Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Review: Kobo Aura HD

aura2

A couple of weeks ago Kobo announced a new reading device, the Aura HD. The Aura brings something new to the table when it comes to eInk readers, a little bit larger screen with a higher resolution than ever before. While the most common size for eInk readers has for years been the 6 inch device the Aura’s screen in 6.8 inches. Not only is this screen a bit larger its resolution is higher, 1440×1080 (265 ppi) when compared to other flagship devices such as the Kindle Paperwhite and Kobo Glo which come in at 1024×768 (212 ppi) or the Nook Glow and Sony T2’s 800×600 (167 ppi). The Aura also incorporates the front lighting that has become popular in the past year or so. For right now the Aura is available in Canada, the US, and the UK. In the US it’s only available directly from Kobo at this point. From what I’ve been able to glean around the Internet it should be available in other countries soon.

Having had some issues with Kobo’s customer service in the past I was a bit leery of giving Kobo another chance, but I found the device compelling enough that my gadget lover side gave in and picked one up. This device runs pretty much the same software as the Kobo Mini and the Kobo Glo which were released back in October of last year. I like that Kobo appears to have decided on a path where their readers will be more or less consistent from device to device (the home screens are a bit different). I also bought a Kindle Paperwhite when they were released, but returned it to Amazon as I decided it wasn’t the device for me. I went back to my Kindle Touch. I had it long enough however that I will comment on some of the differences throughout this review.

BIYVF-iCYAAQVQy

What’s in the box:

The Aura comes packaged in a nice minimal box that contains the device, a short getting started booklet and a micro USB cable. There is no power adapter for charging from a wall outlet included, but I had no problems using a couple of different USB power adapters I have from various phones. You can, of course, also charge from your computers USB port; and you can read from the device while charging via a computer.

aura6

Hardware:

The Aura HD has a nice clean design and looks much like any of today’s crop of touch screen readers. The only buttons are along the top edge, a slider to put the device to sleep and wake it, and a flush fitting button that turns the light on and off. Along the bottom edge are a small reset hole, a micro USB port and a microSD card slot which supports cards up to 32GB. I’ve seen one report of someone having no problems using a 64GB card, but Kobo officially lists 32GB as the max. The device housing is, like most other devices, plastic and is available in three colors, Ivory (white), Onyx (black) and Espresso (a dark brown). It feels nice in the hand and has a matte/satin finish which produces no glare although I find mine (in Espresso) to be a bit of a fingerprint magnet, not as bad as my Paperwhite was. The device’s back has a unique shape to it that I find comfortable to hold although it is the same smooth plastic as the front, not rubberized or quilted like earlier Kobo’s. I’m still not 100% used to the device and sometimes wonder if the back is too smooth, but so far it’s been fine.

The display is simply stunning. The higher ppi stands out nicely against older screens like the Nook and Sony still use (and previous generations of other brands) and it’s a big improvement. For me it especially stands out with the clarity at smaller text sizes and I love it. When compared to the Kindle Paperwhite and Kobo Glo the ppi differences aren’t as significant or noticeable. I found the IR touchscreen to be very responsive with no delays or missed touches.

Like most of the readers that have come out this generation the Aura features a front light. Here Kobo has done a wonderful job of providing even lighting with no shadowing as I saw at the bottom of the Paperwhite screen or color blotches which have been an issue for some Paperwhite owners. Kobo has dubbed this light the ‘ComfortLight’ and it really is a nice comfortable light to read by with a warm feel to it. Unlike the Paperwhite this light can be completely turned off by a physical button. The light’s intensity is easily controlled via a percentage slider control that goes from 1% to 100%.

 

aura3

Software:

Overall I like the Kobo’s software quite a bit, with a couple of reservations.

The home screen has a search bar and links for the Library, Bookstore and Reading Life at the top and bottom of the screen. In the middle is a widget that shows some of your most recent activity. It’s not bad, but I’d like the option of hiding it and having the Library shown as my home screen instead.

The Library screen is really nice. You can view all books, which shows both books on the device and also books you’ve bought from Kobo with the option of downloading a book if it’s not already on the device or you can have it show just the book which are on the reader (my preference). You can sort your books by Recently Read, Title, Author, File Size or File Type. Books can be viewed as a list or as a cover view. In list view you also have the option to have a tiny cover image beside the title and author name. From library view you can also tell the device to download all titles in your online Kobo library at once and you can also have the device archive all of the title at one time (for titles from Kobo only). Besides Books there are also options to view your News & Magazines, Previews and any Shelves you’ve created. Shelves are similar to collections on a Kindle or Sony device and to shelves on the Nook. Books that are on shelves also still show in the main library list which I’m having to get used to since they can be hidden on the Kindle.

Reading Life has two aspects on the Aura. The first is Reading Stats which shows you stats for the current book like hours spent reading, page turns, average pages per minute, and the entire library like number of books finished and total hours reading. The other aspect is Awards where you earn badges for things like turning 10,000 pages, Reading all night long, reading during specific time periods and other things. For me it’s a novelty I might peek at on rare occasion, but it nothing I’ll use regularly.

aura4

Reading a book on the Kobo is generally pleasant. Page turns are quick and smooth and the screen looks great. You can tweak things so the screen refreshes anywhere between every 1 and 6 pages and there are three options to adjust the ‘zones’ for where you tap for page forward, back and menu. Besides a few oddities mentioned below (that are personal preference things) I can say that reading on the Aura is just great.

There are two main reading engines on the Kobo. One for books you download directly from Kobo (kePub) either using their desktop software or over WiFi and a totally separate one for ePub books that you’ve side-loaded using Adobe Digital Editions, Calibre, a direct drag and drop or using the devices web browser. This causes your books to have a slightly different look depending on which type you’re reading.

For books downloaded directly from Kobo, often referred to as kePub’s or Kobo ePub’s (you can also usually download a standard ePub from Kobo), every page has a header that shows the title of the book and a footer that has a progress/page counter for the current chapter.

For side-loaded ePub’s there is no header and the footer shows a progress/page counter for the entire book (as opposed to per chapter).

With regular ePub’s, on some pages I had the text stopping a couple of inches up the screen leaving a lot of room that could hold more text. The space can be minimized to about half an inch by tweaking the ePub, but like most readers I want to spend my time reading not tweaking my book files. I don’t want to over-blow things as it’s possible that this won’t bug you and it’s also possible that it’s something I’ll get used to in time, but coming from the Kindle Touch (which displays the same as the Paperwhite) it’s quite different. The space at the bottom of kePub’s doesn’t seem as bad to me partly because it’s balanced by the header shown when reading those files.

With both types of files you have options to choose your font face, font size, line spacing, margins and justification. With ePub’s sometimes publishers lock some of theses settings by hard coding them and sometimes they’re locked if you’ve done a Calibre conversion. There are ten different fonts to choose from plus you can add your own. You can also tweak the font by adjusting it’s weight and sharpness (not available with all fonts). Kobo has really tried to make it so you can customize things to your own preferences which is great.

Long pressing on a word will have the Aura doing a dictionary look-up. You can also highlight, make notes and search for selected words/phases throughout the book.

The device also reads PDF and drm free Mobi files. For Mobi I’d say convert to ePub as the Mobi reader isn’t great overall, but it does work in a pinch. The PDF reader seemed OK unless you need to zoom. Zooming works OK in itself, but there is horrible ghosting if you try panning around while zoomed in. With the few PDF’s I tried the little bit of extra screen size and the higher resolution meant I could comfortably read a PDF without zooming although things were on the small size. This is something I couldn’t really do on the smaller 6” devices.

The Aura has no audio capability, so there is no text-to-speech available.

When the device is put to sleep the cover of the book is displayed as your ‘screen saver’ or you can turn that off and just have a blank screen that says ‘Sleeping’. Also, Kobo offers a sleep cover that makes the device automatically sleep/wake when opened and closed.

aura5

Extras:

In the Aura’s settings menu you’ll find a menu item for Extras. The Extras are some games (Chess, Solitaire, Word Scramble & Sudoku), a Sketch Pad (for drawing or taking notes) and a Web Browser. Like the web browser on most eInk devices it works OK, but isn’t really for extended browsing. I did use it to log on to the Dropbox mobile site and download an ePub just fine.

 

Conclusions:

Overall I really like this reader. It has it’s quirks like any other device and coming from using Kindle’s for the last three generations I’m still getting used to the differences in the way the Kobo and Kindle display things. I don’t necessarily think one is better than the other, they’re just different.

I don’t have a huge need for the light, but I do like that it’s there if I need it and that when I don’t I can just switch it off.

If I had been happy with my Paperwhite I doubt I’d even have considered this device, but since I was still on an older device this is a pretty nice upgrade. If you already have a Kobo Glo or Kindle Paperwhite the upgrade isn’t as significant, although the little bit of extra size and resolution will make it tempting. I definitely like the slightly larger size of the Aura when compared to 6” devices. Especially since it doesn’t make the overall device much bigger or heavier.

I think Kobo has a winner with this device and I’m looking forward to using it more.

 

Technical Details:

Size: 175.7 x 128.3 x 11.7 mm (6.91 x 5.05 x 0.46 in)

Weight: 240 g (8.4658 oz)

Processor: 1 GHz; 20% faster processor than other leading eReaders

Display: 6.8” WXGA+ Pearl eInk Screen, ClarityScreen+: 265dpi, 1440x 1080 resolution

Light: Built-in ComfortLight technology with micro-thin coating for durability and even light distribution.

Buttons: Power on/off, Light on/off

Connectivity: WiFi 802.11 b/g/n and Micro USB

Storage: 4GB, expandable up to 32 GB with a Micro SD card

Battery: Up to 2 months (reading 30 min. a day)

Colors: Espresso, Ivory and Onyx

File Types: eBooks; ePub (drm free & with Adobe DRM), PDF and Mobi – Images; jpeg, gif, png and tiff – Text; txt, html, xhtml and rtf – Comic Books: cbz and cbr

Dictionary: Built-in Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate dictionary

(full specs at http://www.kobo.com/koboaurahd/techspecs/ )

 

 

Brian is an avid reader who loves books of all kinds. He's been known to try just about anything once, but is partial to SciFi, Fantasy, Mystery and Romance. His favorite authors include Jane Austen, Ray Bradbury, Jacqueline Carey, Lisa Kleypas, Michelle Sagara West, JD Robb, David Weber, Julie Miller, Lynne Connolly and Lynsay Sands.

34 Comments

  1. Kaetrin
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 07:37:13

    I hope they’re available in Australia soon. I’m tempted to take one for a test drive. I have a Sony PRS-650 and I wish they’d bring out a reader with a light like this one or the Paperwhite. I’m really tempted by the two lighted options at present.

  2. AH
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 08:27:42

    We’ve had Kobos for a few years now and we’re pretty happy with them. The Aura looks amazing but the price will probably keep us from upgrading at this time.

    On the topic of Reading Life and the cute little badges you get for reading – this is used to collect reading data on Kobo’s customers. There was a presentation done by Kobo where they used the data to show when each demographic reads and for how long. It was quite interesting. (I can’t find the link).

  3. Lynne Connolly
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 08:49:15

    I saw this at the London Book Fair where they launched it, and I have to say I’m impressed. The display is awesome, crisp even with the light on and turned up. I love my Nexus 7, but if I were in the market for a new ereader, this would be the one.

  4. Jorrie Spencer
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 09:01:04

    Oh, I am tempted to upgrade from my Kobo Touch, which I’m not entirely happy with as it’s a tad too dull in certain light. So I end up reading on my iPad, which is first generation and a bit too heavy to be comfortable at times. Thanks for the review!

  5. Becca
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 09:10:33

    I’m quite happy with my paperwhite, although the higher PPI tempts me. But I side load all my books, no matter where I get them from, and I don’t like the fact that the Aura treats side loaded books differently from books from Kobo. On my Paperwhite, they’re all treated exactly the same.

  6. Ben
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 09:54:51

    @Becca if you change the extension of your ePub from .epub to .kepub.epub and then sideload them they’ll be the same as your other books.

  7. Sunita
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:21:06

    Great review, Jane Brian, thanks! Are you still reading a lot on your iPad Mini, or did I get that wrong? How do the two compare? And what’s the weight difference like between your Kindle Touch and the Kobo?

    ETA: Oops, I didn’t pay attention and thought Jane wrote the review, not Brian. Sorry! So obviously ignore my question about the iPad Mini, but I’m still curious about your take on the difference in form factor between the Kobo and the 6″ readers.

  8. Brian
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:21:24

    @Becca: It would be nice if the two formats were treated more the same, really I’m not 100% sure why Kobo thinks it needs a separate format for the same books since they also let you download an ePub from their site. On the other hand as Ben said there are ways to make it treat ePub’s as kePub’s. There is a Calibre plugin discussed on MobileRead which will handle this for you if you use Calibre for you side-loading. This gives you the ability to choose the reading engine you like best.

    One thing you get with kePub’s that I forgot to mention is a time to read feature if that interests folks. This is rumored to also be coming for ePub.

  9. Jean K
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:54:43

    FYI – for those of you concerned about Kobo previous customer service reputation… I HIGHLY recommend going to then on Twitter. @KoboHelp was almost instantaneously responsive when I made it known that I had not yet received my Aura, and had no information about my order other than a CC charge indicating that some sort of transaction had occurred.

    The problem was totally my fault (I ommitted a letter from my email addy, therefore, my invoice, confirmation, and shipping emails went to the server of bounced emails). BUT… @KoboHelp has filed the issue, gotten me a CS report #, located my order, and kept me informed every step of the way. My issue was resolved within 20 minutes of my first contact with @KoboHelp.

    For the record – I don’t work for Kobo, but really like their stuff. I really like that I can purchase eBooks through a link provided by my independent bookseller of choice.

    I pretty much have one of every reader out there and always take one on my frequent business trips. I’ve found more and more that I’ve been grabbing the Kobo Glo for my trips because it’s smaller and lighter than my Kindle PW, and brighter than my B&N STR glowlight. In fact, I can only think of one or 2 trips in the last 6 months where I grabbed the Kindle or the STR.

    I’ve never had to deal with CS before – I’m generally a self-rescuing eBook reader, but I am aware of the opinions and experiences of others. Based on hearsay, I was VERY surprised at how great my Kobo CS experience was, though, and I am happy to give them props where props are due.

  10. Nickbango
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:47:14

    @Brian

    “I’m not 100% sure why Kobo thinks it needs a separate format for the same books”

    They’ll probably never tell it but it is partly because a huge amount of files provided by publishers are really really low in code quality.

    The vast majority of files are outsourced to indian EPUB factories which are doing a terrible job. They can’t provide files with correct HTML markup for instance (almost anything is marked as paragraphs), insane style sheets containing more stuff than the sum of all style sheets used on the web, etc. That makes the file unmanageable for vendors, who then must implement overrides so that the book is readable and customers don’t complain….

    Problem is they are trusting established companies who are outsourcing for bigger profits. At the beginning of the Kindle era, Kindle executives actually visited such factories in the Phillipines. They know bad code is a threat to the whole ecosystem but business is business and they still advise publishers to pick those established companies which are just outsourcing badly.

    That’s partly why KePub exist. They actually alter files so that they can match a minimum code quality and don’t trigger problems for readers.

    That’s the hard truth and if you take Apple, for example, the company which is so committed to quality and tells anyone about it, you’ll see they partner with established companies which are outsourcing to Indian factories doing low quality products. Apple knows files are crap but they don’t care. As long as the customer is not impacted, there is no problem. They even accept EPUB files which are not valid (while passing validation is derogatory) just because they don’t want to tell big publishers they paid for crap….

    As a matter of fact, the day those files turn problematic, hundred of thousands of ebooks will have to be remade. Does the IDPF or the vendors care about this situation? Nope, they just don’t give a “style sheet”. For what it’s worth, some members of the IDPF itself are concerned with this outsourcing scandal. Perhaps that’s why they don’t want to tackle this problem and prefer to jeopardize libraries of readers….

  11. Becca
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:55:46

    @Nickbango:

    Perhaps that’s why they don’t want to tackle this problem and prefer to jeopardize libraries of readers…

    ah, but since we don’t really own our ebooks, but merely license them, that shouldn’t matter…

  12. Estara Swanberg
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 14:16:14

    Can I just SQEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE that you’re using And All the Stars for the demonstration and therefore own it ^^ – and hopefully read it and like it.

    And as always a great intro to an interesting product. I’ve read they are thinking of doing this as a limited edition for the high volume dedicated readers… if it had been available when I had that really cheap offer for the Sony PRS-T2, I would have really had to compare – I love the higher resolution and slightly larger screen – I bet it is perfect for digital manga. Which their support of those comic book zips and rars suggests, anyway.

    My Sony also has a 1 Gigahertz processor, but of course it is smaller and the screen not such a high resolution.

    And another small squee for the Michelle Sagara. I just finished a reread of all the Elantra books in preparation for the new one coming out … probably this autumn. Sigh.

    ETA: Right, it’s Brian! So that’s why, heh. I didn’t know you were a MSW fan, though. So Yay!

  13. Ros
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 17:44:37

    This looks really nice. I just bought a secondhand Kindle Keyboard to replace my damaged one (itself a replacement one). I couldn’t bring myself to buy a Paperwhite or a Kindle Touch – they both look less functional than the old Kindle Keyboard to me. But I do like the look of this. The only thing that seems utterly bizarre is the notion of Awards. Isn’t reading it’s own reward? Why would anyone be interested in a badge for having read something? Weird. On the other hand, I love the idea of using the cover of your current book as the screensaver. That’s a really neat little touch.

    A question I do have about Kobo and other ereaders. Is there an equivalent to the Amazon one-click-buy? That is, if I am in bed at night, with my ereader and decide I want to purchase a new book, can I do it directly from my reader without having to go and find my credit card details? How long from impulse to purchase to reading?

  14. Brian
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 17:46:33

    @Estara Swanberg: Yep, I liked And All the Stars quite a bit thanks to your recommendation and yep, a big Elantra fan too.

    I think the screen size and resolution is likely perfect for Manga, but I don’t have any of the digital variety to try.

  15. Brian
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 17:50:04

    @Ros: Yes, like Amazon you can buy from the device on Kobo’s and also on Nook and Sony.

    I don’t totally get the awards thing either (Audible’s iOS and Android apps have something similar) and see it as just a novelty, but apparently quite a few people do work towards earning the various ones.

  16. AH
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 19:41:35

    @Brian – the awards thing is a way for Kobo to measure when (and what) people are reading. It was fun at first, but if you read a lot, you are interrupted by the badges appearing on your ereader. People seem to like collecting them because they can be shared on Facebook.

  17. Mythmom
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06:09

    I was one of those disgruntled customers when they first came out. I bought a first generation for my son. Three months later the screen quit (customer service said they knew this was a common problem with this model) I sent it away and received a refurbished one in the mail…It didn’t work out of the box. Went directly to the store to return it. They gave me the next version. Software gltches, screen freeze, random reboots etc. I spent 10+ hours every couple of months fixing problems. I understand the latest ones are better but I doubt I will give them another try.

  18. Laura Ashlee
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 21:25:58

    I’m a Kobo user, and I was stoked when they came out with this. I owned the original Kobo and now I have a Kobo Vox. I’ve been thinking about getting something new because I only use my Vox for reading and never for any of its other features. Plus, I love eInk and I’d really like to own an e-reader that has it. I might have to get one of these this summer…

  19. John Clements
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 21:55:55

    The Aura will be available in Australia on May 25 according to Bookworld Customer Service.

    I’ll be buying one, am pleased with my Kobo Touch and Arc. I won’t consider any Amazon device until all their ebooks are available worldwide like their print books, am not interested in a company that has US only and special Australia only book lists.

  20. Brian
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 21:59:17

    @John Clements: You do realize that Kobo has geographic restrictions too right? So does any eBook retailer that sells in more than one country.

  21. John Clements
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 22:05:35

    No I didn’t realize that, but am happy with the selection I can choose from.

    Thanks for the info.

  22. Giuliana
    May 05, 2013 @ 15:42:32

    Thanks for all the information. MUCH MORE than I was able to get from KOBO. I went ahead and ordered it, I had tried to order the Espresso, but after many exhausting tries, succumbed to Onyx. I’m still not sure what colors the covers come in. Can you clarify, what type of plug I can use with the USB if I want to charge directly from the wall? Thanks again.

  23. Brian
    May 05, 2013 @ 16:07:11

    @Giuliana: The Aura comes with a micro USB cable. That cable, or another micro USB cable, can be plugged into a USB wall adapter (like those used for many cell phones) for charging from a wall outlet. I’ve used a micro USB cable in conjunction with the wall adapters from an iPhone, Kindle and Samsung smartphone and also an iGo charger with a micro USB tip and all of them seemed to work just fine.

  24. bam
    May 10, 2013 @ 15:39:35

    Hey Brian,

    Thanks for the review.

    Did you have any trouble with your Kobo Aura reading from a microSD card? ’cause bro, mine’s not working. I’m about to chuck this thing at someone.

  25. Brian
    May 10, 2013 @ 17:34:10

    @bam: I just tried two cards. One isn’t seen at all and with the other I get a message asking me to format it. I formatted that card first with a quick format and then with a full format. Still no dice.

    Looks like I’m going to be doing some checking at MobileRead and if I don’t find something I’ll be contacting Kobo support.

  26. Brian
    May 10, 2013 @ 23:45:58

    @bam: I started a thread over at MobileRead and one of the suggestions was to format the card(s) using the formatter from the SD Card association…

    https://www.sdcard.org/downloads/formatter_4/

    …it worked for me and both cards that were giving me problems earlier now work in my Aura.

  27. baramburum
    Jun 11, 2013 @ 08:20:10

    I very love my Kobo Glo. Then I heard about Aura, I decided to upgrade my e-reader without hesitation. But Then I came to see new device in the store, I was surprise to find out how poor quality the aura device is. The frame is made from a very poor plastic that it makes crack-sound every time you put the device in your hands. The top of the frame is fall apart.

  28. Brian
    Jun 11, 2013 @ 09:50:32

    @baramburum: Can’t say I’ve ever had mine make any cracking sounds or anything. It definitely has a plastic “feel” to it, but I’ve had zero issues with the devices actual quality.

  29. baramburum
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 00:02:58

    ATTENTION, AMAZON REMOVED ALL PICTURES SHOWING THE LOW QUALITY OF THE PRODUCT!!!!!!!

    I am the owner of Kobo Glo who were thinking to buy Aura HD. I checked it in th store and decided not to upgrade.

    The screen of Kobo Aura HD is great, but the frame is made from a very cheap plastic. It is absolutely undurable and even makes CRACK-sound if you hold it in your hands. This “ergonomic” frame absolutely doesn`t make sense, because in most cases you use device with the case.

    If you look at the picture, you can see, that the frame is not solid and has two parts. If you carry your e-reader with you all the time, it is better not to buy Kobo Aura, because the frame was not designed for this and it is falling apart then you carry it in your backpack. There are also no quality accessaries. Most of cases are made from cheap textile and you have to replace them every quarter.

    Company was rushing for the competition, rather then for the quality.Hopefully they will hire more professional designer for the next model.

  30. John Clements
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 00:38:32

    I have the Aura with a black leather case:
    https://images.bookworld.com.au/images/bau/68149500/681495005499/0/0/plain/kobo-aura-leather-sleep-cover-black.jpg
    And I love it, haven’t heard any “crack” when using it, then again it’s secured in the case – don’t have any issues, except the inability to read PDF books or at least enlarge the text, or maybe that’s just the Touch and Arc – I have all 3 and have been delighted with them all.

  31. Ross Morris
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:53:38

    Hi, I just got one of these. I’m not very impressed! The hardware is fine, but the software is not so good. I am trying to read technical PDFs mostly, hence thought the hi-res screen would help. Sadly, the default “100%” zoom is more like 80%, but if you zoom in a little closer you can no longer page-turn with one touch. If you go to landscape mode, then with each page turn, the Kobo scrolls you to the *bottom* of the new page. Did Kobo’s testers not notice that most people prefer to start reading from the *top*! That is dreadful. I am going to try all kinds of stuff to see if I can get it to work “properly”, but at this rate, it’s going back to the shop…

  32. Brian
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 13:39:53

    @Ross Morris: While the Aura HD is better than some small eInk readers for PDF I’d never recommend anyone go with a 5-7″ eInk device for primarily reading PDF, especially technical PDF’s. Most PDF’s are formatted as Letter or A4 size and are best on a 9-10″ tablet or a 9.7″ eInk device (if the PDF’s are formatted for the screens size they work OK). PDF is an afterthought for pretty much all of the smaller devices and is mainly there because people expect some level of support for it.

  33. Kala Mccright
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 15:55:44

    I used to be recommended this website by means of my cousin. I’m not certain whether this submit is written by means of him as no one else realize such detailed about my problem. You are amazing! Thank you!

  34. Marcos Juarez
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 13:44:29

    Hello, for some reason, the developers of Kobo ever noticed something as simple as that to turn pages and zoom mode sends you to the bottom, not the top of the page, as would be the normal!
    a hack is needed to fix that.

%d bloggers like this: