Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: Popular middle grade series start, a popular western series,...

How to Train Your Dragon (How to Train Your Dragon Series #1) by Cressida CowellHow to Train Your Dragon (How to Train Your Dragon Series #1) by Cressida Cowell. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Chronicles the adventures and misadventures of Hiccup Horrendous Haddock the Third as he tries to pass the important initiation test of his Viking clan, the Tribe of the Hairy Hooligans, by catching and training a dragon.

My daughter is a big fan of this series. Hiccup, the lead, is a self effacing everyman hero and the book also contains ink drawings that are presumably made by Hiccup. The book is the basis for the first movie. There are currently eleven books published.

This is part of the first in a series deal. As I understand it, the first in a series deals end today. Link to BN here.

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

A Weaver Beginning (Return to the Double C)  by Allison LeighA Weaver Beginning by Allison Leigh. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

USA TODAY bestselling author Allison Leigh introduces readers to a reluctant hero—and the woman who just might heal his wounded heart—in this newest addition to her popular miniseries, Return to the Double C!

Small town deputy Sloan McCray was making amends for his past. They called him a hero but only he had to live with the difficult choices he’d made. And he certainly wasn’t prepared to fall in love again, not even with his beautiful—and innocent—new neighbor, whose very presence was a balm to his troubled soul.

There was no doubt in Abby Marcum’s mind that Sloan was the guy for her. Though she’d moved to Weaver, Wyoming, to make a better life for her little brother, she saw her future with Sloan. Now she had to convince the man who felt unworthy of love that she and her heart were his for the asking….

Honestly I don’t know the guidelines for the Harlequin Superromance but per Amazon it is the #1 Best Seller in Introductory & Beginning Programming. Harlequin Junkie gave this a 4 star review calling it a solid romance. Janet says it is a light but satisfying romance.

 

Screenshot 2014-06-22 09.56.05

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREAppleGoogle

Blade Song (Colbana Files Book 1)  by J.C. DanielsBlade Song (Colbana Files Book 1) by J.C. Daniels. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Kit Colbana–half breed, assassin, thief, jack of all trades–has a new job: track down the missing ward of one of the local alpha shapeshifters. It should be a piece of cake.So why is she so nervous? It probably has something to do with the insanity that happens when you deal with shifters–especially sexy ones who come bearing promises of easy jobs and easier money.Or maybe it’s all the other missing kids that Kit discovers while working the case, or the way her gut keeps screaming she’s gotten in over her head. Or maybe it’s because if she fails–she’s dead.If she can stay just one step ahead, she should be okay. Maybe she’ll even live long to collect her fee…

Several reviews mention that Kit, the main character, is very similar to Kate in the Ilona Andrews’ Magic series. Additionally the heroine came off a little bratty to some but several people responded positively. I know the Bookpushers are big fans of this series.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Turned: The Belladonna Agency Series by Virna DePaulTurned by Virna DePaul. $ .99.

From the Jacket Copy:

Perfect for fans of J. R. Ward, Nalini Singh, and Lara Adrian, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Virna DePaul’s new series of paranormal romances introduces readers to a thrilling world where vampires secretly co-exist with humans, seduction rules the night, and the stakes are nothing less than life and undeath.

Welcome to a mesmerizing world where vampires hide among humans. This centuries-old species has its own rules, code of conduct, and taboos. Only the FBI knows that vampires exist—and although the Bureau agrees to keep their secret, it also plots to give humans the upper hand.

Turning mortals into vampires is forbidden.

But there are creatures who refuse to play by the rules.

Ever since he was turned, FBI special agent Ty Duncan has had one mission: bring rogue vampires to justice. As a recruiter for Belladonna, a shadow agency formed to keep vampires in check, Ty must tap Ana Martin, a troubled ex–gang member and one of the few mortals who can infiltrate places that his kind and the law cannot. From their first encounter, Ty fights a hunger to make Ana his own.

When Ty claims to have information about Ana’s missing sister, Ana has no choice but to trust this captivating stranger who awakens her deepest desires. But as she and Ty climb the heights of pleasure and passion, an enemy is conspiring to destroy them both.

Can Ana help Ty find his humanity in a love that could heal them both, or will their passion lead them into a darkness impossible to escape?

PW writes “Simplistic and fluffy, DePaul’s first Belladonna Agency paranormal will appeal to readers who like their vampires sexy, their heroines spunky and unaware of their own unending charms, and their narrative elementary. “

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

3 Comments

  1. Andrea T
    Jun 22, 2014 @ 13:35:13

    My son was a fan of How to Train Your Dragon book, as well. He has the hardback, but at $1.99 it’s worth having another format.

  2. Justine
    Jun 22, 2014 @ 13:51:14

    I’m guessing that “Double C” in the title of the series triggered Amazon to categorize the book in Introductory & Beginning Programming. Double is a keyword in C programming language.

  3. MaryK
    Jun 22, 2014 @ 14:19:29

    @Justine: That’s funny.

%d bloggers like this: