Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: Spies, Egyptian mysteries, and women’s fiction

With His Lady's Assistance: A Regent Mystery by Cheryl BolenWith His Lady’s Assistance by Cheryl Bolen. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

The prince regent recruits Wellington’s best spy, Captain Jack Dryden, to find out who’s trying to murder him. But in order to mix in the highest echelons of English society, the exceedingly handsome spy must feign an engagement to the prodigiously plain spinster Lady Daphne Chalmers. As this unlikely couple’s investigation deepens, so does their attraction to one another.

This is a sweet romance. The heroine sounded interesting but the reviews are kind of all over the place but most reviews say it is predictable.

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Crash Into Me (Heart of Stone)  by K.M. ScottCrash Into Me by K.M. Scott. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

***USA Today Bestseller***

What would you give up for everything?

Tristan Stone was powerful, commanding, sex incarnate. And he wore it all so well. From the moment his mesmerizing gaze met mine, I had no choice but surrender to everything he was. His power. His decadence. His passion. He was all I never knew I needed.

He wanted to possess me, and I wanted to be his everything. All I had to do was accept what he offered. But everything has a price.

The world he gave me fulfilled my wildest dreams, but would that be enough when the past crashed into the present?

The Heart of Stone series continues with Fall Into Me and Give In To Me–Available Now! And don’t miss the last chapter in Tristan and Nina’s story, Ever After (A Heart of Stone Novella) available April 27!

All three books in the series are .99c.  The three star reviews indicate that this is a traditional billionaire and poor girl that got better as it went on but people were unhappy with the cliffhanger.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREAppleGoogle

Daughter of the God-King by Anne CleelandDaughter of the God-King by Anne Cleeland. $ 2.99

From the Jacket Copy:

The Cursed Tombs of Egypt Hold Many Secrets…

Miss Hattie Blackhouse has never been close to her parents…and no wonder, since the Blackhouses are renowned scholars who spend most of their time excavating ancient tombs in Egypt. But news of their disappearance forces Hattie to leave England and embark on a voyage that will reveal the long-buried secrets of her past. An encrypted senet board and a gold medallion lead Hattie on a perilous quest to track down her missing parents—and discover why people associated with the Blackhouses continue to turn up dead. What she uncovers is a secret that could alter the course of history…

Filled with intrigue, romance, and ancient secrets, Anne Cleeland’s thrilling novel takes you on an unforgettable Egyptian adventure.

“Fans of Elizabeth Peters and Tracy Grant will fine Cleeland’s espionage thriller their cup of tea. ” – RT Book Reviews

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Something Blue: A Novel by Ann HoodSomething Blue by Ann Hood. $ 1.99.

From the Jacket Copy:

College friends Lucy and Katherine reunite as adults—and build a new friendship as changed women

Katherine shows up at Lucy’s Manhattan doorstep having run away from the marriage altar. Lucy isn’t thrilled to see her former sorority sister—her own life as a children’s book illustrator is complicated enough, especially as she may be falling out of love with her boyfriend. Along with Lucy’s oddball best friend, Julia, the women tackle the complicated challenge of being young, lost, and in search of life in New York City.

Something Blue is a heartfelt but never sentimental modern classic, capturing three women on the verge of the future, still figuring out the past, and trying to solve the present all at once. A novel that addresses friendship, ambition, and love head on, Something Blue and its three heroines head in surprising directions in their search for meaning.

No real reviews for this.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

2 Comments

  1. Barb in Maryland
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 11:18:54

    I rather enjoyed “Daughter of the God-King”. it is a bit of a romp; I distinctly remember rolling my eyes on several occasions. However, I really liked the hero and heroine and the mystery was clever. It was just what I was in the mood for at the time.

  2. LauraB
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:20:52

    I really enjoyed Daughter of the God-King. I hope the sale means that a sequel is on its way.

%d bloggers like this: