommended it way back in 2010, in the comments following Jayne’s review of Bride and Prejudice… ah, well, it’s a film that deserves all the love it can get!)

  28. Meredith Duran
    May 04, 2012 @ 17:54:28

    *Hindi film romances, that is. Can’t believe I forgot the pivotal word, especially since I’m always grumbling about instances in which people get “Hindi” confused with “Hindu” or “Indian.” Sheesh!

  29. Jayne
    May 04, 2012 @ 18:13:57

    @Meredith Duran: In the roles I’ve seen her in, I find her annoying and obnoxious. To the point that if I could stab her through the TV screen, it would already have been done.

  30. Kim T.
    May 04, 2012 @ 18:24:07

    Jayne, that’s some serious dislike of the Rani! I do quite like her, but the one I can’t stand is Priyanka Chopra. They keep pairing her with Hrithik and she’s just awful. Agneepath barely missed being ruined for me by her supporting role.

    Meredith, Parineeta is one of my favorites, too! That opening sequence where Saif goes next door and you’re not sure what is going on, then the confrontation on the stairs blew me away. I knew at that point I was watching a different kind of Hindi film romance. Made me want to read the classic Indian novel it’s based on, too. Vidya is just luminous and fierce in everything she does. Loved her in Salaam-E-Ishq (Bollywood’s Love Actually), Kismat Konnection (there’s a great reference to the lantern scene with Sanjay Dutt in Parineeta), Ishqiya and, of course, The Dirty Picture. I would love to see her paired with Hrithik, but so many actors seem intimidated by her.

  31. Liz C
    May 04, 2012 @ 21:26:04

    Jab We Met is definitely one of those movies I can watch again and again. The scene on the train in Simla when Geet asks if Aditya if he’s falling in love with her, and he says “that’s my problem”- love it to pieces. I also have to put in a plug for the Tamil remake, Kanden Kadhalai. It had one scene during the second half that was slightly darker (in the vein of Tamil films), that really underscored the stakes of the hero finding the heroine.

    Kim T: I just put Tere Naal Love Ho Gaya on pause to write this reply!

  32. Lady Jaye
    May 05, 2012 @ 03:03:27

    @Meredith Duran: That brush gives me butterflies in my stomach when I see it. Gives western movies a run for their money with showcasing sensuality/sexual attraction. Yeah, but the ending of that game sucked :)

  33. Jayne
    May 05, 2012 @ 03:52:06

    @Liz C: Netflix doesn’t have “Kanden Kadhalai” and the only youtube version doesn’t seem to have Eng. subtitles, darn it.

  34. Jasveen Sahota
    May 05, 2012 @ 04:37:41

    For all Ajay Devgn fans Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam is one movie not to be missed, he has Salman Khan and Ashwariya Rai for company. A beautifully filmed picture, with lovely music and all things Indian, though instead of Italy (where it is supposedly set in the second half) it has been shot in Austria.

  35. NCKat
    May 05, 2012 @ 08:47:50

    I love Hum Tum and KKG3. I actually like Rani Mukerjee – she’s a lot better than some of the other actresses on the screen, including Piryana Chopra. But it’s the men I really love, especially SRK, Saif Ali Khan, Amitabh Bachchan, and Ranbir Kapoor, who was really good in Wake Up, Sid.

    Like a lot of the posters here, KKHH is one of my top ten Bollywood films.

  36. bonnie dee
    May 05, 2012 @ 11:52:40

    Thanks for the review. I’ve added it to my Netflix queue. I haven’t had much luck finding Bollywood films I could make it all the way through without starting to fast forward. Maybe this is the one.

  37. Meredith Duran
    May 05, 2012 @ 12:02:09

    Jayne — hmm, that’s some serious Rani aversion. ;) Maybe I take back my KKHH rec. On the bright side, she’s absent for the second half (which is what we’re all squeeing about), so…

    That said, if you do watch it, I hope you’ll review it! I adore your film reviews and I’d love to hear what you think of the non-Rani bits!

  38. Aly_C
    May 05, 2012 @ 13:13:23

    Can I make a recommendation for a Friday Film? Watch “The Classic”! It’s beautiful!

    Watch it! You won’t regret it!

  39. Little Red
    May 06, 2012 @ 14:42:49

    @Jayne: Holy cow! Maybe you shouldn’t watch “Mujhse Dosti Karogi!” though perhaps Kareena’s presence will help counteract Rani for you.

    I, on the other hand, love her voice, find it incredibly sexy, and think she is a very versatile actress. I don’t think I haven’t like anything with her in it.

    And I’m off to add “Parineeta” to my Netflix queue.

    “Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam” is a wonderful movie and I highly recommend it.

  40. Nessa
    May 06, 2012 @ 15:04:32

    Please, please review KKHH! I’ve seen it so many times, I know all the dialogues, but it’s still my favourite movie for when I’m down.

    Also, it’s not a love story, but for those who liked Omkara, watch Rajneeti. Both Ajay Devgn and Ranbir Kapoor are phenomenal!

  41. NCKat
    May 06, 2012 @ 16:41:39

    I’d like to add a request a review for the film “Swades,” for which I love the music as well as the strong female lead. :)

  42. dri
    May 07, 2012 @ 02:22:59

    @Kim T.: Chori Chori, yes! Adorable film but only if you’re willing to watch a Bollywood remake of Housesitter!

    Wait, was it Houseitter or French Kiss? One of the two … Ajay’s been in a remake of both, I know that much.

    Also, add me to the voices adoring the Gazebo scene. That red sari against his black clothes. The hand and then the engagement ring! Oh god, so hot, so nnnngghhhh *faint* … As much as I adore Rani in … god, what was that fantastic film with her and Saif when she’s … Hum Tum! As much as I adore her in Hum Tum and as fantastic as she was in Black, I’m a ShahRukh/Kajol girl aaaaaallll the way right up to My Name Is Khan. :p

    @NCKat: Gosh, yes, excellent pic! I was so ready to loathe that film. It totally won me over. Marvellous powerful stuff.

  43. dri
    May 07, 2012 @ 02:50:22

    Gawd, I got so caught up in the comments I forgot about the review itself.

    I totally totally agree about the sheer loveliness of this movie. Before it, I loathed both these actors — I used to call him Maybe Kapoor (bad pun) and I totally did not get what she was doing in Kabhi Kushie Khabi Gham until I went back to it — but yeah, they both utterly won me over. I completely arelated to the reckless effervescence of Geet, a much rarer thing in Indian femalehood (I reckon) than Western. :p But yeah, I totally see the Manic Pixe Thing now that it’s mentioned! *lol*

    (fyi, I am Indian ergo the inadvertant note of authority in that last para. Sorry! *lol*)

    My favourite favourite bit though has to be the moment in the hotel room of the embrace, that utterly breathtaking way the camera slows on his hand bracing itself on the edge of the table and then rising ever so delicately to her back. Oy vey. *fans self* So hot.

    As for recs, may I add Salaam Namaste (just ignore the Crocodile Dundee guy even though he’s a brilliant actor and totally unworthy of that awful part) for the closest depiction of non-resident Indian sexual/love ethics I’ve ever seen apart from Love Aaj Kal, and definitely Omkara and U Me Aur Hum (amazing film except for the hideous title) and Fanaa which has to be one of the best Hindi fillums ever?

    Also, if you watch DDLJ, you totally should watch Kabhi Kushi Kabhi Gham as a sort of sequel and then My Name Is Khan, just to see how ShahRukh and Kajol’s depiction of love stories and married couples subtly shift. It’s totally fascinating.

    Oh oh, and Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na. And Dil Chatha Hai. And Anjaana Anjaani. And I’ll stop now. Argh.

  44. Jayne
    May 07, 2012 @ 03:18:19

    @Aly_C: @NCKat: Thanks for both these suggestions. I’ve added Swades to my Netflix queue and The Classic to my youtube favs to check out later.

  45. Jayne
    May 07, 2012 @ 03:48:13

    @dri: My Netflix queue is growing by leaps and bounds! Thanks for the additional recs.

  46. ncKat
    May 07, 2012 @ 04:54:30

    @Jayne: I think Swades, Dil Se, and My Name is Khan are three Indian films that have stories that we Westerners can appreciate if we’re not familiar with Indian cinema. Dil Se contains the most famous Bollywood song by AR Rahman, “Chaiyya Chaiyya” with SRK and dancers on the top of a moving train as it moves up the mountain. The song is on You Tube:

    http://youtu.be/YOYN9qNXmAw

    Unfortunately the film is not. :(

    There’s a site called Bollywhat? for us Westerners who are new to Indian films – I highly recommend it.

  47. Kim T.
    May 07, 2012 @ 08:32:36

    Dri, love the “Maybe” Kapoor joke. I think I’ve picked up enough Hindi to get that! Thanks for your recs (I’ve seen most of them, but still haven’t seen U, Me Aur Hum). I think I have to move that up in my Netflix queue. Chori Chori is the remake of The Housesitter….still haven’t seen the French Kiss remake with Ajay and Kajol. Love the original with Kevin Kline and Meg Ryan. I tried to watch the Sabrina remake with Kajol, Saif and Akshay a while back and couldn’t get into it. I think it might have been Akshay’s bad hair or something:)

    On a somewhat related topic and since there may be crossover interest here, I’m always looking for good desi romance and chick-lit book recommendations. Any books (romances or ficition with romantic elements) set in India or with Indian (or South Asian) characters to recommend? (I’ve been trying to get my hands on the first two Mills & Boon titles written by Indian authors (The Love Asana and His Monsoon Bride), but don’t want to shell out too much for shipping. I’ve started a collection of M&B/Harlequin novels set in India or with Indian characters and would love to read these!)

  48. Jayne
    May 07, 2012 @ 08:42:22

    @Kim T.: I’d love to get some reading recs as well. If you click on “India” in the tags section at the bottom of the review, it will pull up two pages with book and movie reviews we’ve done here. Granted most of the books are historicals but there are a few contemporary ones there too.

  49. Jayne
    May 07, 2012 @ 10:40:22

    Kim T has kindly agreed to write an “If You Like…” post for DA featuring Indian/SE Asian characters and/or settings so be thinking of any so we can all top off our towering TBR mountains. ;)

  50. Lesley
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 17:55:34

    I have a book recommendation, for an Indian themed romance: Imaginary Men by Anjali Banerjee. I’m also a big Bollywood fan — you should definitely check out the website http://www.bollywhat.com, the forum in particular. I second the recommendations for Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na as well as Swades. Another one you should DEFINITELY check out is Band Baaja Baarat — the chemistry between Anushka Sharma and Ranveer Kapoor is really amazing and her clothes are to die for. Oh, one of the admins of the bollywhat site (Meredith McGuire) wrote a book Bollywood Becomes Her that you might like too.

%d bloggers like this: