Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Review: Kindle Touch

When Amazon first announced the Kindle Touch line of readers I was pretty indifferent about it.  I mean they looked nice, but I was perfectly happy with my Kindle 3 (now the Kindle Keyboard) and my older eInk devices (Kindle 2, Cybook Opus & Sony PRS-505) and saw no real need for anything else.  So I didn’t need a Kindle Touch by any stretch of the imagination, but need seldom comes into play when it comes to gadgets for me.

I opted for the $99 Kindle Touch WiFi with Special Offers.  Since you can now pay the difference ($40) and get the ads removed I figured there was little to lose by getting the special offer version and some of the previous offers folks have received seemed to be pretty good.  For what it’s worth I’ll be keeping the ads as I don’t care what my “screen saver” looks like (I don’t really look at the device when not reading) and the banner on the home screen is quite unobtrusive.

 

What You Get:

The Kindle Touch comes packaged in a very minimalist cardboard box that contains the device itself, a very short getting started card and a USB cable.  Amazon went cheap and eliminated the power adapter that came with previous versions (in the US anyway) of the Kindle from the package.  You can charge via USB or order Amazon’s power adapter for $10 (this is the same adapter the K2 and K3 came with).  I also tried charging with my iGo charger and had no problems.

 

Hardware:

The Kindle Touch itself is fairly minimalist in design, gone are the days of a hardware keyboard, 5-way controllers and page turn buttons.  There are no buttons on the device at all except for the Home button (looks like a speaker grill) on the front and a power button on the bottom edge.  Other than that you have a micro USB port and headphone jack next to the power button and a pair of speakers on the back.  The device housing, like all other Kindles, is plastic and has a nice feel in-hand.  The back is smooth and slightly rubberized and I find the device to be quite comfortable to hold.

The display is the same Pearl eInk screen used by the majority of eInk based readers now.  The screen on my Kindle 3 has a very slightly lighter background to it, but I think it’s manufacturing variances as two other K3′s I compared the Touch too looked to be exactly the same as the Touch’s screen.  Either way the Touch has the contrast folks have come to expect from Pearl screens.

The big difference between the Touch and previous Kindles is of course the touch screen.  Like readers from Sony, B&N and Kobo the Kindle Touch uses an infrared touchscreen which allows the screen to appear the same as non-touch devices (no extra touch layer causing glare).  The bezel edge around the screen is slightly raised to accommodate the touch sensors (like other IR touch devices).  I found the touch screen to be nicely responsive (not quite as responsive as a capacitive LCD as found on modern smart phones) and had no problems using it to turn pages or access menus on the device.

Of course one thing missing from this edition of the Kindle is the physical keyboard, which I found I don’t miss at all.  Now I don’t type much on the Kindle by any means, so I might not be the best judge, but while the hardware keyboards always worked fine for me I found I was able to type faster and with more accuracy on the Touch’s onscreen keyboard.

 

Technical Details:

Screen:
6” E Ink Pearl screen with infrared multi-touch interface, optimized with proprietary waveform and font technology. 600 x 800 pixel resolution at 167 ppi and 16 levels of grayscale.

Size/Weight:
6.8” x 4.7” x 0.40” (172mm x 120mm x 10.1mm)
7.5 ounces (213 grams) for WiFi, 7.8 ounces (220 grams) for WiFi + 3G

Storage:
4GB internal storage (approx 3GB available for user content), no storage card slot.  Free cloud storage for all Amazon content.

Battery Life:
Battery lasts up to two months with wireless turned off, up to 6 weeks with wireless always on depending on usage.

Wireless:
Supports public and private 802.11b/g/n WiFi networks and hotspots with support for WEP, WPA and WPA2 security using password authentication.  Does not support WPA or WPA2 using 802.xx authentication methods or connection to ad-hoc (or peer-to-peer) WiFi networks.

WiFi+3G models also have an HSDPA modem (3G) with EDGE/GPRS fallback; wireless coverage provided by AT&T in the US and through partner networks outside the US.

Ports:
USB micro connector (USB cable included, power adapter sold separately), 3.5mm stereo audio jack, rear mounted speakers.

Content Formats:
Kindle (AZW), TXT, PDF, Audible, Audible Enhanced, MP3, unprotected MOBI/PRC; HTML, DOC, DOCX, JPEG, GIF, PNG and BMP through conversion.

 

Software:

The overall look of the Kindle Touch’s interface will be very familiar to users of previous generations of Kindle’s.  The Home Screen lists your books and/or collections in the same way as other Kindles with one change, collections are now sorted alphabetically instead of by last read as they are on the Kindle 2, 3 and DX.  I still wish Amazon would let users have options in how their collections are sorted, but they didn’t ask me.  The Home Screen also has a back arrow, store button, search box and menu icon across the top of the page.  Changing pages on the home screen is accomplished by swiping back and forth on the screen.

One place the touch screen shines is when interfacing with the Home Screen and with menus.  It’s no longer necessary to use the 5-way controller earlier Kindles had to make selections and navigate in general.  Now all one has to do is tap a collection or book to open it or tap and hold to bring up a menu giving you various options.  It’s much more intuitive and navigation feels much faster.

Reading a book looks much the same as it does on earlier Kindle’s with a few exceptions.  The progress bar is gone and all we are left with is the current location number in the lower left corner and the percentage read in the lower right.  Right now I’m unsure how I feel about the progress bars demise.  While the screen has a nice clean look I had gotten accustomed to seeing the bar and more importantly the little marks that indicated each chapter in a properly formatted Kindle book.  I’d often find myself planning my stopping point for the night by seeing how much was left of the chapter.  That said, in actual use I haven’t overly missed the chapter marks at this point and even though they’re unseen you can still use them to skip forward and back by swiping up and down on the screen.

Amazon has designed the touch screen with zones.  Tapping at the top of any page will bring up the same menu bar as the Home Screen at the top of the page and options to change font size/face/spacing, Go To and X-Ray or Sync (if the book doesn’t have x-ray) at the bottom.  Tapping on the left maybe 1/5th of the screen will go to the previous page and tapping on the other 4/5th’s of the screen will page forward.  Amazon’s reasoning is people will be going forward more than back and at least for me the design works great.  The forward zone extends over enough that I can tap to turn pages while holding the device in either hand with ease.  You can also swipe forward and back to turn pages if that is your preference.  I was glad to see that tapping as well as swiping works for page turns and I’ve tried different Sony devices and found I don’t really care for swiping to turn when reading for long periods, tapping however isn’t all that different than using a physical button.

Since this is a multi-touch interface you can also change font sizes by pinching or expanding you fingers on the screen (much like zooming in/out on smart phones/tablets) if you don’t want to delve into the menu’s to do it when reading.

While reading you can look-up a words definition by simply tapping and holding on the word, this is much less cumbersome than using the older Kindle’s 5-way controller.  Tapping and then dragging right after a word is highlighted will allow you to select passages which you can then highlight, add notes or share via social networks Facebook and Twitter.

X-Ray is a new development for the Touch which allows users to see the “bones of the book”.  When you use x-ray, if available for your book, you can see a time-line illustration that shows where fictional characters, ideas, historical figures, places and topics are mentioned on the current page, current chapter or the entire book.  Tapping on one of these entries will bring up a details page with a description/detail and also a list of excerpts from each page containing the selected character/item/etc., more detailed info can be had through links to Wikipedia or Shelfari.  At this stage I find x-ray interesting, but I’m unsure if it’s something I’d ever really use.

The Kindle Touch will also read PDFs, kind of.  Similar to the Sony’s you can pinch to zoom your document although it’s kind of cumbersome with the pages taking multiple seconds and flashes to actually appear zoomed.  Once the page is zoomed in swiping allows you to pan across the page and swiping far enough will change the page.  The next page will appear at it’s normal size and you can then zoom in again if desired.  I’ve yet to find a 6” eInk device that’s actually pleasant to read PDF’s on unless they’re formatted to the size of the screen and while I know some folks appear to like the way the Touch handles PDFs I find I preferred reading them on the Kindle 3 for one simple reason.

The Touch has done away with landscape mode as an option for reading and I found this the best way to read PDFs on the few occasions I tried.  Landscape viewing is also out for regular AZW/Mobi books as well which is something a few folks I’ve talked to that use really large fonts were disappointed to hear.  I don’t know if the problem has to do with the touch zones needing to reconfigure for landscape mode or what, but it’s too bad Amazon didn’t include the option for folks who like to use it.  I very seldom used it so it’s not a huge loss for me.

 

The Store:

I found going through the Kindle store on the device a much more pleasant experience than using the 5-way on the older devices.  Touch is a welcome feature here, although if I had to guess I’d say I’ll still to most of my purchasing of Kindle books by using Amazon.com and not by using the on device store.

 

Experimental:

The experimental features like the web browser, MP3 player and Text-to-Speech are all still there in this version of the Kindle.

I found the browser much nicer to use, although it’s still not a great experience and I doubt it ever will be with eInk’s refresh rates.  I was easily able to connect to my DropBox and download a few Mobi files to the device (PDF’s can’t be downloaded via the browser) and it was much quicker than doing it on my K3.  One note for folks used to using the Kindle’s free 3G to access their email, surf the web or download from DropBox.  That can’t be done with the 3G version of the Touch (which is why I went WiFi only this go around), the only thing you can use the 3G for is to access the Kindle store to buy and download books (and download from your archives).

The MP3 player is very basic.  It shows the current track and has skip forward and back arrows, volume, play/pause and an off button.  Once playing music will continue to play while you do other things, like reading, until you turn it off.  While the speakers aren’t the worst I’ve heard on a small device, headphones will give a much better experience.

Text-to-Speech is most easily accessed from the menu while in your book of choice.  Of course it only works on DRM-free books and on DRM’d books where publishers allow it to be used.  It acts/sound much the same as in previous Kindles to the best of my recollection.  It’s not a replacement for audio books by any means, but I know it’s quite useful for certain users, such as those with vision problems.  You can control the gender of the voice used and also control the voices speed, but it will always lack inflection and sound somewhat robotic.

 

Conclusions:

So is the Touch a game changer in the world of dedicated readers?  Nope, not really.  If I already had a touchscreen device from Sony, B&N or Kobo I probably wouldn’t drop them for the Kindle Touch unless there’s a specific feature you want and I wouldn’t dump a Kindle 3 for it unless you want the touch functionality.  That said the Kindle Touch is a solid new entry and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it, I know I’m quite happy with mine.

The Kindle Touch can be had (in the US only for now) in four versions.  $99 gets you the WiFi only version with special offers or you can get the same device without ads for $139.  For $149 you get WiFi + 3G with special offers or get the 3G version without ads for $189. Also remember you can remove the ads on the special offers models by paying the subsidy discount of $40.  You can also opt-in to the ads if you want to on a non-special offer Touch, K3 or K4 (and opt-out whenever you want).

Brian is an avid reader who loves books of all kinds. He's been known to try just about anything once, but is partial to SciFi, Fantasy, Mystery and Romance. His favorite authors include Jane Austen, Ray Bradbury, Jacqueline Carey, Lisa Kleypas, Michelle Sagara West, JD Robb, David Weber, Julie Miller, Lynne Connolly and Lynsay Sands.

38 Comments

  1. Mary
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 05:31:43

    Great post. I upgraded to the $99 Touch wifi with special offers from a Kindle 2 so you can imagine how thrilled I am ;) The highlight feature is amazingly easy as are the other features I’ve discovered in the few days I’ve had to use it. I’m going to save the link to your post for reference. Thanks again for giving us the basics!

  2. Estara
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 05:49:46

    Interesting and I like the look at the details. Also it fill me with glee to see an ebook not sold at Amazon on your reader ^^ – Clan Korval unite!

    As you said – owning a PRS-650 there doesn’t seem to be a big reason to switch and expansion slots as well as good collection management are buying criteria for me. I also don’t have a wifi network and prefer slightly slowing down my spending habits by having to sideload content, heh.

  3. Tina
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 08:48:41

    I upgraded from a K2 to a Touch just last week as an early Christmas present to myself. I have to agree with this entire post. I like the touch functionality but it did take some time to untrain myself from the way I used the K2.

    I kept pressing the edge where the old button used to be to advance forward. I also realized that if i got a little spot on the screen or dribbled water or something on it while i was reading I had to sleep the device to wipe it off, or else I’d find myself a few pages ahead. LOL. And yes, i do miss the progress bar in the bottom more than I realized I would.

    But all in all I think the navigational changes are a plus. I love that a simple swipe up or down changes the chapter (handy when you’re skimming). I Love that to bookmark a page requires a simple tap at the top corner, just like real dog-earing. And I mostly love that you just touch a word to get the dictionary definition, instead of having to toggle down to it using the button.

  4. Catherine
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 09:06:34

    I just bought my dad the Kindle Touch Wifi for Christmas. I’m nervous how he will like it, but this review is making me hopeful that he’ll enjoy it! I opened up the box yesterday to have a look at it – amazed at how taking away the keyboard makes it smaller than my (now clunkier looking) Kindle 2.

  5. CourtneyLee
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 09:31:55

    I adore my Kindle 3, but I think I may upgrade to this for the touch function, especially since my K3 is getting tetchy in its old age (too many brushes with death due to my small children) and having to use the five-way and keyboard is getting kind of annoying. I love everything else about it, so moving on to the TOuch sounds like a good idea. I also heard recently that I can send them my old Kindle to get credit at Amazon, which will either knock the price of the Touch down further or allow me to buy the better warranty.

  6. JenM
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 10:17:47

    I’ve got a 3G (no WiFi) K2 and I’ve been debating upgrading for awhile. I live in the hills and have no 3G access at my house so I’ve been wanting the WiFi, but since my device was working fine, I couldn’t justify upgrading to the K3.

    I think the Touch is enough of a game changer that I can justify it in my own mind, even though my K2 still works fine. I love touch technology. It’s so much more intuitive than the clunky menus and the 5 way controller. The reviews I’ve seen have all been pretty positive also. I do think I will miss the progress bar, but like everything else, I’m sure I’ll get used to not having it pretty quickly and the X-ray function looks like it would be fun to play with. Thanks for the review.

  7. joanne
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 10:47:13

    I might win the crown for Dinosaur Queen with this opinion but I just really dislike any of these touch devices. Even my son’s i-stuff left me unimpressed.

    I may convert at some point – I may not have a choice since this seems to be the technology that is in demand – but in the meantime pushing a button doesn’t seem that bothersome.

    I’ll be upgrading my old Kindle (whispering so it doesn’t quit right now) but it won’t be for the touch. Thanks for the review Brian.

  8. MD
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 11:12:23

    It’s interesting to know that they went for tapping rather than swiping – this seems to be a good choice. I am sticking with the basic kindle so far, I trust the buttons more rather than taps, too easy for me to do that by accident.

  9. ReadingPenguin
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 11:14:31

    @joanne:

    No, I’m kind of with you on this one. I’m perfectly happy with my Kindle 3, which to me looks and feels exactly like a reading device ought to. The touch feature in this case seems a bit gimmicky.

  10. Becca
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 11:49:13

    I’m another one who prefers buttons to touch screens, at least for page turning. I heard a rumor that Amazon is phasing out their Kindle Keyboard, and I’m tempted to buy another one to keep in a drawer against the day that my current K3 dies.

    I’ve got a Sony 350, so I’ve used a touch screen. I just am not impressed.

  11. Tamara
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 12:29:10

    Thank you for this article. Which Kindle would you recommend for someone who has never used an e-reader, is not tech savvy and prefers larger fonts, would like to use the Kindle for regular reading (occasionally business documents in pdf) and frequently for reading the news and online newspapers, has no use for an mp3 player, and cost is not an issue?

  12. Renda
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 12:33:50

    I for one love the touch technology. I have an iPad and an iTouch, both of which I use to read. When I use DD’s Kindle, I am constantly touching the screen to make the page move and DD gets irate.
    I do believe my Kindle Touch with SO is sitting in the top of DH’s closet awaiting my bday in December.
    I wanted something lighter and cheaper to take out into the real world. And the iTouch, while it used to be my only e-reader and I loved it, now seems too small.

    On a techie note from a non techie, I tried all morning to leave a comment from my iPad and the screen froze each and every time. Don’t know if this is a me issue or a y’all issue. Thanks.

  13. Becca
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 13:03:32

    @Tamara: if cost isn’t an issue, and they’ll primarily use it for newspapers, look at the 9″ Kindle DX. That was my dad’s first Kindle (he got it when he was 85 or so), and he fell in love with them.

  14. eggs
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 13:38:11

    Count me in as another who likes buttons not touch screens. Once I learn how to use a device, I can navigate buttons without even engaging my brain as the muscle memory kicks in. I have to actually focus on touch screens so they take me longer to use and are more disruptive to the immersive experience.

    I will also point out that one of the growing markets for ereaders is the 60+ generation who are turning to them because any book is a large print book on an ereader. And I can tell you right now, old folk (sorry, mum!) like buttons and knobs. I think it would be a mistake for kindle to phase out button versions entirely.

    Finally, I was wondering if the infrared touch sensors work in the summer heat? While looking that up on the interwebs, I see they probably will because the sensors are not really touch sensors at all. Tricksy!

    http://www.quora.com/How-does-the-Kindle-Touch-touch-screen-work

  15. jeayci
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 14:00:57

    I was interested in the KT until I learned about the lack of landscape mode. That’s a deal-breaker for me. :(

  16. Shannon Stacey
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 14:59:45

    On Thanksgiving I gave my mom a Kindle Touch 3G. It’s her second digital reader but she never used the first (a gift from my sister) because she doesn’t have a computer or wi-fi. The night before, I was playing with it and loading books on it and, if I’d had time and had bought it in a local store, I would have exchanged it for the Kindle 3, like we have (though she has to have the 3G model). I found it to be not quite as intuitive as the Kindle 3 and the touch screen to be less-than-awesomely responsive.

    My husband thinks Mom will like it because she doesn’t have anything else to compare it to and, unlike me, doesn’t hold all touch screens to Apple’s iStandard. I’ll probably give her a few more days and then call and see how she’s liking it.

  17. Brian
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 15:58:17

    @Tamara: As Becca reccomended the Kindle DX is worth a look. Amazon just dropped the price the other day from $379 to $259 still not cheap, but a lot better than it was (only through the 28th though). The larger screen is quite nice when viewing books with large fonts and for viewing the occasional PDF.

  18. Brian
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 16:04:03

    @Estara:

    Also it fill me with glee to see an ebook not sold at Amazon on your reader ^^ – Clan Korval unite!

    I just recently got into the Liaden universe (around April/May), but it quickly became one of my favorite series and I can’t wait for the next book.

  19. Brian
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 16:12:02

    @eggs:

    I will also point out that one of the growing markets for ereaders is the 60+ generation who are turning to them because any book is a large print book on an ereader. And I can tell you right now, old folk (sorry, mum!) like buttons and knobs.

    Interestingly enough I handed off my Touch to my Mom (early 60′s) and Aunt (late 50′s) for a while today to see what they thought (Mom uses a K3 and Aunt has my K2) and the reaction was mixed. Mom just shrugged and said it was OK, but she liked her K3 just fine while Aunt thought it was great and thinks she wants one for Christmas.

    At least for now I don’t think Amazon will phase buttons out all together although it sounds like the K3 is about done there’s still the basic K4 which just came out not long ago. I’d like to see page turn buttons added to the next generation of touch Kindle though.

    I myself am really just fine with my K3 and I’m unsure if that or the Touch will be my primary reader.

  20. carmen webster buxton
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 17:29:37

    Nice review! I had not heard that about landscape mode, so that’s good to know. I was pretty happy with my K3, but I do find the virtual keyboard exponentially easier to use. I love that the letters on the letter keys actually change to upper case when you tap the shift key! I also found it so much easier to add books to collections that I did a blog post about it.

  21. Tamara
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 19:25:45

    Thanks very much, Brian and Becca. I’ll go take a look at it.

  22. Selene
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 01:30:51

    Thanks for the review! I’m now convinced not to change my K3. :-) (Main reason being no buttons for turning pages, though I’d also miss the progress.)

    Selene

  23. allison
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 12:04:21

    I just got my Touch today! I’m looking forward to trying it out.I have the K2 but the battery isn’t holding the charge for long and one of the “next” buttons doesn’t work anymore. @CourtneyLee-I called Amazon about my K2 and they were going to upgrade me to the next generation for $40 (I believe it would’ve been the K3), not sure if they’d offer you the same since you have the K3 or as you said offer you a credit.I decided not to take their offer because they couldn’t tell me if the K3 they were going to send me was going to be refurbished or completely new and I’ve had bad experiences with refurbished electronics.

  24. Teri P.
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 13:43:24

    I really love the new Touch. I gave my K2 to my daughter, but before she took it home I did a lot of side by side comparisons for the features I use, and the Touch won, hands down. I am a dedicated Apple person, so I love the touch screen. Have also had extensive hand surgery on both hands, and it’s so much lighter & easier to hold.

    I just bought my dad an iPhone for Christmas. He is 85, and can operate one with no problems at all. What he can’t do is use those tiny buttons on older phones when he has slight tremors in his hands. He lays the iPhone on the table and has had absolutely no issues with setting up all of his ESPN favorites. It’s been fun to see him enjoying it so much!

    I do hospice work, and am amazed at the 70+ crowd that has readers. Main reason is the fonts, and they love them.

  25. Mikael Monk (@MikaelMonk)
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 22:41:00

    I just bought it one hour ago and then I stumbled onto your article. I was trying to find in the Amazon review how people liked the touch versus keyboard, but could not find it. But I saw that you are happy with that. So… me happy then…

  26. Ali
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 03:14:17

    I have a K2 refurb which has been absolutely great for my needs over the last year or so – but I definitely yearn for a K/Touch. I have submitted my plea to Santa and am keeping my fingers crossed. Once I went to a touch phone I found myself swiping my finger across the reader to no avail at random intervals …

  27. Stumbling Over Chaos :: Linkity of the Doomed
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 07:51:11

    [...] Dear Author reviews the Kindle Touch. [...]

  28. Amy
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 12:17:09

    Given that i like the idea of checking my email in a pinch with my K3 keyboard – this doesn’t sound like a good upgrade to me.

  29. Shirley
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 22:04:02

    I am completely disgusted with the Kindle touch ($149) verson. to begin with I hate the ads that appear — total sleaze. But, more to the point, my Kindle skips pages all the time and I have to go back and forth to read a page sometimes.
    Sometimes it will even go back 10-15 pages if I’ve done nothing at all!

    I’m phoning up again to see if the software is bad or somethng.

  30. Brian
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 22:17:24

    @Shirley: You can pay the extra if you want and opt out of the ads, although I can’t think of anything I’ve seen that I’d call sleaze and some of the $1 book offers and other things they’ve had can be nice.

    Not sure about the page skipping thing. The first thing I’d try is a reset. (Press and hold the power button for 20 seconds. Release the power button. The reboot screen will appear.) Otherwise yes, call Kindle Support, in my experience they’ve been excellent. I’d doubt a software problem and lean towards a hardware problem if a reset doesn’t take care of things.

  31. Brian
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 22:21:03

    For folks that don’t know Amazon has issued an update for the Touch (5.0.3) which seems to speed up page turns a bit and may fix other issues if you’ve been having any. It will be pushed out to device over time (leave your WiFi on) or it can be downloaded from the Amazon website.

  32. carmen webster buxton
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 22:46:57

    @Brian: Thanks for that tip! I tend to leave the wireless off but I will leave it on overnight and see if the update downloads.

  33. Brian
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 21:09:36

    Amazon has another update for the Touch available now on their website (version 5.1.0) which adds Landscape mode and also support for Kindle Format 8.

    Here’s a complete list…

    •Language Support: Customize your Kindle Touch with the language you prefer: English (US and UK), German, French, Spanish, Italian, or Brazilian Portuguese.
    •Landscape Mode: Switch between portrait and landscape orientation in books and PDFs to read maps, graphs, and tables more easily.
    •Instant Translations: Tap any word or highlight a section to instantly translate into other languages, including Spanish, Japanese, and more. Translations by Bing Translator.
    •Kindle Format 8: Formatting and layout improvements make Kindle books look even better.
    •Wi-Fi Enhancements: Connect your Kindle Touch to Wi-Fi with WPS and select WPA2 Enterprise networks.
    •Read-to-Me With Text-to-Speech: Have your Kindle Touch read English-language content out loud to you, now including summaries of newspaper and magazine articles when available from the publisher.
    •More Sharing Options: Tell others what you’re reading on Facebook or Twitter from anywhere within a book — just tap to share a link along with your comments.
    •Onscreen Keyboard Suggestions: Search and shop faster with automatic word suggestions as you type.

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html/?ie=UTF8&nodeId=200790650

  34. Jacci Gordon
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 19:24:51

    Great article, however I have the latest Kindle Touch and have no idea whatsoever how to archive a book. my Kindle does not have the 5 way controller and I am completely at a loss, can anyone help please?

  35. Brian
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 19:31:17

    @Jacci Gordon:
    To archive a title bought from Amazon simply tap and hold on the books title from your Kindle Touch’s home screen. You’ll get a pop up menu and the bottom item will be “move to archived items”.

    Posted from my Nexus 7

  36. Jacci
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 06:23:44

    Brian, thanks so much I knew it wuld be something really simple but could not see it anywhere in the instructions!

  37. Kathi
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 14:45:28

    this is probably too late to post but just found this review and it was the light outof a dark tunnel for me. Kept reading of the ’5 way controller’ with no idea where it was! And Ive had the thing for months!! To discover you could just ‘hold’ the title down with a finger & have a menu ‘pop up’ was a relief! Thanks, Brian!

  38. Brian
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 15:20:30

    @Kathi: Glad it was helpful.
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    A new update came out for the Touch not long ago that copies the user interface of the Paperwhite including an optional cover view…

    This software update includes the following new features:
    A new user interface
    Whispersync for Voice
    Enhanced Parental Controls
    Book Covers
    Time-to-Read
    Recommended Content
    Enhanced book samples
    Navigate graphic novels, and comics

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html/ref=hp_200529680_touchupdate?nodeId=200790650

%d bloggers like this: