Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW & GIVEAWAY: Legend of the Werestag by Tessa Dare

Update: I’ve closed the comments and will announce the winners later today. Thanks everyone. It was fun to read the comments.

Dear Ms. Dare:

1084Thank you for sending me Legend of the Werestag. I’ll confess that when I first heard of it I thought it was a paranormal regarding shapeshifting animals and I wasn’t convinced that I would buy into the werestag mythology. Fortunately for both of us I wasn’t challenged by this because this story is a pure historical novella, one of the better novellas I’ve read in a long time.

I have this love/hate relationship with novellas because while I like the short length, I don’t think every story is well suited to novellas. Legend, however, is one of those stories in which the entirety of the tale fits well within its shorter confines.

Miss Cecily Hale had loved Lucas, Viscount Merritt, for years. Before Lucas went off to war, Cecily and he shared a moment, one that Cecily would draw out and savor while Lucas was gone. Since his return, however, he’s not made one move to extend that moment into something more permanent. Cecily sees that Lucas is not the same man that he was before the war. He has a hunted look in his eyes, wary of those around him.

Matters come to a head one night when Cecy, Luke and their friends are at a house party.   Upon urging, their host, Denny, tells the story of the Legend of the Werestag.

"And we certainly can’t call him a man-deer. That won’t do at all." Portia chewed her pencil thoughtfully. "A werestag. Isn’t that a marvelous title? The Curse of the Werestag."

Brooke turned to Luke. "Rescue me from this madness, Merritt. Tell me you retain some hold on your faculties of reason. What say you to the man-deer?"

"Werestag," Portia corrected.

Luke circled the rim of his glass with one thumb. "A cursed, half-human creature, damned to an eternity of solitude in Denny’s back garden?" He shot Cecily a strange, fleeting glance. "I find the idea quite plausible."

In a moment of honesty, Lucas admits to Cecily that the moment that she treasured was something of less import to him but that he remembered and that the one thing he wants right now is for nothing more in his world to change:

“…And that now I return from war, to find everything changed, myself most of all. I scarcely recognize my surroundings, except-" He cupped her chin in his hand and lightly framed her jaw between his thumb and forefinger. "Except Cecily Hale still looks at me with stars in her eyes, the same as she ever did. And when I touch her, she still trembles."

Oh. She was trembling. He swept his thumb across her cheek, and even her hair shivered.

"And suddenly-" His voice cracked. Some unrehearsed emotion pitched his dispassionate drawl into a warm, expressive whisper. "Suddenly, I find myself determined to keep this one thing constant in my universe. Forever."

Lucas believes it is better for him to have the unrequited love of Cecily, even if she should marry someone else, than to sully her and to watch her stars dim as she gets to know what kind of man he has become.

But Cecily was determined because if she waited for four years for Lucas, she could convince him that she was the right person to embrace his beast.    I was even amazed that there was a secondary romance slipped underneath the heat and tension of Lucas and Cecily. But even more than the story, it was the writing. The story was so smoothly told with rich evocative descriptions and the use of dialogue to convey love, longing, and wistful regret; showing the reader the true motives and feelings of the characters rather than telling us. I particularly appreciated the elegance that was displayed during the sex scenes making those scenes sexy and beautiful but not boorish. It’s easy to get lost in the world of Tessa Dare’s writing.  B+

Best regards

Jane

This ebook can be purchased at Samhain.

As I stated earlier today, we are giving away 10 digital copies of Legend of a Werestag and 3 copies of the late July release of Goddess of the Hunt. After you’ve read the review, drop a comment as to why you think you should get a copy of the book (ie., you love werestag stories or you hate historicals but are intrigued….)

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

83 Comments

  1. Bonnie Ferguson
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:14:31

    I love a good historical. I’ve read excerpts for both Legend of a Werestag and Goddess of the Hunt and found both to be excellent. :)

  2. Natasha A.
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:14:54

    You nailed it. Although, hate is a strong word!
    I read to many historicals, and now I just have no interest. This, although the title throws me every time, it intrigues me!

  3. Louisa Edwards
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:15:00

    I think I should get a free digicopy of Werestag because…I’m writing a contemporary, so I’m not allowed to read them right now and a historical would make me so, so happy? Also because historicals were my first love and I’m very eager to discover new historical authors who are reinvigorating the subgenre.

  4. Bev
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:15:19

    I already have a copy of Werestag (will read today) but would love an ARC of GOTH.

  5. Susan G
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:16:02

    I am very intrigued by this story. First because I have never heard of a werestag and with all the paranormal stuff out there I thought for sure there could be nothing new. And second because I have always been a sucker for the Beauty and the Beast type of story. Sigh.

    I’d love an e-copy of the novella.
    Thanks!

  6. Nadia
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:17:27

    I think I should get a copy because I’m trying to find some good new-to-me historical authors. :)

  7. ArkansasCyndi
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:19:12

    I love to have it. I read the except some time ago (when it wasn’t out yet) and I enjoyed it a great deal. I love historical. I love novellas. I love paranormals. Three way hit for me.

  8. Christine
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:22:17

    I think I should get a copy of the Werestag book because this is just the kind of book I love to read. (and the guy on the cover is really, really, hot…)

  9. Mary Danielson
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:22:52

    I stayed up half the night reading Werestag yesterday and, Jane, your review is right on target. Rarely do I find novellas to be emotionally satisfying (it always feels like there should be, well, more), but I was sobbing all over my poor Kindle by the end of the book. Tessa Dare is a phenomenal writer and, if Werestag is anything to judge by, we are in for some fantastic reads later this summer.

    But all that being said, I REALLY don’t want to wait until July to read GOTH! I think I’d run over small animals to get my hands on this book (or just bid my entire savings account on the one up for auction at the BNDA), so for the safety of woodland creatures, my fingers are crossed for this ARC!!

  10. azteclady
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:26:11

    Since you first talked about it I have been intrigued by this title in particular and by Ms Dare’s writing in general.

    I enjoy historicals and enjoy well written paranormals, but (unlike you) I tend to prefer the longer works. However, every now and again a writer comes along and shows me that shorter stories can have as much depth and beauty as any novel.

    I am frankly in awe of those writers who consistently write good, engrossing, memorable short stories (Bonnie Dee, Ann Bruce, Selah Carsen–to name only three off the top of my head).

    I would love to read either (or both) of Ms Dare’s stories and see whether I agree with you or not–and why.

  11. rebyj
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:28:29

    Heh.. I thought it was a paranormal/ shapeshifter too and didn’t look any further than the title when I saw it.

    And I think I should get a copy because …

    1. I clicked a rt link from twitter to get here (wasn’t that nice of me?)
    2. I am not a big historical reader but like good ones when I run across them.
    3. This sounds sigh inducing in a good way.
    4. The stars in my eyes were dimmed long ago when my hero turned into a turd.
    5. I’m totally out of books to read till payday!!

  12. limecello
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:28:55

    Ok, I’m adding this to my booklist and using my MBaM credit on this book based on what you said, Jane. Maybe it’s because today is an off day, but… werestag? I… werestag? I like the quote though, and I love historicals. I also like novellas, so I’m off to make my purchase now.

  13. Renee Lynn Scott
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:32:33

    Okay, I really, really want a taste of Tessa’s writing. I’ve heard so many great things about her style. I totally thought The Legend of the Werestag was a paranormal, I’m absolutely thrilled to find out it’s a historical.

    Congratulations to Tessa.

    Renee

  14. BevBB
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:38:00

    I think I’m the only one here who has actually read a book that featured a werestag before. It was also from Samhain and pretty good – Kindred: The Shadows of Night by Ellen Fisher. Of course, the truly interesting thing wasn’t who or what the hero was but who or what the heroine was . . .

    Ahem, so, I think that should definitely qualify me in some way. :D

  15. Donna
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:38:17

    I’m obsessed with urban fantasy and I’ve been trying to step outside my reading zone and try some different books. This books sounds pretty interesting. I normally don’t read historicals.

  16. Kelly Maher
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:39:15

    Because I’m in a historical rut and werestags are definitely a new-to-me type of shapeshifter? Seriously, I’m intrigued by this spin on shapeshifting historicals.

  17. zippy
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:47:21

    I would love to get a copy of ‘The Legend of the Werestag‘. Without this review I definately would have passed it by (not into shapeshifter stories), altho I do like a good historical. Tortured war hero who doesn’t deserve his lady’s love – bring it on!

  18. Nancy Gilliland
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:52:28

    I like all kinds of books, historical, paranormal, romance. This book is actually on my TBB list, but I’d love to win a copy (and save a bit)

  19. Sabrina
    May 12, 2009 @ 12:54:48

    I’ve love a copy because I loved that scene with Cecily and Luke! Sounds fantastic and I’ve never read Tessa before – this could be the start of a reading love affair!

  20. J Perry Stone
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:02:40

    Great review. I do adore Tessa’s writing and am waiting, with breath that is baited, for the triple release this summer.

    The Werestag, however, is a terrific appetizer for the feast to come.

    Love that cover.

    J

  21. Lara Lee
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:05:51

    I use to love historical romance, but have fallen away from them in recent years. Would love to find my way back into the fold with an excellent example of the genre. ;) Seriously, I’ve heard so many wonderful things about the writing of Tessa Dare and would love to get my hands on one of her books!

  22. Jess B.
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:10:48

    I’m such a glut for a hero returning war, even more so for a realistically drawn one. I’m very intrigued by this book. I’ve never tried anything by EC or Samhain before, so I’m excited to possibly check out something new!

  23. J Perry Stone
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:11:00

    Lara, that’s why we’re all here.

    And btw, do you all know that these are Tessa’s very last Goddess of the Hunt ARCS … to her name … in the whole wide world???

    Seriously, I just salivated down the front of my shirt at the thought I might snag one.

    J

  24. terrio
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:15:27

    I’m fortunate enough to have read Tessa’s work before and I read the excerpt to this novella a while back. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the rest and happily that happened today. Tessa is an incredible talent and one of the sweetest ladies I’ve met in this publishing scene. And lets be honest, the cover alone is worth the price of purchase. :)

    Since I know these are the last ARCs available, I’m crossing my fingers one heads my way.

  25. Rhonda W
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:20:44

    I love all kinds of books and have this one on my TBB list (if I don’t win). This will be my first book by Tessa.

  26. Laura
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:24:52

    Me! Me! Because I looked at the title of werestag and almost skipped the review entirely, given how I normally feel about shapeshifter books, but I love a good historical and this definitely sounds like one!

  27. Ali
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:26:01

    I’m glad I read this review because I thought it was a shifter novella, too. After reading what you wrote, I’ll definitely have to check this out.

  28. Babs
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:28:39

    I’ve already purchased Werestag but would lurv a copy of GOTH — next month I’m going to be packing up my household and moving to Eastern Europe (for three years) where my chances for purchasing historical romances in English will be severely diminished! I’d love to add GOTH to my growing stockpile of “to read” items!

    And if that isn’t compelling enough…how about begging? Please, please, please, please!

  29. HeatherK
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:31:59

    I must say that I don’t think I’ve ever read a “werestag” story, but I do love a good paranormal historical story. It sounds highly intriguing and either way, I will be looking forward to obtaining this one to read must to hubby’s dismay. :^P

  30. MaryK
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:32:59

    I’ve been meaning to get this book since SBTB reviewed it. I should get a copy because I love wounded heroes. :D

  31. Santa
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:39:27

    I could not have said it better. It is so very easy to get lost in Tessa Dare’s writing. I believe she is a debut author whose books we will look forward to and relish for years to come. She’s that good, nay, great.

    Go for GOTH, friends. It’s a treat.

  32. DeAnna Cameron
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:42:43

    This sounds like such a great story! I can’t wait to read it :-)
    ~DeAnna

  33. KimC
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:50:29

    Whoever wins the e-copies of WERESTAG and the arcs of GOTH are in for a treat. Tessa is an amazing talent, one that I firmly believe will be a staple on any romance readers shelf by the end of summer.

    Go werestag!!

  34. LauraB
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:50:40

    I want it because I don’t deserve it. Therefore, because of my honesty I deserve it?

    If you could please pick me, I would enjoy a copy of Goddess of the Hunt. The acronym GOTH pricks my formerly all black wearing, nose-pierced, and pasty soul.

    Thanks! Good luck Ms. Dare.

  35. Jeana
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:52:06

    I love a good historical and the premise behind Legend of the Werestag intrigues me. I can’t wait to check out Tessa Dare’s books to see if she will be an auto buy for me when her new books come out.

  36. Lizzie (greeneyed fem)
    May 12, 2009 @ 13:59:40

    Dang, I have to read this because both DA and SBTB gave it a good review, because I love historicals, and because I haven’t yet read Tessa Dare but have heard nothing but praise for her.

    I don’t know if those are also reasons for me to win a free copy of something. But I love free books! So — I should get a copy because I will read it and thoroughly enjoy it.

  37. Hydecat
    May 12, 2009 @ 14:14:10

    I’d like a copy because I think the title is awesome (Werestag!) and I think it’s brilliant that with such a title it isn’t a paranormal about the man-ruminant who stalks (struts? meanders?) the night.

    If I get a copy, my one regret will be that, since it is an e-book, I can’t leave it around on my shelves for my friends to see and go “Werestag?”

  38. Jen Lyon
    May 12, 2009 @ 14:18:26

    This sounds fantastic! I would love a copy!

  39. Kimberlyaf
    May 12, 2009 @ 14:23:25

    Well, it certainly sounds interesting! I would like to read it, too! Good luck to the winner. Maybe they can go on the BB and give us their review…

  40. Bree
    May 12, 2009 @ 14:25:58

    Now that I know it’s a historical instead of a paranormal I’m intrigued. But when I’m intrigued I don’t bother to wait around and see if I can win it, so I’ve already purchased it. :D

  41. kathybaug
    May 12, 2009 @ 14:32:45

    I am intrigued by the idea of a well-written novella. That doesn’t seem to happen often enough, in my opinion. I also love the title of the e-book and was surprised to hear it wasn’t a paranormal. Pick me, please!

  42. Wandering Chopsticks
    May 12, 2009 @ 14:34:53

    By the title, I totally thought it was a paranormal and didn’t bother clicking. Now I’m intrigued. Haven’t read new historicals in quite a while, even though they were my first love. Angsty heroes who push the heroine away for their own good? Even better!

  43. Jody F.
    May 12, 2009 @ 15:00:02

    I’m always looking for authors that are new to me and present a unique storyline. This book definitely meets that criteria and gets me out of the paranormal rut I’ve been in lately.

  44. Lusty Reader
    May 12, 2009 @ 15:01:28

    I’d love a copy! I never read novellas since I’m too afriad I’ll be disappointed witht he story being rushed with not enough time for me to conenct witht he characters or for them to grow together for a satisfying HEA, but this one sounds great!

  45. Tili
    May 12, 2009 @ 15:07:27

    I’ve never read a romance novella, so I’m curious as to how it can be made to work. Also, I don’t think I’ve read a romance historical paranormal (though I’ve certainly read plenty of historical fantasy), so that’s interesting.

  46. Louise Fury
    May 12, 2009 @ 15:29:05

    I loved your review.
    I think I should get a GOTH Arc or a novella or mercival heavens maybe both. SERIOUSLY.
    This is why….

    1. I have been stalking every blog and website that featured info about Tessa Dares upcomming releases for weeks now. Honestly, Teessa Dare is responsible for my new addiction to Dear Author, Pubrants, Samhain and MORE. I am now a follower of DEAR AUTHOR because of Tessa Dare and her brilliant writing.
    If I win a GOTH arc I promise to be a loyal and devoted follower of your fabulous Dear Author blog…although, truth be told I already am, but thought it would make a good statement.

    2. I am watching an auction that has a GOTH arc up for grabs…watching it like a hawk and seriously sad that it will soon be out of my price range. I know and understand the value of GOTH and am desperate to get hold of a copy.

    3. I am a member of the Eloisa James and Julia Quin message board (BB) and Tess Dare herself said she would like a BB memer to win ——we should strive to make the author of these giveaways happy shouldn’t we LOL.

    But seriously…I would love to win the arc of GOTH, if I dont win, I know that anyone who does is going to be one lucky reader.

    Thanks for a great site. I look forward to checking back here many times in the near future.

  47. SonomaLass
    May 12, 2009 @ 15:59:07

    Me! Because I tried to buy Tessa Dare’s stuff four or five different times, and none of it was available yet!

    Seriously, everyone kept Twittering about how good her stuff is, but they were all reading ARCs. Every time I got another “Wow, Tessa Dare is the next great thing!” update, I would rush to buy…and then see that I was still too early at Samhain.

    I can’t wait to read the novella and her forthcoming historical (love them, amd I’m excited at another excellent new author entering this genre). If I don’t win them, you know I’ll buy them — or I”ll buy whichever one I don’t win ;-)

  48. Deirdre
    May 12, 2009 @ 15:59:46

    I really hate you guys, I read your reviews and want want want the books. This sounds interesting and intriguing. potters off to add it to my wishlist

  49. M J
    May 12, 2009 @ 16:28:52

    Werestag? hmmm, I’m kinda liking “ManDeer” — ok, I should get a copy to convince me it should be Werestag. And I never knew that GOTH meant Goddess of the Hunt *looks around sheepishly*. Seriously I thought it was short for gothic or something.

  50. Afshan N
    May 12, 2009 @ 16:33:07

    ME! ME! I Absolutely love historical!!! They’re my favorite romance category, And after learning about this book I’m intrigued, I want to know if and how Cecily will be able to get Lucas to take a chance on them… What can I say I’m a hopeless romantic :-)
    ~Afshan

  51. Azure
    May 12, 2009 @ 16:41:35

    Pick me! Pick me! I think I should get it because I love historicals and I never win anything. That and I’ve been looking forward to reading GOTH ever since I read the excerpt at Tessa Dare’s website.

  52. FanLit
    May 12, 2009 @ 16:52:55

    I’m always intrigued when a debut author gets good reviews. I haven’t read either excerpt but they sound interesting.

  53. DanceChica
    May 12, 2009 @ 16:56:52

    I’ve kind of been on a historical kick lately, and this sounds interesting. I also read an excerpt of Dare’s July release and it sounds like something I might like.

  54. LindaR (likari)
    May 12, 2009 @ 17:16:10

    I would love to win a free copy, but the only reason I can come up with to make me a winner is that it would make me so happy, :oink: :oink:

    And if I don’t get free, I’ll happily buy.

    I was so frustrated when I read the excerpt the first time and realized it wasn’t for sale yet! The writing and the storytelling seem wonderful.

    It’s been so much fun anticipating this one — and now it’s here, yay!

  55. Alice Audrey
    May 12, 2009 @ 17:42:17

    I am completely and totally unworthy. I’ve been following Tessa’s progress in the publishing world since the Avon FanLit contest and am merely curious about her writing. So, although I in no way deserve either book, I’m going to fall to my knees and beg for one of them. Either of them. Please.

  56. Liz B
    May 12, 2009 @ 17:54:07

    I’m a huge fan of historicals, and have been reading them like I breathe air lately. I’ve run out of books by my favorite authors, like Julia Quinn and Johanna Lindsey, and I love finding new authors that add a dose of humor to their characters. Please don’t leave me re-reading the same books over and over again (though I probably will, anyway)…help me read something new that’s obviously also great!

  57. Melanie
    May 12, 2009 @ 17:57:55

    I think I should get a copy of this book because I’m easily influenced. And because I get all of my historical recs from Dear Author since I’m not a big fan of the genre. Uh…and I’m Aquarius. That’s it!

    I hope I get it!! It sounds sooo good!

  58. Kate K
    May 12, 2009 @ 18:10:09

    I’d love to win a Goddess of the Hunt ARC… the “brother’s best friend” plot line is SO up my alley, and I love historicals! I’m happy to purchase the novella myself because I love, love, love Samhain and want to support them.

  59. Jody
    May 12, 2009 @ 18:21:41

    I should win one of the downloads because you said it was easy to get lost in the world of Tessa Dare’s writing, and I really really need to get lost in a world other than this one for awhile.

  60. JC
    May 12, 2009 @ 18:32:00

    I’m really intrigued… and I love free books. Sign me up for the contest.

  61. Cybercliper
    May 12, 2009 @ 18:45:42

    I should win a copy because I don’t have a lot of experience with historicals – I’ve only read one – The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie. And I loved it. Anyway, a Werestag sounds pretty intriguing – even a legend. Not to mention a guy who sounds an awful lot like the tortured hero we all want to help.

  62. Kaetrin
    May 12, 2009 @ 19:20:26

    Can I has Legend of the Werestag pleeze?

    I think it takes a special talent to write a really good novella – to pack a whole story and character arc into such a small space. I’ve read 2 reviews now that tell me that Ms. Dare did a great job.

    And, I lurrvve ™ historical stories.

    So, can I has one pleeze?

  63. Stephanie H.
    May 12, 2009 @ 19:22:57

    I was a member of Avon fanlit, and have been anxiously waiting for the release of GOTH for a long time. I just know it’s going to be great! Tessa Dare has a wonderful excerpt on her site (if you haven’t read it, go read it now. You will not be able to wait to read the book!) Yeah…Jeremy is pretty much my ideal hero. I want to win a copy because I don’t think I can wait any longer! Of course, Legend of the Werestag also looks wonderful–and that is saying a lot since I’ve never purchased a romance novella before.

  64. Amy S.
    May 12, 2009 @ 19:27:55

    I’ve been looking forward to this book. It sounds so good and I’ve wanted it since I saw it on the coming soon page. Love books like this! Thanks for the chance to win!

  65. Caffey
    May 12, 2009 @ 19:28:09

    I love reading a variety and a werestag is totally unique and I gotta read it!!!

  66. Walt
    May 12, 2009 @ 19:35:08

    I doubt I can come close to matching the passion-filled requests above. However, I love historicals and Tessa’s photo is killer.

  67. Maya M.
    May 12, 2009 @ 19:50:31

    I totally thought this title was an April Fool’s joke when it was mentioned on this site some weeks ago! It’s like a double-agent joke – made me laugh then, and makes me utterly intrigued and laugh that it’s real now!

    What a great way to generate interest in a new writer. I love historical house party stories anyway, but this author’s name will stick in my mind now. Great marketing.

  68. Stephanie J
    May 12, 2009 @ 20:00:45

    Never have I been so excited to read a novella! I’ll be reading it over the weekend and I cannot wait!

    I’d love a chance to win GOTH — After I read the excerpt I couldn’t stop talking my best friend’s ear off about it and then I proceeded to email links to all of my romance (and non-romance) reading friends. July seems like it’s 5 years away waiting for this book!

  69. Ashley Madden
    May 12, 2009 @ 20:01:52

    I really love historicals! I also doubt that I can make a very convincing case as to why I should get a copy, lol. But it would please me very much. I don’t have any cash to get a copy, although if I did you can bet your bottom dollar I’d buy one. The little excerpt up there made me shiver. I find myself wanting to lose myself in Tessa’s story.

  70. Janga
    May 12, 2009 @ 20:10:07

    Count me out of the contest, but I cannot pass up an opportunity to add my voice to the chorus of praise for Tessa Dare’s writing and to say whoever wins either/both has great reading in store.

  71. Marial
    May 12, 2009 @ 20:26:01

    Hi, I have never read Tessa’s books but I’d love to try. You’re right, the title did make me conjure up images of paranormal/shapeshifter books.
    I enjoy romance novels, particularly historicals, even if my pocketbook does not…

  72. Sherry
    May 12, 2009 @ 20:29:59

    Tessa would be a new to me author and I love finding new authors to love! Also, the story of a werestag intrigues me! I would love to read this! :)

  73. Virginia Hendricks
    May 12, 2009 @ 20:40:42

    I’m beginning to get back into reading historical novels and think this would be a great way of doing it. :)

  74. Pam P
    May 12, 2009 @ 21:15:35

    I’m a big fan of historical s. Came across Tessa’s upcoming book several months ago and have been waiting ever since for that July release, liking an excerpt I’d read a lot. I didn’t realize she had an ebook now until yesterday. With such a great review, I think you shouldn’t make me wait any longer to read my first Tessa Dare story.

  75. Karalynn
    May 12, 2009 @ 21:47:10

    I snorted when I first read the title, and skimmed right on past the mention.

    But it kept popping up on various sites, and once I actually read the reviews for said title, I discovered it was being cited for excellent writing. So I am intrigued. Especially since it sounds deceptively like a paranormal (of which I’m growing a bit weary), but promises a rich historical instead.

  76. Sara Lindsey
    May 12, 2009 @ 22:09:58

    I’ve already got Werestag in my hot little hands and have had the privilege of reading GotH – you are all in for one heck of a treat!

    Since the very first round of Avon FanLit, Tessa has been giving us tantalizing love stories filled with witty humor and timeless passion… and her writing just keeps getting better!

    If you don’t win, spend the money to get Werestag, GotH, and anything else with Tessa’s name on it.* You won’t regret it!

    *This statement is true because the FanLit novella, These Wicked Games, doesn’t actually say “Tessa Dare” on it.

  77. JessicaP
    May 12, 2009 @ 22:18:37

    @Hydecat (#37). Man-ruminant! Oh, thank you for that one! And, yes, I’d love to get to know the work of an author I don’t know, plus free book, so it’s win-win for me. But man-ruminant. That was too perfect!

  78. Jusy
    May 12, 2009 @ 23:33:00

    I love your review of LEGEND OF THE WERESTAG. I’m very intrigue about this story. If I don’t win, I will hunt down a copy.

  79. MarchRose
    May 13, 2009 @ 01:24:58

    I’d gladly try a good historical by a new author – they are scarcer and scarcer, alas.

  80. Maili
    May 13, 2009 @ 03:26:52

    Please don’t include mine for the contest.

    It’s nice to see that it’s set at a house party. It used to be a common way of life for the British nobility in those days, especially the Victorian and Edwardian eras. At least until the Great War (WWI) and finally died out after WWII. And yet, we oft don’t see it as a setting in historical romance romances. It’s a shame.

    Before Lucas went off to war

    Which war? That’s one of reasons why I wasn’t that tempted to buy Legend of the Werestag. There was no clue to tell me which period it set in. I guessed Victorian or Edwardian because the story screamed Victorian/Edwardian, but after some investigating it’s actually a late Georgian (or to some, Regency).

    I was tempted because it’s a novella (underrated, imo), I love the unrequited love/friends-turn-lovers theme, and when I thought it may be a Victorian/Edwardian.

    The reasons why I didn’t jump on the Buy! train: the paranormal-type title, the cover implied it as a paranormal, lack of information on the story’s period setting, and the deal maker: it’s a Georgian/Regency. I would read a story in this setting, but after a decade of having almost nothing but Regency historical romances, I’m pretty much burned out.

    Legend of the Werestag does sound fun, though. Good luck to everyone on winning a copy. :D

  81. Lorraine
    May 13, 2009 @ 03:29:30

    I already bought a copy of Werestag, and would love,love,love to read GOTH before it comes out in July. Please pick me!

  82. catie
    May 13, 2009 @ 04:05:06

    Ooo, I’ve been dying to read this one!

  83. ms bookjunkie
    May 13, 2009 @ 05:15:38

    I did it again! I bought Werestag at MBaM the moment it showed up, not checking for giveaways. *sigh* So no need for a copy of that. I’ll take Goddess of the Hunt, though. :-)

%d bloggers like this: