Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Save the Contemporary, Category Style

It’s time for another Save the Contemporary campaign, with Dear Author, Smart Bitches, and prizes from Harlequin!

This time, we’re featuring two books – yes, two. Some of the great contemporary stories are found in category romance, so we’ve picked two books that we both really loved.

ContactInfo.htm_txt_open_book

Our contest takes its inspiration from Kathleen O’Reilly, who was explaining to Sarah what made category romance so great:

…a category novel will exactly fit the time it takes for me to run a hot tub of water until the water turns too cold to stand, which is the exact amount of peace I have until my family figures out where I’m hiding.

To encourage total indulgence, relaxation, and contemporary romance reading, Jane and Sarah have put together a multi-part contest with daily prizes this week only, plus a grand prize at the end.

HOW TO ENTER

happy faceFirst: at 9pm EST, 8pm CST, today (4 August) Jane and Sarah will select 10 winners from the comments to this entry on each of their sites. Those lucky winners will receive a copy of both Hot Under Pressure by Kathleen O’Reilly and The Magnate’s Make Believe Mistress by Bronwyn Jameson.

arrow_rightSecond: every day this week at 9pm EST, two winners a day will be chosen from those who Twitter about the Save the Contemporary campaign (#stc) and from those who blog about or email the contest entry. To email, simply forward the details to a friend using the "Email This Page" link at Save the Contemporary.com , or or email us at [email protected] with a link to your blog entry. The more times you forward the details of this giveaway, the greater chance you have of winning. For the Tweet campaign, use the "Share This"   button and twitter the contest link, along with whatever you want to say about contemporary category romances — but don’t forget the #stc tag!

arrow_joinTo sum up, leave a comment to win a copy of the books.   Make the contest viral by either going to “savethecontemporary.com” to use the Email This Page / Share This or twittering the contest using #stc.   Virality = more prizes!

WHAT THE ABOUT THE PRIZES

We’ll pick one winner a day at 9pm EST/8pm CST from those who blog/email, and one from that day’s #stc tweets. Each daily winner will receive:

  • a Harlequin vintage cover art bag with a copy of each book
  • a bath bomb from LUSH for use while reading the books

Finally, on Friday at 9pm EST, we’ll pick our grand prize winner from all who entered, and the grand prize winner will receive a Harlequin cover art bag, a copy of each book, and the LUSH True Romance gift set, which includes massage bar, bath bombs and other treats.

Jane and Sarah are all about the True Romance, after all.

PLUS, for the duration of the Save the Contemporary campaign this week only, Harlequin’s digital team is offering an additional 15% off the eBooks at eHarlequin, for a total of 25% off the digital list price. The coupon code is BLOGSPECIAL, and you can use it at checkout for purchases storewide at eHarlequin.com.

Special huge thanks to Harlequin for the books and the bags and the coupon-y goodness!

Head over to SaveTheContemporary.com for the details, and help us spread the word about great romance by helping us save the contemporary.

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

88 Comments

  1. medumb
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 04:04:52

    ebook discount, BONUS!

  2. Rob Charron
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 04:14:20

    Hi :)
    What a great idea & blog post.
    I hope readers will help you.
    I will.
    All the best,
    twitter.com/RKCharron
    xoxo

  3. GrowlyCub
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 04:31:30

    Me, me. :) For the O’Reilly, that is. :)

  4. Kat
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 04:39:22

    I would LOVE the O’Reilly book. I’ve already emailed Harlequin Australia, and they told me there are no plans to release the title here within the next 6 months. That’s so tragic for me. I have ALL HER BOOKS! (Except the OS/2 manuals. I’m a fan girl, but that would be kind of creepy.)

  5. SeaGrace
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 04:56:34

    I don’t normally read series books, but if Jane and Sarah say these are terrific, I’m prepared to help Save the Contemporary. That’s the sacrificial kind of person I am. (However, I am not equipped to help save the whales. I think you need heavy machines to push them back in the water. And my medication says I shouldn’t operate heavy machinery.)

  6. Lynz
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 05:20:30

    I have ALL HER BOOKS! (Except the OS/2 manuals. I'm a fan girl, but that would be kind of creepy.)

    *snort* Yes, it would be. Good call on that one.

    Given that I’ve read rave-y rave rave reviews about both of these books, I’d love either of them. Or both. Preferably both, really, because more books = more fun! (Provided they’re either good or really, really bad. Because reading a book that’s so bad it’s unintentionally hilarious can be pretty fun.)

  7. LaTessa
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 05:37:16

    This is a great contest! Thanks.

    Off to Twitter and blog about it now ;-)

  8. Camilla
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 05:47:02

    I love the category reviews. Its a part of romance I gave up on years ago, and I have actually gotten back into. Off to buy these two!!

  9. heathero
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 06:07:36

    Oooo! Oooo! Oooo! [Horshack imitation, it doesn't translate well online.] Pick me! Pick me!

  10. Lori S.
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 06:15:42

    Loved O’Reilly’s last book! Sign me up!

  11. Carrie Lofty
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 06:18:11

    Love LUSH. Love Kathleen O’Reilly. Bring on the contest goodness!

  12. Sally
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 06:19:50

    The Jameson book sounds great. Put my name in for the contest.

  13. Lenore
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 06:24:33

    Jane’s review made me remember how much I love a good category romance. Who can resist a good Cinderella story?

  14. Heather Holland
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 06:31:54

    Love contemporaries. Fave genre to read…in fact, just read one the other day and wished I had more like it.

  15. Natalie Hart
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 06:35:48

    Big *yes* to a category read running the length of a bath. That’s exactly when I read them. I’m happy to save the contemporary by buying (and possibly winning) them, whether single title or category length. Very curious about how a lost shoe would fit seamlessly into a contemp.

  16. Barb
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 06:45:36

    Oooo Contest. Haven’t read a series contemporary in a while but these two sound like fun. I am happy to enter and would be thrilled to win.

  17. SandyW
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 06:57:25

    I like O'Reilly. I've heard good things about Jameson. Lush is fabulous stuff. But, let's be honest. What I really want is the Harlequin bag. ;-)

  18. rebyj
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 07:06:37

    Yay! A contest. Here’s my entry!

  19. BethanyA
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 07:13:31

    O’Reilly is a gem. I have steered clear of catergory for years until your recommendation for her trilogy last year. It was the best reading experience I’ve had in a while…although I was pissed the first couple didn’t get married. WHY? To prove a point? Even Carrie and Big get married.

    I love Lush, too. Their Lemon Slip is divine.

  20. Jana J. Hanson
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 07:13:57

    You’ve done it again, ladies!! Wahoo! Plan to pick these up soon.

  21. Ros
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 07:14:38

    I am ALL ABOUT the contemporary (except when I’m reading historicals *g*). Would love to win.

  22. Tabitha
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 07:18:35

    I really love this Save the Contemporary campaign. It helps me find books that I may have missed out on.

  23. JulieD
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 07:23:25

    Great contest. I’ve had others recommend Kathleen O’Reilly to me before, but I’ve never read any of her books. I’ll have to check her out.

  24. Lindsey
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 07:24:48

    Good timing – I just discovered I enjoy categories and have been wanting to try both these authors.

  25. Kelly Maher
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 07:27:28

    You guys have turned me on to some entertaining books with this campaign, so totally sign me up :D

  26. Susan D.
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 07:27:49

    I’m convinced that Jane and SB Sarah have degrees in book marketing; they run some awesome contents.

    Yes, I want the books–and I’ll buy those if I don’t win ‘em. But I REALLY want the bath bomb. Steamy, yummy-smelling bath & a book is an indulgence beyond compare (ok, a spa day would be even better). I finally understand, at age 35, the true meaning of “Calgon, take me away!”

  27. Jan Oda
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 07:32:20

    I think that truly is the reason why Category Romance is so ideal, no bath is perfect without it.

  28. Carrie
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 07:36:35

    I love reading category romance…they always get right to the heart of the story.

  29. Jenny
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 07:51:58

    Yeah! Sounds fun!

  30. Janicu
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 07:53:00

    Cool. :) I’ll be sure to tweet about this!

  31. Kelly C.
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 07:55:07

    Pick me, pick me!

    I actually READ and PIMP category series books. Alot. Although the general consensus seems to be that they aren’t worth the time/effort. @@ Which means more for me!! ;-)

  32. Moth
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 08:05:07

    Definitely put my name in the hat for this one!

  33. Angela T.
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 08:13:26

    I read lots of category contemporaries. They are usually a good fast read.

  34. Kim
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 08:16:02

    I enjoy reading a good Harlequin, but I’ve never read these particular authors.

  35. Maureen
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 08:19:29

    Please enter me!

  36. Lusty Reader
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 08:34:02

    i love your save the contemporary campaigns, and am so excited to enter this one!

  37. Kathleen O’Reilly » Blog Archive » Save the Contemporary, Harlequin style
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 09:15:25

    [...] you have not heard the girly screams coming from New York, Smart Bitches, and Dear Author have joined together to pimp out two category books: Bronwyn Jameson’s, Magnate’s [...]

  38. Sarah
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 09:22:16

    I love these campaigns! I’ve ended up buying them once I haven’t won and I have yet to be disappointed!

  39. Lisa J
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 09:23:24

    I’ve never read either of these authors but I would love to give them a try and save the contemporary.

  40. azteclady
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 09:24:31

    Posted about it here and here–hope that counts!

    *happy dancing*

  41. Keira
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 09:29:30

    I’m in, they both sound great! :D

  42. muñeca
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 09:38:34

    I want, I want!!!!

  43. Kelly
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 09:48:13

    Please enter me in the drawing. I’m also going to ask if I am thinking right. Contemporary simply means that the story is set in current times. If not this year, then within the past 10-20 years? I’m thinking of older stories that we will love for all time, but were maybe written in the 1980′s and were contemporary to that decade. Then for category, basically a genre or sub-grouping within romance. So, contemporary is a category as would be paranormal or mystery or suspense, etc. Am I right? So, saying my favorite contemporary is Bet Me by Jenny Cruise would be right, even though it wasn’t published by Harlequin.

  44. Stacey P.
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 09:49:21

    Categories always intimidate me, because there are just so MANY of them to choose from — which is why I like getting recommendations for which ones to look for, so I can expand my horizons, :)

    (Besides, I’ve heard good things about the Lush bath bombs, too, so — *tosses name into hat*)

  45. ms bookjunkie
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 09:52:50

    Fun! A chance to win books… and to learn more about tweeting. :-) (Yes, I am a novice tweeter, why do you ask?)

    I also lust over that bag like damn and whoa!

  46. Heather
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 09:56:58

    Oooh, please pick me. Thanks for this awesome contest!

  47. MaryK
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 09:58:12

    This is one Save the Contemporary campaign I can get behind. I’m a sucker for category Romance.

    I already have the Jameson because of the Twitter recommend. I tried to get the Krahn at the same time but I’d missed it. (You have to be really quick with category books.) So, I explored the eHarlequin site and ended up buying four books because of the discounts and the free shipping offer they’re running now. eHarlequin is my new favorite online store. I’ve always associated the site with category romance and didn’t realize you can also buy Mira and Luna there.

  48. Meghan B
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 10:01:31

    I’ve recently been re-discovering contemporaries, going back to my roots so to speak. Starting when I was 12, when my mom and I did the weekly grocery shopping, I could pick either one book or one magazine. The category romances won out every week! I moved to historicals eventually, but lately they just haven’t been doing it for me.

    So, on that note: SAVE THE CONTEMPORARY!

    I promise to do my part by purchasing these books for my Kindle if I don’t win!

  49. Lauren
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 10:02:40

    these books look great! and who doesn’t need another bath bomb? a good contemporary and a bath are really the perfect combination (add in a glass of red wine – or some chocolate – and that’s pretty much heaven on earth).

  50. kh
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 10:15:52

    yes love the contemp and catorgory romances so much
    love them blazes and desires. we do need to save them !!!!!!!1
    please pick me lol

  51. Christine M.
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 10:27:10

    Count me in!

  52. MeganS.
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 10:35:40

    Featuring category romances in the StC campaign is an awesome move. Count me in for the contest, please!

  53. Danny
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 10:39:14

    I do enjoy a could coupon code… Ebooks ahoy~ xD

  54. JoAnn K. Prater
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 10:56:59

    I haven't read category for a very long time. Years ago I used to be the type who would buy every book from my favorite lines. Maybe I need a healing! These two books could be the right medicine. Please add me to the contest!

    JoAnn K. Prater

  55. Lisa Austin
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 11:00:30

    I am the Blazing Hot Prince’s Virgin Secretary Secret Mistress and my story needs to be told!! Please sign me up for this contest.

  56. Jessica
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 11:05:26

    Not entering contest but chiming in to say I just read the new O’Reilly and it’s terrific!

  57. Collette
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 11:09:05

    After being away from them for a long time, I’m finding that I really love categories. It helps that my library buys the ebook version of one-click buys each month for Blaze, Desire and Presents. Now that’s some book for your buck. (Well, not that it costs but you get the idea.)

    And I actually read the James and really liked it. I’m looking forward to reading the O’Reilly. I typically like her books so that’s nice.

  58. LaurieF
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 11:12:20

    It’s easy to help “save the contemporary” with your fantastic recommendations.
    I’m signing up to win.

  59. SarahM
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 11:35:28

    I love me some categories! Pick me, please!

  60. Donna S
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 12:19:34

    Great idea. I would love to be included.

  61. TerryS
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 12:44:54

    Absolutely save the contemporary, all styles. I love the category contemporaries just as much as the stand alones. They fit my book reading time just perfectly…and the really good authors that first wrote categories is too long to list.

  62. Leigh
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 12:58:12

    I just was reading a post about O’Reilly’s book. The individual read this book and now is on a glom for more of her books.

    I haven’t read either author, so it would be great to win. .

  63. Sarah
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 13:26:26

    Enter me please!

  64. Valerie
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 14:26:11

    Me me me, pick me! I could use a new pair of bathtub books…

  65. Jamie
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 14:33:52

    What an awesome idea! :) And thanks for the book recommendations – I love trying new authors.

  66. jess
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 14:34:56

    ooh, I was recently lured back to category romances, and these both look fantastic!

  67. cyclops8
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 14:42:41

    I want these books.

  68. Marie
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 14:47:11

    Great contest! Please count me in.

  69. Emmanuelle
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 15:01:18

    Great contest, count me in !!!!

  70. Becky Ward
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 15:09:20

    what a great contest. please enter me in it.

  71. Louisa Edwards
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 15:10:54

    Category romance can be SO wonderful, but it’s so hard to cull through Harlequin’s output for the good ones! Thanks for reviewing them so I know which to pick up. These sound perfect. And of course, I’m all about saving the contemporary in every possible format. : )

  72. Kate
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 15:15:37

    Oooh! Pick me! It’s my birthday!

  73. Jina P
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 15:16:00

    The books sound good from the reviews. I’ve been off category for a while because of all the similar titles and the fact that getting a good one is a hit-and-miss affair, but these two sound like a hit!

  74. Lori
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 15:26:27

    OMG!! That thud was the sound of me hitting the floor. What amazing prizes. What an amazing contest. What a slim chance of winning but my hand is in the air anyway.

  75. Wishverse
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 15:42:59

    I will throw my name in the hat because there is no use trying to resist a chance at really good free stuff.

    Actually I am thinking about getting the Harlequin August Blaze ebook bundle that includes Hot Under Pressure by Kathleen O'Reilly because several really good authors are included.

    Off to check out the dealios at Harlequin.

  76. Heather Brewer
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 15:44:06

    What a great contest. Definitely count me in. I’ve read 2 great Harlequin books in the last few weeks. I won a copy of Lynn Raye Harris Spanish Magnate, Red Hot Revenge and Kimberly Raye’s Harlequin Blaze – Drop Dead Gorgeous.

    I love these because they are quick, comfort reads for me and they kinda clear my mind in between other books.

    I blogged about category romance at my blog today. Will tweet tonight.

  77. Carin
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 15:57:18

    Me, me, me! Pick me! Great to hear about more great contemporaries!

  78. SonomaLass
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 16:22:15

    Just the thing to take the sting out of school starting! Both of these sound terrific.

  79. samanthadelayed
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 16:30:56

    I love Blaze. I love series romance. I love winning ;-)

  80. Susan D.
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 16:46:00

    Question for HQN: do they offer a mix-and-match monthly subscription? Subcribe to receive 4 bks a mo., let readers pick which 4 out of a selection (across their various imprints)? In the e world this seems like it should be easier to manage than in the print world where you have to call print runs in advance. I won’t subscribe to a pre-selected set of ebooks, but I might consider subscribing if I could make my selections out of a batch of titles each month.

  81. Lorraine
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 17:01:11

    I have never read Bronwyn Jameson. This would be a great opprtunity to read her latest book. Please pick me!

  82. Bev Stephans
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 17:11:19

    Please enter me into the contest!

  83. bahamia
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 17:33:54

    Cool prizes! Count me in for the win & keep those comtemporary recs coming!

  84. Lynn
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 17:54:48

    I would like to win any of the prizes, but the bombs would be the bomb.

  85. rigmarole
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 18:01:17

    Yes, please? *crosses fingers*

  86. Elisa V
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 18:23:47

    What a neat idea… Please count me in.

  87. Tory
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 18:28:29

    Awesome contest! Love O’Reilly and would like to try Jameson!

  88. Erika R
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 18:37:15

    Sounds like a cool contest. This for the opportunity!

%d bloggers like this: