Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW & GIVEAWAY: Flat Out Sexy by Erin McCarthy

I’ve mentioned before that the contemporary romances that doesn’t feature vampires, campy vampires, werewolves, immortal peril, mortal peril, suspense out the wahoo, or extraordinary extraterrestrial extraneous circumstances seem to be fewer and far between. Every now and again I hear declarations that the contemporary romance is a dying subgenre and it’s harder and harder to find, and that if you’re not an established name, you’ll never get anywhere, because fewer people want to read contemporary romance.

So when Sarah and I read Flat Out Sexy by Erin McCarthy, we were both blathering to each other about how awesome it was and how refreshing to have actual conflict between people caused by realistic tension stemming from ordinary life experiences between two marvelous characters. Contemporary romance done right? More please! So, following this review, read more about a multi-level contest sponsored by Dear Author, Smart Bitches, Berkeley and Erin McCarthy, a contest we hope will be a semi-regular feature here and at Smart Bitches where we try to Save the Contemporary.

***

Dear Ms. McCarthy:

I have a confession to make and it might not be one you want to hear.   I know that when you first started out, you wrote funny sexy contemporaries, then you branched out a bit and wrote funny sexy contemporaries featuring vampires.   Then you branched out even more and wrote serious contemporaries featuring various immortal beings and those books, well, they just didn’t appeal to me as much as your light hearted contemporaries.   So I admit that it was with some glee that I received Flat Out Sexy.   I recall reading this book and thinking it was a lot of fun. I hadn’t thought about it again.

Then SB Sarah emailed me about the book with an “Ohmigod, this is great”, it began an exchange of “and wasn’t this a great scene when she wondered if she was a cougar?” and wasn’t it funny when Ryder told the two of them that he was running out of properties for them to have sex on? I ended up reading the book a second time and enjoyed it just as much as the first. Straight contemporaries seem to be a dying breed and I’m always glad to through my support behind a good one.

Tamara Briggs is a thirty-two year old widow with two small kids.   Her deceased husband of a famous stock car driver who died in a crash.   She’s still, reluctantly part of the racing scene, because her in-laws but if she remarries, it will be to a “man with a regular nine-to-five job, who came home for dinner, and who cut the grass on the weekend. A man who didn’t drive around the track at one hundred and eighty-five miles an hour every weekend, tempting fate.”

Of course, who would rev up her engine but young driver, Elec Monroe.   Elec is younger than Tamara, and is the son of a racing legend, Elliott Monroe.   He had been part of the racing scene since a youth.   Initially, I think Elec is drawn to Tamara because of an aura that he thinks she exudes. He uses descriptions such as “classy, elegant, sophisticated.”   I wondered if this was an early signal to readers to prepare them that Elec was going to be emotionally ready for Tamara because the reader has to overcome the suspension of disbelief that a young man who is living a fast and glamorous life would want to settle down with a woman six years his senior.   It wasn’t hard to believe that Elec had fallen hard for Tamara.   She was a great mother, a good friend, and a caring daughter.     Plus, Elec was clearly over the moon in lust with Tamara.   I appreciated that Elec was written with a youthful touch, that there wasn’t an attempt to make him sound older or more mature and that he still acted impulsively at times.   It made their relationship more genuine and believable.

I know very little about Nascar other than having watched that bad Will Farrell movie, Talledega Nights and some special on RVs on the HGTV network which included a segment about souped up RVs for famous Nascar folks.   There were enough details in the story to make it sound authentic to me but a Nascar fan might disagree. While the book doesn’t mention “Nascar”, I just inserted it automatically since it was about pro stock car racing.

It was great fun to watch the older Tamara run like hell after their one night stand and have to bluster about it not being a one night stand when called on it by Elec.   In a nice role reversal, Tamara really does want to just have sex with Elec only he doesn’t want that and once he gets an inkling that is all she’s interested in, he takes the opportunity to set her straight.

I appreciated that Tamara’s former husband wasn’t demonized.   He fit the stereotypical athlete but not in terms of womanizing.   He was more addicted to the thrill and the fame and less addicted to his family.   One element that wasn’t explored a great deal was why Elec was different; what was it about his personality or his upbringing or his past (which actually seemed very similar to the deceased husband) that made him less interested in the trappings of a successful race car driver.

Another element that didn’t seem to get adequate attention was the Hatfield/McCoy storyline that was raised between Elec’s family and Tamara’s inlaws, both racing powerhouses.   The “secret” of the feud was never revealed.   It was unclear why it wasn’t revealed either.

Probably the greatest strength of this book besides the sexiness (and yes, it is super sexy) is the humor, so I’ll end the review with a couple of excerpts.   This is a   scene from the morning after the one night stand:

She flushed, feeling the heat rise up her neck and into her cheeks. “It’s not what it looks like,” she said to Ryder, which was perhaps the stupidest thing she had ever said in her entire life.

That ridiculous lie in the face of the obvious seemed to break through Ryder’s shock. He burst out with a laugh. “Oh, I think it’s exactly what it looks like.” He grinned. “Guess Elec saw you home safely. Knew I could count on him.”

Ryder moved through the room to his closet, still grinning. “I hate to be the voice of reason-’I mean, when does that ever happen? But it’s damn near noon. I have to grab my uniform and head to the pre-race meetings with my team. I would imagine you have to do the same, rookie.”

Oh my God.

It was Elec. “I know you,” she said, struck dumb. “You were at a barbeque at the Briggses a long time ago. You got drunk on pilfered beer and took your daddy’s car and did doughnuts on the front lawn.”

Elec rubbed his chin and gave a sheepish smile. “Guilty as charged. But they shouldn’t have left the beer keg unattended. It was too much a temptation for a teenage boy.”

Tamara started to think she just might faint. Dear God in heaven, she had slept with a teenager. She was a molester. She scooted back on the mattress, trying to get off the same pillow as him, put some space, any space, between them. “You were like twelve then! How old are you now? My Lord, Elec, I’m old enough to be your mother!”

“Don’t be ridiculous,” he said, not looking at all concerned that she had just done a Mrs. Robinson on him. He reached for her, touching her hip, hauling her back a little toward him. “That was more than ten years ago, I imagine. And if you’re old enough to have a twenty-six-year-old child, I’ll eat my car, part by part.”

“You’re twenty-six?” Tamara’s heart rate slowed a little. That didn’t sound quite as bad. She’d been thinking early twenties, but at least he was heading toward thirty.

“Well, almost. In a couple of months.”

“Oh, my God!” She panicked and ducked under the sheet.

The morning after scene is one of my favorites in the book even though the dinner with Elec, Tamara, her friend, Suzanne, Suzanne’s ex, Ty and his bimbo du jour is another priceless piece of entertainment and if a reader is interested in knowing what that scene reads like, well, she’ll have to read the book. B+

Best regards,

Jane

This book can be purchased in trade paperback from Amazon or Powells on November 4, 2008.   Ebook format forthcoming.

***

And Now: Buy a Contemporary, Save the World

Here’s the deal: we dig this book. We dig this book like damn and whoa, and we think you will too. So, in order to spread the word and the opportunity to read it we’re doing a multi-level giveaway in tandem with our reviews of Flat Out Sexy.   Sarah and I are putting money where our mouth is by offering up a 1/3 of the prize money each.   We coerced Ms. McCarthy to throw in some cash to the kitty and Berkley is adding 20 copies of the book.

Part the First: free books! Leave a comment, and you’re automatically entered to win a copy. We each have 10 copies of the book to give away, so drop a word Smart Bitches and here and double your chances. Comments will be open for 24 hours starting now.

Second: Spread the Word! Below is a Sprout widget about our campaign, and a simpler animated graphic. Right-click-and-save the graphic, or grab the Sprout for yourself (graphic at the top of the page), and put it on your site. Let us know that you’ve done so via email (sarah at smartbitchestrashybooks.com OR jane at dearauthor.com), and you’ll be entered to win a $100 gift certificate to Amazon.com, where you can buy this book, or many, many other books may suit your fancy. Spread the word, let us know, and you’re entered to win. That’s it.

Flat Out Sexy

The Spread the Word winner will be announced in 1 week, so tune in on Monday 27 October to see who wins a fierce Benjamin in our quest to Save the Contemporary.

Why? Because if there’s one thing that makes us sad, it’s the idea of contemporary romance dying out. So spread the word, buy a contemporary, and save the world.

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

230 Comments

  1. Nadia
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 04:32:57

    Count me in for the free book drawing. :)

  2. jude
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 05:31:52

    What a fun campaign idea! :)

  3. tricia
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 05:34:50

    Sounds like a great read. Thanks

  4. Leslee
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 05:36:18

    Me, too! Sounds like a fun book!

  5. Maered
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 06:00:13

    I love Erin Mccarthy! The Pregnancy Test was one of the funniest books I have ever read – and so sweet. The ending… *sigh* Count me in on the book giveaway, please

  6. Jessica
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 06:03:54

    Sounds terrific. Please count me in!

  7. moom
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 06:04:45

    I am such a freebie whore, put me in the draw too please!

  8. Gunta
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 06:15:04

    I think Erin Mccarthy books are fantastic!! Would love the free book!! Please count me in!!

  9. Kathleen O'Reilly
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 06:20:42

    I’m in!!! I haven’t read Ms. McCarthy, but heard great things, and I love the contest idea!

  10. Michelle
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 06:41:33

    I became a fan of Erin McCarthy when she won Lori Foster’s writing contest! Flat Out Sexy is on my to buy list now–thanks to your review!

  11. Stacie Mc
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 06:42:32

    Put my name in the hat please (or random number generator).

  12. Tabitha C
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 07:09:15

    This sounds good. I wanna read!! hehe

  13. ames
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 07:11:08

    Sounds great, please count me in!

  14. Susan G
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 07:15:01

    I am always on the lookout for great stories so count me in!

  15. Anji
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 07:15:52

    A straight contemporary? Woohoo!!!!

    Well, this book goes on my list!

  16. Lori
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 07:18:20

    Me too please!! And it sounds like a wonderful book!

  17. Danielle
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 07:22:26

    Count me in!

  18. Larissa Ione - Blog
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 07:32:46

    [...] Since the 5th Croft book is in Stephanie’s court right now, and I’m waiting for copyedits on Passion Unleashed, I sort of have a little extra time (which means I’m procrastinating writing a proposal for the 4th Demonica book,) so I did a little blog-hopping this morning. While be-bopping around the internet, I found an interesting post at Dear Author. [...]

  19. Hilcia
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 07:39:11

    I MISS good contemporary romances! Thank you Jane.

  20. lorelei james
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 07:43:36

    I love Erin McCarthy and this book sounds like another winner from her :)

  21. Jane O
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 07:44:15

    Sounds good -’ a contemporary without werewolves, vampires or serial killers definitely appeals.

  22. ms bookjunkie
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 07:44:36

    Woohoo! Free book! Gimme! Plz?

    *cough* Rephrasing:

    Sounds great! Count me in, please!

  23. kardis
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 07:53:12

    Wow, what a fun idea for a contest. Please include me in the free book drawing. :)

  24. Lori
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 07:57:00

    Sounds great! Count me in!

  25. Sarah
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 08:02:01

    Please enter me for the free book drawing. Unfortunately I don’t really have a place to put the widget. :(

  26. Rebecca
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 08:05:58

    I’m in!

  27. ruth
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 08:08:47

    Thanks for this great giveaway. Wonderful idea. Love Contemporary.

  28. Cindy
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 08:08:48

    This sounds like a great read! I enjoyed Smart Mouth by Ms. McCarthy but I fear it is hard to find her books around here, save the vampire ones. Being not that much into vampires, I always enjoy learning of a fun contemporary that is not set in that world.

  29. Lori
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 08:11:29

    I love Erin McCarthy! The book sounds great.

  30. Jana J. Hanson
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 08:11:36

    Sounds like a GREAT book!!

  31. Diane
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 08:20:18

    Book sounds interesting and the contest is fun!

  32. Marianne McA
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 08:33:40

    *entering*

    Thanks for the contest.

  33. Sally
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 08:42:41

    Sounds like a fun read. Count me in. Sally

  34. Kay Sisk
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 08:52:22

    What fun! Count me in. Kay

  35. Sayuri
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 08:53:07

    Erin McCarthy is an auto-buy for me so count me in!

  36. Joy
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 08:53:53

    Great idea! Count me in please :-)

  37. Denise
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 08:56:36

    Please enter me in the drawing.

  38. Mary C
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 09:06:45

    Fabulous review. I’ll read this book whether I win the contest or not.

  39. Chantel
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 09:13:22

    It’s funny, I was only recently bemoaning the lack of good new contemporary romance releases. Jane, if you know of any more please keep sending the reviews and recommendations our way! Count me in for the random draw.

  40. Love Romance Passion
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 09:13:29

    Ooo! I’m so there! :D

  41. Chris
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 09:16:22

    Erin McCarthy is flat out one of the best writers of contemporary romance today. More, please!

  42. Leah Braemel
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 09:19:51

    I love contemporaries too! Which means I’m thrilled to see this contest and post.

  43. Mary Beth
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 09:21:45

    Sounds like a fun book. Even if I don’t win a copy, I’ll try it.

  44. Karen
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 09:26:54

    Count me in for the free book drawing. But just in case I don’t win, please try to get this book out for the Kindle.

  45. ArkansasCyndi
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 09:29:31

    OHH! I want this book. I’ll grab the Save the Contemporary logo and put it to use!

  46. Shanna
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 09:42:20

    I really like Erin McCarthy, I’ve already glommed her entire backlist and I would love to read this new book.

    Off to put the sprout on my blog…

  47. AnnotatedLA
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 09:52:56

    Ohohoh… books :)

  48. Rhonda Stapleton
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:00:16

    Oooooh count me in!!! I adore Erin McCarthy’s books. :D

  49. LauraB
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:03:07

    Sounds like fun! Fingers crossed. : )

  50. Christina T.
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:09:17

    I saw this book in Romantic times and so so gald to see her back to writing a straight contemporary!! It is on to buy list!!
    I don’t have a website to put the SAVE the contemporary,but could I email to friends who read contemporaries?

  51. Jane
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:12:22

    Christina T – We definitely need to rethink the “spread the word campaign”. Proof of email might be one way to do it. We can’t change the rules for this one, but we are going to host another campaign in December for a great, great contemporary and we’ll do things differently in that one.

  52. Patti
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:13:41

    Count me in! I’d love to read a good contemporary. I’m going to check out her back list after this recommendation.

  53. Elizabeth M.
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:22:18

    This sounds fantastic. I’d love to read it! Thanks for trying to save the genre. Let’s hope it works.

  54. Alyssa
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:22:24

    I’m so happy to see another contemporary from McCarthy! I’ve really missed her.

  55. Marsha
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:26:04

    I’m not always the first to pick up a straight contemporary (what? no vamps? demons? and no reticules and coaches, either? welllllll…) but I’m game to give it a shot. And if I learn a wee bit about racing (in the same way I learn history from historicals, of course – “may contain history-like substance” I always say and I guess this book may contain a NASCAR-like substance?) my husband will be all the more appreciative.

  56. Jai
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:28:12

    I’m definitely going to check this book out (even if I don’t win one!)

  57. Rhonda
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:29:28

    Count me in, I’m all for saving good old fashion contemps!

  58. Christina T.
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:30:21

    ok great!!

  59. Christina T.
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:31:06

    I will still send it to my friends who like contemporary romance!!!

  60. Mandy Clatterbaugh
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:32:21

    The book does sound good. Count me in :-)

  61. Jessica B
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:34:17

    So excited! Erin McCarthy! Contemporaries! Free Books!

  62. Karen Erickson
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:35:36

    Sounds like a great read and I love a good contemporary read! :)

  63. Kerry Blaisdell
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:35:39

    I can’t resist. Even if I don’t win, I’ll go out and buy it. For one thing, I *write* contemporaries (without a vampire in sight ;?)), so please everyone, let’s keep the hope alive!! :?)

  64. KMont
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:43:53

    I’m game. It’s been a while since I’ve read a straight contemporary. I think I have one in the TBR pile, but this one sounds good too. and when you endorse it with “damn and whoa”, how can one resist commenting? Plus, I was born in the South, so Nascar was fed intravenously to me as a babe. Not that I watch it or anything, but it’s a kind of an innate Nasdar thing nowadays.

  65. Jane
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:49:34

    @KMont, I confess that the “damn and whoa” comes from SB Sarah. She wrote the intro but I’ll tell you that I do think it’s worth the tradepaperback price because it is all that it advertises to be: funny, sexy, and entertaining. It might not have the poignancy of say, a Kristan Higgins book, but it’s a real fun read and it was just as entertaining the second time around which can’t be said about all books.

  66. Megan
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:53:05

    Count me in, please! Looking over the list of books I’ve read this year, straight contemporaries are woefully under-represented.

  67. Jessica
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 10:59:48

    Count me in. I was just scouring the bookstore stacks (unsuccessfully) yesterday for a straight contemporary.

  68. snarkhunter
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 11:03:17

    Just throwing my name in the DA ring–this book sounds awesome.

  69. Bonnie Ferguson
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 11:05:03

    Awesome! Count me in :)

  70. Frannie
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 11:08:59

    I really like Erin McCarthy’s straight, light contemporaries – Mouth to Mouth is my absolute favourite, followed by Houston We Have a Problem. They’re funny and hot and on my keeper shelf. I’d love to be entered in the draw. I think Christie Ridgway and Rachel Gibson also do amazing contemporaries, and hope they’ll keep keep writing them as well.

  71. Bev Stephans
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 11:12:38

    Count me in!!

  72. Kristian
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 11:14:54

    FINALLY!!! I am obsessed with Erin, but sadly… not other beings from out of this world, so I have been having to re-read (like it was a hardship) her other books…
    it will be nice to get a fun, sexy read from her!!! WOOHOO!!!!

    I am spreading the word!

  73. Michelle (MG)
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 11:19:59

    This is a great idea! Contemporaries need to make a comeback. Count me in for the book and I’m spreading the word on my blog too.

    Thanks for doing this :-D

  74. katiebabs
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 11:36:05

    I just finished Flat Out Sexy and loved it also. So glad we have Erin McCarthy writing contemporaries and keeping the genre alive!
    What a great idea you and the SB’s have come up with.
    Definitely going to post about this.

  75. StacieH4
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 11:37:55

    Contemporaries are my favorite and I would love to win this one! Please add me to the mix. Thanks.

  76. Kristi
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 11:43:32

    Sounds like fun! I’d love to read it!

  77. Emma
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 11:49:11

    Count me in!

  78. Sybil
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 11:50:41

    It is beyond awesome to have Erin McCarthy return to contemps because she shines in them. I hope everyone gets a chance to read this, good luck. This is an amazingly fun read!

  79. Patty L.
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 11:58:32

    Erin is one of my all time favorite contemporary authors and like Jane I don’t really care for the darker stories, so when I heard about this book coming out I am chomping at the bit to get it. So pick me please, lol.

    I don’t have a website so this is my only chance to win, otherwise, I will be waiting for Borders to open to get it. BTW have you reviewed Erin’s YA book that is coming out in a few weeks, Speed Demon. My daughter can’t wait for it come out. She has already pre-ordered it from Amazon.

  80. Rita
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 12:04:35

    I love Erin McCarthy — but only read her contemporaries!!! I’m adding the Spread the Word widget to my blog :-)

  81. Zoe Archer
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 12:17:24

    Me likey.

  82. Jaci Burton
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 12:33:50

    Oh yay! I so love fun contemporaries! I can’t wait to read this.

  83. Claudia
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 12:34:19

    LOL–I put this on my Amz wishlist before I finished reading the post.

  84. Allison
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 12:48:52

    I can’t imagine the contemporary romance not lasting. Erin McCarthy, Rachel Gibson, Susan Donovan are some favs., and I love Erin’s contemporaries. Please count me in for the draw, thanks!

  85. willaful
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 12:54:21

    Awww, I wish I had a site to put the thingie on.

  86. Maureen
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:02:38

    Please enter me!

  87. Erin
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:03:10

    I love Erin McCarthy! I can’t wait to read this book!

  88. Jennifer A
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:04:56

    I am not a fan of paranormal, but I am a huge fan of Erin’s!!

    I’m spreading the word! :) Save the Contemporary!!!!!!

  89. Eva S
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:08:42

    Sounds great, count me in!

  90. Val Pearson
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:09:47

    I definately want in on this contest! I love love love Erin McCarthy!

  91. Donna Padgett
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:10:04

    WooHoo thanks for the great contest! Wishing everyone here a wonderful week,

    Donna P.

  92. Mel K.
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:13:06

    I enjoy contemporaries and I’ve neither read nor won anything by Erin. I’d love to win!

  93. Fedora
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:17:39

    Thanks for the review and the contest–I’m a big fan of Erin’s contemporaries!

  94. Judy Cox
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:18:00

    I have several of Erin’s books and love them all. Please put me in for the contest.

  95. Alpha Lyra
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:19:38

    Sounds awesome! Please enter me in the contest.

  96. Erin McCarthy
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:21:52

    Thanks Jane and Sarah for putting the spotlight on contemporaries! I loved writing Flat Out Sexy, and I am a happy girl to be back writing about average everyday people who are dealing with insecurities and responsibilities, and having some great sex while falling in love . :-D

  97. Pat T.
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:22:42

    This sound like a FUN read! Count me in.

  98. Erin McCarthy
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:24:44

    And thanks to all the wonderful comments from posters about my previous books! That means a ton to me as I venture back into contemps.

    Now back to writing the next book in the series… :-)

  99. Ruby
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:31:53

    Sounds like a really good book. Please enter me.

  100. Carrie - the book girl
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:32:12

    I really like Erin McCarthy’s contemporary stuff. Especially You Don’t Know Jack. I can’t wait to real Flat-out Sexy.

    I’m also getting tired of all the vamps and werewolves. I have done an entire month of paranormal reviews on my site and can’t wait to move on the the holiday romances and contemporaries!

  101. KarLynP
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:36:38

    Any contemporary by Erin McCarthy is an auto-read for me! I don’t even care what its about! I know I will buy it, devour it, and love it.

  102. Mfred
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:39:37

    Me! Oh me! Pick me! I want free books! Me me me!

  103. Christine
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:41:02

    I’d love to read Flat Out Sexy!! Please enter me in the drawing!

  104. Crystal
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:44:34

    I love Erin and would also love to see more contemporaries. Please enter me and thanks for coming up with an awesome contest.

  105. jmc
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:47:30

    This sounds like a really good book. And a straight contemporary! Count me in!

  106. Jen Drake
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:48:16

    *Entering*

    Thanks for the contest!

    and as far as contemporary romances go, it is tough to find a good one lately

  107. Animejune
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:56:01

    I am more than willing to whore for books, *lol*. That’s why there’s a Julie Anne Long widget on my blog. What’s one more for free-book goodness?

  108. Krystal
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 13:56:15

    I would love to enter the contest. I love all of the books that Erin wrote since I collect the books! :D

  109. RandomRanter
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:09:24

    Pick me!

  110. Stephanie
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:09:41

    I can’t wait for this book!!!

  111. Lori Ann
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:14:45

    Great contest! Count me in too.

  112. Sarai
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:23:30

    You know I’ve never read this author but I’m willing to give it a whirl. Sign me up!
    Thanks

  113. Jan S.
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:23:33

    Can’t wait for the book! I posted the widget on my blog..

  114. Liz L
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:29:21

    Oh yes please!

  115. Penny
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:30:18

    Great Contest. Sign me up and good luck all!

  116. tracy evans
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:30:35

    Hey, count me in for the contest. I can’t believe contemp romance is on the wane already.. that’s crazy..

  117. Lee Anne
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:34:44

    I would love to enter this contest. Sounds like a great book.

  118. Valerie
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:39:31

    Fantastic!! I love paranormals but I also highly enjoy a well crafted contemporary too!!!

    Valerie
    bookaholic and proud of it!!!

  119. CherylHC
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:39:54

    I love reading contemporaries, and I have read a lot of them lately. I don’t really understand whey they are not as popular as they used to be. The book you reviewed sounds like a winner. Please include me in the drawing. Thanks!

  120. Cheryl S.
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:40:55

    Count me in the drawing. I, too, like just plain old romances that could happen any old day. I’m tired of seeing nothing but vampires, werewolves, ETs, etc. in the contemporary romances – I do, however, like a little suspense & mystery along with my romance!

  121. cyclops8
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:43:33

    I’m a big of Erin McCarthy’s contemporaries. Looking forward to reading “Flat-Out Sexy.”

  122. Candace
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:46:09

    Count me in for the drawing. I’m a big fan of Erin Mccarthy.

  123. Doing my part to save a species | Moriah Jovan
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:52:15

    [...] Okay, so in doing my part to save the whales–uh, er, straight heterosexual contemporary romance (because “straight contemporary” is taking on a whole new connotation these days), I’m going to plug the competition: Flat Out Sexy by Erin McCarthy, as reviewed on Dear Author. [...]

  124. Sherry
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:52:44

    Sounds like a great read.

  125. Jennifer Y.
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:56:40

    What fun! Count me in! I LOVE Erin McCarthy’s books and contemporary romance is a fave subgenre of mine.

  126. BJ
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:59:22

    I LOVE Erin’s books!! I can not wait to read this one.

    Billie Jo

  127. Melani Blazer
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:06:23

    The book sounds fabulous. I’m a NASCAR nut and actually working on a racing book right now. I just checked my insane TBR and was saddened to see they were all, every last one….paranormal. A contemp would be wonderful, so count me in for the drawing. (And I’ll put this on my TBB list anyway!)

  128. Ashley H
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:07:41

    I love the contemporaries so enter me too please!!

    Ashley

  129. Sara Andrade
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:08:39

    I agree, It’s so hard to find a well-written don’t wanna put down contemporary these days. But tell me Erin McCarthy is writing it and I know I’ll be a very satisfied reader! Erin is such an awesome author. Love her!!!

    I’ve got Flat Out Sexy on my wish list but I really hope I win it here! LOL Hugs!

  130. Jenica
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:09:08

    Pick me, pick me!

  131. Joan/SarahF
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:10:47

    Ooh, me! Pick me!

  132. Clare
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:14:35

    Cool – I really like Erin McCarthy’s books.

  133. RobynL
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:14:47

    We absolutely can not let Contemporaries fall by the wayside or go asunder; I love Contemps and would be so sad to see this happen. Please enter me for the contest.

  134. Nicole L.
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:16:38

    Since I hate vampires, werewolves and all their ilk, pu-lease save the contemp!

  135. Lili
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:23:28

    I love Erin McCarthy and so glad she’s back to writing contemporaries!!!

  136. Stacy S
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:25:37

    It sounds like a great book.

  137. Heather
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:38:51

    Erin, you are a wonderful writer and I can’t wait to read the new book. From the excerpt, the book sounds as if its going to be deliciously entertaining.

  138. MaryKate
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:43:34

    Great review! I’m in!

  139. Kim S.
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:46:23

    OMG, ‘Houston’ was my first book of Erin’s and I laughed my way through it and so many others of hers!! I still reread it pretty often! And I sure can’t wait to give Flat Out Sexy a whirl too!!

  140. Elizabeth
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:48:18

    You sold me on this book! I have to read it.

  141. orannia
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 16:08:42

    Please count me in. I do have somewhere to put the widget…but first I need to work out how :)

  142. Wendy
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 16:15:57

    I’m in! I want to read this book.

  143. Emily
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 16:31:02

    Save the Contemporary! Thanks ladies for this awesome idea. Hopefully you’ll get the attention of publishers and agents alike.

    http://emilybecher.blogspot.com

  144. Phyllis
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 16:33:17

    Book? Oh sign me up :) I love Erin McCarthy :)

  145. Julia B.
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 16:38:48

    I love your review. Please count me in for the giveaway. I love contemporaries and it seems that lately they are publishing more chicklit or similar as contemporary romances. Erin McCarthy is great, and a lot of fun to read.

    I like the “Save the Contemporary” idea. I hope you’ll repeat again.

  146. Deidre
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 16:44:14

    Okay, I’m a smart bitch and I would like to win this book. LOL

    Deidre

  147. Pam P
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 16:48:57

    I confess to not reading as many contemporaries, caught up in so many historicals and paranormals, but this review is good, love to give it a try. No blog to post on, but for future, I would send it to my reader group of reading friends.

  148. Jaime W
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 16:52:13

    This book sounds great. Sign me up! :)

  149. Robin Blankenship
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 16:52:55

    I love Erin, She is one of my faves. I can not wait to read this one

  150. Julie
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 16:53:09

    did someone say free book??? Count me in for the drawing.

  151. Laurie
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 16:58:26

    I’m a huge fan of both Erin McCarthy, and fun contemporary romances. I’m all over doing anything I can to promote the contemporary. :)

  152. Lori
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 17:01:55

    I’m so happy to see Erin come out with another contemporary!! I love her contemps!

  153. DeeCee
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 17:10:00

    Please include me as well. I loved her Bad Boys Online when it came out…what 7 years ago…something like that. I kind of got away from her stories too when they went towards the paranormal kick. But she’s back to contemporaries! Yay!~

  154. Ollie
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 17:17:56

    Count me in! I posted at SBTB too :)

  155. Dee
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 17:21:10

    Sounds like a good read.

  156. Heidi
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 17:25:40

    Yea! I love contemporaries and all I seem to find are paranormals or historicals (which while nice, aren’t the same). I also ADORE Erin McCarthy and love all of her contemporaries and already have FLAT OUT SEXY on pre-order at Amazon. Erin, please find a way to write more of the New York Friends–I just loved YOU DON’T KNOW JACK and THE PREGNANCY TEST and would love to find out what happens to Caroline (Jack’s sister) so help! You write great contemporary novels and I love your books. I think my favorite of yours, though, is SMART MOUTH. What a hoot! That one makes me laugh out loud straight through, and I’ve read it several times. Thanks ladies for brining the plight of the contemporary-loving romance reader to the attention of publishers everywhere!

    Heidi in TX

  157. rowena cherry
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 17:30:06

    Flat Out Sexy sounds wonderful.

  158. I heart book gossip
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 17:30:35

    I mentioned your site and tried adding the widget. But The widget wouldn’t work. Does the picture count?

  159. Z.M.
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 17:31:52

    Pleae enter me into the contest. Love the author.

  160. SonomaLass
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 17:33:48

    I made my LONG post over at Smart Bitches, but I’ll chime in here to say that I’m glad to see a movement in favor of contemporary romance. Much as I love romantic suspense, there are times when I want the relationship without the criminal.

  161. penny2400
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 17:35:15

    Wonderful idea! I love contemporaries & I’ve enjoyed Erin McCarthy earlier books.

  162. Marie
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 17:37:03

    Count me in too please. Love the author.

  163. Debbie Beverley
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 17:53:38

    I’m a fan. I’ve read quite a few of your books and really enjoy them. The new book comes out the day after my birthday YAY!!!!

  164. Gayle
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 18:00:51

    Sounds awesome, count me in!

  165. Pamk
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 18:05:45

    I likey her funny vamps so count me in for this one. I don’t read a lot of contemps but am willing to give it a go.

  166. TracyS
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 18:06:39

    sounds like a great book. Enter me in the contest :o)

  167. MonieG
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 18:07:13

    I would LOVE to win this book.

  168. KymL
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 18:11:03

    Would love to win this book. Otherwise, I’ll have to buy it because I like Erin’s contemporary romances but am not keen on vampires. I realize I’m in the minority, but I’m rooting for a comeback of straight contemporary romances!

  169. Bzangl
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 18:27:49

    great review, and great idea for a campaign!!!

  170. Moth
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 18:38:35

    Count me in for the free book drawing too. This sounds cute!

  171. Danielle
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 18:42:18

    One of my all time favorite books is Heiress For Hire by Erin. I would love to be entered for this contest.

  172. Teresa
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 18:47:33

    Count me in…I haven’t read one of Erin’s books I didn’t love and since reading your review can’t wait for this one

  173. Rebecca
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 18:48:01

    Count me in!

  174. Pat Lieberman
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 18:50:44

    I only read contemps – and do not care for vampire, paranormal, and the like.

    Would love to win a copy of Flat Out Sexy – I love Erin’s books; they are so funny.

  175. Tami Cullen
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 18:55:25

    I love Contemporary Romances, I do not want them to go away. Count me in please!!

  176. Cheryl S.
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 19:00:13

    Oooh . . . count me in too, please. I like contemporaries and I love Erin McCarthy’s writing.

  177. Julie
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 19:00:23

    I read the review at SmartBitches and saw that there was a review here also so had to read that one too! This books sounds great! Count me in for the drawing.

  178. Barbara Elness
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 19:03:01

    I enjoy all kinds of romance, including contemporaries, so I’d love to win Erin’s book.

  179. Greta
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 19:03:12

    I have not read a book by Erin McCarthy book yet. This sounds like a great one to start with. I would love to win this book. I love contemporary romances.

  180. jenifer
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 19:08:49

    Talladega Nights bad? No way! I’d love to read this book, though I expect absolutely zero resemblance to Will Ferrel, thank goodness!!!!!

  181. Wilma Frana
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 19:40:03

    Please enter me in the drawing. I love this kind of book.

  182. marie44
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 20:01:25

    I’m all about doubling my chances – entering here and at Smart Bitches!

  183. Jen
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 20:07:25

    I would love the chance to win this book – sounds like a fun read. Thanks!

  184. Mad
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 20:19:21

    Count me in! :)

  185. carolyn Jean
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 20:20:48

    I just read my first Erin McCarthy book this past summer. It was great! I definitely want to read more. Consider me SO entered

  186. Diana
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 20:25:15

    I love Erin McCarthy’s books, especially her funny contemporaries, and I absolutely cannot wait to read Flat Out Sexy.

  187. FLAT OUT SEXY by Erin McCarthy « RR@H Novel Thoughts & Book Talk
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 20:25:50

    [...] will win a copy of this book. Head on over there and enter for the chance to get one! You can find Jane’s site here and Sarah’s site here. Good [...]

  188. Rachel Flesher
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 20:47:37

    I, myself, always enjoy a good contemporary. It generally depends on my moods, so count me in on this!

  189. Nicole
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 20:49:23

    I can’t wait to read this book. It looks fabulous.

  190. JJ
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 20:51:59

    This book sounds really good! Please sign me up.

  191. wonderings
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 20:55:27

    Oh me too! Or, erm, 191st?
    I’ve very much liked the Erin McCarthy contemps that I’ve read (haven’t tried the vampy stuff yet…).

  192. Kathleen
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 20:56:36

    I LOVE CONTEMPORARY ROMANCES!!!!!!
    And I love to read Erin’s books. They are fun,witty, bold, sensual and just the right amount of romance. Just what I love to read in a contemporary romance,,,,
    so sign me up

  193. Robin Priddy
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 21:12:16

    I use to read only paranormal but then I read Nameless and Faceless by Debra Webb. After that I was off and running. I would love to have a free book.
    Thanks Robin

  194. Diane/Anonym2857
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 21:20:02

    I am eagerly awaiting the pendulum swinging back toward straight* romances … no extra elements, no paranormal, no ebil or otherworldly creatures, etc. Just a boy and a girl (or girl/girl, boy/boy) and a relationship.

    I live in hope!

    Diane

    *straight as in only – not making a judgment about orientation

  195. Shelly A
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 21:21:57

    Love to read Erin’s books. She immediately went on my keeper shelf after reading her first book Bad Boys Online. Enjoy the humor in her books. :)

  196. Margay
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 21:34:56

    I would love a copy of this book!

  197. Susan
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 21:39:12

    Hi Jane,

    Sounds like a great book to choose for such a great contest. What an awesome idea!!!

    Thank you,
    Susan
    sbussey AT windstream.net

  198. Caitlin Hoy
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 21:40:25

    Please enter me in the free book drawing. I love all of Erin McCarthy’s books so far and am sure to love this one!
    Caitlin

  199. Gillian
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 21:43:04

    Sounds like fun! Count me in for the giveaway.

  200. Michelle
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 21:43:07

    I have ALL Erin McCarthy’s books! I love the every single one.

    Thanks for having a great contest. :)

%d bloggers like this: