Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Demon Angel by Meljean Brook

Welcome to our inaugural book club selection. I have been reading Meljean Brook’s blog for a while now and when I realized she had a single title release, I emailed her and begged for a copy of her book. She graciously acquiesced and fortunately for both of us, I really enjoyed this book. I’ve been talking it up because the world building in this fantasy romance was remarkable. It really made me think and pay attention which, because I am a lazy reader, I am not always compelled to do. Later today will be Jayne’s review and I hope readers spend the upcoming weeks reading this book and telling us all that you loved and hated. We would ask that any comments on the content of the book be saved for Jayne’s review. That way all the comments are in one place. Come back later and we’ll start up the conversation/debate/snarkfest/heated discussion/lovefest or whatever it turns out to be.

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

24 Comments

  1. Angie
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 08:10:11

    lmao, great video review, Jane.

  2. Lara
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 08:16:46

    Great video–and great song, too (lubs Snow Patrol!). Haven’t yet read DEMON ANGEL, but I have it, and it’s sitting at the top of the stack. Can’t wait!

    Happy New Year, all!

    p.s. My favorite part of the video was “Hugh was disillusioned.” (Hugh bubble: “I’m disillusioned.”) LOL cracked me up!

  3. jmc
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 08:51:06

    Love the video! Now I have to hurry up and read Demon Angel.

  4. kardis
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 09:44:43

    Oh Jane, I’d forgotten how much I love your video reviews! Happy New Year everyone!

  5. jaq
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 10:34:41

    Great vid, Jane. lol. I know it must take a lot of work, but I hope you do more of them. They’re so entertaining.

    erhm, when I click onto comments, the video window blocks out part of the last 3 comments. It happens in Firefox and IE, so I don’t think it’s a browser issue.

    Looking forward to the review.

  6. TaraMarie
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 10:59:18

    Jane,

    very clever video, you sum up the book so simply and yet the story is so complex.

    World building–amazing

    Character developement–amazing

    Story telling–very good, but you’re right at times it’s confusing and slow, I thought my problem was reading it on my computer, I kept scrolling back, rereading passages to make sure I caught all the info, detail heavy yet nothing felt redundant.

    Good vs. Evil at it’s best–I can’t wait to reread this one (waiting on a B&N order)

  7. Meljean
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 11:25:22

    *rofl*

    Fantastic review — thank you!

  8. Jane
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 11:32:47

    JAQ – thanks for the heads up. As much as I enjoy putting them together, the video reviews are constrained by how often I can coerce Ned into drawing my pics. Which isn’t very often!

  9. LinM
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 12:10:03

    Arrrrrgh. I’d made up my mind. I’m tired of paranormals. I like romance with my fantasy – I’m not so keen on fantasy with my romance. And then, there is this video review – funny, pointed, clever.

    I give up. Will “Demon Angel” be available as an ebook?

  10. Karen Scott
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 13:12:06

    I have to say, I just love these videos Jane!!

    Happy New Year girls!

  11. Kristie(J)
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 13:44:11

    Well – you’ll have to tell Ned how much we all love his art work!!! These video reviews are just the been knees in hilarity. Lara has it – that Hugh disallusioned had me shouting with laughter.

  12. Nalini Singh
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 15:09:37

    This is the first time I’ve seen one of your video reviews, Jane and all I gotta say is that I love it!! More, please!

  13. Sybil
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 15:34:10

    Really jane you need to work harder to get ned to playball. I have faith in you.

    This really was a great review and well you know me ;). Loved Hugh disillusion blurb and his fall. Hee and you worked in meatloaf! You go with your badself.

  14. nath
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 16:09:27

    Hey Jane ;D

    This is the first review video that i see and I’m impressed :D Good job, I really like it (esp. since I’ve just, just finished reading it :) Must have taken you so long :D Anyway, good, good, good job ;D

  15. CindyS
    Jan 02, 2007 @ 02:58:37

    This has to be your best video yet! I loved the ‘disillusioned’ part also and then of course the snail was classic.

    CindyS

  16. Holly
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 21:50:35

    You crack me up with these vids. I love them. I suppose I’m going to have to read this book now, too, aren’t I?

  17. raine
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 22:08:30

    This is the first video I’ve seen!
    Love it! Bravo! :-)

  18. Charlene
    Jan 10, 2007 @ 17:27:39

    What a review! So, so funny. I haven’t read it yet, but it sounds like my kind of thing.

  19. Lynn Crain
    Jan 12, 2007 @ 20:09:02

    This is a wonderful way to review books. I definitely like it! I’ll be looking forward to more of these!

    Lynn Crain

  20. Erin the Innocent
    Feb 11, 2007 @ 01:03:22

    I just thought I’d let you know I finally (holy crap Canada Post SUCKS) received the book Demon Angel that you sent me in January. It got here on Friday (Feb 9) lol

  21. The Good, The Bad and The Unread » A Demon Angel YOUTUBE Soundtrack
    Apr 30, 2007 @ 02:59:14

    [...] So I'm wondering: if you've read DEMON ANGEL, is there a song you'd link to it? (Jane at DearAuthor.com's video review used Snow Patrol's “Chasing Carsâ€? and Sybil seems to think that Meatloaf's “I Would Do [...]

  22. GUEST REVIEW: Demon Forged by Meljean Brook | Dear Author: Romance Novel Reviews, Industry News, and Commentary
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 11:35:50

    [...] I say that?) long before we’d ever said hello. I was first introduced to the Guardians when Jane Litte of Dear Author raved about DEMON ANGEL. Hello, angel story? I am there. It wasn’t until much later that we became friends, but I [...]

  23. Maritza
    May 31, 2013 @ 00:14:49

    Oh boy. I know I’m years late but I love the video. Love the book too although I concur with Janes assessment.

  24. Jane
    May 31, 2013 @ 06:26:31

    Never too late to love Meljean Brook’s Guardian series.

%d bloggers like this: