Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Thursday Afternoon Haiku Moment: Flat Out Sexy by Erin McCarthy

In a contemp mood
SBs say your book is good
I am won over.

042522407401lzzzzzzzMcCarthy virgin
No vamps or angels. Nascar?
Oh boy. Could be bad.

One night stand with guy
In Chapter One. Way to give
the milk for free, cow.

No hate for Tammy
BUT that is kind of cliché
Happens too often

Despite rocky start
(and the Nascar – not a fan)
This is a fun read

The hero Elec
Where have you been all my life
Young, hot, devoted

Ty, Ryder – I smell
Scent of sequels upon you
A bit obvious

Heroine is meh
But I enjoy the hero
And the sex is hot

I waffle on grade
Dahl is hard act to follow
I’ll give you a B.

13 Comments

  1. Daphne
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 16:48:03

    “One night stand with guy
    In Chapter One. Way to give
    the milk for free, cow.”

    BWAHAHAHA!

    Oh Guest Reviewer, if you’re in the mood for a historical next, can I persuade you to do a haiku review of PASSION by Lisa Valdez? That certainly has a Chapter One to remember!

  2. Darlynne
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 17:02:14

    I snorted at the same lines as Daphne above. Reading that stanza to my husband didn’t elicit the response I expected, but color me very, very entertained by this review. Dear Guest Reviewer, I love this thing you do.

  3. miss_thing
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 17:14:18

    Guest Reviewer….I think I love you. Your haiku reviews = awesome! Please keep them coming!

  4. Jessica G.
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 17:35:09

    Awesome haiku, as always!

    Think I might need to check it out. I’m on a contemp kick too, and I agree that Dahl is a hard act to follow. :)

  5. MaryK
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 17:44:29

    No vamps or angels. Nascar?
    Oh boy. Could be bad.

    How true!

    And people say writing to formula is boring.

  6. drey
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 17:57:51

    Dear Guest Reviewer
    Your haiku is awesome fun
    Wish I were as good

  7. GrowlyCub
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 18:25:04

    Darlynne, what reaction did you expect and what did you get?

  8. katherine
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 18:41:51

    These are hilarious! I really loved Elec too… so sexy.

  9. Lorraine
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 19:26:01

    Another flat-out fabulous haiku review from the ever talented shy one. Thanks chica!

  10. SonomaLass
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 21:46:40

    I agree that the h/h ended up in bed too quickly for my tastes; the motivation is explained, but I still didn’t like it. Unlike the reviewer, though, I blamed both characters equally — the idea that it’s okay for him to want it and up to her to resist is a little archaic for me.

    He was sexy, sure, but a little too perfect. I liked the fact that she was a little older and had some believable issues (body image, &c). It was an enjoyable read for me, but also in the B range — the sequel fodder WAS a bit obvious, as was the other woman plot.

    I have to say that one thing I liked a lot about this book was the “period detail.” The author used contemporary fashion, manners and technology (cell phone essential to plot development=WIN), so I felt very drawn into the reality of the story, just as I would in a well-written historical or a SF/F novel with good world-building. Not all contemporary authors bother to do that, and I appreciated it.

    Another thing I liked was that she had kids, and the way that way handled in the story and in the HEA. No spoilers, but if you’ve been in on the “baby epilogue” discussion on another DA thread, you’ll understand what I mean when I say this was handled well in that regard.

  11. Darlynne
    Feb 13, 2009 @ 09:41:37

    @GrowlyCub, I expected him to laugh as hard as I was. Yes, after all these years of marriage, I thought he’d get it, but it was one of those “you had to be there” moments apparently.

  12. Moth
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 16:20:25

  13. Alan Summers
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 18:14:13

    These are great fun! ;-)

    For an overview of other types of contemporary haiku, praised by Japanese; British; and American haiku writers:
    http://www.withwords.org.uk/what.html

    all my best,

    Alan, With Words

%d bloggers like this: