Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: From Chiefs to chefs

Five Chiefs: A Supreme Court Memoir by John Paul StevensFive Chiefs: A Supreme Court Memoir by John Paul Stevens. $ 2.99

From the Jacket Copy:

When he resigned last June, Justice Stevens was the third longest serving Justice in American history (1975-2010)–only Justice William O. Douglas, whom Stevens succeeded, and Stephen Field have served on the Court for a longer time.
In Five Chiefs, Justice Stevens captures the inner workings of the Supreme Court via his personal experiences with the five Chief Justices–Fred Vinson, Earl Warren, Warren Burger, William Rehnquist, and John Roberts–that he interacted with. He reminisces of being a law clerk during Vinson’s tenure; a practicing lawyer for Warren; a circuit judge and junior justice for Burger; a contemporary colleague of Rehnquist; and a colleague of current Chief Justice John Roberts. Along the way, he will discuss his views of some the most significant cases that have been decided by the Court from Vinson, who became Chief Justice in 1946 when Truman was President, to Roberts, who became Chief Justice in 2005.

Packed with interesting anecdotes and stories about the Court, Five Chiefs is an unprecedented and historically significant look at the highest court in the United States.

PW writes “Part of the pleasure of Stevens’s writing is the way in which he relates the broader dialogue of the development of law to the individuals whose deliberations and discussions have shaped it. He explains how the court’s deliberative process gives content to the notion of justice, which is never defined in the constitution, but is a kind of permanent work in progress.”

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Into the Darkest Corner: A Novel by Elizabeth HaynesInto the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Catherine Bailey has been enjoying the single life long enough to know a catch when she sees one. Gorgeous, charismatic and spontaneous, Lee seems almost too perfect to be true. And her friends clearly agree, as each in turn falls under his spell.

But what begins as flattering attentiveness and passionate sex turns into raging jealousy, and Catherine soon learns there is a darker side to Lee. His increasingly erratic, controlling behaviour becomes frightening, but no one believes her when she shares her fears. Increasingly isolated and driven into the darkest corner of her world, a desperate Catherine plans a meticulous escape.

Four years later, Lee is behind bars and Catherine—now Cathy—compulsively checks the locks and doors in her apartment, trusting no one. But when an attractive upstairs neighbour, Stuart, comes into her life, Cathy dares to hope that happiness and love may still be possible . . . until she receives a phone call informing her of Lee’s impending release. Soon after, Cathy thinks she catches a glimpse of the former best friend who testified against her in the trial; she begins to return home to find objects subtly rearranged in her apartment, one of Lee’s old tricks. Convinced she is back in her former lover’s sights, Cathy prepares to wrestle with the demons of her past for the last time.

Utterly convincing in its portrayal of obsession, Into the Darkest corner is an ingeniously structured and plotted tour de force of suspense that marks the arrival of a major new talent.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREAppleGoogle

Stung by Bethany WigginsStung by Bethany Wiggins. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Fiona doesn’t remember going to sleep. But when she opens her eyes, she discovers her entire world has been altered-her house is abandoned and broken, and the entire neighborhood is barren and dead. Even stranger is the tattoo on her right wrist-a black oval with five marks on either side-that she doesn’t remember getting but somehow knows she must cover at any cost. And she’s right. When the honeybee population collapsed, a worldwide pandemic occurred and the government tried to bio-engineer a cure. Only the solution was deadlier than the original problem-the vaccination turned people into ferocious, deadly beasts who were branded as a warning to un-vaccinated survivors. Key people needed to rebuild society are protected from disease and beasts inside a fortress-like wall. But Fiona has awakened branded, alone-and on the wrong side of the wall . . .

Yesterday I read an article how scientists have reversed aging in mice and are now looking to start human trials. This is how every zombie apocalypse begins. Just FYI. You better start reading these post apoc books for tips on how to survive. Step 1. Don’t fall asleep.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Bone in the Throat  by Anthony BourdainBone in the Throat by Anthony Bourdain. $ 1.99.

From the Jacket Copy:

When up-and-coming chef Tommy Pagana settles for a less than glamorous stint at his uncle’s restaurant in Manhattan’s Little Italy, he unwittingly finds himself a partner in big-time crime. And when the mob decides to use the kitchen for a murder, nothing Tommy learned in cooking school has prepared him for what happens next. With the FBI on one side, and his eccentric wise guy superiors on the other, Tommy has to struggle to do right by his conscience, and to avoid getting killed in the meantime.

In the vein of Prizzi’s Honor, Bone in the Throat is a thrilling Mafia caper laced with entertaining characters and wry humor. This first novel is a must-have for fans of Anthony Bourdain’s nonfiction.

“A prodigiously self-assured first novel. . . the author’s comic vision goes beyond original. It is deliciously depraved.”-The New York Times Book Review

I had no idea Bourdain wrote fiction. The middling reviews say it is no more than a who-dun-it mystery but livened up by the obvious insidery look at a chef’s life.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

5 Comments

  1. Angela
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 14:34:24

    Step 1. Don’t fall asleep.

    LOL!

  2. LucyDean
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 15:06:22

    Are we sure “Stung” isn’t elaborate anti-vaxx propaganda?

  3. JJPP
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 15:15:11

    I bought Stung when it was a daily deal a few months ago, and I could not get into it. I actually kind of hated it, but I didn’t really get far enough along to be able to tell if I was justified. So I looked it up on Goodreads to see if it would be worth persisting, and there are some hilariously bad reviews on there! It sounds like the heroine is too stupid to live, and there’s a bad case of insta-love with her captor… I hate those things, so I DNF’ed it.

    But you know, it could be awesome! I can’t say. :)

  4. Victoria
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 15:42:38

    Bourdain’s fiction writing is actually enjoyable, if you like those kinds of stories. I consider his fiction to be pretty good beach/vacation reading when you want something with a lot of action that doesn’t take a lot of thought.

  5. hilly
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 18:34:52

    “Step 1. Don’t fall asleep.”

    IIRC, that’s how the Bodysnatchers get ya, too! ;-)

%d bloggers like this: