If You Like Men in Uniform by Guest Melissa Van Dover

If You Like Men in Uniform by Guest Melissa Van Dover

Melissa contacted me out of the blue a few weeks ago asking if I would like to post an “If You Like” entry for our series. Of course I responded with a yes. (that’s a hint to all of you readers out there).  Melissa’s entry is about Military Heroes and given the popularity of these titles on the bestseller lists, I’m guessing a lot of DA readers enjoy this type of story. So help another reader out and drop a recommendation in the comments.

Melissa Van Dover is an avid reader of romance novels. When she’s not reading, you can find her hard at work writing her own stories and authoring posts for her blog reachingbestsellerstatus.com. You can reach Melissa on twitter @mvandover.

There is something about a man in uniform. With the influx of military inspired romance novels available, there are more than enough to keep your ereader full. The best thing about this genre is that there are a lot of series, this means you’ll be able to follow your characters as they develop and you’ll be able to keep reading if you find an author or story you like.

The following is a list of novels, which have military leading men and stories that will keep you hooked. Each novel has its own twist on the classic military story, which means that you’re guaranteed to find something you like.

Wild Card Lora Leigh
If you like action packed stories with a level of mystery you’ll probably like Wild Cardwritten by Lora Leigh. Wild Card is the first book in the Elite Ops series. This book has a hunky Navy Seal and a strong leading lady. A level of mystery mixed with the danger of being with an elite ops agent makes this book a fast and engrossing read. There is also a very large twist but I won’t ruin it for you. If you’re looking for a romance mixed with special agent this book and series is for you.
A SEAL's Surrender (Harlequin Blaze Series #739) by Tawny Weber
If you like the classic damsel in distress story, A Seal’s Surrender by Tawny Weber is for you. This book is the classic damsel in distress story, except the damsel is a young women trying to make it on her own and the knight in shining amour is a Navy Seal on leave. This story is not full of jam-packed action like most books in this genre but the characters are highly relatable which makes it easy to place yourself in the story line.
unspoken-med
If you like romances where both characters have issues, Unspoken by Jen Frederick, a USA Today Bestseller is a great choice. This novel is slightly different in that both characters have their fair share of issues. However, they might just be the best thing that has ever happened to each other and they might be exactly what the other needs. The military theme is brought into this story through the leading man who is an ex-Marine.
Thrill Ride (Black Knights Inc. Series #4) by Julie Ann Walker
If you like series with strong male characters the Black Nights Inc series written by Julie Ann Walker will be a perfect fit. This series is based on an elite special ops team who is under cover as the staff of a motorcycle shop. The stories in this series are entertaining and packed full of action. If you’re looking for strong males, action and multiple books to keep you busy this series is for you. As of right now there are six books in the Black Night Inc series.
fraternizing c. c. brown
For a forbidden romance, Fraternizing by C.C. Brown is a perfect choice. Fraternizing is based on the story of a man and woman in the military who are attracted to each other. The issue is that the military has some pretty strict rules around fraternization, so the characters are left with a choice. What is more important to them? Each other or their careers. This book is entertaining and will keep you obsessing till the end.

These are just a few titles out there in the realm of military romance. Please share with us any recommendations you have for military romances, after all we can never have enough books to read. Happy Reading!