Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW & GIVEAWAY: Never Love a Lawman by Jo Goodman

So yes, it seems like everyday is a giveaway but it just kind of happened that way.   I don’t want Jo Goodman’s Never Love a Lawman get lost in the shuffle. We have 10 ARCs to give away to 10 random commenters. One of the books is the copy I read but I wanted to give it away because if even one more person becomes exposed to Goodman, all the better.

I do not envision Wyatt looking like this. ——>

Robin facilitated getting us these ARCs and I hope, come September, she shares her thoughts about the book as well.   I knew this was a good book because the minute I finished the book, I started paging through it to re-read passages and ended up reading the entire book twice in the space of 24 hours.   Now, this isn’t a perfect book. I had some issue with the villain and how that part of the story wrapped up, but for the pure joy of reading a romance, this book comes close to being some kind of perfection.

Jo Goodman’s books are not quick category reads to be devoured in an hour. Her stories are more languorous, delicious and rich, but something that tastes better drawn out like the soft drawl of a southern cowboy murmuring in your ear. Never Love a Lawman is a slow unfolding of a story about Rachel Bailey and Wyatt Cooper set in Reidsville, Colorado,   1882.

Rachel Bailey is a newcomer to Reidsville. She showed up one day about a year ago (or fifteen months, as Wyatt corrects folks who toss around “year” as a marker)    and

“Watching her was a pleasure.   A mostly secret pleasure.   Wyatt Cooper braced his hands on the wooden balustrade and leaned forward just enough to make certain her progress down the street remained unobstructed.”

Part of the storytelling that is the strongest is in the character studies. Upon reflection, I realized that while Wyatt describes Rachel as “a pure pleasure” and we get to see her through Wyatt’s eyes. He notices her long fingered hands and her hair as a thick dark wave.   Instead of being a Botticelli Venus or some other shorthand marker, we get a sense of what really attracts Wyatt to Rachel physically. As we get to know Rachel, we understand what Wyatt likes about her from an emotional and mental aspect.

I thought it was interesting how both Wyatt and Rachel’s lives were informed by their family connections. Wyatt was the more rebellious, alone in the West by choice. Rachel is more of obedient, alone in the West by necessity.

If categories are romances with none of the bullshit, that’s a bit how I found Never Love a Lawman. It was mostly about Wyatt and Rachel falling in love.   There is a sweet secondary romance between Wyatt’s deputy and the local madame and the mystery of why Rachel is in Riedsville living in a home bought by some rich San Franciscan man’s money.   Rachel has the more complicated story arc but her path to embracing happiness had to be offset by a more stable Wyatt.   So we aren’t bored, Wyatt is unsettled by the mere existence of Rachel.

” I want to touch you.”

“I know”

“I think you want me to.”

“It could be that you’re right,” she said quietly.   “In fact, I think you are.”

“But…?”

She dropped his wrists and tucked in her shirt.    She pulled her jacket closed. “But it’s not going to happen.”

“Jesus, Rachel.” He plowed through his hair with his fingers.   “I didn’t start this.   You were the one throwing yourself at me.”

Rachel glanced up from buttoning her coat.   Her right eyebrow rose in a perfect arch.   “Is that really the position you want to take?”

The fact that she was right to call him on it didn’t exactly go down well.

Wyatt is very capable and at the point in Rachel’s life, where she has had to shoulder all the responsibility with very little reward, it’s just what Rachel needs. Rachel is starchy enough to challenge Wyatt’s complacency and stands up to him where most people will not. The townspeople defer to Wyatt not just because of his position but of how he carries himself, how he unconsciously demands respect and obedience. “People think you walk on water.” Rachel says to him at one point but Wyatt angrily retorts “Well, I damn well don’t” because he doesn’t want to be that person with her.

While Wyatt gets his way most of the time, Rachel made him work for her, for her affection, and even her lust.   Rachel’s love was hard won as was her acquiescence.

I found the book to be very sexy (no hairbrushes though) with an undercurrent of wry humor:

“I’m not wearing a corset,” she said.

Wyatt’s mouth had gone dry when she stepped between his splayed legs.   He wasn’t sure he could spit, let alone speak, and removing his tongue from where it cleaved to the roof of his mouth required a conscious effort.   “I noticed that right off.”

Rachel was encouraged by the rasp in his voice.   “There’s not much that gets past you, Sheriff.”

Wyatt just takes care of Rachel.   It’s not that Rachel couldn’t have survived on her own. She did for 15 months and even longer before that but he sees to things for her, unconsciously almost.   It was tender and oh so attractive.

I can’t wait to get my own copy of this book so I can read it again and again. A-

This book goes on sale on September 1, 2009. I believe it will be in ebook format.

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

217 Comments

  1. Kelly Maher
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:31:04

    Want, want, want!! A good friend of mine hooked me on Goodman with her Compass Club series. One of these days, I’m going to find the time to go back and read her backlist.

  2. KatiDancy
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:31:27

    Yummy. Love, love, love Jo Goodman.

    Please enter me.

  3. Maya Banks
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:33:15

    Oh I love a good, yummy western. Love! I want…

  4. Bev
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:34:33

    Oh, I love a good western. Will buy it even if I don’t win but I love a free book as well as the next gal.

  5. StacieH4
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:42:09

    This sounds like a winner. Love westerns. Pick me!!!!

  6. Elyssa Papa
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:42:15

    I would love an ARC, but if I’m not lucky to win one . . . I’ll buy and read this regardless. And I don’t usually do Westerns, but hot damn, this book looks fabulous.

  7. Chani
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:42:26

    I have never read anything by Jo Goodman but you have tempted me. Would love to win.

  8. azteclady
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:43:42

    *throwing name in hat*

    *crossing fingers*

    *waiting quietly in corner*

  9. Muneca
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:43:48

    gimmie!

  10. Becca
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:45:06

    oh, please enter me! I used to love westerns, but never got into them as a romance sub-genre. I’d love to read this one.

  11. Lorraine
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:45:46

    I read several of Jo Goodman’s books back in the late 80s, early 90s, all of them keepers . I got on a medieval kick and stayed with that era for 10+ years. I’d love to read a great western again.

    Thanks for entering me!

  12. Jane O
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:46:26

    I don’t think I’ve ever read a western, except my grandfather’s Zane Grays. (Don’t faint -’ I’ve only been reading romance for three years.) However, I have read all Jo Goodman’s books since the Compass Club, and I think she’s fantastic. I’m willing to wait for September 1, but I hope I win an ARC so I don’t have to!

  13. Twila Price
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:46:47

    Would love to read this. Am not a big fan of Western romances, but Goodman should be able to pull it off if anyone could. So “hat in the ring”.

  14. catie james
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:48:57

    Oooooooooo! We wantssssssss it!! Give ussssss the preshhhhhh-ussssssssss!!!

  15. Lorelei James
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:49:32

    Ooh, pick me, pick me!!! I love westerns — tee hee :)

  16. Janet W
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:50:48

    Sign me up pardner! I’d love to win a new Jo Goodman :) Kristie, over on Ramblings on Romance has a great 5-day tip of the hat to the cowboy/western genre: check it out! I’ve got a bunch of these books on my keeper shelves, like Maggie Osbourne, for one.

    http://kristiej.blogspot.com/

  17. Jennifer Estep
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:51:54

    I’d love to get a copy of this. I love me some good westerns. :-)

  18. Lori
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:52:10

    I also love a good western and free books, so sign me up.

  19. Rachel T
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:52:27

    I’ve really enjoyed Jo Goodman’s books over the past few years – and look forward to continue reading my way through her backlist. I am looking forward to Never Love a Lawman on two counts – it’s a western and it’s Jo Goodman. I would love an ARC, if you send them to the UK. Thank you in anticipation.

  20. Erin
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:53:11

    Wow, Jane. I’ve been thinking about westerns with all the discussion about them this week, but you got me with the bit about him taking care of her. Why do I love that so?

  21. Maili
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:53:33

    Never Love a Lawman? The hell with that. I’ll love a lawman, especially if created by Jo Goodman. Am casting my hat in this lottery pot. Thank you.

    Got carried away and forgot I was in the UK. Discard my entry, please. Thanks.

  22. kathybaug
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:54:24

    I would love to try a western. Please enter me. Thanks.

  23. MarnieColette
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:54:59

    This is a new genre for me but your review of this has me wanting it. Got to love a man in uniform.

  24. Lori
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:55:18

    Holy cow. This sounds sooo good. Me likey! And how perfect that it happens to be western week in blogland :)

  25. Sandy (Strlady)
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:55:42

    I just finished reading one of Goodman’s older titles and would love to read this one. She is a treasure! thanks for the chance.

  26. sarac
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:56:52

    Yes, please!

  27. Chris
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 14:59:56

    Ooh sounds good! I’ll be ordering a copy if I don’t win an ARC.

  28. Carol
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:01:05

    Love the chemistry between Wyatt and Rachel! Would love to get a copy.

  29. Mary Beth
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:01:21

    I haven’t read a good western in a long time, so please consider my hat (cowgirl, of course) tossed into the ring.

  30. Holly
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:01:30

    I would love one, please!

  31. joanne
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:02:21

    I have ALWAYS wanted to say this:
    Cowboy, Up!

    I’m with Bev, if I don’t get it here it will be on my buy list so thanks for the review.

    Side note. I miss the older covers where cowboys didn’t have their chests waxed and often had a days growth of beard. Just wandering down memory lane.

  32. wendy
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:07:20

    I enjoy Jo Goodman and REALLY enjoy a book that focusses on characterisation and the couple getting together. I recently read a book that had so many sub-plots I ended up reading every 3rd page or so.
    Having said that, I am in Australia and will happily wait until September to buy my copy.

  33. RStewie
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:08:52

    Please enter me! I’ve read Jo Goodman before, but that’s a while ago now. I’d love the chance to read this!

  34. Cindy W
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:11:28

    I have not read her yet, but I have a book in my tbr pile and I want this book!!!

  35. stephanie h
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:12:00

    What a wonderful review. I haven’t read a Western in such a long time and this looks great. Thanks for offering the ARC contest.

  36. katiebabs
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:13:07

    Perhaps I can be persuaded to give Goodman a try once again. The chemistry in those excerpts are nice.

  37. Christine M.
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:14:54

    Please enter me as well! Sounds damn good!

  38. GrowlyCub
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:18:35

    I had decided she wasn’t for me, but this sounds really good. Please enter me. :)

  39. Ashwinder
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:19:03

    This sounds yummy. Doesn’t matter if I win a copy or not. I’ll probably buy it if I don’t.

  40. Susan Laura
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:20:49

    I love Jo Goodman and “Never Love a Lawman” is on my TBB (To Be Bought) list so I would love to win a copy a bit early.

    Thanks!

  41. Bev Stephans
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:29:25

    I’ve never read Jo Goodman. Winning a book/ARC would be a good way to start.

  42. Nadia
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:29:41

    I’ve never read Jo Goodman, and would like to give her work a try. :)

    (Your review does make the book sound fabulous.)

  43. Carolyn
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:36:17

    Another one whose last western was Zane Gray. I’m not familiar with Jo Goodman either. The excerpts you quoted sold me. I would love to find a ‘new to me’ author.

  44. Kate K
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:36:26

    I didn’t even know Jo Goodman wrote westerns!??! Love her!! Side note, if I win, I’m lining this cover up next to Beth Williamson’s latest westerns, to see who has the hottest cowboy ;)

  45. Rebecca
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:37:17

    Jo Goodman is wonderful. I would love a copy of this book.

  46. Donna Kowalczyk
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:38:33

    I haven’t read Jo Goodman since the 80s (no idea why…) so please enter me! This sounds amazing!

  47. Mara
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:39:48

    I’m a Jo Goodman fan, I’d love a copy! (and I love the cover…)

  48. Lusty Reader
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:41:24

    what perfect timing…i am primed to try Western’s again thanks to The Great Western Drive Week in blogland. please enter me!

  49. SandyEB
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:47:25

    I’ve never read Jo Goodman either…. this one sounds good; would be nice to win it.

  50. Sally
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:49:55

    I just discovered Jo Goodman about a year ago and really enjoy her work. I would love a copy of this and if I don’t win, I will be buying a copy!

  51. Marsha
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:54:06

    Jo Goodman is among my absolute favorites. If anyone could get me into Western I bet it’s her.

  52. jep
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:56:08

    I’m looking forward to reading this!!

  53. Katharina
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 15:59:46

    Oh my, this just sounds plain yummi. Thanks for another great review, just added it to my wishlist ;-)

  54. cyclops8
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 16:08:53

    I love Jo Goodman. Looking forward to reading this book.

  55. SonomaLass
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 16:12:52

    Robin recently got me hooked on Jo Goodman. She has quickly become one of my favorite romance authors. I’d love to get an ARC of her new one, because I already know I’m going to enjoy it. I’m waiting until September for TOO MANY books!

  56. Jennifer M
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 16:13:10

    Oh, I’d love to win this. I love Westerns and unfortunately there just aren’t a lot of them right now.

  57. Phyllis
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 16:23:05

    I like her English historicals and have been looking forward to this one. And FREE would be even better :)

  58. Willa
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 16:23:30

    *Drops my hat in the ring* – love a good Western and have never tried Jo Goodman.

  59. Little Lamb Lost
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 16:28:39

    I am not familiar with this author’s work but your review makes me want to go in immediate search through my library and bookstore.

  60. Kym
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 16:31:26

    It’s been a while since I read a Western that wasn’t erotic, eg, Sarah McCarty. Even if I don’t win, I’ll put this on my to-buy list.

  61. Julia
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 16:33:06

    I have read some of Jo Goodmans books and loved the ones I read, and this one sounds really interesting!

  62. Louisa Edwards
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 16:39:56

    I haven’t read a Western in forever! Oh, please let them be trending back into popularity. Sounds like Jo Goodman is doing her part. I’d love to try this one!

  63. Laura d.
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 16:42:39

    My favorite thing about Jo Goodman is that she was one of those authors I came to late — whoa, where you been all my reading life? — so I’ve had buckets of backlist. All of which has run dry, so I could use a re-fill. Plus, western? Such a very very dry bucket lately…

  64. ASable
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 16:45:29

    Yummy . . . cowboys . . . :)

  65. DS
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 16:46:50

    I haven’t read Goodman in years. Maybe it’s time to try her again.

  66. Laura
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 16:51:22

    I started reading Jo Goodman after reading a review of If His Kiss is Wicked on this site, and I’ve been devouring her back list ever since, starting with the Compass Club series (I heart West!). I’d love the chance to read one of her non-Regency novels.

  67. AnotherLori
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 16:51:45

    The only western romance I ever read was Hummingbird by LaVeryl Spencer. This sounds amazing so please throw my name in the 10 gallon hat also.

  68. Collette
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 16:53:02

    Oh my, I adore Jo Goodman. I never thought I liked Westerns until Sarah McCarty so now I can’t wait to read this one. I’ve been glomming up Jo Goodman’s backlist too. Nom, nom, nom. (Sorry, too much time with a toddler.)

  69. Kim
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 16:54:35

    I haven’t read a good western in awhile. Everything seems set in Regency England right now.

  70. Lou
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:04:53

    I have never read a Jo Goodman book before, but this looks like a great place to start. :)

    Come to think of it, the only westerns that I have read are: Sarah McCarty’s Promise series and Linda Howard’s Angel Creek and A Lady of the West. A Lady of the West – probably one of my favourite Howard books.

  71. Jenny
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:07:11

    Wow – sounds like a fun book!

  72. Amanda
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:08:21

    Oh, please…I LOVE Jo Goodman. I only discovered her with If His Kiss is Wicked and the rest is history. I’ve been looking forward to this one.

  73. Keira Soleore
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:12:40

    Me, O Me, O Me, O Me…… I’ve been dying for a copy of this book.

    Ahem. Now, off to read the post.

  74. partystripes
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:15:07

    I keep hearing good things about Jo Goodman–I need to check out her back-list. This book looks like something I’d love.

  75. has
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:16:37

    I love Jo Goodnab and discovered her books years back and Ive never been disappointed with her any of the books I have read :D

  76. Keira Soleore
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:19:47

    He wasn't sure he could spit, let alone speak, and removing his tongue from where it cleaved to the roof of his mouth required a conscious effort.

    Bwahaha. I love it when alphas go all gooey. Goodman’s characters have very strong recognizable traits and then these quirks that make them seem foreigners. That what I like about them–the discovery of who they are and then continuing to be surprised by them.

    Oh, and in case I haven’t mentioned it before… I’d be mucho mucho delighted with a copy of the book. In fact, I’ll be so delighted, I promise not to hug @Jane_l, only @Robin.

  77. SeaGrace
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:21:21

    I am dying to get my hands on this book! Jo Goodman is in my top 10 all time favorite romance authors. Gawd I love her writing. And a Western, ohh, be still my heart. Thank you Jo for writing this and thank you Kensington/Zebra for giving us back some western romance. I’ve been waiting a long time for this. Yippeee.

  78. Stacy S
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:21:33

    It sounds great. I have read her but not anything recent.

  79. Christyne Butler
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:23:57

    I’ve never read Jo Goodman but after finishing the line edits on a contemporary sheriff, I would love to visit one in the Wild West!

    Please enter me in the drawing!

  80. Suzie
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:29:25

    A new Jo Goodman and a western to boot!

    Please and thank you.

  81. Gin
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:30:56

    A western by Jo Goodman? I do enjoy her work, but I’m a sucker for a Wyatt in a pair of boots. Sign me up.

  82. cheryl c.
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:32:28

    I love a good western! Please toss my name in the ol’ cowboy hat!

  83. Penny
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:40:40

    Sounds good – I haven’t read a good western in a long time.

  84. Lenore
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:41:37

    A good romantic western would be a refreshing break from all those Regencies!

    Please, please pick me!

  85. msj
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:45:33

    Would love to read Jo Goodman again. I enjoyed many of her early books.

  86. Kristie(J)
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:46:27

    When I heard some months ago now that Jo Goodman's next book was going to be a Western, I was so tempted to dance naked in the moonlight!! In fact, the fact this one is being released soon is the motivating factor in The Great Western Drive this week.

    I've loved Westerns for a very long time now and feel that they are currently under-represented so the whole idea of the week long celebration of the Western was to get readers to try one – at least one. And with Never Love a Lawman coming out soon, what better time?

    I've loved Jo Goodman for years now and it's wonderful to see her finally starting to get the recognition she has deserved for so long.
    A Jo Goodman book + A Western = something I'm looking forward to more than many can imagine!!

    I urge everyone who is interested in trying a Western before this one comes out or after or during, to stop by and see what they are all about. As many who may know me, when I get on a mission I lose all pride and have no shame *g*

    I only quickly skimmed your review as I hope to read this one myself asap – and when I do, I'll come back and revel in it. In the meantime, I feel like dancing nude in the moonlight that you enjoyed it so much. The only thing stopping me is the fact that it's not a full moon tonight prevents me from doing just that!

  87. Statch
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:50:37

    Oooh, I want one! I love Jo Goodman.

  88. Jess
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:53:17

    I need a place to start with Westerns, hopefully this will be it :)

  89. Angela T.
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:58:25

    Sounds like a good book! Great post.

  90. AB
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 18:01:50

    Entering! :)

  91. kate
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 18:06:09

    I’ve never read any Westerns, but I love Jo Goodman. I got hooked on her recently by reading If His Kiss is Wicked and I’ve been slowly working my way through her backlist.

  92. Kate Pearce
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 18:09:14

    I just love cowboys in any era, shape or form-what more can I say?

  93. foolserrant
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 18:12:18

    Count me in! That sounds like an awesome read.

  94. Deb
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 18:17:18

    Sounds like a great book!

  95. Booklover1335
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 18:20:21

    Never read a book by Jo Goodman, but defintely intrigued after that review. You very rarely give anything like a “A” so this one has to be good. Can’t wait to read it, so obviously would love to win an ARC!

  96. Jane O
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 18:26:25

    To those of you who never read Jo Goodman and think she sounds fabulous from this review: Jo Goodman IS fabulous. She is one of my three autobuy authors. (The others are Loretta Chase and Eloisa James. Color me eclectic.)

  97. Billie Davis
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 18:30:57

    I would love to get this book. Jo Goodman is just wonderful.

  98. Danielle
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 18:31:47

    I have 99% of her books. She is one of my favorite authors.

  99. bridget3420
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 18:50:43

    I’d love to read this.

  100. Dene
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 18:54:17

    I would love a copy of this book.

  101. Amy M
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 18:54:24

    I would love to read this book. She is a new author to me, but it sounds so good!!

    Thanks so much!
    Amy M

  102. LaurieF
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 18:55:33

    Jo Goodman rocks.
    Westerns are not my favorite historicals but
    if Ms. Goodman is writing it, I’m reading it.

  103. JM
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 18:55:47

    Please enter me :)

  104. Wanda
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 18:58:21

    I would be thrilled to win a copy of this book. Please enter my name in your draw. Thanks.
    wandanamgreb (at) gmail (dot) com

  105. Tory
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 19:07:19

    I love her books — Please enter my name into the drawing!

  106. Nicole
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 19:08:24

    Oh, this sounds so good.

  107. RosettaStone
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 19:09:52

    Wow, I usually shy away from westerns, but that snippet was amazing *throws hat into ring*

  108. Tessa K.
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 19:11:29

    This sounds like a lovely read – please enter my name for the chance to win!

  109. Hydecat
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 19:19:58

    I love books that you can finish and then immediately re-read again. I’m glad I’m not the only person that does that!

  110. StefG
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 19:20:27

    Please enter my name in the drawing, Thanks! Sounds like a must buy, if I don’t win one.

  111. Vicki
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 19:38:34

    I don’t read westerns. I don’t like historicals set in America. However, Jo Goodman wrote it so I want this book. If I don’t win, I guess I’ll buy it, but it would force me to break my long tradition of never buying a western. I don’t like cowboys, but I love Jo Goodman and I’m betting this will be excellent.

  112. Kaetrin
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 19:45:18

    Can I haz it pleaze?

    I loves Jo Goodman!

  113. Camilla
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 19:48:25

    I love her books. She creates the deepest most complex characters…often victims of abuse who triumph over terrible things. She is a counselor/therapist at a community mental health center, and credits her clients with some of her inspirations.

  114. Essmr
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 19:55:51

    I just LOOOOVE Jo Goodman. I can’t wait to read this one.

  115. Caitie
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 20:02:07

    Sounds like a great read…would love to be entered:) Thanks for another awesome giveaway!

  116. ArkansasCyndi
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 20:03:49

    I’d love to read this! I would have picked up this book based just on the cover.

  117. Vanessa
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 20:06:16

    I read my first Goodman book about 9 or 10 months ago, and within a week of that first one, I stalked Borders and the ubs for almost every book she’d ever written. I read each and every one with so much joy; I was so happy to have found such an awesome new to me author!

    Sooo, I’d LOVE a copy of Never Love a Lawman, to continue with my collection :D

  118. msaggie
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 20:08:57

    I never get anything from entering these contests (I’ll buy the lottery the day I get a book), but please put me in the draw anyway! Jo Goodman is a wonderful author – especially since nowadays books are becoming shorter and thinner, her books are always a joy to read as her characters are much better developed than those from the standard 300-odd page offerings (with large font) of the current crop of romances on the shelves.

  119. Julie
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 20:19:53

    Oooh…this sounds so good. Please enter me for a chance to win a copy!

  120. Bonnie B
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 20:32:43

    I lurv Jo Goodman and need a good western to read this summer … ;p

  121. Carrie Lofty
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 20:34:28

    Yes, please :)

  122. othena13
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 20:48:55

    I love westerns. Please count me in for a chance to win.

  123. Lynz
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 20:49:29

    Bwahaha. I love it when alphas go all gooey.

    Hehehe, so do I, and Goodman totally does it right. I’m so looking forward to this book! Please enter me in the contest!

  124. lorenet
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 20:57:36

    I have never read anything by Jo Goodman. Wonder if I should add her to my TBR list?

  125. Karen W.
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 21:13:51

    Oh, I so want this book! I’m a Goodman fan, and I just LOVE westerns, so this is a must read!

    Thanks for the contest. :)

  126. Cindy
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 21:45:57

    Oooh me! Me! Me! *tosses hat in ring as I bounce up and down* I’ve been hunting high and low for a really good Western and this sounds like just the ticket. Plus I’ve not read Jo Goodman before. (I don’t think).

  127. Bonnie L.
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 22:02:41

    A western and a Goodman in one fantastic package? Yes, please!

  128. Ong
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 22:08:51

    I read JG.
    *throwing my hat into the ring*

  129. Heidi
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 22:10:01

    you had me at corset………………….

    Heidi

  130. Kat
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 22:42:28

    I’d love a copy of this. I’m still glomming Jo Goodman (the advantage of discovering a great author with an extensive backlist!). This book doesn’t come out in Australia until the end of November, so I’d love to win an ARC.

  131. Danah495
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 22:44:58

    I love Jo Goodman’s books. I would love to get an ARC. September 1st is just to far away. :p

  132. Pam P
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 23:05:00

    I’ve loved her recent historicals, now to see what I think of a western by Goodman – definitely on my wishlist.

  133. blodeuedd
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 23:56:38

    I am in :D
    haven’t read a book with a western setting in a long time

  134. Tili
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 23:58:55

    Wow, put me in the running. Sounds great!

  135. Cynthia
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 00:05:42

    I hadn’t heard about it before your review, and now I can’t help but want it bad

  136. Eva S
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 00:38:58

    I’d love a great western!

  137. d-day
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 00:42:17

    Sounds wonderful!

  138. Michelle B
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 00:42:53

    This sounds like a great read. It’s not one I would usually pick up, so I’m glad I heard about it here. I’d love to win a copy and I’ve added it to my TBB list :-)

  139. Anne F
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 01:15:21

    I love westerns. They’re the only subgenre I consistently read. Theres something about the benevolent alpha male heroes that I adore!

  140. Sam DG
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 01:16:09

    Why aren’t there more westerns? I’d adore a copy.

  141. NatalieT
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 01:41:41

    Sounds divine! I haven’t read a good western in a while.

  142. Yet Another Jenn
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 01:48:51

    This sounds fabulous! I’ve never read a Jo Goodman book. I’ll have to look up her backlist.

  143. Lorraine
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 02:14:34

    This book sounds wonderful. I’ve never read Jo Goodman. Please enter me in your drawing. If I don’t win, I think I’m going to buy this book. Thanks for all the awesome giveaways.

  144. Naomi
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 02:35:22

    I don’t think I’ve ever read a western! And Jo Goodman could write out her shopping list and I would read it. Sold! I would love to win a copy.

  145. Maija P.
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 02:42:54

    I haven’t read any of her books but would love to try. I do like westerns :)

  146. Heike M.
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 02:43:14

    I've never read Jo Goodman, and normally I only read regencies and some contemporaries you recommend…. but this one really sounds good; I would like to win a copy..

  147. maered
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 04:37:11

    Enter me, please. I love Westerns!

  148. debbie
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 04:57:48

    I love Jo Goodman. And I love Westerns. Appears lots of people do too. Here is crossing my fingers!!!

  149. srishtee
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 05:24:09

    Perfect! Goodman’s on my TBR list. And its a western too!! Please please enter me in! Here’s hoping for a good dose of luck.

  150. Mara
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 05:28:34

    Great sounding book from your review. Would love to be in with a chance to win!

  151. Tabitha
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 06:05:24

    I’ve never read Jo Goodman before. Which of her books would you recommend I start with first?

  152. Babs
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 06:07:02

    Ohhhh, haven’t read a Goodman in quite a while. This sounds lovely.

    Want, please?!?!

  153. sula
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 06:19:26

    Jo Goodman writes books to be savored like a piece of luscious dark chocolate or a fine red wine. I can lose myself in her writing for hours and even days. Usually I speed through my books, but for her I make an exception. Slow down and enjoy the beauty of good writing. :)

  154. MarchRose
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 06:20:56

    it’s some time I haven’t read a western, and this looks very interesting. Curious to see how JG will cope with this setting.

  155. Julie
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 06:40:00

    This book sounds very very good. Hopefully I’ll win.

  156. nutmeag
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 06:50:16

    I never tire of books set in Colorado. Such a lovely place. And a great storyline, to boot. Sounds like a good’un.

  157. KTT
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 07:09:20

    I have been really looking forward to this book and would love love love to win a copy!

  158. Sarah S
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 07:12:33

    Oh, this website….You guys and the Smart Bitches are converting me into a romance fan.

    Further my conversion with a copy of the book..please??

  159. Lori S.
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 07:32:09

    Sounds awesome. Sign me up!

  160. Sharon M
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 07:36:20

    This book definitely sounds like a good one and I’d love to win a copy.

  161. April
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 07:39:00

    Well, discounting the preponderance of comments here…PICK ME!!

    I’ve never read Jo Goodman, and I am always looking for a good Western Romance.

  162. Bonnie
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 07:41:18

    I would love to win a copy!

  163. Gabriela
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 07:49:46

    I have heard good things from this author but I have never read anything by her. I checked my nearest brick and mortar stores and they don’t carry anything by her. Looks like if I don’t win this contest, I will have to get the ebook version!

  164. CrystalGB
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 07:54:08

    Sounds great. Love the cover. I would love to read this book.

  165. vivi
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 07:59:47

    I would love to get the book! It’s been a long while since I have read a western.-

  166. Joni
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 08:00:41

    I’ve tried Jo Goodman once before and wasn’t overly impressed, but I’d like to give her another chance, especially within a different subgenre like Westerns instead of Historicals, so please enter me.

  167. Frannie
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 08:02:33

    I love Goodman’s books, started with Compass Club, tracked down backlists, bought what I could find (even some of the ones with the over the top “bodice ripper” cover art.) Her books are sexy and intelligent (an irresistible combination), sometimes dark, always witty. I reread them more than once and I’m so looking forward to this one. I’m really curious about how she’ll handle a western, but I know it will be brilliant.

  168. Mina
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 08:32:46

    Would love a chance to win this book!

  169. Michelle
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 08:44:19

    You guys also got me into Jo Goodman. Given how long I’ve been SO into romances and particularly historical romances, I can’t believe I’d never read her before I discovered this site. I’m really excited about reading a meaty Western again. I miss them!

  170. Karla
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 08:48:48

    Always in a mood for a good Western!
    *tosses name in hat*

  171. Robin Bayne
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 09:06:15

    Love a cowboy type once in a while :)

  172. Karenmc
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 09:15:48

    Want, please. Goodman is one of those writers who always comes through with engaging stories and memorable characters. Tracking down her backlist was a major project for me this past year.

  173. Carrie
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 09:17:56

    Please enter me…I always love a good Western romance!!

  174. Brandy W
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 09:24:51

    I’ve never tried Goodman before. It’d be get to get a copy.

  175. AnimeJune
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 09:35:04

    Aaaah! Want want want! I’ve only recently discovered Jo Goodman but I’ve fallen head over heels in love with her writing! I’d love to win a copy of “Never Love a Lawman”!!

  176. vanessa jaye
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 09:45:28

    Oooh boy, do I want this one! Win or buy, I’ll be getting it. With several much anticipated reads to get, September is shaping up to be a really good book buying month for me.

  177. joykenn
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 09:57:08

    What is with publishers and their covers. The book sound MUCH BETTER than this cover. I’d love to win a copy.

  178. Castiron
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 10:10:09

    Sounds like a fun one!

  179. dreamweaver
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 10:26:24

    by kate August 19th, 2009 at 6:06 pm
    I've never read any Westerns, but I love Jo Goodman. I got hooked on her recently by reading If His Kiss is Wicked and I've been slowly working my way through her backlist.

    ——————

    LOL – Me, too!!

    I just love her books! She writes some of the best heroes, heroines and journeys to love I have ever read. Her heroes are unlike any I have ever read – confident, but not arrogant; determined and strong-willed, but not overbearing alpha bullies, and so patient, comfortable and confident in their love for the heroine. Her heroines are great, too! I love watching the love between the hero and heroine unfold and grow over the course of the book, as the two discover each other. Her books stay with my well after I have finished reading one and I am left to bask in the afterglow of romance done right.

  180. Sabrina
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 10:53:24

    I have to admit I haven’t read Mrs. Goodman yet and would love to win this book.

    Thanks!

  181. kristenmary
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 11:01:12

    Count me in. I love Jo Goodman after you and Robin reviewed her last year.

  182. Froggy
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 11:09:41

    I would love to try Jo’s book..I haven’t heard of her before but the books sounds good

    Thanks for a chance to win!
    Froggy

  183. Jody F.
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 11:12:42

    Love a good cowboy story and this definitely sounds like a winner! Sign me up.

  184. veedee
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 11:18:28

    Haven’t read a good cowboy romance in a while, count me in!

  185. Tessa Dare
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 11:20:27

    Oh, I’m now dying to read this! But you don’t have to enter me, because I’ll buy it.

  186. Randi
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 11:26:22

    oh man, this sounds soooooo good. If I don’t win-I’m buying it!!

  187. cursingmama
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 11:36:29

    oh my *fans self* it’s been a while since I read a book with an honest to goodness cowboy… I like cowboys.

  188. Aemelia
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 11:46:38

    I always love a good western!

  189. Kathy B
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 12:04:05

    Please consider me entered! I’d read anything written by Ms. Goodman (including a grocery list!)

    Thanks.

  190. hanne
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 12:17:10

    Never read a Goodman before – but would very much like to :)

  191. Zoe Archer
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 12:17:12

    You know I love a Western hero!

  192. Lana
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 12:29:53

    I’ve never read a Goodman before! please enter me in the drawing!

  193. Lana
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 12:31:20

    Tried to comment before but I think it failed–I’ve never read a Goodman before, so please enter me! :-)

  194. Maureen
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 12:36:46

    I have read and enjoyed this author and would love to win this book!

  195. Pamela
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 13:02:15

    I started reading Goodman with her Compass Club was stunned at her ability to weave 4 stories in and out of each other so seamlessly. But I have to admit that it was only after I got a little older that I’ve come to appreciate her way of storytelling. She tells it so slowly with plot turns that are surprising yet understated (kinda like real life.)

    They only thing I can’t get over sometimes is the horrific background some of her heroines have. The idea of what some of them went through makes me a little sqeamish sometimes. I hope that’s not the case with Rachel.

    I hope you’re right about it being released as an ebook. I’m tired of waiting out delayed ebook releases.

  196. Trish
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 13:08:40

    I LOVE Jo Goodman and can’t wait to read this one. Thanks for the very good review!

  197. Ella Drake
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 13:12:09

    I haven’t read Jo Goodman, but this book sounds wonderful!

  198. Robin
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 13:21:36

    They only thing I can't get over sometimes is the horrific background some of her heroines have. The idea of what some of them went through makes me a little sqeamish sometimes. I hope that's not the case with Rachel.

    Rachel does have a secret, but she does not have the past trauma that some of Goodman’s other heroines do. It was a relief to me, too, frankly, especially after the last few books. In NLAL, Wyatt is actually more tortured by something that happened in his past than Rachel is by hers.

  199. Lorelie
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 13:24:32

    Purty pleeze?

  200. MeganS.
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 13:25:19

    Throw my name in the hat, please. I’ve never read any Goodman before, and the excerpts (and your review) are pretty persuasive!

  201. Jeanette
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 14:04:38

    I love Jo Goodman and have kept all her books. LOVE her I said

  202. Sandy D.
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 16:14:42

    I’ve never won anything from a blog! Pick me! I’ve read a lot of Jo Goodman’s books and enjoyed them….a Western will be different. I can’t remember the last Western I’ve read.

  203. Debbie D
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 16:29:33

    I would love a chance to read a Jo Goodman book. Please include me in your giveaway.
    Thanks
    Debbie

  204. Ria
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 16:48:05

    It’d be fantastic to get a chance to read this. Please include me in the list. Thanks!

  205. Sarah
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 16:52:33

    I hope this is still going on because if you have it in print form, and it only going to be ab ebook – I totally want to win the print one!

  206. Ashley Danielle
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 17:01:38

    I love Jo Goodman; her last book The Price of Desire was amazing! I’d love a chance to read a Western by her.

  207. Leslie
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 17:02:44

    Love Jo Goodman + Love Westerns = Win!

    Wonderful review Jane. This is on my TBB list but would love to win an ARC. Thanks for the chance.

  208. K
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 18:21:14

    That sounds like a fabulous book. Thanks for the review, so I know to look for it! (And an ARC would be gravy. ;) )

  209. Barbara V
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 18:34:44

    Sounds like a very sexy read! I love lawman reads.

  210. Christine L.
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 19:08:03

    Is it too late to throw my name in the cowboy hat?

  211. Marial
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 19:34:01

    Hi, I would love to try this book, since it is so highly recommended.

  212. charm
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 20:15:06

    This sounds really good. When it comes to Jo Goodman there are many more of her stories that I’ve liked than those I haven’t.

  213. Keira Soleore
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 20:15:38

    Putting in a final bid for an ARC before the comments close for the night. Meeeeeeeeeeeee, puhleeeeeeeeeeeeez. I’m dying here. Halp! Halp!

  214. Jessica
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 20:19:02

    Love Jo Goodman, but have only read If His Kiss is Wicked. This sounds great, would love to win a copy.

  215. D.L.
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 21:21:47

    Sounds delicious. Pick me!

  216. JessW
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 21:37:14

    I love all the Jo Goodman books. Compass Club quartet still my favorites. (and I managed to find them all!) Thanks for the offer of a free book.

  217. Elise
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 22:37:15

    Last minute toss of name in to hat.

%d bloggers like this: