Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: World War 1 romance, frigid killings, early deaths

Somewhere in France: A Novel of the Great War by Jennifer RobsonSomewhere in France by Jennifer Robson. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Lady Elizabeth Neville-Ashford wants to travel the world, pursue a career, and marry for love. But in 1914, the stifling restrictions of aristocratic British society and her mother’s rigid expectations forbid Lily from following her heart. When war breaks out, the spirited young woman seizes her chance for independence. Defying her parents, she moves to London and eventually becomes an ambulance driver in the newly formed Women’s Army Auxiliary Corps — an exciting and treacherous job that takes her close to the Western Front.

Assigned to a field hospital in France, Lilly is reunited with Robert Fraser, her dear brother Edward’s best friend. The handsome Scottish surgeon has always encouraged Lily’s dreams. She doesn’t care that Robbie grew up in poverty — she yearns for their friendly affection to become something more. Lilly is the most beautiful — and forbidden — woman Robbie has ever known. Fearful for her life, he’s determined to keep her safe, even if it means breaking her heart.

In a world divided by class, filled with uncertainty and death, can their hope for love survive. . . or will it become another casualty of this tragic war?

We had a giveaway for this book because it looked interesting.

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

The Hurt Locker by Mark BoalThe Hurt Locker by Mark Boal. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

One of the most critically acclaimed war films in recent memory, The Hurt Locker is a riveting, extraordinary tale of courage and survival on the Baghdad bomb squad, directed by Kathryn Bigelow, from a script by Mark Boal, who researched the material by traveling to the war in Iraq. Boal’s screenplay follows the layered, complex relationship between three soldiers who are thrown together in the crucible of combat—with only 38 days left in their tour. Starring Jeremy Renner, Anthony Mackie, Brian Geraghty, and Evangeline Lilly, with Guy Pearce, Ralph Fiennes, and David Morse.

This Newmarket Shooting Script® Book includes:

Exclusive Introduction by Kathyrn Bigelow
Complete shooting script
16-page color insert with 23 color photos
Production Notes
Storyboards
Complete cast and crew credits

I don’t know about the book but the movie is derided by many in the military despite the awards Bigelow received.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREAppleGoogle

Cover of Snow: A Novel Jenny MilchmanCover of Snow by Jenny Milchman. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Jenny Milchman’s Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.

Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide.

The first few hours following Nora’s devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them.

Unraveling her late husband’s final days, Nora searches for an explanation—but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan’s best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown . . . and its darkest secrets hidden.

There are several points of view in the book and negative reviews point to this as creating a disjointed and confusing narrative. However, it may be the perfect book to read during the Polar Vortex.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Last Night at the Viper Room: River Phoenix and the Hollywood He Left BehindLast Night at the Viper Room: River Phoenix and the Hollywood He Left Behind by Gavin Edwards. $ 2.99.

From the Jacket Copy:

Overview
In Last Night at the Viper Room, acclaimed author and journalist Gavin Edwards vividly recounts the life and tragic death of acclaimed actor River Phoenix—a teen idol on the fast track to Hollywood royalty who died of a drug overdose in front of West Hollywood’s storied club, the Viper Room, at the age of 23.

Last Night at the Viper Room explores the young star’s life, including his childhood in Venezuela growing up under the aegis of the cultish Children of God. Putting him at the center of a new generation of leading men emerging in the early 1990s— including Johnny Depp, Keanu Reeves, Brad Pitt, Nicolas Cage, and Leonardo DiCaprio—Gavin Edwards traces the Academy Award nominee’s meteoric rise, couches him in an examination of the 1990s, and illuminates his lasting legacy on Hollywood and popular culture itself.

I knew River Phoenix had died young but I forgot just how young. In today’s harsh spotlight, it’s unlikely he would have been able to hide his drug addictions. Maybe it would have saved him or maybe it would have propelled him to an even earlier end.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

5 Comments

  1. JJPP
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 12:25:54

    I didn’t realize The Hurt Locker was received badly by people in the military. I knew that Zero Dark Thirty was controversial, but maybe I just wasn’t paying attention when Hurt Locker came out! I thought it was really good. (Then again, I wouldn’t know any better if the depiction was flawed.)

    Somewhere in France looks interesting.

    ReplyReply

  2. Angela
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 13:29:55

    The Hurt Locker (the movie) is what finally cemented the fact (for me) that whoever picks the awards and myself don’t mesh on tastes. I thought that was an awful, boring, poorly depicted story.

    Somewhere in France looks pretty interesting. I might have to grab that one.

    ReplyReply

  3. Kris Bock
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 15:18:42

    I’m on a listserv for mystery lovers, and Cover of Snow has gotten a lot of praise there. I haven’t read it, though.

    ReplyReply

  4. Hanna Martine
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 17:55:51

    When River died, I remember thinking that he was “older”. Now it makes me so sad to look back and realize how much talent was wasted. Can you imagine all those child stars from the 80s growing up in today’s social media world?

    ReplyReply

  5. cleo
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 18:48:05

    I’d forgotten that River was 23 when he died, and I’d forgotten that I was also 23. I remember hearing it on the radio and I have a vivid memory of walking through my apartment to tell my roommate the news, so I guess it stayed with me, although I don’t remember being devestated, just shocked. He was the first star I’d grown up with to die.

    ReplyReply

Leave a Reply

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

%d bloggers like this: