Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW: Captain’s Surrender by Alex Beecroft

Dear Mrs. Beecroft,

book review I’m sorry it took me so long to finally read the book you offered to DA way back in….oh dear, was it really February? ::Winces:: Note to self: must forgo sleep in order to read more books. But better late than never.

The way you opened the book was very powerful. It gives us an immediate hit to the gut as well as a good view of one of our heroes, Midshipman Josh Andrews. He’s trapped and horrified and angry all at once as he is forced to face what might happen to him if he doesn’t watch his step. Buggery is specifically forbidden by the Articles of War to which all Navy men are subject as well as unlawful in civilian life. Poor Josh is damned no matter where he is. And if anyone ever catches him out or lures him, as was the case for the poor sod (literally) he watches hung from a yardarm, he’s on his way to a necktie party.

So he can’t move, can’t look away from poor Henderson’s final death kicks because Captain Walker is watching for any signs of sympathy, any indications that his massed ship’s company feels other than satisfaction for the morning’s hanging. And then…and then, Josh falls in lust with none other than the new first lieutenant of the HMS Nimrod whose flashy arrival disrupts Walker’s carefully staged spectacle. Lt. Peter Kenyon will pay for that by God and begins by being stuck in the same small cabin as Josh for the duration of the voyage to Bermuda. It’s a deliberate insult, as any Navy officer knows, but due to the fact that no one can challenge the captain, Peter is forced to bite back his anger.

It was at this point that I expected the novel to become an awakening of eroticism between Josh and Peter as they discover their mutual sexual attraction. Small cabin, two men, m/m plot and we’re off to the races. But it didn’t. That arrives a lot later. Instead you give us great Naval scenes designed to show life at sea during wartime on one of His Majesty’s ships.

It’s a hard life made worse if a captain, like Walker, turns petty tyrant. As Peter explains to one of the passengers, Comptroller Summersgill, even though they might not approve of what a captain is doing, the officers dare not break ranks and defy him. Strict and stern discipline while at sea is a necessity. A little bit early on could save a man’s life under a monster of a captain who really was given the power of life or death over his men by the Admiralty. They’re given the dregs of society as crewmen and if ever those men realized they could take over the ship, God help the officers. I could feel the fear of what might happen, the tension of the officers and Summersgill as they tried to maintain control and head off violence.

But even Walker’s actions began to make sense as we saw the change in him during battle. He’s a man already inclined to control who’s been placed in one of the jobs which allows him to exercise that right with near total impunity. As well, he’s addicted to the adrenaline rush of battle and so will never willingly step down from his position. The battle scenes – especially in Hudson Bay – were terrific. Detailed enough for me to believe you’ve put enormous effort into getting it right without becoming so technical that a layperson can’t understand what’s going on.

Emily Summersgill and her father are both people of sense, intelligence and courage. Thank you for not turning her into a shrew nor he into a bullying tyrant bent on seeing her married to the man of his choice. Both are rewarded in the end: she with marriage to a man she feels more comfortable with and loves and he with seeing his daughter well provided for and with a man he can respect.

I wasn’t sure about where you’d go with Adam. He’s so nice at first then has chances to become the dreaded Spurned Lover who seeks revenge. You gently guided him away from that and showed he was just a man in love who dreads seeing the woman of his dreams lost to another he knows is not truly worthy of her.

Josh’s scenes with Onichi and Giniw are such a revelation for him. There are people in the world who not only don’t condemn him for what he is but who see in him something to admire and celebrate. I’ve often thought this was one of the better aspects of most Indian tribes and can see this as the catalyst for Josh to finally reveal his true feelings and desires and hopes to Peter. But how did Josh get back from Canada to Bermuda?

At first I thought Peter’s easy acceptance of Josh’s true sexuality and entry into same was too fast and without much thought as to the possible consequences and ramifications. After all, this is a time when homosexuality was a death sentence which would surely be something Peter, as a long time Naval Officer, would know. And then there was the stuff about how Peter compared his experience with women to his physical encounters with Josh. Peter is astonished and thrilled to be in a relationship in which his partner takes the lead and embraces what they’re doing.

Up to now, his only sexual encounters have been with -as best I can interpret what you’ve written – nice, society misses who weren’t supposed to either know about sex or be experienced about it. And I’m not sure if he actually had physical intercourse with any of them or if it was just kissing or heavy petting. But you didn’t have him differentiate at this point whether or not it would have made a difference to him if a sexually experienced woman basically tossed him on a bed and had her way with him or if it was because it was a man doing this that turned him on. Did Peter ever have any thoughts or instances in his past when he contemplated sex with a man? If so, I missed them.

Peter does reflect on how society will view what he and Josh do. He sees the witch hunts against the local molly house on the island. He knows that a life with Josh won’t be easy. He does take time before he makes the final commitment and couched his reflection in terms of the honor he holds dear as a gentleman and the mores of the day. And so, do I totally buy into the fact that Peter is Gay? Not quite yet.

According to TeddyPig, if a man hasn’t gotten emotional fullfillment from his relationships with women but has with men, the whole “Straight Man discovering he’s Gay” arc works better for him. When Peter has a chance to court Emily, he discovers that though he likes her and admires her, there’s no emotional spark for him unlike how he increasingly feels about Josh. When he thinks Josh is dead, he’s devastated. Despite all the obstacles in their way, he knowingly chooses a long term committment to Josh. This helps sway me towards believing Peter is truly homosexually oriented instead of just being willing to get laid when the chance is there.

While you don’t entirely close the bedroom door, the book is noticeably subdued in terms of the sexual relationship between the two men. And to be honest, this is what makes the book work better for me. I don’t care for erotica as I’ve found I don’t get the emotional payoff I find in a romance novel. To me this book is more of a historical Gay romance instead of historical Gay erotica.

Throughout the book, I was delighted by your turns of phrase. It’s not just an ocean but a “sea, stretching out like a great sheet of mercury beneath an elegant curve of moon.” Josh proposes to Peter in a garden “where starlight slipped in bluish dapples through the white stars of jasmine.”

I’m not sure how these two are going to be able to make their long term relationship work as both appear to be determined to stay in the Naval service plus they’ll have to deal with the rumors started by Walker but they appear to be beginning it with their eyes open. I’m still not convinced that Peter’s Gay as a Gay man would see Gay or Gay as a heterosexual woman writing a Gay man would see Gay, but I enjoyed the writing, the setting and the characters you created. B+

~Jayne

PS. Jane would approve of your feebie.

This book can be purchased in trade paperback from Amazon or ebook format.

Another long time reader who read romance novels in her teens, then took a long break before started back again about 15 years ago. She enjoys historical romance/fiction best, likes contemporaries, action- adventure and mysteries, will read suspense if there's no TSTL characters and is currently reading very few paranormals.

37 Comments

  1. Erastes
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 17:22:58

    Oh how great you reviewed this, and what a good review! This is such an excellent book and is suitable for so many people. Romance, Age of Sail, gay historical romance lovers, and lovers of well-written fiction. Brava Alex, well deserved.

    And thanks, DA for reviewing more gay fiction.

  2. rebyj
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 17:36:46

    Stupid question, what time period (century) is this set in? Erastes says “Age of Sail” but I’m not familiar with the term. I doubt I’ll read this one since it’s an ebook . I still have no Kindle but I’ve dropped 4,000,001 hints and my birthday is Nov 7 so there’s always hope!

    also… QUOTE :I'm still not convinced that Peter's Gay as a Gay man would see Gay or Gay as a heterosexual woman writing a Gay man would see Gay. QUOTE

    Based on your review it sounds like something I’d enjoy. The m/m story is something that I prefer to read from a man’s point of view in a mans voice. I never intentionally read a m/m romance written by a woman . If you hadn’t specified that Alex is a woman I’d never have guessed! So I guess that bias is wrong of me.

  3. MD
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 17:56:18

    This is a print book. At least, I bought a copy of it at Amazon. The cover’s just as awful there, too.

    I’ve read m/m written by men and by women and found both equally good.
    I agree with Jayne’s review, especially in that I liked the book all the more for its being less sexually explicit than the m/m norm.

    The “Age of Sail” ran from the 16th to well into the 19th century, I think, and this book is set in the late 1700’s, if I remember correctly.

  4. rebyj
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 18:10:33

    Thanks for the date MD. I thought ebook because of the category tag up top I guess?

  5. Jayne
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 18:19:29

    I believe the date was around 1780 and I know it took place during the American Revolution.

  6. Jayne
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 18:21:43

    rebyj, the ebook tag is just to let people know that it’s available as print and ebook. Sorry if that confused people.

  7. Val Kovalin
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 18:22:43

    Yay, Jayne, for reviewing Captain’s Surrender! I, too, thought the battle scenes were thrilling. I found the novel a real stand-out in the m/m field — really the best gay romance novel that I read in 2007, and I was reading quite a lot. This is a beautifully detailed and thoughtful review, something every author hopes for but seldom gets. Thanks again from us fans of m/m fiction.

  8. Jayne
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 18:33:46

    Based on your review it sounds like something I'd enjoy. The m/m story is something that I prefer to read from a man's point of view in a mans voice. I never intentionally read a m/m romance written by a woman . If you hadn't specified that Alex is a woman I'd never have guessed! So I guess that bias is wrong of me.

    I’m still in the opening stages of carefully wending my way through m/m fiction. But…I figure if a woman can write the man’s POV believably in m/f fiction, than a woman can write good m/m fiction. Or a man could do justice to a female perspective. A good writer should be able to write anything, no?

    Still, if anyone has any suggestions for good m/m authors, I’d love to hear them. I’ve already read one book by Josh Lanyon (and not one of the Adrian English stories).

  9. Jayne
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 18:37:53

    I agree with Jayne's review, especially in that I liked the book all the more for its being less sexually explicit than the m/m norm.

    Please note, it’s not just m/m erotica that doesn’t work as well for me. It’s basically any kind of erotica involving any combo of characters. How’s that for vague yet inclusive? ;)

  10. SonomaLass
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 19:24:09

    Thanks for the freebie link! I enjoyed this book a lot, even though m/m isn’t a big interest of mine. I’m a big Horatio Hornblower (the A&E version) and Temeraire fan, and I liked the excerpt from _Captain’s Surrender_ so much that I bought the book. Now I have the free sequel, hurrah!

  11. rebyj
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 19:29:10

    Jayne, now that you explained the tag I’ll remember! Thanks!

    A few years ago I’d have sworn I’d never read m/m. There’s a lotta penis but it’s not in my neighborhood,so to speak! I’ve read I think 3 or 4 m/m but all have been historicals. I wonder why not so much contemporary or am I just not running across them? Also, has DA reviewed any Lesbian fiction?

  12. Books and Magazines Blog » Archive » Comment on REVIEW: Captain’s Surrender by Alex Beecroft by Jayne
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 19:57:35

    […] Original post by Jayne […]

  13. Jayne
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 21:23:55

    Oh, A&E Horatio Hornblower is so wonderful. I wish they’d do another set of those. And Temeraire is fantastic. I think it’s actually hard to go wrong with Naval stories. Someday, I actually plan on finishing the Aubrey/Maturin novels I have piled up instead of just looking at the covers.

  14. Jayne
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 21:30:40

    I haven’t reviewed any lesbian fiction. I’m trying to remember if anyone else has…..thinking….thinking….hmmmm, coming up with a blank. I think it’s been mentioned in discussions about m/m fiction that there are so few f/f stories out there. Seems like Angela James mentioned that Samhain was looking for submissions but just not getting any. Or many.

    It seems like a lot of m/m books are either paranormals or SF/fantasy plots. Personally, I’m with you in being more interested in either historicals or contemporaries.

  15. Val Kovalin
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 22:42:46

    Jayne, you said: “Still, if anyone has any suggestions for good m/m authors, I'd love to hear them.”

    You might enjoy

    The Phoenix by Ruth Sims (here’s my review) – historical m/m, sweeping love story set in Victorian UK/USA

    The PsyCop novels by Jordan Castillo Price
    (here’s my review) – a wonderfully creative blend of mystery, paranormal romance, comedy, and erotica.

    A Strong and Sudden Thaw by R.W. Day – Beautifully romantic m/m love story set in a futuristic/post-apocalyptic pioneer world.

    The Lord John historical mystery series by Diana Gabaldon whom most of you might know more for her Outlander series.

    The Riverside “mannerpunk” novels by Ellen Kushner which have an m/m Regency feel to them. (here’s my review of Swordspoint)

    Mordred Bastard Son by Douglas Clegg for an Arthurian m/m fantasy story. (my review here)

    and Tamara Allen’s upcoming Whistling in the Dark, a wonderful m/m love story set in NYC 1919 which puts an historically accurate and wonderfully subtle emphasis on love rather than sex. Very appealing characters!

    Hope this helps!

  16. Janine
    Oct 11, 2008 @ 02:22:22

    Still, if anyone has any suggestions for good m/m authors, I'd love to hear them. I've already read one book by Josh Lanyon (and not one of the Adrian English stories).

    I loved Wicked Gentlemen by Ginn Hale, which I reviewed here. I think you might enjoy it, since the plot is unusual and the setting even more so. The sex scenes are subtle for the most part. In the comment section of that review, readers recommended some of their favorite m/m romances to me, so you might also want to check out the suggestions in that comment thread. I think Ann Somerville recommended a book called A Strong and Sudden Thaw, which I promptly bought after reading an excerpt, and DS recommended Swordspoint, which is also a favorite of Jan’s.

    I also very much enjoyed some of the stories in the Tangle anthology, though not all of them. You can see my individual grades for the stories within my Tangle review. E.M. Forster (author of A Passage to India and A Room with a View) also has a novel, Maurice, with an m/m romance in it. I remember liking it many years ago. I’m relatively new to m/m fiction myself, but I’ve enjoyed what I’ve read so far.

  17. Teddypig
    Oct 11, 2008 @ 04:59:18

    Samantha Kane ~ Brothers In Arms series on Ellora’s Cave
    Anything by Josh Lanyon, he is in my auto buy pile now many of his books are at Loose Id.
    Anything by J.L. Langley, again an auto buy, in fact try My Fair Captain from Samhain.

  18. Alex Beecroft
    Oct 11, 2008 @ 05:54:51

    Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! I wasn’t around much yesterday, so I’ve only just seen it, and I must say it’s made my week! I’m particularly delighted, strange though it may be, that you thought Captain Walker made sense. He is such a bad guy, but I didn’t want him to be a pantomime villain so much as a man corrupted by the combination of too much privilege and an overbearing nature. I think of him as what happens when an alpha male goes wrong.

    I’m glad that Peter doesn’t read entirely gay to you. I thought of him as bisexual. He’s sexually attracted to both Emily and Josh. He could conceivably fall in love with a woman and marry her if he wasn’t already in love with Josh. That makes his choice to be faithful to Josh a more difficult one, since he does have the option of being what society thinks he ought to be. It’s difficult to get this across, though, in a society which doesn’t have either the words for, or even the modern concepts of sexual orientation. I may have bitten off more than I could chew there!

    I’m so pleased you liked the battle scenes. I’m a big Patrick O’Brien fan, and some of that rubbed off, I hope. I’m also pleased to know that the level of sex scene is about right. I’ve often worried that I’m not explicit enough, but yes, romance is what I’m going for rather than erotica.

    Thank you so much again for such a wonderful review! You can bet I’ll be telling everyone I know about it.

    As for m/m historical recommendations, my top favourites are ‘The Phoenix’ by Ruth Sims, ‘Standish’ by Erastes, ‘Ransom’ by Lee Rowan – that’s another Age of Sail book – and its sequel ‘Winds of Change’. Also ‘The Master of Seacliff’ by Max Pierce, and ‘The Back Passage’ by James Lear. I’m hearing great things about Tamara Allen’s ‘Whistling in the Dark’ too.

    I haven’t read many contemporaries, but the Adrien English series by Josh Lanyon is a must-read, and I’m loving ‘Crossing Borders’ by Z.A Maxfield which I’m reading at the moment.

    In the SF/F genre I second that vote for ‘A Strong and Sudden Thaw’, and I adored Lee Benoit’s ‘Servant of the Seasons’ series.

    I got a little off topic there! Sorry. What I mean is ‘thank you very much again!’

    Alex

  19. Jayne
    Oct 11, 2008 @ 05:56:26

    Thanks for all the suggestions!

  20. Jayne
    Oct 11, 2008 @ 06:41:47

    I'm particularly delighted, strange though it may be, that you thought Captain Walker made sense. He is such a bad guy, but I didn't want him to be a pantomime villain so much as a man corrupted by the combination of too much privilege and an overbearing nature. I think of him as what happens when an alpha male goes wrong.

    After I began reading the O’Brien novels, I got a book titled “Life in Nelson’s Navy” by Dudley Pope that has a whole chapter on captains and how the position could wreck a man who had the slightest inclination towards tyranny. And how, luckily, these men were, for the most part, the exception and not the rule.

    I agree that it would probably have been easier to discern Peter’s bisexuality in a contemporary story rather than a historical. I did try and think back on what you told us about his sexual history before I made my comments.

    I love O’Brien’s battle scenes but they definitely require a lot of background information and a degree of immersion into the book before being understandable.

  21. GrowlyCub
    Oct 11, 2008 @ 06:48:03

    Jayne,

    of all the m/m I’ve read I liked Jules Jones’ (http://www.julesjones.com) the best.

    I’ve also read Langley and liked her contemporary westerns even though the editing left a lot to be desired and really detracted from the reading experience.

  22. Alex Beecroft
    Oct 11, 2008 @ 07:08:36

    After I began reading the O'Brien novels, I got a book titled “Life in Nelson's Navy” by Dudley Pope that has a whole chapter on captains and how the position could wreck a man who had the slightest inclination towards tyranny. And how, luckily, these men were, for the most part, the exception and not the rule.

    It’s a fascinating culture, isn’t it? I have Patrick O’Brian to thank for hooking me on it. And thankfully there’s a lot of new research around that contradicts the old ‘Mutiny on the Bounty’ image of a place where it was always a hell on earth.

    *g* But it’s nice to know that my comparative lack of understanding of the technical aspects of ship-handling results in battle scenes which are easier to read. I’ll have to keep that in mind for the next one. I’ll also bear in mind what you say about backstory for future things. That would have been a way to make things clearer. Thanks again!

  23. Jayne
    Oct 11, 2008 @ 08:57:33

    “It's a fascinating culture, isn't it?” — Yes, absolutely. And I think the sheer number of book series that are set in this time period attest to that. What’s the phrase? Iron men and wooden ships…

    “But it's nice to know that my comparative lack of understanding of the technical aspects of ship-handling results in battle scenes which are easier to read.” — And here I thought you’d deliberately watered down your technical knowledge of the subject! Actually for a romance novel – and I hate to be saying this – I think this level works better. Not everyone is going to know what the names of all the sails are and how to set them. Not everyone wants to know and the subject can be taken to such an extreme as to put off readers who think “Oh, I’m not going to understand this so I’ll pass on this book.” I think you struck a nice balance between O’Brien’s level and total landlubber. A reader with little or no knowledge of “Age of Sail” ships and the handling of them can still follow the action and, if they want, go on and learn more.

  24. Mary M.
    Oct 12, 2008 @ 00:23:31

    Lol. I had to laugh at the opening lines of your review. This is the story of my life! I bought this e-book at, darn, mid-March, and even though I was dying to read it then and still am, somehow I never got around to actually reading it :(. I need to get my a$$ moving. I loved Lee Rowan’s RANSOM and from what I read I’m sure I’m going to love this one as well.

  25. Alex Beecroft
    Oct 12, 2008 @ 07:20:24

    *g* No unfortunately I’m a landlubber myself. I have a couple of friends who crew tall ships and I mercilessly run things past them to be sure the wind is in the right direction etc, but everything else is out of books, sadly. But thank you! I’ll resist the temptation to get more technical as I learn more, and make sure I keep it to this sort of level. I quite like being bemused and flabbergasted by O’Brien’s technical terms, but I know that it puts a lot of people off.

    I don’t know if you’re interested in non-fiction about the period? I’d thoroughly recommend ‘Men of Honour’ by Adam Nicolson if you are. It’s almost as exciting to read as a novel. But that’s *way* off topic. I’m sorry!

  26. Ruth Sims
    Oct 13, 2008 @ 21:25:36

    I just read your review of Alex Beecroft’s Captain’s Surrender, which is one of my favorites. The shipboard scenes were so realistic they made me queasy because I’m scared to death of the water, and she brought out a lot of believable details that were a revelation to me. Alex is a fine writer. Your review is very well done! It’s a different concept for a review and most welcome.

    Since you asked for suggestions for titles, I have a few, though they’re not by any means all of the good ones out there! My reviews for the ones I’ve listed, as well as a few others, can be found at my little blog at http://www.reviewsbyruth.wordpress.com/

    Standish, by Erastes
    Snow Moon Rising by Lori Lake (not m/m; the protagonists are women who love one another, and it’s a great historical)
    Two Spirits by Toby Johnson — unusual historical of the Navajo berdache (a must read!)
    Whistling in the Dark, but you can’t read that until next year
    and if I may immodestly suggest my own… The Phoenix. I’m not sure how to go about submitting a book for review.

    Keep the reviews coming!

    Ruth Sims
    http://www.ruthsims.com
    The Phoenix

  27. Jane
    Oct 13, 2008 @ 22:56:11

    I loved Swordspoint. I read it at the suggestion of Mrs. Giggles, I think.

  28. Jayne
    Oct 14, 2008 @ 06:05:19

    Ruth, I’ve fished your comment out of our spam hold. Long comments that also have links tend to get picked up by it. Not that we mind people who post such comments but if one stubbornly doesn’t appear, that’s generally what’s happened. ;)

    I’m prone to motion sickness so would probably be hanging over the rail of a tall ship too. Thanks for your suggestions and I’ll check out the reviews you have posted.

    Authors who want to submit books to us can fill out the contact form or email us directly (our emails are listed on the Contact page which can be accessed on the menu under the “DEAR AUTHOR” banner at the top of each page.) We used to have a submissions section but with the technical difficulties, it’s been temporarily taken down.

  29. Jayne
    Oct 14, 2008 @ 08:30:44

    Mary, I can’t tell you the number of books I have piled up right now. Some are print copies and some are ecopies but they all weigh on my mind as books I need to at least try and soon, damn it! Unfortunately, real life always seems to get in the way and it takes me far longer read them than I like.

    So authors if you’ve sent us books, please be patient. We’re trying.

  30. Jayne
    Oct 14, 2008 @ 15:00:24

    Alex, “Men of Honour” sounds terrific. I just read your review at Amazon and I doubt anyone could call it a “rah rah” “she must be the author’s wife” useless 5 star review. It’s now been added to my ‘books I wanna get’ notebook.

  31. Alex Beecroft
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 11:30:22

    *g* Thanks Jayne. I hope you enjoy it. It certainly made me leap about in hopeless navy fangirl glee ;)

  32. Wave
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 13:27:42

    I’m so pleased that Alex is getting recognition for Captain’s Surrender which was written sometime ago. I reviewed her book in June and here’s part of what I said “In the masterful telling of this tale Alex Beecroft made me believe that I was actually on the Nimrod riding the waves with those unhappy midshipmen” and “Captain's Surrender shattered any preconceived biases or notions I might have had about historical romances, particularly those involving men at sea, as I was absolutely captivated and transported to the Age of Sail.”

    What I like about Alex is that she’s so unassuming and seems to be totally unaware of what a fine writer she is. As to the sex, for those readers who want a little more, Alex has a free book called Insubordination available from allromanceebooks.com which continues the story of Peter and Josh by adding a little spice to their love life.

  33. Wave
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 13:35:50

    I forgot to mention that Alex was interviewed on my blog yesterday and she talks about Captain’s Surrender and what’s coming up, including a very big contract with Perseus Books in New York. Anyone wishing to read the interview can access it here

  34. ManLove Ebooks » Dear Author reviews M/M romance
    Oct 30, 2008 @ 23:50:55

    […] Dear Author Review Buy Captain’s Surrender at Amazon More M/M reviews at Dear Author Tags: {reviews […]

  35. Lynn
    Nov 08, 2008 @ 19:45:12

    Still, if anyone has any suggestions for good m/m authors, I'd love to hear them.

    Also agree on Ransom by Lee Rowan (another Age of Sail) and J. L. Langley’s My Fair Captain, but my absolute personal favorites are anything by the Abigail Roux/Madeleine Urban team, especially Caught Running.

    BTW, I liked Captain’s Surrender, too.

  36. Jayne
    Nov 09, 2008 @ 06:33:21

    Thanks for the rec Lynn. I’ll have to check out their excerpt.

  37. Book Review – Captain’s Surrender by Alex Beecroft « Who Reads These Books?! Ummm – me?
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 01:46:36

    […] reviews of Captain’s Surrender are found at Dear Author and Rainbow […]

%d bloggers like this: