Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: Three historicals and a romantic thriller

The Spanish Bride by Georgette HeyerThe Spanish Bride by Georgette Heyer. $ 2.99

From the Jacket Copy:

A SOLDIER’S LOVE

Based on the true love story during the Napoleonic Wars in the Iberian peninsula. With the same ardour he so frequently displays in battle, Brigade-Major Henry George Wakelyn Smith dives headlong into marriage. In his beautiful child-bride, Juana María de los Dolores de León, he finds a kindred spirit, and a temper to match.

As he led her to his tent, the laughter of the wedding faded. Harry looked down at his little bride, and with all of his will mastered the desire to crush her in his arms.

Had he the right to lead her into a life of the cold of an officer’s tent in winter, the searing sun and horror of the summer’s battles? She was alone among foreigners, barely out of the convent, bred to the sheltered life of a noble lady. What had he done?

He looked into her eyes and read a girl’s hero-worship there. For the first time in his reckless life, Captain Smith was afraid….

Originally published in 1940.

Based on the true story of Brigade-Major Harry Smith and the very young Spanish noblewoman he met and married during the Peninsular Wars, when the Duke of Wellington’s forces fought Napoleon’s army in Spain and Portugal.

After marrying Harry Smith when she was 14 years old, Juana Smith “followed the drum” marching at the back of the troops along with the other wives and the officers’ servants. Juana became a camp favorite, charming all with her youthful enthusiasm. In spite of the danger, Juana thrived on military life and her passionate, if somewhat stormy, relationship with Harry.

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Island of the Swans by Ciji WareIsland of the Swans by Ciji Ware. $ 2.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Re-issued in its original full length, this acclaimed and bestselling romantic historical novel by award-winning author Ciji Ware tells the true story of passionate and flamboyant Jane Maxwell, the 4th Duchess of Gordon (1749-1812). In love since childhood with Thomas Fraser, when she hears that he’s been killed in America, she marries the Duke of Gordon with disastrous results. But Fraser, very much alive, returns to England to claim her love.

In addition to telling a heart-wrenching love story, Island of the Swans also paints a fascinating portrait of a powerful and controversial woman and the tumultuous era in which she lived. Patroness of poet Robert Burns, advisor to King George, painted by Sir Joshua Reynolds, Jane Maxwell was a towering figure in her own time and is an unforgettable heroine.

Mandi at SmexyBooks reviewed this book giving it a B. “Island of the Swans is the kind of book I loved reading growing up and it really was fun to read such an epic tale again. The love between Thomas and Jane is so rich and intense, and then to have Thomas reappear after she marries his archenemy – oh the tension!! They try so hard to respect her vows of marriage and move on with their lives, but true love is hard to ignore.”

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREAppleGoogle

The Black Angel by Barbara SamuelThe Black Angel by Barbara Samuel. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

Fans of Jo Beverley, Eloisa James, and Mary Balogh will love Barbara Samuel’s smart, sensual historical stories. The Black Angel is a full-length Georgian romance novel from a six-time RITA award winner.

A Taste Of Heaven

Ardor once foolishly led Lady Adriana St. Ives into the arms of a rake, an affair that cost her everything she held dear. Though that was five years ago, this golden English beauty still vows that no man will ever again ignite the sensual passion hidden deep in her soul–not even her new husband, Tynan Spenser, Earl of Glencove, a darkly handsome and rich Irish rogue.

Known as “The Black Angel” for his wild and lascivious ways, Tynan is as determined to melt his icy bride as she is to resist his seductive charms. Vowing that she will be his in just one hundred kisses, Tynan sets out to win her with a kiss each day–a challenge Riana is sure she can withstand. But the willful beauty has no idea of the power of a single kiss…

I’ve been watching the Harry Potter movies and so this guy reminds me of Gary Oldman’s Sirius Black. Wasn’t Oldman wasted in that role? I wonder if there were a ton more scenes shot with him that just got cut for brevity sake. For the record, I think movie 4 was the weakest of them although we’ve only seen 5 of them.

As for the book, I’m sure I read this one but I can’t remember how I felt about it. My general vague recollection is that early Samuel books were pretty darn good.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

If Looks Could Kill by Eileen DreyerIf Looks Could Kill by Eileen Dreyer. $ .99.

From the Jacket Copy:

Chris Jackson has secrets.
A wildly popular author of suspense novels, Chris hides away in the tiny town of Pyrite, Missouri, where she lives in a converted storefront and practices breaking-and-entering on local businesses.

Most of the citizens of Pyrite happily claim Chris as their very own celebrity. But the new police chief, Al MacNamara isn’t one of them. Recently transplanted from the mean streets of Chicago, Mac hates mysteries. And Chris Jackson is a mystery.

Then, the murders begin. Murders that look suspiciously like those in Chris’s books. Murders that escalate to a grisly stabbing that exactly mimics a story no one has read except Chris, herself.

With MacNamara’s help, Chris is forced to delve into the dark recesses of her past for answers. Is a madman stalking Chris? Or is Chris right to question her own sanity? Could she be committing the murders herself?

Originally published in 1998 by HC, this is a digital release.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

10 Comments

  1. Nicole
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 11:42:36

    Just wanted to let people know – Susanna Kearsley’s “The Firebird” is a kindle daily deal for $2.99.

  2. LeeF
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 12:56:26

    @Nicole:

    And even better- it is a Whispersync so you can get the audiobook for $1.99 when you buy the Kindle book. Great narration by Katherine Kellgren.

  3. Sunita
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 14:59:45

    The Spanish Bride is one of my favorite Heyers, but it is definitely not a standard romance novel (or a standard Heyer). It’s one of her historical fiction efforts and to my mind the most effective. It’s a great story and you learn a lot about the Spanish Campaign and what it was like both for soldiers (primarily officers) and those who accompanied them. For those who are interested, I believe Harry Smith’s autobiography is available online (public domain).

  4. Janine
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 15:50:51

    @Sunita: Is there bigotry in The Spanish Bride or do you think it’s safe to read on that score?

  5. Nicole
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 16:29:03

    @LeeH

    Even better! Thanks for the info…I love being able to get both for a good price.

  6. Sunita
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 16:50:45

    @Janine: Hmm, let me think. There is probably some, because Heyer did trade in stereotypes, but I don’t remember anything really egregious standing out. But my sensitive to it is pretty low, so I’m not your best gauge (I read a lot of literature written in the colonial era by the colonizers, remember, and that is full of conscious and unconscious stereotyping that I’ve basically dealt with as reflective of the era). Heyer does clearly stereotype Spaniards in other books, so there might be a little of that here.

  7. Janine
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 17:15:11

    @Sunita: Thanks, I think I’ll take a chance and buy it.

  8. The_Book_Quee
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 17:23:27

    While I love all the HP movies, and rewatch them regularly, I, of course, started with the books first. They are much better than the movies, of course. They butchered Order of the Phoenix (#5), when compared to the book. I could go on, I’m sure, but I won’t. Just had to stop in and say that! :)

  9. Amanda
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 21:54:30

    @The_Book_Quee:

    I found both Goblet of Fire and Order of the Phoenix to be rather weak movies. They tried to stuff a great deal in to those movies but so much detail was still missing.

  10. BRNZ
    Apr 07, 2014 @ 00:47:55

    Oooh Eileen Dreyer is AWESOME – this one is an oddity in that it isn’t a medical based drama but it was the first of hers I read and I loved SO MUCH that I glommed all the rest I could get on Kindle. Annoyingly the later ones arent available in NZ.

    What I enjoy about her books is that she really does keep the protagonist secret until the final reveal, its not obvious at all (well I didn’t think so ) and I really enjoy her strong feisty heroines, with a touch of romance.

%d bloggers like this: