Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW: Move the Sun by Susan Fanetti

MTS

Dear Ms. Fanetti:

I saw Jane tweeting about your book and immediately went to Amazon to buy it. I love biker books (as evidenced by my obsessive reading of Kristen Ashley last year) and your book sounded right up my alley. In doing a little digging around about your book to write this review, I’ve discovered that it is Sons of Anarchy fan fiction. Since I don’t watch Sons of Anarchy and had no context for the book, it didn’t affect my enjoyment at all.

Lilli Accardo has just moved to Signal Bend, Missouri. The town itself is run down and has an extremely small town feel. It suits her purposes perfectly. As she pulls up to the realtor’s office to pick up the keys to her rental home, three Harleys roll by. Lilli quickly discovers that the power in this town belongs with the Night Horde Motorcycle Club, which acts as protection to the town. The President of Night Horde is Issac Lunden. Big, brawny and incredibly hot, Lilli is immediately drawn to him, but her reason for being in Signal Bend may prevent her from involving herself with the highest profile man in town. Her first night in town, Lilli heads to the local watering hole for a beer, and finds herself flirting with Issac. He’s attracted and she’s interested, but is naturally wary of any involvement. A bar brawl breaks out, and Issac is blown away by Lilli’s ability to defend herself. She’s much tougher than her willowy frame looks. He begins a single-minded pursuit of her, knowing that when they get together, it will be incendiary.

He’s right. They have incredible chemistry, and he begins to think the unthinkable, that perhaps Lilli is The One. But she has secrets she’s unwilling to share, and when he has his tech guy dig into her past, they find that it’s very obviously made up and that there is an impenetrable wall around digging further. Issac worries that Lilli is gunning for his town and his Club. While she assures him that she has no interest whatsoever in the protection that the Club provides for drug sellers, he remains suspicious of her unwillingness to share what her purpose is in moving to his tiny town where no one ever willingly moves. Even as he worries about Lilli, Issac’s town and his Club are threatened by a big time drug lord looking to set up shop in his territory, bringing a very real threat of death to his own people. He’s fighting for his town’s life and well-being and fighting for his love, whose secrets he still doesn’t completely grasp.

This book was such a pleasant surprise for me! First, the town is vividly drawn, and while I felt like the Motorcycle Club aspect of it is probably toned down for the readers, it was still believable. I really liked Issac, which is no surprise because for all his gruff looks, he’s a total Caregiving Alpha. He respects Lilli a ton, knowing that she can protect herself and that she’s tough and possibly a killer. But he also spends a ton of time taking care of her. Comforting her, and loving her. It’s very clear almost from the beginning that he’s falling in love, which I really liked. Even more, I loved Lilli. She’s definitely got a tortured past. She’s incredibly smart, and driven by demons. But she’s kind and when she finally allows herself to fall for Issac, it’s incredibly moving and sweet. I referenced their chemistry earlier in the review. The sex scenes between the two are erotic, emotional and inventive. In this case, the couple is having relatively rough sex, but as the book progresses, it becomes more and more emotionally charged as they fall more deeply in love.

If I had any complaint about the book it’s that Lilli’s purpose for being in town takes a long time to be revealed. I did like the judicious use of flashbacks to tell her backstory, but by the time I hit the 40% mark in the book, I was more than ready to understand what she was doing in town. You also used the word “growl” in relation to the hero 29 times in the book. I  kept waiting for him to turn into a werewolf. I actually tweeted about it because it became a bit like a drinking game for me. “Hero growls with pleasure” DRINK! “Hero growls out words” DRINK! Not a big deal, but certainly distracting for me as a reader.

All of that being said, this was a really enjoyable read that does not, in any way, read like a first novel, nor a self-pub. It’s polished and reads very smoothly. I predict big things for you. I know I for one can’t wait to read more of this series. Move the Sun gets a B+ from me.

Kind regards,

Kati

 

UPDATE: The author contacted me: “I did notice that you said MTS is fanfic, and that’s not accurate. It’s all original content. I cut my fictional teeth writing SOA fanfic, but there’s no Sons of Anarchy in MTS.”

 

AmazonBNSonyKoboAREBook DepositoryGoogle

Kati Brown

I've been reading romance for more than 30 years and reviewing regularly for the last five. My first romance was Irish Thoroughbred by Nora Roberts, and once I read it, I was a goner. I read most subgenres of romance (except inspirational and steampunk) but focus mostly on contemporary and paranormal, with a sprinkling of historical thrown in for flavor. I am an avid sports fan, so I have a special place in my heart for sports themed romances. I'm a sucker for old skool romance, which is probably most evident in the fact that The Windflower is my favorite romance of all time.

29 Comments

  1. Dabney Grinnan
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 08:07:24

    Just went to buy it and saw it’s a book Kindle readers can borrow for free! Yes!

  2. Gisele Pinheiro
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 08:14:09

    Great review!
    KA made a biker lover too, and this one sounds very interesting. I saw some reviews saying there is too much sex and it makes the book kinda boring sometimes.. did you feel the same?

  3. Kati
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 08:18:13

    For me, I felt like the sex WAS copious. But I also felt like it informed the relationship. They started out as sex-buddies. They both enjoy pretty rough sex. As their relationship developed, I felt like the sex became more tender and emotional. So for me, it worked. But I know Jane and Mandi (@smexybooks) felt like it was a bit much.

  4. Gisele Pinheiro
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 08:23:36

    @Kati:

    Putting this way, I don’t think it will bother me much. Tks.

  5. mari
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 11:19:33

    This sounds interesting and I most likely will pick it up. But I can’t help wondering why the fact these guys in MC’s are criminals always seems to be down played. They protect drug dealers, right? Guys who are responsible for little kids getting blown away in playgrounds, pregnant women smoking crack pipes, and other devastation. If this guy was head of the Latin Kings in a run down neighborhood in the South Bronx, would I, Romance Reader, be as willing to give him a pass? Well no, no I wouldn’t. I feel like I am starting to read MC books with “eyes wide shut” , like the way I used to read romance books set in the slave owning south. As long as I can feign ignorance of the reality of criminality (or slavery), I can engage in the fantasy. But once I stop doing that, its all over for me as a reader. I don’t read romance books set in the Pre Civil War South anymore. I have a feeling my MC romance reading days are numbered too. But not today. :)

  6. Lada
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 12:57:53

    @mari: I was wondering about this, too. I’m getting sensitive about romanticizing vigilantes and anti-heroes. The Sopranos and Breaking Bad were never my cuppa though neither were they romances. Perhaps I should give this one a pass…?

  7. hapax
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 13:16:05

    Yeah, I’ve never wanted to read the biker books, because I’ve lived in towns with real MCs, and there isn’t a thing romantic about them.

    I suppose if I knew more real-life nineteenth-century dukes or Greek gazillionaires, I’d be less interested in those heros as well.

  8. Kati
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 14:29:13

    I’m starting to think there might be something skewed about my taste. I like douchebag dominant billionaires, MMA fighters who always seem to have a vendetta and biker gangs who are involved in illegal activities.

    I need a nice, beta police officer who is all upstanding and honest and has to work hard to earn a paycheck.

  9. mari
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 14:40:33

    @Kati Have you checked out Liberating Lacey by Anne Calhoun? I think you’ve described the hero o a T. I wouldn’t call nessescarily call him beta, but he’s a uniformed cop. The kind who gives speeding tickets and works hard for a paycheck. Very refreshing. Darn good book too. Might have been reviewed here.

  10. Kati
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 14:48:22

    @mari: It’s an absolute favorite! I adore pretty much everything Anne Calhoun writes. She’s brilliant!

  11. hapax
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 15:27:06

    @Kati: Oh, I didn’t mean to imply that there was anything wrong with people liking this genre!

    After all, there’s nothing sexier to ME than a nice psychotic assassin — in fiction. I doubt I’d feel the same if I’d ever met one IRL.

  12. Lada
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 15:31:38

    @Kati: I think a good author can redeem a villainous character and turn them into a hero/heroine. Those are often my favorite stories. But I think illegal (especially drug related) activities are a personal line. Probably one of the reasons I enjoy PNR. I can have the alphahole but outside of real life constraints.

  13. Sunita
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 15:53:46

    Kati, are you sure this is fanfic? Because when I looked at the author/press blog, it suggested it is original fic. The author does write SOA fanfic, but she distinguishes between that and her original fic.

    I read the sample. The MC runs a protection racket, charging businesses for “security,” and it controls the meth distribution. I guess we’re supposed to think it’s OK that they run it out of “their” town and to the cities. There’s a scene that involves (quick) torture in the first chapter, at the direction of the hero. From what I can tell, the MC is basically set up as an old-fashioned organized crime syndicate, just with leather jackets and Harleys instead of limos and suits.

  14. Kaetrin
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 17:38:56

    I’ve put this on my wishlist, as well as Shooter.

    I don’t know how you and Jane read so fast Kati! There are so many books I want to read right now but I’m stuck with reading maybe 3 a week. Sometimes it feels like you ladies read that in a day! LOL

  15. jamie beck
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 17:56:17

    For some reason I can’t quite explain, I got hooked on SOA (not my typical kind of show). Jax was really sexy to me initially, but as the show progressed, the violence and totally screwed up sense of right and wrong really wore on me. Now he’s not nearly as appealing to me (although he’s still nice to look at!), which makes the show less fun to watch (although the drama is still pretty compelling in its twisted way).

    So, I’m torn about whether or not I’d enjoy this book. Your review is very persuasive, but I’m not sure if I can ignore the negative elements of the MC stuff. Guess I’ll sample it and make a decision based on whether I get hooked or not. Thanks for sharing…and congrats to this author on a debut that garnered such a positive review!

  16. Amy Andrews
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 19:58:47

    I read a biker book just recently – an indie by Carmen Jenner called Welcome to Sugartown. It’s an NA I guess but is really very in your face. Or maybe they’re all like that, don’t know, don’t really read NA.
    Hero is running from his biker family/criminal roots etc. It’s quite graphic at times and portrays that culture in very dark terms – not sure the author should have actually used the names of real MC clubs but anyway…..
    I was actually quite impressed with the voice and even though it got really dark in places (not what I’d expected AT ALL) I stuck with it because the voice was so strong.
    It’s on quite a few Amazon lists at the moment. Author is a blogger so I think that’s really helped – her well-established blogger community has clearly gotten behind her. But that only counts for so much and does the book a disservice. The fact is, the book is bloody good.

  17. Tish
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 20:20:35

    Good grief, I give up on this site. Your critiques are slanted and praise unwarranted. I won’t bother with any more of your recs.

  18. Amy Andrews
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 21:20:06

    Oh dear….was it something I said….
    :-)

  19. Kati
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 07:13:35

    @Sunita: You know, I breezed through her blog, so I might very well be mistaken that it’s SOA fanfic. I may have assumed, and you know what they say about that.

  20. CG
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 07:37:57

    Appears this is Amazon only : [

  21. Jane
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 08:03:44

    @CG – You are right. Didn’t realize that when we posted it!

  22. Jane
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 08:12:32

    @Tish: Just curious what you felt was inappropriate about this review. Is it the MC aspect? That you read the book and didn’t like it?

  23. Sunita
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 09:10:18

    @Kati: Well, it’s confusing. The author describes the book as original fic and Lilli is her character. But there is an earlier version of a Lilli Accardo in an SOA fanfic that’s still posted online. Since neither one of us knows the SOA world and I haven’t read the book, we can’t tell how much is her original creation and how much is ported from the SOA universe. The setting is clearly different (Missouri not California) and I guess SOA doesn’t run meth but guns. Protection racket in the name of “protecting the town” is the same. So it seems like an offshoot of SOA fanfic, whether it’s “original” or not.

    I don’t suppose this matters to most readers, but I find the mashing up of AU, original, and canon in fanfic makes it harder to disentangle the elements that are not original from the ones that are, which means that if something seems incomplete or off to me while I’m reading, I don’t know if it’s because it would make sense if I had the backstory or if it’s because the author didn’t do a good job of plot/characterization/whatever.

  24. Susan Fanetti
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 13:05:03

    @Sunita:
    Hi! Thanks so much for the review!

    Since there’s a little bit of confusion here, I thought I’d explain the story of Lilli. She is the OFC of my first fanfic. She had a pretty elaborate backstory, and to get my original gears going, I fleshed out its details. As I wrote, her story took a sharp left turn from the life that brought her in contact with the Sons of Anarchy, and Move the Sun emerged from that. The biker thing is what MTS shares with SOA (what can I say; I like bikers), but there is no SOA content in MTS. Perhaps I should have changed Lilli’s name for the original work, and I considered it, but she’s Lilli to me, and I just couldn’t.

    Thanks again for the review! :)

  25. Madeleine
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 14:35:41

    This one isn’t working for me!

    I’m slogging through over about four days now and still only at 55% and just MEH about it. Think it will be a DNF. Could just be me, and I have been busy, but if it was KA quality I’d be done by now. This is just slow and a bit dull imho. Wish I enjoyed it more!

  26. beth bolden
    Nov 22, 2013 @ 19:00:18

    I haven’t read much about bikers, never watched SOA, but really enjoyed this. For a first novel, and self-pubbed, it’s very clean and well-written. I was a tiny bit annoyed that the main arc of the male character wasn’t resolved in the first book, but there was enough plot that was resolved that I was ultimately okay with that and will likely buy book #2.

  27. Is there a return problem for digital books?
    Dec 01, 2013 @ 04:02:14

    […] return books. Sometimes the reasons are formatting. When I bought Susan Fanetti’s book (reviewed here), the formatting was double spaced. That was maddening and unreadable in my opinion. I downloaded […]

  28. REVIEW: Behold the Stars by Susan Fanetti
    Dec 08, 2013 @ 11:02:06

    […] Kati D and I enjoyed your first book and we recommended it to many other readers with the caveat that the motorcycle club featured in the […]

  29. REVIEW: Into the Storm (Signal Bend #3) by Susan Fanetti
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 08:02:40

    […] read and really enjoyed the first in the Signal Bend series, Move the Sun. The second entry, Behold the Stars, which Jane […]

%d bloggers like this: