Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: Grieving widows, time travelers, and fights for mankind’s survival,...

Hello, It's Me Wendy Markham Hello, It’s Me by Wendy Markham. $2.99.

From Jacket Copy:

Love is calling…

Wait for the beep!

A widowed mother of two, Annie Harlowe has a secret: She likes to call her late husband’s cell phone just to hear his voice, even if it is only a recording. Then one night she dials-and something extraordinary happens…

Thomas Brannock IV has had his life mapped out since he was a kid, but a free-spirited woman with flowing hair and sun-kissed cheeks is about to change all that. Still reeling from her heart-to-heart with the other side-and wondering if she’s so lonely she’s gone off her rocker-Annie literally bumps into Thom at the posh soiree she’s catering at his family’s Southampton mansion. From the moment she looks into his eyes she feels like she’s experiencing a true heavenly intervention-as two people from totally different worlds begin to make the most passionate connection of all…

With a little help from above!

This sounds like a sweet romance. Some of the negatives appear to be that Annie doesn’t move on fast enough from the death of her husband, particularly when she has Thom interested in her.

AmazonBNSonyKoboAREBook Depository

Almost a Bride Patricia McLinn Almost a Bride by Patricia McLinn. $Free at AMZN and BN.

From Jacket Copy:

Dave Currick was everything Matty Brennan wanted for as along as she could remember. Right up until he broke her heart six years ago. Now that she’s returned to Wyoming for good, what she wants more than anything is to save her family’s ranch. Even if that means swallowing her pride and asking Dave to marry her.

Matty’s up to something – Dave knows that much. Just as he knows that Matty needs help, so of course he’ll provide it, just as he has all her life. Doing what’s best for Matty is second nature. Even when it comes to marrying her in name only. Although he can’t resist one hot-blooded kiss after the I-dos.

Maybe – just maybe – his Matty will become more to him than Almost a Bride.

I’ve enjoyed most of the McLinn books I’ve read. She’s good at drawing full fledged characters and her stories contain likeable people. I’d recommend her to readers who like Shannon Stacey and Jill Shalvis only the stories aren’t as sexy and are a little dated.

AmazonBN

Ruby Red Kerstin Gier Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier. $2.99.

From Jacket Copy:

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

This is the first in a trilogy that was originally released in Germany and has been translated for English reading audiences. The reviewers call it beautiful, romantic and funny (and by reviewers, I mean actual readers). The negative reviews talk about the unfinished feel for this book and how it reads like set up for the final books in the trilogy. It might be worthwhile to buy and sit on this until the last book is released in 2013.

AmazonBNSonyKoboAREBook Depository

Wool Omnibus Edition by Hugh HowleyWool Omnibus Edition by Hugh Howley. $1.99.

From Jacket Copy:

This Omnibus Edition collects the five Wool books into a single volume. It is for those who arrived late to the party and who wish to save a dollar or two while picking up the same stories in a single package.

The first Wool story was released as a standalone short in July of 2011. Due to reviewer demand, the rest of the story was released over the next six months. My thanks go out to those reviewers who clamored for more. Without you, none of this would exist. Your demand created this as much as I did.

This is the story of mankind clawing for survival, of mankind on the edge. The world outside has grown unkind, the view of it limited, talk of it forbidden. But there are always those who hope, who dream. These are the dangerous people, the residents who infect others with their optimism. Their punishment is simple. They are given the very thing they profess to want: They are allowed outside.

This is an Amazon only deal but it’s a really good deal. I haven’t read this but I’ve heard from trusted sources that it is amazing. Ridley Scott has bought the film rights.

AmazonBNSonyKoboAREBook Depository

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

5 Comments

  1. Sunny
    Oct 06, 2012 @ 15:18:09

    Oh no, I need to get in the habit of looking here first before buying, I grabbed the Wool Omnibus this morning! A friend of mine was just recommending it yesterday, so I was thrilled to see it go on sale. The first book, Wool, is also a free book at the moment on Amazon.

  2. Kaetrin
    Oct 06, 2012 @ 20:32:55

    No Wool on Kindle for Australians *cries*

  3. Sandra Schwab
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 06:51:04

    Kerstin Gier’s YA novel “Ruby Red” is one of the very, very few German books I read in recent years. I enjoyed it very much – it’s funny, it’s romantic,and even though it is the beginning of a trilogy, it is, as far as I can remember, a self-contained story.

  4. SonomaLass
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 22:47:29

    I got really caught up in the Wool books. They are grim in setting, but the characters are great and the story is compelling. I bought all six installments separately, but this omnibus edition of the first five is a great deal. Number six is a prequel, anyway, and best read after the others.

  5. Alice Gibb
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 22:56:08

    Wool books are currently coming in at $5.99 (not $1.99) on Amazon at 9 PM Sunday night.