Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: Suspense, cozy mystery, and an old bad boy

The Return of Rafe MacKade by Nora RobertsThe Return of Rafe MacKade by Nora Roberts. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Ten years after disappearing from Antietam, Maryland, the bad boy has returned. Cleaned up and successful now—and still dangerously good-looking—Rafe MacKade sets the town on fire, and tongues wagging.
Lovely newcomer Regan Jones is intrigued—what kind of man could cause this sort of talk? She’ s just about to find out.…

The four MacKade books are on sale for $1.99 each.

The Return of Rafe MacKade
The Pride of Jared MacKade
The Heart of Devin MacKade
The Fall of Shane MacKade

I’m certain I’ve read these but I have little recollection of the stories so I should buy them.

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Dying to Read (The Cate Kinkaid Files Book #1): A Novel  by Lorena McCourtneyDying to Read (The Cate Kinkaid Files Book #1) by Lorena McCourtney. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

“Lorena McCourtney’s lively cozy mysteries hit all the right notes for me, and her newest doesn’t miss a chord. A quirky, likable heroine, a handsome guy, and oh, a murder. Don’t miss Cate Kinkaid’s first case as a PI. It’s a killer.”–Lyn Cote, author of La Belle Christiane
All she wanted was a paycheck. What she got was a murder.

Cate Kinkaid’s life is . . . well, frankly it’s floundering. Her social life, her career, her haircut–they’re all a mess. Unemployed, she jumps at the chance to work for her PI uncle, even though she has no experience and no instincts. After all, she is just dabbling in the world of private investigating until she can find a “real” job.

All she has to do for her first assignment is determine that a particular woman lives at a particular address. Simple, right? But when she reaches the dark Victorian house, she runs into an hungry horde of gray-haired mystery readers and a dead body. This routine PI job is turning out to be anything but simple. Is Cate in over her head?

I’d love to know more about the birth of the cozy mystery. I read somewhere that Berkley Prime Crime was responsible in some ways for elevating the niche genre and making it a *thing*. But what editor spearheaded this? And how did something like this grow from just a few books to an entire imprint?

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREAppleGoogle

Cover Me by Catherine MannCover Me by Catherine Mann. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

It should have been a simple mission…

Pararescueman Wade Rocha fast ropes from the back of a helicopter into a blizzard to save a climber stranded on an Aleutian Island, but Sunny Foster insists she can take care of herself just fine…

But when it comes to passion, nothing is ever simple…

With the snowstorm kicking into overdrive, Sunny and Wade hunker down in a cave and barely resist the urge to keep each other warm… until they discover the frozen remains of a horrific crime… Unable to trust the local police force, Sunny and Wade investigate, while their irresistible passion for each other gets them more and more dangerously entangled…

I tried one Catherine Mann book in this series and it didn’t really work for me because I think I found the setup implausible. I see more and more books sale priced at $1.99 instead of $.99. I wonder if this is a signal to the reader’s subconscious that says “I’m cheap but not too cheap so that means I’m a good deal instead of a waste of money.”

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Rock Paper Tiger  by Lisa BrackmannRock Paper Tiger by Lisa Brackmann. $ 2.99.

From the Jacket Copy:

American Iraq War veteran Ellie Cooper is down and out in Beijing when a chance encounter with a Uighur—a member of a Chinese Muslim minority—at the home of her sort-of boyfriend Lao Zhang turns her life upside down. Lao Zhang disappears, and suddenly multiple security organizations are hounding her for information. They say the Uighur is a terrorist. Ellie doesn’t know what’s going on, but she must decide whom to trust among the artists, dealers, collectors, and operatives claiming to be on her side—in particular, a mysterious organization operating within a popular online role-playing game. As she tries to elude her pursuers, she’s haunted by memories of Iraq. Is what she did and saw there at the root of the mess she’s in now?

PW writes “The China scenes are fast paced and strikingly atmospheric, and Ellie’s backstory—her and Trey’s return from combat is tough, sad, and endearing—is given in doses that perfectly complement the central action. Given the high-octane leadup, the ending is a bit of a letdown, but the book’s exotic setting and tough heroine will definitely appeal to fans of John Burdett and Stieg Larsson.”

I’m intrigued by the sudden influx of Asian set or Asian involved books that are discounted.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

6 Comments

  1. Janine
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 14:07:13

    I’m certain I’ve read these but I have little recollection of the stories so I should buy them.

    Ah, rationalizations. Aren’t they great?

  2. Tanya
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 14:16:15

    The cozy mystery baffles me as well, and I wonder if I am missing something. Maybe I’ll pick this up to see? I’m constantly tempted to give one a try. When I worked in a bookstore a few years back, I remember a cozy series about buttons and button collectors. Yes, buttons. I get cupcakes, knitting, vintage clothes. But buttons?

    That’s it. I am going to write a zipper cozy mystery.

  3. JJPP
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 14:33:37

    I saw a cozy mystery in our laundry room (where people leave books they don’t want anymore) about decorative gourds. There’s a whole mystery series around decorative gourds.

  4. Sunita
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 15:17:45

    I found this dissertation on cozy mysteries and their readership. I’ve just skimmed a bit of it, and I can’t vouch for its quality, but it makes some interesting points about the readership and the development of the cozy in the modern era (as opposed to the British country-house mystery of the early 20thC). It’s definitely a subgenre that is written and read by primarily women.

  5. cleo
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 15:44:19

    The cozy discussion made me lol – buttons and gourds. I had no idea. Pretty sure I’ve read a quilt based cozy that was part of a series. My mom quilts, so I enjoyed reading about a quilter bringing about justice and order.

    I guess it’s like any sub-genre – it makes perfect sense to those involved in it, but is kind of baffling to outsiders (kind of like me trying to explain shape shifter romance to my husband).

  6. Beret Brenckman
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 18:09:58

    I’m afraid I have to buy the Nora Roberts. I have all of her books in print (even the ones I didn’t like.” But I loved this series when it came out and still have the original paperbacks that I bought at Walmart. I’m glad to see that some of the back list of big authors is coming out in eBook format. Like Jayne Ann Krentz’s oldies but goodies and of course “Wildflower” by Laura London coming out in April or May.

%d bloggers like this: