Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: Vampires, Bad guys, and Spies

Some Girls BiteSome Girls Bite by Chloe Neill. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

First in a brand new series about a Chicago graduate student’s introduction into a society of vampires.

Sure, the life of a graduate student wasn’t exactly glamorous, but it was Merit’s. She was doing fine until a rogue vampire attacked her. But he only got a sip before he was scared away by another bloodsucker-and this one decided the best way to save her life was to make her the walking undead.

Turns out her savior was the master vampire of Cadogan House. Now she’s traded sweating over her thesis for learning to fit in at a Hyde Park mansion full of vamps loyal to Ethan ‘Lord o’ the Manor? Sullivan. Of course, as a tall, green-eyed, four-hundred- year-old vampire, he has centuries? worth of charm, but unfortunately he expects her gratitude? and servitude. But an inconvenient sunlight allergy and Ethan’s attitude are the least of her concerns. Someone’s still out to get her. Her initiation into Chicago’s nightlife may be the first skirmish in a war-and there will be blood.

The days of the wise cracking, paranormal creature killing UF girls seems like a generation ago when in fact the boom was only less than a decade past. I know Angie James is a big fan of the series.

Library Journal says “Joining the ranks of authors of urban vampire fiction, Neill creates a strong-minded, sharp-witted heroine who will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse series and Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake stories. A good choice for most urban fantasy collections.”

AmazonBNKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Little Black BookLittle Black Book by Tabatha VaLittle Black Book by Tabatha Vargo.rgo. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

My name’s Sebastian Black, and I want to buy you. I could have any woman I want, but I choose you.
NO RELATIONSHIP, JUST SEX.

Here’s my offer…
I’ll put your name in my LITTLE BLACK BOOK, and when I want you, I’ll call you. When I call, you’re going to come, in more ways than one. It will be mutually pleasurable for both of us.

There are only two rules:
DON’T EVER DENY ME.
DON’T FALL IN LOVE.

If you do either, I’ll remove you from my book and payment stops.

Do we have an understanding?

I’ve been curious about this book that was released a month or so ago and now it’s 99c. Time to buy. Oh wait, I FORGOT THE SPOILER IN THIS BOOK and the reason I hadn’t bought it in the first place. Maybe I’ll wait until it’s free….

The spoiler is

Spoiler (spoiler): Show

The heroine’s parents were murdered when she was a child. It is revealed late in the book that Sebastian’s foster sister and current assistant did it and that Sebastian knew about it and covered for his friend. He is sorry but doesn’t do anything about it and it ends with the heroine simply accepting the fact that the murder of her parents will go unaddressed.

 

AmazonBNKoboBook DepositoryAREAppleGoogle

Lord and Lady Spy by Shana GalenLord and Lady Spy by Shana Galen. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

No man can outsmart him…

Lord Adrian Smythe may appear a perfectly boring gentleman, but he leads a thrilling life as one of England’s most preeminent spies, an identity so clandestine even his wife is unaware of it. But he isn’t the only one with secrets…

She’s been outsmarting him for years…

Now that the Napoleonic wars have come to an end, daring secret agent Lady Sophia Smythe can hardly bear the thought of returning home to her tedious husband. Until she discovers in the dark of night that he’s not who she thinks he is after all…

This book has been on sale before. It’s the historical version of Mr. and Mrs. Smith. I keep thinking I’ll read it but I haven’t. (I have bought it though). Maybe now is the time? No spoiler like the one above which is a good thing.

AmazonBNKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

When We Met (Fool's Gold Book 13) by Susan MalleryWhen We Met (Fool’s Gold Book 13) by Susan Mallery. $ 1.99.

From the Jacket Copy:

New York Times bestselling author Susan Mallery invites you back to Fool’s Gold, where a newcomer to town might finally meet the man she never knew she needed…

Angel Whittaker earned his scars the hard way, but the scars that can’t be seen are the ones that haunt him the most. Since he moved to Fool’s Gold, California, he’s cobbled together a life for himself as a bodyguard trainer. If he’s not exactly happy, at least his heart is safe.

Working with pro-football superstars taught tough-talking PR woman Taryn Crawford one thing—she can go toe-to-toe with any man. But then dark, dangerous former Special Ops Angel targets her for seduction…and challenges her to resist his tempting kisses.

Even in four-inch heels, Taryn never backs down. Unless, somehow, Angel can convince her that surrender might feel even better than victory.

In the same vein of how time flies, I remember reading the first book in the Fool’s Gold series like it was yesterday. The biker and the townie? Shit. We are already on book 13? How did that happen?

AmazonBNKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

12 Comments

  1. azteclady
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 14:06:01

    Erm… the spoiler is showing as a default.

  2. Jane
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 14:07:46

    Sorry! Fixed.

  3. jody
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 14:26:04

    Thank you for the spoiler. Wow.

    Pass.

  4. Lynnd
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 14:26:20

    Thanks for the spoiler on Little Black Book. I don’t think that they could pay me to read that one (and if I did, my ereader would probably have met the wall).

  5. Sabrina P
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 14:35:20

    I agree with the others, thank you for the spoiler, I’ll pass!

  6. JJPP
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 14:44:28

    I read Lord & Lady Spy when it first came out and remember liking it quite a bit. It was quite entertaining!

  7. MrsJoseph
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 15:09:35

    O_O

    Thank you for the spoiler!

  8. MaryK
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 15:14:06

    Ugh. That spoiler is one of my hot buttons. Years ago, I stopped reading Susan Krinard for that kind of thing, and I’m still side-eying the review of her recent book.

  9. Monique D
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 17:58:31

    Thank you for the spoiler! I would have screamed. And do read Shana Galen’s book! It’s super! But the one that will come out soon is fantastic!!!! I read the ARC and I was blown away. The whole series is great!

  10. Cynthia Sax
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 19:20:34

    Yes, thank you for the spoiler. I’ve been considering buying that story also but will pass.

  11. MaryK
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 20:47:28

    BTW, spoilers are awesome.

  12. Jen
    Jul 24, 2014 @ 14:05:27

    Ugh I didn’t really get into Galen’s new book in the spy series. I just thought it wasn’t very exciting given that the heroine is named Jane Bonde. Plus there’s something in the book that really requires a spoiler/ trigger warning too. (Don’t want to spoil in comments here but other reviews do.) But I’ve heard tons of praise about it so maybe it’s just me!

%d bloggers like this: