Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: There is a book you need to buy in...

The Bitter Kingdom (Girl of Fire and Thorns Series #3) by Rae CarsonThe Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness.

Elisa has always felt powerless, useless. Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king who needs her to be the chosen one, not a failure of a princess. And he’s not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies, seething with dark magic, are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could save his people. And he looks at her in a way no man has ever looked at her before. Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young.

Most of the chosen do.

A 2012 William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist

The entire trilogy is now on sale. I kind of wish I had bought this series in hardcover because it’s one that I want to keep and I particularly want my daughter to read it. It’s such a fabulous fantasy book with a clear vision for the entire trilogy. I really can’t say enough good things about it. Elisa is a protagonist to be proud of. She’s insecure, scared, vulnerable, strong, capable, and all the things you want to see in a character that grows into herself. There’s a wonderful romance that develops and is cemented at the end of the trilogy.

I strongly recommend this entire series. At least buy the first one.

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

A Heart Speaks By LaVyrle SpencerA Heart Speaks by Lavyrle Spencer. $ 4.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Back by popular demand, here are two of the beloved New York Times bestselling author’s favorite novels–Forsaking All Others and A Promise to Cherish–together in one volume. These love stories have passed the test of the time and are sure to enthrall fans new and old.

Forsaking All Others

Spirited Allison Scott thought she had everything — a promising career and Jason, an exciting lover. Together, as photographer and model, they would make it to the top. Then Jason left, shattering her heartfelt dreams.

Allison’s new model, Rick Lang, has Jason’s perfect good looks, but is charming and attentive as well. He seems to good to be true — and Allison doesn’t trust him one bit. But his tender lovemaking and persistent caring began to wear down her defenses. Still she fears the ultimate betrayal — his rejection of her love.

A Promise to Cherish

Lee Walker strode through a man’s world with the proud strength of her Cherokee ancestors, outbidding the toughest competition in the construction industry — and hiding the hurt of a secret loss.

Then she unwittingly switches suitcases at the airport with rival Sam Brown. She has his sexy briefs and risqué magazine. He has her sealed bid – and the chance to steal the deal… When he wins — and proceeds to turn on his charm — she quivers with rage! But his very presence unlocks a sensuous stirring that has been ice-bound since her heart-wrenching divorce. She yearns to revel in passion and give in to love, but she’s learned that such tender emotions invite only pain and sorrow…

This is a higher price than I’d ordinarily include but this “book” actually contains two stories that sell for about $5.99 a piece. Despite the age of these books, Spencer had a very modern sensibility and her books would likely be considered progressive even now. Spencer is one of Janet’s favorite authors. Don’t forget you can still use your Kobo coupon.

http://click.linksynergy.com/fs-bin/click?id=Hb5G8HHFIWE&subid=&offerid=290193.1&type=10&tmpid=9310&RD_PARM1=http%3A%2F%2Fstore.kobobooks.com%2Fen-US%2Febook%2Fa-heart-speaks

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAppleGoogle

The Boleyn King: A Novel by Laura AndersenThe Boleyn King: A Novel by Laura Andersen . $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares to imagine: What if Anne Boleyn had actually given Henry VIII a son who grew up to be king?

Just seventeen years old, Henry IX, known as William, is a king bound by the restraints of the regency yet anxious to prove himself. With the French threatening battle and the Catholics sowing the seeds of rebellion at home, William trusts only three people: his older sister Elizabeth; his best friend and loyal counselor, Dominic; and Minuette, a young orphan raised as a royal ward by William’s mother, Anne Boleyn.

Against a tide of secrets, betrayal, and murder, William finds himself fighting for the very soul of his kingdom. Then, when he and Dominic both fall in love with Minuette, romantic obsession looms over a new generation of Tudors. One among them will pay the price for a king’s desire, as a shocking twist of fate changes England’s fortunes forever.

Includes a preview of Laura Andersen’s The Boleyn Deceit

“Gripping . . . Andersen delves into an alternative Tudor England geared to rivet period fans and newcomers alike. . . . Perfect for Philippa Gregory fans.”—Booklist (starred review)

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes (Rose Gardner Mystery #1) by Denise Grover Swank . $ .99 & Free at some locations.

From the Jacket Copy:

WINNER of the 2012 Write Touch Readers’ Award for Mainstream with Romantic Elements

For Rose Gardner, working at the DMV on a Friday afternoon is bad even before she sees a vision of herself dead. She’s had plenty of visions, usually boring ones like someone’s toilet’s overflowed, but she’s never seen one of herself before. When her overbearing momma winds up murdered on her sofa instead, two things are certain: There isn’t enough hydrogen peroxide in the state of Arkansas to get that stain out, and Rose is the prime suspect.

Rose realizes she’s wasted twenty-four years of living and makes a list on the back of a Wal-Mart receipt: twenty-eight things she wants to accomplish before her vision comes true. She’s well on her way with the help of her next door neighbor Joe, who has no trouble teaching Rose the rules of drinking, but won’t help with number fifteen– do more with a man. Joe’s new to town, but it doesn’t take a vision for Rose to realize he’s got plenty secrets of his own.
Somebody thinks Rose has something they want and they’ll do anything to get it. Her house is broken into, someone else she knows is murdered, and suddenly, dying a virgin in the Fenton County jail isn’t her biggest worry after all.

I checked and that’s a real award from a Wisconsin chapter of the RWA. Reviews say cute but somewhat predictable.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Barefoot In the Grass by Judith ArnoldBarefoot In the Grass by Judith Arnold by Judith Arnold. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

Publisher Description
Originally published as a Showcase title by Harlequin Books, Barefoot in the Grass is a groundbreaking story about a woman reclaiming her life after treatment for breast cancer and a man learning the true meaning of beauty and the true power of love. After two years of treatment, Beth Pendleton leaves her high-stress job in New York to join a quiet law practice in sleepy Devon, New Hampshire. She buys a house, adopts a dog and tries to figure out how to live the rest of her life as a woman with one breast.

Construction company owner Ryan Walker is immediately attracted to the beautiful newcomer, but although the chemistry between them is strong, she seems determined not to let him get too close. He knows she’s hiding something — and once he learns what it is, he isn’t sure he’s strong enough to handle the truth about her. Beth has the courage to have endured brutal medical treatment and embraced life. Does Ryan have the courage to love a woman whose body is scarred and who may still be shadowed by death?

Per a Jo Beverly tweet, this is one of the best romances by RT Magazine.

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

11 Comments

  1. Gwen Hayes
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 12:33:45

    *shakes fist* Darn you, Jane! I’m trying so hard to not buy books until my TBR pixels are under control. But I also love Spencer, especially her historicals, and have wanted to try Carson for awhile. And the Arnold book looks awesome. *cries*

    ReplyReply

  2. Avierra
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 12:36:38

    I don’t see the entire trilogy of The Girl of Fire and Thorns on sale; I checked B&N and Amazon, but perhaps I am not looking in the right place? Looks right up my alley.

    ReplyReply

  3. Jane
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 12:37:25

    @Avierra: Sorry, I meant it is available. The third book was just released.

    ReplyReply

  4. Kate Sherwood
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 12:43:14

    I couldn’t find either The Girl of Fire and Thorns or The Boleyn King at the lower prices on Amazon.

    Is the deal over, or not yet started, or…?

    ReplyReply

  5. Jane
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 12:46:03

    @Kate Sherwood: Are you in the US? The Amazon price shows $1.99 for me in the Kindle (not print) edition.

    ReplyReply

  6. Kate Sherwood
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 12:50:29

    @Jane:

    Hmmm… I’m NOT in the US, but I buy kindle books through Amazon.com… I followed the link at the bottom of your posts…

    They’ve been trying to get me to switch my kindle library to Amazon.ca for a while now, but I’ve been resisting b/c I like to get the US deals on things. I wonder if they’ve found a way to do it without my consent…

    ReplyReply

  7. Amanda
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 13:51:56

    I am just starting book two in The Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy but Elisa is one of the best heroines.

    ReplyReply

  8. Holly
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 14:19:11

    @Kate I’m not seeing $1.99 either. I’ve avoided switching to Amazon.ca too but it appears now that Amazon.com is recognizing that we’re north of the border and removing the sale price.

    ETA: And when I log into Amazon.com, it’s stating that the price is set by the publisher, as we’re still stuck with set prices up here. Who knows when the Canadian lawsuits will go through and hopefully stop the price fixing.

    ReplyReply

  9. Kate Sherwood
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 16:40:25

    @Holly:

    I notice that I AM getting the discounted price from B&N.

    ETA: But they won’t let me buy the book. Grrrrrr. Okay, put my happy face on… “Living in Canada helps me to resist the lures of over-commercialization!”

    ReplyReply

  10. CG
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 16:41:12

    Is The Girl of Fire and Thorns in first person like most YA/NA? With a few exceptions I generally dont care for YA/NA, but a rec from Jane has me interested. Unless its in first person, which hardly ever works for me.

    ReplyReply

  11. JacquiC
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 11:45:21

    I am also Canadian and shop through amazon.com. I find that only a small proportion of the deals for US readers are available in Canada. I don’t know why that is. I did bow to pressure to switch to amazon.ca at one point and then IMMEDIATELY switched back. The selection on amazon.ca was poor — books available on amazon.com just didn’t seem to be available. So no thanks.

    I try to look at this as a way to (somewhat) put the brakes on my book spending. I can’t keep up with my TBR list already.

    ReplyReply

Leave a Reply


+ 4 = 12

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

%d bloggers like this: