Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: Classic historicals and award winning Newberry books

Lucien's Fall  by     Barbara SamuelLucien’s Fall by Barbara Samuel. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

Fans of Jo Beverley, Eloisa James, and Stephanie Laurens will love the romances of RITA award winner Barbara Samuel.

A full-length historical romance novel.

A SINFULLY APPEALING RAKE

Lord Lucien Escher, is a renowed London rake who believes there is not a woman in the world who cannot be seduced, and is determined to prove it, come what may.

AN INTELLIGENT AND DETERMINED WOMAN

This book and Heart of the Knight are 99c.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook Depository

SuperFreakonomics: Global Cooling, Patriotic Prostitutes, and Why Suicide Bombers Should Buy Life Insurance      by     Steven D. Levitt,     Stephen J. DubnerSuperFreakonomics by Steven D. Levitt. $ 3.79

From the Jacket Copy:

SuperFreakonomics challenges the way we think all over again, with such questions as:

How is Street Prostitute Like a Department-Store Santa?

What’s The Best Way to catch a Terrorist?

What Do Hurricanes, Heart Attacks, And Highway Deaths Have in Common?

Are people harwired for Altruism or Selfishness?

Can Eating Kangaroo Save The Planet?

Levitt and Dubner mix smart thinking and great storytelling like no one else, whether investigating a solution to global warming or explaining why the price of oral sex has fallen so drastically.

Kind of a weird price point but it is that price at both B&N and Amazon. Probably not as good as the first one, but readable. Maybe a good gift book? At Amazon, you can buy at the cheap price but designate the date of delivery.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook Depository

Mr. Popper's Penguins      by     Richard Atwater,     Robert Lawson (Illustrator),     Florence AtwaterMr. Popper’s Penguins by Richard Atwater. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

The unexpected delivery of a large crate containing an Antarctic penguin changes the life and fortunes of Mr. Popper, a house painter obsessed by dreams of the Polar regions.

I’m a big fan of this book. I read it as a kid and read it to my tot just a year ago. It was great both times. Although as a mom, I did think to myself that destroying one’s house for a penguin was maybe a bit too much.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook Depository

Johnny Tremain      by     Esther ForbesJohnny Tremain by Esther Forbes. $ 1.99.

From the Jacket Copy:

Johnny Tremain, winner of the 1943 Newbery Medal, is one of the finest historical novels ever written for children. As compelling today as it was fifty years ago, to read this riveting novel is to live through the defining events leading up to the American Revolutionary War seen through the eyes of a boy who turns in his smithing tools to take up a rifle and fight for the liberty of America.

Fourteen-year old Johnny Tremain, an apprentice silversmith with a bright future ahead of him, injures his hand in a tragic accident, forcing him to look for other work. In his new job as a horse-boy, riding for the patriotic newspaper, the Boston Observer, and as a messenger for the Sons of Liberty, he encounters John Hancock, Samuel Adams, and Dr. Joseph Warren. Soon Johnny is involved in the pivotal events shaping the American Revolution from the Boston Tea Party to the first shots fired at Lexington.

Powerful illustrations by American artist Michael McCurdy, bring new life to Ether Forbes’ quintessential novel of the American Revolution.

After injuring his hand, a silversmith’s apprentice in Boston becomes a messenger for the Sons of Liberty in the days before the American Revolution.

This is another Newberry Award winning novel that is price matched against the sale that Apple is holding on these award winning books.  Apple link

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook Depository

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

9 Comments

  1. Cervenka
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 14:08:08

    I’m not a very forgiving reader of jacket copy. When I see punctuation as mangled as what appears on Lucien’s Fall, I won’t buy the book. Don’t publishers realize this?

  2. hapax
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 14:26:16

    MR POPPER’S PENGUINS!!!!

    (Forgive the exclamation marks.)

    I simply adored this book as a child, and loved it just as much each time I re-read it to my children. I’ll bet I’m not the only person who painted the walls in her kitchen different colors just because of a few paragraphs in this story.

    Whatever you do, do NOT judge this book by the recent live-action film.

  3. Janine
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 14:35:14

    Thank you, thank you, thank you for the link to the Johnny Tremaine sale! We had to read it for Middle School, and it was one of the first books I read in English after reaching the reading level of my own age group. I remember loving it to bits (though it may have had something to do with the relief of being able to read above kiddie level again). I’ve wanted for years to reread it sometime and see if it’s as good as I remember, and now I can! So thanks.

    IIRC, I liked Lucien’s Fall years ago, but it’s been so long that I can’t be sure I would feel similarly now.

  4. jmc
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 16:25:09

    Like Janine, I read Johnny Tremaine in middle school and loved it. Even then I wanted a sequel, though, to see what came next ;)

  5. brandy
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 16:46:07

    I picked up both Lucien’s Fall and Heart of the Knight as Kindle freebies earlier this year and enjoyed them both. I thought Samuel’s writing quite beautiful.

  6. Alicia
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 17:10:47

    Weird. I was randomly thinking of Johnny Tremain last night.

  7. Susan
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 18:11:43

    Having enjoyed the first book, I just checked out the SuperFreakonomics. I was a little perplexed, tho, because Amazon is offering the “illustrated” Kindle version for $22.99. Does that mean that the $3.79 version has none of the charts/graphics? Without them, I’d think the book is pretty much useless. Why would they do this?

  8. eastofeden
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 19:24:25

    Loved Mr. Poppers Penguins! Does anyone else also remember the Amalia Bedelia books? I think I was reading those about the same time. Johnny Termain Day was the highlight of both my children’s Fifth Grade year in school. All the 5th grade classes dressed up and the school brought in a reenactor. Such a fun event.

  9. Kelly
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 21:36:28

    It’s the Newbery Award, named after John C. Newbery. It doesn’t have the word “berry” in it.

%d bloggers like this: