Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: Some fiction deals and the first installment of the...

Stay with Me: A Novel by Sandra Rodriguez BarronStay with Me by . $ 2.99

From the Jacket Copy:

In 1979, five toddlers were found alone in a luxury boat tied to a dock in Puerto Rico after a devastating hurricane. No one knew who they were or where they came from. Raised by different families, they remained connected by a special bond—always considering themselves siblings, despite their unknown blood relations.

Now adults, Taina, Holly, Adrian, and Raymond have been summoned by the fifth, David, to an island off the coast of Connecticut and the family home of David’s ex-girlfriend, Julia. But along with the joy of reuniting comes the exposure of raw places, jealousy, and childhood sorrows. Having been diagnosed with an aggressive form of brain cancer—and experiencing flashbacks to the time before the hurricane—David believes that healing his relationship with Julia and discovering his origins will strengthen his ability to endure and survive. David pushes the people he loves the most to their emotional breaking points in order to uncover the truth about the mystery that both unites and divides them.

Intensely gripping and lyrically written, Stay with Me is a magnificent blend of romance, suspense, atmosphere, and intrigue that brilliantly explores the true meaning of family and the remarkable ways a personal history can paint a future.

This review was helpful. David is the narrator for much of the story and it is really about his diagnosis with cancer and his “lame attempts” to win over his ex along with everyone else’s “messed-up intimacy issues.” David’s part is told in first person and the rest is third person omniscient. The mystery element isn’t a strong element until Part III.

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Crocodile on the Sandbank (Amelia Peabody Series #1) by Elizabeth PetersCrocodile on the Sandbank by Elizabeth Peters. $ 2.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Overview
Set in 1884, this is the first installment in what has become a beloved bestselling series. At thirty-two, strong-willed Amelia Peabody, a self-proclaimed spinster, decides to use her ample inheritance to indulge her passion, Egyptology. On her way to Egypt, Amelia encounters a young woman named Evelyn Barton-Forbes. The two become fast friends and travel on together, encountering mysteries, missing mummies, and Radcliffe Emerson, a dashing and opinionated archaeologist who doesn’t need a woman’s help — or so he thinks.

Thirty-one-year-old Victorian gentlewoman Amelia Peabody has not only inherited her father’s fortune, but she is also blessed with his strong will as well. Now she’s headed for Cairo, accompanied by a girl with a tarnished past, to indulge her passion for Egyptology. Little did she know that murder and a homicidal mummy lay in wait for her.

After all the praise heaped on Peters’s books last week, you might have wondered whether you should pick up a book in the series. Grand Central Publishing is making it easier for you to hit the buy button by discounting the first book in the famed Amelia Peabody series. This is the first one and probably not your last.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAppleGoogle

Shades of Honor (Grayson Brothers) Wendy LindstromShades of Honor by Wendy Lindstrom. $ Free

From the Jacket Copy:

RITA Award-winner!

The one woman he cannot have is the only woman he wants.

Everything Radford Grayson wanted was in his hometown: his beloved mother and brothers, and the unscarred part of himself he’d left behind. After surviving a gruesome war, all Radford wants is to work the family sawmill and make a real home for his young daughter. But Evelyn—his brother’s fiancée—reaches into his darkness with her healing love and makes him feel whole again for the first time in years. Torn between his unexpected and forbidden love for Evelyn and a desperate need to honor and protect his brother, Radford discovers that his fiercest enemy is his own heart. The one woman he cannot have is the only woman he wants.

“Remember how LaVyrle Spencer’s books swept you away to another place and time while you fell madly, passionately in love with her fabulous characters? Shades of Honor [takes one] to that height of reading pleasure…fresh, vibrant characters, impossible situations, and genuine, heartfelt emotions…masterfully woven…into a passionate romance that will have you smiling as you shed a few tears.”
—The Romance Readers Connection

“A perfect ten…Shades of Honor is one story that should not be missed!” —Romance Reviews Today

“…Lindstrom’s superbly written, beautifully poignant debut romance has a wonderful emotional richness and depth of characterization that will appeal to readers who love authors like Lorraine Heath and Maggie Osborne. —John Charles, American Library Association.

This is not a romance, per reviews, but a family saga and while it may have been originally published as Christian fiction some of the sex scenes were too descriptive for those readers’ tastes. Almost all the negative reviews were from those who had different expectations (i.e., a “clean” romance)

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

The Color of Heaven (The Color of Heaven Series) Julianne MacLeanThe Color of Heaven by Julianne Maclean . $ Free at Smashwords.

From the Jacket Copy:

A deeply emotional tale about Sophie Duncan, a successful columnist whose world falls apart after her daughter’s unexpected illness and her husband’s shocking affair. When it seems nothing else could possibly go wrong, her car skids off an icy road and plunges into a frozen lake. There, in the cold dark depths of the water, a profound and extraordinary experience unlocks the surprising secrets from Sophie’s past, and teaches her what it means to truly live…and love.

Full of surprising twists and turns and a near-death experience that will leave you breathless, this story is not to be missed.

The freebie code is QL86D at Smashwords.

You can also download these two Maclean novellas for free as well: A Kiss Before the Wedding is code EL82V and The Rebel is code PE83T

The Maclean books are only a 3-day offer that expires on August 14 at 11 am EST.

The blurb reveals almost nothing about the book but I did love this Amazon reviewer who said “I wish I would have seen the list of this author`s other works before I read this book instead of after. Harlequen Romances? Oh! so that may explain why, when the mother is telling her daughter about her undying love for the girl’s father, she relates their first lovemaking complete with when exactly she “climaxed”! TMI mom!!”

From the other reviews, it sounds like this is not a romance novel but a work of fiction akin to something like a Jodi Picoult subject.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

7 Comments

  1. cawm
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 16:06:12

    I certainly consider Wendy Lindstrom’s Grayson series to be romances, and I don’t remember anything Christian about them. I always avoid books with inspirational content. Shades of Honor is a wonderful book for anyone who enjoys American historical romance.

    ReplyReply

  2. e_bookpushers
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 20:11:30

    I love the Amelia Peabody series. They have given me so many laughs over the years and I think my family has worn out 3 different copies of the first book.

    ReplyReply

  3. MikiS
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 20:14:04

    I generally enjoy historical mysteries, I tend to enjoy books about archaeology, and I’ve heard *lots* about Elizabeth Peters…but if I’m remembering right, whatever book I picked up of hers started with her narrator talking to the reader. I *hate* it when the book talks to *me* – pulls me out of the story. Am I confusing this series with something else? If not, do *all* the books in the series include that? (To anyone who has actually read Elizabeth Peters).

    ReplyReply

  4. JessP
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 21:04:54

    For audiophiles, Barbara Rosenblat’s narration of the Amelia Peabody series is just superb. Every character is recognizably different. I really enjoyed her reading of each book, and the books were great to start with.

    ReplyReply

  5. Rosario
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 05:16:45

    @cawm: I read it when it first came out, and I agree, it was very much a romance. Although, reading my review of it, I did complain that the one sex scene was a bit of a letdown!

    ReplyReply

  6. Sandra
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 06:30:44

    @MikiS: The premise is that an editor has published Amelia Peabody’s personal journals, so that the books are from Peabody’s first person POV. Later on in the series, some other POV’s are brought in, but the principal voice is Peabody. She has decided opinions and is not always a reliable narrator. Try the sample for “Crocodile”. That gives you a good idea of what you’re in for.

    ReplyReply

  7. MikiS
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 20:43:28

    @Sandra: Thanks, Sandra. I hardly remember what I read when I tried it, but my memory has always been something along the line of “and oh, dear reader, you’ll never guess what happened next” kind of thing. But it was years ago…and I’ve always heard great things about this series. Maybe it’s time to try it again.

    ReplyReply

Leave a Reply

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

%d bloggers like this: