Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: Erotic, New Adult, and Young Adult for $2.99 or...

The Amazon Kindle Daily Deal for Romance is Bent by H.B. Heinzer for 99c. I think I might start including these every day because not everyone goes to Amazon for the Daily Deal and they have one each day for romance. 164 reviews, average 4.2 stars. Published by Montlake. If you’re wondering why so many reviews it is likely because Amazon either put the book in the Vine program and/or gives you a discount for other books if you leave a review. That’s why Montlake books have so many reviews.

Blurb:

There’s one thing Julia Wilson has learned in life: you can’t push aside your own dreams for anyone. Newly divorced, Julia returns to the small hometown she swore she’d left forever. She plans on enjoying the cheap rental a friend offers and staying there just long enough to figure out her next steps in life.

But before long, Julia realizes she’s made a big mistake.

A decade ago, Micah Anderson promised Julia forever but broke her heart right before she left for college. Now, Julia’s back in town, and he’s going to have to tell her the truth about why he left her—it’s impossible to hide a twelve-year-old child when you live in such a small town.

Can Julia forgive Micah and start anew? Should she try to make a relationship work if Micah’s past becomes a threat to her safety? Should she follow her dreams if it means giving up on a second chance with her first love?

Bonds of Trust Lynda AicherBonds of Trust by Lynda Aicher. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

After ending her passionless marriage, Cali Reynolds is eager to live out her forbidden fantasies. Her first step is attending new members’ night at The Den, the most exclusive sex club in town. Perhaps here she can find a man who understands her desire to be dominated…

At first, Jake McCallister thinks Cali has come to his club for the wrong reasons. But when he discovers she is seeking fulfillment after years of denial, he’s intrigued—and takes it upon himself to initiate her into the pleasures she’s been missing.

Her first encounter with Jake is everything Cali has always craved, and more; she’s not prepared for the feelings he inspires in her. And Jake is just as surprised by his overwhelming attraction to Cali. As their play intensifies, so does their bond. Now, Jake doesn’t want anyone but Cali—but is he ready to officially claim her? And will she submit to being his forever?

78,000 words

“Lynda Aicher’s Bonds of Trust just might be a must-buy for Fall 2012.” —RT Book Reviews

I read this and I didn’t love it but it’s not bad either. For 99c I’d recommend you pick it up.

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Every Last Cuckoo by Kate MaloyEvery Last Cuckoo by Kate Maloy. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Sarah Lucas imagined the rest of her days would be spent living peacefully in her rural Vermont home in the steadfast company of her husband. But now, with Charles’s sudden passing, seventy-five-year-old Sarah is left inconsolably alone.

As grief settles in, Sarah’s mind lingers on her past: her imperfect but devoted fifty-year marriage to Charles; the years they spent raising their three very different children; and her childhood during the Great Depression, when her parents opened their home to countless relatives and neighbors. So, when a variety of wayward souls come seeking shelter in Sarah’s own big, empty home, her past comes full circle. As this unruly flock forms a family of sorts, they—with Sarah—nurture and protect one another, all the while discovering their unsuspected strengths and courage.

In the tradition of Jane Smiley and Sue Miller, Kate Maloy has crafted a wise and gratifying novel about a woman who gracefully accepts a surprising new role just when she though her best years were behind her.

Both Library Journal and PW say that the writing is lovely and would make an excellent book club selection but that the latter half isn’t as powerful as the first half.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREAppleGoogle

Kiss Kiss Melissa BrownKiss Kiss by Melissa Brown. $ 2.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Fall In Love with 12 full-length novels in one limited edition set by some of today’s hottest romance authors, including USA Today Best Selling Authors, J. Sterling, Tara Sivec, and Tiffany King.

Melissa Brown- Bouquet Toss
Jillian Dodd- That Boy
Priscilla Glenn- Back to You
Tiffany King- Unlikely Allies
Michelle Mankin- Love Revolution
Charles Sheehan-Miles- A Song For Julia
Michelle Pace & Tammy Coons- The Perpetual Quest for the Perfect Life
Andrea Randall- Ten Days of Perfect
Tara Sivec- A Beautiful Lie
J. Sterling- Chance Encounters
Michelle Warren- Protecting Truth
Ashley Wilcox- Waiting on Forever

These e-books would cost over $40 if purchased separately.
This set will be be available for a limited time, so get yours today!!

This is a pretty good collection of novels if you are interested in seeing what some of the top names in indie publishing are writing. Many of the authors write New Adult and others just straight up adult romance. I think that these are all contemporary novels.

In the indie world, Priscilla Glenn, Tiffany King, Andrea Randall, and Tara Sivec are fairly big names with large followings.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Some summers are just destined to be pretty  Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer — they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one wonderful and terrible summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han. $ 1.99.

From the Jacket Copy:

Some summers are just destined to be pretty

Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer — they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one wonderful and terrible summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.

PW writes “Han (Shug) realistically balances Belly’s naïveté with her awareness of the changes the years have brought (“In some ways it was even harder being the only girl back then. In some ways not”). Anecdotal chapters of past summers are interspersed, rounding out Belly’s character, her attachment to Susannah and her desire for the boys to include her.”

This is the first of three books and yes, it’s an ongoing love triangle. (I read the blurbs for the other two books)

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

3 Comments

  1. JJPP
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 14:12:27

    I really enjoyed The Summer I Turned Pretty.

    ReplyReply

  2. Kimberly James
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 15:08:03

    Okay, I’ll bite on The Summer I Turned Pretty. Anything with summer in it. Brrrr.

    ReplyReply

  3. Lynn M
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 18:57:50

    Guess I’m a lone voice – I didn’t like “Summer I Turned Pretty” at all. I though the guys were all very mean to Belly, and I found her to be delusional. She spent the majority of the book being left out. As part of a trilogy, I felt no desire to pick up either of the sequels. So I guess getting it for such a low price is a good deal – give it a try without feeling like you’ve overspent.

    ReplyReply

Leave a Reply

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

%d bloggers like this: