Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW & GIVEAWAY: Hard and Fast by Erin McCarthy

UPDATE: I’ve closed the comments and will announce the winners later tonight.

Dear Readers:

book review As you know, Sarah of SmartBitches and I have been making an effort to read and promote the straight contemporary. We’ve taken May off to recover from our DABWAHA tournament and we’ll have another STC candidate coming soon. In the meantime, I want to tell you about the May release of Erin McCarthy’s Hard and Fast. The trade paperback is in bookstores today.

After I received my ARC, I wrote to Berkley to tell them how much I enjoyed the book and they offered up 20 copies to giveaway. Let me share with you why you might enjoy this book.

Imogen Wilson is a graduate student in North Carolina. She’s become friends with two wives of stock car racers (well, one former one and one current one). As a result, she has been exposed to the inner world of stock car racing including the women who live in pursuit of the elusive stock car husband. One such woman is Nikki Borden who is currently the girlfriend, or bed mate, of one Ty McCordle. Nikki carries with her “How to Marry a Race Car Driver in Six Easy Steps.” Imogen is struck with an idea for her thesis for her graduate degree in sociology–”did dating rules result in success when altered for a specific occupation?”

Imogen isn’t entirely different than Nikki. Imogen is attracted to Ty. She, like Nikki, would like to have a stock car driver induced orgasm for no other reason than Ty appeals to her.

It was utterly futile to think she could ever attract the attention of a man like that, and she needed to remember that. Why she even wanted to severely mystified her, but there was something about his joie de vivre, the way he didn’t take himself too seriously, that appealed to her. Or at least to the parts of her that resided below the waist.

Ty is not immune to Imogen either. Her book smarts appeal to him because its a strength he does not perceive himself to have. He’s street smart and determined. He’s overcome his severe dyslexia and his lack of education to become a premiere stock car racer but he lusts for knowledge and Imogen is the living, breathing, walking embodiment of that fantasy. Thankfully for both Ty and Imogen, Nikki finds herself a new, younger race car driver which leaves Ty and Imogen to explore their lust for one another.

One of the reasons I enjoyed this book so much is because it made me laugh out loud (and seriously who doesn’t need that these days). Because of Ty’s dyslexia, he cannot quite get a grip on Imogen’s name and so he calls her Emma Jean and later Engine. The exchange of nicknames continues throughout the book. After Imogen quotes lines from Much Ado About Nothing, Ty called Imogen Beatrice. When she refers to him as Mr. Checkered Flag, he fires back with Ms. Victory Lap.

And it’s sexy. Imogen is a talker and a thinker and combined with Ty’s natural proclivities to turn everything toward sex, conversations become supercharged.

"No, ma’am." He shot her a look. "I can think of a lot better things you could be doing to me with those hands."

"Part of me assumes that what you are saying is so obviously sexually charged, you don’t actually mean anything specifi c. It was just meant to be a sort of verbal foreplay. So I shouldn’t bother to ask the inevitable "like what?’ question. But the other part of me wants to know if there is actually something you would like me to do to you in bed. You know, if you have a particular fantasy or position that you’ve been contemplating."

Ty almost groaned. He did shift in his seat to try for a more comfortable angle since his jeans were suddenly cutting into him from the erection that had sprung up at her words. There was something so unbelievably hot about Imogen’s bold curiosity….

There hadn’t been any particular action he’d been thinking of when he’d spoken. He had just wanted to keep her aroused and focused on sex until he could get her back to his condo. But now that she had asked, he had a whole slideshow of positions clicking through his head. He didn’t think he could pick just one.

But it’s not all laughs. Indeed, Ty and Imogen have a wonderfully touching exchange about love and romance I’ve read recently:

Ty gave a laugh and stuck his index finger out at her. “Now that’s funny. That girl has more genuine affection for her shoes than for me.”

She couldn’t tell if he was just stating a fact, or if it bothered him that Nikki wasn’t emotionally invested in him. So she made light of it. “Good shoes are really hard to fi nd.”

“Look at you, calling up your inner smart- ass.” Ty grinned at her. “I like that from you.”

“Well, it’s true.” Imogen smiled back at him. “When you’re shoe shopping, there are all these choices but it’s so hard to fi nd the perfect pair. They don’t match your outfit right, or they’re too casual or too dressy, or they’re out of your price range. The store is out of your size, or they pinch your toes or rub your heels or give you blisters or make your feet sweat. The heel is too high or too low, or they make your ankles look fat.”

His knee bumped Imogen’s when he shifted in his seat. “But the truth is, I want to be some woman’s work boots, not her high heels.”

“Work boots?” What was sexy about that? And did women have work boots?

“Yeah. You know, the boots she pulls out when she wants to get down and dirty, hiking or gardening or boating or painting the kitchen. The ones she relies on and trusts and lives her life hard and good and on her terms in. Her favorites.”

There was been some debate about the ending of the story in which it seems that the resolution of the conflict didn’t match the enormity of the differences between Ty and Imogen. The pace of the romance was superfast and it is true that it seemed rushed at the end. Still, this was a fun, sexy read that I’ll enjoy revisiting. If you would like a copy, drop a comment in the comment box. I’ll pick 20 winners tomorrow.

Best regards

Jane

This book can be purchased in mass market from an independent bookstore or ebook format from the Sony Store and other etailers.

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

202 Comments

  1. Mireya
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:02:32

    I only got me a print copy and an ebook copy because… well … I couldnt’ wait :P It was available at Sony last night and I got it. Then I managed to mess my Sony reader this morning while downloading the latest from Angela Knight and guess what … I can’t open the book in my reader and now I have to wait until I get home *sobs pitifully*

    I can be such a friggin’ ditz.

    Of course, I am just moaning about this, not entering the giveaway ;)

  2. Laura
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:07:17

    I’d love to win a copy! I love the shoe analogy.

  3. Samantha
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:09:39

    Sound like a great book. I would love to win a copy.

  4. rebyj
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:13:39

    OO I want one. I bought “Flat Out Sexy” last night as my very first Kindle book for itouch. Scary easy to spend money I shouldn’t spend lol. But I wanted to read it before reading “Hard and Fast.

  5. ASable
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:14:56

    I was slow in getting to Erin McCarthy’s Flat Out Sexy, but it was such an enjoyable read that I pre-ordered this one for my Kindle. I wasn’t disappointed. Like Jane, I laughed out loud in places (which the poor guy stuck on the train next to me probably didn’t appreciate!). I especially liked how McCarthy wrote Imogen’s dialogue. It was highbrow and intellectual without being boring and I had the same reaction to it most of the time that Ty did–amusement. I thought the pacing of the romance at the end was a little more rushed than in FOS, but it didn’t bother me so much because I really liked the characters and was rooting for them the whole way.

    Now sigh, I just have to sit tight for the next installment which apparently won’t come out until 2010. I know it’s already May, but 2010 seems sooooo far away. :(

  6. Maija P.
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:17:32

    I don’t usually read contemporaries, but lately couple of books by Lisa Kleypas has got me hooked to this genre. I was thinking of trying more, so that’s why I would love to win one! :)

  7. Shae
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:17:54

    Ooh, I would love to win a copy. Either way, I need to read this one soon, Flat-Out Sexy was hilariously awesome and I suspect this one is just as great.

  8. Lusty Reader
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:20:12

    Ever since I saw the review by Katiebabs several weeks ago I have wanted to pick up a copy! I even added to my “cart” on Amazon but already overspent my book budget so never bought it. What else is new…

  9. molli
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:21:06

    I would love to win a copy, it sounds like a wonderful read.

  10. Bev
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:21:26

    Oh I want a copy. This sounds like absolute fun. I haven’t read a good ST contemp in a very very long time!

    Bev

  11. Uncommon Jen
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:21:44

    Is this the famous biscuit book?

  12. Teresa
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:22:08

    Sounds fun — and if the book isn’t that cover sure is! :)

  13. Lori Armstrong
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:23:17

    I adore Erin’s books, and she’s as hilarious in person as she is on the page – congrats on another job well done!

  14. Jane
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:23:31

    @Uncommon Jen It is the biscuit book!

  15. Kelly Maher
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:24:36

    Ohhh! The excerpt of this story in the back is what convinced me to read Flat Out Sexy. I’ve been anxiously awaiting it ever since!

  16. Lori
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:25:21

    Oh, I’d love to give this one a go. Sign me up!

  17. Isis FG
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:28:41

    I’d love to win a copy!!! I read Flat-Out Sexy after reading so many great reviews of it over at Goodreads and I’ve been looking forward to read Hard & Fast.

  18. Bonnie
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:30:13

    That looks good, I’d love to win a copy!

  19. JC
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:31:01

    I’d like a copy. Sign me up.

  20. Tabitha
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:33:11

    Count me in please. The Borders near me usually have the book in stock on the Sunday before release date. I went to the store this past Sunday to look for it and they didn’t have it, arggh!

  21. Donna
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:33:25

    I am trying to branch out from my urban fantasy world. This book sounds sexy, smart and funny. I definitely want a copy.

  22. HK
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:33:54

    I loved Flat Out Sexy and have been anxiously hitting the bookstores waiting for this. (I thought it was last week, and had to internet search again to realize I’d written the date down wrong.) I so so so so want to read this!

  23. Janicu
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:34:24

    Oh count me in. Katiebabs and her talk of wallbanging has me interested. :)

  24. colleen
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:36:16

    @smartbitches sent me :) Would love to win a copy! I’ve been a fan or Erin’s books for a long time. She writes great characters, and has a wonderful sense of humor. Thanks!

  25. RebekahC
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:36:22

    This sounds like a fun read! I’ll toss my name in the hat. Thanks!

    RebekahC
    littleminx (at) cox (dot) net

  26. colleen
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:37:46

    oops. My bad. It was @angelajames via @jane_l (Must figure out the “Biscuit Book” reference!)

  27. Sally
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:40:10

    I enjoyed Flat Out Sexy and can’t wait to read this one!

  28. Lou
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:40:19

    Count me in please. :)

    Looks like Flat-Out Sexy will be part of my book splurge next month.

  29. Jana J. Hanson
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:40:39

    I loved Flat Out Sexy and would love to win a copy of Hard and Fast. Plus, Ty calling Imogen “Emma Jean” cracks me up.

  30. Elaine
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:42:16

    This books sounds hot.

    I’d love a copy please.

  31. Susan C
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:44:39

    I would love to win a copy. This book sounds great!

  32. Gemma
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:44:40

    Count me in for the draw….. so long as you’re accepting non US entries (UK).

  33. TerryS
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:46:17

    I really like contemporary books with a lot of humor and it sounds like this book just fits the description perfectly.

  34. Wishverse
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:47:35

    I went out & bought Flat-Out Sexy due to the great review & many recommends that I read here at Dear Author. Flat-Out Sexy turned out to be a fun & fab read so I would love a chance at Hard & Fast.

  35. Joy
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:48:11

    As soon as I finished Flat-Out Sexy, I put this book on my TBB list. Sadly, I went stress book shopping on Friday and overspent book budget. But I need this book! what to do, what to do…

  36. Portia Da Costa
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:52:18

    Any book with biscuits in it works for me!

    Seriously, I would love to win this title. It sounds like a smashing read.

  37. Robin
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:53:29

    As someone who has never been drawn to the whole NASCAR Romance thing, I was surprised at how much I like this book (and its predecessor, Flat Out Sexy). Besides the humor, it really WAS sexy, which is something I have learned not to count on these days in most books I read. But McCarthy knows how to build and manage attraction between her characters, which IMO enhances the emotional connection that grows along with it.

    Now, though, I’m really anxious for Suzanne’s story.

  38. Louisa Edwards
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:53:51

    Pick me, pick me! The day after I hit my deadline, I’m all over the contemps I’ve been hoarding. Erin McCarthy is near the top of the list!

  39. Moth
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:54:01

    Put my name in the hat for the drawing, please.

  40. Jackie Barbosa
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:55:18

    Well, you had me hooked at the work boots discussion. That’s really one of the best analogies I’ve read in a romance in years.

  41. Kym
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:57:45

    I’ve heard good things about this series. I’d be interested to read more.

  42. Kat
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:58:42

    I keep hearing about this book. I’d love to try it. I’m very picky about contemporaries, so I rarely try new authors without solid recs from people I know.

  43. Cheryl McInnis
    May 05, 2009 @ 11:59:45

    I’m a huge fan of Erin’s and can’t wait to read Hard and Fast.
    I’d love to win a copy! ;- )

  44. Chris W
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:00:06

    Put my name in!

  45. Amanda
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:00:50

    I’ve been eyeing “Flat out Sexy” for months and I finally made up my mind, and this sounds like a GREAT book as well!

  46. Lori
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:07:11

    Sign me up. I really liked “Flat Out Sexy” and would love a copy of this one.

  47. Krissy
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:08:47

    Sounds like a great book!

  48. ArkansasCyndi
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:08:53

    Drop my PLEASE PICK ME in the hat!

  49. Shannyn
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:13:09

    When I started reading the review, I thought – not for me, I don’t get race cars. But you totally had me at the shoe analogy. I’d love to read the book

  50. Shanna
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:14:01

    Count me in, sounds good.

  51. Keri M
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:14:23

    I would love to have a copy!!

  52. Phyllis
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:14:23

    oooooh pick me pick me!

  53. Jinni
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:15:57

    mmmm. I’m skeptical of stock car racing, but enter me anyway. I’d give it a try!

  54. Greta
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:17:47

    I love racing – Indy & NASCAR and I would love to have a copy of this book.

  55. JHeller
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:20:51

    I haven’t read a Nascar romance before. I’ll try my luck in the draw.

  56. Chris
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:24:13

    I enjoyed the first book in this series and was predicting that Ty and Imogen would have their own book – looking forward to reading it! (Really, I will read it. I won’t just let drool collect on the cover.)

  57. Heather
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:25:31

    Love the cover. Enter me please.

  58. Rhonda
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:27:43

    After following the twitter rounds over this one, I’m dying to read it!

  59. SonomaLass
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:32:20

    I liked Imogen in the first book. Being an academic myself, I appreciated her bemused reaction to a lot of the car racing culture. I thought the outsider’s perspective added a lot to that story, and now I’m interested to see how the outsider becoming an insider will work.

    I’ve been contemplating buying this one, but I didn’t pre-order it; maybe I’ll win a copy!

  60. Jennifer K.
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:33:23

    I saw an advert of the contest on Twitter (thank to Jaci Burton) and thought I’d come check it out. I enjoy Erin’s books and would love to add this one to my collection.

  61. LauraB
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:35:27

    Please, please, please! May I please have one? Thanks!

  62. Hydecat
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:38:09

    Sign me up! I’m a graduate student in North Carolina, and I’ve been constantly surprised at all of the smart, awesome people down here who are into NASCAR (totally blew my pre-conceptions out of the water). NASCAR romance isn’t something I thought I’d ever read, but it sounds like Erin McCarthy is poised to change my mind.

  63. Phyl
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:38:53

    Please enter me too. Thanks so much!

  64. Amanda McKamey
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:43:08

    I’d love to win a copy if only to have it to stare at on my night stand : P

  65. Jolene
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:43:18

    Even if the book has flaws, if it causes me to laugh out loud it’s a sure winner, and a definate addition to my must-read pile.

  66. Sabrina
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:43:42

    I would love to win this book! I bought Flat out Sexy at the RT Convention book signing and would love to have this one too. :)

    Thanks for the great review! The excerpts you listed do a great job in showcasing why this would be a good read!

  67. Ashley Madden
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:45:26

    Wow, your talking about this book has made me change my mind about it. I’m not all that into race car driving, so I wasn’t particularly interested in this book. But after reading this post, I couldn’t help but be intrigued. So I’d like to enter for this, please :)

  68. Terri W.
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:46:16

    I really enjoyed reading “Flat Out Sexy” and would love to win a copy of “Hard and Fast”. I love reading Erin McCarthy’s books!

    Definately enter me in the contest too!

    Thanks!

  69. Lisa J
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:46:43

    A contemporary recommended by you – count me in!

  70. Nadia Lee
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:46:53

    I’d love to win it. Thanks! :)

  71. azteclady
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:47:05

    I’ve heard really good things about Ms McCarthy and would like to try these books out, so please toss my name in for the drawing. Thank you!

  72. che
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:48:46

    I posted a comment before when there was only one comment here. what happened? I just finished Flat Out Sexy the other day and would love a copy of the new one.

  73. Katharina
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:54:36

    This sounds totally yummi, thanks for the review, I will read the book no matter what *g*.

  74. Susan G
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:55:12

    This book is at the top of my list right now! Keeping my fingers crossed . . . .

  75. Jackie B
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:56:42

    I’ve wanted to read this since I first read the review here!

  76. Kerry Blaisdell
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:57:26

    I could use a good, fun read right about now. Thanks for hosting the giveaway, and writing such an enticing review!

  77. Kristi S.
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:58:37

    Sounds like a fun read. Throwing my name in the hat!

  78. joanne
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:06:12

    Please don’t enter me, my friend sent me a copy from the Orlando convention.

    I haven’t read it yet but I have truly, truly enjoyed walking past and glancing at the cover every hour or so.

  79. Silver James
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:08:33

    A smart AND sexy read? What’s not to love! Put my name in the random number generator please!

  80. BJ
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:09:24

    Sounds like a fun read!

  81. Jennifer
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:11:31

    Ooh! Ooh! Pick me! Pick me! I would love a copy! Flat Out Sexy was so fun! (Today is my day to abuse the !)

  82. December
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:11:46

    I just finished her Flat out Sexy – yum yum! I’d love to get my paws on this one!

  83. Oyce
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:19:21

    I haven’t read contemporaries for a while, would love to try this!

  84. Tessa
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:20:43

    I am on a contemporary kick right now, so this sounds like it would be perfect… also, as a grad student the idea of her dissertation intrigues me.
    =)

  85. Julie M
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:21:14

    Sounds like a funny book. I’d love to read it.

  86. Sarah
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:22:53

    Sounds like a fun and funny read. Keeping my fingers crossed that I win a copy.

  87. rigmarole
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:27:13

    Sign me up, please!

  88. hanne
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:30:43

    Count me in, please!

  89. Mary Beth
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:32:22

    Sounds like a fun book. I’d love to win a copy.

  90. Marsha
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:34:24

    Erin McCarthy is fast becoming a favorite of mine. I can’t wait to read this one – its predecessor was splendid and this sounds just as fun.

  91. Danielle
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:35:16

    Count me in!! I love Erin’s books.

  92. Sandy (Strlady)
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:36:45

    Okay, you have my interest. I live 1/2 mile away from the Texas Motor Speedway so I see enough of the race fans, why not read about the racers too! LOL!
    Thanks for the giveaway! Hopefully I’ll win a copy.

  93. Carol
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:37:14

    Thanks for the preview Jane! Looking forward to reading this one.

  94. Eli
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:39:08

    Came to find the title to another book you reviewed that I forgot to write down and came away with yet another one to add to the list.

  95. MO
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:39:37

    I just recently started reading the authors books and I absolutely love them. Can’t wait for this one.

  96. Cybercliper
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:46:21

    I’ve read a lot of Erin McCarthy's work and love it!! I’ve never read anything about race car driving through. Sounds like another winner from Erin.

  97. Ali
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:48:43

    Looks interesting… I’ve enjoyed Erin’s books before.. will definitely check out. I definitely want to read the ending now, too :)

  98. Kathy
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:50:09

    I loved Flat Out Sexy – what a fun book – and this sounds equally fun – please sign me up for another spin! I am always looking for a fun book.

  99. Lori
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:51:16

    I love Erin’s books. She has such a great sense of humor. Thanks for the giveaway :)

  100. Heather Holland
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:58:39

    Sounds like an awesome read. I really need to get it together and try this author some time.

  101. Shay
    May 05, 2009 @ 14:00:00

    Looks good – I’d love a copy!

  102. Jane A
    May 05, 2009 @ 14:01:56

    Count me in, I’d love to win a copy. It’s been awhile since I’ve read any of her books and now I’m wondering why that is, because I really enjoy her writing.

  103. Willa
    May 05, 2009 @ 14:10:54

    Ooh – pick me, pick me! lol!

  104. AngelaG.
    May 05, 2009 @ 14:13:18

    I read the first one and cant wait to read the second!!!!

  105. Sandy James
    May 05, 2009 @ 14:14:25

    Free book? Please count me in! Maybe someday I’ll get that type of fantastic review from Jane. A girl can dream… ;-)

  106. Has
    May 05, 2009 @ 14:14:50

    Ohhhh I would love to be entered for this giveaway. I have read a couple of Erin’s books and really enjoyed them and I need to read more contemporaries!

  107. C2
    May 05, 2009 @ 14:28:46

    I agree that the ending was a bit rushed. Still, such an enjoyable read – that Ty. Yowza! He and Imogen made me laugh out loud, too. :o) I’m already looking forward to the next installment in the series. Do we know if it will be Elec’s brother or Ryder and Suzanne?

  108. Lindsay
    May 05, 2009 @ 14:29:49

    I am so excited to read this! I loved Flat Out Sexy.

  109. RStewie
    May 05, 2009 @ 14:35:14

    I’m interested! Pick me please! Pleeeze!

  110. veedee
    May 05, 2009 @ 14:35:19

    I like Erin McCarthy but it’s been a while since I’ve read contemporary romances… time to rediscover it with this book!

  111. Deborah R
    May 05, 2009 @ 14:35:19

    This would be my first Erin McCarthy book. A friend recently recommended her as a fun & sexy writer. I would love to get my first book from you & I am sure that will lead to buying the rest. Thank for the opportunity.

  112. veedee
    May 05, 2009 @ 14:37:24

    I’ve enjoyed Erin McCarthy’s books but it’s been a while since I’ve read a contemporary romance. Maybe it’s time to rediscover contemporary again with this book!

  113. Marie
    May 05, 2009 @ 14:41:24

    Ooh I’d love to win a copy!

  114. Ericka
    May 05, 2009 @ 14:45:49

    Ooh that looks good. I haven’t read any Erin McCarthy yet but this seems like a great one to start with. Thanks for the giveaway :).

  115. Pearl
    May 05, 2009 @ 14:51:00

    I really need to read this book! Have FOS on the TBR pile and this one on the wishlist.

    A friend of mine read this book and loved it and since I’m a fan of contemporaries I’m totally in!

  116. Dana
    May 05, 2009 @ 15:20:27

    I haven’t read Erin McCarthy yet, but this looks really good. Yay for free books!

  117. Kate K
    May 05, 2009 @ 15:21:37

    I have been so looking forward to this! I loooved Elec and I think I’ll also love Ty… Count me in too!

  118. Brooke H
    May 05, 2009 @ 15:38:38

    Erin McCarthy is one of my new favorite authors and I would be thrilled to win one of me books. I’ve been looking forward to this one!

  119. Gin P
    May 05, 2009 @ 15:42:03

    Stock cars *and* romance, what more could I want? Can the romance happen in the stock car? Pick me, pick me, pick me!

  120. maered
    May 05, 2009 @ 15:50:32

    Love Erin Mccarthy. Count me in for the contest, please!

  121. Sayuri
    May 05, 2009 @ 15:52:57

    Ohh is this out today! *scurries away to ebook store….*

    Don’t enter me into the giveaway.

  122. Rylie
    May 05, 2009 @ 15:57:32

    Enter me, please!

  123. Mel
    May 05, 2009 @ 16:02:56

    I enjoyed Flat-Out Sexy, and would love to win this one.

  124. Karen
    May 05, 2009 @ 16:12:30

    I’ve been looking forward to this one — enter me, too, please!

  125. M J
    May 05, 2009 @ 16:21:38

    Very intriguing! Enter me, please.

  126. Erin T
    May 05, 2009 @ 16:24:29

    Ooh……. I am always looking to read new authors! Please enter me.

  127. Stacy S
    May 05, 2009 @ 16:39:26

    I really enjoyed the first one. Would love to win the new one.

  128. cyclops8
    May 05, 2009 @ 16:41:40

    I would love to win a copy of “Hard and Fast.” I’m a fan of Erin’s books.

  129. Castiron
    May 05, 2009 @ 16:49:10

    It sounds very entertaining! Go ahead and enter me.

  130. Kaetrin
    May 05, 2009 @ 16:51:57

    I really liked the shoe analogy. The book is on my “wish list” but I haven’t picked it up yet. Please count me in to the giveaway!

  131. Terri
    May 05, 2009 @ 16:52:14

    I would like a copy of this book. I’ve been waiting for it to come out.

  132. Tracy S
    May 05, 2009 @ 16:54:23

    I would LOVE to win this book!!

  133. Ashley V
    May 05, 2009 @ 16:55:46

    oooooo I want, I want!

  134. Caffey
    May 05, 2009 @ 16:57:36

    I love watching NASCAR and INDY. I grew up with that with my family with going to the local speedway. I think they make great heroes! I’d love to be in the contest for this! Thanks

  135. Amanda A.
    May 05, 2009 @ 17:01:34

    I would love to win a copy. Sign me up!

  136. Sarah
    May 05, 2009 @ 17:10:59

    I have this one on order but if I win I’ll cancel, Enter me please. I am so excited for this contemporary.

  137. Pat Lieberman
    May 05, 2009 @ 17:19:32

    I love Erin’s books and would be so happy if I won this one.

  138. FD
    May 05, 2009 @ 17:54:51

    I’ve been looking forward to this one since reading the excerpt in the back of Flat Out Sexy. Imogen’s cheerfully frank lustiness made me grin, and the banter created an actual snicker.

  139. Karen W.
    May 05, 2009 @ 18:00:36

    I’ve been wanting to read this book, so I’m I’m commenting in the hopes my luck will take a turn for a better. I’ve been losing more blog contests lately than I thought humanly possible by the law of averages lately. :) C’mon, Random Generator! Momma wants a new book! LOL.

  140. jep
    May 05, 2009 @ 18:11:25

    i would love to win a copy.

  141. srishtee
    May 05, 2009 @ 18:21:48

    Finally!! I’ve been looking forward to this book ever since i read Flat out sexy. Sign me up please!! And, maybe, i’d be lucky enough….

  142. KristieJ
    May 05, 2009 @ 18:24:37

    I loved Flat out Sexy – thought it was Flat out Wonderful. And ever since reading it, I’ve been panting for this one. It’s in my basket – but should I win a copy here *cheeky grin* then I could swap and get another ‘need to get’ book.

  143. Penny
    May 05, 2009 @ 18:36:06

    I read Flat Out Sexy a couple of weeks ago & really enjoyed it. It made my keeper shelf! I’m looking forward to reading Hard & Fast.

  144. ms bookjunkie
    May 05, 2009 @ 18:37:36

    I would love to win a copy. My TBR pile, OTOH, groans at the idea. Oh, well.

  145. MelissaG
    May 05, 2009 @ 18:38:33

    I would love to win a copy. I find heroes in the sporting world especially fascinating!

  146. Tili
    May 05, 2009 @ 18:42:31

    Sure, put me in the running.

  147. Sally
    May 05, 2009 @ 18:49:39

    Put my name in a hat. I would love to win a copy of this book.

  148. Leigh Ann Baird
    May 05, 2009 @ 18:54:28

    Thanks for the chance to win!

  149. Jo
    May 05, 2009 @ 18:56:12

    This sounds fun–I enjoyed the first one in the series.

  150. Christine
    May 05, 2009 @ 18:59:53

    Hi Jane!

    As someone just getting into romance novels, with a budding interest in the genre, I’d love the opportunity to read a recommendation of yours like Hard and Fast.

    Thanks!

  151. Jessie
    May 05, 2009 @ 19:08:32

    Sounds like a good book, its always nice to read a contemp

  152. Bev Stephans
    May 05, 2009 @ 19:18:12

    Count me in!

  153. othena
    May 05, 2009 @ 19:20:22

    I would love the chance to read this…count me in.

  154. Pam P
    May 05, 2009 @ 19:26:10

    Okay, you’ve convinced me to read another contemporary after reading your review.

  155. Tara Leigh
    May 05, 2009 @ 19:35:22

    Ooh Pick me! I love Erin!

    I haven’t read her in a little bit, but only because my TBR pile is two of me, wide and tall. LOL

  156. Julia
    May 05, 2009 @ 19:39:36

    Pick me!

  157. Mara
    May 05, 2009 @ 19:43:26

    Firstly, let me say I’m so glad to have found this site. SmartBitches pointed the way and I’ve been here every day for the last week. You’re great!

    Secondly, I’ve always loved straight up contemporaries. Gorgeous alpha vampires falling in love with wispy fairies works too, but let’s let each have their own time and space in the market, non?

    Thanks for this review, this is the second time I’ve heard great things about this book. Normally I would overlook anything remotely connected to NASCAR but this book seems to rise above the sport.

    And I’ll throw my virtual hat into the ring for a copy too please!

  158. Diana
    May 05, 2009 @ 19:45:58

    I’ve been anxiously waiting for the release of this book. Can’t wait to read it!

  159. Tae
    May 05, 2009 @ 19:53:55

    ooohh want in, good contemporaries are hard to find

  160. Kathy
    May 05, 2009 @ 19:56:52

    This sounds good. Add me to the pool please. :)

  161. AB
    May 05, 2009 @ 20:22:05

    Sounds interesting…please put me in the draw too :+)

  162. SaraC
    May 05, 2009 @ 20:22:13

    I really like Erin McCarthy's books, so would love to read this!

  163. MaraB
    May 05, 2009 @ 20:53:23

    It sounds like a lot of fun. I’d love a copy.

  164. Gabriela
    May 05, 2009 @ 20:57:33

    I would like to get a copy of Erin’s book. I think I read one of the previous ones in the series. But her writing is always a treat!

  165. Carol
    May 05, 2009 @ 21:12:52

    I’d love to be entered for Erin McCarthy’s book as well! She’s usually spot on with her writing. Thanks!

  166. Kimberly C.
    May 05, 2009 @ 21:29:37

    Can’t wait to read this! It sounds great. Count me in!

  167. Josie
    May 05, 2009 @ 21:50:06

    I’m getting this one whether I win or not but definitely enter me in the competition anyway! I just LOVED Flat Out Sexy and this one sounds awesome.

  168. Bonnie B
    May 05, 2009 @ 22:10:57

    Pick me! Pick me! Sounds like a winner …

  169. Jess
    May 05, 2009 @ 22:12:19

    Oh, I loved Flat Out Sexy, and can’t wait to read Ty and Imogen’s story. Will totally buy it even if I don’t win, but hey! Might get lucky and save myself a few dollars, right? !

  170. Collette
    May 05, 2009 @ 22:36:50

    I’d love to read this–I sighed aloud, Awww, when I read about the work boots. So sweet. I imagine that no matter what, I’ll be owning this one soon! I love Erin McCarthy anyway.

  171. Conscripted C
    May 05, 2009 @ 23:09:36

    I spent my book money for the quarter buy a cute electronic device- may I please have a new book?

  172. willaful
    May 05, 2009 @ 23:11:55

    I’ve heard so many good things about this author, would love to try her.

  173. Little Lamb Lost
    May 05, 2009 @ 23:29:56

    That last verbal exchange you included is wonderfully romantic and sweet. The book sounds like fun.

  174. jubee
    May 06, 2009 @ 00:07:49

    I’d love a copy!

  175. EMMANUELLE JAPPONT
    May 06, 2009 @ 00:20:07

    I’d love to get a copy !! Flat out Sexy was a great read so I imagin this one will be as well. And I agree, we do need more straight contemporary !!!
    ps : I love it when reviewer insert excerpts of the book in their reviews…

  176. kim h
    May 06, 2009 @ 00:37:56

    yes of couse darn it lol love erin books so much
    this one is hot jsut like her other, i am prasing too much it doesnt help me win lol

    but i love erin’s books thanks ladies

    whoo please couont me in

  177. Jean J.
    May 06, 2009 @ 00:58:34

    I’d like to get a copy of this book. I really liked ‘Flat Out Sexy’ and I’ve been looking forward to this one. Ty and Imogen sound like a fun couple to read about.

  178. Heather
    May 06, 2009 @ 04:16:18

    I echo an earlier comment if you are accepting non US entries please enter me (Australia) if i can’t enter good luck everyone it sounds like a great read.

  179. Karen
    May 06, 2009 @ 06:11:08

    I would love to own this book. I have been a huge fan of Erin McCarthy’s since I read her Vegas vamps. I read Flat Out Sexy and am looking forward to this one!

  180. Andrea S
    May 06, 2009 @ 06:15:55

    Book!

    I would love to win a copy. Which is funny because my one experience actually watching Nascar was pretty terrible. But somehow reading about the people involved is so very entertaining : )

  181. Mary Beth
    May 06, 2009 @ 06:19:11

    Please add me in the drawing for a chance to get Hard and Fast by Erin McCarthy. I got hooked on the Vamp series, then went back and read old novels as well. She’s got a great style!

    Thanks.

  182. Carin
    May 06, 2009 @ 06:30:43

    Oooo! Sign me up! I loved Flat Out Sexy and can’t wait for this one!

  183. Holly
    May 06, 2009 @ 06:55:58

    I’d love a copy – I loved Flat Out Sexy!

  184. Caitie
    May 06, 2009 @ 07:20:40

    I loved her last one…such a fun read:) Can’t wait for this one…sounds great…and not a trade paperback price either for once, so exciting! What a great draw:)

  185. shuzluva
    May 06, 2009 @ 07:29:13

    I’m all for STC, and would love a copy. A fun read is exactly what I’m looking for.

    Thanks!

  186. Jil Shalvis
    May 06, 2009 @ 07:45:34

    Count me in, I LOVE her books!

  187. JaimieCollette
    May 06, 2009 @ 07:50:25

    Hi! I would love to win this book! please count me in :) I know i will be reading it anyways, but free is always good!

  188. Anna
    May 06, 2009 @ 08:12:54

    My friends told me about these books. I can’t wait to read them.

  189. Leeann Burke
    May 06, 2009 @ 08:25:14

    Erin McCarthy is one of my favorite authors that I purchase all her books. I’m probably too late to be included in your giveaway, but that’s fine since I’ll be picking up a copy at a launch that I’ll attending this coming Saturday.

    Thanks for the heads up about the book Jane.

  190. Jennifer B
    May 06, 2009 @ 08:32:52

    Count me in! And thanks!

  191. Patty L.
    May 06, 2009 @ 09:16:34

    Pick me please. I went to Borders yesterday and this book was either sold out or not on the shelves yet. I asked the sales clerk and she gave me a song and dance about time constrants and such. What happened to the all mighty sale?
    She told me that they were supposed to have it, but it could be sold out. LOL

  192. Kat Duncombe
    May 06, 2009 @ 09:19:51

    I love erin mccarthy, count me in!!

  193. D.L.
    May 06, 2009 @ 09:24:43

    I would LOVE a copy of this!!!

  194. Victoria W
    May 06, 2009 @ 09:42:26

    I would love to read and review this!

  195. StacieH4
    May 06, 2009 @ 11:01:51

    I’d love to be entered to win if it isn’t too late. Thanks!

  196. Trish
    May 06, 2009 @ 11:37:27

    I can’t wait to read this one!

  197. wonald
    May 06, 2009 @ 11:50:24

    please enter me!

  198. Juliet
    May 06, 2009 @ 11:54:37

    This book looks great. I love that you include little excerpts from the books in your reviews. Thanks for doing the giveaway!

  199. Juliet
    May 06, 2009 @ 11:56:26

    Wow! I just noticed that there are almost 200 comments. :)

  200. jenifer
    May 06, 2009 @ 11:59:43

    Sounds great to me. I’d love a copy!

  201. WINNERS OF GIVEAWAY: Hard and Fast by Erin McCarthy | Dear Author: Romance Novel Reviews, Industry News, and Commentary
    May 06, 2009 @ 19:41:50

    [...] for giving away these books. We all appreciate it. If you are curious about the book, there is a review written here. This book can be purchased in mass market from an independent bookstore or ebook format from the [...]

  202. On Vacation « Tour’s Books Blog
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 13:29:25

    [...] of Erin McCarthy who blows hot and cold, but Hard and Fast really is as good as everyone says.  Dear Author reviewed it and this time I agree completely, even with their B (4.2*) rating.  [...]

%d bloggers like this: