Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: A variety of deals from a historical retelling of...

Hell on Wheels Julie Ann Walker Hell on Wheels by Julie Ann Walker. $1.99.

From Jacket Copy:

Black Knights Inc.—Behind the facade of their tricked–out motorcycle shop is an elite special ops team assigned the jobs too hot for anyone else to handle.

Hold On Tight…

Ex–Marine Nate “Ghost” Weller is an expert at keeping his cool—and his distance—which makes him one hell of a sniper. It’s also how he keeps his feelings for Ali Morgan in check. Sweet, sexy Ali has always revved his engine, but she’s his best friend’s baby sister…and totally off limits.

Rough Road Ahead

Ali’s never seen anything sexier than Nate Weller straddling his custom Harley—or the flash of danger in his eyes when she tells him she’s in trouble. First something happened to her brother, and now she’s become the target of a nasty international organization. With Nate, her life is in the most capable hands possible—but her heart is another story altogether.

This series is in the spirit of Tara Janzen’s Crazy series. The second in the series is my favorite but this is the first. Check Amazon Black Friday Deals for other romance, mystery deals that were featured during Amazon’s Daily Deals this year.

AmazonBNSonyKoboAREBook Depository

Taking ChancesTaking Chances by Molly McAdams. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

Eighteen year old Harper has grown up under her career Marine of a father’s thumb. Ready to live life her own way and experience things she’s only ever heard of from the jarheads in her father’s unit; she’s on her way to college at San Diego State University.

Thanks to her new roommate, Harper is introduced to a world of parties, gorgeous guys, family and emotions. Some she wasn’t expecting yet, and others she never knew she was missing.

She finds herself being torn in two as she quickly falls in love with her boyfriend Brandon, and her roommate’s brother Chase. Covered in tattoos, known for fighting in the Underground and ridiculously muscled…they’re exactly what she was always warned to stay away from, but just what she needs. Despite their dangerous looks and histories, both adore and would do anything for Harper, including stepping back if it means she’s happy.

Her first year away is turning out to be near perfect, but one weekend of giving in to heated passion will change everything.

I thought this was a crazy, unbelievable story about a passive girl who can’t make any decisions in her life. I gave it an F, but at 99c you can see for yourself how insane the story is.

This is a contemporary but there is no attempt at any realism in any aspect of the story. Not in the age of the characters. Not in the setting (college is almost non existent). Not in the actions of the characters. I guess Harper being super selfish and self absorbed could be realistic but I like to think that people like her are few and far between. No amount of “I love them both” refrains rouses any sympathy in me for her situation.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple

The Cards of Life and Death      by     Colleen GleasonThe Cards of Life and Death by Colleen Gleason. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

**Special Price for a Limited Time**

In the tradition of Barbara Michaels, Antoinette Stockenberg and Mary Stewart, international bestselling author Colleen Gleason takes on the modern gothic.

A small-town summer romance spiced up with moonlit boat rides, handsome neighbors, and a haunted deck of Tarot cards….

Diana Iverson is a sharp, up and coming malpractice attorney with a logical, scientific mind and a handsome fiancé—until the rug is pulled out from under her feet and her life is upended.

When her crazy Aunt Belinda dies, leaving her a big old house in Maine along with a box of Tarot cards, Diana takes the opportunity for a summer get-away away from the rat-race of Boston and the painful memories there.

She doesn’t expect to meet up with Ethan Tannock, the handsome neighbor next door who seems to be some sort of eccentric ghost-buster—along with his big, black Labrador Retriever.

But when the old house becomes the scene of vandalism and a number of break-ins, and it begins to appear as if Aunt Belinda’s death was not as it seemed, Diana finds that life isn’t always black and white and filled with logic.

And then there are Aunt Belinda’s Tarot cards…which seem to be trying to tell her something from beyond the grave.

Jia was a fan of Colleen Gleason when she was writing the Buffy in Victorian London series. Gleason has moved on from those series and it looks like this is a self published effort.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple

The Song of Achilles (Enhanced Edition), by Madeline MillerThe Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller . $ 3.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Enter the world of Homer’s ancient Greece with the enhanced e-book edition of The Song of Achilles. This edition lets you further engage with this compelling story through video interviews with Madeline Miller and Gregory Maguire, bestselling author of the Wicked series, clips from the audio book at the start of each chapter, an illustrated map, and a pop-up gallery featuring over 40 images and descriptions of the characters, armor, and ships found in the book.

The legend begins…

Greece in the age of heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the kingdom of Phthia to be raised in the shadow of King Peleus and his golden son, Achilles. “The best of all the Greeks”—strong, beautiful, and the child of a goddess—Achilles is everything the shamed Patroclus is not. Yet despite their differences, the boys become steadfast companions. Their bond deepens as they grow into young men and become skilled in the arts of war and medicine—much to the displeasure and the fury of Achilles’ mother, Thetis, a cruel sea goddess with a hatred of mortals.

Ms. Miller filled out this very interesting debut author questionnaire about her book. http://dearauthor.com/features/interviews/debut-print-book-song-of-achilles-by-madeline-miller/

“Since I was a child, I have been deeply moved by the attachment between Achilles and Patroclus, and wanted to bring their story to a wider audience. I was also drawn to Patroclus because he is not your typical ancient hero-figure—he seems more interested in healing than fighting, and in the Iliad the slave-girl Briseis calls him “always gentle.” I liked the idea of telling the epic story of the Trojan War from the perspective of someone who isn’t really epic himself. Patroclus doesn’t seek center-stage, but is pulled there by his love for Achilles.”

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple

Only Time Will Tell (The Clifton Chronicles) by Jeffrey ArcherOnly Time Will Tell (The Clifton Chronicles) by Jeffrey Archer . $ 2.99.

From the Jacket Copy:

The first novel in the Clifton Chronicles, an ambitious new series that tells the story of a family across generations and oceans, from heartbreak to triumph, from #1 New York Times bestselling author Jeffrey Archer

The epic tale of Harry Clifton’s life begins in 1920, with the words “I was told that my father was killed in the war.” A dock worker in Bristol, Harry never knew his father and expects to continue on at the shipyard, until a remarkable gift wins him a scholarship to an exclusive boys’ school, and his life will never be the same again…

As Harry enters into adulthood, he finally learns how his father really died, but the awful truth only leads him to question: Was he even his father? Is he the son of Arthur Clifton, a stevedore, or the firstborn son of a scion of West Country society, whose family owns a shipping line? From the ravages of the Great War and the docks of working-class England to the streets of 1940 New York City and the outbreak of the Second World War, this is a powerful journey that will bring to life one hundred years of history to reveal a family story that neither the reader nor Harry Clifton himself could ever have imagined.

This is the first in a series. Some readers felt like Archer had phoned it in and others thought it was a great family saga.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

One Comment

  1. Sirius
    Nov 23, 2012 @ 14:50:55

    OOOOOO you have Song of Achilles, off to buy :)

    As an aside, I was wondering if it is possible to post more gay romance deals if you could find them? Thanks Jane :)

    ReplyReply

Leave a Reply


9 + = 17

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

%d bloggers like this: