Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: Bad cops to good dogs and a sexy contemporary...

Busted: A Tale of Corruption and Betrayal in the City of Brotherly Love by Wendy RudermanBusted: A Tale of Corruption and Betrayal in the City of Brotherly Love by Wendy Ruderman. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Although Busted reads like a thriller, the breathtaking story it tells—of two journalists’ quest to unmask corrupt police officers and a warped justice system, the reporting of which culminated in a Pulitzer Prize—is absolutely true. One afternoon in late 2008, a man walks into the offices of the local tabloid the Philadelphia Daily News and asks to speak with reporter Wendy Ruderman. An imminent casualty of the foundering print industry, the paper is on the brink of bankruptcy, and its anxious staff members are plagued with dwindling resources. But what Benny Martinez tells Wendy and her colleague Barbara Laker is too shocking to ignore; his career as a confidential informant for a member of the Philadelphia Police Department’s narcotics squad has drawn him into a horrifying web of corruption, and now he is afraid for his life.

The decision they make that day to believe Benny’s saga will lead the two journalists to uncover a truth darker than they could have imagined. Busted is Ruderman and Laker’s riveting account of their explosive investigation into the acts committed by rogue members of the narcotics squad. By dint of perseverance, ingenuity, and good old shoe-leather reporting, the women unravel a tapestry of lies almost six years in the making. Starting with a scheme to fabricate search warrants, the scandal soon encompasses the systematic, citywide looting of immigrant-owned businesses and allegations of brutal sexual assault.

The remarkable lengths Ruderman and Laker go to for the story—chasing down witnesses on the city’s grimmest streets, sifting through archive boxes and hours of surveillance tape for crucial clues, and coaxing reluctant victims to come forward—put their determination to balance motherhood with the career they love to the ultimate test. But when they produce a devastating series of articles that blows the lid off the scandal—prompting civil lawsuits against the city and the reexamination of hundreds of convictions (although none of the officers have been charged or convicted of any crime)—they not only win the fight for justice; they also win a Pulitzer Prize for Investigative Reporting, an unthinkable achievement for two city reporters at a beleaguered regional paper.

Sounds fascinating but a little depressing. PW writes “What keeps the book from becoming an overly familiar touting of the power of journalism to right serious wrongs is the authors’ awareness of the fragility of the whole enterprise. “The death knell of our industry seemed remote” when the authors garnered accolades, but one Pulitzer later, they have experienced job changes, a divorce, the bankruptcy of their employer—and none of the accused cops at the center of the scandal have faced charges. The book is a tough, lively lesson in how doing the right thing, the right way, may not be enough.”

AmazonBNKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

The Mountaintop School for Dogs and Other Second Chances by Ellen CooneyThe Mountaintop School for Dogs and Other Second Chances by Ellen Cooney. $ 2.99

From the Jacket Copy:

The Sanctuary. High up on the mountain, the Sanctuary is a home for strays and rescued dogs. Once the indomitable Mrs. Auberchon lets her pass, Evie joins a training program there — never mind that she doesn’t know a thing about animals. But when she’s finally on the mountain with staffers, volunteers, and the dogs, Evie learns quickly, finding refuge in the Sanctuary as the dogs do. For, like the racing greyhound who won’t move, the golden retriever who returns every time he’s adopted, and the Rottweiler failing at search-and-rescue, Evie has a troubled past. A worthy shelf-mate to books by Garth Stein and Carolyn Parkhurst, this is a heartfelt novel about finding in your fellow animals a deeper sense of home, healing, and hope for a fresh future.

I’ve been told that stories about pets are immensely popular. I think this book missed the mark by failing to have a cute puppy at the front of the book.

Library Journal writes “Cooney’s (A Private Hotel for Gentle Ladies) latest novel is both a joyful romp and a thoughtful meditation. The author’s delicate touch with the pain and trauma endured by abused animals and her sensitive portrayal of dedicated rescuers send a powerful message. Love is a great teacher and we are all a little unadoptable. Readers of Garth Stein and Carolyn Parkhurst will adore this title.”

AmazonBNKoboBook DepositoryAREAppleGoogle

Mind Games by Kiersten WhiteMind Games by Kiersten White. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Perfect for fans of Sara Shepard’s The Lying Game series, Kiersten White’s Mind Games, a novel about two sisters trapped in a web of deceit, was called “lightning fast and fabulously fun” by bestselling author Laini Taylor.

Fia and Annie are as close as two sisters can be. They look out for each other. Protect each other. And most importantly, they keep each other’s secrets, even the most dangerous ones: Annie is blind, but can see visions of the future; Fia was born with flawless intuition—her first impulse is always exactly right. When the sisters are offered a place at an elite boarding school, Fia realizes that something is wrong . . . but she doesn’t grasp just how wrong. The Keane Institute is no ordinary school, and Fia is soon used for everything from picking stocks to planting bombs. If she tries to refuse, they threaten her with Annie’s life. Now Fia’s falling in love with a boy who has dark secrets of his own. And with his help, she’s ready to fight back. They stole her past. They control her present. But she won’t let them take her future.

School Library Journal says, “This gripping, intense story is told from alternating perspectives, flashing back to key moments in the siblings’ pasts. The plot moves quickly from the start, throwing readers right into the story. While some background is provided later in the book, full explanations of the nature of the Keane Foundation remain elusive. This book is sure to be popular with teens who enjoy fast-paced thrillers with paranormal elements.”

AmazonBNKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Vengeful in Love by Nadia Lee. $ Free.

From the Jacket Copy:

This edition contains an expanded and revised ending.

A Hot Sexy Contemporary Romance from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Nadia Lee — featuring a powerful, dominant alpha billionaire hero who falls for his enemies’ daughter…

Revenge is sweet…

Self-made billionaire Alex Damon wants his pound of flesh from the people who ripped his family apart. When he discovers his enemies’ daughter is working at his company — and most likely spying for them — he decides to start his revenge by seducing her.

Natalie Hall is stunned at the personal interest from the CEO of her company. Vulnerable, with an already bruised heart, she wants to avoid any involvement–but she can’t deny the desire he arouses in her.

… but love is sweeter…

What should’ve been a straightforward eye-for-an-eye starts to unravel as Natalie’s unflinching loyalty and kindness begin to thaw Alex’s cold intent. But caring for her is unthinkable… since he plans to use everything in his power to ruin her family and everyone else she holds dear.

NOTE: Previously published as Carnal Secrets.

Predictable and safe but enjoyable say the middling reviews.

AmazonBNKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

8 Comments

  1. Shannon H
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 15:27:10

    I highly recommend Mind Games. I read it in one sitting and immediately flew through the sequel as well. Good premise, good characters, good writing.

  2. Darlynne
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 15:53:06

    Kobo is running another contest, where the prizes are discount coupons for non-agency books. What’s different this time is that the coupons can be used by anyone, not just the winner of the coupon. They are one-time use, must be redeemed by 8/29 and are only valid in US/CA/UK, but there are many in the 45-75% off range. These are the 75% off coupons:

    2J7V3L
    43HQ8T
    5X7ZRR
    878J3X
    6U7WQM
    8TBR2C
    92NEA6
    8G7BPT

    The entire list is too big to post, but you can find it at the MobileRead forum under “Kobobooks.com Discount Codes”.

  3. MaryK
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 16:22:34

    @Darlynne: Thanks!

    Can anyone explain why coupons still cannot be used on agency books?

  4. Jia
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 16:24:24

    For anyone interested, I reviewed Mind Games when it first came out.

  5. Darlynne
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 17:30:52

    @MaryK: No idea. I’m just waiting for the day when we don’t have to say anything about “agency.” Not holding my breath.

  6. Kaetrin
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 00:38:45

    Sadly the PERKOPOLIS Kobo code died last night. MobileReads is a great place to find out about working coupons though.

  7. LAS
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 09:53:54

    The PERKOPOLIS kobo code is still working in Canada. I had some problems with it yesterday and thought it died but it was only because the book didn’t actually take promo codes even though the kobo site indicated it did.

  8. MaryK
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:26:00

    Turns out all of the pricier books on my wish list are Penguin, Macmillan, et al.

%d bloggers like this: