Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: Titanic, Amish, New Adult, and Suburban destruction

The Dressmaker by Kate AlcottThe Dressmaker by Kate Alcott. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Tess, an aspiring seamstress, thinks she’s had an incredibly lucky break when she is hired by famous designer Lady Lucile Duff Gordon to be her personal maid on the Titanic. Once on board, Tess catches the eye of two men—a kind sailor and an enigmatic Chicago businessman—who offer differing views of what lies ahead for her in America. But on the fourth night, disaster strikes, and amidst the chaos, Tess is one of the last people allowed on a lifeboat.

The survivors are rescued and taken to New York, but when rumors begin to circulate about the choices they made, Tess is forced to confront a serious question. Did Lady Duff Gordon save herself at the expense of others? Torn between loyalty to Lucile and her growing suspicion that the media’s charges might be true, Tess must decide whether to stay quiet and keep her fiery mentor’s good will or face what might be true and forever change her future.

This is one part historical drama, one part personal voyage. The author takes from the transcripts of the US Senate hearings. Booklist says “for fans of Sarah Jio, Susanna Kearsley!!”

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Hard To Love You by Megan SmithButterfly Garden by Annette Blair. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

Amishwoman Sara Lapp, all but shunned for studying with the local doctor to become a midwife, is shocked that, after months of waiting, her first call comes from “Mad” Adam Zuckerman, a self-appointed outcast. Adam doesn’t want her to attend at a birth, but to tend to his children because his wife has died in childbed.

Adam wants to love his children, but he is afraid he will hurt them in the way his father hurt him. Without his late wife, Abby, to protect them, Adam must find someone else to care for the girls. He can think of only one woman brave enough, Spinster Sara Lapp, the little midwife whose passion for things beyond her control is greater than is good for her.

Though Sara knows the four little girls belong with their father, how can she leave them with a man who seems not to care for them? As much as she loves and wants the girls, she will only take them long enough to teach Adam to love them. Then Adam falls from the barn loft and Sara moves in to look after him. But in the Amish community a man and woman living together must marry or be shunned. The Bishop takes a stand and Sara and Adam are forced to face the greatest challenge of their lives.

Please Note: This is a Historical Romance in Amish setting with sexual content

I love the note at the end. One of the readers on the forums who mentioned this book made specific reference to the detailed physical intimacy scenes (which she enjoyed) and said it was an engrossing emotional read.

This is categorized as a historical read. Can I use it for my monthly historical romance goal?

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREAppleGoogle

Butterfly Garden  Annette BlairHard To Love You by Megan Smith. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

What do you do when the one you’ve always wanted becomes too Hard to Love?
Hailey Taylor’s heart has always belonged to Mason Cahill, but one secret has changed everything.

Things on the baseball field come easy for Mason Cahill. Why can’t the rest of his life be simple? Mason’s finally admitted he wants the one girl he can be himself around, but one secret destroyed that.

Their love isn’t sweet and simple. It’s hot, loud, and messy. But now, when he’s finally all in, she’s folded. Sparks fly. Tempers flare. Hearts shatter. One thing is certain… everything has changed.

Who will be too Hard to Love?

There are two others by this author but they appear to feature Mason’s sister, Mackenzie. The negative reviews say that it isn’t as good as the first two and Mason’s secret is rather silly.

Also, when I first did the post, I had the covers for the Amish book and this one flipped and it looked kind of hilarious. I felt like keeping it intentionally wrong but then my anal retentiveness kicked in.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

The Fainting Room by Sarah Pemberton StrongThe Fainting Room by Sarah Pemberton Strong. $ 1.99.

From the Jacket Copy:

Set in suburban Connecticut in 1983, The Fainting Room is about a young girl with a Philip Marlowe alter ego who becomes involved in a bizarre and ultimately destructive love triangle with a troubled married couple who take her in for the summer.

This is BN’s deal of the day and I’m not sure whether Amazon will price match it. (They usually do but at the time I did this post it was still 9.99 at Amazon). Anyway, the book has great and original characterizations but Library Journal calls it oversexed and the suburban drama is creepy.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

One Comment

  1. Kaetrin
    Jan 11, 2014 @ 23:44:44

    @Jane. If you read the Amish book, let me know how you like it. I read an Amish YA last year and I was too bothered by the misogyny to get into it.

    ReplyReply

Leave a Reply


+ 1 = 5

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

%d bloggers like this: