Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Thursday Afternoon Haiku Moment: A Sonnet for Susan Elizabeth Phillips’...

(Based off of Shakespeare’s famous sonnet)

What I Did For LoveShall I compare thee to the A Grade?
Thou art more grating to my skull
A good contemporary should be a lively parade
But I find this book amazingly dull.
Sometimes the heroine whines about life
And the hero pretends to be a jerk
Round after round of endless sniping strife
I despise both and hope it does not work
But just when the lies cannot get any thicker
Georgie decides that she loves Bram – it’s fate
Though they do naught but f&ck & bicker
I hate both of them – hate hate hate hate hate

All say, “Good contemp? Read a SEP!”
A great writer, but I hate your MCs.

C

This book can be purchased in hardcover from Amazon or ebook format from the Sony Store and other etailers beginning January 27, 2009.

15 Comments

  1. Sandy D.
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 16:15:45

    Ah, that summed up my feelings exactly.

    Keep giving us the haiku, please!

  2. Christine
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 17:19:39

    Loved the sonnet, and agree with your review. This book, sadly, did not live up to expectations.

  3. katherine
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 17:25:28

    ouch! haha

  4. Martha Flynn
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 17:27:28

    Hmm…guess I’ll wait for paperback.

  5. Darlynne
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 17:41:42

    I liked the book well enough, but would have suggested Natural Born Charmer as a good place to start for SEP. The sonnet rocks.

  6. MB
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 20:05:46

    This haiku is exactly how I felt about this book. Sad, because I was really looking forward to it, so even more disappointed afterward.

  7. Tee
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 20:32:18

    I despise both and hope it does not work

    How true. Before I actually gave up and closed the book well before the end, I was hoping the relationship would not last. In this case, the HEA would be their parting of the ways and realizing they were right in the first place–they’re not a fit!

  8. Sherry Thomas
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 22:48:28

    I can’t stand my ignorance anymore. Who author(s) these haiku/sonnet reviews? Is it one person or multiple?

  9. Jane
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 22:50:33

    @Sherry Thomas: It’s just one person. One talented person. This person has a pretty amazing haiku for next week. Not raising expectations or anything.

  10. Jenns
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 01:00:28

    Hmm. Guess I’m in the minority. I liked it.

  11. Chez
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 01:42:51

    Well I’m a minority too. I loved this book. It was such a pleasure to read and my favourite bits were the sarcastic word plays between the h/h. Especially loved how they were both flawed and their “falling in love” seemed so real because they fought so hard against it. This book gave me that journey without the magical “oh yes, and I do just love you” with no reason.

    But really, the sarcasm was beautifully biting, it really made the whole book for me.

  12. Vivian
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 01:57:20

    I liked the book too, though it’s not one of my favorite SEPs. I think the secondary characters were really weak because some of them were so silly – like Georgie’s ex-husband and his wife – aside from Chaz, who I grew to like. But there were some hilarious moments! I think the “confession of love” is one of SEP’s funniest and I loved it! But yes, I agree it’s not the best book to start SEP.

    Brilliant sonnet! Looking forward to the haiku :)

  13. jess W
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 05:13:49

    I liked the book as well, but it is average for SEP. i enjoyed the banter between the H/H also but was hoping for more exploration of deeper feelings in this one. I think we hold SEP to her own very high standards. Sh is still on my must-read list.

  14. Vicky Woodard
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 11:57:57

    Why did the guest reviewer give the book a C? Other than the line ‘great writer’, it was a very negative review. Wasn’t there something that the reviewer liked?

  15. Guest Reviewer
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 14:09:57

    Vicky, sad to say
    I ran out of room in the
    poem. Only ten lines.

    Thought the book was good
    When I finished it, but then
    had lingering doubts

    It was readable
    Compelling and breezy…but
    MC hate trumps all.

    I wanted to like
    it more than I did. In the
    end, my C grade stands.

%d bloggers like this: