Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW: Nexus 7

Nexus 7

 

This past week I suffered a traumatic incident when I fumbled with my phone and it fell to the tile in my bathroom.  That’s what I get for trying to brush my teeth and read my emails at the same time.  I thought I was okay but then discovered the face of my screen had cracked.  I admit I might have gotten a little teary eyed.

As I was contemplating exactly what I was going to do to fix this, I wondered if now was the time to switch to the Android phone.  Angie James had done so, making the change from an iPhone to a Galaxy Note 2.  Sunita has the original Samsung Galaxy Note.  Both devices have something in common.  Their screens are really large.

Ned thinks I’m crazy to want a larger screen but I carry around a purse or some kind of pocket book at all times.  The size of the phone isn’t going to deter me. It’s a feature, I tell him, not a bug.

But while I searched the benefits and drawbacks of switching over, I stumbled across the Nexus 7 (a device I briefly encountered when I was drafting up last week’s post).  While I was able to repair the cracked phone screen for $49 (thank god for Apple Care), I ended up playing around with some Android devices, both the Samsung and the Nexus. You can’t tell in the photo how much better the screen on the Nexus versus the iPad Mini but it is. The text is crisper, the pictures more real.

IMG_7870

Click for a bigger image

I was immediately struck with how amazing the Nexus 7 screen was and after leaving the store, I kept thinking about it. Finally, I justified the purchase of one by saying I could give it away on Dear Author.  But having played with it, I’m kind of reluctant to give it up.  Folks, this is a really cool device.

Before I talk about my impressions, let’s look at the specifications between the Nexus 7 (2013) and the iPad Mini.


Nexus 7
Apple iPad Mini
7″ 1920×1200 HD display (323 ppi)
7.9″ 1024×768 resolution (163 ppi)
WiFi / Bluetooth / NFC
WiFi / Bluetooth /
114 x 200 x 8.65 mm
200 x 134.7 x 7.2 mm
0.64lbs (290g)
0.68 lbs (308 g)
16/32 GB  
16/32 /64 GB 
1.2MP front-facing camera / 5MP rear camera / 1080p HD video recording
1.2MP front-facing camera / 5MP rear camera / 720p HD video
$229 / $269
$329 / $429 / $529






I’ve been a long time Apple user but it has its limitations. For instance, to change the brightness of the screen, I have to go to find Settings.  This means leaving my current application, searching out the Settings app, scrolling down to find Brightness control and then swiping the brightness bar.  THEN I have to return to my previous application. Now, this is supposedly changing with iOS7 but in Android, you can change the brightness, as well as access a few other important settings, with a simple swipe of your finger in ANY application.  You don’t have to leave that application, but you can change the brightness right there.

NExus 7 Brightness

Another feature I really love is widgets.  Widgets are short cuts to Applications or other system functions.  On one screen you can have your calendar widget, email widget and direct dial widget along with your clock so you can easily see what you have to do and what messages you have at a glance.  The direct dial widget allows you to create a speed dial button on your home screen for your most frequently used contacts. You can also create a similar widget for your favorite text message recipients.

One of the drawbacks I read about moving away from the iOS was the complicated setups that phone companies put you through.  This is not the case with the Nexus 7 although it is not as seamless as the iOS devices I own.  When Nexus 7 starts up, you are prompted to select the country or language you wish to use and then you connect to the Internet. After you’ve connected to the Internet, there was a system update and I had to go through selecting the country and the Wi-Fi connection again.  From there it asked me if I had a Google account. I do but I have two step authentication turned on and this required me to enter my password whether one time and access my authentication program for the correct code. once that was completed,  the system restarted once again.

For reading, there are a few great reading Apps. You can peruse Brian’s list here that he updated just last month.  I particularly loved that with Monanto and Kindle, I could use the volume button to turn the page.  While I liked the ability to highlight and makes notes with the Adobe PDF App, I hated that the App showed a little gray box on the lower left side that showed the page number. It was highly irritating and I wouldn’t use the App for that reason.

I’m not a big gamer, but other reviews tout Nexus 7’s polygon interface. I have no idea what that means but yay?  I play Candy Crush.  Unfortunately being able to see candies more clearly on the Nexus 7 didn’t make me any better at the game.  It only made my disappointment at failing to advance, yet again, highlighted with brighter clarity.

But because Nexus allows profiles, I can make sure that no one else is trying to waste the lives on my version of Candy Crush.  And I can limit what apps are displayed if my daughter would use it.  Each person using the tablet to set their own profile up and thus have their own homepage and collection of Apps.

Finally, the Nexus 7 has a great feel to it. As you can see by the side by side pictures, the Nexus 7 is narrower and slightly longer than the iPad Mini.  The back is a grippy rubber texture v. the smooth metal back of the iPad Mini. Because of the smaller screen size, Nexus 7 shows you the mobile versions of websites at times.  Depending on your preference, the larger size of the iPad Mini might be better suited to your reading habits.

PDFs, ePubs, and Mobis are easy to read. Movies look great and the sound is okay. I read in other reviews that the Kindle Fire HD still has the best speakers of any tablet on the market.

There are a few drawbacks to the Nexus 7.  First, the higher resolution screen isn’t taken advantage of by all apps, meaning that some of the apps visuals will look fuzzy and less clear.  Second, The biggest drawback for me is that I have a lot of iTunes music and I watch a lot of Amazon Prime stuff. Neither of which I can do on the Nexus 7.

Right now, in a battle between the iPad Mini and the Nexus 7, the decision is almost a no brainer. At 229, over $100 less than the iPad Mini and offering a better screen, the Nexus 7 offers a better device at a much lower price.  For the Apple iPad Mini to stay competitive with its September release, it needs to roll out with a better screen and a lower price point.

Even though I’m reluctant to give it up, it seems like the perfect giveaway for August.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

268 Comments

  1. Sally
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 04:41:34

    I read on the basic Kindle.

  2. Shaheen
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 04:44:58

    I’m a big Android and Nexus fan – I already have the newest Nexus 4, and I share my reading between the Kindle app on that and on my Asus TF201. Still read paper though! I have been eyeing the nexus 7 for a while, especially as a gift to my younger brother. I would love to win this.

    Having said that, and even though it goes against my own (million to one chance) self interest, it sounds like you ought to keep this, despite the prime/itunes drawback. You’re having way too much fun with it to give it away!

  3. Lia
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 04:49:46

    I read on my Kobo Glo. Love it!

  4. Claudia Martins
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 05:20:03

    I read on a basic Kindle. I like it!

  5. Angela
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 05:24:09

    i currently read on a basic kindle but i keep looking at tablets so i can have a bigger screen and more space

  6. Elaine K
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 05:28:48

    I have a Kindle Fire with over 700 books (mostly freebies) but honestly, I often prefer to read paper books so I can flip back and forth–and peek at the ending if I feel so inclined.

  7. TrishJ
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 05:51:35

    I have a kindle for ebook reading. My smart phone is an android and I really like the widgets too.

  8. martin
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 05:56:01

    Specs on nexus 7 completely wrong. Are you talking about the original version or the new 2013 version?

  9. jenniferh
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 06:01:45

    I read on a number of different devices, depending on the situation. I have an Samsung galaxy 3 phone with a kindle app as well as overdrive for my library books and mantano for epubs. I also have a kindle fire for when my eyes need something a bit bigger. I recently inherited an ipad 2 but I find it a bit too big/cumbersome for reading novels. I also listen to books usung audible, which I have on all 3 devices. I do occasionally read paper – usually when borrowed from the library.

  10. Aemelia
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 06:10:19

    I bought my 11 yo son the Nexus 7 for Christmas last year and I really like the features. I don’t usually get to play with it, but I’m already decided that when I get a tablet, I’m going to get the Nexus 7.

  11. Sandyl
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 06:18:16

    I use an iPad mini. But at night I read on my simple touch nook.

  12. Kate M
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 06:20:54

    I currently read on a Sony 505 or my laptop. I’ve been looking at tablets lately – would love the chance to win this!

  13. Cindy
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 06:28:58

    I read on an original Kobo but I’ve been leaning toward a tablet just for portability.

  14. Kasey
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 06:29:30

    As long as your music in itunes is drm free you should be able to put it on the nexus. I have my itunes music on both my kindle fire hd and my android phone.

    I read on my kindle paperwhite about 80% of the time and my kindle fire hd the rest of the time.

  15. Kristi
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 06:36:38

    I have been using my iPad 2 for reading quite a bit, but love the size of the Nexus 7!

  16. Ummi
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 06:39:52

    Love the look of the nexus 7!!

  17. Krutula
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 06:42:43

    I read my ebooks on my Symbian phone. It has an app so that I can read epub files, along with Acrobat Reader for the pdf ones. Usually, though, I prefer reading print versions of books so I have a library membership for that.

  18. Mel Bourn
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 06:50:58

    I currently use my iPhone simply because my children do not use it. However my oldest son is trying to get me to switch to an android system. I am on the fence but am inching closer.
    Mel

  19. Loosheesh
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 06:52:16

    Three of my coworkers own Nexus 7s and I love handling it. My main reading device is the Paperwhite but recently I’ve found myself reading on my iPad 3 a lot more.

  20. Jo
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 07:02:27

    I love the fact that you get to play with these! I have a plain Kindle, a 1st gen Nook, a Nook Color, and a Nook HD+ – and I do most of my reading on ereaders these days. I haven’t moved up to a smartphone yet, but I am looking forward to reading on that when I do.

  21. Laura Morgan
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 07:04:26

    Cool Giveaway! I currently read digitally on my laptop or my kindle paperwhite.

  22. Justine
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 07:04:55

    My e-reader is a Kindle Touch. I’ve been considering a tablet (of any brand) because PDFs display illegibly on e-ink Kindles unless the PDF has been specifically formatted in MMPB dimensions.

  23. CG
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 07:07:40

    I read on a first edition Nook that I am patiently waiting to die so I can purchase a Kindle.

  24. Britt G.
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 07:13:54

    Great review! I’ve been thinking about buying one of these myself, but there are so many nice tablets around that I’m having a hard time choosing one. I read on whatever device I have handy: iPod Touch, Kindle (4th generation), Nook (1st gen) or even a cloud reader in the web browser. I only read paper books if I have to or if it’s a textbook.

    I just wanted to mention that you can listen to your iTunes music on the Nexus 7. Download either the official Google Play Music desktop program or the Amazon Cloud Player to your computer. Both scan your iTunes (or Windows Media Player) library and match (or upload, if the song isn’t available in their respective music libraries) the songs of your choice to your account. From there, you can listen to your music on the web or on a mobile device. The downside is that neither of them work for any songs that still have DRM on them. I use and like them both. Amazon’s interface is more intuitive, but Google gives you more free space.

  25. Karla Doyle
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 07:18:52

    I read on my iPhone. I’d love something a bit bigger, but not so big it doesn’t fit comfortably in one hand. Thanks for the excellent comparison. :)

  26. Danielle D
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 07:29:17

    Good luck everyone!!!!!

  27. Carla
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 07:35:28

    I read on Kindle.

  28. Liz H.
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 07:36:09

    I just got a Nook glow, after the traumatic death of my Nook simple touch. (Apparently death-by-dog isn’t covered by the warrenty.) I also occasionally read on my macbook pro.

  29. Christina
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 07:51:17

    I read on kindle, but lately I have been using the cloud reader more than my actual kindle. I also have a nice little dead tree library going, but because shipping to SA is expensive and buying books in SA is even more so, I haven’t supplemented it in quite a while.

  30. Kate Sherwood
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 07:54:03

    I read on a kindle, but I’ve been thinking of trying something more multi-purpose…

  31. Jessi G
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 07:56:56

    @Elaine K: I do this too! (and get mocked endlessly by my friends and family. But how else will I know if I want to finish the darn thing?)

  32. Jessi G
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 07:59:56

    I use a Nook but am looking for something more multi-purpose. Hadn’t even looked at the Nexus but will now have to consider it.

  33. Linda Winfree
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 08:00:07

    I’ve been debating between the iPad mini and the 7″ Kindle Fire HD for weeks. Can’t make up my mind, hence I’m still reading on my Kindle 2 or iPhone.

  34. WhiteLady3
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 08:09:53

    I have a Kindle but in January it started to act funny so my brother tried to upgrade me to a tablet and convinced me to try. The Nexus models were the ones that had a greater appeal to me. Now the Kindle is fine but I found myself really craving a tablet. :)

  35. TaraR
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 08:20:35

    I still read digitally on my laptop for the most part.

  36. Lisa J
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 08:21:52

    The Sony PRS-T1 is my reader. I love it for reading, but since I don’t have a smartphone I would love to have a Nexus.

  37. GinaD
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 08:24:37

    I read digital books on a Nook Simple Touch. Thanks for your generous giveaway!

  38. Jane
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 08:30:20

    @martin: Martin, you are right. I got the specs from the Google page but I wonder now if I was looking at the wrong place. (I swear it was a different set of tech specs yesterday! http://www.google.com/nexus/7/)

    Thanks for pointing that out. I did update the post.

  39. FD
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 08:36:15

    I’m not entering because I really don’t need another tablet – I have the nook hd+32GB, and a bluetooth keyboard s3 and between that and an s3 phone, I’m more than adequately covered for leisure/browsing/note taking/mobile working. But the nexus line tablets are lovely pieces of kit, and I really like the ability to customise that the android architecture offers.

  40. Eliza Evans
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 08:47:41

    I love my Kindle PaperWhite. I’ll be really sad the day companies decide e-ink devices aren’t profitable anymore because I much prefer reading on that kind of screen.

  41. kaigou
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 08:48:19

    Oooh, my birthday’s in August… maybe if I cross my fingers enough, the much higher likelihood of losing (and the ensuing disappointment) will prompt me to finally go out and get myself a tablet!

  42. JessP
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 08:54:27

    I’d love to give it a try. But, you can’t use iTunes or watch things from Amazon Prime? That sounds unfortunate, although I can’t say I’m a big user of either one. Thanks.

  43. Li
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:01:07

    I’ve been pondering a Nexus tablet, thanks for the comprehensive review!

    I’ve a Kindle Fire (1st gen, I think?) which I only bought because it was on sale, as I didn’t think I had a need for a tablet – but have found myself using it so much more than I thought…

  44. cleo
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:02:44

    I’m not entering either (don’t think I’d use it enough to justify it – may as well go to someone who’ll really use it).

    I read on my Nook Color and my iPhone 4 ( nook app and Bluefire app – thank you DA for turning me on to Bluefire). I’m surprised by how much I read on my phone. I didn’t think I’d like the small screen (kind of like I wasn’t sure I’d like reading on screen pre-Nook) but apparently I care more about what I read than how I read it.

    @Liz H.:How do you like the Glow compared to the Simpletouch? I’m considering getting a Glow but I’ve read enough reviews that mention how easy it is to damage the screen (so you get a dot of light when it’s in glow mode) that I’m not sure.

  45. ruth
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:03:33

    This is my birthday month so maybe i’ll get lucky. Also I’ve been toying with the idea of leaving the apple ecosystem so this could ease me in…

  46. Amy S.
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:05:44

    I read on my kindle.

  47. Anna M
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:07:22

    I currently read on a nook color or a kindle touch. I bought both used, from the original owners. The NC, purchased early in their manufacture, is getting a bit dodgy with charging and accurately displaying battery life. I do love it though. I like the kindle for maximizing my amazon prime and it’s perfect for reading outside at lunch or at dreaded soccer practice. I am considering getting a nook tablet and rooting it, but I may want to check out the display quality. My eyes, they are aging disgracefully.

  48. Beth P
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:20:27

    I read on a Kindle Touch, but I’m currently a bit envious of my husband’s Kindle Paperwhite.

  49. Jill Letempt
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:24:47

    I read on my kindle paperwhite, and sometimes on my android phone. Love my Kindle!

  50. Shay
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:26:53

    I have a Nook, but the majority of my ebook reads are done on my MacBook Pro.

  51. Anya
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:30:49

    I read on a Kindle Fire, but I am interested in switching over to the Nexus tablet.

  52. Kelsey G
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:32:09

    I currently read on a Nook Color and also on my iPhone 5. My only issue with my Nook is that it weighs a ton, especially if you carry it around in your purse everywhere! That and after almost 3 years, the battery is not holding a charge as well as it used to. I’ve been looking at tablets to replace it, and the Nexus 7 is at the top of my list!

  53. Mia
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:35:21

    I read almost exclusively digitally, but I do so on either my laptop or phone. I haven’t even tried any tablets or dedicated ereaders so far.

  54. Elli
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:37:13

    I read on a Kindle Paperwhite. I’ve been thinking about getting another device, though, because I sideload all my books through Calibre and managing collections is a PITA. I’ve been looking at the Kobo Glo or Aura, or maybe I’ll wait for the (hopefully retina) new iPad mini.

  55. Valarie P
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:42:36

    I’ve really been thinking about getting a tablet but there are so many out there, how do you decide which one? Thanks for the review on this it sounds like a good device and one I would use.

  56. seijikat
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:47:20

    I read on my kindle fire or paper books (I have a large paper library in the house) but I’ve filled up my kindle with books already so I was looking to get either another kindle or tablet of some sort. This sounds perfect!

  57. Mims
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:48:33

    I’m reading on a Kindle Fire HD 8.9. I didn’t notice how crisp the text was until I looked at my old Kindle Fire tablet. I want an e-ink reader again because they’re lighter and easier on the eyes, but probably won’t get one unless Amazon puts out a color one.

  58. Lori
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:52:42

    I use my iPad for mostly business but 9 hours of HD video for this device is crazy. I get maybe 3-4 hours on my iPad mini,

  59. Barb in Maryland
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:53:08

    I read both print and on my Nook. The Nook is basically for the new, e-only items that catch my fancy. Plus it holds most of my comfort reads (so I know I always have a good book with me!) But I still prefer print.
    But this Nexus looks sooo cool. I have been quietly looking at tablets and if I won this, I would be delighted.

  60. lakaribane
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:54:29

    I read ebooks on the basic Kindle but I have been tiring of all the button pushing. Considering something more high-tech for my birthday self-gift + Christmas in décembre.

  61. Cynthia D'Alba
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:55:24

    When it came time to buy a new phone, I went immediately to the Samsung Galaxy IV. I looked at the Note but the camera was better. I can read on it but most of the time I read on my Kindle Fire.

  62. Marc
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 09:58:21

    Currently reading on a Kobo Glo or a Sony Reader. Both of which I really love – the glo slightly more but still…

  63. galen
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:02:16

    I have a Kobo Aura HD for reading, because I read in the dark much more than is actually good for me, but other than that I love the Android platform. I really want a Nexus 7, my only debate is whether I can settle for the wifi version or if I want the LTE version badly enough. :/

    Honestly though, more, and better, games are cheaper (or even free) on the i-devices, so I’m tempted to get an iPad mini when it comes with a retina-display, just for gaming.

    Haha, as you can tell, I love my tech toys!

  64. Expy
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:04:33

    I read ebooks on my iPhone. I used to hate it, now I can’t seem to live without it.

  65. Shannon H
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:08:42

    I read ebooks on my old Kindle but it is starting to get a little laggy, so maybe time for an upgrade!

  66. Jody
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:12:29

    I read on EVERYTHING ! I love my Kindle Fire, but read outside on my K3. I use my iPad all the time, and read with the Kindle app. I’ve read on my iPhone in an orchestra pit, and enjoyed that, too. I love how all the devices synch and I can pick up on one exactly where I left off on another. Yay, technology!

  67. gamistress66
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:13:24

    have a kindle but do most of my reading on my tablet

  68. leslie
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:13:47

    1st generation Kindle Fire.
    My mom carpeted her bathrooms last year. She was tired of broken bottles, cold feet and breaking phone screens. LOL. At least you didn’t drop it in the toilet. I drop my beloved late 90s Nokia in one in an airport restroom years ago…….it was flushed away forever. I cried.

  69. Andrew
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:17:11

    Currently use an IPad 2 and an iPhone 5. iPhone is too small for reading and iPad is too big (at least for the bus). Nexus 7 would be perfect!

  70. Chris
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:18:20

    I read on a 1st gen iPad but your article has me seriously questioning my loyalty to Apple…

  71. Becky
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:19:06

    Awesome review! My kids appreciated your paragraph on gaming–I made them listen while I read it out loud. (I feel your pain. I am video game challenged myself.)

    I have a Kindle Fire and a Nook HD+…I really just use them for reading, and hardly ever use any of their other functions (except checking email and Twitter, and occasionally using the web). My kids, though, would love it if I won a tablet–since mom won’t buy them one!

  72. MaryK
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:19:41

    So, you’re saying this device isn’t new in the box? ;-D I was going to suggest that you get a grippy case for your iPhone, but I’m not sure even that would save you if you’re at that level of multitasking!

    I read with the Kindle app on an iPad Mini.

  73. Felicia
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:20:50

    I tend to split my reading between my PC and tablet, though I do have a kindle (one of the the older versions).

  74. Nita G
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:21:05

    I currently do all my digital reading on a Kindle Fire HD. I also own the basic Nook e-reader, but haven’t used it in almost two years.

  75. luce
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:29:27

    I’m not entering this giveaway either.

    I’ve got all of my profic and fanfic in my Nook Simple Touch. At last count, the total was 710 books. I’ve kept an eye on the Nook Glow because I read a lot at night. In order to make some space, I did move about 30 books to my ASUS TF-700 tablet. I use the Nook app as well as the reader app that came with the tablet.

    Ideally, I would read on my phone. However the screen’s too small. Not a big deal for me. I already have two other devices where I can do that in addition to my laptop.

  76. nerdy_giraffe
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:30:03

    I mostly read print, but I love my Nook for trips!

  77. BethP
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:33:10

    I read on my iPad via the Kindle app

  78. Jane
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:33:15

    @MaryK it is not. But I figured DA would be okay with it ;)

  79. Nicole
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:34:15

    I read on a Nook Glow. I’d love a Nexus 7. A tablet for me and not my kid would be lovely.

  80. Serena
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:41:30

    I read on my iPad but it’s not really that confortable to hold in bed – too big!

  81. CD
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:47:08

    Don’t enter me as I already have one. And I love it – it’s like my third arm. It does everything I want it to without Apple’s proprietary bulls**t and even higher price tag. Except make tea. As I travel a lot, I appreciate the fact that I can sideload everything (books, music, films) so am not needing to be constantly online.

    I don’t use iTunes or Amazon prime but I’m pretty sure you can access both on the Nexus as I had a friend of mine who was able to. You might need to play around with it first though and there could be some issues with DRM.

    I alternate between reading on my laptop and my Nexus. Very occasionally, I pop out my old Sony or even [gasp] a print book.

  82. Cheryl McInnis
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:50:20

    One of my co-workers just bought a Nexus 7…I’m very jealous. I currently read on my Kobo Vox, which I like, but when the time comes I will probably switch to a tablet instead of a dedicated ereader.

  83. CarolynHP
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:57:04

    I would say about 30% of my reading is paper and the rest is electronic. I use the local library a LOT, including their electronic offerings with Freading and Overdrive. Freading has its own app and I usually use the Kindle app for Overdrive books on my original iPad.

  84. Sofia
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 11:05:46

    I still prefer paper but use Kindle for e-only or good deal books.

  85. Divya S
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 11:11:22

    I read on the kindle.

  86. lorenet
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 11:24:06

    I love gadgets. My Kindle Keyboard is currently charging.

  87. kathy cole
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 11:28:50

    I read on my iPad, mostly using iBooks, though sometimes the Kindle app. Used to read on an iPod Touch, and I’d wake myself up when I’d drop the Touch on my face as I fell asleep.

  88. Aiza
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 11:32:12

    I’m beginnning to think I’m one of the minority who doesn’t own a tablet, haha.

  89. Nicola W
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 11:36:05

    I love my Sony reader. It goes everywhere with me. The one I’m using is the 2nd one I’ve had as I’d used the first one so much the battery had died. If I had to replace it now, I might go for a tablet instead. Maybe.

  90. Peggy P
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 11:40:32

    I read on my regular Kindle – they are so great outside, no matter how sunny there is no glare! I use my Kindle Fire for everything else, watching videos/movies, reading magazines – that stuff you want the h-def and color for. I haven’t seen a Nexus but would love to have to compare, thanks for a great giveaway!

  91. MD
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 11:49:24

    I read on my basic kindle. I love it and it does all that I need. I occasionally wish for backlit screen when I am travelling, and I sure wish they allowed to use Kindles during takeoff. Still, I love it as my main reader device.

  92. Sophia
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 11:49:34

    I love my Apple products. Every time I get curious about Android I run scared back to my Apple products. Thank you for the giveaway, it’s quite possibly the only way I’ll ever get brave enough to branch out. :)

  93. Deljah
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 11:52:00

    I mainly read on a Samsung Galaxy s4 and sometimes on a Acer Iconia A500 tablet. All android, all the time, lol.

  94. Carolyne
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 11:55:15

    I used to do all my eBook reading on my iPad, but then for better privacy while commuting started reading on the iPhone instead. A compact alternative might be nice. The iPad Mini somehow doesn’t appeal. It feels like exactly the wrong size for me.

    I still like to do lots of reading on paper, but can’t beat the convenience of an eBook on the train :)

  95. Anita Walters
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 11:58:35

    I read on my kindle fire but I’m pretty sure its charging port is going out, which is devastating!

  96. rissatoo
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 12:00:30

    I currently do the majority of my e-reading on my Kindle Fire, but I sure wouldn’t mind trying out the Nexus 7! :)

  97. Jessica T
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 12:10:35

    I do most of my e-reading on a Kindle Paperwhite, but I’ve been known to read on my tiny iPod Touch. Thank you for the chance to win a Nexus 7. I’d appreciate all the cool features you’ve mentioned, especially the screen size and quality.

  98. amy
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 12:14:41

    I love my Paperwhite but I also really like the idea of a multi-use tablet like the Nexus especially since it’s an Android OS.

  99. Collette
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 12:18:25

    I used to read on my Sony ereader but now I have an ipad mini and I haven’t touched it. Very occasionally I will read on my computer but mostly it’s the mini.

  100. ms bookjunkie
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 12:29:41

    Sounds good.

  101. Julia Broadbooks
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 12:38:10

    I started reading on my iPod Touch but now read on my phone which has a slightly bigger screen. It’s still more fun than reading on the computer!

  102. dana
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 12:44:06

    I have the Nexus 4 phone so it is easy to believe they have a great Tablet. Here’s hoping I’ll win :)

  103. nan
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 12:47:50

    I read on my basic kindle

  104. Jamie
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 13:20:32

    I have been intrigued by the Nexus. Thanks for the review and giveaway.

  105. Barb
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 13:24:06

    I read on a Kindle.

  106. cyclops8
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 13:33:09

    I mostly read print books, but also read digital books on my laptop with the Kindle app.

  107. Terry
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 13:37:09

    My main reading device is a Kindle.

  108. Lindsay
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 13:39:50

    I read on my Paperwhite, as my phone is just too tiny — I take along an extra device if I want to get some website reading in when I travel. Like you, I always have a purse or messenger bag, so the extra size really isn’t an issue. Really nice review, I honestly like the variety of screen sizes available these days, even if it’s a game-programming nightmare comparable to the older clamshell cellphone days.

    I always figured people on Apple products had too much sunk into the cost of apps to comfortably switch to Android and vice-versa, but when I look I’ve probably only spent $10 in the last 3 years on apps, so maybe people aren’t as invested as I originally thought. :)

  109. Louise
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 13:57:07

    I still read paper books, but I’ve also got a nook simple touch and on my iPhone I use nook and kindle apps. I’ve also got iBooks but I don’t use it nearly as often. My reading probably leans more towards my phone than my actual ereader or paper books. It’s always with me, even if I’m not carrying a purse. And it’s a stealthy way to read at work. :)

    I’m sure it’s because of my privacy settings in regards to cookies, but I find it a pain to buy nook books on my phone. I’ve ended up with a lot of kindle books simply because its easier to buy from your daily deals page or from links on twitter, Facebook, etc.

  110. Susanj
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 13:58:20

    I currently read on a Kindle fire, but have had my eye on the nexus 7 since I read about it on your website.

  111. Kim
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 14:04:03

    I read books on my Nook Color.

  112. CK
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 14:14:39

    I read on my beloved, “I think I can, I think I can” Nook Color. :)

  113. j3nny
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 14:19:25

    With all the ipads, I think you can adjust the brightness of the screen without leaving current application. When you press the home button twice, a bar pops up at the lower bottom that shows a list of current ‘open’ apps right? If you swipe that to the right, you’ll see a music play button and some bars on the left and right of that. The left one can adjust the brightness of the screen and the right one adjusts volume. When you’re done adjusting, just touch anywhere on the screen and you’re back to your current application. Ta dah~ You don’t have to go to settings anymore :)

  114. Kristin
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 14:31:23

    My husband has a Nexus 7 and loves it!

  115. Connie
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 14:35:36

    I read on my kindle touch and Galaxy S3, love both. Although the S3 has a smaller screen, I prefer it for bedtime reading since it’s lighter and I can read in the dark.

  116. Jane
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 14:54:01

    I have a Kindle Keyboard to read on. Love reading on an eink device, but it would be great to have a tablet as well.

  117. Booklover1335
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 15:21:14

    I read on a Kindle 2, which I do love, but I’ve had my eye on a Kindle Paperwhite because of the backlit screen :) Love my Kindle!

  118. Kimberly C.
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 15:26:09

    I read on my iPad, iPhone, and nook simple touch, as well as good old paper.

  119. Ivy
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 15:26:57

    I think this is the one middle got his fiancee. I’ve used it and thought it was great.

  120. Lindsey E
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 15:27:35

    I do want a new tablet and have done no research so I appreciate the overview. Need to upgrade my phone next month and have to decide between the new Motorola and the Samsung Galaxy.

  121. Mitzi
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 15:28:07

    I love my Kindle!

  122. Diane
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 15:33:10

    I’ve never had a tablet!

  123. Judi L
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 15:35:40

    I currently read on my Kobo Vox but have seriously been thinking about buying the Nexus 7 and your review makes me want it even more. When the time comes I think my mind has been made up. Sold.

  124. Mo
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 15:36:01

    I read primarily on my Kindle Keyboard e-ink. However when I am stuck waiting unexpectedly anywhere I read on my android phone using the Kindle app. I do so love their device synch.

  125. andrea b
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 15:43:01

    I read on my Kindle (4, non-touch) and also on my Nexus 4 (mostly with the Kindle app, but also recently started reading comics)!
    I think the Nexus 7 would be the way to go if I were to buy a tablet…

  126. Stephanie Berget
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 15:49:11

    I use a Kindle HD.

  127. library addict
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 16:04:25

    I’m using my Sony PRS-650 which I love. But I would love to get my mom a tablet. She uses her smart phone very little as she has a hard time seeing the tiny screen.

  128. Kristen P
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 16:10:56

    I read on my Samsung Galaxy 2 phone via the Nook and Kindle app. But I love reading my paperbacks.

  129. Lynne Connolly
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 16:11:37

    I have a first gen Nexus 7, and from the first day I got it, I ditched my Kindle and my Nook. It’s so much easier, so much better, and slicker. My tablet has just upgraded to Android 4.3 (the Nexus is basic Android, no stuck-on OS like Kindle) and it’s made the experience even slicker. I’m thinking of upgrading to the new gen Nexus when it comes out at the end of August (in the UK) because the screen is even better.
    On Nexus 7, I prefer Moon+ Reader for most of my reading, but I have the Kindle and Nook apps and the free version of Aldiko, so that if a book is rendered hinky on one, it usually opens and reads fine on another.
    If someone wants to send me a unit to review over at The Good, The Bad and The Unread, I’m fine with that!
    Oh, and the Nexus has an integrated GPS chip. You can find your way around anywhere. For directionally challenged person this is a boon and a half.

  130. Statch
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 16:11:51

    I mainly read with my Kindle Paperwhite and love it, but I’ve been thinking about getting a 7″ tablet to also use for reading, so I can switch back and forth between reading and online browsing more easily. I have an older 10″ tablet but it’s too heavy to use for dedicated reading so I end up toting both devices around the house. I also use my Android phone while I’m out and about…love being able to pick up and read a few pages while I’m waiting in line somewhere.

  131. vicky
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 16:24:27

    I read on my Kindle FireHD 8.9 version; absolutely in love with the thing.

  132. KatieF
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 16:27:55

    I’m still using a flip phone and don’t have any type of tablet device. In other words, I feel so ancient and behind the times. I’d love a Nexus 7!

  133. Tae
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 16:35:14

    I got a Nexus 7 and it fell off a bench and it died. My son has thrown my iPad so many times and stepped on it and it works like a charm. I’m so pissed off about the Nexus 7. I need to find the original box to send it back but we just moved and it’s in all of our boxes.

  134. Rylie
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 16:40:44

    I read print books, but I also read digital ones on my laptop using the Kindle app.

  135. Maytoo
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 16:43:00

    I currently read on a Sony PRS-T1. Would love to have a tablet, but can’t decide which one.

  136. LisaC
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 16:43:30

    I go back and forth from print to ipad.

  137. RachelT
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 16:45:04

    I read on my ipad using Marvin, but I find it is too heavy to carry around in my handbag. I have looked seriously at the Nexus7. Marvin’s creator is planning an android app too.

  138. bn100
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 16:47:56

    Kindle

  139. Molly
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 16:49:42

    I read on a Paperwhite kindle and I do love it, I read way more since I got an ereader. Never want to be without one again. But lately I’ve been tempted by the tablets, so this review was really timely.

  140. Bitchie
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 17:12:16

    I do all my reading on the original Nexus 7 and I love it but I do admit to feeling the “new, shiny!” when seeing reviews like this about the new model.

  141. Jess1
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 17:30:59

    I read on my Kindle Touch mostly, and paperbacks.

  142. SoyJade
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 17:31:27

    My Sony pocket reader just died on me. While trying to fix it I erased 113 books I had collected in 3 years and had no back up for :(. I am currently reading in a Kindle. I still haven’t figured out how to read my epub or pdf books I was able to save on this device. The Nexus seems excellent for reading in all 3 formats.

  143. Sneha B
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 17:33:56

    I read on anything I can get my hands on! I read on my 3rd gen Kindle, my android phone using the kindle app, the calibre reader on my computer- to name a few!

  144. Christine M.
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 18:04:55

    You’re a better person than I am, Jane, for giving it away. You’re never pry it from my hands! (Which is why I stick to my Samsung Galaxy S3 and my Sony PRS-T1 for reading right now, else I would prolly forget to go to work!)

  145. Maureen
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 18:14:27

    I read on an older basic kindle.

  146. Sarah M.
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 18:16:18

    I generally read paper books. If I do read ebooks, I use the Kindle app on my iPhone 5. I’ve been debating an iPad or Kindle for quite some time (after purchasing my daughter a Kindle Fire). I had a Sony Reader (that I broke!), but it was one of the older ones. The Nexus 7 looks pretty cool! Thanks for the review.

  147. Lisa W
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 18:21:20

    I had a Kindle keyboard but then my son jumped on it and broke it :( Thankfully it was around my birthday so I was able to get a Kindle Paperwhite. I’m enjoying it

  148. katieM
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 18:34:40

    Currently I am using a Kindle Fire which was a gift from my mother. She wanted me to have the device so that I would stop buying so many physical books. Unfortunately, she forgot that she reads all the books that I read and now that I have a Kindle, her supply of books has dwindled. I think she is going to purchase one for herself, soon.

  149. Erin L
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 18:48:37

    I read on a Sony PRS-600 and I think it dying a slow death.

  150. Jacqueline
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 18:56:48

    I read on whatever’s handy when I get the urge – my kindle, my iphone, or my laptop. I have a lot of paper books languishing in storage and around my apartment. I’m much more of a digital girl, these days.

  151. Nancy B
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 18:58:35

    Just bought a Kindle Fire because it was on sale with the intention of playing around with it and then giving it to my sister so I could get a paperwhite. I ended up liking the kindle fire more than I expected and decided to keep it, although I’m still wondering if I’d like the paperwhite more. Although, I was looking at the Nexus 7 and probably would have gotten that if the kindle fire hadn’t been on sale.

  152. LaurieF
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 19:23:26

    I have a Sony 505. Would love the Nexus.

  153. romsfuulynn
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 19:24:23

    I read on my Nook Glow at night in bed and on the train. When I transfer to the bus, or am out and about I read on the Nook app on my Samsung Galaxy 3. If I am in a situation where I also may want to watch video, I use my Galaxy Tablet 10.1

    You can get the Dolphin browswer and the Adobe Flash and sideload into Android for your Amazon Prime. Netflix is a better native app for android though.

  154. Kim Smith
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 19:43:10

    My baby loves any of these but at home we don’t have any. Would love to win it for his birthday this month.

  155. Dana S
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 19:57:23

    I read fiction on a basic Kindle. The battery life is still the best and I like being able to email books via calibre.

  156. Patti
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 20:06:00

    I read on the Kindle.

  157. Sin Chan
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 20:12:46

    I read on the iPad.

  158. lawless
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 20:25:39

    My husband has a previous generation Nexus. I love my Kindle Fire, but the amount of time it takes to connect with a site or register a comment is annoying. I’d love to have a faster tablet, and the Nexus 7 seems like just the ticket.

  159. Julie
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 20:34:28

    I read on a Kindle Touch. Thanks for the chance to win!

  160. Lynnette F
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 20:41:07

    I read on my Kobo Glo and my iphone. Would love to win a Google Nexus.

  161. Renda
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 20:56:27

    I am going through this whole Apple/Android dialogue (all internal and with no real knowledge) right now so I appreciate reading something that is coherent with real content. Thanks, as always.

  162. Rebecca
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 21:17:36

    I read on a Sony PRS300 my thoughtful husband gave me after I dropped a hardcover on my nursing baby’s head! It has been great as I am almost exclusively a library user (at the time of purchase Kindle wasn’t doing library editions)

  163. sabrina
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 21:51:29

    I read on my htc cha cha. The screen is rather small for reading but it beats carrying around a thick volume when on the move. Winning the Nexus 7 would be lovely.

  164. Sabrina P
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 22:00:08

    I had been reading for the last couple months on my iPad2 but the last week or so I switched back to my Kindle(w/keyboard). The weight of the iPad gets to be too much when I want to curl up to read but then again I can’t read at night without a light on with the Kindle. The Nexus seems to be best of both worlds with a lower price!

  165. Ariel
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 23:13:06

    Currently, I read e-books on my laptop. Because I have a periods of time where I wait between classes, a tablet would be so useful. Furthermore, the Nexus 7 is a great combination of functions that I would use, graphics, and size. So winning the Nexus 7 would be such a treat!

  166. Denise Koenig
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 23:45:30

    Love the side by side shot.

  167. Dragos-Silviu Bora
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 02:12:57

    Time to switch from my Sony PRS-T1 to a Nexus 7. :)

  168. Dominika
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 02:33:55

    I read on Kindle and Nexus 1o :) But 10 is to big for me, I prefer something smaller ;)

  169. Martina Z.
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 03:13:41

    I mostly read on my PC, cause I don’t have a Kindle or any other reader. I’m a night owl and reading on PC is bad for the eyes :-/ I’d love to have Nexus ’cause it looks really cool. But I also buy& read paperbacks. There’s just something about having good books on my bookshelves (they give “character” to my room).

  170. Logan Kennelly
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 03:35:39

    I was really enjoying the Nook HD, but the S4 screen is good enough for most reading that I don’t bother to pick up a tablet. Maybe the new Nexus 7 could convince me I’m wrong…

  171. Lobo
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 04:38:10

    I have a Sony PRS-950 which I love. We also have a Samsung Tablet which I sometimes use for reading but still prefer eink to the LCD screen.

  172. Maree Anderson
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 04:47:44

    I’m not fussy so long as I can read! I read on my iPhone, my Kindle and my PC. Haven’t been allowed to play with DD’s new iPad long enough to read an actual eBook yet, but I’m hopeful. And after reading about the Nexus 7…. wouldn’t mind one of those at the least :)

  173. Colette
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 05:30:45

    Wow. The Nexus looks so impressive. Verrrry tempting.

  174. Morgan
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 05:49:52

    I tend to read on my Sony Reader Pocket (an anniversary gift), but I also read a lot of paper books (I find a bunch of interesting ones at garage sales and thrift stores). I don’t have a tablet yet, since I don’t think I could ever afford/justify the price of getting one for myself (I don’t even have a smartphone yet!). Still, I eye them all of the time, because they just seem so nifty and useful!

  175. Katrina
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 06:25:52

    I read on my laptop, which is super annoying. Unfortunately, an e-reader is not in the student budget anytime soon.

  176. Joyce Hunt
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 06:53:22

    Loved the honest review; I’ve been thinking that the Nexus 7 might be just the tablet for me.

  177. Jen
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 07:25:21

    I usually read using the kindle app on my android phone or my ipad. I used to use my Kindle Fire but lately that has pretty much turned into a movie watching device for my son.

  178. Kiki
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 07:50:20

    I have Nook and Kindle app on my iPad and I have a Kindle.

  179. Mireya
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 08:01:01

    I own a Nexus first gen and I am still in love with it. My first android tablet was a Lenovo, but sadly, I gave it up as there was zero support for it, for example, if I wanted to do an OS upgrade, I had to jump hoops… pretty much literally. I ended up bricking it once. I managed to bring it back to factory settings after much research. My husband offered me a Nexus last year, as a Christmas gift, and I didn’t hesitate, giving away the Lenovo to a family member. The first thing I noticed with my Nexus was that, the second I charged it and connected for the first time, it updated the OS to 4.2. Over this past weekend, I automatically got a notice that 4.3 was available for download and installation. The process is very smooth and straightforward. Bottomline, I am willing to bet that they will provide the same kind of support for the Nexus II. To me, that’s a big bonus. I’ve never used Apple nor intend to now that the Android world is getting bigger and better.

  180. Suz_Glo
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 08:04:00

    I have an ancient Sony Reader, a Kindle Touch,an iPhone and a Samsung Galaxy Tab. As lovely as the Galaxy screen is, I still find it harsh on the eyes for anything other than brief reading sessions. The Sony is still plugging along but it’s slow and, with no wi-fi, everything has to be loaded, so I find myself reaching for the good ol’ Kindle most days!

  181. Valerie
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 08:07:38

    I prefer reading on my Kindle Touch, but I also have a Kindle Fire and I use the kindle app on my iPhone occasionally.

  182. Dana W
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 08:16:10

    I’m not sure if something as freaking cool as this sounds would be wasted on a soul like me but I’d love to give it a try! I have the original wi-fi only Nook and while it’s great for reading it doesn’t do much else :-/. Thanks for the great and thorough review as always!

  183. liz
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 08:40:24

    I have a first gen Kindle Fire and am looking very hard right now at the new Nexus 7. Would like to have access to google play for many reasons. Just waiting now to see what amazon comes up with.

  184. Judy
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 09:07:14

    I read on both my Kindle Fire (Moon+ Reader) and on my e-ink Nook.

  185. Samantha
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 09:19:12

    I read on my Kindle Fire and sometimes if I forget to bring it, I’ll read on my iPhone.

  186. Cyn
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 09:22:06

    I have read your site several times because another e-reading blog I follow posts links your site. I’ve enjoyed every one. I was reading on a Kobo Touch but recently sold that because I now prefer a lighted device because of some visual problems due to age and disease. I always loved books and reading. I wish I could justify going into debt to buy an iPad because my iMac (went into debt for that a few years ago) has incredible zoom features. I like Apple care, too. It’s saved me more than once for something I did while distracted! I bought a Kobo Vox on ebay and I love the lighted feature and night mode, but the letters are not as crisp as I would like. Your review of the Nexus makes it sound really nice. It’s nice of you to run a contest like this.

  187. Riva Laughlin
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 09:42:13

    Mostly on my old Kindle 2, but sometimes on my Kindle Fire.

  188. Lozza
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 09:57:59

    I have an iPhone (4s) and an IPad (first generation), and I read on those, though primarily on my phone. I mainly use the Kindle app and the Overdrive app for library books or other non-DRM files. I also buy books at Kobo whenever there’s a coupon, and use the Kobo app for that.

  189. R. Scot Johns
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 10:05:42

    Hi Jane! I do ebook production, and the Nexus 7 has been at the top of my list to get for awhile now.

    I prefer reading standard text (reflowable) ebooks on the Paperwhite, due to the longevity of the battery life and the built-in light that keeps the brightness always at the perfect level. Also, the lightness of the device compared to LCD screens makes long-form reading more enjoyable. And it fits right in my cargo pants pocket for ever-ready use!

    That said, I prefer color displays in general, but for illustrated books and fixed layouts I’m of a split mind. Because of its aspect ratio and large, hi-rez screen, the newer (3/4) full size iPad is by far the best, since the 4:3 ratio is ideal for two-page layouts, whereas the 16:10 of the Fire/Nexus models really only works for single page displays. But because of its price and ease of use I tend to use the Fire HD8.9, as well as the fact that Amazon’s ecosystem is so much more customer friendly.

    I wouldn’t waste my money on the Mini. It’s crap for the price.

  190. Jess
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 10:41:51

    I read on a Kobo mini. It’s super portable and I love the e-ink display. I use tablets a lot for work. I’m a librarian and when I am showing a student how to do something, it is so much easier to demonstrate on a tablet rather than on a big computer.

  191. Lorenda Christensen
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 11:01:11

    I don’t go anywhere without my kindle, though I’ve slowly started using my iPad mini with the kindle app. The only downside is the lack of in-app purchases on the Apple app.

  192. Jjpp
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 11:07:25

    I love the nexus! I was so tempted to buy one when I was shopping tablets but went with a 10 inch device instead (the Samsung galaxy note). (There is a well-reviewed 10″ nexus too, but i was most tempted by the 7″.) I still feel tempted to get a nexus too, though I’ve resisted so far. :)

    I’m reading on a nook simple touch, which I’m quite happy with, except for the crappy organization. When I get kindle books – if they’re a better deal, not on sale at b&n, etc, I read on my galaxy tablet.

  193. Joni
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 11:14:35

    I’m an Apple user from way back (I grew up using Apple computers), but I have to say that you are making the Nexus 7 sound fairly tempting. For now, I’m reading on my Kindle, but I’ve been considering getting some sort of tablet in the future for more capabilities.

  194. Laura Bayne
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 11:39:28

    I’m raising my hand; pick me please! I normally use a first gen iPad or iPhone 4 to read digitally. I like being able to get my hands on many different reading platforms. :) Having coveted my daughter’s iPad mini b/c of the size, the Nexus 7 sounds really appealing.

  195. Al the Great and Powerful
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 11:43:16

    I read on my Kindle DX — a newer, faster, color, backlit device like a Nexus 7 would be nice.

  196. Mariana
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 11:58:04

    Definitely want the Google Nexus… I’ve been promising myself one for a while, but the way my bank account is set up (**Kevin Hart voice**)

  197. Marquetta
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 13:22:03

    I’ve been Team Android for awhile and have been wondering if I should upgrade to the Kindle Fire HD or get the Nexus. The Nexus is slightly more appealing thanks to your review.

  198. Anne
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 13:48:35

    I would love to get this for my mom!

  199. XiaoJin
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 14:30:30

    I just got the Kindle Fire HD 7 and at the time, I was stuck on whether to get the Nexus 7 or KFHD7. :(

    I’ve also moved on as an Apple user to Android! Went from iPhone 5 to Samsung Galaxy S4 and to this day, think it was a good decision to do so. One thing I appreciate about most is that some Android phones and/or tablets is that there’s expandable memory.

    Looking forward to the Note 3! :D

  200. Kim L
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 14:32:48

    I do most of my reading on my Kindle Paperwhite, but I would love a tablet.

  201. François Pierre
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 15:56:24

    I read on a Kobo and it’s been great! I started on a iPad but it’s really with the Kobo that I converted to ebooks.

  202. Liviania
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 16:58:13

    I’m currently reading on a Kindle Paperwhite, which I love.

  203. Bube
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 17:30:53

    Kindle Paperwhite or digitally on my laptop :)

  204. Amie
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 18:21:57

    I do my reading on my laptop but I would love to have a tablet

  205. Jennifer S
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 18:22:49

    I’ve resisted a tablet so far but am getting closer to taking the plunge. Oh, the decisions!

    Awesome giveaway!

  206. Thomas
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 20:32:54

    I read on a $99 Polaroid tablet using the FBReader app.

  207. hapax
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 20:33:21

    I vastly prefer paper, but I have a Nook Simple Touch that I don’t absolutely hate. I need to get a tablet, though, because that’s what a lot of my patrons use, and they expect me to provide tech support.

  208. Amir
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 23:42:16

    I have a kindle keyboard but I hardly use it once I got an iPad. Now I bought a cheap 7 inch android tablet (Alcatel 7HD) for reading as it’s lighter than my iPad and I don’t really want an iPad mini. Plus, there are some advantages in android that you don’t get in iOS.

    I would love a Nexus 7 though as the specs are pretty impressive and I can give my other Android tablet to my sister :)

  209. Jeannie Ruesch
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 00:23:17

    I love my Kindle Fire — read everything on it. It’s a bit tough in bright sun, though — depending on the glare.

    And I too have considered the switch from iPhone to android… it’s about that time. I’ve seen the bigger screen of the Samsung and it looks pretty good!

  210. Karen
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 07:37:22

    I do most of my reading on a rooted Nook Color with CM7 (gingerbread). I love Android devices (my phone and music players are also Droids).

  211. Christina
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 08:01:51

    I read on my iPad (not sure which generation, it was new about a year ago) kindle app or if I’m bored somewhere on my iPhone kindle app.

  212. Aimee
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 08:52:19

    I’ve been looking at the Nexus 7, and I really love the design and features. I would love to win one of these. I love iOS, but I feel it is very restrictive in some aspects.

  213. Joleen
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 10:11:24

    It was my iPhone for the longest time and then my husband got a chance to bring home a 2nd gen iPad for a month, so I used that when I could. Now talk is more about a Nexus 7 now that he’s been comparison shopping. :) This would be so awesome to win!

  214. Lisa Marie Lima
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 10:32:58

    I am currently using the Mini iPad from Apple. Have to check out to Nexus tablet. Will research it more.

  215. Lada
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 11:06:28

    Used to read on my 1st gen iPad but it’s heavy for bedtime. Would love a new tablet like Nexus 7. I haven’t heard much about this one so thanks for bringing it up and giving one away, Jane!

  216. David
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 11:08:24

    iPhone for me too, but I’ve been looking at tablets. Think the Nexus 7 has an edge over the iPad mini in my case.

  217. LoriS
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 12:24:22

    I currently read on a Kindle Fire. My hub is reading on an old Kindle. Would love a tablet that has a better browser for me, or a tablet for the hub.

    Thanks as always for your generosity!

  218. Stacey T.
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 12:50:03

    I read on my NOOK HD+ — the one I paid full price for at Christmas which you can now get for half the price…

  219. Ggrace
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 13:52:14

    I mostly read on paper, but also read on Kindle. I would love to win a Nexus so I could download epub.

    Thanks for the contest.

  220. Lea Hynes
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 15:17:53

    I usually read my ebooks on my huge 17″ old laptop, not great for convenience’s sake. I was using my nintendo ds but my cat knocked it off the table a couple of months ago and bit by bit both screens stopped working.

    Now? Its the library for paper books and that laptop for the ebooks I have.

    Nexus 7 sounds amazing!!! My brother’s mobile is an android and its so much fun to be connected online almost all the time, and he reads his books on it too! (but that small screen would just give me a headache)

    Thank you so much for the chance!

    P.S. Is this open for international people?

  221. Shel
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 17:03:38

    I do my ereading on a kobo mini. Would love a tablet as well – great giveaway.

  222. Tessa
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 18:50:06

    I read mostly on my Kindle Keyboard. I have a 8.9″ Kindle Fire HD, but my son loves to play on it, so I hardly ever get a chance to read on it. Having another tablet would be awesome!

  223. Tessa
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 18:52:42

    I read mostly on my Kindle Keyboard, since my son is always wanting to use my 8.9″ Kindle Fire HD. Having another tablet would be awesome.

  224. Michelle D
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 18:54:20

    I’m currently reading on a Kindle Paperwhite. Love the backlight feature!

  225. Violet Bick
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 20:43:22

    I have the basic Kindle, which is so not a tablet. I’d like to see if if I’d like one, so I’ll happily try the Nexus 7 if I win. However, in all honesty, I really love books on paper the best. Portability and storage problems aside, every other aspect works better for me than an e-book. How can you flip through an e-book?

  226. Krista
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 22:07:47

    I read on a kindle fire because I won one. I like it, but my eyes would probably prefer to read on something with e-ink.

    Sorry to hear that it didn’t make you better at candy crush ;)

  227. Ada
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 22:47:42

    I’m still a physical paper copy kinda girl! I do have digital files but I have my Amazon Kindle Cloud reader on my laptop and no e-reader….yet!

  228. Kimberley
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 23:02:57

    I read on a Kobo Touch (and some paper, though I’m starting to get disconcerted by the presence of a left page), but due to rapidly crappifying eyesight, I’ve been seriously considering a tablet for the screen’s backlight and better resolution. I’ve been holding off because I’m not sure what else I’d use it for besides an e-reader, but I suppose that once I have one, I’ll find uses :)

  229. Anita H.
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 00:30:05

    I don’t read e-books, at least not yet. I’m still all about paper books. There’s nothing like holding the book and smelling the pages. Eventually I’m sure I’ll have to get into it but I’m not one to jump into new technology.

  230. Natasha R
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 09:31:47

    I have an eReader (Sony). But I find that I read more on my cell phone. It’s always with me so I can sneak a few pages in while I’m waiting for someone/something.

  231. Lynn K.
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 11:10:37

    iPod Touch! Occasionally the iPad when I can wrestle it off my sibling. I still read a lot of paper books too. :)

  232. EmilyW
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 12:35:33

    I read on the basic kindle and really love it. My next purchase will probably be a Kindle Fire. Unless I win this. :)

  233. vickie schultz
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 14:31:04

    I read from my IPAD with a Kindle and Nook apps!

  234. Arely Z.
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 15:54:45

    I currently read on a Kindle Paperwhite. One question though — I have an Android phone, and I saw that you were able to take a screenshot on the Nexus. Can you tell me how you did that?

  235. donna ann
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 18:51:01

    like the idea of reading on tablet so not limited in where I buy from or hassle with conversion/side loading as much .

  236. Liz Ostwald
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 19:38:03

    I read on my Kindle Fire, but I’ve been pondering an upgrade to the HD or to a real Android tablet of some sort.

  237. Anne F.
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 20:33:24

    My local trade/used bookstore closes next week, so it’s time to bite the bullet and go digital. I do have a Kindle app on my phone, but I’ve only used it in book emergencies (finishing a paperback while away from the house and not having a backup). I read so quickly that I end up spending all my time swiping to turn the page on the small phone screen, so a tablet is a must.

  238. Lori
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 20:38:48

    I’m currently reading on a Kindle Fire.

  239. Katha F
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 04:28:54

    I read on my iPhone with a kindle app.

  240. Jackie
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 13:18:15

    I recently upgraded my regular Kindle to a Kindle PaperWhite, and let me tell you, I never thought reading in the dark would be so lovely! :)

  241. Joanna YoucancallmeNoona (Young Kuang)
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 18:57:23

    I am reading on my Amazon Kindle Fire HD 7! :)

  242. Samantha
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 00:20:09

    I read on my Sony 600 but I have been wanting to switch to a tablet.

  243. Mariska
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 21:07:03

    i read on my samsung galaxy tab :)

  244. Katherine
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 20:36:14

    I am an all-digital, all the time reader. I have a stack of paperbacks that are gathering dust. Sad, really.

    I read on my iPhone, iPad mini and Kobo mini. I use the Kindle app, Kobo app, iBooks and Bluefire so that I am not locked into one platform. And I store all my ebooks in Dropbox.

  245. Marsha Alford
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 10:12:58

    I read on a NOOK and Kindle. Love them both!

  246. elaing8
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 00:07:38

    A Sony ereader or my Blackberry tablet

  247. Limecello
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 00:52:34

    I do everything on my iphone. I’d like to get a kindle paperwhite maybe… at some point. What I covet is an ipad mini that has retina display. Perhaps that’ll be the next version – are they coming out with a new ipad mini in September along with the iphone?
    Of course that will probably make the price go up even more, so I’ll just continue to covet :P

  248. Christina
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 05:17:13

    I read on my iPad Kindle app and sometimes on my iPhone too.

  249. Nicola W
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 05:57:49

    I love my Sony Ereader. It’s the 2nd one I’ve had because after almost constant use the battery stopped holding its charge.

  250. Laura K Curtis
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 08:11:22

    I read on anything that’s available. Seriously. For preference, I have a Kindle Paperwhite because long-term reading on backlit screens gives me a headache, but I also read on my Mac, on my iPad, on my Android phone, and, of course, in paper books. On the phone/iPad I tend to read things that I’ve gotten from places other than Amazon unless I am *so* into whatever I am reading on the Kindle that I just can’t give it up :)

  251. Patricia M.
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 08:49:01

    I got an iPad as a gift so that is what I use.

  252. MarieC
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 09:49:22

    Great Giveaway!

    I have a Kindle, but I still read paper books as well as on the computer.

  253. TerryS
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 10:23:58

    I love reading on my Kindle Fire HD. I finally figured out how to download audiobooks from my library and that makes the experience even better. (The Spymaster’s Lady is wonderful in audiobook!)

  254. CYP @ A Bookalicious Story
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 11:14:28

    I read on my iPhone! I’m still a student so I can’t buy my own ereader…yet! Haha I’m a fan of paperbacks though, so I prefer my solid books. But anyway, this is very generous of you! Thanks for the awesome giveaway! :)

  255. Susan E
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 13:42:30

    I am an old fashioned paperback reader! I just haven’t found the right device to read on yet.

  256. Christine
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 15:33:14

    I read on a kindle paperwhite.

  257. kp
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 16:34:49

    I have a nook color and kindle paperwhite. I enjoy the kindle more!

  258. kp
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 16:35:37

    I have both a nook color and kindle paperwhite!

  259. Aman
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 20:57:24

    I have been thinking about a ebook reader for a while now but keep putting it off.

  260. Karrie M.
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 21:18:17

    I so want a tablet!!

  261. winnie
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 23:59:15

    I currently read digital books on my smartphone when commuting and on my laptop at home. I would love to have a tablet to read on as my laptop is quite bulky and the smartphone is a little small. Thank you for the awesome giveaway! :)

  262. Adnana J
    Aug 15, 2013 @ 02:53:15

    I read on my Kindle and on the Kindle App on my laptop. But I still love to curl up with a good old fashioned paperback every once and again.

  263. Jordan R.
    Aug 15, 2013 @ 21:03:07

    I’m about half and half between paper books and my regular old kindle. I’ve been looking into a tablet, but haven’t made the jump yet.

  264. Joanna K.
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 12:34:36

    I have a Nook HD+ but sometimes it gets a little too heavy. I’ve been comparing the 7 inch tablets and the Nexus 7 really fits what I’m looking for…especially with the microSD slot.

    Thank you for the giveaway, DearAuthor!

  265. Tanya S
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 12:13:30

    I read on my kindle keyboard because it is easier on my eyes. I play on the internet with my kindle fire 8.9.

  266. Lorraine from CA
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 17:52:14

    I read on a Kindle Paperwhite or a Sony prs 350.
    Thanks for the fantastic giveaway.

  267. Natasha R
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 14:15:16

    I succumbed to temptation and bought the Nexus 7. I love it! It’s a great device. I love that it lets you create profiles. My parents own an iPad and it’s missing this. So everyone gets to read my dad’s emails when we use the iPad!

    I live in Canada. Amazon Prime is not a worthwhile expense here. So getting the Nexus 7 was an easy decision to make.

  268. In my Mailbox | YA on my Mind
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 04:32:56

    […] thing about this: I won it in Dear Author’s August device giveaway. Also, I was told I was the winner just one day before my birthday! (which practically makes this […]

%d bloggers like this: