Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Daily Deals: A couple of debuts and a famous middle grade...

Ben Coes POWER DOWNPower Down by Ben Coes. $ 2.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Introducing a major new thriller writer—in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor—and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia—slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform—and that was the Capitana crew chief Dewey Andreas. Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna—an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business—sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas—who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him. Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

“Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise—terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources—in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut.”

—Publishers Weekly

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

The Sea of Monsters Rick RiordanThe Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

After a summer spent trying to prevent a catastrophic war among the Greek gods, Percy Jackson finds his seventh-grade school year unnervingly quiet. His biggest problem is dealing with his new friend, Tyson—a six-foot-three, mentally challenged homeless kid who follows Percy everywhere, making it hard for Percy to have any “normal” friends. But things don’t stay quiet for long. Percy soon discovers there is trouble at Camp Half-Blood: the magical borders which protect Half-Blood Hill have been poisoned by a mysterious enemy, and the only safe haven for demigods is on the verge of being overrun by mythological monsters. To save the camp, Percy needs the help of his best friend, Grover, who has been taken prisoner by the Cyclops Polyphemus on an island somewhere in the Sea of Monsters, the dangerous waters Greek heroes have sailed for millennia—only today, the Sea of Monsters goes by a new name…the Bermuda Triangle. Now Percy and his friends—Grover, Annabeth, and Tyson—must retrieve the Golden Fleece from the Island of the Cyclopes by the end of the summer or Camp Half-Blood will be destroyed. But first, Percy will learn a stunning new secret about his family—one that makes him question whether being claimed as Poseidon’s son is an honor or simply a cruel joke.

I can’t get my tot interested in this series and I think it is because the protagonist is neither an animal nor a female.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAppleGoogle

Gossip: A Novel by Beth GutcheonGossip by Beth Gutcheon. $ 2.99

From the Jacket Copy:

The owner of a small high-end dress shop on Manhattan’s Upper East Side, Loviah “Lovie” French is the one to whom certain women turn when they want to dish in the dressing room—including Lovie’s two best friends since boarding school, Dinah Wainwright and Avis Metcalf.

Outspoken Dinah made a name for herself as a columnist covering New York’s most fabulous; shy, proper Avis rose to prominence in the art world with her quiet manners and hard work. Despite their deep affection for Lovie, they have been allergic to each other for decades, uneasy acquaintances who are unwillingly bound to each other when Dinah’s favorite son and Avis’s only daughter fall in love. At the center of their orbit is Lovie, who knows everyone’s secrets and manages them as wisely as she can. Which is not wisely enough, as things turn out—a fact that will have a shattering effect on all their lives.

From the reviews, it sounds like this book is a bit disjointed, telling the aging process of several different characters and awkwardly advancing the age of others.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Marked by Passion (Guardians of Destiny Series #1)      by     Kate PerryMarked by Passion by Kate Perry. $ 1.99.

From the Jacket Copy:

RULES FOR THE (VERY) RELUCTANT GUARDIAN OF THE SCROLL

1. Don’t lose the above artifact you’ve inherited from your ancestors-no matter how much it starts messing up your life.

2. Do learn how to control its powers. (And, yes, that means putting up with über-complicated guardian lessons from your father’s meddling ghost.)

3. Don’t trust anyone. Especially Rhys, the mysterious bad boy who’s always one step ahead of you . . . and as irresistible as sin.

4. Doanything to keep the scroll from landing in the wrong hands. Even if that brings on a heartbreaking betrayal, an evil you never saw coming, and a choice you may not live to regret.

I always think that this author is Katy Perry and then I wonder, for a brief moment, why Katy Perry is writing romance novels. PW says that this is a frustrating and exciting debut. Frustrating because of the repetition and failure to advance the plot and exciting because of the action and breezy storytelling.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

8 Comments

  1. Shannyn Schroeder
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 14:30:38

    It’s not just you with the Katy Perry thing. Every time I see Kate Perry on a book, I do a double take.

    ReplyReply

  2. Isobel Carr
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 14:30:54

    Has the tot tried the VamPirates? My friends kids all seem to love that series.

    ReplyReply

  3. John
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 14:35:07

    Tot may like the Warriors series, which involves cats (though I cannot vouch for its quality). I’ve enjoyed Angie Frazier’s historical middle grade books, and the Book Smugglers have me hoping to read The Wig in the Window soon. As for Percy Jackson…eh, I read the first two and never felt the need to read on – and that was when they first came out.

    ReplyReply

  4. hapax
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 15:51:57

    Has tot tried Tamora Pierce? I think the CIRCLE OF MAGIC might be the right age-level.

    ReplyReply

  5. Janice
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 17:34:58

    Had to comment as I love Ben Coes! Having gobbled up Vince Flynn and working on Daniel Silva, I would rate Coes right up there with both of them. He has his 4th book coming out in July. Coes was a presidential speech writer and as you might imagine, he writes very well. Each book features the same main character in the same vein as Mitch Rapp. There is even a romance involved in the story line, but this is definitely not a romance novel – it’s a non stop thriller.

    ReplyReply

  6. Dabney
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 18:02:37

    The Riordan books are for late elementary/middle schoolers. The first few enchanted by kids but by high school, they were done. It’s a fun re-do of Greek mythology.

    ReplyReply

  7. hestia
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 18:09:57

    I read the Lightning Thief series books aloud with my kids (about 7 & 9) and we loved them. It got my younger son interested in Greek mythology — and when I say interested, I really mean obsessed. Cause he’s just like Mom.

    ReplyReply

  8. Maite
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 20:13:50

    Maybe it had to do with the fact I read it with absolutely no expectations, (another superpowered highschooler who just got a movie!) and got it on loan (so, free) but I really liked the Percy Jackson series. Eventhough I’m clearly out of the age group (22).
    I find it funny, liked the characters, liked that when hero did stupid things, people told him he was being stupid, and the author does know his mythology.

    ReplyReply

Leave a Reply

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

%d bloggers like this: