Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: Holiday romances and medical thrillers

Face to Face: Hart and Drake, Book #3 by C. J. LyonsFace to Face: Hart and Drake by CJ Lyons. $ 2.99

From the Jacket Copy:

#1 New York Times Bestseller Sandra Brown called Hart and Drake, Book #1, NERVES OF STEEL, “the perfect blend of romance and suspense.” In NERVES OF STEEL you met the ER doctor who never gives up…

In the second book, SLEIGHT OF HAND, you saw Hart and Drake risk everything to save a child and you knew they were meant to be together.
?Now, see what happens when they lose it all…

Drake hunts a stalker with deadly intentions. Hart fights for justice for one special victim while also fending off her ex and his family as they try to destroy everything she holds dear.

Neither realizes the real danger lies with an old enemy whose fury has grown and will not be satisfied with anything less than Hart and Drake’s blood.

It looks like several of this series is on sale. The first, “Nerves of Steel” is on sale for $1.99. This title is the third one. “Sleight of Hand” is $2.99 and is the second in the series.

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Searching for Pemberley  by Mary Lydon SimonsenSearching for Pemberley by Mary Lydon Simonsen . $ 1.99 at AMZN | Apple

From the Jacket Copy:

Maggie went in search of a love story, but she never expected to find her own…

Desperate to escape her life in a small Pennsylvania mining town, Maggie Joyce accepts a job in post-World War II London, hoping to find adventure. While touring Derbyshire, she stumbles upon the stately Montclair, rumored by locals to be the inspiration for Pemberley, the centerpiece of Jane Austen’s beloved Pride and Prejudice.

Determined to discover the truth behind the rumors, Maggie embarks on a journey through the letters and journals of Montclair’s former owners, the Lacey family, searching for signs of Darcy and Elizabeth.

But when the search introduces her to both a dashing American pilot and a handsome descendant of the “Darcy” line, Maggie must decide how her own love story will end…

Despite the Austen tie-in, this book looks interesting to me. Jayne is a big fan of WWII romances so maybe she’ll pick this up. PW calls it a leisurely read.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREAppleGoogle

Heating Up the Holidays 3-Story Bundle (Play with Me, Snowfall, and After Midnight): A Loveswept Contemporary RomanceHeating Up the Holidays 3-Story Bundle (Play with Me, Snowfall, and After Midnight): A Loveswept Contemporary Romance by Lisa Renee Jones. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

As leftover turkey and stuffing give way to stockings and little black dresses, this tantalizingly sexy eBook bundle offers up holiday-themed novellas from a trio of beloved romance authors. Lisa Renee Jones gives a dedicated reporter and a powerful businessman a chance to count their Thanksgiving blessings in Play with Me; Mary Ann Rivers presents Snowfall, the story of a woman who confronts a life-changing event—hopefully with a special man by her side—just in time for Christmas; and in Serena Bell’s After Midnight, an explosive New Year’s kiss leaves two strangers wondering whether they’ll ever see each other again.

PLAY WITH ME by Lisa Renee Jones

Kali Miller has spent three years reporting fluff stories, waiting for the article that will launch her career to new heights. When she suddenly finds herself forced to take a job as an executive secretary at a Vegas casino, Kali meets the subject of what will surely be a shocking exposé: her boss, Damion Ward, the arrogant and undeniably sexy CEO. But after Damion invites her to help him plan a Thanksgiving charity event, Kali begins to see another side of the man. And when she surrenders to the exhilarating tension simmering between them, Kali hopes her story will have a happy ending.

SNOWFALL by Mary Ann Rivers

Jenny Wright can’t get enough of her erotic conversations with someone she knows only as “C.” Flirting online helps Jenny temporarily escape confronting the changes to her life as she slowly loses her vision. Jenny’s occupational therapist, Evan Carlisle-Ford, is helping her prepare for the challenges ahead, but the forthright, trustworthy man can no longer ignore his growing attraction to his fiercely intelligent client. Now Jenny must choose between the safe, anonymous “C”—or the flesh-and-blood Evan, whose heated kisses can melt snow faster than it can fall.

AFTER MIDNIGHT by Serena Bell

The clock is ticking down to midnight on New Year’s Eve, and all Nora Hart and Miles Shephard can think about is kissing each other—even though they met just minutes before. Then, as fast as Miles enters Nora’s life, he’s gone . . . and she never even gets the name of the man she thinks might just be “the one.” One year later, Nora and Miles are reunited. The chemistry between them is just as strong as they remember. But Miles broke her heart once before—and this time around, Nora’s not sure whether she can give love a second chance.

Holidays are here and so it makes sense to take breaks between wrapping presents to read a novella, right?

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

by . $ .

From the Jacket Copy:

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Keepsake by Antoinette StockenbergKeepsake by Antoinette Stockenberg. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

Readers who enjoy Barbara Freethy, Nora Roberts and the classics of Mary Stewart will savor this intensely emotional story of family, betrayal and redemption, set in a quaint town in New England.

Keepsake. It’s not a hand-made quilt, or an ivory pin, or a pretty box for treasures….

It’s the name of a postcard-perfect town in Connecticut. From its quaint gazebo to its white-steepled church and village green, Keepsake is the kind of place most would love to call home. It’s home to Olivia Bennett, the town princess who has a charming shop there. It was home once to Quinn Leary, the son of her family’s gardener; Quinn fled as a teenager with his father who was accused of a murder he didn’t commit. And Keepsake is home, still, to someone with mayhem on his mind

When Quinn returns after an absence of seventeen years, he has one desire: to prove his father’s innocence. It’s not until he sees his childhood school rival, now a grown woman, that he realizes he harbors another but equally passionate desire — and that the two are tragically at odds.

Share this on Facebook

It’s a holiday romance with suspense.

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

4 Comments

  1. cleo
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 18:49:12

    I read the title of the 3rd book as “Play with Me, Snowfall” and I thought, huh, Snowfall is an odd nickname, where is this book set?

  2. Mom on the Run
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 22:59:43

    I love Searching for Pemberley! I read it a few years ago…I only know this because I have the book. A real book! I’ve lent it to several people and recommended it often.

  3. Mzcue
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 23:13:39

    @cleo: “Snowfall” is set in Lakefield, Ohio. In the story it’s the home of Lakefield State University, where the heroine is a recently arrived post-doc microbiologist. I bought the collection expressly for Rivers’ story since I had been so taken with her novella, “The Story Guy. Rivers is a skilled storyteller, and based on the two books I’ve read, her material is refreshingly original and compelling. I was particularly taken with her pairing here of a microbiologist with a macro-photographer, both dedicated to revealing the world hidden in the incredibly small. “Snowfall” takes place during the late fall and early winter, and snow is a recurring presence in Jenny’s life. Sometimes she marvels at its beauty, at other times it brings her to her knees. I thought it was an enormously satisfying read and recommend it highly.

  4. hilly
    Dec 07, 2013 @ 20:08:12

    Guessing “C” = “C”arlisle … ?

%d bloggers like this: