Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: Cookbooks, opposites attract, and the mother of the ‘girlfriend’...

Somebody Like You Lynnette AustinSomebody Like You by Lynnette Austin. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

In the bestselling tradition of Robyn Carr… WHEN A COWBOY MEETS AN HEIRESS…

Cash Hardeman thought he’d have all the time in the world to find the right woman…until he discovered that his gold digging step-grandmother will inherit the family ranch if he’s not married by his 30th birthday. With the deadline just around the corner and no prospects in sight, Cash knows it’s only a matter of time before he loses everything. But when Boston beauty Annelise blows into his life, Cash can’t help but wonder if she’s what he’s been looking for all along.Giving her bodyguards and the paparazzi the slip, heiress Annelise Montjoy has come to Maverick Junction on a life-or-death mission. But living incognito in the small Texas town is nothing like she expected, and she’s finding it difficult to keep her identity a secret–especially with a rough and tumble cowboy like Cash tempting her. It’s not long before Annelise starts to wonder if she’s finally found the man who can love her for herself rather than her money. But will Annelise’s secrets catch up with her before she and Cash can ride off into the Texas sunset?

So is it wrong for me to assume that if this is in the spirit of Robyn Carr, it’s a closed door romance? The three star review says that it is an opposites attract story and that ith had “believable characters, dialogue and storyline.”

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Next to Love: A Novel by Ellen FeldmanNext to Love by Ellen Feldman. $ 1.99 AMZN | Google

From the Jacket Copy:

For fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, The Postmistress, and Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, a story of love, war, loss, and the scars they leave set during the years of World War II and its aftermath.

It’s 1941. Babe throws like a boy, thinks for herself, and never expects to escape the poor section of her quiet Massachusetts town. Then World War II breaks out, and everything changes. Her friend Grace, married to a reporter on the local paper, fears being left alone with her infant daughter when her husband ships out; Millie, the third member of their childhood trio, now weds the boy who always refused to settle down; and Babe wonders if she should marry Claude, who even as a child could never harm a living thing. As the war rages abroad, life on the home front undergoes its own battles and victories; and when the men return, and civilian life resumes, nothing can go back to quite the way it was.

From postwar traumas to women’s rights, racial injustice to anti-Semitism, Babe, Grace, and Millie experience the dislocations, the acute pains, and the exhilaration of a society in flux. Along the way, they will learn what it means to be a wife, a mother, a friend, a fighter, and a survivor. Beautiful, startling, and heartbreaking, Next to Love is a love letter to the brave women who shaped a nation’s destiny.

“Haunting and profoundly moving . . . At turns brave, frustrating, and fragile, [Ellen] Feldman’s characters live and love with breathtaking intensity.”—Booklist (starred review)

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREAppleGoogle

9780156372084_p0_v1_s260x420 (1)The Group by Mary McCarthy. $ 2.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Written with a trenchant, sardonic edge, The Group is a dazzlingly outspoken novel and a captivating look at the social history of America between two world wars.

Mary McCarthy’s most celebrated novel follows the lives of eight Vassar graduates, known simply to their classmates as “the group.” An eclectic mix of personalities and upbringings, they meet a week after graduation to watch Kay Strong get married. After the ceremony, the women begin their adult lives—traveling to Europe, tackling the worlds of nursing and publishing, and finding love and heartbreak in the streets of New York City. Through the years, some of the friends grow apart and some become entangled in each other’s affairs, but all vow not to become like their mothers and fathers. It is only when one of them passes away that they all come back together again to mourn the loss of a friend, a confidante, and most importantly, a member of the group.

More than one reviewer thought the book was better.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

New Spanish Table by Anya von Bremzen, Susan GoldmanNew Spanish Table by Anya von Bremzen. $ 2.99.

From the Jacket Copy:

Overview

Welcome to the world’s most exciting foodscape, Spain, with its vibrant marriage of rustic traditions, Mediterranean palate, and endlessly inventive cooks. The New Spanish Table lavishes with sexy tapas —Crisp Potatoes with Spicy Tomato Sauce, Goat Cheese-Stuffed Pequillo Peppers. Heralds a gazpacho revolution—try the luscious, neon pink combination of cherry, tomato, and beet. Turns paella on its head with the dinner party favorite, Toasted Pasta “Paella” with Shrimp. From taberna owners and Michelin-starred chefs, farmers, fishermen, winemakers, and nuns who bake like a dream—in all, 300 glorious recipes, illustrated throughout in dazzling color. ¡Estupendo!

I have a love / hate relationship with digital cookbooks. Having an electronic display of a recipe is really useful particularly when your hands are full of onion juice. It’s a lot easier to wipe down a spattered iPad screen than it is a piece of paper. But many times the digitization is poor and you have to zoom in and move around to see the recipe.

Nonetheless, I keep buying them. I think I bought like 5 or 6 in the great Kobo 90% off sale and haven’t made one thing from them yet.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

5 Comments

  1. Barb in Maryland
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 14:52:33

    Psst–wrong cover picture for The Group.

  2. Kaetrin
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 18:52:03

    @Jane The Robyn Carr books I’ve read haven’t been closed door. I’m woefully behind in the Virgin River series but the first few were about what you’d expect for a contemporary romance as far as heat level goes. Perhaps a bit hotter than Susan Elizabeth Phillips, say.

  3. LeeF
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 20:36:44

    I can’t remember if I saw The Group movie first or read the book first. Either way I thought it was SO sophisticated and finally understood what “lesbian” meant. Plus I was shocked that Tony from “I Deam of Jeannie” was such a rat!

  4. Janine
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 21:32:00

    I love digital cookbooks. Not only is my kindle easier on my wrists (I have RSI’s in both) than most cookbooks, I also love being able to search my whole collection for a particular dish or ingredient. At this point, my digital cookbook collection has become so convenient that I hate purchasing cookbooks in print.

  5. msilk
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 08:31:59

    I know Barb in Maryland already commented on this but the cover is wrong on The Group.

    I too love to cook and bake. I keep buying digital cookbooks, but have yet to use one. Instead each day I end up pulling out one of my paper cookbooks or printing something from a website so I should probably stop buying digital cookbooks……Except I really want this cookbook, so guess I’ll stop after I buy this one.

%d bloggers like this: