Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW & GIVEAWAY: The Price of Desire by Jo Goodman

We have the good fortune to give away 4 ARCs (one copy gently read) and 5 finished copies. The four ARCs will be mailed on Saturday with the five finished copies to be sent out when I receive them (probably at the end of next week). Goodman is one of my favorite authors and I am thrilled to do a giveaway of her books. Not because I like Goodman (I don’t know her from Adam) but because I think readers who love a) historical romances and b) wonderful love stories with damaged characters are missing out if they haven’t read her.

****

Dear Ms. Goodman:

book review There are some books that you gulp down and there are some that you savor. Your works are those that I like to savor, like an expensive bit of chocolate that I open carefully, making sure that I do not mar even the wrapper before tasting the delicacy the wrapper holds. These books are languorous and half the pleasure is seeing the story unfold like an early morning flower. This book does not have alot of snappy exchanges but what it does have is characterizations that are so vibrant that I felt I was inside the book, following the characters around, watching them become vulnerable to love.

Griffin Wright-Jones, Viscount of Breckenridge, lives a life on the fringe of society owning a gambling hell. It is rumored that he murdered his wife. She has been missing for over five years. Many a young men pass through Griffin’s halls, gambling away their allowances. Usually he keeps a tight rein on them, but one night Alastair Cole loses so much that he must seek an advance from his father, Sir Hadrien Cole. Griffin takes Cole’s signet ring, Cole’s father’s ring, as security. But Cole sneaks in, and takes back the ring and leaves a note telling Griffin that a certain Olivia at Jericho Mews is a rarer gem than Cole’s heirloom. Griffin takes her but wonders aloud to Olivia, gently skewering the betting trope and your own plot at once:

“I should like to hear your opinion on this matter, Miss Cole. It is Miss Cole, is it not?” When she nodded , he continued. “I’d like you to tell me in which of these three respects the gentleman is the most complete bounder. He surrenders his wife to a man he owes payment. He gives over his mistress to discharge a debt. Or he sacrifices his sister to spare himself a bad end. I confess, I cannot work it out myself, but it occurs that you might have a congent position.”

It’s a puzzler, isn’t it? I have been thinking that if I could arrive at some clever answer, it might make an acceptable teaser in society. Riddles are popular with a certain crowd and their parlor games. It would be a thing oft repeated. The wife. The mistress. The sister. “

Oliva Cole is Alastair’s sister and disowned daughter of Sir Hadrien. Olivia owes a great debt to Alastair and goes willingly to Griffin to be the security of the note. But the way in which Alastair’s missive is written to Griffin, Olivia wonders if she isn’t supposed to redeem the note with her body and that is not something she would do willingly.

The books, like most Goodman books, has an understated quality to them so that the actions of the characters speak loudly. Olivia, for example, is a quiet woman whose internal fortitude has been tested time and again throughout her life, particularly by her father. She survives but only by holding herself inviolate. Her defense to the world is self control and self deprecation and to some extent, escape. By belittling herself, perhaps she can take herself out the range of interest and thus harm. But underneath her quiet exterior is a spine of steel.

“Can you tell me what your brother meant by the turn of phrase: she will reward you in ways you cannot imagine.

Olivia saw that Breckenridge did not consult her brother’s marker. Evidentily he had memorized the contents as well. She sought out a place of tranquility in her mind–this time a wheat field made golden by sunshine–and lay herself down at its very center. With panic momentarily quelled,she aswered with prenatural calm. “You must not make too much of it. It is the sort of hyperbole that Alastair is wont to make when the truth does not serve.”

“And the truth in this case would be . . . ?”

“That I am of no particular value to anyone, my lord. I have no funds, nor any hope of securing them. I have no talents. My interests are pedestrian and unlikely to change. I cannot say that I have any particular accomplishments. I do not play the pianoforte. Neither do I sing, paint, embroider, or ride. It would take considerable time to name all of the things I cannot do, do not want to do, and will not do, so I hope you will spare us both that exercise.”

Griffin is by turns arrogant and cold but with Olivia incredibly sensitive. He easily breaks matters off with his mistress but summons a doctor to attend inspect Olivia because she looks frail to him. He understands human nature and sees a kindred spirit in Olivia. He wants her, not simply because she is beautiful on the outside, but because he recognizes that something deep in her calls out to something deep in him.

“We are of a kind, you and I,” Griffin said quietly. “I think you know it’s true.”
Then he bent his head and laid his mouth over hers. There was very little pressure in the kiss, just a touch, a tender brush. Sweetness and solace.

The two of them had to grow up too fast and, as a result or due to what made them age so quickly in spirit, the two are alone. Olivia, the abandoned daughter. Griffin, the motherless boy, too soon a viscount. Olivia is alone because she has been disowned and she has forsworn her father. Griffin is alone because as the head of the household, he had to take action to save his four sisters who barely talk to him currently. Two islands in London floating about seeking anchors. Griffin recognizes that Olivia is his treasure and he seeks to keep her, disarming her with honesty. He admits that he has wanted to kiss her from the first. He tells her that his great fear is her and that he is striving to overcome it. By making himself vulnerable, he shifts power to Olivia, inviting her to trust in him.

Olivia’s brother is well nuanced. A villain, yes, but because of cowardice and not malice. He recognizes his own flaws but is unwilling to overcome them. In the end, the story has some contrivances as a danger to both Griffin and Olivia’s lives come to a head. The suspense plot is a bit extraneous and the ultimate villain isn’t as well crafted as Olivia, Griffin and Alastair.

Because Olivia and Griffin had sacrificed and been hurt and survived, their coming together, their love, and ultimately their happiness is rewarding for the reader. The best thing about this book is the leisurely way in which we watch Olivia come into her own, grappling with her demons along the way. Because it is not rushed, the reader believes in the end not only in Olivia’s personal victories but that the ever after part is authentic. A-

Best regards,

Jane

This book can be purchased in mass market from Amazon or Powells or ebook format on September 1, 2008.

****

Pretty much all giveaways at Dear Author are run the same. Drop a comment, any comment, to this review and we’ll select 9 winners. The contest will run from now until Friday at midnight, CST. I am excited to giveaway

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

186 Comments

  1. CT
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 07:10:17

    YAY! BOOKS!

  2. GrowlyCub
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 07:25:00

    Sounds interesting! Please enter me for the drawing.

    I think you have a typo in paragraph 5 (Alastair instead of Griffin).

  3. Christine
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 07:25:23

    This book sounds great. Olivia and Griffin both sound like fascinating characters. I’d love to read it–please include me in the drawing!

  4. cecilia
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 07:25:36

    Jo Goodman is an author I just discovered this year – I can’t wait for this new book!

  5. kerry
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 07:26:44

    I would love to read this book.

  6. Jessica
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 07:31:15

    I agree with you completely that Goodman’s books are meant to savor. There is so much there that you have to be patient to find.

    I just discovered her and have read 3 of her books in the last month, all wonderful. Please put my name in the the lottery for a copy of this new one, which, from your review, sounds fantastic!

  7. Karmyn
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 07:38:43

    This sounds like an interesting book. I’ve heard of Jo Goodman, but I’m not sure if I’ve ever read her before.

  8. JaneO
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 07:39:09

    I too just discovered Jo Goodman this year and have been reading anything of her that I can find. A new one? Please drop me in the hat.

  9. Marg
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 07:42:17

    I’ve only read one of her books, but I did really like that one. Not sure why I haven’t picked up more. Must rectify that oversight!

  10. Betsy
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 07:45:34

    Jo Goodman was a new find for me this year, too. I’m really looking forward to this one. Thanks for the review.

  11. katiebabs
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 07:55:55

    I don’t mind taking the gently read one :D

  12. Phyl
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 08:02:07

    Jo Goodman is a wonderful author and I look forward to each new release. I truly think she’s under-appreciated. I’d love to win one of these.

  13. Cindy W
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 08:06:20

    I’d love to win this book.

    So many books, So little time!!!!

  14. Sarabeth
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 08:06:41

    I like gently read books, too. I wouldn’t mind that one.

  15. Corrine
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 08:06:44

    I’ve never read Jo Goodman, but you make her sound like a very accomplished writer. Maybe I’ll have to pick one up – that is, if I don’t “magically” have one fall into my lap.

  16. RStewie
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 08:09:07

    I’ll take any of them you’re willing to part with. Please enter me into the contest.

  17. kathybaug
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 08:11:17

    I just read my first Jo Goodman this year, If His Kiss is Wicked. The best part of the book was the dialogue and watching the romance unfold. I would love to have a copy of her new book. Thank you.

  18. Christina
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 08:11:58

    A book with some meat to it and good character development–sounds as if this would be a good read.

  19. KCfla
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 08:12:40

    I too would like to be put in for the drawing. I lurve me some good historicals- and this one sounds amazing!

  20. Krissy
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 08:32:55

    I’ve been enjoying Goodman books for years. I’m looking forward to this one.

  21. Frannie
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 08:45:01

    I read my first Jo Goodman about 3 years ago – I think it was one of the Dennehy Sisters series – and rushed out to buy/borrow every one of her books I could put my hands on. I particularly like The Compass Club series, not only for the strong, intelligent, witty characters, but for the clever way the stories in each of the four novels weave in and out of the others, since they all take place concurrently. I’ve just re-read A Season to be Sinful, another favourite, and realize another reason I like her so much is her ability to incorporate very dark themes into intensely romantic stories without being melodramatic or gothic. I am so looking forward to the new one, and while I’d love to win an ARC, no matter what its condition, if I don’t, I’ll be at my local bookstore on release day. And if this sounds like sucking up, I totally am.

  22. Ana
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 08:45:13

    Oh I so want this . I read If His Kiss is Wicked and thorougly enjoyed it. Great review, can’t wait to read the book, please do count me in.

  23. SaraC
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 08:49:00

    I’ve never read any Jo Goodman before, but she sounds intriguing. I’ll have to check her out.

  24. vanessa jaye
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 08:51:56

    So. Getting. This.

    No need to enter me, but thanks for the heads up/great reveiw!

  25. Casee
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 08:58:24

    I didn’t read the review, but saw the grade. I am so freaking excited for this book.

  26. Sally
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:07:06

    I just discovered Jo Goodman. Please put my name in the hat for a copy of this book, it sounds wonderful.

  27. Marsha
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:12:57

    Jo Goodman is a new author to me and, based on this review, I think I’m going to like her.

    Is there anything like the thrill of finding a “new” author who comes with a nice sized back list? The promise of so many well-entertained nights…

  28. Laura K
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:22:48

    Hey, Marsha, you stole my comment! That’s pretty much exactly what I was going to say….

  29. Pam
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:25:23

    I could always use another book, this looks like a good one. Thanks for offering it!

  30. Meriam
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:28:31

    Oh, I am dying for a Goodman ARC.

    Dying!

    A little bit. It would really complement my collection.

    Goodman is one of the few authors I am truly fangirly about, and I was particularly pleased to hear her next book will be a Western, because I prefer her American historical romances.

    Jane, I haven’t read your review yet (I don’t like spoiling myself for books I’m definitely going to read), but I’m pleased and excited she got an A from you.

  31. JulieH
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:37:48

    The book sounds wonderful. I would love to read it.

  32. azteclady
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:38:58

    Jumping in with a comment–I have never read any of Ms Goodman’s books, but I have heard wonderful things about them, and about TPoD, so please do count me in for the giveaway! Thanks.

  33. Anji
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:41:38

    I read ‘If His Kiss Is Wicked’ and loved it, and I’ve been on a Jo Goodman glom ever since. I’m excited about her new title – I can’t wait! – so I’d love to win an ARC.

    Oh, and she seems to have an awesome sense of humor – check out her story about the ‘flamingo wars’ between her and her neighbors. Hilarious!

  34. LauraB
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:42:51

    Wahoo…. What is it with authors named Jo and good books. Do you think it’s a Little Women thing?

  35. Liviania
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:45:19

    I’ve never read her, but I like that she’s skewing a trope I find annoying.

  36. Marianne McA
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:47:14

    Enter me, please.

  37. Seeley deBorn
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:49:25

    I’m dying for a half decent historical.

  38. Debra Date
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:54:42

    I’m usually not a fan of historical romances, but this book sounds lovely. I am intrigued by the excerpts you used and will be looking for more of Ms. Goodmans books in the future.

  39. jude
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:55:49

    Another fan of historical romance throwing my hat in the ring.

    Thank you! :)

  40. Michelle
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:59:53

    Jane – what is your favorite Jo Goodman novel?

    I’ve read a few. Once I get into her books, I can recognize that she always writes good stories featuring well-developed and likeable characters. It just takes me awhile because I find her a bit wordy.

  41. Sarah
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 09:59:55

    I’ve never read a Jo Goodman book. Sounds like a good one to start with. :)

  42. Mfred
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:08:51

    Gimme!

  43. Sarai
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:10:59

    I’ve never read Ms. Goodman I would like the chance. Please enter me in the drawing!
    Thanks

  44. Lissa
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:15:04

    I have never read her, but I am always open to new authors – sign me up!

  45. Lori P.
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:15:49

    I am another person who has never read a Jo Goodman book but would love to try one. I have read such great things about both “The Price of Desire” and “If His Kiss Is Wicked” that my interest in this author is stirred. Thanks for the review and please include my name in the drawing.

  46. Carrie Lofty
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:27:48

    Oh, yes please. I love her.

  47. Robin F
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:30:36

    The book sounds wonderful, I can’t wait to read it.

  48. Zee
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:32:16

    I’ve just recently read two Jo Goodman novels based on Dear Author reviews and comments – a Season to be Sinful and If His Kiss is Wicked – and really enjoyed both, particularly If His Kiss is Wicked. I agree, she writes thoughtful romances about damaged characters and her writing is beautiful. And nothing in her books (at least the two I have read) seems to bear any relation to either the title or the covers of her novels. I would not have read them but for the reviews, but that’s another topic often explored and lamented elsewhere.

    Thanks for the review and please enter me in the drawing!

  49. Mandy Clatterbaugh
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:37:16

    This book sounds good. Enter me in the contest :-)

  50. Rebecca
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:37:35

    I, too, recently discovered Goodman, and she is great! Would love an advance copy!

  51. Leslie G
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:38:37

    Jo Goodman is such a wonderful and talented writer. She is one of my all time favorites. Definitely an author to savor.

  52. Robin Bayne
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:47:31

    Haven’t read a good historical in a long time!

  53. Jenny
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:53:53

    Hi have been reading your reviews for some time now and this is a great opportunity to kill two birds with one stone. Thank you for all you do here.

  54. Lori G
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:54:26

    Oh me too please. The revew was so good it’s making me salivate for the book.

  55. Kirstin
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 10:58:31

    I adore her! She’s on my top ten list (yes, impossibly enough I try to maintain a list : )I’ve read all of her books that I can find, and would love, love, love to read her latest! Thanks so much!

  56. MarchRose
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:00:48

    I am very curious about this last release of mrs. Goodman, which is on of my favs too… and after this review I am more and more eager to read it!

  57. Laurie
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:03:55

    I’m a Goodman newb, but this sounds like a good one. Can’t wait to give it a whirl.

  58. Bonnie L.
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:04:24

    Free Jo Goodman? Yes, please!

  59. ruth
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:04:44

    Thanks for this great opportunity. This book sounds fascinating and wonderful. Thanks for the giveaway.

  60. Kristie(J)
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:10:32

    I’ve long been singing the praises of Jo Goodman’s books. I’ve read her for years but really sat up and took notice with the Compass Club series. I’m so delighted that this amazing author is finally getting the attention she deserves!! For anyone who hasn’t read her before but is considering it, I strongly urge them to try one of her books. She’s not for everyone – she is very lush. I normally read fairly quickly but I know going into a Jo Goodman book, she’s best read slowly so I can experience the whole read, rather like a decedent, rich desert.
    So, yep, add me to the list. I’ll be reading this one regardless, the but the chance to read it sooner is too good to pass up!

  61. Emmy
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:17:03

    I’ve not read a historical in quite a while. Sounds like a good book to get back into the genre.

  62. FanLit
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:17:33

    I haven’t read this author. Please enter me into the contest, too.

  63. Valarie P
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:21:05

    I love Jo Goodman, and am looking forward to this book. Great review.

  64. TracyS
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:22:35

    Sounds like a great book! I’d love to win one :o)

  65. Angela_Yvette
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:24:09

    Sounds great! Can’t wait to read it :D

  66. fshk
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:28:37

    I’d love to read the book, too! Sounds fun.

  67. Tabitha
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:33:52

    Aaah, yet another “new” author (to me) to try out. I have come across Jo Goodman books in the bookstore often but have yet to read her books. Please enter me in this drawing. This sounds like a good one to start. =) If I don’t win, I’ll try to run out and grab one for my own. (my TBR pile is growing more so than ever for the first time!)

  68. Stephanie Z.
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:38:25

    Books! Sounds interesting. Free? Sounds even MORE interesting. :-D

  69. NitPicker
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:39:11

    Viscount of Breckenridge

    Please tell me that “of” is a typo!

  70. Anna
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:42:22

    Enter me please! I’ve read If His Kiss is Wicked, and found one of the Compass Club books at the UBS, and have it on my to-do list to glom more of her books. :)

  71. AnimeJune
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:42:40

    It sounds like a good read – I love romance writers who have a gift of poetic language along with good storytelling.

  72. Frannie
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:46:29

    My first time doing this. Hope it’s true what they say, First Time’s a Charm.

  73. Kelly C
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:47:12

    I need another book to read like Michael Phelps needs another gold medal and/or world record. Yet, on the other hand, free is free! :)

  74. Maureen
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:49:14

    I enjoyed her last book and am looking forward to this one coming out so please enter me.

  75. Phyllis
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:55:00

    Oh yes, please!

  76. Helen
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 11:57:51

    One of my best reads last year was “If His Kiss Is Wicked”, bought on the basis of the recommendations here. Please enter me in the draw.

  77. TFW
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 12:06:57

    I would love to read this author for the first time!!!

  78. anu
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 12:07:02

    PLEASE.

  79. Katie D
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 12:16:48

    This book sounds wonderful. I have never tried one of her books but I would love to try one.

  80. willaful
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 12:21:56

    Well, I probably don’t have a chance but I won and then lost a Lisa Kleypas ARC because I was on vacation and couldn’t claim it, so I think the universe owes me some historical romance by one of my favorite authors. ;-)

  81. Amy
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 12:28:19

    I love, love, love Jo Goodman… And this book sounds like her usual awesomeoness. *pick me! pick me! pick me!* :-)

  82. Alyssa
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 12:34:24

    Sounds like another nice Goodman read. Please enter me. :) I was hoping to meet her at RWA, but if she was there I didn’t run into her.

  83. Nikki H
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 12:34:59

    I love her stuff! So I’m in, please. And thanks for the opportunity to win.

  84. Another Jane
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 12:37:21

    I’ve been glomming Jo Goodman recently and would love the chance at a copy.

  85. Ashley Danielle
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 12:37:55

    Great review! I love books that take place in gambling hells. This book sounds like a great way to initiate myself into Jo Goodman’s works. I’m very much looking forward to reading it.

  86. Aemelia
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 12:43:43

    I’ve never read Jo Goodman…though I’ve been seriously thinking about picking some up after all the rave reviews I’ve seen

  87. Brie
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 12:54:12

    I discovered and fell in love with Goodman’s writing after reading If His Kiss is Wicked. I’ve been eagerly awaiting this books release and your review has only made the wait that much harder! Though, I know the wait is well worth it, after all, this is Jo Goodman.

  88. TarotByArwen
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 12:55:30

    Standing in line. I’m on a book buying moratorium until I get moved to Austin and find employment. :)

  89. JenB
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 13:12:48

    Wow, what a cool book. Great review, too! I’m just now getting back into historicals, and this looks like a great one to add to my list.

  90. Kathy
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 13:17:48

    I “discovered” Jo Goodman a few years ago with The Compass Club series. After I read LET ME BE THE ONE, I haunted every UBS to find the others in that series. I would love to have an ARC (gently read or otherwise). Please enter me in the contest.

  91. Susan G
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 13:20:58

    I have found so many new authors based on your recommendations so please count me in for the giveaway!

  92. Lam
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 13:27:46

    I love Jo Goodman, and would definitely like to be entered in the draw!

  93. Deirdre
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 13:36:42

    Going straight onto my wishlist

  94. Heather K
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 13:59:35

    Sounds like a wonderful read. Definitely something to look forward to.

  95. K. Z. Snow
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 14:08:57

    I’ve been wanting desperately to read one of Jo Goodman’s books–not just because I crave a good historical, but because she’s apparently a superb writer. In fact, If His Kiss Is Wicked (freakin’ title alone makes me melt!) is on my library list, since current budget constraints have strangled the life out of my book-buying allotment.

  96. Jo Goodman
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 14:29:16

    Holy cow! I had no idea. I’ve been pitchin’ those arcs in the recycle bin for years because I didn’t know what to with them! To Nitpicker: Yes, the “of” in Viscount of Breckenridge is a typo, but not Dear Author’s fault. It’s on the back cover blurb that way. I told my editor when I saw it that someone would get me for it – AND I DIDN’T DO IT. I never saw the copy until it was too late to do anything about it. Wahhh!!!!

  97. Bev Stephans
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 14:34:06

    This book sounds very intriguing. I would love the chance to read it.

    NitPicker: If Breckenridge is his name, then the ‘of’ is a typo. If Breckenridge is a place, then the ‘of’ is proper. A good example is the late Princess of Wales brother. Spencer is his name, so he is Earl Spencer. If Spencer had been a place, then he would be Earl of Spencer.

  98. GrowlyCub
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 14:35:14

    Holy cow! I had no idea. I've been pitchin' those arcs in the recycle bin for years because I didn't know what to with them!

    Oh, noes! That hurts! We would be glad to take them off your hands and I’d have no issue at all sending a SASE with enough postage on it to you to get one or two or three different ones! :)

  99. Maered
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 14:48:15

    I loved If His Kiss is Wicked, so enter me, please!

  100. SusanB
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 14:53:24

    I believe I have a Jo Goodman in TBR pile…. must check it out!
    SusanB
    PS: Thanks for contests. Having a dull week so far, this is the most excitement to date….

  101. rlynn
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 15:21:18

    Just read If His Kiss is Wicked and can’t wait to dive into another Goodman!!

  102. mspatti
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 15:26:19

    sounds interesting! I look forward to reading this book!!

  103. BethanyA
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 15:30:15

    Please enter me.

    Thanks!

    (Over to Amazon.com to do some research)

  104. Danielle
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 15:33:16

    I love all of her books!?!?! Especially her Compass Series — I can’t wait to read this book.

  105. Keishon
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 15:33:49

    NitPicker: If Breckenridge is his name, then the ‘of' is a typo. If Breckenridge is a place, then the ‘of' is proper. A good example is the late Princess of Wales brother. Spencer is his name, so he is Earl Spencer. If Spencer had been a place, then he would be Earl of Spencer

    Not entering this contest but responding to Bev for clarifying this “typo” because for me, it went clear over my head. Wow. There really isn’t room for error at all. Thanks Bev.

  106. Meriam
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 15:33:51

    Well, I probably don't have a chance but I won and then lost a Lisa Kleypas ARC because I was on vacation and couldn't claim it

    Ouch. And it pains me, too, to hear of those ARCS being pitched into the bin!

  107. Amanda
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 15:39:52

    I would LOVE to win this one. I went on a super-glom on JG last summer after I read If His Kiss Is Wicked. Now she’s an auto-buy!

  108. Malin E
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 15:42:39

    Wow. I would love to win a copy of this! It sounds great. Haven’t read any of her books yet, but this makes me want to try her.

  109. Julie
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 15:53:27

    If non-US readers are eligible for this, I’d love to win a copy of Jo Goodman’s The Price of Desire!

  110. NitPicker
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 16:07:00

    Yes, the “of” in Viscount of Breckenridge is a typo, but not Dear Author's fault. It's on the back cover blurb that way. I told my editor when I saw it that someone would get me for it – AND I DIDN'T DO IT. I never saw the copy until it was too late to do anything about it. Wahhh!!!!

    THANK GOD! I love your books, but if I had to stare at that incorrect “of” all the way through the book I might go bonkers, LOL!

  111. Sherri W
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 16:07:02

    I recently discovered Jo Goodman as well. It’s amazing that there are so many of us who have only recently found her when she is such a talented writer. Since reading One Forbidden Evening a few months ago, I have been devouring every Goodman book I can find. I, too, savor every word. There are so many layers to her writing. I have also been searching desperately for an excerpt from The Price of Desire. I simply cannot wait to read it. So please, please, please enter me in the drawing. I love her heroes so much.

  112. Emily
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 16:11:56

    I love Goodman’s books. She treats her characters with respect and dignity, giving them time to make the decisions and revelations that need to be made without rushing the story. She’s one of my favorite character-driven authors.

  113. NitPicker
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 16:20:33

    NitPicker: If Breckenridge is his name, then the ‘of' is a typo. If Breckenridge is a place, then the ‘of' is proper. A good example is the late Princess of Wales brother. Spencer is his name, so he is Earl Spencer. If Spencer had been a place, then he would be Earl of Spencer.

    Not exactly. You’re mixing your viscounts and earls (and the rules are not the same).

    No title below earl gets an “of” territorial designator (hence Viscount Wellington becomes the Duke of Wellington when he moves up the peerage), regardless of whether the title is the surname or a territorial name.

    I'm just happy to know this is a back blub typo and nothing more!

  114. cyclops8
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 16:20:34

    I love Jo’s books, especially her Compass Club series.

  115. Meanne
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 16:22:01

    Just finished reading The Flamingo Wars in her website and it was wonderful! Jo Goodman seems to be a fascinating woman in real life with a fabulous sense of humor…I enjoy her books a lot and this new one sounds like a winner to me, too!

  116. Sybil
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 16:22:54

    BWAH! I can’t believe you admitted to trashing them. Bad jo, bad bad.

    (just in case – don’t enter me)

  117. Barbara B.
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 16:31:33

    Sounds good.

  118. Robin
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 16:35:06

    If non-US readers are eligible for this, I'd love to win a copy of Jo Goodman's The Price of Desire!

    How far out of the US, Julie? Feel free to email me privately if you don’t want to say it publicly ([email protected]).

  119. Sheryl Nantus
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 16:35:31

    sounds intriguing! love to get my hands on him… er, the book!

    ;)

  120. Allison
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 16:47:47

    Oh! sounds like a very good read. Would love a copy!

  121. Susan
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 17:04:36

    I have read all her books and look forward to this one!!!

  122. KarLynP
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 17:09:19

    Sounds wonderful, I love historical romances and Goodman is one of the best. Please add me to the drawing!

  123. Patricia
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 17:09:38

    I glommed Jo years ago, she is wonderful! Would love to have her newest. Thank you.

  124. Phoebe
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 17:09:53

    me! me! me!

  125. Bev Stephans
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 17:21:57

    Thanks NitPicker. I learned something today. I thought the rules applied to viscounts as well as the higher peerage.

    Actually, the Marquess of Douro becomes the Duke of Wellington.

  126. RenéeW
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 17:27:08

    I have only read one Goodman and have been meaning to read more. Please enter me in the drawing.

  127. Malin
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 17:27:57

    Fingers crossed…

  128. NitPicker
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 17:28:31

    Actually, the Marquess of Douro becomes the Duke of Wellington.

    Yep. I just didn’t want to confuse things futher by getting the Douro title in there.

    Not that I think most readers really care about this stuff, but for those that *do*, this kind of thing is like being forced to sit next to a gum popper on the train.

    Regardless, it’s just a typo on the back cover of the book. Yea!!!

  129. Pam P
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 18:08:35

    I would love to read Griffin’s story sooner. A Season to Be Sinful and If His Kiss is Wicked are two of my favorite reads. Great review, I agree her stories are to be savored. No more Arc’s in the trash, Jo, as you can see, there are a lot of us wanting them.

  130. Liz
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 18:13:55

    Alistair is by turns arrogant and cold but with Olivia incredibly sensitive.

    I hope you meant Griffen. Because Alastair is the brother, right? And that would make it a whole different sort of book.

    I don’t think I’ve ever read Jo Goodman though so I’d love a chance to.

  131. Alison
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 18:14:44

    I just love Jo Beverly. I tried no to read too much of the review so I wouldn’t spoil it for myself, but I’d definitely looking forward to this one!

  132. Jane
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 18:24:14

    Liz – you are right. Thanks for bringing that to my notice.

  133. Stacy S
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 21:11:49

    I’d love to win this book. I’ve read several of her books.

  134. Renee
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 21:15:35

    Just getting back into historicals after a long time. This sounds like a good one!

  135. SonomaLass
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 21:19:44

    A book to savor? Really? Jane, you temptress! Lately I have had NO self-control when it comes to good books — just NOM NOM NOM and I’m up too late and the story is over. I solemnly swear to treat this one like expensive chocolate and not gorge myself, whether I win a copy or go out and buy one.

  136. Karen W.
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 21:33:13

    I’ve been a Jo Goodman fan for quite a while, and I would love a copy of THE PRICE OF DESIRE. Thanks for the contest. :-)

  137. Kaetrin
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 21:36:32

    Thanks for the great review. I’ll definitely be getting this book (- hopefully from you for free!!)- I’ve only read If His Kiss is Wicked and that was mostly on recommendation from this very site so I am keen to read other Jo Goodman books – there isn’t much available in the Adelaide (South Australia) shops unfortunately. PS – thanks for re-opening the thread!!

  138. Lori
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 21:43:41

    For a grad student any free book is a good book, but this one sounds especially good.

  139. Jo
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 22:01:27

    Woo, sounds interesting! Drop me in the hat, please.

    I always shied away from Jo Goodman because it’s a combination of my first name and the last name of a horrible, horrible teeny-bopper enemy in my life. Lame excuse, but hey.

  140. Caffey
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 22:02:37

    I remember it was not long ago that someone told me that I should read Jo Goodman’s books because I love reading historicals. I’m so totally hooked now! I didn’t realize soon the new one would be out!! I think the books I found were a book from Hamilton series and another. Alot of the earlier books I haven’t been able to find and do hope they release them! So most I’ve been getting as they come out. I must get IF HIS KISS IS WICKED!

    Loved your review. Got me all excited about this release!! I’d love to be in the contest, Thanks!

  141. Jessica D
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 22:50:23

    History? Angst? Sounds perfect!

  142. Josie
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 23:09:10

    Oh, it has been a good year for historicals! I can’t wait to get my hands on this one…

  143. Robin
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 23:10:59

    Can I just say how excited I am at all the comments?! Not only am I a big fan of Goodman’s books and therefore happy to see her getting a higher profile in the genre, but I also think this response is a testament to the fact that readers want more rich, dense historical Romance. And !yay! to that.

  144. Sandy (strlady)
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 23:51:47

    I’ve read only one Jo Goodman and really loved it! This one looks like a must read!

  145. Bzangl
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 00:05:44

    I have been a big fan of Jo’s books for a long time – I really liked her Compass Club, and she seems to keep getting better for me. If His Kiss is Wicked is one of my fave’s from last year.

  146. Rosie
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 00:07:07

    I won this ARC and was able to read The Price of Desire early less than a week ago, so not entering the contest. Just wanted to say how much I loved the story, and am very excited to see how much attention this book is getting, just from the bulk of the comments. Love Goodman!

  147. Amy
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 00:10:04

    I love Jo Goodman! I think I’ve read all of her books. Thank you for offering this giveaway.

  148. MYJ
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 00:59:48

    Jo Goodman is one of my favorites. Can’t wait to read this one!

  149. Rosie
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 01:08:50

    Okay it was a little freaky seeing “Rosie” in the comments and knowing it wasn’t ME commenting. Weird that. Anyway, I too just started reading Jo Goodman this past year, thanks to Kristie, and was so happy to see your great review of this book. Can’t wait!

  150. Stephanie
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 01:17:20

    This sounds amazing. Can’t wait to read it!

  151. Fazira
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 03:06:01

    Great review, I look forward to reading this latest book by Jo Goodman. It sounds like a beautiful book and I’m in much need of a good story and HEA right now :) And its a historical romance to boot!!!

  152. D-Day
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 03:09:53

    me me me me, please!

  153. msaggie
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 07:32:32

    Sounds very good – Jane, do you think it’s better than If His Kiss Is Wicked? Or is the comparison difficult? I think so far, that one’s the best Jo Goodman book.

  154. Andrea
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 07:32:36

    Oooooh! Fantastic review! I cannot wait to read this one. Please count me in the drawing as I love Ms. Goodman’s books! :)

  155. Sara
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 09:27:21

    Sounds like a good read. I’d love to get a copy!

  156. Megan
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 09:53:39

    I read (and enjoyed) If His Kiss Is Wicked and have been meaning to hunt down more of Jo Goodman’s work. This one sounds like it’ll be a terrific read!

  157. Jane
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 09:56:02

    Because there are so many entrants, I’m going to give away 5 ebooks as well. Of course, those won’t be available until September 1, but I want as many people who are interested to read Goodman.

  158. Jane
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 10:10:52

    Ms Aggie – It’s hard to compare the two because the stories are different. I know that I was glued to the page and that it is one that I will want to re-read again, but frankly, I like most of Goodman’s works and I love re-reading them.

  159. Hilcia
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 10:18:46

    Another Goodman fan here throwing her hat in! Would love it for my keeper pile.

  160. Emmy T
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 11:50:08

    I’m looking forward to this book. Sounds fantastic.

  161. kristenmary
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 12:10:12

    Ooh, a new author for me to try. I’m on a historical kick now so please enter me. I think I will look into her backlist too. Thanks!

  162. hanne
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 12:55:56

    The book sounds great – please count me in :)

  163. Rebecca
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 13:13:30

    I would like to be in on the drawing. The book sounds very interesting.

  164. Pamela
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 14:28:45

    I still have found memories of her Compass Club Series. The most intricately plotted connecting book series I’ve ever read. I’d love to read her new release early.

  165. Chrissy
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 14:45:06

    I discovered Jo Goodman a year ago. Picked her up on a whim and went back two days later to get everything she had in print.

    I LOVE her books. Love the way she writes dialogue.

  166. Joyce
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 14:50:47

    Well I have to admit that I resolutely scrolled down to the bottom of the page with my eyes averted so I wouldn’t see any spoilers. I just started reading Jo Goodman about a month ago; I’m working my way through her backlog (one of my favorite activities is discovering an author with a decent backlog ^_^) and was too excited to see that you guys are doing a giveaway of her latest. Hope it’s my lucky day. ^_^

  167. Ali
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 15:06:43

    Count me in, please :)

  168. Lizbeth
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 15:43:49

    Since Jo Goodman is an auto buy for me, my budget would loooove a free copy!

  169. AB
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 17:16:05

    Sounds interesting….putting my name in the hat!

  170. kristina enevold
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 18:30:14

    i love book with guys like this

  171. Jennie King
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 20:01:39

    Sounds like my kind of book. Please enter me in your contest. Thanks!!

    (apeanut *at* gmail)

  172. Bonnie
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 20:10:34

    I <3 Jo Goodman. She is a relatively new-to-me author, and have been enjoying my summer glom of her past work!

    -’ Bonz

  173. Kammie
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 20:53:57

    I’m a big fan of hers and would love to be entered in the giveaway.

  174. Dana
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 21:12:18

    I just finished reading my first Jo Goodman and would love to get an advanced copy of her next book.

  175. sula
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 22:19:28

    I’m such a fan of Jo Goodman and can’t wait for each new release. The Compass Club was my first exposure to her writing and as good as those were, I think she’s just gotten better and better. Character driven stories that keep me interested.

    Definitely throwing my name in the hat. :)

  176. Mora
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 23:01:39

    Jo Goodman wrote the first romance novel I read, and I’ve been hooked since. So, yeah. Definitely entering this contest! *crosses fingers*

  177. Susan/DC
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 11:57:17

    I do like Jo Goodman’s books. I haven’t read them all, but the ones I’ve read have real grown-ups as H/H, and I believe completely in their HEA. They hero may fall in lust immediately with the heroine, but in the end I know he’s fallen in love with her as a person and not simply because she’s a personification of some quality such as innocence or whatever. For both selfish and unselfish reasons, I wish Ms. Goodman a long and healthy writing life.

  178. Cindi
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 01:23:03

    Thanks for the review on this book! I have not read any of this author’s books. I would like to give this one a try! Pleas enter me in your book drawing. Many thanks, Cindi

  179. jess
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 08:38:43

    I am so looking forward to this book. I have read the 3 preceding linked books again in anticipation.

  180. Jane
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 09:08:59

    The winners of the ARCs are:

    # 177
    # 129
    # 82
    # 73

    The winners of the paper books are:

    # 24
    # 11
    # 51
    # 4
    # 23

    and the ebook winners are:

    # 36
    # 162
    # 41
    # 66
    # 163

  181. katiebabs
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 14:50:56

    WOOT!!

  182. azteclady
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 16:57:48

    *sob*

    Congrats to the winners, you lucky people you

    :wink:

  183. Pam P
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 22:29:26

    Oooh, I think that that’s me, #129, thanks! Congrats everyone.

  184. Sarah
    Sep 01, 2008 @ 18:25:34

    Ok, I just realized now that I won due to the gift certificate showing up in my inbox but thank you so much Dear Author! I cannot wait to get started.

  185. DA Recommends for September | Dear Author: Romance Book Reviews, Author Interviews, and Commentary
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 12:35:36

    [...] Because Olivia and Griffin had sacrificed and been hurt and survived, their coming together, their love, and ultimately their happiness is rewarding for the reader. The best thing about this book is the leisurely way in which we watch Olivia come into her own, grappling with her demons along the way. Because it is not rushed, the reader believes in the end not only in Olivia’s personal victories but that the ever after part is authentic. Recommended by Jane. [...]

  186. The Price of Desire « Jorrie Spencer
    Apr 26, 2009 @ 10:24:40

    [...] has an in-depth review at Dear Author. And Jane reviews it too. Both gave [...]

%d bloggers like this: