Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: Sweet romances and a Daily Show recommendation

The entire Scandalous line of historical romances from Entangled are on sale for 99c at Amazon. Link

The Sweet Gum Tree by Katherine AllredSweet Gum Tree by Katherine Allred. $ 1.49

From the Jacket Copy:

Sweet tea, corn bread, and soup beans-everyday fare for eight-year-old Alix French, the precocious darling of a respected southern family. But nothing was ordinary about the day she met ten-year-old Nick Anderson, a boy from the wrong side of town. Armed with only a tin of bee balm and steely determination, Alix treats the raw evidence of a recent beating that mars his back, an act that changes both of their lives forever.
Through childhood disasters and teenage woes they cling together as friendship turns to love. The future looks rosy until the fateful night when Frank Anderson, Nick’s abusive father, is shot to death in his filthy trailer.

Suddenly, Nick is gone-leaving Alix alone, confused and pregnant. For the next fifteen years she wrestles with the pain of Nick’s abandonment, a bad marriage, her family and friends. But finally, she’s starting to get her life back together. Her divorce is almost final, her business is booming, and she’s content if not happy — until the day she looks up and sees Nick standing across the counter. He’s back…and he’s not alone.

Once again Alix is plunged into turmoil and pain as Nick tries to win her love, something she resists with all her strength. Only one thing might break the protective wall she’s built around her emotions-the truth about Frank Anderson’s death. But when that truth comes out and those walls crumble, neither Alix nor Nick is prepared for the emotional explosion that could destroy as well as heal.

A number of Allred books are priced at $1.49 including:

What Price Paradise
For Love of Charley
Sweet Revenge

I’ve heard that the plot of The Sweet Gum Tree is awfully close to A Place to Call Home by Deborah Smith. I don’t know as I’ve never read The Sweet Gun Tree but APtCH is one of my favorite romances of all time.

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

A Bloodsmoor Romance by Joyce Carol OatesA Bloodsmoor Romance by Joyce Carol Oates. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Finally returned to print, Joyce Carol Oates’s lost classic: the satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose nineteenth-century pursuit of adventurous lives turns a lens on contemporary American culture

When their sister is plucked from the shores of the Bloodsmoor River by an eerie black-silk hot air balloon that sails in through a clear blue sky, the lives of the already extraordinary Zinn sisters are radically altered. The monstrous tragedy splinters the family, who must not only grapple with the mysterious and shameful loss of their sister and daughter but also seek their way forward in the dawn of a new era—one that includes time machines, the spirit world, and the quest for women’s independence.

Breathlessly narrated in the Victorian style by an unnamed narrator who is herself shocked and disgusted by the Zinn sisters’ sexuality, impulsivity, and rude rejection of the mores of the time, the novel is a delicious filigree of literary conventions, “a novel of manners” in the tradition of Austen, Dickens, and Alcott, which Oates turns on its head. Years ahead of its time, A Bloodsmoor Romance touches on murder and mayhem, ghosts and abductions, substance abuse and gender identity, women’s suffrage, the American spiritualist movement, and sexual aberration, as the Zinn sisters come into contact with some of the nineteenth century’s greatest characters, from Mark Twain to Oscar Wilde.

Pure Oates in its mordant wit, biting assessment of the American landscape, and virtuosic transformation of a literary genre we thought we knew, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a compelling, hilarious, and magical antiromance, a Little Women wickedly recast for the present day.

Joyce Carol Oates falls into the category of authors I should read by haven’t.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAppleGoogle

Year Zero by Rob ReidYear Zero by Rob Reid. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

An alien advance party was suddenly nosing around my planet.
Worse, they were lawyering up. . . .

In the hilarious tradition of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Rob Reid takes you on a headlong journey through the outer reaches of the universe—and the inner workings of our absurdly dysfunctional music industry.

Low-level entertainment lawyer Nick Carter thinks it’s a prank, not an alien encounter, when a redheaded mullah and a curvaceous nun show up at his office. But Frampton and Carly are highly advanced (if bumbling) extraterrestrials. And boy, do they have news.

The entire cosmos, they tell him, has been hopelessly hooked on humanity’s music ever since “Year Zero” (1977 to us), when American pop songs first reached alien ears. This addiction has driven a vast intergalactic society to commit the biggest copyright violation since the Big Bang. The resulting fines and penalties have bankrupted the whole universe. We humans suddenly own everything—and the aliens are not amused.

Nick Carter has just been tapped to clean up this mess before things get ugly, and he’s an unlikely galaxy-hopping hero: He’s scared of heights. He’s also about to be fired. And he happens to have the same name as a Backstreet Boy. But he does know a thing or two about copyright law. And he’s packing a couple of other pencil-pushing superpowers that could come in handy.

Soon he’s on the run from a sinister parrot and a highly combustible vacuum cleaner. With Carly and Frampton as his guides, Nick now has forty-eight hours to save humanity, while hopefully wowing the hot girl who lives down the hall from him.

“Hilarious, provocative, and supersmart, Year Zero is a brilliant novel to be enjoyed in perpetuity in the known universe and in all unknown universes yet to be discovered.”—John Hodgman, resident expert, The Daily Show with Jon Stewart

Endorsed by the Daily Show? You can’t beat that.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

The Seduction of Lady Phoebe by Ella QuinnThe Seduction of Lady Phoebe by Ella Quinn. $ Free.

From the Jacket Copy:

Polite society has its rules for marriage. But for Ella Quinn’s eligible bachelors, their brides will show them that rules are for the weak of heart…
Phoebe Stanhope is not a typical Lady. As feisty as she is quick witted, no one can catch her, especially when she is driving her dashing phaeton with its perfectly matched horses. And unlike her peers, experience has guarded her against a growing list of would-be suitors. But when she encounters Marcus Finley, what she fears most burns deep within his blue-eyed gaze…

For Lord Marcus, the spark of recognition is but a moment in the love he has held these many years. Now that he’s returned to England, all the happiness he desires rests on Lady Phoebe never finding out that he was the one who turned her heart so cold and distant. He must work fast to gain the advantage—to convince her what she wants is exactly what she denies—but in order to seduce her into his arms, he must be willing to give up more than he can control…

“A passionate tale full of humor, romance, and poignancy. Quinn writes classic Regency romance at its best!” —Shana Galen, author of If You Give a Rake a Ruby

101,630 Words

Hey, it’s free

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Lost to the Desert Warrior (Harlequin Presents Series #3171) by Sarah MorganLost to the Desert Warrior by Sarah Morgan. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

“Walking into the lion’s den unprotected, Princess?”
For Layla, princess of Tazkhan, her arranged marriage means one thing—a lifetime of cruelty and captivity. Such an unendurable prospect drives her to throw herself at the mercy of Sheikh Raz Al Zahki—her family’s greatest enemy!

Raz demands one thing in return for the safe haven Layla is seeking—this brooding desert king wants to make her his queen! Her freedom might be secured, but now her heart is at risk, for soon she’s lost to the scorching heat of their marriage bed. However, it will take more than fire to thaw her guarded husband?.

Mandi enjoyed this book.  “This book is fun. How can you not like a desert romance? Raz is all fierce with his black eyes and good looks. He has a bit of a tortured soul ever since his wife died. Layla surprises him with how practical and smart she is. He initially takes her lack of knowledge with horses and the desert people as ignorance, but he soon learns she grew up in a palace that was a prison. With a cruel father who never let her leave the gates, she yearns for knowledge. She is brave and loyal and a hard worker.”

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

4 Comments

  1. Crista
    Oct 22, 2013 @ 14:29:18

    I noticed that B&N has all the Scandalous books on sale for $0.99, so Nook readers can get in on the deal, too. http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/?series_id=897065

  2. AnneD
    Oct 22, 2013 @ 18:48:37

    The Seduction of Lady Phoebe by Ella Quinn

    It was a good enough read I preordered the next book :)

  3. Jayne
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 07:15:52

    “Year Zero” sounds too good to pass up. Aliens + lawyers!

  4. Little Red
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 10:19:30

    FYI: “The Seduction of Lady Phoebe” isn’t free on the Nook, it’s $2.99.

%d bloggers like this: