Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Historical fiction, paranormal romance, a modern classic, and a critically acclaimed...

Lady of the English Elizabeth ChadwickLady of the English by Elizabeth Chadwick. $0.99

Jacket Copy

One Queen, One Empress, and the Crown the Would Define Them Both

Matilda, daughter of Henry I, knows that there are those who will not accept her as England’s queen when her father dies. But the men who support her rival Stephen do not know the iron will that drives her.

Adeliza, Henry’s widowed queen and Matilda’s stepmother, is now married to a warrior who fights to keep Matilda off the throne. But Adeliza, born with a strength that can sustain her through heartrending pain, knows that the crown belongs to a woman this time.

Several of the Elizabeth Chadwick books are on sale for $.99

Scarlet Lion
To Defy a King
Greatest Knight
For the King’s Favor
Place Beyond Courage

Chadwick is called, by some, one of the best medieval fiction writers.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple

Marked by Moonlight by Sharie KohlerMarked by Moonlight by Sharie Kohler. $0.99

Jacket Copy

Seemingly overnight, Claire Morgan has transformed: the normally mousy school-teacher is now bold, and her behavior is truly wild. Her eyes gleam silver. Suddenly she’s a self-confident femme fatale with a libido that just won’t quit. After an impulsive makeover, she’s even…dare she say it?…sexy. Is Claire going insane?

Then brutally handsome stranger Gideon March tells her she was bitten by a werewolf, and Claire figures he’s the insane one. Sure, she was attacked by a nasty dog in a back alley, but this guy stalking her says he’s a member of an underground society of lycan hunters — and his mission is to kill her immediately.

When Claire finally realizes she really is a lycan, there’s no turning back — because by now Claire and Gideon are bound by a hungry passion. If they can’t break the curse by the next full moon, Claire’s soul will be lost forever and Gideon will be forced to terminate his prey — a woman dangerously close to devouring him, heart and soul.

Sharie Kohler is a pseudonym for historial author Sophie Jordan. The reviews indicate this book is heavy on the sarcasm and sex, but light on everything else.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple

The Eyre Affair by Jasper FfordeThe Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde. $2.99

Jacket Copy

The first installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series of Thursday Next novels introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England

Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde’s Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it’s a bibliophile’s dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Brontë’s novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde’s ingenious fantasy—enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel—unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix.

This is the first book in the Thursday Next series. I highly recommend reading at least this book. Fforde’s concept was unique and fresh when he first introduced the series in 2001.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryApple

The Art of Fielding by 1.99The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach. $1.99

Jacket Copy

At Westish College, baseball star Henry Skrimshander seems destined for big league until a routine throw goes disastrously off course. In the aftermath of his error, the fates of five people are upended. Henry’s fight against self-doubt threatens to ruin his future. College president Guert Affenlight has fallen unexpectedly and helplessly in love. Owen Dunne becomes caught up in a dangerous affair. Mike Schwartz realizes he has guided Henry’s career at the expense of his own. And Pella Affenlight returns to Westish after escaping an ill-fated marriage, determined to start a new life.

As the season counts down to its climactic final game, these five are forced to confront their deepest hopes, anxieties, and secrets. Written with boundless intelligence and filled with the tenderness of youth, “The Art of Fielding is mere baseball fiction the way Moby Dick is just a fish story” (Nicholas Dawidoff). It is an expansive, warmhearted novel about ambition and its limits, about family and friendship and love, and about commitment—to oneself and to others.

One of the New York Times Book Review’s Top 10 Books of 2011

It sounds like a new adult book. “A magical, melancholy story about friendship and coming of age.”

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryApple

On the Island by Tracey Garvis Graves On the Island by Tracey Garvis Graves. $1.99.

From Jacket Copy:

Two people stranded on an island struggle to survive—and slowly fall in love—in the runaway New York Times bestseller from the author of the forthcoming novel COVET.

Anna Emerson is a thirty-year-old English teacher desperately in need of adventure. Worn down by the cold Chicago winters and a relationship that’s going nowhere, she jumps at the chance to spend the summer on a tropical island tutoring sixteen-year-old T.J.

T.J. Callahan has no desire to go anywhere. His cancer is in remission and he wants to get back to his normal life. But his parents are insisting he spend the summer in the Maldives catching up on all the school he missed last year.

Anna and T.J. board a private plane headed to the Callahan’s summer home, and as they fly over the Maldives’ twelve hundred islands, the unthinkable happens. Their plane crashes in shark-infested waters. They make it to shore, but soon discover that they’re stranded on an uninhabited island.

At first, their only thought is survival. But as the days turn to weeks, and then months, the castaways encounter plenty of other obstacles, including violent tropical storms, the many dangers lurking in the sea, and the possibility that T.J.’s cancer could return. As T.J. celebrates yet another birthday on the island, Anna begins to wonder if the biggest challenge of all might be living with a boy who is gradually becoming a man.

This is one of the early self published books that was picked up for seven figures. January reviewed it for Dear Author

I picked up your book because it is everywhere lately. The concept of the teen boy-older woman romance is pretty repellant to me, but over 700 positive reviews on Amazon for a self-published book told me I should give this one a try. I read it, and I can see why it appeals so much. It’s a quick, easy read with a sweet romantic storyline at the center. If you’re looking for something soothing and nice, this is the book for you. If you are looking for controversy, keep looking.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryApple

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

2 Comments

  1. cleo
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 14:42:22

    The Thursday Next series is one of those series that I’ve been kind of interested in for awhile – the price is right to actually add it to my TBR pile.

    ReplyReply

  2. Darlynne
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 19:41:12

    @cleo: Go for it, seriously. The first blurb I read back when the book came out was that no one was happy with the ending of Jane Eyre. Such a ridiculous premise–how could anyone be unhappy with that ending? And there in lies a clever and inventive tale. My heart is not big enough to hold all the love I have for this series. /fangirl

    ReplyReply

Leave a Reply


5 + 5 =

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

%d bloggers like this: