Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

SB&J Saturday Night Live Blog

fda50789-84ba-45ec-a6f6-2b52f57e49f0img100Update: We finished the liveblog. Visit SmartBitches for the full transcript. The recap of this novella would be as follows: Smart heroine but a hero who was a jerk and wasn’t very effectively redeemed. Author tried to stick too many plot twists in the 15K length and it made the HEA very forced. I would have given the novella a C-.

Tune in to SmartBitches Saturday night at 9EST/8CST for another SB&J live blog.

We agreed that the format would be much better suited to a novella. Sarah picked Annie Burrows’ Notorious Lord, Compromised Miss since she’s a “total, total mad hatted loony fan for historical romance and for plot lines wherein a heroine makes herself fugly for whatever reason.”

Can I just say that the title is totally Harlequin Presents, Historical Style? In a contemporary, that title would read: Dangerous Tycoon, Innocent Wife.

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

14 Comments

  1. Michelle
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 21:04:42

    So, what does “fugly” mean?

  2. Jane
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 21:26:20

    @Michelle: I believe it is short for fucking ugly.

  3. Shiloh Walker
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 22:03:00

    Daggone it. Why did you have to do it on a night when I’m out of town? I wanted to tune in and see what the fuss was about.

  4. SonomaLass
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 22:18:22

    Yay, more live blogging goodness! I’m so there. Of course I’ll have to figure out how to fit it in around feeding the family and decorating the tree….

  5. joanne
    Dec 13, 2008 @ 07:45:45

    This is taking the economic crisis too far. This obvious effort by Harlequin to save printing costs have made changes to my beloved historicals. There are just so many sacrifices I’m willing to make.

    Everyone that reads Historical romance knows the title should be
    The Notorious Lord And The Compromised Miss.

  6. Anji
    Dec 13, 2008 @ 09:57:45

    I hope I’ll be home in time to participate! I’ve bought the book so I can read along.

  7. Michelle
    Dec 13, 2008 @ 10:47:10

    Cool!
    Now do we get to guess what your super secret agenda is, your evil plot and machinations to bring the publishing world to its knees-all the while kicking at various kittens and puppies?

  8. Nicole
    Dec 13, 2008 @ 18:22:06

    Oh oh, can I read along, too?

  9. Jane
    Dec 13, 2008 @ 18:29:32

    @Nicole Absolutely. See you soon.

  10. Fae
    Dec 14, 2008 @ 00:24:37

    I thought the title was much more Bronwyn…er whatever her last name is…didn’t you guys just review her book Libertine Lord, Pickpocket Miss? I swear when I saw the title for the liveblog book I was like “Wasn’t the cover different before?” then realized it was a different book.

    ETA: Oh I see, they’re both Undone’s. So is this the Undone’s theme then? They all have the same basic title? Harlequin, you never fail to confuse the hell out of me.

  11. Jane
    Dec 14, 2008 @ 09:33:09

    @Fae: Yep, Jayne reviewed it. That’s odd that the titles are so close. Wouldn’t you run out of adjectives for the Lord and the Miss? What if you have a widow heroine?

  12. Gennita Low
    Dec 14, 2008 @ 12:16:05

    Jane, then we would have Suspicious Lord, Secretly Miss. Or, Possessive Lord, No Longer Miss. LOL. This is going to be another fun game for The Title Generator.

  13. votermom
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 10:41:25

    It would be a lot of fun coming up with titles. How about Peer/Widow to go with Lord/Miss?

    Paranoid Peer, Winsome Widow

    Paragon Peer, Wanton Widow
    (sequel to Lascivious Lord, Mortified Miss?)

    Thinking of classics …
    Paragon Peasant, Hunted Heiress (Lorna Doon)
    Tortured Tyrant, Ghostly Girl (Wuthering Heights)
    Exacting Gentleman, Matchmaking Miss (Emma)

  14. Bronwyn Scott
    Apr 22, 2009 @ 20:43:30

    Hi folks,
    It’s Bronwyn Scott–that’s the last name you’re looking for, and just to give you a good laugh on the titles, I also have a book entitled Notorious Rake, Innocent Lady, which is also similar to the Annie Burrow title. And, I have a book entitled Pickpocket Countess (just to go to with the Pickpocket Miss bit), so there, that should make it all clear as mud.

    All my best.
    Bronwyn Scott

%d bloggers like this: