Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW & GIVEAWAY: The Darkest Hour by Maya Banks

NOTE:   I’ll be announcing the winners later today, August 22, 2010.

Dear Ms. Banks:

I have to confess, although I think you know this already, that I am all over the place with your books. Some I have enjoyed tremendously, others have bored me, and still others make me shake my head in dismay. When I had heard you were writing books in the romantic suspense genre, I was interested because most everything I had read from you had been purely erotic in nature, meaning that the conflict was centered mostly around the relationship of the two (or more) protagonists, usually based on sexual exploration. The blurb for The Darkest Hour didn’t sound like an erotic romance and it is not.

The Darkest Hour by Maya BanksThe story opens with Ethan Kelly trying to drink himself into oblivion, again. Ethan had married his childhood love, Rachel, a young girl that became part of his family long before they were married. But Ethan loved his job as a Navy SEAL maybe more than he loved Rachel and their marriage began to disintegrate when he was gone for weeks on end, with no word when he would return. Lonely and alone, Rachel went on a relief mission and only her remains were returned to Ethan. Devastated by how he had failed Rachel, how he never gave enough of himself to her, Ethan can’t live with himself.

On the one year anniversary of her death, Ethan receives a package which suggests that his precious wife is not dead, but has instead been held in captivity in some hellhole in Cambodia. Ethan is struck by two extreme emotions: hope and hate. Hope that his beloved is still alive and hate at himself for allowing her to be a prisoner for over a year. Ethan seeks out the help of his brothers, all former military who run a security firm that rescued people, freed hostages, “blew shit up.” I loved the scene in which Ethan took his case to his brothers.

"Ethan," Donovan began in his quiet voice. "You have to know, this is probably just a hoax. Some sick joke. It might even be someone with a grudge against KGI. What better way to get us in the line of fire with our balls hanging out than to dangle Rachel in front of us like that?"

Sam nodded grimly. "We certainly have to treat it as a possible threat."

Ethan exploded in rage. He slammed into Sam, grabbed handfuls of his shirt and got into his face. "That's my wife down there in some shit hole. We aren't talking about some name-less hostage or some political pawn who doesn't matter. This is Rachel. With or without your help, I'm going in to get her."

I don’t think it is any spoiler to say that Rachel is recovered but she has amnesia. She’s addicted to drugs which were used to keep her compliant while imprisoned and her memory is like a sieve. She remembers a few people from her past, like Ethan, but not much else. She doesn’t even recall much about Ethan, just a lot of intense feeling and a foreboding.

There is a lot of emotion in this story and while the suspense is present, I thought the real story was the relationship between Ethan and Rachel. Ethan is desperate for a second chance. Rachel is haunted by fleeting memories and struggling to cope with being with Ethan again. There is tension between them that belies his whispers of love and devotion. They both have to deal with the problems of what caused their marriage to fail the first go around. Ethan, in particular, is in a pickle because no one in his family knew how bad his marriage to Rachel had become.

This book isn’t perfect. One thing that bothered me quite a bit was Ethan’s mother’s adoption of another teenage stray, Rusty. While she played a part in the conflict, Rusty was also a forgotten character for many stretches of narrative. I felt she was sequel bait and little else. At some point, I presume she will hook up with one of the many Kelly brothers.

I liked how the amnesia part was dealt with. Rachel felt confused and guilty and needy, all at the same time:

"Will you take a bath with me?" she blurted.

He blinked in surprise, and for a long moment he didn't say anything. He seemed to struggle with exactly what to say, how to respond.

"You used to wash my hair. I remember you touching me."

Fire built in his eyes, sparking the blue until it resembled a storm front.

"Are you sure, baby? I don't want to do anything to make you uncomfortable."

She shrugged, hating the awkwardness of asking her husband, her husband, to be intimate with her again.

But I would have liked to have seen more of Rachel’s recovery from her addiction to drugs and whether it had any long lasting effects (it didn’t seem like it did) particularly when I thought that the drug addiction was in place of Rachel being sexually assaulted (which it appears that she was not).   The suspense doesn’t pick up until the second half of the book and while present, my focus was on the rebuilding of the marriage between the amnesiac Rachel and the guilt ridden Ethan.

Also, while I didn’t mind this, I can see some people being frustrated with Rachel because she is weak and often being taken care of by the Kelly men, and the local law enforcement, Sean (who might also be future hero for Rusty) but given that she was a recovering drug addict who had been imprisoned for a year in Cambodia who was also struggling with regaining her memory, I cut her some slack.   Who wouldn’t be a basket case, right?

I was very satisfied, emotionally, by the romance.   Bring on the rest of the Kelly brothers!   B

Best regards,

Jane

I have 10 books to giveaway and if you leave a comment and tell us the title of the last good book you’ve read (because I’m nosy like that), I’ll enter you to win one of the 10 copies. Thanks to Berkley and Maya Banks for the giveaway. You can read an excerpt of the book here.

Book Link | Kindle | Amazon | nook | BN | Borders
| Sony| BooksonBoard

This is a mass market to be released on September 7, 2010 by Berkley, a division of Penguin Books. Penguin engages in Agency pricing.

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

240 Comments

  1. Marsha
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 04:34:36

    I’ve not read a SEAL book before. This one sounds like an ideal introduction. Plus, you know, that cover. Ahem. We don’t build ‘em like that where I’m from.

    The last good book I’ve read would have to be Duran’s The Duke of Shadows. I just got to it a few weeks ago and it’s a Keeper for me for sure.

  2. ms bookjunkie
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 04:36:17

    I loved Victoria Dahl’s A LITTE BIT WILD enough to order her historical backlist. (I already own all of her contemporaries.)

  3. El
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 04:38:03

    Do rereads count? Komarr, by Lois McMaster Bujold.

  4. ShellBell
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 04:49:07

    Maya Banks is one of my favourite authors, but guaranteed that this will be yet another eBook that I won’t be able to purchase due to geographical restrictions!

  5. Kate K
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 05:09:50

    The last A read I had was Nalini Singh’s novella, Whisper of Sin. I love those changelings!!!

  6. Leontine
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 05:10:57

    I really like the sound of the emotional development/struggles of Rachel and Ethan. The last good book I’ve read…Amy Lane with Keeping promise Rock really impresed the daylights out of me!

  7. MIcheleKS
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 05:34:00

    Great cover and it sounds pretty good, too.

    The last great book I read was the one I just finished: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson.

  8. Lobo
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 05:34:15

    The last really good book that I just finished was Been Here a Thousand Years by Mariolina Venezia. I love magical realism and she delivered just that.

  9. Raine
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 05:44:11

    Interesting story… Tempted to start reading books by Maya banks.

    The last book I read: ruthless by anne stuart. Also a new author to me. I loved it so much that I ended up ordering her backlist.

  10. Debbie R.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 05:45:18

    I liked the way you wrote your review. I have also had a love/? relationship with Ms. Banks’ books.

    The last really good book I read was Eris by D. Renee Bagby.

  11. Denise
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 06:53:29

    The last book I read was Imperium by Robert Harris. Recommended to me by a friend. The narrator is Tiro, Cicero’s scribe and the inventor of shorthand. Loved it!

  12. Cheryl McInnis
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 07:02:59

    Just finished up Shadows at Midnight by Elizabeth Jennings…really enjoyed it!

  13. JessW
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 07:06:38

    Last book I read was Unspeakable by Laura Griffin. Liked the book a lot, although not as much as Untraceable, the first one in that series.

  14. Joannef
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 07:19:03

    Oooh, this book sounds good!

    Last book I enjoyed was “Love in the Afternoon” by Lisa Kleypas. Not my fave by her, but still enjoyable.

  15. Danielle D
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 07:24:42

    The last good book I read was Shadows at Midnight by Elizabeth Jennings.

    I can’t wait to read this book.

  16. kathrynkins
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 07:26:02

    Last good book I read was “Into the Wilderness” by Sara Donati.

  17. Pam Keener
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 07:34:22

    The last book I read was Welcome to Harmony. I am currently reading Still The One by Robin Wells.
    Love & Hugs,
    Pam

  18. KC
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 07:38:33

    Sounds like a promising start to the series! The last good book I read was “Ruthless” by Anne Stuart – LOVED Francis!

  19. SandyH
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 07:41:29

    I will have to read this book sounds interesting. Last book I read was Captured by Moonlight – Nancy Gideon. Very interesting series.

  20. Rylie
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 07:42:18

    The last good book I’ve read is “Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour” by Morgan Matson.

  21. elaing8
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 07:42:20

    I’m looking forward to reading this book.
    The last book I read was Dark Embers by Tessa Adams

  22. Linda Henderson
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 07:44:35

    I really enjoy Maya Banks’s books so I’d love to win a copy of this one. The last good book I read was The Missing by Shiloh Walker.

  23. Christine M.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 07:44:51

    Ilona Andrews’ Magic Bleeds. (But I have to confess that I haven’t been reading much in the last 4-5 months. On the other hand, I kept buying books anyway so my TBR pile of books that look awesome is *huge*.)

  24. Jenn L
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 07:52:12

    A Desperate Longing by Brenda Willamson. it was a reread for me but it must be good if I read it for the second time. I was in the mod for suspense and a sexy Police Officer hero. This book fits that bill nicely.

  25. farmwifetwo
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 08:09:52

    Jennifer Estep’s Spider books. I have Spider’s Bite and Web of lies on my kobo. Spider’s Bite is the better of the 2. I’ve gotten stuck in the middle of WoL… it’s good but….

  26. D. Renee Bagby
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 08:21:11

    Comment #10 = Debbie R. – *HUGS* You’re so sweet! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    ~ Renee

  27. Jean
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 08:21:41

    Eyes of Silver, Eyes of Gold by Ellen O’Connell (Western Historical)or possibly A Matter of Class by Mary Balogh (traditional Regency).

  28. Jess W.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 08:22:50

    I just had 2 books going. I reread Blue Eyed Devil (an all time fav and I needed a Hardy fix :) and I just finished the new Brenda Novak book, White Heat. Thanks for the contest!

  29. Missy Ann
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 08:25:58

    Does it count if I’m almost finished with it? Johannes Cabal The Detective by Jonathan L. Howard. *love*

  30. Heather S
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 08:34:44

    I cannot wait to read this book!

    Just finished reading Till Dawn with the Devil by Alexandra Hawkins. Stayed up late to finish. And loved it!

  31. rhonni
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 08:38:38

    I really enjoy the way that Maya Banks builds the suspense within the relationships in her stories. **And** whoever is in charge of her cover art is my new secret friend.

    I just finished reading “Water Bound” by Christine Feehan, and loved it enough to stall on opening my next read, so that I can replay scenes in my head for awhile.

  32. Diane V
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 08:39:41

    Would love to win this – but if not I’m buying it and taking it with me on vacation September 11th.

    Toss up between last two books I read which one I loved the most: Elizabeth Jennings “Shadows at Midnight” or Stacia Kane’s “City of Ghosts”.

  33. Diane M.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 08:46:10

    Reread Victorious Star by Morgan Hawke.

  34. Angelique
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 08:52:34

    I’m currently reading Victoria Dahl’s “Crazy for Love” and I’m enjoying it. Just finished Lisa Kleypas’ “Married by Morning” and thought it was wonderful!

  35. Babs
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 08:53:35

    Oh, I’ve got the same love-hate thing with Banks books…but I keep buying them!

    Just finished French’s “Faithful Place: A Novel” and Dare’s “Three Nights with a Scoundrel”

  36. Jen X
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 08:55:26

    Last good book I read was Elizabeth Hoyt’s, Wicked Intentions. Liked it lots!

    Prior to that I read Megan Hart’s, Pleasure and Purpose, also very good which surprised me because I never figured me to be a historical fantasy type of gal. =)

  37. lorenet
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:00:08

    I can’t wait to read this!

  38. Eva / TXBookjunkie
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:01:54

    I haven’t read a lot of Maya Bank’s books, but this one is definitely on my to read list.

    Last book I enjoyed reading was Nancy Gideon’s Masked by Moonlight.

  39. Joni
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:03:40

    Captives of the Night by Loretta Chase. I realize it’s a rather old book, but it took me some time to get my hands on it.

  40. Lisa J
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:05:29

    This one sounds great. I’m definitely going to pick it up.

  41. lorenet
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:07:41

    and the last book I read was Insatible by Lauren Dane. Great heroine.

  42. Amy D
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:08:27

    I have not read a romance novel in a while… But i just got done reading Pride and Prejudice again and I still think it is one of the greatest love stories in the world!!!

  43. Lisa J
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:10:23

    Sorry. I forgot to list the last book I enjoyed. The best one I’ve read lately – Nalini Singh’s Bonds of Justice. I also really enjoyed Ria’s story in the Burning Up anthology.

  44. Sharon M
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:11:19

    I finished up two books that I was reading simultaneously and I liked both of them: I’ll Become the Sea by Rebecca Rogers Maher and Water Bound by Christine Feehan.

  45. ruth
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:14:27

    Water Bound by Feehan is the last great book I read. I really enjoyed it. It is way better then the last Drake sister book. I am looking forward to the next book and to see where this series will go.

    I enjoyed your review. :0)

  46. Lori S.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:16:29

    The last really good book I read was Instant Gratification by Jill Shalvis. Those Wilder brothers never fail to make me all warm and fuzzy.

  47. azteclady
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:23:05

    The last good book I’ve read? Gah, I’ve been reading up a storm, let me see…

    I liked Jodi Thomas’ Welcome to Harmony quite a bit. I just reread Dorothy L. Sayers’ Whose Body?, which is excellent. Robin D. Owens’ Heart Dance, book 7 in her Heart series–very, very good. Oh and I also just read Shannon Stacey’s 72 Hours, from her Adrenaline anthology.

    There are more, but these are off the top of my head.

    Thank you for the chance to win a copy of The Darkest Hour!

  48. Tracy S
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:36:19

    This sounds like a great book!!

    I just finished BENDING THE RULES by Susan Andersen. I loved it and can’t wait for Ava’s story!

  49. Cecile
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:40:58

    The last good book I read was Simple Need by Lissa Matthews. Awesome book!
    Thanks for the chance of winning!
    alliwantandmorebooks@ gmail.com

  50. Mikaela
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:41:47

    I have to pick? Well. The last good book I read was Archangel’s kiss by Nalini Singh.

  51. ChrisO
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:53:31

    I was surprised how much I enjoyed Meljean Brook’s contribution “Here There Be Monsters” to the Burning Up anthology. I’ve never read her before but I might need to start checking out her backlist.

  52. Anne
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:55:22

    Last good book I read… probably when I reread Lord of Scoundrels!

  53. Jo O
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:55:38

    It’s got to be two books for me as they both arrived on the same day and I can’t remember which one I read first – Cast in Chaos by Michelle Sagara and Imager’s Intrigue by L E Modesitt Jr.

  54. Donyale
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 09:57:51

    I read 2 books by Maya and enjoyed them… Look foward to reading more from her…
    I just finished insatiable by Lauren Dane loved it

  55. mbot565
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:00:47

    The last good book I read was a re-read of “Glutton for Pleasures” by Alisha Rai. It’s such a fun erotic book, I loved it.

    Hope to be able to win a copy of The Darkest Hour! I love Maya Banks precisely because I never quite know where she’s taking me with one of her books. Erotic or not, doesn’t really matter with me.

  56. Heather
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:01:13

    I’m always looking for new romantic suspense authors because the ones I love don’t write fast enough. :)

    Just finished Sureblood by Susan Grant last night. I love her Borderlands books.

  57. Corina
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:01:24

    The last good book I read was Behold Here’s Poison by Georgette Heyer. I’ve been on a bit of a cold streak with romance novels. The last few I’ve picked up I haven’t found interesting enough to finish. I’ll need to check out some of these recommendations!

  58. Pamk
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:06:56

    I just finished When Blood Calls by JK Beck. Very interesting paranormal. Like a paranormal Law & Order. Not the boring one but the SVU one that rocks.

  59. LoriK
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:08:40

    I’m also all over the place with Maya Banks’ books but this one sounds good.

    The last book I read that I really enjoyed was Nora Roberts’ latest, The Search.

  60. Emma_I
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:11:12

    The last good book I read was Bad Moon Rising by Sherrilyn Kenyon. I came across it in the library – it’s always good to find new authors to read.

  61. Amy P.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:15:36

    Yeah – a new romantic suspense book – I love these!!

    Just finished Suzanne Brockmann’s book “Infamous” – great quick read!!

  62. Leslie
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:16:49

    Just read and LOVED Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley. Also listened to the audiobook. An 11 year old heroine with a fondness for poison racketing around her corner of England trying to solve a murder. A unique POV for adult mysteries and sometimes I had to think “did she say that because she is a budding sociopath or because she is 11?” That was fun.

  63. JoJo
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:16:50

    Last good book was Deadly Fear by Cynthia Eden. Loved the mix of pure suspense with hot romance!

  64. Nadia Lee
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:19:23

    The last book I really liked was CATCHING FIRE. I can’t wait for MOCKINGJAY.

  65. Anne
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:21:30

    I just finished the “Art of Racing in the Rain.” I can see why there’s all that fuss about the book.

  66. Jill Shalvis
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:24:33

    This is an expensive site for me, I constantly find new books I must have and this is one of them. I’m reading Water Bound, also because of this site. :)

  67. Tabatha
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:25:56

    Lover Avenged by jrward wonderful collection of books!

  68. Sabrina D.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:26:19

    The last good book I read was The Next Accident by Lisa Gardner…absolutely loved it. I am impatiently waiting for Darkest Hour to release and am only slightly bitter about it not releasing until the day after I get back from vacation, think it would be a great vacation read!

  69. Anglique L.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:26:22

    Loose Girl: a memoir of promiscuity by Kerry Cohen.

  70. Denise
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:26:36

    Maya Banks is an amazing author and counting the days till the Colter story continues…All of her books are amazing.

    I just finished ready Forty-eight hour burn by Tonya Ramajos on my kindle.

  71. Kelly Thrash
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:27:22

    I freaking love Maya Banks and I have really enjoyed everything I have read by her. I’ve been reading through Susan SIzemore’s Prime series and really enjoying them. But I have also been re-reading Feehan’s Drak series and Drake Sisters, I also love the new Sisters of the Heart series she just started.

  72. Kelly_Y
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:28:11

    I have read several new books (or new to me) over the last few weeks, but I think the best one I read was Linda Howard’s new book Veil of Night.

  73. krystal
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:28:33

    the last book i read was water bound by christine feehan

  74. AmyJ
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:29:35

    YEAH!!! Another Maya Banks Book I can’t wait!
    Currently Reading Shoulda Been A Cowboy (Rough Riders #7) by Lorelei James

  75. tonyagullino
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:32:20

    I’m reading Extreme Danger by Shannon Mckenna. I love Maya Banks!

  76. Sharon S
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:37:29

    The most recent AMAZING book I read was The Homecoming by JoAnn Ross.
    P.S…..I love Maya Banks!

  77. AndreaY
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:37:52

    For a good romantic suspense, any of the Elite Ops books by Lora Leigh, but the last one I read by her was Black Jack. I also just read Lover Mine by J. R. Ward (vampire/urban fantasy), and, of course Wild by Maya banks.

  78. Pearl
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:40:10

    Last book I read that blew me away was SHADOWS AT MIDNIGHT by Elizabeth Jennings! Loved that book!

  79. Amanda
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:41:28

    I just started Nalini Salingh changeling series and I’m in love!!

  80. Elizabeth Owen
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:42:08

    The last book i read was dangerous Games by Lora leigh which i loved as it was about stong Alpha Males!

  81. trish
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:42:19

    just.finished reading forbidden pleasure for lora leigh for tue tenth time I love flipping between your books and hers !

  82. Aldona
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:43:40

    The most enchanting, engaging and satisfying book I’ve read this summer is “The Guernsey Literary And Potato Peel Pie Society”. There’s intrigue and romance, a bit of history,a couple of lovable eccentric characters, and a happily ever after. And, this book was written by a librarian!

    Happy Reading Everyone!

  83. smkash
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:44:58

    The last book I read was “Linger” by Maya Banks. I absolutely loved it! Especially Song Bird! Maya Banks is a fantastic author and I love all of her books no matter if they are about Elite Ops, KGI, or 2 or 3 partners! She knows how to tell a very realistic fantasy story (if that makes sense). I would love to have the Darkest Hour and continue my love affair with Maya Banks’ work.

  84. Nikki Barrett
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:46:45

    I have recently started to read Maya Banks Books. And since my favorite genre is romantic suspense, I’m psyched to hear that she’s writing in that genre.

    The last good book I read was Playing with Fire, by Amy Knupp. LOVED it!!

    I see a lot of comments talking about the new Elizabeth Jennings. I have that on my wish list, so I’m glad that a lot of people like it.

  85. Kelly
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:47:13

    I think the last good book I read was The Darkest Lie by Gena Showalter. I don’t think I’ve read anything superfantastic since then. I’ll have to think about this.

  86. Amy Kathryn
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:47:58

    I just finished Never Less Than a Lady by Mary Jo Putney and enjoyed it. Before that was an Amelia Peabody book…

  87. Lada
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:50:35

    Would love to try Maya Banks and this sounds like a good place to start!!

    I’m reading Anne Stuart’s Ruthless and am enjoying it. I’ve just listened to Alan Bradley’s The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie and found it utterly charming. Mad love for the voice talent!!

  88. franca colombo
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:53:55

    I have read so many where to being lol. the last book I read was nauti and wild and now i’m reading wild by you amazing

  89. Moran
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:55:04

    The last good book I read was Hot Finish by Erin McCarthy and I can’t wait to read the next book in the series next year.

    Maya Banks is one of my fav authors and I read almost every book by her but I have to be honest and say I really didn’t like her latest book in the Sweet series, Sweet Temptation but a lot of her other books are in my keeper shelf.

  90. Suhani
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:55:39

    Me!Me!Pick me, I am a big RS fan :)

    I recently read Elisabeth Naughton’s new Paranormal series Entwined and Marked. They were good but I still love her RS the most :)Isa’s character bothered me and I didn’t really love her heroes and heroines.

    I also loved Falco:The Dark Guardian by Sandra Marton. She is one awesome HP writer. Conflict, chemistry, yummy alpha hero *swoon*

  91. michellekCanada
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:56:32

    I’ve read a few short novellas but the actual last book was Corralled by Lorelei James. I love Maya’s books and no doubt I will love this one too.

  92. Allison
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:01:49

    Thanks for the giveaway. I did recently read Hot Finish and enjoyed it. I hadn’t read Erin McCarthy in a while.

  93. Debra
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:01:53

    I got to read this book as a ARC, have to say I LOVED IT! I will buy this book and have both copies. It is one of my top ten for the year. I thought how she wrote Rachel and Ethan was very belivable. I agree with you about Rusty, she rally doesn’t fit in, but I think she will end up with Sean.

    This book is a must read and I can’t wait for the next one.

    AS for a good book I have just read, I have three this one, Linda Howard’s Veil of Night and Water Bound.

  94. Sheri Lewis
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:01:59

    I love series books I just completed the Nauti Series by Lora Leigh and the Sweet Series by Maya Banks. My favorite book is Sweet Temptation

  95. Erin
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:02:06

    I recently read Jennifer Crusie’s Bet Me for the very first time. Great book.

    Maya’s books are autobuys for me, and I can’t wait to read this one.

  96. yourlifeinbook
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:02:34

    Can’t wait for this series…
    Right now I have been on a Lora Leigh kick and jut got a bunch of books online auction and am reading Tanner’s Scheme.

  97. Alyssa West
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:05:04

    I just finished Wild Card (Elite Ops- book #1) by Lora Leigh. It’s the story of Navy SEAL Nathan Malone who was sent on a mission that went very wrong- because of that, he wife Bella was told that he was never coming home. She mourned her husband for three years and had no idea that he was still alive. Nathan was forced to assume a new identity and the man than Nathan was is now dead. However, if Nathan does manage to get back to his wife, is he able to keep the secret of who he really is- even as desire threatens to consume them, and danger threatens to take Bella from Nathan’s arms once again? …this book was a great first installment of a new series, and I really enjoyed it! :)

  98. Kim in Hawaii
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:19:16

    Great review – I could feel the romantic tension in it. As a military spouse, I have tended to shy away from military romances, but your review has encouraged me to give it a try.

    The last great read was a book I received at RWA and read on the plane ride home – Sherry Thomas’ His At Night.

  99. Miranda
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:19:16

    I’m excited about this release from Maya Banks. I enjoy her work and I am anxious to read something different from her. The last book I read was “Water Bound” by Christine Feehan. I loved it! It is the first in her new series, Sisters of the Heart. It is a spin-off of her “Drake Sisters” series.

    Hi Alyssa! Wild Card is one of my favorites! I love Nathan and Bella’s story! I am a huge fan of Lora Leighs Tempting Seals and Elite Ops series’

  100. FionaChan
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:22:08

    Well, count me in if this is international!

    the last good book I read is It Started with a Dare by Lindsay Faith Rech. :D

    thank you

  101. Kim
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:24:53

    I’ve read a lot of books this year, but the last good book so far this year was His At Night by Sherry Thomas.

  102. Karen
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:26:48

    Read the excerpt.. Fascinated to read the whole story.. Suspense is PERFECT.. I have to say Maya is on of my favorite authors for escapism reading!! Currently reading “The Midnight Breed Series” by Lara Adrain Would love the FREE book… I read about 200+ books a year.. Free is good

  103. Valerie
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:30:26

    The last REALLY GOOD book I read (reread) was Bujold’s Curse of Chalion. Its one of my top 5 favorite books of all time. More recently, I’ve just started Sherry Thomas’ His at Night, which I’m really happy with, thus far :)

  104. wonald
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:30:36

    I just finished Hot Finish.

  105. Elyane
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:33:15

    Last good book I read was Ethan Day’s At Piper’s Point.

  106. Sarah
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:37:00

    Enter me please! The last book I read was The Ivy by Lauren Kunze and Rina Onur, a YA book in the genre of Gossip Girl, the Luxe, etc. I LOVED IT!

  107. Edie H
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:49:32

    Last good book I read? “Last Night’s Scandal” by Loretta Chase. Book I am currently struggling to get through but it’s taking time because I find myself constantly yelling at both the main characters? “The Untamed Bride” by Stephanie Laurens. The Laurens has put me in a foul mood-’would love a copy of Ms. Banks’ book to cheer me up! :)

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  108. Missy
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:50:54

    I loved Lora Leigh’s Navy Seals/Elite Ops series and Sherrilyn Kenyon B.A.D series!!! I can’t wait to read Maya’s new KGI series. I love all her books!!!! I am currently reading Cynthia Edens Immortal Danger.

  109. Robin C.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:02:35

    Last book I read was Exclusively Yours by Shannon Stacey. I didn’t think I would like it as much as I did.

  110. Lori
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:02:39

    I loved Black Jack by Lora Leigh. Before that I read Unbroken by Maya Banks. Right now I’m reading Take Me by Bella Andre.

  111. Susan Laura
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:03:19

    Just finished Tessa Dare’s “One Dance With A Duke”. Loved it!

  112. Amanda
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:05:39

    Ima reading Tempting the Fire by Sydney Croft. Great reads!!

  113. KeriM
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:08:05

    Thanks for the giveaway. Two awesome books I have read recently were The Seven Secrets of Seduction by Anne Mallory and Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs. So many good books….so little time.

  114. Tabitha
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:15:12

    Was anything more mentioned about Cambodia? I am Cambodian and the mention of the country in a book perks me up. lol. Of course, I’m a fan of Maya Banks and my favorite genre is romantic suspense. I can’t wait to read this book! lol

    Last book read that was good was Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson, a YA Contemporary.

  115. Heather
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:27:11

    Last good book I read was Sin Undone by Larissa Ione. I thought it was awesome!

    Also love Maya’s books. Look forward to reading this one.

  116. Ying V.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:30:00

    I am excited for Maya Banks’ new release! Your review makes me even want to the book more. The last book I have read was Loretta Chase’s Last Night’s Scandal. Love that book. Next, I will be catching up with Nalini Singh’s psy-changeling series

  117. Rogue
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:30:44

    I can’t wait for this book to come out!!! I enjoy all of Maya’s books!!

    The last book I read was “Linger” by Maya Banks

  118. MaryK
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:31:24

    The Spaniard’s Marriage Bargain by Abby Green. One of her books was on Ros’ Top Ten list, but it was unavailable or something so I found one that was available. It reminded me of Susan Napier’s books.

  119. Triciab
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:31:42

    Jane,
    I so supect you and I would be fast friends. Lots of personal stuff in common (lawyers, Iowa, and others that I gleaned from your Butterfly Swords post) and today I see you have the same ambivalence towards Banks. But this book does sound good. I hope to win it. The last good book I read was not a new release it was Cindy Gerard’s To The Brink.

  120. KarLynP
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:33:37

    I’ll be honest — when I see the name “Maya Banks” I automatically think ménage erotica, which doesn’t work for me. Colters Woman was the only book by her I read (skimmed is more accurate), and I thought it would be my last. BUT NOW I AM INTRIGUED! Wow, she is writing romance suspense? No sex partner swapping? No dog pile sex scenes? OK, count me in. Even if I don't win a copy, looks like I'll be reading another Maya Banks book soon.

    As far as my last really good read? Cynthia Eden's “Deadly Fear”. A romance suspense. My fist by this author and I just loved it.

  121. Bonnie Ann
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:33:37

    Looking forward to reading The Darkest Hour. Maya’s teaser excerpt was great. I’ve read several books recently but my favorite was Lion’s Heat by Lora Leigh.

  122. Julie
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:34:18

    I just finished a reread of Kresley Cole’s No Rest For The Wicked! :)

    Thanks for the chance to win!

  123. Lindsay
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:39:12

    The last good book I read was “Nauti and Wild” by Lora Leigh and Jaci Burton.

  124. LeeAnn Pratt
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:41:27

    The last book I read..just finished it last night was Nauti and Wild by authors Lora Leigh and Jaci Burton. I pre ordered The Darkest Hour but it would be wonderful to win one as well!

  125. Carin
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:42:08

    Last good book: A Little Bit Wild by Victoria Dahl. I really enjoyed it. The last good book before that was Exclusively Yours. Honorable mention goes to All I Ever Wanted by Kristan Higgins.

  126. Maegan
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:48:59

    “Captive Spirit” by Liz Fichera – I’d classify as almost being YA since the protagonists are about 16 and 18, but those same characters are also members of a Native American tribe in 16th century Arizona, so they would probably be considered adults when the setting of the story is taken into account.

    Amazing book! I read it one sitting, which is something I haven’t done for a while. “Captive Spirit” has a friends-to-lovers theme (one of my favorites!), which is done really well, but it’s the setting and time period of the book that really sets it apart from all of the other books I’ve read in the past several months. Plus, it’s available on Kindle for under $4!

  127. Mary Pitzer
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 13:14:38

    Can’t wait for Sept 7! I love all of your books. just finished Nauti Dreams by Lora Leigh. Also Tymber Dalton’s Cardinals Rule. Excellent!!

  128. Gina
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 13:20:31

    Love Maya Banks books and this sounds like just my kind of book!

    Just finished Shadow Bound, it was a free give away from B&N’s free Fridays series. It’s become my favorite way of being introduced to new (to me) authors, like Erin Kellison.

  129. Tweets that mention REVIEW & GIVEAWAY: The Darkest Hour by Maya Banks | Dear Author -- Topsy.com
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 13:33:48

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Maya Banks, Vicki Lane. Vicki Lane said: RT @maya_banks: RT @dearauthor: We are giving away 10 copies of The Darkest Hour: marriage in trouble! amnesia! guilt! http://tinyurl.com/2b3gfya [...]

  130. jeanette8042
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 13:41:12

    I just read Unbridled by Beth Williamson and loved it! Such a great book! Thanks for the giveaway!

  131. Jill Oswalt
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 13:44:13

    I just finished Master of Dragons by Angela Knight. The whole series was great! Also, Alexis Morgan’s Paladin series is incredible!! Start with Dark Protector, you won’t be disappointed. But I LOVE Maya!!! The entire Sweet series is soooo delicious!!! Can’t wait till Conner’s Story :). Even more excited to see her ideal special ops!! Thanks for the great reads Maya!!

  132. Leslie
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 13:56:22

    The last good book I read was Maggie Stiefvater’s LINGER.

  133. bethann buehler
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 13:56:47

    i enjoy maya banks and she is one of my faves. her “sweet..” series is my favorite. as for the kelly brothers, i’m anxious to meet them. i’ve read lora leigh’s navy seals series “Dangerous Games, Black Jack…” and this series reminds me of that so I can’t wait to see how Maya develops her charcaters and interweaves the story.

  134. J.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 14:01:56

    The last book I read was Demon Bound by Caitlin Kittredge. It’s part of her Black London series. It’s pretty good, but also somewhat different with the language and all. But it was good enough that I continued on and can’t wait til her 3rd one comes out!

  135. Stephanie
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 14:11:18

    Want a GREAT read??? I just finished “The Birthing House” by Christopher Ransom!! It came out last year and then was reissued a couple of weeks ago as paperback. Unbelievable!! Fascinating and scary all at the same time. Then switching gears totally–brand new–”Corralled” by Lorelei James. Came out the other day. Typical “I am not putting it down until I finish this” type of book. She never disappoints.

  136. Mhlia
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 14:20:32

    I just finished “His At Night” by Sherry Thomas… which I bought because of a review from yall. It was *good*!

  137. Claudia McRay
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 14:23:28

    The last book I read was Renegade by Sarah Parr. Am currently reading the follow-up, His For The Taking.

  138. Brandi
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 14:24:12

    I would love to win this book. If not I am going to buy it anyway as I have read everything Maya has done. Love her Sweet Series.

    Because I’m giving, the last TWO great books where by Elizabeth Haughton, The Eternal Guardians series, Marked and Entwined. WOW. If you like Greek mythology and romance about soul mates this is for you.

  139. Beth
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 14:31:21

    I love Maya’s writing and look forward to reading this book. The last book I read was ‘My Wicked Marquess’ by Galen Foley. I’m a fan of the Inferno Club series.

  140. Angela
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 14:32:01

    Last good book I read was a re-read: Princess of the Sword by Lynn Kurland. 3rd book in her Nine Kingdoms series.

    I’m definitely adding this to my TBB list.

  141. Christy T
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 14:32:28

    A Seal Book + Maya Banks = Hot n Steamy & Totally Awesome

    I can’t wait to read this book!!!!

    Currently reading Jaded by Karin Tabke

  142. Cathy MacDonald
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 14:34:37

    The last fabulous book I read was Scorched by Sharon Ashwood. Great combo of humor, romance, and paranormal storyline.

  143. Jennifer D.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 14:47:39

    I just read Deadly Fear by Cynthia Eden, which I really enjoyed. I’m looking forward to the next two books in that series. I’m a big romantic suspense fan, so I can’t wait to read The Darkest Hour. Thanks.

  144. Raonaid Luckwell
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 14:50:38

    I do have to say the last good book I read was Water Bound by Christine Feehan. That book was awesome! And I was waiting for two books to come in the mail before I picked up another book.

    Sometimes Feehan can be a hit and miss for me.

    Definitely gonna add this to my book buying list

  145. savonna
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 15:21:42

    I really enjoy Maya’s books!! I can’t wait to read the KGI series.

    I recently read Tempting the Fire by Sydney Croft and really enjoyed it. I like the entire series!!

  146. Bianca
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 15:28:02

    Good review; the book sounds interesting. I have a love/hate relationship with Maya Banks, as well, but this looks good!

    The last really good book I read was… Bound by Your Touch by Meredith Duran, a few weeks ago.

  147. Blanche
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 15:33:39

    I’m a big Maya Banks fan, love her books and I’m so looking forward to this new series!

    The last really good book I read was an Anthology by Shelli Stevens called Chances Are. Three friends finding their HEA….loved all three stories!

  148. catslady
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 15:35:13

    The last book I read and enjoyed was Kris Kennedy’s Irish Warrior. Thanks.

  149. Marti
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 15:37:53

    I just finished Such a Pretty Face by Cathy Lamb and The Chief by Monica McCarty both were great.

    I love Maya Banks I’m super exicted for a new series from her!

  150. Terri W.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 15:45:43

    Maya Banks is one of my favorites, and I can’t wait to get my hands on this one. I just finished Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Born of Night, and it was wonderful.

  151. LibrarianLizy
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 15:49:09

    Kristen Higgins’s All I Ever Wanted. A truly excellent read. So excited that she broke into a bestseller list with an ebook!

  152. Tessa
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 15:50:38

    I just finished rereading Born in Fire by Nora Roberts one of my Favs..

  153. Irena
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 15:52:57

    Just finished Chased by Lauren Dane it was amazing…..Great Series still have to read the last book can’t wait.

  154. Emily
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 15:54:31

    I finished Burning Up not too long ago and really enjoyed it.

  155. OrielaJ
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 15:55:06

    I love Maya Banks, Can’t wait to read her new series. The last book I read was Revelations by another amazing author Lauren Dane.

  156. Alyssa West
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 15:56:09

    @Miranda: Hi Miranda! I heard so many good reviews about Wild Card, so I decided to give it a try- it sounded like it was going to be a great book! After reading it, I’m super excited to read the rest of the Elite Ops Series :) …The Darkest Hour by Maya Banks sounds AMAZING as well! I caaan’t waaait :)

  157. Ann
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 15:57:58

    I just finished Eternal Kiss of Darkness by Jeaniene Frost which I really enjoyed. I’ve been curious about Maya Banks- would love to give one of her books a try.

  158. Sharon W
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 16:00:11

    I love Maya Banks, she is my favorite author. Her Sweet series was awesome. I just finished reading Nauti & Wild.

  159. Annette
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 16:06:47

    Mmmm, soldiers. :)

    The last good book I read (last week) was The Prince of Midnight by Laura Kinsale. Wonderful characters, a totally appealing hero very different from the usual alpha males I tend to read about, beautiful description, satisfying ending. What can I say – it’s a Kinsale.

  160. Laura
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 16:10:51

    My favorite Maya Banks is still her first, Seducing Simon. Which was a relationship book. So I am happy to hear that this is a single couple book, with no menage, no shapeshifting.

    The last really good book I read was “Medium Raw” by Anthony Bourdain. The bit on Old Yeller was worth the price by itself.

  161. Joder
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 16:45:47

    One of the last good books I read was An Unclaimed Duchess by Jenna Petersen. Great characters with people struggling about the meaning of love and self.

  162. Tina
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 17:00:56

    I’ve had a few Maya Banks in my TBR pile for awhile but I haven’t gotten to them yet – this one is going in it as well!

    I recently finished the latest Lady Julia Grey novel by Deanna Raybourn and I am eagerly awaiting the new one coming out this fall.

  163. Kathryn
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 17:06:18

    Read an old Jane Ann Krentz – Crystal Flame – that was really good. I really like the way relationships are explored in her older books.

  164. Virginia C
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 17:33:22

    Wow–I love the story line for “The Darkest Hour”! I have yet to read a title by Maya Banks, and I’d love to start with this one!

    I just read a fabulous historical romance called “Raeliksen” by Renee Vincent!!! It’s book one in her highly anticipated “Emerald Isle Trilogy”, and I highly recommend it!

  165. Midnight
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 17:34:47

    its not a romance book but its a classic, And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. It was for my bookclub and I read it in under 3 hours. I could not put it down, not because I started it at 3pm and the meeting was at 6pm but because I wanted to know who the killer was.

    :winks:

  166. Robin K
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 17:51:53

    I have read quite a few good books as of late. The last GREAT book I read was Three Days to Dead by Kelly Meding!

  167. Stacy P.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 17:55:47

    I love my Maya!! The first book I read of hers was Colter’s Woman & now I’m hooked! Really looking forward to Colter’s Daughter. I’m reading Nauti Nights by Lora Leigh, love the Nauti series.. :)

  168. Laura
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 17:56:36

    The book I’m currently re-reading for the third time is great: “Artists in Crime” by Ngaio Marsh. Actually, even though the Inspector Alleyn mysteries are obviously detective stories and not romances, the relationship between Alleyn and his wife Troy is one of the most truly romantic that I’ve ever read in fiction. Just little things like touching her hair while she sleeps and writing letters while they’re apart. Highly recommended!

  169. Camilla
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 17:58:35

    Last good book I read was September Society by Charles Finch. Its a mystery that reminds me of the Lockridges, very genteel and cozy. Part of a series that begins with A Beautiful Blue Death.

  170. Lisa
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 18:03:58

    The last new book I read that I really liked was “Disturbingly Normal” by JD Lenzen. I picked it up because I got to be a background extra in the filming of it recently! It was fascinating.

  171. Lois M.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 18:06:11

    Definitely would like a try at the book. . . last great one, definitely the one I finished today, The Marcelli Bride by Susan Mallery. Going to miss the Marcelli family once I finish the last book in the series!!! :)

    Lois

    email removed by admin so as to protect commenter from spam. we can see your email on the backend.

  172. Jessica R.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 18:29:03

    All I Ever Wanted by Kristan Higgins. It was the first book I have read in a while that I couldn’t put down.

  173. sarah_florida
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 18:31:10

    Last great book I read was Dreaming of You by Lisa Kleypas

  174. Jane
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 18:55:52

    I love reading all these recommendations!

  175. Stephanie K.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 18:58:33

    The last great book I read was Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins.

  176. Melody
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 19:08:51

    I’d love to read this book!
    The last great book I read was Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson.

  177. cyclops8
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 19:24:36

    The great book I read was Dee Davis’ “Dangerous Desires.”

  178. peggy h
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 19:28:37

    This sounds interesting! The only Maya Banks books I’ve read were a couple of Silhouette Desires (recommended by SB Sarah) and I enjoyed them so I’d definitely be interested in trying this!

    The last good book I read and enjoyed was Loretta Chase’s Last Night’s Scandal. (Though I enjoyed Sherry Thomas’ His at Night, which I read one day after it was released in May, even more!)

  179. Meg
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 19:36:38

    Oooo… I can’t wait for this book, sounds awesome. The last two books I read:
    Shifter 3: Dedrick’s Taming by Jaden Sinclair
    and
    Prophesied: Interplanetary League 1 by Liz Craven.

  180. Mariska
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 19:39:39

    I just finished Bring on The Night by Jeri Smith-Ready. It’s GREAT ! can’t wait to read the series of this book :)

  181. Kate N. (Yzhabella)
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 19:48:56

    Just finished “Awakened by a Kiss” by Lila DiPasqua. It was HOT HOT HOT!!

    Please enter me!
    Have a great day every one!
    Kate (aka YzhaBella’s BookShelf)
    mleger0546(@)rogers(.)com

  182. Scorpio M.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 19:49:02

    I just finished “What The Librarian Did” by Karina Bliss not too long ago.

  183. Sherry
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 20:03:28

    The last awesome book I read was Deadly Fear by Cynthia Eden. It was amazing. Could not put it down.

  184. Mary G
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 20:13:24

    I love Maya Banks’ writing & I love rom. susp. so this combo should be awesome.
    I just finished & enjoyed Hot Finish by Erin McCarthy & I’m just now enjoying
    Can’t Stand The Heat by Louisa Edwards.

  185. Jacqueline C.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 20:14:26

    The last really good book that I read was His At Night by Sherry Thomas. I’ve already re-read parts of and I only finished it this past weekend.

  186. Jane
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 20:15:29

    @Sherry Are you the third person to recommend this book? I may have to buy this!

  187. hapax
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 20:45:52

    Last great book I read (finished yesterday) was an ARC of STAR-CROSSED by Bunce, a YA fantasy to be released in October.

    Last great romance was all of the Carsington books by Loretta Chase, in preparation for LAST NIGHT’S SCANDAL on my TBR pile.

  188. SaraC
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 20:49:31

    I just finished reading Jellicoe Road, which I loved loved loved, and would not have picked up if it wasn’t for the review on this site. So thank you!

  189. Bonnie B.
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 20:57:55

    Gotta agree with others who’ve mentioned Sherry Thomas’ “His At Night”. Been in a real readers slump lately, but read that one during a week of holidays last month and did not want to put it down … !

  190. Rebecca Poma
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 20:58:12

    I have enjoyed books on SEALs and have liked Maya’s other books. After this review, I am sure I’ll like this book. Can;t wait to read it!

    Right now, I am working my way through Karen Moning’s Highlander series.

  191. TrinaA
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 21:02:44

    Hmm..sounds interesting! Haven’t read too many of Maya Bank’s books yet.

    Last good book I read was last week…Sarah Maclean’s “9 Rules to break…”

  192. Bernie
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 21:21:42

    Just finished the classic “One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish” By Dr. Seuss. My grand daughters Allie and Katie loved it!
    So you see I need one of these 10 books to broaden my repertoire of books!!!!!

  193. REGINA ROSS
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 21:38:06

    I CANT WAIT TO READ THIS BOOK.MAYA IS ONE OF MY FAV. AUTHORS.
    THE LAST BOOK I READ WAS NAUTI AND WILD.

  194. Merrian
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 22:03:42

    Last boook I read was a fantastic SF fantasy called ‘Wolfsangel’ by MD Lachlan with the tag line ‘dark and original. Recommended for people who like weird magic, unpredictable outcomes, gore and vikings’and it is a werewolf book! I love Maya Banks – some of here stuff doesn’t work for me but this sounds just my thing.

  195. iokijo
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 22:27:00

    I’ve only read one or two of Maya’s books, this one sounds quite different though.

    The last good book.. Bring on the Night by Jeri Smith-Ready.. love this series.
    Thanks for the chance at one of Maya’s books.

  196. Georgina
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 22:27:04

    The last good book I read was Hot Finish by Erin McCarthy. Thanks for the contest.

  197. Pat Cochran
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 22:57:59

    The last good book I read was the one I
    finished last night: Fireside, The Lakeshore
    Chronicles by Susan Wiggs.

    Thanks for the review, excerpt, and for
    the contest!

    Pat Cochran

  198. Kaetrin
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 23:14:56

    Last good book I read? And Call Me In the Morning by Willa Okati.

    Please enter me in the contest – this one sounds just my cup of tea. :)

  199. Pam S
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 23:23:27

    Behind Blue Eyes by TL Schaefer ebook and Awakened by a Kiss by Lila DiPasqua print, were two really good recent reads for me.

    TY for hosting the awesome giveaway btw ;).

  200. Leah
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 23:33:13

    The last good books I read were The Bikini Carwash by Pamela Morsi and Hot for Him by Sarah Mayberry. Very different books, but a great way to spend two long, boring flights :)

%d bloggers like this: