Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW: Sharon Shinn Week

Shinn Week

A couple of weeks ago, I alluded to the fact that we would be featuring our first author interview. Sharon Shinn is an author that Janine and Jayne forced introduced to me years ago. I was reluctant to read Shinn because she is classified as a fantasy author and even a few years ago fantasy seemed a genre that was totally uninteresting to me. What can I say but that I caved to peer pressure and am so glad that I did.

Shinn has slowly worked her way on to my Auto TBB list, even in hardcover. Her books feature consistently good writing and, importantly to me, a strong romance thread. To give you an idea of the scope of her writing ability, this week will present four reviews from Jayne, myself and our friend, Janine. Each book is a keeper for us and each one is different. On Monday, we’ll feature a lengthy interview with Ms. Shinn herself as she tells us about her writing, her views of romance and what readers can look forward to from her in the future. She truly is a buried treasure and I am glad to have this forum to share with other readers a favorite author of mine. If you haven’t read her, consider picking up a book of hers from the library and trying her out.

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

9 Comments

  1. Jorrie Spencer
    Oct 03, 2006 @ 07:26:19

    I look forward to this. I’ve read a couple of Shinn books and really enjoyed them. But I need to read more.

  2. kardis
    Oct 03, 2006 @ 08:29:40

    Hi Ja(y)nes and Janine! Thanks for having such an entertaining and helpful site! I decided to comment for the first time since I am already a huge fan of Sharon Shinn, so I’m really looking forward to the interview. I think it’s so funny that I only tried her because of LKH (oh, how young and naive I once was!) and I’m so glad I did! Thanks again!
    Kardis

  3. Keishon
    Oct 03, 2006 @ 09:42:52

    I’ve enjoyed Shinn and I think I stopped at Jovah’s Angel. I haven’t read anything since then but I love her books. She’s an extraordinary writer. Look forward to the reviews!

  4. Janine
    Oct 03, 2006 @ 16:41:44

    Thank you for coming out of lurking, Kardis. Please feel welcome to comment here anytime; we’d love to hear your thoughts.

    Keishon, Kardis and Jorrie — enjoy!

  5. readerdiane
    Oct 03, 2006 @ 19:36:55

    I did not make it through all of the angel books, however, I really enjoyed all of her other books. I am especially anticipating the next book in the 13 Houses series. I enjoy her characterization and the twists in the plots. I have shared some of the young adult books with my students also. Isn’t it great to have that excuse in order to read Young Adult books?

  6. Janine
    Oct 04, 2006 @ 16:04:50

    I have shared some of the young adult books with my students also. Isn't it great to have that excuse in order to read Young Adult books?

    It must be fun. I don’t have the excuse, but I still read them. :-)

  7. msaggie
    Oct 05, 2006 @ 18:43:38

    What a great site you have! I was introduced to your site from the Reader-to-Reader board at AAR. I have just finished reading Sharon Shinn’s newest book in the Twelve Houses series, Dark Moon Defender, and loved it. I am looking forward to your interview with Sharon Shinn, and please ask her when the next book set in Gillengaria will be. And I read somewhere that there are 4 planned Twelve Houses books (and 3 are out) – why can’t we have more?!! I also love the Samaria books – in fact I have read all her books, and novellas, and own most of them; they are all excellent.

  8. Janine
    Oct 05, 2006 @ 20:02:35

    I am looking forward to your interview with Sharon Shinn, and please ask her when the next book set in Gillengaria will be.

    The interview is complete at this point but you will find the answer to this question there.

    And I read somewhere that there are 4 planned Twelve Houses books (and 3 are out) – why can't we have more?!!

    I don’t want to give information out before the interview is posted, but come here Monday and at least some of your curiosity will be satisfied. ;-)

  9. Dear Author.Com | Who Moved My Cheese? Are Paranormal Romances Due for a Career Change
    Feb 02, 2007 @ 12:12:11

    [...] Shinn | IndexWe like Sharon Shinn’s books so much that in October we devoted an entire week to her here at Dear Author. She is published as a fantasy writer but her books all [...]

%d bloggers like this: