Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: Best friends, true bad boys, and adorable geeks

Desert Heat by Elizabeth ReyesDesert Heat by Elizabeth Reyes. $ 2.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Between running from her past, working three jobs, and worrying about her family, the only thing that could further complicate singer Bethany Amaya’s life is falling in love. But after serendipitously attending a speed dating event and meeting the intense and sexy detective Damian Santiago, that’s exactly what happens. In the blink of an eye, Bethany is caught up in a passionate affair with the most irresistible man she’s ever met.

As their romance heats up, Damian’s skills of detecting and reading body language begin to raise his suspicions. Bethany is keeping something from him. But Bethany refuses to get Damian caught up in her troubles. She feels that some things are better left unsaid. With everything suddenly working against her, the race is on to fix her life before the truth is revealed and Damian finds out it’s even worse than he imagines.

Steamy and addictive, Desert Heat is the story of a fiery whirlwind romance threatened at every turn by a dark secret.

A friend of mine told me this is one of Reyes best books yet. The friend is a picky, picky romance reader so I’m enthused to give this a shot.

AmazonBNKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

How to Love by Katie CotugnoHow to Love by Katie Cotugno. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

For fans of Sarah Dessen and John Green, How to Love is a breathtaking debut about a couple who falls in love . . . twice.

Before: Reena Montero has loved Sawyer LeGrande for as long as she can remember. But he’s never noticed that Reena even exists . . . until one day, impossibly, he does. Reena and Sawyer fall in messy, complicated love. But then Sawyer disappears without a word, leaving a devastated—and pregnant—Reena behind.

After: Almost three years have passed, and there’s a new love in Reena’s life: her daughter. Reena’s gotten used to life without Sawyer, but just as suddenly as he disappeared, he turns up again. Reena wants nothing to do with him, though she’d be lying if she said his being back wasn’t stirring something in her.

After everything that’s happened, can Reena really let herself love Sawyer LeGrande again?

I’m a big fan of Sarah Dessen and while I view Green as the Nicholas Sparks of the YA genre, he’s a competent writer. (Kind of in the Dawson Creek precociousness sort of way). The negative reviews didn’t buy into either character. Some hated Reena for being too passive and accepting of the treatment of Sawyer, a drug addicted, pill popping wastrel but the writing was beautiful per even the negative reviews. It appears to be a beautifully described train wreck which compels you forward even against your better judgment. Hey, you’re just like Reena and the book is the bad boy that keeps treating you awfully but you still return for me. I have those book boyfriends too.

AmazonBNKoboBook DepositoryAREAppleGoogle

Attachments by Rainbow RowellAttachments by Rainbow Rowell. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . ”

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?

Jayne gave this book a strong B+ recommendation.

I fell for Beth for the same reasons that Lincoln does. She’s bright, funny, caring of her friends and family despite being forced into Bad Bridesmaid Dress number two. Or was it three? This part of the book has an almost chick lit feel to it as Jennifer and Beth gripe and moan and support each other through the ups and downs of their lives. Despite the fact that we don’t “see” Beth in person in the narrative until late in the book didn’t detract from my feeling that I knew her as well as Lincoln.

I bought it. I’m going to read it.

AmazonBNKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Tempting Her Best Friend by Gina MaxwellTempting Her Best Friend by Gina Maxwell. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

Alyssa Miller is tired of waiting for her next-door neighbor to see her as more than just his best friend. Ready to let off some steam, she heads to Las Vegas for a romance book convention where, if she’s lucky, she’ll get down and dirty with one of the sexy cover models.

Dillon Alexander doesn’t do commitment—especially not where his best friend is concerned. She deserves a man who can give her the world, not damaged goods. But when he realizes Alyssa intends to have a one-night stand on her vacation, he hauls ass after her to make sure he’s the one to scratch her itch.

Neither of them expects their explosive chemistry to burn hotter than the lights on the strip, but with a little help from Elvis, Marilyn Monroe, a flamboyant matchmaker, and TSA, what happens in Vegas might not stay in Vegas…

A data-entry error means big discounts for you! This full-length category novel is mistakenly up as a “novella” and we can’t change the price until release day. Pre-order this NYT best-selling author’s next book for only 99¢!

Deal is available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, iTunes

AmazonBNKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

9 Comments

  1. Andrea T
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 15:12:55

    I just finished Attachments on audio and loved it.

  2. Krista
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 15:24:31

    Does anyone know if Tempting her Best Friend is really a full length novel as mentioned above? It’s only 164 pages according to goodreads. I am tempted to buy anyway since I do appreciate a good friends to lovers story.

    Liked but did not love Rainbow’s book even though we live in the same city and there’s a lot of fun connections between the book and our home. Rainbow, known for her two stints as a columnist at our local paper, is sharp witted which is evidenced in her snappy dialogue. A sweet read.

  3. Nicole
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 15:31:15

    That last book’s blurb was the book equivalent of “Bank error in your favor!” but it intrigued me enough to buy it, so well played, publisher.

  4. lisa
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 15:38:37

    I’ve been tempted to give Rainbow Rowell a try simply because of where she’s from, despite the urge to headdesk over many many many of her op ed pieces for the World Herald over the years.

    At least the blurb made me laugh but I’ll be taking a definite pass. Fremont for a surname easily slides under the radar. Lincoln O’Neill definitely gets a side-eye all things considered. But the surname made Scribner-Snyder made me go “Oh dear god” and just cackle. Obviously her books are on par with her Op Eds and I’m just going to forget it, probably not bad but definitely not for me.

    Look at a Nebraska map. Lincoln, Fremont, O’Neill, Scribner and Snyder are all towns. Though Scribner and Snyder generally get mentioned anywhere as Scribner-Snyder Trojans, Trojans being the mascot of the two towns consolidated school.

  5. Laura Jardine
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 16:16:24

    I read Attachments a few years ago and loved it. Can’t remember it very well, though. I think I signed it out from the library, so perhaps I should buy a copy for myself…

  6. JewelCourt
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 17:50:50

    @Krista I don’t know whether Tempting Her Best Friend is full length, but I do know that my book is 50,000 words and Amazon says it’s 145 pages. I’m not sure how they came up with that (I think they have some sort of algorithm to calculate it), because the PDF version my publisher sent me was 180 pages.
    So my guess would be Tempting Her Best Friend is probably about 60-80k, the length of a Harlequin category book.

  7. library addict
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 19:29:27

    I enjoyed Attachments a lot. I read it back when Jayne recommended it. It’s the only book of hers I’ve read as i wasn’t interested in the NA ones.

  8. Renda
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 21:45:21

    Thanks to this, I now have Attachments in e, paper, and audio.
    I loved it.
    It went immediately to my DIK shelf, which is the only sparsely populated shelf I have.

  9. Kim
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 08:39:34

    @lisa and @krista–I’m an expat Nebraskan, but had to get this for the Scribner-Snyder surname alone (and I’m old enough to remember when they were separate schools and played VB in Snyder’s ancient quanset). Haven’t read any of her books although I have a couple in the TBR pile. I guess the familiarity will make that worth the time as I’m not sure I’m really her target market.

%d bloggers like this: